Nophoto-130

A Fine Image Photo and Video

Cambridge , MA

LOCATION

955 Massachusetts Ave #273
Cambridge, MA US 02139 (map)

PHONE

617-225-0333

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Photography , Videography

REVIEWS

2.1
out of 5.0
2.4/5.0
2.1/5.0
2.1/5.0
2.0/5.0
2.1/5.0
Sort by
Missing_profile
absolute1677
Wedding:
3/4/2011
1.0/5.0
i have been to 15 diff review sites all have the same "good stories word for word" all posted on the same day. no one does that unless its the crooks running the company. they posted the positive stories them selves .they truly are a scam. they told me today that i have to give them $2550 in 2 weeks or permanately delete them and if i cant afford it they wont negotiate becasue if i cant afford $2550 for pictures then they dont want to take my money during "my financial hardship" i think was told by a friend they read a review where the lady was told the same thing about permanately deleting their photos with out payment in 2 weeks. they borrowed money from people to pay then were told it was just a down payment and they needed more money in 1 week or they would permanately delete their photos. im cutting my loss's not paying them the other $2500 unless they agree to meet me with the video and ill pay once i put it in my computer to make sure my pictures are it. they have refused saying no money no pictures. not even at the same time!!! this is a SCAM STAY AWAY!! negative 1,000,000,000 stars
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Wwnetwork-128
Elizabeth
Wedding:
10/2/2010
0.2/5.0
It's very hard to get me to write one of these unless it must be done for the sake of future newly weds out there. A Fine Image looks nice but behind the scenes, are very deceiving! I paid 2300.00 for what I thought would be two photographers of my choice on my wedding day and a CD of high resolution best 1000+ images. 1500 - for two photographers and 800 for the CD. I haven't received any of my pictures yet and they are informing NOW, that I have to pay an addition 2000.00 for a wedding album to get my already paid for CD. The contract states: A wedding album purchase is required to buy the negatives. So my husband and I thought we could just buy a parents album for 500.00. But no - to be able to have my wedding photos I have to pay an additional 2000.00 extra because the contract did not make specific what type of album to buy. So if you want to spend 1500.00 +800.00 + 2000.00 = 4300.00 for terrible service and a lies about what you actually get versus what they say you get - be my guest - but you'd be better off going somewhere else, pay less, and getting better service and quality. Brides and Groom's...Please Please Please don't work with them....they will stress you out and you don't need any stress on your special day!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1233201474328-img_2114
PQAC
Wedding:
9/5/2009
0.0/5.0
A Bride's Nightmare, Girls stay away from these crooks!

This company is a TOTAL SCAM!!! DO NOT USE THEM IF YOU DON�T WANT YOUR WEDDING EXPERIENCE RUINED!!!

We were shopping around for wedding photography. We stumbled online of this company, it seemed nice, winning so may nomination from The Knot, and the online gallery samples were absolutely stunning. But we weren�t so sure to go with them, until we talked to a friend and found out that the same company did his album that all the friends said was so beautiful. Having the confidence of a friend�s personal experience, we decided to go with them. But we do we face? Like so many others, the owner Mark Zaki has very rude customer service manner. But we thought that we�re more looking for wedding pictures than rating customer service anyway, so we put up with his rudeness and try to get business with him. We wanted the same photographer that our friend had used, but he didn�t exactly say we could have Jennifer as our photographer. So at the contract, I said I�ll pay in advance if we can have her as our photographer. He said �Jennifer will be out taking the pictures if she is not sick that day.� I took it as a confirmation from him and paid in full up front. We thought everything was all set until two and half week before as he told us, to contact him and he will get us communicating with the photographer on details. Only we found out our photographer is not Jennifer, and is someone totally not listed on his website. We called and we said this is totally not what we signed up for, and he started arguing with us. Then he send us another photographer still not what we requested for, and he said �THIS IS THE BEST YOU�RE GONNA GET, COUNT YOUR BLESSINGS!�

At that point, I was too angry to deal with him, so my husband decided that we�ll just have to contact the photographer he assigned us and work it out with him. Fortunately, the photographer is very nice, and everything worked out with him great.

Not wanting to do much more business with Mark, the next step is to get our pictures. On his website at the time when I was researching, it says we can purchase the negative at $800. But afterwards, he said the negative is $800 if you buy it with the very expensive photo Album. If you want to buy the negative alone, it�s $100 more than buying it with the album� what in the world the ridiculous pricing. So our business with him stops there. Mark is a total jerk, do not work with him if you don�t want your wedding photography matter becomes a nightmare to handle!

Check BBB, even though the agency rated this company at A (which I don�t know how) there have been A NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS, ENOUGH THAT YOU SHOULD STAY AWAY FROM HIM!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
REMME
Wedding:
1/1/2009
0.0/5.0
A CANDID IMAGE / A FINE IMAGE WEDDING PHOTOGRAPHY RIP OFF FOR EVERYONE BRIDES, CONSULTANTS, PHOTOGRAPHERS, & VIDEOGRAPHERS!!!

I worked for A Candid Image. I know for a fact that there is at least one couple who are having issues with them right now. There wedding date is 3/22/09. I can provide you with emails & contact information for the couple. I feel sorry for them that this company is so completley bogus.

I cannot believe that these people have been awarded Best of the Knot in 2007, 2008, and 2009 in EVERY SINGLE MARKET that they are in. They are horrible and very unprofessional. I was promised training and it was never provided. They do not pay their consultants, videographers or photographers on time. When they do decide to pay the checks bounce. This company is based in Massachusetts and has "offices" all over the US. These offices are basically addresses provided by UPS STORE. The company has had at least 2 names in the past 3 years....A CANDID IMAGE & A FINE IMAGE. The change office locations like I change nail polish and will completely mislead everyone.

I started working for them last year and at the beginning of the year Mark Zaki decided not to pursue the market canceling all advertising. I was never informed of this and only found out when I became concerned when I was not receiving any email leads. I sent an email and after the 4th time I resent my email was finally answered with a phone call stating that they canceled all the advertising two weeks prior. CURRENTLY, THEY HIRED A NEW PERSON AND WILL CONTINUE TO RIP PEOPLE OFF IN DALLAS!!!

When I first accepted employment I was told I would be trained and that the owners Mark Zaki & Jennifer Jakulyte would be available to answer any questions. That was a lie. The girl I leaving was going to manage the rest of her weddings and I would get trained by her. This did not happen. I was offered the opportunity to stay on overseeing the remainder of the weddings because the woman I replaced had no interest in continuing her relationship with A CANDID IMAGE. I was also offered the commission on any remaining weddings the problem is that I had to do all the work until 30 days before the wedding to see any money. I agreed because I was told that all her weddings were taken care of and just needed payment reminders sent. THIS WAS ABSOLUTELY NOT TRUE!!! A few weddings had no photographers scheduled, others had photographers canceling after lack of payment for previous weddings or bounced checks, and brides were calling for weddings at the end of 2008 because they were missing albums and prints.

IT BECAME A TOTAL NIGHTMARE --- I had no way to help these people or confirm anything they had to say since I was never supplied any paperwork or documentation for them. It took me about a week before I decided to end my employment with them. All this time, I was not paid a single dollar to take their collection calls, handle customer service issues, find new photographers/videographers to take over their mess and make them money. WHAT A WASTE OF MY TIME!!!

After I terminated my contract employment, I was verbally abused via telephone by the owner Mark Zaki when he did not receive the ups package with their company property. He called me a wide variety of names which I do not even use in my personal life all vulgar. He continued to berate me calling me a stupid woman and how I disgusted him. He told my that my husband was an idiot for marrying me and he would make sure that he left me. He called my references and threatened to sue them for $10,000 each. They did not know who he was because he never even called them prior to offering me my contract employment. He only called when he felt he needed to be unprofessional.

Mark Zaki contacted at least one photographer and brides to tell them that the two previous consultants were stupid and worthless women who were bimbos. He completely talk down about us and the one photographer knew both myself and the previous girl and stated she felt the problem lied with him and his company. This made him angry and he changed the subject.

He threatened me that he would have me thrown in jail for withholding his company property, he threatened to take my home and car away from me. He also stated he would call every employer that I have ever worked for and make it impossible for me to ever get a job again. I have emails I can provide anyone with the information above and how completely unprofessional the man is.

I was going to be professional about this and let it go, but the more I thought about it I realized that by not coming forward I was only hurting future brides and potential employees that could be suckered by this man, his wife & their company.

I am not posting this as a disgruntled employee, I am posting this as someone who planned my wedding in 2006 using mostly THE KNOT vendors and checking out references on the BBB. Please take the time to research this company via Google & the BBB. All it takes is 5 minutes and you will find that they are not what they seem. The potential for a few extra dollars is not worth all of the hassle and frustration this company will cause you.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Yilmarie
Wedding:
10/5/2008
5.0/5.0
The photographers were very nice and friendly. I haven't seen the pictures yet but I know I will not be dissapointed.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
8/30/2008
2.3/5.0
My experience with A Fine Image was both positive and negative. They contracted Kathy through All Digital Photography who was absolutely amazing to work with. It's been almost 8 weeks since my wedding and I still don't have my pictures or video yet. If I had dealt with Kathy directly I would have had them by now. A Fine Image was also short and sort of rude to me over email when I had questions. If you are getting married in the Portsmouth area I would recommend dealing with Kathy directly. I've seen a few of my pictures on her website and from what I've seen, they are amazing! www.alldigitalphotography.org
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Bg8
jayaubinsgirl
Wedding:
8/23/2008
5.0/5.0
I searched everywhere for a good photographer that had good pictures, great packages and were fairly affordable. A Fine Image was the ONLY place I found that had everything I was looking for. There was no travel fee, they gave me 2 photographers and they took over 2000 pictures! They took pictures of things I didn't even think of! They were awesome!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ems
Wedding:
8/23/2008
0.0/5.0
Since the moment we signed the contract, A Fine Image was the epitomy of awful customer service. They have consistently been difficult to contact. Prior to the wedding, my husband and I tried and tried to schedule a meeting with the photographer to discuss what we were looking for. I felt relieved when the lead photographer finally called for a meeting over the phone, the night before the wedding. We had a nice chat and after 45 minutes, I really felt like she knew what I wanted for my album.

The day of my wedding, the photographer I had spoken with had a "back problem," so a different photographer showed up and asked me (as I was trying to get ready for my wedding) what I was looking for in an album - in 5 minutes or less, I had to explain what had taken me 45 minutes the night before... could they not have communicated that morning??

The pictures were disappointing - there were better shots on facebook. Our lead photographer was uncreative and amateur as a photographer.

The album is overpriced for what it was, and the digital images are super expensive because you can only buy them with the cost of an album (I hate being nickel and dimed).

We completed the editing in January, and in March, we had heard nothing. I contacted the man who edited the album, and he said it should have taken 1 month. I emailed A Fine Image, and heard nothing. I called a week later and they asked me to send another email (apparently they didn't get the first one). I sent another email and heard nothing. After another week or 2, I received an email stating that my album was ready and I would be contacted any day to pick it up. 3 weeks passed (with 3 emails and 2 phone calls). Finally, my husband called and we were told that the album was ready to be picked up, and we got a story about how Jennifer is abroad because her mother died (I wonder how many times that poor woman has had to die to save them from their own incompetance). So we're now in the process of scheduling to pick up our album - 3 months after it should have been ready - so let's see how long this drags out.

Long story short, AVOID THIS COMPANY. I thought if they were listed on theknot.com that they would be safe, but apparently not. Don't waste your time and money.

*** Called back to schedule pick up for album, was greeted with resistance, lies, and verbal abuse. Classy. I don't think my album exists. FYI if you want an album, probably don't choose these guys.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cloester
Wedding:
6/6/2008
3.8/5.0
The company offers reduced "online" prices; that is if you book online and don't come in to the studio or talk to someone in person. That was a bit nerve wrecking to me but I did it anyway because I could afford the price and "the Knot" recommended it.

The quality of the service was above average, I just didn't like the fact that I couldn't really talk to anyone in person to discuss details. That makes a difference. Your vendors should talk to you in person not just to answer questions but also, to guide you. They've done weddings a million times, you're doing one (hopefully!) They should be able to help you think of things you haven't thought of before or make you aware of glitches so you can avert as many aspossible.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dreambml
Wedding:
4/12/2008
3.9/5.0
We haven't received our DVD yet, but our videographer David was amazing! He shot everything. I never really saw him around, but once in a while I did catch him out of the corner of my eye. He was constantly working! The company itself is a little confusing to work with - you book through the main company, but they didn't seem to be able to answer any questions or anything. You speak with a receptionist or something, so you have to ask to speak with the person you are shooting. They actually told me that the couple normally doesn't meet with their videographer, but we wanted to so they gave us his contact info and basically told me to talk to him about everything. Other than that, we are completely happy! They are one of the priciest videopgraphers around, but after viewing at least 10 samples from other companies, we had to go with them!
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fredeee
Wedding:
10/20/2007
0.0/5.0
Please be wary of positive reviews... 99.9999% of them are probably from the owners of this crooked establishment. My wife and I got ripped off from them 3 years ago and we still want to warn newlyweds about A Fine Image or the other few alias they operate. DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE, they are horrible. The irony is they contract to otherwise reputable photographers who are trying to make a living in a bad economy. And even they are getting ripped from from these folks. Do yourself a favor, look elsewhere. I will never ever trust The Better Business Bureau or The Knot as they give these folks a favorable rating. Look at the reviews, like here, and trust the vast majority of negative reviews. Stay clear people... there are so many talented, wonderful photographers out there you don't want these crooks ruing your wonderful day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karen8
Wedding:
10/20/2007
0.2/5.0
This "company" is actually a husband & wife team who appear to be in business only to scam innocent clients out of their money during one of the most vulnerable times of their lives. My first mistake was that I only reviewed the bridal/wedding-related web sites for reviews. If I had looked elsewhere online I would have found countless reviews describing experiences similar to mine…some even worse. When I first spoke to Mark (owner #1), I shared my favorite examples from the galleries displayed on their web site and was told that “Jennifer” was the photographer of those I had selected. I hired them based on that fact. Little did I know that “Jennifer” was actually his wife (and owner #2)….a fact I would later learn. I was promised several times (including in writing) that Jennifer would be my wedding photographer barring any unforeseen emergencies. I sent my deposit along with my signed contract. I then received a contract back that was signed by Jennifer. At the time the balance was due I called Mark to confirm again that Jennifer would still be my photographer. He confirmed this so I sent my check. One week before my wedding I received a phone call from a man claiming to be my wedding photographer. At this point I called Mark to find out why the photographer that I contracted with would not actually be working my wedding. He told me that Jennifer would not be working my wedding because “she has a lot of administrative duties to take care of” that day. (Since when do administrative duties constitute an emergency???) He proceeded to yell at me on the phone and called ME a liar! I quickly ended the conversation and proceeded to tell the new photographer what kind of company he works for. In fear that we would have our special day ruined by anyone associated with this company we decided to cut our losses and cancel our contract. Needless to say our request for a refund was never granted and we lost our $1500. Take my advice and the advice of every other non-bridal review site out there….STAY AWAY FROM “A FINE IMAGE”. [Google “a fine image reviews” and see for yourself]
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fredeeee
Wedding:
10/20/2007
0.0/5.0
The high reviews MUST be yet another scam from these unethical, shady business people. Do a Google on "A Fine Image" and believe me, you will see the true nature of this company. They are horrible scam artists and have caused so many negative experiences and shoddy work to so many new couples I'm shocked they are in business. Don't take this review's word, do your research. The Knot should be sued for giving them a good name and the BBB is now useless in my mind for not listening to real consumers who have been screwed by these people. Stay away folks, far far away.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CMC
Wedding:
9/2/2007
0.0/5.0
Whatever you do, think twice before hiring A Fine Image. I was sold on the wonderful photos I was shown taken by the company. The day of my wedding I found out they had Atkin Photo, less expierenced photographer shoot my wedding. I spent over an hour on the phone explaining what i wanted and didnt want prior to my wedding. When it came to formals I didnt get any of the shoots i wanted. When I tried to explain to the photographer we didnt appriciate standing directly in the sun squinting she told me to "calm down". It took FOREVER for her to take a few shots. I didnt have time for family photos, and was late for my reception. My husband had friends from across the country he served with in Iraq, which I told her was very important to get a group shot. Nothing I requested was in the pictures. Every picture they took was terrible. I called A Fine Image the day after the wedding to explain what a nightmare it was. I never once received a phone call back, just emails. After I saw the pictures I was horrified. I was told that I was the reason it took so much time and that I was being difficult on the day of MY wedding! I complained and questioned once again I had Atkin Photo shoot my wedding when I paid A Fine Image. This is the direct quote i got back..... "We respectfully request that you kindly submit the matter for arbitration as required by the contract and agreed upon by you. Please be advised that should you select another venue to address your grievances, we would consider that a breach of the contract and would immediately and permanently delete all of the images of wedding. There would no longer be any record of your wedding left with us." "Chrissy; we respectfully request that you kindly review the written contract, if you want to file for an arbitration with the American Arbitration Association, as called for in the contract, you will have to pay them $800 even before they open a case for you. You have absolutely no chance of winning anything, to begin with they require that you point out the specific clause of the contract that has been breached; unless you can do that they would summarily dismiss it." Please dont make the same mistake I did and let this poor excuse for a company destroy your day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joy
Wedding:
8/18/2007
4.2/5.0
Jennifer is so easy to work with. There pictures are beautiful. there albums are so nifty and they truly make you feel like your one of a kind
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
8/4/2007
3.5/5.0
The photographers A Fine Image sent to my wedding were great. The photos came out beautifully and they were professional and not disruptive. The customer service was a nightmare. They did not keep track of my payments and gave me quite a scare, threatening to not send photographers to my wedding two weeks before! Also, beware the payments! The up-front cost for the photographers was very reasonable. However, to get your negatives, you need to pay $1500 (or more!) towards an album before they'll let you buy your negatives (for an additional fee)!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
carla
Wedding:
6/17/2007
2.6/5.0
the video was only O.K, I cant say I love it, The photos were really really good, I was extremely happy with them. Dealing with the company itself, was a head-ache. Once they have your money, they dont return your phone calls. But I am happy with the photographer. The video guy was really nice, but the video itself was only O.K. The people who work in the office, I had a hard time dealing with them.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara & John
Wedding:
5/19/2007
0.0/5.0
We got the bait and switch with this company. We saw a demo video which we loved, so we hired the company. We were told that "Andy" who shot the demo video would be the one filming our wedding. I called several times to verify that Andy would be the one, I was told over and over that he would be. About 2 weeks before the wedding, I had not heard from anyone ( figured they would need directions..etc) so I called them. I was told 2 weeks before my wedding that Andy was double booked so we would be getting someone else. I had to call the new videographer myself ( which I thought was so unprofessional). He was clueless about everything. He showed up on my wedding day dressed like a hobo. When I walked down the stairs in my wedding dress, he informed me that he left the battery in the car..so there is no video of me and my dress for the first time. The wedding video itself is horrible. NOTHING like the video I had seen. He missed me and my Dad walking down the aisle!!!! The whole video is nothing better than having your aunt or friend video tape your wedding with your own camera. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! I found out later that the videographer that did our wedding was a contract worker...so he didn't even "really" work for A Fine Image.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steev
Wedding:
2/24/2007
3.1/5.0
Video was amazing however they did get in the way a couple of times during and after the ceremony.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.1/5.0
none
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
955 Massachusetts Ave #273, Cambridge, MA 02139 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for A Fine Image Photo and Video
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220