130x130_sq_1261512406463-abetterdealtuxedo

A Better Deal Designer Tuxedo and Suits

La Jolla , CA

LOCATION

369 Bird Rock Avenue
La Jolla, CA US 92037 (map)

PHONE

858-551-6044

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

At A Better Deal Designer Tuxedo & Suits, we have over 60 years combined experience in the formal fashion business. We are a family owned and operated business offering personalized... Read more
At A Better Deal Designer Tuxedo & Suits, we have over 60 years combined experience in the formal fashion business. We are a family owned and operated business offering personalized service and selections like no chain store can!






A Better Deal Tuxedo Receives
2009, 2010 & 2011 Best of La Jolla Award

U.S. Commerce Association's Award Plaque Honors the Achievement. A Better Deal Tuxedo has been selected for the 2009, 2010 & 2011 Best of La Jolla Award(s) in the Tuxedos category by the U.S. Commerce Association (USCA).

The USCA "Best of Local Business" Award program recognizes outstanding local businesses throughout the country. Each year, the USCA identifies companies that they believe have achieved exceptional marketing success in their local community and business category. These are local companies htat enhance the positive image of small business through service to their customers and community. Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1318108850613-facebook5
130x130_sq_1318108878644-facebook2
130x130_sq_1318108903613-facebook4
130x130_sq_1318108921644-facebook1
130x130_sq_1318108961472-facebook3
130x130_sq_1318108980034-facebook6
130x130_sq_1318109058534-2010ifa

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Father of the Bride, Father of the Groom, Groom, Groomsmen, Ring Bearers
Does a client need to schedule an appointment? How do the client appointments work?
Appointments are preferred. We are open every day of the week, which increases our availability to our customers. We prefer to schedule appointments Saturday through Wednesday, seeing that Thursday and Friday are days that most customers with weekend weddings pick their garments up. 
 On the day of the appointment, one of our five Formalwear Specialists will dedicate an hour to the bride and groom, assisting them with Garment Selection, Accessory Choices, Color Choices, and trying on the look that they have created.
What specialty dress and attire items, such as a Kimono or Sari, do you provide?
We provide Tailcoats,Timeless White and Ivory Dinner Jackets, Dinner Jackets in all colors (Pink, Light Blue, Green, Maroon, Midnight Blue, Teal, ect.) and Cut-Aways. Garments that we do not have on-site that a customer is interested in may be able to be ordered upon the owners authorization.
What is the typical turn-around time for a dress?
We are solely a tuxedo & suit rental/retail store, we are not involved with bridal attire. Garments are ready typically two days before the wedding at 3:30PM. They can be picked up from that time until the day of the ceremony. We expect the garments back the day after the wedding by 3:30PM. Changes to pick-up and return time may be discussed with one of our Formal Wear Specialists.
Do you carry new or once worn gowns?
We do not carry gowns, we carry new as well as gently worn tuxedos & suits.
Do you have a seamstress onsite?
We do have a seamstress on-site. When the garment is ready to be picked up, customers are asked to come into the store, try on their garment and any last minute alterations that are needed are done by the tailor within typically 20 minutes.

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linda
Wedding:
3/22/2014
4.8/5.0
My groom had several issues come up with some friends who were supposed to be in the wedding party, so we had to make a couple of changes, including one last minute one about a month before the wedding.

Rudy and everybody at A Better Deal did a great job accommodating all the changes and substitutions we had. My groom picked a suit style that had limited sizes, but it still worked for the variety of heights and body sizes we had. All the guys looked so dapper!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
7/19/2013
4.2/5.0
We rented the suits for the guys here for our wedding. They have a good selection of items. We wanted a specific tan color and they were able to help me find it. Janet is so sweet and helpful. They have all the suits onsite so if one of your groomsmen gave the wrong measurements or something doesn’t fit they can get another one or alter it right there. This was huge for us as all of our groomsmen came from out of San Diego County. There were a few that needed alterations on the day of pickup and it went off without a hitch. We have since been back to rent a tux for a charity event and there is no doubt that we will go back to buy one if we need one again. Thanks!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tylermvb
Wedding:
6/18/2011
0.9/5.0
My intention is to make this review as honest as possible, so that couples getting married in the future can use it to select the proper tux rental establishment. I am going to keep this review in chronological order, so you have a good idea of how my experience went.

In our effort to visit several tux stores to see which one would be right for our wedding, we visited A Better Deal Tuxedo. When we pulled up to their store in Bird Rock, we felt that the exterior was a little run-down looking and the sign was super old. However, when we walked in we met Janet, the co-owner. She was extremely friendly and we seemed to get along with her right away. She explained to us the process and we looked through the suits and showed us pictures of all the famous people they have dressed on the wall.

After that, things seemed to go downhill. We were renting almost 15 tuxedos for our wedding and I chose them because their suits are actually retail suit/tuxedos, as opposed to Savvi Formalwear, which almost every other tux shop has. After the first appointment, we came in 2 or 3 other times and every time I personally felt like I was bothering them. This was highly disturbing as we spent almost $2,000 dollars at their store ($175 per tux, with one rental free). Also, I noticed that all of their notes were handwritten on a single sheet of paper. Therefore, when we changed things, they scribbled out old notes and either wrote on top of it, or in the margins. Sloppy. Is this not the 21st century? Who does not use computers nowadays?

While the other employees were great, Janet’s mood seemed to decline throughout the process. She even had the audacity to talk crap on me to my best man behind my back! Was I really not going to hear about it? Furthermore, there was some miscommunication about the ties we were going to wear and they ordered them without letting me know, so I happened to buy my own ties, but they still expected me to take care of them! Fortunately, Janet resolved the matter and we were over that.

The day before the wedding we went to pick up our tuxes. They managed to give everyone shoes except for me, the groom, which boggled my mind! They tried to tell me, after I already tried on several shoes, selected the exact size (they run large) and style, that I had not asked for shoes. What a joke, why else would I have tried on the shoes several times? Instead of resolving this matter calmly with the suggestions I put forth, they were combative about it. This is when Jerry, the owner (Janet’s husband) got on the phone. He talked about all the pictures on the wall and all the famous people they have dressed and finally said:

“I hope you never get married again!”
Jerry, Business Owner
A Better Deal Tuxedo

After that I was just plain enraged. How could someone in such an industry talk to their clients this way? Especially, the OWNER. He clearly meant to be malicious as I could hear the intense anger in his voice. Needless to say, while their tuxedos are OK, and employees decent, the owners and the way the run their operation is a joke and I would never recommend their services to anyone I truly cared about on their special day.

There are thousands of other tux shops who operate their business efficiently and don’t treat their customers like crap. Although, I guess if you are a celebrity, they might treat you nice.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
La jolla
Wedding:
4/15/2011
4.8/5.0
They were able to fulfill all our needs. We had people sending in sizes and they were able to make changes while we waited. The staff is very friendly and really make you feel welcome. Service was top notch.
The dog is friendly as well.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Navyfinanceguy
Wedding:
4/9/2011
4.8/5.0
This tuxedo company was best! I have recommended this company to every person looking for a good suit. I found they provide excellent suits for the same price if not lower than comparable companies. They treated my wedding party with excellent service! This place is definitely worth checking out! I know I will always use them for my future suit rental needs.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
summersherer
Wedding:
8/8/2010
5.0/5.0
One of the very few tux stores that have quality suits at an amazing price! Will definitely come here for all future events!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1256009414831-photoforpaper3
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
It was an absolute pleasure to work with A Better Deal Tuxedo! They provided tuxedo's for my husband, my father and our groomsmen. Thanks to Janet and the knowledgeable ABD staff these guys have never looked better! Janet helped us picked out the best tux for my husband and for our budget. Thank you ABD. It was our pleasure!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Greg
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
True professionals. They were kind, flexible, and extremely knowledgeable. I would recommed A Better Deal Tuxedos to anyone getting married. They are the best.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nelson
Wedding:
4/10/2010
4.9/5.0
No one is perfect, but these guys are about as close as you'll get. I've been in multiple weddings and I've never had the entire process go so well.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
meplank
Wedding:
2/20/2010
5.0/5.0
My wife and I initially looked at Tux's at the Men's Warehouse. We were not thrilled that you could only be fitted for a tux but they did not have a selection to try on at the store. After checking some reviews we found A Better Deal Tuxedo. We scheduled an appointment with Janet, one of the owners who is an absolute doll to deal with. Janet took great care of me and even though all my groomsmen were coming in from out of town, the final fitting went without a hitch. The quality of the tuxedo's were far superior and they have competitive pricing which is flexible depending on the options you want. Put the quality with the service levels together and it's a no brainer. Janet and Jerry have a great shop and if your in need of a tuxedo for a formal occasion, I highly recommend stopping by their store in Birdrock.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clarice
Wedding:
10/10/2009
3.0/5.0
Great owners...very genuine, caring people! Overall service was average - disorganized operations lead to some last minute adjustments and mistakes in color of accesories.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
benandjulie2009
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Janet was awesome in every single area. We couldn't have been more thrilled with all she did for us and how professional she was. She came as a reccomendation from a friend who was in the same business, and they said she was the best in town and I couldn't agree more.
We would reccomend them to anyone considering a wedding.
Ben and Julie Wood
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andy
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
A Better Deal did a wonderful job with the tuxedos for my groomsmen and me! Every interaction left me feeling like a valued customer. I highly recommend Janet and her team.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Armin
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
I would choose A better Deal over and over again for future occasions!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jimmy in SD
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
I actually first planned to use another tailor, but visited A Better Deal on a recommendation from a friend and there was no comparison. Not only was A Better Deal's tuxes cheaper, they were better quality and we loved Jerry and Janet. Also, all of my groomsmen and family came in from out of town and they made accommodations for them to send in their measurements and pickup their tuxes once they got into San Diego. I will honestly never use another tailor.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mohope
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
Janet at A Better Deal Tuxedo was amazing. They had a very large selection, and they were so patient and professional. I didn't give them very much time to work with, but they delivered with great communication and outstanding service. My whole family made comments to me about what a great experience they had there. They are so down-to-earth, yet serious about giving top-notch service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ml
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Janet & Jerry are an absolute pleasure to work with! They are wonderful, kindhearted people who are dedicated to making your special occasion more perfect than you ever imagined. I was thoroughly impressed with their service, experience, accommodations, and attention to detail to my 8 groomsmen and 2 fathers for my wedding in Del Mar, CA.

Janet helped me to create the exact look/style I wanted, going above and beyond, and keeping in touch with me regularly as I planned my wedding from out of state.

I would highly recommend A Better Deal Tuxedo in La Jolla for any occasion - big or small. The Klein family cares about you as soon as you walk in the door and will do anything it takes to make you 110% satisfied that you did.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
keymerino
Wedding:
10/11/2008
5.0/5.0
Janet and her staff were outstanding! We really loved the experience that we had! We wouldn't have gone anywhere else and are always recommending ABDT to all of our newly engaged friends and anyone who would need her expertise! Thank You!
Services Used: Dress & Attire

DEALS

Free Consultation for Bride and Groom
Get Deal
Promo Code: 369gift   $100 Value
Includes selection of garment styles, accessory choices, accessory colors for the groom and groomsmen. All of our inventory is on-site so we have no problem giving the bride and groom the opportunity to try-on the garments for the wedding well in advance. Out of town guests and groomsmen have the advantage of going to any of the International Formalwear Association Tuxedo Stores throughout the United States for a complimentary measurement.
Deal #WW7511aff297cb8b2b
220x220_1261512406463-abetterdealtuxedo

MAP

 
369 Bird Rock Avenue, La Jolla, CA 92037 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for A Better Deal Designer Tuxedo and Suits
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo