130x130_sq_1370449508210-david-eric-photography-1

1840s Plaza

Baltimore , MD

LOCATION

29 South Front Street
Baltimore, MD US 21202 (map)

PHONE

410-385-1840

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Still searching for a unique and elegant venue for your wedding celebration? Imagine the possibilities...

The stately front gate sweeps open to reveal a tranquil garden... Read more
Still searching for a unique and elegant venue for your wedding celebration? Imagine the possibilities...

The stately front gate sweeps open to reveal a tranquil garden courtyard. Three stories of architectural grace fronted by an historic red-iron facade rises majestically before you. Life and excitement glows through countless sparkling windows as you and your guests are swept away into the grace and beauty of an era past.



Highlight your special day with an amazing site. Come take a peek at Baltimore’s most unique Ballroom and all that we have to offer!

All three floors of the gorgeous Fava Building at 1840s Plaza are now available for special events! With decor varying from the Latin-inspired first-floor 1840s Cabaret to the second floor 1840s City Lites featuring authentic Baltimore vignettes and lounge-like atmosphere, and the elegant 1840s Ballroom with breathtaking city views, hardwood dance floor, crystal chandeliers and hand-painted murals of historic Baltimore there is a space for every vision and every budget!

1840s Plaza Venues
1840s Cabaret (1st floor):
Accommodates 115 seated, 230 standing 1840s City Lites (2nd floor):
Accommodates 160 seated, 250 standing 1840s Ballroom (4th floor):
Accommodates 230 seated, 350 standing


To schedule your private showing, contact Stasia at 410-752-1624 or info@1840sballroom.com. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1221589958474-g05248ws-0596
130x130_sq_1224172345462-i_0208
130x130_sq_1224172314915-i_0034
130x130_sq_1221590030567-g05248ws-0600
130x130_sq_1224172378805-i_0240
130x130_sq_1224172400680-i_0346
130x130_sq_1221590520161-g05248ws-0610
130x130_sq_1221590162192-g05038ss-1088
130x130_sq_1193690617968-15d
130x130_sq_1206366811885-1840sballroom2
130x130_sq_1221590434817-g05248ws-0662
130x130_sq_1206367304557-070811-0227
130x130_sq_1221589876067-g05038ss-0791
130x130_sq_1221590715442-borrowedbluephoto283
130x130_sq_1224172426399-i_0499
130x130_sq_1224172463055-i_0665
130x130_sq_1206367254260-070811-0318
130x130_sq_1221590606849-dancefloor
130x130_sq_1221590080208-g05248ws-0609
130x130_sq_1206367484478-dsc_1456
130x130_sq_1249062127904-1840scitylites03
130x130_sq_1249062145185-1840scitylites02
130x130_sq_1249062225326-1840scitylites05
130x130_sq_1249062259389-1840scitylites06
130x130_sq_1249062316842-1840scitylites07
130x130_sq_1249062327654-1840scitylites08
130x130_sq_1249062405717-7909walkwaytoinnwithbaskets
130x130_sq_1249062410717-1840scitylites10
130x130_sq_1249062440154-7909goodcourtyardfava001
130x130_sq_1255365756541-1840sballroomfoyer
130x130_sq_1255365757260-1840sballroomwithbacklitpipedrape
130x130_sq_1255365808369-1840scitylitesheadtable
130x130_sq_1255365812572-1840scitylites3
130x130_sq_1255365863291-1840scitylites4
130x130_sq_1255365866807-1840scitylites5
130x130_sq_1363715161640-img0456m
130x130_sq_1363715162882-img0473m
130x130_sq_1363715163877-img0485m
130x130_sq_1363715165203-img0505l
130x130_sq_1363715166726-img0509l
130x130_sq_1363715168210-img0513m
130x130_sq_1363715169363-img0534m
130x130_sq_1370359501663-20120526bm0421-copy
130x130_sq_1370359591986-20120526bm0423-copy
130x130_sq_1370359696983-20120526bm0567-copy
130x130_sq_1370359866437-20120526bm0583-copy
130x130_sq_1370360019815-20120526bm0937-copy
130x130_sq_1370360055251-ap001-copy
130x130_sq_1370360064186-ap079-copy
130x130_sq_1370360081202-ap087-copy
130x130_sq_1370360088669-ap142-copy
130x130_sq_1370360108302-ap226-copy
130x130_sq_1370360115297-ap227-copy
130x130_sq_1370360123543-ap233-copy
130x130_sq_1370360131450-ap238-copy
130x130_sq_1370360184105-david-eric-photography-1
130x130_sq_1332776189257-connerreichwedding001
130x130_sq_1332776214992-connerreichwedding002
130x130_sq_1332776240258-connerreichwedding003
130x130_sq_1332776272155-connerreichwedding004
130x130_sq_1332776305596-connerreichwedding005
130x130_sq_1332776331997-connerreichwedding006
130x130_sq_1332776366077-connerreichwedding007
130x130_sq_1332776399900-connerreichwedding008
130x130_sq_1332776433785-connerreichwedding009
130x130_sq_1332776466672-connerreichwedding010
130x130_sq_1332776503685-connerreichwedding011
130x130_sq_1332776541597-connerreichwedding012
130x130_sq_1332776575929-connerreichwedding013
130x130_sq_1332776612443-connerreichwedding014
130x130_sq_1332776642735-connerreichwedding015
130x130_sq_1332776669825-connerreichwedding016
130x130_sq_1332776693333-connerreichwedding017
130x130_sq_1332776716889-connerreichwedding018
130x130_sq_1332776749586-connerreichwedding019
130x130_sq_1332776778658-connerreichwedding020
130x130_sq_1332776803782-connerreichwedding021
130x130_sq_1332776838517-connerreichwedding022
130x130_sq_1332776865021-connerreichwedding023
130x130_sq_1332776900534-connerreichwedding024
130x130_sq_1332776933135-connerreichwedding025
130x130_sq_1332776963284-connerreichwedding026
130x130_sq_1332776992792-connerreichwedding027
130x130_sq_1332777019331-connerreichwedding028
130x130_sq_1332777042218-connerreichwedding029
130x130_sq_1332777070563-connerreichwedding030
130x130_sq_1332777097159-connerreichwedding031
130x130_sq_1332777121115-connerreichwedding032
130x130_sq_1332777144600-connerreichwedding033
130x130_sq_1332777183705-connerreichwedding034
130x130_sq_1332777218156-connerreichwedding035
130x130_sq_1332777265691-connerreichwedding036
130x130_sq_1332777293564-connerreichwedding037
130x130_sq_1332777319737-connerreichwedding038
130x130_sq_1332777348423-connerreichwedding039
130x130_sq_1332777382240-connerreichwedding040
130x130_sq_1332777421049-connerreichwedding041
130x130_sq_1332777453063-connerreichwedding042
130x130_sq_1332777480481-connerreichwedding043
130x130_sq_1332777505414-connerreichwedding044
130x130_sq_1332777536297-connerreichwedding045
130x130_sq_1332777568253-connerreichwedding046
130x130_sq_1332777598842-connerreichwedding047
130x130_sq_1332777629956-connerreichwedding048
130x130_sq_1332777659965-connerreichwedding049
130x130_sq_1332777694326-connerreichwedding050
130x130_sq_1332777724359-connerreichwedding051
130x130_sq_1332777761861-connerreichwedding052

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1980
When was your venue last renovated?
2011
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Inn / Bed & Breakfast
Describe the style of your venue
City, Eclectic, Garden / Romantic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
230
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
13
Number of suites
6
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1500
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jess
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
The moment I visited this venue I fell in love with it! Our wedding ceremony was held in the gorgeous lower courtyard of 1840s and the reception was held in the Ballroom on the 4th floor. The venue and staff are amazing! Stasia is the best coordinator, she was professional and on top of her game! I received so many complaints about the 1840s Plaza from many guests who stated it was a beautiful venue. We were so happy with everything, THANK YOU so much for making our wedding great :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We found the perfect venue for our wedding reception at 1840's. We had the cocktail hour on the ground floor and dinner and dancing in City Lites. The staff was wonderful to work with. We enjoyed working with the staff at 1840's. We are Baltimore natives so City Lites was just a wonderful room for the reception and our guests (natives and non-Baltimore natives) loved it too!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ilene
Wedding:
11/30/2013
5.0/5.0
The venue was beautiful, & the staff was wonderful. Stasia Cruz was our main person we dealt with. She was always very helpful, & managed our very large function with ease. The day of the wedding staff were on the ball the whole time. I would highly recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bb5
Sharon and Tonya
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
The 1840"a was an awesome place to hold our wedding and reception! From the moment we arrived everything was simply perfect. The staff was there for our every need, they kept checking in with us to see if we needed anything and if we did it was taken care of right away. We also stayed in the Inn along with our entire bridal party. The service that was provided to us and all of our guest was above and beyond what we expected! I would highly recommend the 1840"s to anyone looking for a great venue for your event.

Sincerely,
Sharon
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
We used the City Lites room and it was amazing! All of our pictures look great because the back drop was so beautiful. Stasia and the rest of the team were awesome every step of the way. Devin was incredibly helpful and so polite when we were setting up. I do think it would be nice if the Carrollton Inn would give guests a discounted rate after a certain number of rooms are booked but, otherwise, the value for the actual venue is reasonable considering location and convenience.

My only complaint is that we chose to have the valet not accept tips from the guests and that we would tip them based on a per car charge (this is an option on the contract) but I found out when I went to pay the valet at the end of the night that they were accepting tips all night. I'm not sure where the miscommunication was but, overall, not a huge deal.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
1840s Plaza responded with the following comments:

We appreciate all feedback both positive and negative as we strive to create the perfect wedding day for our couples. We always take the sound advice from our clients to make appropriate changes in order to make our operation as smooth as possible. In the contract there is not an option in regards to valet gratuity, this is to be discussed between the client and the 1840s Plaza Director of Operation prior to the wedding day so that we may handle the valet gratuity at the request of our clients. We do apologize that this was miscommunicated to you and that you wanted to handle the gratuity differently. At the 1840s Carrollton Inn we offer the wedding couple 20% off a room or suite of their choice as well as 10% off each room thereafter (at a minimum of 4 rooms total).
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robbie
Wedding:
6/21/2013
5.0/5.0
We fell in love with the 1840's Plaza the moment we walked in! We figured out our wedding size, and have a few options of venue that could hold a wedding our size, and as it happened, 1840's was the first place we looked at on a day of touring venues. Once we got to the City Lites level, we were totally sold. We wanted something a little more unique that a big rectangular ballroom, and this venue was perfect for our needs. At that point all of the other venues we toured, though lovely, just couldn't compare. All aspects of planning were a breeze with Stasia and Dianna, and when possible, the team was totally flexible! As it turned out, we had our ceremony in the courtyard, cocktail hour in the Cabaret, and reception in the City Lites. We had a cocktail reception, so we didn't have to worry about seating for everyone, so City Lites was the perfect fit for the reception of our dreams. We didn't have any significant problems to speak of, and we're happy to sing the praises of a fabulous venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Absolutely AMAZING!! We are so happy to have chosen this venue over any other that we looked at in the Downtown/Inner Harbor area! The City Lites room is the most eclectic and fun room! There is really no need to decorate much as it has character all in itself. The Staff was amazing from the very beginning - Stasia and Dianna were such a pleasure to work with and always made you feel as though you did not have to worry about anything - it was taken care of, and it was!! Thank you ALL for your everything - you made our wedding go off without a hitch and everyone loved the location and venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
1840s Plaza responded with the following comments:

We are so glad you had a good experience with our facilities and staff! Thank you for taking the time to review us! We hope to see you again soon. Be sure to check out our Bed & Breakfast, 1840s Carrollton Inn, for a romantic weekend getaway!
Bg5
Sara
Wedding:
5/3/2013
5.0/5.0
The 1840s Plaza was the perfect venue for my wedding ceremony and reception. We held the ceremony in the upper courtyard and the reception in the City Lites venue on the 2nd floor of the Fava Building. It's such a beautiful and unique venue and The 1840s staff were wonderful to work with and very accommodating. I highly recommend this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1345822084837-us
Katie
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
I loved every minute of my experience with 1840s Plaza. Stasia and Amy helped make our wedding one of the best days of my life. It was beautiful. The City Lites room was unique and so much fun. I am so grateful that we selected this venue for our reception.
Stasia and Amy were so helpful, from start to finish. I felt like I never had to worry about anything. Stasia even bustled my dress when my mom and I had trouble doing it correctly!
Everything was absolutely wonderful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/28/2012
5.0/5.0
We thought the entire 1840's staff was wonderful. Because of Stasia and Dianna, our wedding was perfect. They were extremely helpful, nice, and willing to do whatever we needed. Even our guests commented on how wonderful Stasia was on the day of the wedding (Dianna covered our rehearsal).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
This wedding venue was a no brainer for us. I have loved the building and courtyard from afar for years. We met with Dianna to view all of the spaces about 14 months before our wedding. We loved the B&B (the Carrolton Inn), the huge brick courtyard, and the gorgeous facade of the actual building. Once we visited all of the floors of the building, we knew the 2nd floor, City Lites was perfect for us. With gorgeous murals on the walls, fun nooks and crannies, and the White Tower Diner in the middle of the room, we knew that it would be ideal for our casual, fun and quirky wedding. A few weeks before the wedding, we received a call about the 3rd floor (the backup to the courtyard as our ceremony location). We were in the nearby vicinity, and Dianna had no problem with us just stopping by to discuss the plans. They were making changes to the 3rd floor's decor and were completely up front and wanted us to be aware of these changes. Dianna presented us with wonderful options if we weren't happy with how the room would look for the day of our wedding. We ended up having gorgeous weather and used the courtyard as hoped, but it was incredibly appreciated that Dianna called us to explain the situation and give us options. When we had our meeting a week before the wedding, with our caterer and other vendors, Dianna helped us through all the steps of how the day of would work, in terms of timing, and when we could bring all of our decorations in. She even allowed me to stop by later alone to show my photographer around. We greatly enjoyed everyone involved from 1840s, but Dianna was the one there for us every step of the way. The site was gorgeous, and the staff incredibly helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JHM
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Loved, loved, loved having our reception at the 1840s plaza! We had our cocktail hour in the 3rd floor Carroll Salon, and our dinner in the fun City Lites room. It was the perfect fun room to party in after having a traditional Catholic wedding ceremony! Dianna and Stasia were fantastic to work with, helpful from day one up until the night of the wedding. We had a slight parking crisis when the city parking authority failed to bag the meters on S. Front street in time (which we had already paid for months in advance to reserve parking for some guests/vendors), and the 1840s plaza took care of it, even sending someone out to tell non-wedding guests to move their cars. All around a terrific venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Great staff, beautiful venue and a great price.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
We had our ceremony and reception in "City Lites" or floor 2 of the Fava building. Amazing. We went with a Baltimore theme to capture the beauty of the room and not only was it amazing to see, but our guests said it was the coolest room they had ever seen. Stasia and Dianna are amazing and the staff at the Inn are truly awesome as well. I loved our venue and hope to return one day to celebrate some other special event :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
osfan4life
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
I got married in the Courtyard at the Carrollton Inn and then our reception was in the City Lites ballroom. We also stayed our wedding night in the Carrollton Inn. It was BEAUTIFUL. All of it. We were able to watch people arriving at the wedding from the suite, and our ceremony was so gorgeous, the site was so pretty. And our reception was so much fun! AHH. I know it's probably not for everyone but it's so cute and Baltimore-esque. We had 110 guests and it was perfect for the space, I think too much more would have been cramped FYI! Juan worked with my wedding planner and made everything go so smooth (plus saved me with a secret trip to the powder room hahaha). Many thanks!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
4/13/2007
5.0/5.0
Sasha was wonderful to work with. She was helpful, attentive and pleasant. I was able to get some of the center pieces and beverages in the day before and that relieved a lot of stress! There was staff available to let me in and help unload the items.
Everything about the 1840's Ballroom was spectacular. Our reception was a blast and our caterers rave about being able to work there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kaseyglorioso
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
We LOVED the staff at 1840s! We actually got married in the "City Lites" room instead of the ballroom. We loved the dramatic and fun feel of City Lites over the more formal feel of the ballroom (though it was GORGEOUS). We had our ceremony on the third floor.

Stasia and Juan, one of her assistants, were amazing. From the moment we went to view the venue until the wedding day, nothing was too much trouble for them. My e-mails were always responded to within a day or so, and they did everything in their power to make us happy.

Our wedding was amazing because of the wonderful location and wonderful people at 1840s! Our guests RAVED!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
swells17
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Great experience with all of the staff, especially Stacia and Sharon! Everything was magical, professional, and they guided us through the process with ease. City Lites was a very fun, unique location and we couldn't have asked for a better wedding! Thanks 1840's!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kirsten
Wedding:
9/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Fantastic venue and location! I researched several areas in Baltimore City that were NOT hotels and could accommodate almost 150 people. I love the outdoor garden area that we used for cocktail hour. The space was kept nice and flowers full in bloom:) The City Lites floor was eclectic and unique. The price was very reasonable and rental came with chairs and tables.BONUS! The managers of 1840s were very helpful and responsive to emails and phone calls. I would definitely recommend having your wedding there!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg1
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was on 8/14/2010, our reception was held at the 1840's Ballroom in Baltimore MD. First, of all I had the ballroom on the 4th floor, a very good view of downtown Baltimore. Second, the Satff is amazing especially my Event Coordinator for the day Juan Chrisitian...he is awesome, amazing and outstanding. He is on point about every detail from our first inital meeting weeks before the wedding and the day of the wedding. I just don't know what to say about his professionalism, he attended to our every need, made sure that we were happy, even when there was a little mishap from the videograher( not having my montage cd), he made sure to take my mind off of it, just focus on the happiness of my life with my husband. He assisted with the photograher and giving us different venue ideas to take pictures on the site, Juan is awesome, he provided outstanding service. I can say on our wedding day we had the dream team, and I plan on using these vendors for the future. Again, thanks to 1840's Ballroom staff for everything especially to the best Event Coordinator Juan Christian.----MY DREAM TEAM:)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I held my wedding reception in the 1st Floor Cabaret Room. We loved the burgundy walls, the unique lighting, and the great bar. We had our ceremony in the courtyard outside of the Carrollton Inn. Stacia and Juan were fantastic to work with. They respond to phone calls and emails quickly, and they did everything perfectly to make my wedding day stress-free.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1236037862812-missysengagementparty
Amy and Tony
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
This is a fantastic venue!!!! Our guests could not stop complimenting how nice it was and how great of a location it was. I highly recommend the 1840s Ballroom and I wish I could do it all over again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1265395761356-arthurandteaira
Teaira
Wedding:
2/19/2010
5.0/5.0
The 1840s Ballroom is the most beautiful place I have ever saw. Everyone was very professional, and the service was great.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
1/9/2010
5.0/5.0
We had our ceremony on the third floor and our reception on the fourth floor. Stasia and Juan were amazing! They helped us design and coordinate the day and were warm and welcoming to our guests. They worked with us from setting up the room to day-of-wedding troubleshooting. We couldn't have asked for better service and professionalism for our wedding. They made everything run smoothly and perfectly.
Additionally, the 1840's Carrolton Inn is beautiful and a luxurious place to stay for the wedding party and a beautiful spot for wedding portraits.
The only negative was that the lighting on the third floor compromised some of our pre-wedding portraits. We think that this could be remedied with additional lighting or multiple photographers.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1256071631896-8726121984670371214552653446040353325920s
KaseyMengel
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
We just had our wedding at the 1840s Ballroom in Baltimore and it was amazing! We had the ceremony on the 1st floor of the Fava building (initially we were to be outside in the courtyard, but due to risk of rain had an opportunity to look at the various floors of the fava building and fell in LOVE with the first floor). The first floor has an old fashioned feel with a large dark wood bar, great lighting, and a beautiful staircase. it was wonderful and, while the building itself was perfect for the ceremony and the 4th floor for the reception, the staff was stellar...thank you Stasia!

We love Baltimore so this was a perfect place to get married and the staff made our time at the venue carefree...who can ask for more!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1258493676702-addymalik1001a
AdrielleMD
Wedding:
9/6/2009
5.0/5.0
For our wedding, we rented the 1840s Ballroom for the ceremony only and their City Lights venues was used for our reception. While this was not typical, it proved to be a good selection for us. My husband and I were seeking some place different; we didn't want our wedding to look like anybody else's we knew. These venues delivered a wonderful amibance and impressed all our guests. The ballroom is absolutely stunning and tradional; however, there are unique details like the painted murals along the wall. The City Lights venue in contrast, was a former night club and converted museum, providing a swanky and relaxed atomosphere complete with a separate D-Jay booth, huge dance floor, bar and lounge area equipped with black leather couches and side tables. We set up one side of the room to seat our 150 guests with the tables and chivari chairs (included in the rental) and the other side with the lounge area was great for folks to mingle. Our photographer loved the photo opportunities these venues afforded, taking advantage of the urban location and beautiful architecture and design of the building.
We continue to receive compliments from our guest and the pictures look amazing! Enough gloating about how great everything turned out for it would have all been in vain if not for the wonderful coordinators and staff at the 1840s ballroom. They were accomodating, responsive and professional. I forgot to mention the best part- there is a lovely bed and breakfast associated with the ballroom that offers a sweet discount on a room for any who rent the venue. All the rooms are georgous and plush and your stay includes a gourmet breakfast (delicious). I love the 1840s Ballrom, all the venues in the Fava Building are amazing and the location is perfect even for your out-of-town guests to find accomodations (most of ours stayed at the brand new Fairfield Marriott just across the street). Our wedding proved to be unforgettable and stunning due to this unique location...and all our wonderful vendors!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
baltimoregal
Wedding:
8/2/2008
5.0/5.0
Our Reception was at the 1840's Ballroom (Cocktails in the courtyard, Dinner and Dancing in the upstairs Ballroom). Everything was great, Stasia was wonderful to work with, helpful and creative. This venue is absolutely beautiful, and flexible - we brought in our own liquor and chose the caterer ourselves! From the gorgeous wooden bar to the beautiful courtyard outside, this was a wonderful place for our reception!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gabriel
Wedding:
12/1/2007
5.0/5.0
The 1840's Ballroom was an excellent place to have our Wedding Reception. The location was superb and everything about the ballroom was spectacular. From the dance floor to the beautiful wooden bar. We have absolutely no regrets from having acquired such a astounding venue!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bonnie
Wedding:
11/24/2007
5.0/5.0
This is a beautiful hall, which was perfect for our event. I would strongly recommend it to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bella9974
Wedding:
2/11/2011
5.0/5.0
The door of the 3rd and 4th floors are beautiful. I had my ceremony on the 3rd floor and the reception in the 4th floor (ballroom). The third floor is very scenic with beautiful backgrounds for the photography and the chandeliers on the 4th floor are stunning. The event coordinator, Juan, is awesome (the staff, in general is great) but this guy goes above and beyond. He anticipated my needs on my wedding day, which I greatly appreciate and will never forget. I've attended other events at this venue and was impressed even then. I am so thankful that my wedding was here. We are a unique wedding couple, in that we won the "wedding in a week" contest..so thank you 1840's Ballroom for making my wedding perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ajvernon
Wedding:
9/9/2010
4.9/5.0
My husband and I chose to use the city lutes venue in the 1840sballroom building because of it's amazing character, location, and staff. Like most brides I visited multiple sites and couldn't have been more excited when I found this venue. It truly was the perfect venue to set the classy but fun environment we wanted. All of our guests had a great time and I appreciated all of the 1840sballroom staff's help.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
3/15/2014
4.9/5.0
We hosted our wedding at 1840s on a Saturday evening in March and everything went great. We were lucky in that there were no other reservations of the other floors (we were told that if no one booked another event by one month prior to our wedding date we could use other floors in the building) and we were able to have our run of the whole building, so we held our ceremony in the 4th floor ballroom, then moved our guests to cocktail hour on the first floor while the wedding party and family took photos on the second floor, and then went back up to the ballroom for dinner and dancing. The wedding coordinator Stasia was great, both during the rehearsal and in having the ceremony run smoothly as well. The 1840s building is absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely recommend this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
I had been at a reception at this venue before and absolutely loved it. I am so glad I was able to have my reception there. I loved how everything looked there the day of our wedding! They were very helpful when we needed to bring a bunch of items the day before the wedding. They were also very responsive whenever I had a question.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
I had my reception on the 4th floor ballroom and cocktail hour on the first floor saloon. I received so many compliments about what a beautiful venue and unique venue this was and such a great location. My out of town guests stayed at the Fairfield Inn, so they could just walk to the reception (and ceremony- got married at St. Leo’s in Little Italy), and plenty of things for them to do in the Inner Harbor.

It ended up raining the day of my wedding and the staff was quick to move my cocktail hour from the outdoor courtyard to the first floor, turned out great. Also I was able to decorate the ballroom the day before, so I didn’t have to worry about anything the day of my wedding. I had a seated dinner with 150 guests and a band, and there was plenty of room for everyone to move about. I probably wouldn’t suggest having a seated dinner with anymore then 170 guests tops or it would start to get a little cramped. Only downside was parking - and guests were confused that they couldn't take the stairs from the 1st floor to the ballroom.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1317058515019-weddinggarter
Stephanie
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.8/5.0
The 1840's Ballroom was a beautiful venue for a great price. I had 220 guests and it was the perfect size, not too big and not too small. We used the courtyard for cocktail hour and it was gorgeous. We moved up to the ballroom for the reception and it was breathtaking! I would recommend this venue to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
5/29/2011
4.8/5.0
We had our wedding ceremony and reception here. It was fantastic. The venue is beautiful. The staff is absolutely amazing! They made sure everything was taken care of, even running up to my room to grab something I had forgotten and helping carry gifts to the room at the end of the night. There was always someone nearby to take care of anything I needed. We even used one of their staff members to officiate our wedding. The location is also convenient for out of town guests. They have a spectacular inn on site and a hotel across the street. It is in downtown Baltimore so your guests can walk to numerous places for sight-seeing while they are in town. I would like to explain the 4.5 stars I gave them for two categories. For value, I could not give them a 5 because it is a bit pricey (at least for our budget). I will say that the involvement of the staff justifies the cost. As for flexibility, they had a few rules that we needed to work around. Everything was fine, but we needed some creative thinking sometimes. I would say that despite those things, it is a spectacular venue. I would highly recommend it! Several months after our wedding, our guests are still talking about the venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Scott
Wedding:
8/21/2010
4.8/5.0
We did our wedding reception at the 1840's ballroom on August 21st, 2010. We thought it is a beautiful venue and it was more than adequate for what we needed. Stasia was a pleasure to deal with through the process and Juan (our site coordinator) was excellent the night of. He greeted us at the limo, walked us to the holding area, and even tried to fix my wives wedding dress. I'd recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for a location to hold their wedding reception.

Just a heads up, if you decide to hold your event here make sure to contact Baltimore City to reserve the parking spots out front. For only $89 you get 16-18 spots which is crucial since parking is at a premium down there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
1840s Ballroom was the perfect place for our wedding! We had the ceremony (upper courtyard), cocktail hour (lower courtyard), & reception (Ballroom). It was perfect location & had so much charm! Stasia was wonderful to work with always avalible, easy going & very flexible! Thanks so much for making our day so great!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
9/8/2007
4.8/5.0
Our wedding was beautiful. The courtyard where the ceremony was held and the ballroom were exactly what we were looking for.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
Loved our reception venue on the City Lites floor! Had a great time and very unique! Shasta was excellent to deal with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
1840s Plaza responded with the following comments:

We are so glad you were pleased with our venue and our employees! Thank you for choosing the 1840s Plaza for your wedding!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mdavies28
Wedding:
5/16/2009
4.7/5.0
The building is gorgeous! It has wondeful chandalers with a big dance floor. The bathrooms are clean and big. The only thing I didn't like about it was that it is located in Baltimore city, so all my guests had to park at the parking garage and walk a block. Other than that it was great. The staff is really friendly and the place is just goregous!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
8/21/2010
4.7/5.0
We had our ceremony in the Courtyard and our reception in the City Lites Room (we fell in LOVE with this room when we went for our first visit!) Everything was beautiful and Stasia, Juan and Sharon were extremely helpful and friendly. The only thing I wish was a bit easier was unloading all of our wedding ceremony reception stuff from our car into the Ballroom. All of the parking spots near the 1840s Plaza were booked for another wedding, so we had to illegally park, and take loads of stuff from our car to the courtyard. The Bed and Breakfast doesn't have any luggage racks, so it took us a couple trips running all of our stuff into the reception room, and the bridal suite. The rooms at the Carrollton Inn are beautiful, and make for some really good "getting ready" pictures. The Courtyard wedding was everything I imagined. The only reason I'm giving a 4.5 out of 5 for cost is because I think with the amount we paid to rent the courtyard, it should have included chairs. All in all, a wonderful venue and all of our guests couldn't stop talking about how beautiful it was!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alex
Wedding:
7/24/2010
4.7/5.0
This is an absolutely gorgeous venue for a reception (we did our ceremony in a church). It has a sweeping view of Baltimore, and the murals, antique bar, and woodwork are all so beautiful that we didn’t need decorations. The tables were arranged in a way that gave a sense of intimacy, even though the venue could have easily handled another 100 guests. They were very accommodating with our plan of setting up drapes to allow for a division between the cocktails portion of the room and the seating area. This allowed us to do a grand entrance after the guests had taken their seats.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christy
Wedding:
4/10/2010
4.7/5.0
The 1840's ballroom was a wonderful venue. The staff was flexible, friendly and made our reception run smoothy- without a hitch! They also made the planning easy because they were organized and straight forward. The location is ideal for out of town guests who need places to stay, the Ballroom itself is beautiful and the space it provides is comfortable. I would highly recommend this to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linsey
Wedding:
10/3/2010
4.7/5.0
I fell in love when I first walked into the city lights room...I had been looking at other venues but when I went to the ballroom my mind was made up! I loved everyone I worked with and even though I was stressed out over rain (as any bride would be :p ) they all pulled together and helped to make my day really shine! It was such a good time all my guests had a blast, I'd def. recommend the 1840's ballroom!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
Fantastic venue and service. M.punte and her staff were attentive and responsive on the wedding day. Dianne was excellent in setting up the rehersal and the wedding day organization.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
12/31/2006
4.6/5.0
From the first moment I saw 1840s Ballroom on their Web site, I was in love. Once stepping out of the elevator and entering the ballroom, I knew there was no other reception site for me. Stasia was easy to work with and helpful in answer questions at almost a moments notice. She worked with us in adjusting walk-through times, as well as pickup and drop-off times for our reception items. We couldn't have been happier and wish we could throw a party there every year.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1228668447167-101_3386
Wendy
Wedding:
10/2/2009
4.6/5.0
Overall, I loved my experience at the 1840's! I found it to be one of the only venue's in Baltimore with a unique setting, very "Baltimore" with rooms available on site! The 1840s City Lites room had the perfect cozy and party atmosphere we wanted for our wedding. It's layout led to a formal dinner, with a casual atmosphere, that allowed people to mingle easily and not feel awkward to be on the dance floor.

The staff at 1840s was wonderful. Stasia was extremely helpful and flexible throughout the period of planning the wedding and allowed for multiple visits with different vendors. They even provided staff to support us at the rehearsal and the wedding, telling the party when to walk and keep us on time, etc. I did not know that this was even included inthe cost! Fantastic.

Just be aware that there is a lot going on, so make sure to remember your own details. Also, the City Lites room has not been used much, so the staff isn't as familiar with some of it's details, such as lighting, and your caterer will need to purchase additional items, such as a pipe and drape and oven.

My guests also enjoyed the space's proximity to the harbor and bars/restaurants. Many of our guests stayed at the inn and it makes a fantastic room for the bride and groom. I travel a lot for work, and those are some of the nicest rooms I have stayed in. My husband and I will definitely be staying there for a few anniversaries.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
8/24/2007
4.6/5.0
I would recommend this Ballroom for any celebratory event. Not only is the ambience well worth the money, but the staff were very easy to work with and very reliable. I received numerous comments on the Ballroom during my wedding reception. This is a gorgeous, antique ballroom with an extremely personable feeling to it.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mmcgury
Wedding:
9/4/2011
4.6/5.0
All I have to say is this venue did it all for us. We used the courtyard for our ceremony, the upper courtyard for our cocktail hour, and the 4th floor ballroom for our reception. It was absolutely gorgeous, and the staff was amazing. Our guests could not get over how beautiful everything was. It is located in a great place near the inner harbor, and our guests had a wonderful time visiting the area. I highly recommend this venue if you are looking for an elegant location that can handle one fun party.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
suzg
Wedding:
3/5/2011
4.5/5.0
We had our wedding at the 1840s Ballroom in early March. Our ceremony was on the 3rd floor and the reception was on the 4th floor. No one else had booked the ballroom for the day so we really had the run of the place which was fantastic! The caterer was able to get in early and set up -- and we were able to use the chairs from the second floor for our ceremony at no extra cost. Definitely one of the benefits of getting married in the off season! The fourth floor is a great room and we received tons of compliments from our guests! Also, the third floor is great for a ceremony -- more subdued but still pretty. I would definitely recommend this place. We worked with Stasia leading up to the day and Juan was the day of coordinator. Juan was fantastic the day of and really helped me stay calm! I would just research the parking options carefully. We had some problems on that end but that was really the only blip. Also, our guests stayed at the Fairfield Marriott which is great because your guests can walk home from the event....
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gary
Wedding:
10/30/2010
4.5/5.0
We had our reception in the City Light's room and we loved it! The room is beautiful, has a ton of character, and requires minimal decorating. The price was also very reasonable comapred to comparable venues.

The only downside is that they do last call 1/2 hour before the end of the event, and when your event is only 4 hours long, that is significant. That might be a City rule though, not sure. Unfortunately our DJ didn't announce last call so people were surprised when they could get alcohol; and when I brought it up to the staff person, she just shrugged her shoulders. Not a big deal though - just make sure the DJ announces it!

We would recommend this venue to anyone - both our floor and the larger formal ballroom upstairs were both stunning, and the staff was very helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bltmrcricket
Wedding:
8/28/2010
4.4/5.0
This is an amazing venue and was a wonderful place for our wedding ceremony and reception. Sometimes it did take a few days to get a response to an email or voice mail but I have to admit on the day of the rehearsal and the day of the wedding Juan (our coordinator from 1840s) was all over the place. He had answers to every question, before we asked it, had taken care of problems that we didn't know existed and had everything run on schedule. Many, many thanks to him for our wonderful wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Latarsha
Wedding:
5/26/2007
4.4/5.0
Stasia was wonderful. She was the ultimate coordinator. From the wedding coordinator to the DJ, Stasia took care of everything. I loved everything and the location was so beautiful...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sweetheart
Wedding:
11/22/2008
4.4/5.0
The 1840s Ballroom was a beautiful venue for our wedding. We had a little over 200 guests and the ballroom fit them perfectly. The venue has a lot of rich, dark wood – which looks lovely with dim lighting and chandeliers. I would recommend a seated dinner [in the space] given the number of people (if less, a buffet would work) and stationary appetizers on the dance floor during the cocktail hour. Our caterer put them in the room with the bar and it was a little crowded. There are a few parking options – all about 2 blocks away from the actual location. You can rent the meters (only 18) in front of the building from Baltimore city, but it takes some time and patience dealing with the city parking office. All in all … we really loved the venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1255897127609-7634123207908913914439902496380275065613n
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.2/5.0
Our experience with the 1840's ballroom was very good up until the day after our wedding. We had asked if there was a safe place to store our liquor until the next day and we were told that there would be no problem storing it in the ballroom and that no one would have access to the locked room. I had checked with the caterer and knew the exact count of some of our liquor after the wedding. When we went the next day to take it with us, some was missing. The 1840's ballroom wedding coordinator said that their staff had been in the room to clean, but that they were not responsible for any missing liquor! And, they accused our guests of possibly taking it, when I was the last one out of the room the night before. You can save money by providing your own liquor, but take it with you directly after the event is over (and I suggest asking the host to keep bottles and counting it as well) or just having the caterer provide it.

A few other things - make sure that you're okay with the other rooms in the building if it rains. I think that they are all a bit akward (the floors especially), though if it rains there isn't too much you can do about it. Also, it is very expensive, especially if you want to be the only event that day. I think that they should throw in a free room night at the Carrollton Inn, but you only get 40% off for the night of the wedding (just for the bride/groom).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
11/7/2009
4.2/5.0
We were on the 4th floor in the ballroom. The space was great and we had a lovely time. We had around 150 people and I think it would have been a little more cramped feeling if we had too many more than that. But it was nicely decorated and we didn't have to put any money into that aspect, which was nice.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.1/5.0
We had the ceremony in the upper courtyard and the reception in the City Lites room. I worked with Dianna and her assistant Tiffany. At the rehearsal, Dianna took control and made sure everything ran smoothly. On the wedding day, Dianna coordinated with our caterer so we never had to worry about anything. A few times it took awhile to get a reply on an email, but the emails were always answered. Tips: make sure to doublecheck payment due dates (they want payment in full 3 months before) and paying for the meter spots out front is completely worth it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
1840s Plaza responded with the following comments:

1840s Corporation requires payment, after the initial deposit, three months prior to the wedding date. This is notated in the contract and disclosed to our clients very easily. 1840s Corporation also provides our clients with a "Dates to Remember" page for each client that includes Payment Due, Rehearsal Date, Walk-Through Date, and Catering Contract Date (All very important dates). We also send out a reminder in the mail one-two months before payment is due. We always want to provide ample time for our clients to make sure payment is on time.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MinJee
Wedding:
7/22/2011
4.0/5.0
I absolutely loved 1840's City Lights floor. It was just what I was looking for and the staff was wonderful! The only problem was that the air conditioner seemed to go out on the 2nd floor so it was very hot. They did put up fans, but it was still so hot that many of my guests stood near the stairways where the cool air from the top floor was coming down.

We also had several guests stay in their Carrollton Inn. My parents room lost Air Conditioning and were moved in the middle of the night to another room that was smaller. During the midnight move my mothers jewelry was lost (much of it was her expensive stuff since she had taken it our for this special occasion).

We did not receive a discount for these inconveniences but did get a verbal apology. Despite these things, I still am glad we chose this location. It was historical, beautiful, and I would just suggest getting married in a cooler month than July so that the A/C issues won't be a problem if they stop working.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lcvowles
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.0/5.0
The ONLY issues we had were on the night of, when it was too bright and too hot. We were generally really impressed with how easy it was to communicate with Stasia, who was fantastic, and with the accomodation of the staff in general. I would highly recommend the 1840s to couples, and we really liked the uniqueness of the City Lites room specifically.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brigid
Wedding:
10/8/2010
3.6/5.0
Overall we had a very pleasant experience with the 1840's Ballroom. They were extremely accommodating and helpful up until the day of our wedding. Our only complaint was in regards to the actual day of the ceremony and reception. The staff had two weddings going on simultaneously (which I only learned about 1 month before my wedding. I would have never booked there if I had know that they could have two events going at the same time) and I don't feel that my wedding and guests got the attention and service that I believe we paid for and were led to expect. I got married in the courtyard and as I was standing on the altar listening to my readers I saw other guest from the other wedding walk across the courtyard. Then I saw THE OTHER BRIDE walk across during my ceremony. I was assured many times over by Stasia and her staff that this would not happen. I was appalled and very upset. While I believe that Stasia (the main coordinator) was very efficient at her job she was stretched too thin and did not have a very competent supporting staff. I found the supporting staff to be aloof and sometimes rude. The other issue was with the elevator. Half of my guests had to walk up four flights of stairs because there was wait times of up to 20 minutes for the one elevator (we were also assured this would not be a problem and the elevator would be attended by staff at all times, which is it was not according to some guests). While our guests did not seem to notice the flaws fortunately, it is still disconcerting to have such petty issues arise in the middle of your ceremony and reception when they could easily be avoided by adding a few more members to the staff or by not double booking the venue at the same time. Overall I would recommend the Ballroom (and especially the Inn) for your event. It is a beautiful setting and we got many many compliments. Just be aware of these issues when booking this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

DEALS

Wedding Night Bliss
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Book your wedding date at the 1840s Ballroom and save 20% on overnight accommodations at the elegant 1840s Carrollton Inn - just across the garden courtyard. Room rates range from $175 - $395 per night and include a full breakfast.
Deal #WW133af2bdb6fdd366
220x220_1370449508210-david-eric-photography-1

MAP

 
29 South Front Street, Baltimore, MD 21202 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for 1840s Plaza
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo