130x130_sq_1353453710896-tim070

8twenty8 Studios

San Diego , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

832 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA US 92101 (map)

PHONE

619-399-7822

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Established in 2005
8twenty8 Studios was started based on the concept of creating stellar images, while working with people. Our passion is to combine art and the world around us... Read more
Established in 2005
8twenty8 Studios was started based on the concept of creating stellar images, while working with people. Our passion is to combine art and the world around us by capturing moments in time with a camera. Thus our motto: "Personal. Passionate. Photography." It's not just what we say, it's who we are. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1314289640137-tim065
130x130_sq_1314289243507-tim003
130x130_sq_1314289313473-tim013
130x130_sq_1314289339291-tim017
130x130_sq_1314289251666-tim004
130x130_sq_1314289632415-tim064
130x130_sq_1314289258342-tim005
130x130_sq_1314289307186-tim012
130x130_sq_1314289648015-tim066
130x130_sq_1314289319541-tim014
130x130_sq_1314289265238-tim006
130x130_sq_1314289284051-tim009
130x130_sq_1314289290556-tim010
130x130_sq_1314289326265-tim015
130x130_sq_1314289452141-tim037
130x130_sq_1314289346108-tim018
130x130_sq_1314289356638-tim020
130x130_sq_1314289225832-tim001
130x130_sq_1314289369259-tim021
130x130_sq_1314289375296-tim022
130x130_sq_1314289386809-tim024
130x130_sq_1314289392269-tim025
130x130_sq_1314289398290-tim026
130x130_sq_1314289403719-tim027
130x130_sq_1314289411160-tim028
130x130_sq_1314289416355-tim029
130x130_sq_1314289421409-tim032
130x130_sq_1314289475760-tim041
130x130_sq_1314289483092-tim042
130x130_sq_1314289503544-tim047
130x130_sq_1314289510610-tim044
130x130_sq_1314289542060-tim051
130x130_sq_1314289548628-tim052
130x130_sq_1314289558331-tim054
130x130_sq_1314289563978-tim055
130x130_sq_1314289573510-tim056
130x130_sq_1314289579485-tim057
130x130_sq_1314289585756-tim058
130x130_sq_1314289609234-tim060
130x130_sq_1314289614382-tim061

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Negatives, Proof CD of All Images, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were EXTREMELY happy with our photograpers & pictures. They made it so easy to relax and just have fun with it. We knew the photos were going to come out great but they were AMAZING!! I would highly recommend them to anyone and everyone!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Jill Denny was our photographer working for 8Twenty8 Studios. I had a fabulous experience with this studio and loved working for Jill. We did our engagement photos and wedding photos will Jill, she did a great job of making us feel comfortable and natural when taking photos and got me every shot I asked for on the day of my wedding. I highly recommend this studio and Jill in particular!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
3/22/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I planned our wedding in San Diego from afar (Dallas, TX) and heavily relied on sites such as this to read other people's reviews about local vendors in the San Diego area. I am really big on photography and 'dabble' in it myself. I know nothing about the technical side of things but I consider myself to have a pretty good 'eye' and thus was very picky when researching our wedding photographer. Out of all vendors, this was the one I personally cared about the most. I believe I looked at over 50 different photographers websites/portfolios before I stumbled upon 8twenty8's website. As soon as I looked through their portfolio I was IMMEDIATELY sold. I hadn't even read reviews at this point. Being as thorough as I am, I decided to get onto various websites to read reviews- all of which seemed to be a perfect 5 Star rating. It was obvious that their talent and skills were top notch.. but what really put the icing on top of the cake was the people behind the studio. Tim & Louise were our photographers for both the engagement session and the wedding day. They are a married team and are a real power couple. They work SO well together and are the easiest people to work with. They are down to earth, friendly, caring, easy to relate to and are just genuinely good people. They made us feel so comfortable through out the entire engagement session and by the time the wedding day rolled around, it felt like friends were shooting our day. They are people you'd want to meet up with for coffee or go grab a bite to eat with. Their personalities are infectious and their love for each other is so real and heartwarming to see. Holly worked with us in the studio sort of as the logistics liaison and couldn't have done a better job with responsiveness, was friendly and it's apparent that the entire team are a cohesive group of friends. We were so lucky to have stumbled upon their website and will be contacting them in the future for anniversaries, babies,etc! Thanks a million
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1363060973452-0090130119nataliajohnnyengagement8twenty8studios
Natalia
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Tim and Louise at 8twenty8 studios are everything you could ask for in photographers. They are creative, honest, quirky, thoughtful, extremely talented and most of all, after working with them, they become your friends.
Individually, their work is beautiful and together they represent the epitome of a power couple. We had the pleasure of working with Tim and Louise for our engagement photos and throughout our wedding day.
We are so grateful for the beautiful moments they were able to help us capture and thankful to Holly for being our liaison with the studio - helping us to design and decide on our Save-Our-Dates, Thank You cards and wedding album.
We were also so impressed with the videography of our special day - put together in two formats a Ceremony Feature (including our vows) and Bijou Film (a short recap of the whole day).
We are looking forward to the special life moments to come that Tim and Louise can help us to capture.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cecilia
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
8Twenty8 studios represent several talented photographers and have a seamless approach when it comes to working with clients. For my wedding, my husband and I worked with Tim & Louise for both our engagement & wedding photos. The engagement session was more like a test run to see how we flowed with each other. It was already apparent then that we wanted them to photograph our wedding. Frankie (my husband) and I are a little shy in front of the camera, but Tim & Louise made us feel so comfortable and carefree. They gave us direction when we needed it and they captured us being candid when we were having our own moments .Also, Tim & Louise were a PHENOMENAL pair to work with because you get the male & female perspective AND our pictures made both my husband and I over-the-moon happy. From the initial consultation to now working on our wedding album, I have been more than pleased with every touchpoint. The entire studio is a joy to work with. Even Holly, who sets up the appointments and consultations is a gem. Not only are they good people that understand and listen to their clients, but they become your friend. It doesn't feel like they're "on a job", but more like a group of friends hanging out with each other, which makes for AWESOME pictures. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND 8 twenty 8 studios to anyone who is looking for a talented group of photographers (especially Tim & Louise)!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter, Jessica, found this photographer a while ago while searching for photography for my granddaughter's 6mo pictures. They have been our go to photographer since. She has used them for 1 year photos, engagement photos and now the wedding photos. It was a great experience working with them. Sierra and Holly photographed the wedding. They were so kind, so professional, and from the sneak peak of the wedding photos we got today, they have turned out fantastic. The lighting, the construction of the pictures with the beautiful venue we had - all of it is great. They had a go to list of the photos we wanted but they also added their own artistry to them. They were available for meetings at the venue prior to the wedding and are very responsive to calls and emails. They will be the photographers for our family from here on out and we highly recommend them.
Services Used: Photography
Bg21
Dawn
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
8twenty8 Studios was great to work with. From our initial meeting with Holly we felt listened too and liked the great value and what their packages include. They are flexible and can make custom packages as well. We chose Kevin who was beyond awesome...from our engagement session all the way to the end of our wedding night he was fun, positive and really comfortable to work with. He is a fantastic photographer and did a great job listening to our wants and needs and did an awesome job at creating the shots we wanted and so many more!!! We couldn't be happier with his work and 8twenty8's customer service.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Klancy
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
We met 8twenty8 studios through the Bridal Bazaar and ended up doing our engagement session with Tim and Louise. We had an absolute blast, and they were able to help my camera-shy fiance loosen up and be in the moment. So many people have told me how natural we both look in the pictures, and I know it is from the way Tim and Louise set up the shoot, keep it light and fun, and direct you without making you look stiff. After we saw the way the pictures turned out, we knew we had to have them for our wedding. And let me say, I LOVE our engagement pictures, but the wedding pictures were on a whole new awesome level! :) They are work great with families and keep the photos running smoothly. They have an eye for finding just the right spot, angle, and lighting that makes the picture magical. We got married at a clubhouse inside of an apartment complex, but the way the pictures turned out, you would have thought we were in an enchanted forest. :) Love Tim and Louise and Holly, the studio executive, is so wonderful to work with too. Can't say enough great things about 8twenty8 studios- I know we will work with them again in the future!
Oh, and as a side note, they are very fast in getting pictures back to you and are extremely flexible! When we decided we wanted to change the date of our wedding after already booking with them, they were so flexible and understanding. :) Book them- you will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
828 Studios was one of our favorite vendors while planning our day. They were professional, dependable and personable. They got to know us as a couple and captured our most important moments. We love our photos and could not have worked with a better studio.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1307307943406-gedc0016
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/4/2012
4.7/5.0
We loved Lisa and Andrew! They were fun yet professional.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexis
Wedding:
7/8/2012
4.6/5.0
We originally found 8twenty8 because we won an engagement session by attending the Bridal Bazaar. We met up with photographer Jill Denny for our engagement session and she instantly made us feel comfortable and relaxed. We loved our pictures so much that we decided to book Jill through 8twenty8 for our wedding. They have more than one photographer, so make sure you see samples of work from the photographer you choose or they select for you. I met with Jill again about a month before the wedding at our venue to scout spots and talk timeline. Of course she was there and on time on the wedding day. She took amazing pictures and we are extremely happy with them. The only reason I put four stars for professionalism, is because there was some confusion between the owners of 8twenty8 and Jill regarding the details of my day and what we paid for (ie. having a second shooter or not) and on the day of the wedding Jill seemed to have a little trouble wrangling my family and her frustration showed through just a bit. In general I think wedding photography is extremely expensive so that is why I put four for value. In general I think they are well priced if you don't need prints or albums from them. I am kind of a DIYer and we just purchased the digital files so I can make my own. They provide you with a copyright release. We were very happy that we hired 8twenty8 and we think you will be too!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rbennett8709
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.9/5.0
8twenty8 studios was fantastic to work with through the entire wedding planning process! Both my husband and I are in the military, so our schedules were very difficult to work with. Holly (the studio manager) is super friendly and helpful, and our photographer we worked with, Janalyn, is absolutely AMAZING! I am thrilled beyond words with our wedding pictures. They are beautiful! Tim, the owner, is super fun and relaxed as well. I am so glad we went with 8twenty8 studios, and you will too!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sylvie
Wedding:
5/19/2012
4.5/5.0
After reccommendations from a co-worker and loving the pictures on the 8twenty8studios website, we set up an appointment to meet with Tim. We had a great meeting with Tim who made us feel comfortable and contrary to other photo studios we went to, was listening to our needs, ready to work with our budget and not pushy at all. We really wanted Tim and Louise for but they were booked for our wedding day. So we went with Lisa. And it was the right choice =D From our first meeting to our wedding day, we knew we would be at ease in front of Lisa's camera. She is just amazing. We cannot tell how much we appreciate all her help and company the day of our wedding. Our bridal party and family still tell us how much they enjoyed her personality and patience (we had a tea ceremony with a big family). The photos are just beautiful. Check them here We would have rated 5 if they could assure us our second photographer. We wanted Kevin but he was taken. They offered us 2 other photographers: Jill or Andrew. We asked for Andrew but then again, he was not available so they told us we were going to have Jill. Which was fine. We could see her portfolio. But few weeks prior to the wedding, Lisa informed us that Jill would not be the second photographer. We had another girl Sheilia but had no ideas what her style was as there were no portfolio for her on their website. We did our homework and look for Sheilia and found few pictures. Lucky for us, we did like her style.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ghassan
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Tim and Louise made the photography portion of our wedding the simplest and funnest of all. The are very easy to work with, very respectful, communicative, and best of all VERY CREATIVE!!!!

Their photography style is very unique! We were extremely impressed with the quality and creativeness of the shots of our wedding.

We highly recommend them to anyone interested in capturing their special day in a way they will never forget!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cj.traviswedding
Wedding:
12/10/2011
5.0/5.0
8Twenty8 Studios did an amazing job with our wedding photography. We live in San Diego, but had our wedding in New Orleans. Tim and Louise were jumped at the opportunity to photograph in a new city and loved every minute of it. We had such a great time with 8Twenty8 and are looking forward to working with them in the future.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
V
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Tim and Louise are wonderful photographers!!!!!!! They make you feel so comfortable and they are very flexible, which is nice considering that our wedding was quite different. They got along so well with our family and friends, everyone just loved them. The pictures they took were so beautiful! They really captured the day so well. We got so many compliments and many of our friends wants to use them for their special day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gwenna
Wedding:
9/25/2011
5.0/5.0
8twenty8 Studios did such a fabulous job on our photography! They were prepared, professional and there weren't any surpises the day of the event. 8twenty8 Studios was worth every penny of the service. They really did go above and beyond exceeding our expectations! They know how to deal with the chaos and make things easier for you the day of your wedding. My husband and I were overjoyed with the end result. We had such a wonderdful day and 8twenty8 Studios captured that story on film. They absolutely lived up to their tagline, "Personal. Passionate. Photography." Book them! You won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RNC
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Amazing and wonderful!!!!! Tim and his staff were so wonderful to work with!!! From the moment we met them to the day of and even now as we plan our picture selection, they have been just amazing. They are the one and I'd say "I do" to them anyday!!! We look forward to working with them again!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1303834227311-robandme
Natasha
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
8Twenty8 studios were great to work with. I was on a budget but really loved their photography and 8twenty8 studios were wonderful and helped me find a package that was within my budget. Our photographer, Andrew, was great. He helped us with the decision of the location for our engagement photos. When we finally picked a location, he was clearly excited about some ideas for great shots and shared that with us. He made my husband and I feel comfortable in front of the camera.

Andrew also met me at our wedding venue before our wedding and gave helpful tips on a timeline for the wedding day. My husband and I absolutely love our wedding pictures. It was such a wonderful day for us and they did a great job capturing every important moment. And we get many compliments on our pictures from family and friends.

8twenty8 studios really were one of the vendors we did not worry about because we knew our pictures would be great and we were clearly working with professional people.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
8/14/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I worked with Tim for our engagement session and then him and Louise for our wedding and we could not be more pleased with the results! Aside from their beautiful work, they were truly a joy to work with. During such a crazy time they never wavered in their commitment to us, being flexible with our ever changing plans. The day of the wedding they arrived on time and ready to go and continued to have the same upbeat attitude throught the evening. The photographs themselves are stunning, they captured our wedding perfectly. The combination of their superior service and quality work is priceless, I would recommend them in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
megan412
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Hiring Tim and Louise as our photographer was the best decision of our wedding! Our photos are, without a doubt, the most incredible wedding photos I’ve ever seen! Yes, that may be a little biased but really… they’re stunning. It’s been a couple of months since our wedding and I still can’t get enough of looking through them. The pictures artistic, beautiful, and capture so many amazing moments.

Tim and Louise are not only incredibly talented, but they’re great people too! Our sessions never once felt like an uncomfortable, staged photography shoot. We were encouraged to be ourselves and the pictures show it! They constantly went above and beyond to get great shots and built a great relationship with our friends to architect their shots. They were also attentive to our requests for family photos. Our wedding went by so fast but reliving the day with Tim and Louise’s photos made it easy to remember all of our great memories. We’re so happy they were a part of our big day and we’d recommend them to anyone looking for truly talented photographers.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridgett
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Hiring 8Twenty8 studios to photograph our wedding was maybe THE smartest wedding related decision we made. The photos they captured are seriously jaw-dropping. They tell a beautiful story and are like works of art. I'm not even exaggerating. Compliments on the photos are stiiiiill rolling in from friends and family. I don't at all feel like I'm photogenic, but I am beyond satisfied with what Tim and Louise captured. It was SO fun working with them. Most of the time, taking the pictures at a wedding is a drag but it was the TOTAL opposite---my wedding party had a blast with them. I had been concerned that gathering family for the photos following the ceremony would be stressful but Tim took control and we got through them with time to spare. For the level of service their company delivers, they are a smart economical choice. I ABSOLUTELY would recommend them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eileen&Shawn
Wedding:
4/15/2011
5.0/5.0
The 828 Family is absolutely amazing!!! My husband and I decided early on that our wedding photos will be the most important part of our wedding..Because they last the longest.

Tim, Holly and Kevin captured my day so beautifully, words cannot describe. They went above and beyond and made sure I had memories to last a lifetime. I can't thank them enough.

Trust me...You wont be disappointed if you choose 828. I know I will use them for years to come
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hymartin
Wedding:
9/12/2010
5.0/5.0
my wedding day photography was perfection. i loved all of the shots, and my family could not have been happier as well! tim managed to capture the intimate moments, the funny moments, and everything in between. he captured the silliness of our wedding party and that made for even better photos as well. i would, and do recommend their services to all of my friends and family.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happymob
Wedding:
9/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Tim and his team of photographers were a Mother of the Bride's Dream come true! The not only were creative but very professional. I slide show was amazing, imagine watching pictures of the Wedding at the reception while eating dinner! They captured every moment and were truely AMAZING!!!

All I can say is THANK YOU!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz (Ricahrds) Davis
Wedding:
9/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Best Photographers EVER!!!! They are so nice and firendly and a real pleasure to work with! Not to mention that Tim is super tall and can get amazing shots that other photographers just can't get to! It's been a year since our wedding and we still get compliments everyday asking who did our wedding photos! I was refered by a friend to 8twenty8 and now I refer all of my friends to them! Excellent value, excellent pictures, couldn't be happier!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We won a free engagement session at the Bridal Bazzar with this company and I'm so glad we did. The pics turned out amazing! Very artistic and beautiful. Just had our wedding last week, so we're excited to see our wedding photos! Can't wait!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
We loved working with Tim & Louise for our engagement shots. They were super fun, very personable, had great ideas & the photos were more than fantastic. We loved the engagement pictures so much, we hired them for our wedding before we'd even locked down our venue! We know our wedding pictures are going to be just as beautiful if not even better. Thanks Tim & Louise! And tanks to Holly too whos been super great to work with for all the logistics.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paul
Wedding:
3/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Absolutely amazing!!!! Personnel, prefessional, great company, great people!!! Had both engagement and wedding day package plus album the works!! During the engagement shoot made was made so at easy, took over 700 photos in hour and half absolutely amazing!! At the wedding it was like they were not there but captured the essense and atmosphere of the entire day!! We had a photographer included with our wedding package but did like there photos, we then found these guys and paid extra for them, was certainly not disappointed!!! Recommended to a friend and once again did the biz for them too... If you want quality you can't go wrong!!! AWESOME!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
laurie
Wedding:
11/5/2009
5.0/5.0
its been over three years and i still am amazed with my wedding and engagement pictures. Nick and I recommend you guys ever chance we get. All who see our pictures ask who did them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tishna
Wedding:
10/17/2009
4.8/5.0
Extremely flexible in package options and really did spend the whole day of the wedding focusing on little details we would have otherwise missed. Very dedicated to getting the right shots based on what we'd asked for, and kept us all to a much-needed schedule.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kati
Wedding:
9/25/2009
5.0/5.0
It doesn't get much better than this! Tim's photos were filled with passion and feeling - he captured moments of our ceremony that I didn't realized had taken place until after we'd received the proofs.

He WILL go the extra mile for the photos, too. This was evidenced by the cuts he received on his feet wading out into the Pacific to obtain an angle for photos that no one else would have seen.

He was very easy to work with - he articulated his ideas well and was able to interpret my "mind's eye" into reality. And ... you cannot beat his prices. To say you get what you pay for here would be a gross understatement. I cannot recommend him enough. We will use 8twenty8 again for other events in the future. I can't say enough about him!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Juniper
Wedding:
6/22/2009
5.0/5.0
Tim was very friendly, flexible and fun. He was really great with our 9 year old son and the pictures are fanatastic. We would recommend him to anyone...
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
quidwai
Wedding:
12/13/2008
5.0/5.0
I strongly recommend working with 828 Studios. From the beginning to the end the process went very well. The staff is very freindly and accomodating and the quality of the photos was exceptional.

We got everything we were looking for and a lot more. Definitely recommend.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
832 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for 8twenty8 Studios
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1353453710896-tim070