130x130 sq 1418139513837 logo copy

1-2 Step Entertainment

Oakland , MI

LOCATION

Oakland, MI 48363 US (map)

PHONE

248-303-4840

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

1, 2 Step Entertainment is one of the most requested entertainment companies in the Metro Detroit area. Providing great entertainment for all of those "once in a lifetime occasions," our... Read more
1, 2 Step Entertainment is one of the most requested entertainment companies in the Metro Detroit area. Providing great entertainment for all of those "once in a lifetime occasions," our dedicated staff of entertainers ensures that your party experience is unique and never routine. From Weddings to Corporate Events, Mitzvahs, Sweet 16's, Holiday Parties, Fundraisers and beyond, no event is too big or too small, and every event is sure to be memorable

We are the Entertainment Company that you have come to trust to make your day unforgettable. We take pride in our services and realize that the DJ is the most important part of the event. The DJ makes the party, and we always make it perfect! Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1284388190396 wedding6
130x130 sq 1284388191521 wedding8
130x130 sq 1284388194287 wedding7
130x130 sq 1284388198116 wedding6
130x130 sq 1284388199678 wedding5
130x130 sq 1284388201975 wedding4
130x130 sq 1284388204460 wedding3
130x130 sq 1284388206319 wedding2

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
We beat match and mix. Which means that each song will blend right into the next, you will NOT here a song start to fade out and then another song begin to play.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
No Limit
What is your usual attire?
Suit or Tuxedo
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
No we will find it
How many other DJs do you work with?
5
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
No limit, the time is for whatever you are looking for
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes as many times as you would like
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
We do everything, there isn't an event or culture that we haven't done
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Yes and we strongly encourage it
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
We arrive 2 hours before to make sure that we have plenty of time to set up and test everything
Do you have any extra space requirements?
No
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
NO! This is your event and we are there to make your guests happy not to advertise ourselves.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
That depends on what you want, all of our DJs can act as the emcee as well. If you want 2 people one as a DJ and one as an Emcee we can do that to. Typically you do not need an emcee if you have under 250 guests.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Our DJs can read the crowd to see what music your guests are dancing to. If no one is dancing to a certain genre we will switch it up.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
We do not take meals, and we do not require a meal.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
we do not take breaks
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
We have back up equipment and a back up a DJ for every event.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
No
What is your overtime rate?
$150/hour
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
no
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
20%

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
130x130 sq 1375060240805 photo b
Julie
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Hands Down the best DJ/MC team ever. When my husband and I walked into the reception to do a pre look before everyone came in Tom immediately got me a drink! He worked with us on with all our little details before the big day and even did a site tour to make sure everything was the way we wanted. He took a lot of time and put a lot effort into it which we really appreciated. They went above and beyond! Also, all our guests raved about the music and my husband and I didn't even have time to fill out the "must play" list for him. We just trusted his read on the room and his taste! Wish we had another large event to hire them!
Hands Down the best DJ/MC team ever. When my husband and I walked into the reception to do a pre look before everyone came Read more...
Hands Down the best DJ/MC team ever. When my husband and I walked into the reception to do a pre look before everyone came in Tom immediately got me a drink! He worked with us on with all our little details before the big day and even did a site tour to make sure everything was the way we wanted. He took a lot of time and put a lot effort into it which we really appreciated. They went above and beyond! Also, all our guests raved about the music and my husband and I didn't even have time to fill out the "must play" list for him. We just trusted his read on the room and his taste! Wish we had another large event to hire them! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Celeste
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Tom did an amazing job DJ'ing our wedding. Our DJ that we had originally booked with had an emergency and he had Tom serve as his replacement. I was a bit freaked out to have a DJ that I was unfamiliar with, but I felt way more at ease after speaking with him on the phone. He provided some helpful ideas for the reception and was super helpful the week leading up to the wedding. On the day, he ran the reception flawlessly! All my friends and family have commented on what an amazing job he did with the music selection, and he read the guests' music tastes really well and kept people dancing all night. I couldn't have been more pleased!! Highly recommend!
Tom did an amazing job DJ'ing our wedding. Our DJ that we had originally booked with had an emergency and he had Tom serve Read more...
Tom did an amazing job DJ'ing our wedding. Our DJ that we had originally booked with had an emergency and he had Tom serve as his replacement. I was a bit freaked out to have a DJ that I was unfamiliar with, but I felt way more at ease after speaking with him on the phone. He provided some helpful ideas for the reception and was super helpful the week leading up to the wedding. On the day, he ran the reception flawlessly! All my friends and family have commented on what an amazing job he did with the music selection, and he read the guests' music tastes really well and kept people dancing all night. I couldn't have been more pleased!! Highly recommend! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Tom and Gary made our event so memorable! Our guests loved them so much that people were asking me about them all night. They made sure everything ran as smooth as possible and were able to give us many tips. They brought to mind things that I hadn't even thought about. I will never go though any other DJ agian. I only recommend 1-2 Step Entertainment!
Tom and Gary made our event so memorable! Our guests loved them so much that people were asking me about them all night. Read more...
Tom and Gary made our event so memorable! Our guests loved them so much that people were asking me about them all night. They made sure everything ran as smooth as possible and were able to give us many tips. They brought to mind things that I hadn't even thought about. I will never go though any other DJ agian. I only recommend 1-2 Step Entertainment! Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Tom with 1, 2 Step Entertainment was awesome to work with. He worked with us to get a feel for what we wanted played for our wedding. He was great with the guests, can reach out and make the guests happy. We were very pleased with 1,2 Step Entertainment :) Thanks!
Tom with 1, 2 Step Entertainment was awesome to work with. He worked with us to get a feel for what we wanted played for Read more...
Tom with 1, 2 Step Entertainment was awesome to work with. He worked with us to get a feel for what we wanted played for our wedding. He was great with the guests, can reach out and make the guests happy. We were very pleased with 1,2 Step Entertainment :) Thanks! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
j5stanek
Wedding:
6/15/2012
4.6/5.0
Josh and 1, 2 Step Entertainment were great! Our guests were flowing on and off the dance floor and everyone loved our Gobo. Thank you!
Josh and 1, 2 Step Entertainment were great! Our guests were flowing on and off the dance floor and everyone loved our Read more...
Josh and 1, 2 Step Entertainment were great! Our guests were flowing on and off the dance floor and everyone loved our Gobo. Thank you! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Dawn
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Tom and Gary were amazing! I would recommend 1-2 step to any bride, their website was very user friendly and they understood how I wanted the flow of the evening to go and they keep the party hopping.
Tom and Gary were amazing! I would recommend 1-2 step to any bride, their website was very user friendly and they Read more...
Tom and Gary were amazing! I would recommend 1-2 step to any bride, their website was very user friendly and they understood how I wanted the flow of the evening to go and they keep the party hopping. Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130 sq 1278386200712 mandyswedding
Sheila
Wedding:
5/12/2012
4.8/5.0
We signed with 1,2 Step Entertainment only a couple weeks before our wedding because of an emergency with our first DJ and they turned out great!! They did our ceremony and our reception music. The only thing I would've like better would have been if they had played more our requested dance music. Even with that though, they played everything on time and we got so many compliments on such a fun reception!
We signed with 1,2 Step Entertainment only a couple weeks before our wedding because of an emergency with our first DJ and Read more...
We signed with 1,2 Step Entertainment only a couple weeks before our wedding because of an emergency with our first DJ and they turned out great!! They did our ceremony and our reception music. The only thing I would've like better would have been if they had played more our requested dance music. Even with that though, they played everything on time and we got so many compliments on such a fun reception! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
A few days ago, I got a text message from my new husband's cousin asking who our DJ was because he was FANTASTIC. That really says it all about how much fun everyone had.

I was a little nervous about hiring 1-2 Step because there aren't as many reviews for them as there are for other DJ companies in the area. We met with a few companies, and I felt the most comfortable with Tom, not to mention that they provided more for the cost (we got lighting and a gobo along with the DJ and MC services), and they were the most willing to provide a personalized service for us. What I mean by that is that a lot of the other DJs wouldn't get songs they didn't already have or had you pick from a couple playlists for cocktail hour or dinner music. We asked for some songs that they didn't already have and they got them (we asked him to get a specific last dance song, and he did, and it was a perfect moment). We gave him a list of artists to play for cocktail hour/dinner (including instrumental Radiohead), and they did that easily (and I got a lot of compliments on it!). Everyone was dancing the whole night (even people who usually don't dance).

We asked for a specific song during the event. They didn't have it, but they got it for me right then.

They also did our lighting and it looked great. I told them I was a little worried about colored lighting washing everything out, and they said they would just highlight some areas, and if I didn't like it, they would get rid of it. It looked great, and I really appreciated that they listened to my concerns.
A few days ago, I got a text message from my new husband's cousin asking who our DJ was because he was FANTASTIC. That Read more...
A few days ago, I got a text message from my new husband's cousin asking who our DJ was because he was FANTASTIC. That really says it all about how much fun everyone had.

I was a little nervous about hiring 1-2 Step because there aren't as many reviews for them as there are for other DJ companies in the area. We met with a few companies, and I felt the most comfortable with Tom, not to mention that they provided more for the cost (we got lighting and a gobo along with the DJ and MC services), and they were the most willing to provide a personalized service for us. What I mean by that is that a lot of the other DJs wouldn't get songs they didn't already have or had you pick from a couple playlists for cocktail hour or dinner music. We asked for some songs that they didn't already have and they got them (we asked him to get a specific last dance song, and he did, and it was a perfect moment). We gave him a list of artists to play for cocktail hour/dinner (including instrumental Radiohead), and they did that easily (and I got a lot of compliments on it!). Everyone was dancing the whole night (even people who usually don't dance).

We asked for a specific song during the event. They didn't have it, but they got it for me right then.

They also did our lighting and it looked great. I told them I was a little worried about colored lighting washing everything out, and they said they would just highlight some areas, and if I didn't like it, they would get rid of it. It looked great, and I really appreciated that they listened to my concerns. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Bg21
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We could not have been happier with DJ Tom, and that is an understatement. Our guests LOVED him, talking about him for days after the reception. He made our wedding the best it could be. He also did our ceremony and gave us exactly what we wanted and more. He was very responsive to our requests for music, must play/don't play, etc, and he kept everything on schedule. Would most DEFINITELY recommend!
We could not have been happier with DJ Tom, and that is an understatement. Our guests LOVED him, talking about him for Read more...
We could not have been happier with DJ Tom, and that is an understatement. Our guests LOVED him, talking about him for days after the reception. He made our wedding the best it could be. He also did our ceremony and gave us exactly what we wanted and more. He was very responsive to our requests for music, must play/don't play, etc, and he kept everything on schedule. Would most DEFINITELY recommend! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Kristal
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
I've never been to a wedding where guests were having so much fun they didn't want to leave, until my wedding. 1,2 Step made sure my guests were all having fun and participating. Even though my scheduled times for things were pushed slightly they made sure everything went smoothly. They also pronounced everyone's name in the bridal party correctly which made my party happy.
I've never been to a wedding where guests were having so much fun they didn't want to leave, until my wedding. 1,2 Step Read more...
I've never been to a wedding where guests were having so much fun they didn't want to leave, until my wedding. 1,2 Step made sure my guests were all having fun and participating. Even though my scheduled times for things were pushed slightly they made sure everything went smoothly. They also pronounced everyone's name in the bridal party correctly which made my party happy. Read less
Services Used: DJ

DEALS

Save 20% off DJ Services
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Save 20% off any package when you tell us that you found us on Wedding Wire!
Deal #WW7c5c3c6fb6af040a
220x220 1418139513837 logo copy

MAP

 
Oakland, MI 48363 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for 1-2 Step Entertainment
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1418139513837 logo copy