130x130_sq_1298650227070-berkely

1871 Berkeley Church

Toronto , ON
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

315 Queen St Est
Toronto, ON CA M5A 1S7 (map)

PHONE

416-361-9666

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

You and your guests can stay, meet and celebrate in our unique spaces. CELEBRATE in our Ballroom, or our unique 2nd Floor Reception Gallery GATHER in our Art Bar or Drawing Room for... Read more
You and your guests can stay, meet and celebrate in our unique spaces. CELEBRATE in our Ballroom, or our unique 2nd Floor Reception Gallery GATHER in our Art Bar or Drawing Room for intimate pre-wedding parties or post wedding brunch DELIGHT in our Catering Services ZZZZZZ.. in our Artist-Designed Guest Rooms SERVICES multiple, unique venue spaces – largest accommodates up to 250 guests one-of-a- kind artist-designed guest rooms for your and your guests full service catering with local and seasonal food focus full multi-media capabilities with in-house technical services honeymoon or VIP Tower Suite with a 360 view of the city! valet parking and red carpet services can also be arranged to pamper you and your guests recommendations for vendors (i.e. flowers, dj’s, entertainment and photographers) Jack and Jill, rehearsal dinner, and post-wedding day brunch!
Our commitment to environmental stewardship is a core value of our business and is reflected in our catering menus, services, products, and day-to-day practices.

To inquire about booking a wedding please fill out our on-line booking inquiry form or email Penny Rose. Read less
Wedding Venue

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1871
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Eclectic, Rustic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
800
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3800
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
100
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
Our wedding at the Berkeley Church went flawlessly and we are so incredibly happy with the service we got from Kathy and the team there. Everyone raved about the food and they are like a well oiled machine. Highly recommended and great value for the service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renata
Wedding:
5/17/2014
4.3/5.0
Everything about the venue is incredible and gorgeous - the events coordinator (Kathy) was so easy to work with and accommodated every request we had, no matter how outrageous.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
4/4/2014
4.7/5.0
The Berkeley was an amazing venue for our wedding. The food is the best catered meal that I have ever had and they have some really neat and different options (our oyster bar was amazing and had everyone talking). It is a shabby/chique venue. If ballrooms are what you want, this probably isn't the place but when you dress this venue up it is absolutely stunning (the lighting is included with the venue and they use Susan Murry linens so upgrades to sequin or special linens are very inexpensive) ! The team is very easy to work with. You bring in your own booze - the bartenders provided were fantastic! They know what they are doing at Berkeley, it's a well oiled wedding machine. One downside: there are stairs - especially if you use the mezzanine for the ceremony - it worked for us, but if you have elderly guests it can be a challange.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
Tom and the team were fantastic in making my intimate wedding amazing. We had a large group of children as guests and they accommodated them flawlessly with an additional server and a marshmallow roasting pit outside.
The food was NOT the typical wedding rubber chicken or pasta w red sauce. The in-house catering was delicious and all 4 of the main dishes were great.
We got an off season discount of 10% to time the wedding with the kids march break.
The space was perfect with flattering lighting and enough space to do both the wedding and reception all in one room.
A+
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fiorella
Wedding:
10/4/2013
4.6/5.0
Our coordinator Kathy was great. She was responsive to our emails and had tons of ideas and alleviated many concerns or fears. Our guests raved about the food and the unique location. Looking back, there is no better spot we could have selected for our wedding day.

The Bad:
- not enough h'ourduerves being passed evenly. My mother went up to one of the servers and said, "im the mother of the bride. but theres no appetizers coming this way." bear in mind her english is a bit shoddy. She said they told her they were all out. The impression i got from my mom was that the servers didnt properlly go to all areas of the mezzanine during cocktail hour - thus some guests recieving more hourdeurves than others.
-the bridal party had a tray of hourdeurves near th headtable...unfortunately it wasnt even enough for everyone to have 1 bite of each. It would have been nice to have had the exact # out so everyone could try the houdeurves.
-drinks being taken while still full....
- one of our guests had seran-like plastic in her meal and unfortunately had to wait 30 minutes until she could flag someone down to tell them. She didnt get her meal until an hour later.

The good:
- the barstaff is very professional. I tried to do a shot with the amazing bartender and was quickly told he wasnt allowed. I respect that.
- The food we had was amazing. We ordered the beef french rib which everyone just loved. and the cornish hen. also many compliments.
the trio of dessert - Many told us it was the best dessert at any wedding they had been.
-ability to recreate our signature cocktails all night
-vicibility of the captain and making sure that people who arrived late were given a meal quickly.
-security was on the ball all night. no wedding crashers!

Overall we wished we could give a perfect rating but based on guest feedback we needed to be fair. But definately - we as bride and groom had an amazing time and would do it all over again at the berkeley if we could.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
6/21/2013
4.7/5.0
I just had my wedding at the Berkeley Fieldhouse and literally have no complaints. The venue is so well-organized, our ceremony started right on time on a Friday evening - our guests loved the ambience, our venue coordinator was amazing and flexible, the staff were attentive and friendly and the food was amazing. I would 100% recommend this venue to anyone planning a wedding - it's such a neat unique space in the city - being able to celebrate both inside and out. We got rave reviews of the food from our guests and loved it ourselves. The staff were fantastic. Can't say enough good things about this place!! Thanks to everyone there who worked or helped at our wedding.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alistair
Wedding:
5/11/2013
4.8/5.0
We could not say enough good things about this venue. It's a beautiful space, the food was terrific, the staff were friendly and professional, and they helped us through every step of the planning process. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/4/2013
4.2/5.0
We had our ceremony and brunch reception at the Berkeley Fieldhouse and would highly recommend this venue.

The space, indoors and out, is so unique and beautiful. Our guests loved it. They also loved the food. We chose to do the brunch stations and they were a hit. The value was also EXCELLENT. We knew it would be difficult to have a wedding downtown on a $20,000 budget (especially a unique one). But the Berkeley made this completely possible.

Liz was our contact and coordinator. When we fired our wedding planner just 70 days before the wedding we had Liz step in to act as our day-of-coordinator. She did a wonderful job. She always answered our (zillions) of questions in a timely and professional manner. She was very helpful, knowledgeable and willing to make all of our ideas work. My mother and I were very relaxed and in the moment on the day because we knew Liz was handling everything, and well.

Simply put, we loved this venue.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karly
Wedding:
1/26/2013
5.0/5.0
The Berkeley Church was the perfect place for our wedding ceremony and reception. We had 165 guests and it fit everyone well. Our coordinator at The Berkeley was Liz Moore, who was AMAZING! Liz was so easy to work with. She responded to questions promptly, offered great advice, was so organized, and really sweet to us and our guests. Leading up to the wedding, I owe Liz for keeping my stress level low. She was so on top of things that I never worried that things weren't going to go as planned. She co-ordinated deliveries and the timeline for the wedding day and made sure everything ran smoothly. I can't thank Liz enough for everything she did!
The Berkeley Church is such a unique venue and we truly loved it! Looking back at all our pictures we can't imagine having a better backdrop for our special day. It has so much character and charm and all the staff were wonderful. We can't recommend Liz and The Berkeley highly enough! Thanks again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marci
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
FANTASTIC, ELECTRIC, PERFECT!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1302566705460-andreaandtylerengagement224
Andrea
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.6/5.0
We got married in the Field House in September. It was the most amazing experience. At first our mothers were a bit leery of our venue selection due to it's unconventional atmosphere but we received so many compliments from our guests. Here are some key points:
Venue - It has a wonderful outdoor and indoor space. This worked out so well because people who wanted to get some air were not separated from the party they were able to stand outside, mingle and still watch people on the dance floor. It really kept things together - great flow.
Food/drinks - The food was amazing. They venue served flavoured water to our guests upon their arrival prior to the ceremony and they had our signature drinks out and ready the minute the ceremony was over. I was so pleased.
Service - The venue made a few renovations a month before our wedding. One of the renovations included a new deck which looked great except they dismantled the ceremony trellis in the process. I was very upset because I had DIY'ed the decorations specifically for this trellis. The venue went above and beyond to correct the situation. They built a new trellis to the exact specs of the old one within a few weeks. I was very pleased at their responsiveness and understanding.

Kathy was our coordinator. She was amazing. I can see why people say she doesn't respond to emails very quickly but she is very busy and in the weeks leading up to the wedding she was completely available (aka the most important time). She really understood our vision and gave great advice.

The only downside I would say are the bathrooms. Only one stall for the men and three for the women. I have a feeling this will be the venue's next renovation.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Great venue. Very accommodating!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Canadian Event
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
I work with a team of event professionals who have done events recently at Berkeley (6 since January 2011)

The Venue is currently under new management. There is still existing members from the old team (the best ones I assume) but there is a new executive director as I heard the previous one had to leave due to family circumstances.

This change has proved to be very positive. The venue has been host to amazing events in the past 10 years however we too have noticed on multiple web reviewer sites negative responses about the customer service and quality of the space and other related circumstances. Most of them if not all prior to 2011.

Not every event is going to be perfect but our 6 either nearly or completely were. Best quality of food and customer service from beginning to night of we have experienced in any venue in Toronto after 20 years of producing events.

Specific details I have learned through the grapevine is:
Renovated stage
Re-engineered air quality control in the large church venue
quality decore installations and upgrades in the smaller venue
New inhouse high quality staffing company and event management
New inhouse high quality florist who also does wonders to their garden spaces
New inhouse and complimentry furniture
Kitchen expansions
New Venues up and coming

Very impressive organization and if you actually do your research, they have recieved some of the fewest bad reviews in the industry compared to other venues of their type and level.

Hope this helps industry players and potential takers of that space. Want to keep Toronto as a great destination spot and this venue has sent our clients back to their countries saying Toronto is the place to be.

I also have heard that that they have over 300 events booked this year, more than any other event venue, even after separating the two onsite. So I guess the nay-sayers are not affecting the popularity of this star space.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kayla.K.
Wedding:
4/16/2011
4.8/5.0
Beautiful Venue and great service! Do not look elsewhere if you are having a wedding in Toronto!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HelenS
Wedding:
8/1/2010
3.9/5.0
The Berkeley Field house is the venue next door to the Berkeley Church and it is run by the same people so you should definitely check out the Church's reviews as well.

I found the Field House to be overall a pleasant experience. The big advantages of getting married here are

1) the venue itself is just really cool and eclectic. A great garden with a little stream, different gazebos to hang out in, a two-story treehouse (with AC!), a tent for the ceremony, a large ballroom with glass doors leading outside, a romantic bridal suite. It's just a really gorgeous place.

2) the venue is unlicensed, so you can bring in your own booze with your own liquor permit, which can reduce your alcohol bill from $40/person (the price for some caterers) down to $20 or less/person for open a bar and they don't charge corkage. That being said, my venue costs were still around $120/person so I definitely absorbed costs elsewhere. As other have noted, they also say they do not accept gratuities and it's not included in your bill, though certainly the staff charges seemed really high.

2) The food is absolutely OUTSTANDING and they can make anything you want. They'll sit down with you and talk about where you're from and what your favourite foods are, it's really fun. They have standard menu options but we talked with the chef about wanting something more exotic so we had some ethnic food as well as more standard fare. The guests absolutely RAVED about the food and several told me it was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding. They were also okay with me bringing in my own cake (probably because we had them do a dessert anyway) and don't charge cake-cutting fees.

3) The service the night of was excellent. The staff are very friendly, a specific server introduced herself to us and told us she was there to make our night great and we should let her know if we needed anything at all.

A few disadvantages
1) I liked my wedding co-ordinator Kathy, but she wasn't great at responding to emails, which was frustrating. She was always organized when I saw her in person, or got her on the phone, and she was on top of things for the day of, but I would have liked to not have the stress of unanswered emails. All costs are broken down on a spreadsheet, which is really transparent, and you know exactly what you're paying for, but multiple times there were miscalculations and errors on the sheet, and a few times I had to clarify and negotiate over additions to the bill that cropped up when we were transferred from Andrew (our initial contact) to Kathy and as we finalized numbers and figured out the layout and tables.

2) The Field House relies a bit too much on it's shabby chic feel and doesn't do basic things to actually make the venue look nice. I was terrified when I was there a few days before the wedding and saw the dining chairs had peeling paint, the gazebo where you do the ceremony was crooked and also peeling paint, the treehouse was unswept and had bird poo on it, the outdoor party lights on the tree didn't work, and the garden was an absolute mess. Obviously it's a wild flower garden and isn't supposed to be perfectly groomed, but when there's gross weeds everywhere and it looks unkempt even to my untrained non-gardener eye, you know there's a problem. Because I was so stressed about it, and the venue hadn't done anything by the day before the wedding (although we had asked them to), my fiance actually went out and bought mulch to cover up the weeds and was going to spread it around himself the day of the wedding, but the staff agreed to do it. We were able to get nicer chairs that they had on hand, and I tried not to think about the other 'unfinished' touches, certainly the guests didn't seem to notice, but given they have a bunch of wedding there and you're spending thousands of dollars with them, you'd think it wouldn't be a big deal to put some paint on the gazebo.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jess
Wedding:
5/27/2010
4.7/5.0
We had our wedding at The Berkeley and it was absolutely wonderful! Our planner (Kathy) was amazing...very detailed-oriented and easy-to-get-along with! She was very attentive to our inquiries and helpful with organizing every last detail leading up to the day (i.e. decor, deliveries, etc.). She was also there on the day of the wedding to make sure that no one bugged me with minute details.

Our wedding day went off without a hitch. Many thanks to our host (Andrew) who made us feel well-taken care of and very comfortable at the venue....we are now a part of The Berkeley family! The best part is that they still continue to invite us to exclusive events (wine tastings, concerts, etc.)

The food was absolutely delicious! Great presentation! The chef was very accommodating to our guests. My grandfather has a severe gluten allergy. We asked if we could bring in a meal that he would be able to eat. Our planner was very accommodating and offered a delicious meal for him, no problem. This was a pleasant surprise, as that was not the case at my sister's wedding! They fed him a disgusting meal that resembled airplane food.

The venue was very straight-forward with the costs (right from the beginning) which I did not find with other venues that we researched. Other venues had add-on, after add-on, after add-on! One of the main reasons why we booked at The Berkeley is because of the customer service that we received right from the beginning, our sales person was prompt in responding to our many emails, inquiring about different dates, costs, menus, etc., etc. The venue does not charge gratuity, but the service was amazing so we choose to provide a gratuity anyways, because the service staff really deserved it! This venue is amazing; I would recommend it to anyone who is NOT into a stuffy, cookie-cutter banquet hall with chair covers. I would recommend this unique venue to a bride/ groom who is into great food, wine and atmosphere!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shira_l
Wedding:
5/1/2010
3.4/5.0
A beautiful, unique venue - a rare find in Toronto - but you need to be extremely organized. There is a consistent lack of communication and record keeping between staff members, and you'll need to remind staff about all of your details and go through your estimate very carefully.

Everyone was great on the day, and the venue is amazing, but don't expect impeccable service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
Very good customer service. Friendly ppl.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
healergrrl
Wedding:
7/11/2009
4.5/5.0
We booked the Field House at the Berkeley Church for our ceremony and reception. We started off with Liz as our coordinator and then were swithced to Kristin. Kristin was absolutely amazing. I was stressed about decorations and how we were going to pull everything together and she totally stepped in and supported us with great ideas and a very calm demeanor. Everything was perfect and the staff were unbelieveably friendly. We were able to bring our own alcohol so we saved on that. The food was absolutely amazing and all of our guests were dancing straight through to 2a.m.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rockstar Bride
Wedding:
11/14/2008
4.9/5.0
- We attended the wedding of our friends at the Berkeley Church back in 2007. That night, before the ceremony even started, we realized this was where we would be getting married. The day after we got engaged, we picked a date and put down the deposit. There was no other venue we were going to get married at so there was no point looking. THIS WAS THE FIRST THING WE DID. We didn't have a ring OR tell our parents we were getting married. We wanted this venue.

Leading up to the wedding:
- My day-to-day vendor coordinator was Liz and she was a dream. Organized, friendly, and very accomodating to my nit-picking ways :)
- We had an incident where I screwed up our tasting date. It was that night Berkeley showed how professional they are. (Read here).
- They allowed us to leave some stuff and set up the PA the night before the wedding. They also allowed us to come back the day after the wedding to pick up the rest of the stuff. All without an extra charge.

The Wedding Day:
- Andrew was our coordinator for the ceremony. It was great having him there telling me to just relax and enjoy. That and he was there to flag down our sound guy who didn't know to turn off the music (another post for another day).
- The day of the wedding there were both Liz and Alison (night coordinator) and Andrew, artistic director to make sure our party went smooth.
- Tables, chairs, candles, couches, staff, GRATUITIES, plus many other things I know I'm forgeting were included in the venue cost. We only needed to pay for linens, flatware/glassware and extra cruiser tables.
- Catering is in house. We opted for stationed dinner and had Italian, Sushi and Carving. Everyone we've talked to raved about how great the food was.
- Greatest part, was how the staff were amazing hosts to our guests. Whether it was food, cake or a beer, they always made sure our guests, hubby and I were well taken care of. And we were treated like royalty by everyone at Berkeley. "Alison, here's a beer ... but this one is half full ... you've been drinking it too long" .. hahaha
- Over all we are thrilled we went with our gut and went with Berkeley. My guests were in love with the venue and it's uber coolness and still talk about how awesome our wedding was. There is no way our wedding would have been right if it wasn't for Berkeley.

Don't waste your energy seeking out venues. Call Berkeley today and just do it. You'll be sooo glad you did.


http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3209/3071715764_561861dae5.jpg
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3233/3071204730_d44d1a02e7.jpg
http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v376/180/61/523130505/n523130505_4861613_4079.jpg
http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v376/180/61/523130505/n523130505_4861172_5342.jpg
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1282599882182-4067210150256444580002827945001138207055707662n
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.0/5.0
The Berkeley Church - I believe it is the most unique venue in downtown Toronto! It could be maintained better, but it all about the character.

The food - Awesome! Many people came up to us after dinner to tell us just how much they loved their meals. We had a customized menu and the chef even learned how to make my husband's mom's special potatoes!

The service - On the day everything was perfect. The staff at the church were great. I had the best wedding planner in Toronto (Toni Ronayne) on my side, and she made sure everything went seamlessly.

Organization - The church has a very chill atmosphere and with that comes some disorganization. You will need to triple check your quotes and make sure you get things in writing. We were given the wrong couples quote on more then one occasion. I had to chase them several times before they would respond to some of my emails.

Value - The fact that we could bring in our own booze was a plus! The per person cost did seam a bit high but tips are included and the food really was to die for!

Overall I am so happy that we picked the Berkeley Church to have our wedding! It suited us perfectly and despite the hiccups along the way it was a fabulous place to say I DO!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.0/5.0
We recently got married at The Berkeley Church in October, 2012. This was the only venue we looked at, and fell in love with it instantly.

The postive things to say are:
- you can't get a space like this anywhere else. Our pictures look amazing, leading up the wedding, our planner was fantastic. Very responsive, very organized and very accomodating, the food is AMAZING. The onsite kitchen is key. The food is cooked on the spot, its fresh and it tastes so good! It's definitely not your typical banquet hall food.

The only negative things to say are:
- the ceiling has not been fixed. When we booked the venue in August, 2011 we were assured that it would be fixed..... 14 months later, it still isn't. There is one bathroom on the main floor of the venue. You either have to make it unisex (doesn't go over very well with seniors) or make it a female washroom. The basement washrooms are a trek to get to, especially when you have to leave the dancefloor to go! Whatever employee set up our decor on the main floor didn't do a very good job. We were not given the candles on the fireplace mantels and they did not spread the floating votives across the lines. It looked completely sloppy. I wish our planner had done a better job making sure things were done properly. I'd suggest having a family member go over everything before the ceremoney starts. During the dance portion of the night, you'd put your drink down to go and dance, and when you got back to your table, your drink was gone! The servers were just clearing drinks/glasses like no tomorrow. At one point, I had to tell them to only clear EMPTY glasses. It was just wasteful.

Overall, an amazing night. I wouldn't change it for the world! I'd just can't wait to go back for a friends wedding, and see it all from a different perspective!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
315 Queen St Est, Toronto, ON M5A 1S7 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for 1871 Berkeley Church
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1298650227070-berkely