130x130_sq_1295546423151-crabpops

20 South Catering

Charlottesville , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1156 Roundtop Farm
Charlottesville, VA US 22902 (map)

PHONE

434-296-2420

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We’ve always been a little put off by the typical caterer’s sales pitch—it’s full of adjectives and adverbs and flourishes that don’t really speak to what will actually be done. We’re a... Read more
We’ve always been a little put off by the typical caterer’s sales pitch—it’s full of adjectives and adverbs and flourishes that don’t really speak to what will actually be done. We’re a lot more interested in nouns and verbs, in the nuts-and-bolts of an event, in the real-time production of your wedding, rehearsal dinner, corporate or holiday party, etc. It's likely that you already assume your event will be “splendid, elegant, and memorable” and you don’t need us to waste your time with a lot of near-meaningless superlatives.

We take great pride in being a “chef-driven” organization, but we figured out a long time ago that our food doesn’t exist in a vacuum—you’ve got to build the right infrastructure to hang a menu on first. Of necessity, therefore, we have become quite knowledgeable in all the other aspects of large-event catering, particularly weddings. Thus, we’ll run point on nearly every detail for your event—the rentals, the staffing, the bar, whatever is needed—and if we don’t have an answer, we’ll know who does. Read less
Catering

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Caribbean, French, Indian, Italian, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
1000

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dustin
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
The reviews don't lie, these guys are pros. Jim created a modern mexican themed menu for our wedding, and all we heard all night was how good the food was. The real bonus though was how incredibly seamless they made the whole experience: setting up, serving and breaking down with extreme efficiency and no fuss. There is literally not one thing they could have done better; these guys deserve all the success in the world.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cherissa
Wedding:
10/4/2013
4.9/5.0
Jim and his team did such a wonderful job. I received so many compliments not only on the delicious food but also the service. People told me they were constantly being served and wanted for nothing all night. I knew to expect this as the bride and groom but to know they paid just as much attention to my guests made me very happy. They were so organized. Impressive!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
The food we had at our wedding was incredible! Summer, Jim and the staff at 20 South Catering could not have been easier to work with. They were always available when needed, worked with me when I kept changing the menu, did a great job setting up for the wedding and worked well with the other vendors.The food went above and beyond our expectations. The passed appetizers were a huge hit and I still have guests calling me and asking what kind of cheese we had for our cheese board. Our food was served family style. Every person at the wedding raved about the flat iron streak and they could not get enough of the shrimp and grits. The service was phenomenal and everyone commented on how tentative the bartenders and service staff were. My husband and I only wish we had more time to eat the food during the wedding. We are hoping we can get the meal recreated from 20 South on our one year anniversary. I would not waste your time searching around, if you are looking for southern style comfort food- 20 South Catering is the best option!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
20 South did an absolutely fantastic job at our wedding. We received many compliments for the outstanding food. We catered family style and the food was fresh and delicious (salmon and beef tenderloin mains with grits and green bean sides). They customized several of the menu items and also prepared outstanding signature cocktails (whiskey smash and pimms cocktails). The quality of the liquor at the open bar was also top-shelf.

Jim was incredibly responsive and took care of many logistical details as well. He dealt directly with Festive Fare to order linens, china, etc., saving us a lot of time. He also provided recommendations for other local vendors (our DJ and day of coordinator - both turned out great).

We couldn't have asked for a better experience, especially at their price point. Would definitely use them again and enthusiastically recommend to friends and family.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rita
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
20 South Catering was fabulous! From the very first meeting, they were so organized and asked all the right questions to make the planning process go so smoothly. The tasting was more than I could have asked for. The food was out of this world. So many of the guests from the wedding were blown away with how great the food was. Their staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. They set up all the tables for the reception and it looked perfect! Jim and Summer run a great business and I could not have asked for better caterers to work with! I hope I attend a wedding in the future where they are the caterers because I can't wait to eat their delicious food again!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linda
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We knew we had picked a winner with this group at our very first meeting. Their organization and attention to detail in leading us through the process was incredible. And then a few months later we did our tasting! Wow! I've eaten plenty of salmon in many places but never have I had cedar planked salmon that was done that well! What a bonus that they were able to cook everything on site and not rely on hot boxes to keep things warm after cooking somewhere else. Jim and Summer, your advice was priceless and your food was absolutely amazing. Thank you so much!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carol
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
I want to offer the HIGHEST praise for Jim Puopolo and 20 South Catering, which catered my daughter's 5/11/13 wedding. From the moment of our tasting last year, we knew that the food and presentation would be fantastic, well orchestrated and delectable. Jim and his staff truly run a tight ship, and you can count on their integrity and their making your event a seamless and beautiful affair.
I agree with a previous reviewer that 20 South IS the gold standard of catering in Charlottesville!!
Services Used: Catering
Bg8
Jenna
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
This is the all-star caterer- the A list, the team you want to have doing your wedding. Their food quality is outstanding, and the service impeccable. They have a lot to choose from and are very flexible and attentive with requests, allergy needs/issues, and personal preferences. We had them cater our 135 guests sit down dinner family style, and everything came out hot, freshly cooked, and all at the same time. Everyone at our wedding was raving about the food. What's even better- other vendors were excited and had personal requests from their menu- a very good sign.

I have to again highlight their service. They and their staff worked like a well oiled machine, because they are. Guests never knew how things were happening, only that they were executed perfectly. They coordinated all the flow of the event with no hitches. Setup & takedown- smooth as could be.

If I could give them 10 stars I would. Thank you for making our wedding so wonderful!

They are THE gold standard for catering in Charlottesville.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
We already knew that 20 South Catering was amazing from other weddings we had attended. We even booked them before we signed the contract for our venue to be sure we would have them for our wedding, and we picked a venue specifically because they allowed outside catering. The aspect we loved most was that they offered "Family Style" meal service. We have never been a big fan of buffets and who hasn't been to a seated meal where you wish you ordered the steak instead of the chicken 3 months ago when you filled out your invitation? With Family Style, you get the best of all foods without having to stand in line! :-)
20 South Catering is incredible. The food speaks for itself, and just as advertised, it is simple, delicious food that everyone likes with an incredible taste. Our guests could not stop talking about the food, and several tables ordered multiple platters of food :-). We had big eaters! The best part about this company, however, is the people. The people are just good people, and by the end of the process, they felt like part of the family. The are kind, down to earth, easy going, and great at what they do. They run a great business, and they were always willing to quickly and thoroughly answer my questions throughout the process, no matter how silly or small. They were accommodating to some requests we had, but they really just took care of everything. They make the process very easy and streamlined and downright flawless. I love these people and I will always remember them when thinking about my awesome wedding day and how much they contributed to it, not only with their food, but with their care and attention!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renee
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I have worked many years in the restaurant industry, and have very high expectations when it come to both food and service. 20 South Catering not only met those high expectations, but exceeded them!! We were told by MANY guests (including our friends who are chefs in fine-dining restaurants) that the food was the best they have ever had at a wedding!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1311341737940-fbavatar1172509613
Mandi
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim and 20 South were exactly what we were looking for in a wedding caterer. Two months later, people still talk about how good the food was at our wedding. Not only was the food top notch, but Jim and his team are experts at weddings. I felt very comfortable that they had things under control, would manage the timeline properly, get things set up and taken down efficiently and run a seamless show, which they did. It was so nice having someone with such expertise to work with. Also, they were extremely flexible, so my husband and I were able to develop a menu and dinner style that was different than what they typically do, and it was perfectly executed by the 20 South team. I can't recommend 20 South highly enough.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1313902354917-weddingwebsite
Erin
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim and his staff at 20 South are such pros. It was so fun and easy to work with Jim to plan my wedding. The tasting was a great experience and throughout he was so knowledgable not only about catering, but about other vendors in the Cville area as well.

We ended up going family style with a plated salad. Guests RAVED about the food!!! Normally wedding food is just okay, this food was excellent and the perfect choices for a hot summer day.

The night moved very smoothly. I have been at weddings in the past where there is a large break between the salad and dinner and people start to get antsy. This was not the case with my wedding. Everything went beautifully, and I have Jim and 20 South to thank for that!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meg
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Wow. Our entire experience with Jim and his team at 20 South was stellar. Jim and his team took time to search for particular things we wanted, and communicated regularly throughout the planning process. Our wedding was the night after the crazy thunderstorm natural disasters. He and his team pulled it off, working tirelessly. Lucky their trailer has extra power! They coordinated with the Keswick staff to run everything off generators--it was certainly a feat! We went family style, and the food and service were top notch. Our guests commented on how good all the food was, and servers were always smiling and bringing more around. And on top of it all, the cost was VERY reasonable.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
WORTH EVERY PENNY!

By far the best service we got for our perfect perfect perfect wedding.

This company is so well run. They are responsive to all planning emails, take care of literally everything for your big day (from set-up to tear down and everything in between!) and the staff is friendly and helpful. The food is outstanding - everyone told us it was the best wedding food they've ever had. They're willing to work with your budget and threw in all the little extras (hot cider station before the ceremony, etc) that made our day absolutely perfect.

Seriously can not recommend these guys enough. Absolutely delightful and I wish I was getting married again just to work with them again! Wonderful.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nikki
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
20 South was amazing. Their food is unbelievable... my guests were talking about the food all night. Jim is awesome. He always responded to my emails very quickly and catered to our every need. It was amazing to see my vision come to life and they made it happen, down to every little detail.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Jim and Pierce with 20 South are hands down the best in the area for wedding catering - trust me, we met with them all. Their prices are very reasonable, they are experts when it comes to weddings, so they give great advice on your reception timeline and other details that not many caterers would concern themselves with, and they genuinely care about the couples they work with. Oh and equally important, their food is AMAZING! We lost count of how many people told us ours was the best wedding food they’ve ever eaten. Mmm and we couldn’t agree more. I seriously wanted to cry when I couldn’t eat the leftovers they packed for us to take home because we left for our honeymoon early the next day - so sad. Their staff is amazing also. I had several girlfriends who lost their husbands during the reception because they were having so much fun at the bar answering sports trivia questions with the bartender. We were not disappointed once with the service 20 South provided throughout our entire wedding planning process and the day of. My now husband and I are so happy that we had the pleasure of working with 20 South.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MeganR
Wedding:
7/31/2011
4.9/5.0
Completely fantastic from start to finish. Pierce (the chef) and Jim (the catering manager) were warm and hospitable, and extremely good at their respective jobs. As an out-of-town couple, we were greatly relieved to have so little to worry about on the catering front.

20 South was terrifically flexible as our numbers changed (like they will), and turned out a delicious meal that all our guests enjoyed. I recommend 20 South to everyone.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We had a great experience with Jim and Pierce and they were very helpful in giving advice and handling setup for the day. We ended up going with family style and everyone loved the food and were comfortable asking for more. They helped everything go smoothly and we couldn't have been happier. Our only wish was that we had more time to enjoy the food!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1296182338081-dsc00981
Lisa
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
20 South was amazing! They are a well-developed team who are full of professionalism and personality! They made our wedding the perfect day that I dreamed of! Jim and Pierce really know what they are doing--they were prompt, expedient, and informative. Their food was delicious and well planned! Guests raved about the food from the appetizers to the main course. We had a family style sit down dinner and it worked out great! I would definitely recommend them to everyone as they made the day amazing!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
emew
Wedding:
5/30/2011
5.0/5.0
20 South was the best choice we made regarding our wedding. They are so much more than a catering company--they provide planning help, linens/plates/stemware/etc, setup the ceremony site (if needed), coordinate other vendors...I really cannot say enough about Jim, Pierce and everyone else. Plus, their food is exceptional (we received countless compliments from guests). Jim and Pierce are a pleasure to work with as they are incredibly organized, very good about responding to emails and phone calls and generally answered my questions before I even knew I had them. The evening of the wedding, Jim was managing everything so I felt completely at ease. Best of all, they fit within any budget.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/2/2011
5.0/5.0
20 South is amazing! Jim and Peirce are so easy to work with and they are very professional. The food was fantastic (all of my guests loved it... we had a few restaurant owners/chefs in the crowd and they were very impressed) and they were very flexible with how I wanted to design the menu and even any liquor preferences our guests might have. Even though 20 South will work with local rental companies on your behalf to create your dream wedding...for the more frugal at heart, like myself and my husband, they also supply their own linens, place settings, glassware/stemware, and service ware. They even had a portable speaker with a microphone and iPod dock that my officiant used for our ceremony! They truly go above and beyond for any bride and groom to be!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mel
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
20 South was one of the best choices we could have made. I cannot say enough how wonderful the food was, how awesome Pierce and his staff are, or how great everything looked. Pierce really has an eye for detail- he covered everything we thought of, and some things that we didn't. He took care of all our rentals from Festive Fare- all we had to do was choose! 20 South is hands down the best caterer in the area; you won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ger143
Wedding:
12/31/2010
5.0/5.0
20 South is seroius about providing the best service and best menu. They offered us a contract that was professional and complete. Every detail was spelled out clearly. Our questions were anticipated and answered completely. They work closely with other vendors in the area. They coordinated wtih Festive Fare to provide the table settings and linens. All we had to do was make the selections. 20 South took care of keeping an accurate count as the final number of attendees was determined. The food was incredible! 20 South offers buffet, served meals and home-style as options. We choose home-style. Taste and presentation deserve a 10+ rating. 20 South staff were attentive, polite and everything was served with elegance and professionalism and a smile. It is clear that the staff really enjoy doing what they do so well. Please consider them for your event. You will be glad that you did.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Irina
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
In a word, AMAZING! 20 South is a catering company that does it all. Not only can you rest assured that you food will taste delicious and will look like a million dollars as well, but rest assured that they will take care of all the little details that come up on wedding day. They set up a beautiful name card table, set the tables to look as if our wedding was a fairytale, and had impeccable service throughout! Our guests could not stop talking about how phenomenal our food tastes and our venue looked. I would HIGHLY recommend this caterer to any bride and groom. You won't be disappointed one bit.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Candice
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
20 South Catering is fabulous. They catered my daughter's Labor Day wedding at King Family Vineyards. Their food is delicous, bar is terrific and the service is the best. Our guests had a wonderful time, everything they did was perfect. I highly recommend them, all of our guests had a great time!
Services Used: Catering
Bg11
Lizzie and Wes
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
I CANNOT say enough good things about Pierce and his catering company, 20 South. From the moment we asked for an estimate to the afternoon after the wedding, they were extremely organized, flexible, thorough, creative... and the food was delicious. We served the meal family-style (platters on the tables to share) outside, and they were prepared for every possible scenario. The price was absolutely reasonable.

I have worked in event planning in the past, and 20 South is-- hands down-- the best catering company I have ever seen. And I'm picky, I promise!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keri
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
I wish I could give 20 South 10.0/5.0! Pierce and his team are totally amazing.

First: the food. The food is amazing with local flare, vibrant color and irresistible taste. The crab pop appetizers were so good people literally swarmed the servers during the cocktail hour. Our buffet looked like a work of art. The debate most over-heard at our wedding was which was better: the steak or the fish tacos (I personally think Pierce's home-grown the heirloom tomatoes with mozzarella were the most delicious). All the food was the perfect temperature - which is not a small feat considering he prepared all of it in his portable kitchen trailer for our outdoor wedding. Pierce and team also took an idea I had for a signature cocktail and made it the most refreshing beverage I've ever had a summer wedding. The cuisine will not disappoint.

Second: the knowledge. Pierce is the kind of person who really wants your event to be amazing - so much that he takes every detail of the day to heart. He tells you things you have no way of knowing, such as how much people eat from a buffet compared to family style and which approachable wines/beer/liquor should be offered to your general guest population and which beverages you should have on hand to entertain the more adventurous guests. One of his greatest strengths is his insistence on taking care of ordering all the "rentals" (china, glassware, silverware, table cloths, tables, chairs, dance floor, etc), because let's face it, only a highly-organized caterer knows how many signature cocktail glasses should be rented for a wedding of a given size. He operates with total transparency, putting all the details in an organized, easy-to-follow document and he insists he is the post-ceremony wedding coordinator!

Third: the people. Pierce is an amazing person who has built this great company. His employees are just as kind. They took such good care of us (the bride and groom) at our wedding, making sure we tasted every appetizer, had a plate of food, and never had an empty glass. Our guests were totally blown away by how professional and courteous the serving staff was, treating every guest as if they were the most important person in attendance.

Pierce and his team will make planning your wedding more a little more fun, a little easier, and a lot more organized (so you can breathe a little easier) - and their efforts will make your event even better than the vision in your head.

We recommend 20 South with 100% enthusiasm!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AlisonRB
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
It was such a pleasure to work with Jeff and Pierce from 20 South. They truely take pride in their work and the events that they help put on and it shows! They helped us with everything from personalizing our menu to creating a floor plan for our reception to coordinating the last minute numbers with the rental company, Festive Fare. The food & beverages that they served were amazing and I've lost track of the number of our guests that gave us rave reivews.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
7/31/2009
5.0/5.0
20 South Catering is the greatest! They were so helpful during the planning and execution of our event! They do so much more than just catering, it truly is amazing. 20 South helped us with everything from designing the layout of our reception space to booking our rentals to setting up the ceremony chairs. They work directly with Festive Fare, the local rental company, to coordinate exactly how many chairs, tables, plates, forks, etc you will need and 20 South does all of the ordering. All you have to do is go to Festive Fare and pick out the designs, and then you pay 20 South directly and they forward Festive Fare's part on to them. Yes, I have gone this far and not even mentioned the food yet, but the food was amazing! They design the menus to the exact specifications of the couple and they even have a mobile kitchen that they bring to the reception site so that all of the food is finished fresh and hot at the site (no big chafing dishes with sterno flames!). Their buffet was the prettiest I have ever seen, and the bar they bring out is awesome too (it is lit with multi-colored changing lights). The service was great as well, I never saw anyone with an empty wine or water glass and dirty dishes were picked up the second they were finished. Overall, 20 South is the best caterer we could have imagined and we would highly recommend them to anyone getting married in the area.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
130x130_sq_1235506487550-leslieandjonathanwedding-0443
Octoberbride08
Wedding:
10/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Pierce and the 20 South staffed did an excellent job preparing our family-style wedding dinner. Pierce listened to us and developed a wonderful fall menu. We started with a cheese board that received rave reviews from our guests. The staff passed 3 appetizers. There was plenty to go around. The bar 20 South set up looked great. We choose a few bottled beers, wine from our venue and a "signature" drink that Pierce created. Our family style dinner was delicious. The food was presented beautifully. Pierce was very accommodating to the few vegetarian guests we had. All of the staff was very professional.

Pierce was so much more than just the caterer at out wedding. He helped arrange the venue for the best flow and he worked with the DJ to ensure a smooth transition from cocktails to dinner to dancing. He even helped my husband and I during the cake cutting by instructing us beforehand on how to cut a slice. Throughout the whole wedding planning experience I had no stress about the catering once we spoke with Pierce. I knew that part of the day would be phenomenal and 20 South lived up to all my expectations.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1200156601139-0150410-r1-005-1
Kristi
Wedding:
9/6/2008
5.0/5.0
20 South was great and really helped make the wedding a success. We did a family style dinner and everyone loved it!
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
1156 Roundtop Farm, Charlottesville, VA 22902 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for 20 South Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1295546423151-crabpops