130x130_sq_1367016922980-pronovias-benicarlo-editorial

A L'Amour

Barrington , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

236 West Northwest Hwy.
Barrington, IL US 60010 (map)

PHONE

847-381-5858

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

After 24 wonderful years A L'Amour says Au Revoir on June 30th, when we will close our doors and our business. Thank you.
After 24 wonderful years A L'Amour says Au Revoir on June 30th, when we will close our doors and our business. Thank you. Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1352844777256-alamourweddingdressesrivini
130x130_sq_1352840613789-mainlogoalamour
130x130_sq_1216161209853-juddtaffeta
130x130_sq_1216161276619-rena-de-montilla-cover
130x130_sq_1352842023892-rivinioverview
130x130_sq_1352842024193-riviniview
130x130_sq_1352842024756-romonakeveza
130x130_sq_1352842025502-sparkler
130x130_sq_1352842025983-twobyrosaclara
130x130_sq_1352842026801-watters
130x130_sq_1352842027675-wattersbrick
130x130_sq_1352842028412-augustajonescorsica.matterica.october2009
130x130_sq_1352842029106-carlyoctober2009
130x130_sq_1352842030103-katieriggs.july2012
130x130_sq_1352842031281-palomablanca.maria.september2011
130x130_sq_1352842034600-pronovias.billamandaburns.072410
130x130_sq_1352842035784-pronoviasdango.aidacayetuna.january2010
130x130_sq_1352842036230-pronoviasreyes.tracygalindo.021410
130x130_sq_1352842037189-rhondakaydixon.september2010
130x130_sq_1352842122613-realbride
130x130_sq_1352842124365-realbride2
130x130_sq_1352842125608-realbride3
130x130_sq_1352842127468-realbride4
130x130_sq_1352842129093-realbride5
130x130_sq_1352842131787-realbride6
130x130_sq_1352844674458-augustajonescorsica.matterica.october2009
130x130_sq_1352844675317-carlyoctober2009
130x130_sq_1352844676304-katieriggs.july2012
130x130_sq_1352844677202-palomablanca.maria.september2011
130x130_sq_1352844679042-pronovias.billamandaburns.072410
130x130_sq_1352844680190-pronoviasdango.aidacayetuna.january2010
130x130_sq_1352844680630-pronoviasreyes.tracygalindo.021410
130x130_sq_1352844681241-rhondakaydixon.september2010
130x130_sq_1352844689089-2be
130x130_sq_1352844689871-alvinavalenta
130x130_sq_1352844690648-alvinavalentabride
130x130_sq_1352844691270-annebarge
130x130_sq_1352844692068-augustajones
130x130_sq_1352844692596-augustajonesoutside
130x130_sq_1352844693194-blackandwhite
130x130_sq_1352844694132-juddwaddellbride
130x130_sq_1352844694799-juddwaddellkiss
130x130_sq_1352844695358-juddwaddellprayer
130x130_sq_1352844696100-lazaro
130x130_sq_1352844697020-marisa
130x130_sq_1352844697517-martinaliana
130x130_sq_1352844698052-michelleroth
130x130_sq_1352844698824-palomablancadancing
130x130_sq_1352844699396-palomablancagroup
130x130_sq_1352844700124-pronovias
130x130_sq_1352844700955-pronoviaspathway
130x130_sq_1352844701705-pronoviasprofile
130x130_sq_1352844702491-pronoviasrocks
130x130_sq_1352844703172-pronoviasskyline
130x130_sq_1352844703650-rivini
130x130_sq_1352844704732-rivinibride
130x130_sq_1355450251679-fandl1
130x130_sq_1355450252915-fandl2
130x130_sq_1355450262110-fandl3.jpg
130x130_sq_1355450268422-fandl4
130x130_sq_1355450273760-pamjay1
130x130_sq_1355450277522-pamjay2
130x130_sq_1355450282588-pamjay3
130x130_sq_1355450290106-pamjay4
130x130_sq_1355450295168-pamjay5.
130x130_sq_1355450301804-pamjay6
130x130_sq_1355883319724-2bebridale231135s
130x130_sq_1355883320702-2bebridale233841
130x130_sq_1355883322031-2bebridalg233816
130x130_sq_1355883323338-2bebridalg233819s
130x130_sq_1355883326487-airebarcelonabemol
130x130_sq_1355883327742-alvinavalenta9005
130x130_sq_1355883328798-alvinavalenta9017
130x130_sq_1355883330030-alvinavalenta9050
130x130_sq_1355883331256-alvinavalenta9058
130x130_sq_1355883332909-alvinavalenta9509
130x130_sq_1355883334769-alvinavalenta9556
130x130_sq_1355883336234-alvinavalenta9600
130x130_sq_1355883337575-alvinavalenta9613
130x130_sq_1355883339679-alvinavalenta9653
130x130_sq_1355883341587-alvinavalenta9658
130x130_sq_1355883342841-alvinavalenta9661
130x130_sq_1355883345536-alvinavalenta9662
130x130_sq_1355883347252-alvinavalenta9702
130x130_sq_1355883348943-alvinavalenta9709
130x130_sq_1355883350167-alvinavalenta9756
130x130_sq_1355883351688-alvinavalenta9762
130x130_sq_1355883353375-alvinavalenta9803
130x130_sq_1355883354453-alvinavalenta9813
130x130_sq_1355883356558-alvinavalenta9900
130x130_sq_1355883361393-alynejune
130x130_sq_1355883363317-alyneleah
130x130_sq_1355883366100-angelsanchezadrianna
130x130_sq_1355883368088-angelsanchezalessandra
130x130_sq_1355883369656-angelsanchezaudrey
130x130_sq_1355883370806-annasulylm1934b
130x130_sq_1355883371996-annebarge253
130x130_sq_1355883373387-annebarge387
130x130_sq_1355883376056-annebarge411x
130x130_sq_1355883377463-annebarge417
130x130_sq_1355883378260-annebarge427
130x130_sq_1355883382158-augustajonesggia
130x130_sq_1355883386006-augustajonesmadagascar
130x130_sq_1355883387356-augustajonestawny
130x130_sq_1355883389027-carmenmarcvalvochelsea
130x130_sq_1355883390262-carnesmarcvalvocharlize
130x130_sq_1355883391727-davidmeisterdaphne
130x130_sq_1355883393159-davidmeisterdenise
130x130_sq_1355883396429-davismeisterdominique
130x130_sq_1355883399373-emeraldbridal8008
130x130_sq_1355883401639-emeraldbridal9115
130x130_sq_1355883403654-envogue4028
130x130_sq_1355883405671-envogue4070
130x130_sq_1355883407252-envogue40110
130x130_sq_1355883409337-envoguelt105
130x130_sq_1355883410504-enzoanicapri
130x130_sq_1355883411696-jennylee508
130x130_sq_1355883413197-jennylee524
130x130_sq_1355883414488-jennylee715
130x130_sq_1355883415024-jennylee724
130x130_sq_1355883418551-jennylee725
130x130_sq_1355883422511-juddwaddell3064
130x130_sq_1355883424534-juddwaddell3065
130x130_sq_1355883427682-juddwaddell4001
130x130_sq_1355883429237-lazaro3501
130x130_sq_1355883431327-lazaro3505
130x130_sq_1355883433818-lazaro3604
130x130_sq_1355883435518-lazaro3713
130x130_sq_1355883436590-martinaliana225
130x130_sq_1355883439454-palomablanca3558
130x130_sq_1355883442073-palomablanca3750
130x130_sq_1355883443785-palomablanca3802
130x130_sq_1355883445923-palomablanca3961
130x130_sq_1355883447990-palomablanca3966
130x130_sq_1355883450750-palomablanca4000
130x130_sq_1355883453092-palomablanca4006
130x130_sq_1355883454689-palomablanca4055
130x130_sq_1355883458676-palomablanca4110
130x130_sq_1355883460534-pronoviasadonis
130x130_sq_1355883462554-pronoviasalice
130x130_sq_1355883464534-pronoviasalison
130x130_sq_1355883467423-pronoviasalmudena
130x130_sq_1355883470202-pronoviasferia
130x130_sq_1355883472667-pronoviasgeraldine
130x130_sq_1355883474570-pronoviashuesca
130x130_sq_1355883476567-pronoviasmansion
130x130_sq_1355883478279-pronoviasnajar
130x130_sq_1355883479936-pronoviasrania
130x130_sq_1355883481375-pronoviastemplo
130x130_sq_1355883482712-rivinialyneleah
130x130_sq_1355883484549-romonakevezal808
130x130_sq_1355883486119-romonakevezal907
130x130_sq_1355883491584-rosaclarasolfa
130x130_sq_1355883493701-sophiatolliy1825
130x130_sq_1355883494928-tarakeely2000
130x130_sq_1355883496114-watters9042b
130x130_sq_1355883497312-watters9046b
130x130_sq_1381401280027-montage-113933007hero-768x1024
130x130_sq_1381401406492-vm-70806055

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Flower Girls, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom
What accessories do you provide?
Garters, Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Shoes, Veils
Does a client need to schedule an appointment? How do the client appointments work?
Bridal appointments are highly recommended. Bridal appointments are available Mon., Wed, and Thur. 10-8, and Fri. and Sat 10-5
What is the typical turn-around time for a dress?
Bridal gowns take from 4 to 6 months to arrive after they are ordered.
How often do you receive new dresses?
Every month
Do you provide any guarantees/warrantees of any kind?
A L'Amour has never missed a wedding.
Do you have a seamstress onsite?
A L'Amour does bridal alterations by appointment.
In addition to wedding dresses, what other products do you sell?
Mothers dresses, Social occasion dresses, Prom and Homecoming dresses, 8th Grade Graduation, Party, and Bat Mitzvah dresses, shoes, jewelry, headpieces and veils, wedding accessories.

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michal
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
A L'Amour was one of the last stops I was holding out hope for. I just hadn't found the perfect dress yet at any of the other shops. I worked with Carmen who is just FANTASTIC. She looked at the pictures I brought in and then found dresses to try and match them. None of the dresses I tried on were the right one. Then Carmen said to me, I think I have the perfect dress for you -- but it may take me awhile to find it. Will you wait? Of course! After 20 minutes, Carmen returned with the dress of my dreams. It was a dress that was in the back of the store, stored in their clearance section, a dress that no one had tried on in 2 years. It was perfectly preserved. A pronovias sample! I fell in LOVE immediately. I cannot thank Carmen enough for her help and her willingness to go searching for me for the perfect dress. Thank you Carmen!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Great selection and Carin really took the time to understand the type of wedding dress I wanted, as well as providing options I may not have thought of. The dress came in on time and was the correct fit. An overall great experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becca
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Very helpful! They made finding my wedding dress so much fun! Alterations were perfect.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate T
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
I went to several other stores before finally coming to A L'amour. The other stores I went to were pushy and didn't show me the designers and styles that I had wanted to see; they instead tried to push certain designers on me just because that designer was there for a trunk show or something.

A L'amour immediately showed me exactly what I wanted (the Pronovias Fauna) and even brought out some other dresses, just so I could compare and be sure I had the perfect dress. The dress arrived in good time, even though they had to send it back after it arrived the first time because it didn't meet their initial inspection (they must really inspect these dresses well to make sure it's perfect before they give it to you). I also bought all my jewelry and shoes from them. They had a good selection and relatively decent prices.

Can't say I have any complaints about them!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julianne
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
The ladies at A L'Amour are amazing! From the beginning to the end, they were so helpful, responsive and great to work with! Great selection of dresses. My dress was absolutely perfect!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1296496664466-fscn1906
Callie
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
My search for my wedding dress brought me to A L'Amour, a store an hour and a half away from me - and it was worth every moment I spent driving back and forth! My dress was absolutely perfect and everything I had envisioned. The staff listened to what I had to say, and made sure I was happy with every aspect of the dress. The seamstress was amazing, and on my wedding day, the dress fit exactly as I hoped!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
I love my dress! Found it on my first visit to L'Amour though I ended up buying it after a month later so i could convince myself no other dress would make me as happy. Lovely staff to work with and their selection was top notch!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
The staff at A L'Amour is out of this world. I bought my dress there, along with my veil. Emmy helped me find exactly the dress I wanted and made the entire process painless.

Additionally, she helped me find exactly the right bridesmaids dress. All of my girls got their dresses there and my mom ended up buying her dress there as well.

The entire shopping experience was easy and fun and getting alterations done was a breeze. I am so grateful to the entire staff for making this part of the wedding fun and enjoyable!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lmg1115
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
I had a great experience with A L'Amour. My consultant, Emmy, was friendly, helpful, and so easy going. She got a feel for the kinds of dresses I liked and then pulled a bunch for me - 3rd dress I tried on was the one! Easy as pie and no pressure! Service was outstanding there - my alterations were flawless, can't say enough good things about this place!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mturner
Wedding:
7/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Loved my Pro Novias Gown, the staff was lovely and the variety was what I loved.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
The team at a l'amour in Barrington was wonderful! They helped me coordinate dresses for each of my bridesmaids and provided me with fabric samples and whatever I needed in order to coordinate my wedding. They were very helpful when I was selecting dresses for my bridesmaids.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna Marie
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
If you want to feel like a princess this is the place to go. They have beautiful dresses, will ONLY pull dresses within your budget, and they make you feel like royalty.

This was one of the first places I stopped...and ended up coming right back. They worked with my crazy schedule and even recommended a seamstress who could also work with my schedule to do alterations.

I wish I could play dress-up here everyday! I absolutely love this bridal shop!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I wasn’t sure I would find anything at first because I wasn’t aware when I made my appointment that the gowns started around the top of my budget ($1000), however my consultant explained some samples were on sale, so my girls and I picked out some dresses for me to try without knowing the exact prices. This was my fourth bridal salon, and when I put on a big A-line dress, I just knew it was the one. I didn’t hide my feelings, and the consultant said she would check on the price for me. When she came back and told me it was 50% off, it just confirmed that it was the right dress. I was able to walk out of the store that day with my dress, which was in perfect condition for a sample gown.
Since they don’t do alterations on site, they handed me a list of about 15 potential seamstresses. I chose Jenny Greco because my friend’s mom had good things to say about Jenny based on her experiences with her mother-of-the-bride dress. Jenny is fabulous! Scheduling was easy even for a June wedding. She works out of her home, which is clean and neat. After she greets you warmly at the door, you get dressed in her workroom, which is the only carpeted room in her house. Jenny was patient with my mom and I during all of our fittings, even when we made her do the bustle about 6 times, eventually choosing the one she did first. Per my request, Jenny also made me a beautiful custom made headband using scraps from my dress. Overall, I would highly recommend Jenny. She is friendly, kind, and knows what she is doing without being forceful. Go to her for all of your wedding alterations!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katherinem-m
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
This review is all about my bridal consultant at A L'Amour, Rhonda. She was amazing from start to finish! She listened to what I wanted, pulled dresses that were all beautiful, and found me (on either the fourth or fifth dress, I can't remember!) the most beautiful dress I ever could have imagined. I just got married two days ago, and everyone thought the dress was amazing. And it was. Thank you, thank you, Rhonda, for making me feel special from start to finish!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1258568779989-wedding
amkaz
Wedding:
6/2/2007
5.0/5.0
My gown, flowergirl dresses, mother's dress, and bridesmaid dress were all from A l'Amour. Each item was exactly what I wanted and was perfect for my day. The selection at the store is unbelievable and I was able to find the perfect dress. I purchased a sample, off the rack, for my gown. I was able to get a very nice price for the dress and while it had been tried on and needed some work and alterations, no one was able to tell at all on my big day that I had on a sample gown. I am so pleased with my dresses and wouldn't change a thing. Thank you, A l'Amour!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marlene_S
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Fabulous! I got my dream dress and they were so professional helping me. We had so much fun trying on all the different dresses and they kept the mood fun and light. Thank you so much!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Thomas
Wedding:
8/23/2009
5.0/5.0
I bought my beautiful Judd Waddell ball gown from A L'Amour. My dress was gorgeous, and it was my dream wedding gown. I couldn't have been happier with my choice.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Giselle
Wedding:
8/22/2008
5.0/5.0
My experience at this bridal shop was great!

Flow really listened to what I did not want in a dress and she braught 15 dresses for me to try in every style. The dress I chose was one that I would have never thought I would pull off!

Everybody at the store was so nice, and very helpful.

Even the seamstress was very nice- I loved her personality!!!

I had such a wonderful experience here then I did at 2 major chain stores. The service and quality of the gowns is no comparrison to the big chains!

Most importantly I felt like a princess and very at ease here. I even purchased my veil and jewelry here!

They really know their stuff and I highly recommend them:)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
I found an amazing wedding dresss at A L'Amour and I felt the staff was very friendly and helpful. They also have great accessories, I ended up buying my wedding jewelry from here as well. I highly recommend looking at the vast array of beautiful wedding dresses here. Just FYI, don't let them talk you into a larger dress size, my dress was too big and I had to pay a lot for alterations (at another location).
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J
Wedding:
11/2/2013
4.9/5.0
Loved this place. I am a low-maintenance bride who was referred here by one of my friends, but I could have just as easily been a diva and been just as happy. I wanted quality and needed help as I am not a big dress person. I had no idea what kind of dress I wanted when I got there. 30 minutes later, I had my dress and a veil. I tried on 6, the second one was it, the 3rd one could have been it and the others I tried on just to be sure. Each of my dresses was chosen for me based on the previous dress I tried on and feedback from me by my personal stylist they assigned, Rose. She was fantastic. Don't delay, it took 6 months for my dress to come in. I started looking early enough to avoid any rush fees. They are very professional and very personalized. If you are looking for quality and professionalism, this is the place to go- so much better than the big box wedding stores. You pay for what you get- I felt this place was very reasonably priced for the quality and customer service I received. My budget was around 2000 and that's about what I spent for my Waters dress- Rose was very conscious of my price range when choosing gowns for me so I didn't fall in love with something too expensive or trying on quality that wasn't what I was looking for.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cdelaney6
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.9/5.0
I worked with Susan and she was fabulous. Always smiling and very patient and helpful. She helped find my dress and my mom's dress. Their alterations there are excellent as well for wedding gowns.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1257609099591-735710191
Erin
Wedding:
1/23/2010
4.9/5.0
This salon has everything. I went there knowing that they carried the designer’s dresses that I was interested in. The bridal consultant I worked with was Carmel. She was great! She brought out what I was looking for and also dresses she knew would look great on me, which was not what I originally thought I would want. She definitely knows her inventory very well. I purchased my dress and blusher veil (which was a show stopper) during their anniversary sale and got it for 19% off and far under my original budget.

I bought my dress 9 months before the wedding and they held everything I purchased there until I picked it up 2 days before the wedding. The seamstress was a little pricey but VERY talented. She took in my dress 3-4 sizes and it fit perfectly. She made the bustle extremely easy to use and it never broke like so many of my friend’s dresses bustles have. So definitely worth the $$.

Great experience overall. I highly recommend!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KristenK
Wedding:
8/2/2008
4.9/5.0
I had a great experience from beginning to end at A L'AMOUR. Jessica was my sales consultant and she picked out the perfect dress! I purchased a Pronovias dress and I love the style and it fit perfectly after alterations. Everyone at the store was friendly and helpful throughout the entire process. I also purchased a Toni Federici veil that looked amazing. This store has many great designers in stock and I would definetly recommend to anyone to look for a dress here first! This is a place to look for quality dresses and you will get what you pay for.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1267132811203-beachoscar102
Candace
Wedding:
5/20/2011
4.8/5.0
I got my dress here after looking only one other time before. I ahd not had a good experience at the previous place, so I was a bit hesitant when going to A L'Amour, however once I got there and walked in, it was a great experience.

The consultants were SO friendly, and genuinely excited for me, including the ones who weren't working with me directly. The dress I bought was a floor sample, and in great condition at a great price. I went here because my step-sister had gotten her wedding dress here and recommended it.

We ended up coming back to get my moms dress for the wedding here as well. Definitely check this place out when looking for a dress, it's a great experience with beautiful dresses!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/29/2013
4.8/5.0
Wonderful to work with! I was set on a Watters dress and found it here at a trunk show! The alterations were less expensive than I was initially quoted and I was able to store my dress up until the wedding!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
8/28/2010
4.8/5.0
My experience with A'lamour was great. I worked with Rhonda and she was so sweet and relaxed which made the dress experience a pleasent one. I also did some pricing research after I found "the dress", and it was 500 dollars CHEAPER at A'lamour versus a couple of other shops. Mega bonus!

My bridesmaids were given a discount for ordering the dresses with A'lamour, bit they did have to have the alterations done elsewhere. However, a list of taylors was given to each girl which made the hunt an easy one. My mom got her dress here and was able to have the alterations done through the store.

I was also able to get my alterations done through the store, and have to admit was a little shell-shocked when I found out how much it cost, but felt it was the best option available.

Overall, A'lamour was a great shop and Rhonda was fantastic!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
helloworld456
Wedding:
7/3/2010
4.8/5.0
A L'Amour had a wonderful selection of dresses and a very experienced and skilled staff. They helped me decide on which dress was perfect and I thought that they really cared and were compassionate about each and every single one of their customers. A little bit expensive, but the craftsmanship and material were phenomenal.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
2/4/2010
4.8/5.0
Excellent service!!!!Very professional and great sales !They have beautiful dresses there... After going to several places, I found my dress there, and it was not hard to fall in love with it... Really nice place to pick your dress and very friendly people...
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joseph
Wedding:
5/16/2009
4.8/5.0
I am so thrilled to have worn a dress so beautiful for such a great price. I HIGHLY recommend that all rent their dresses. A L'Amour was a great company; I'll definitely use them again the next time I have a big event to dress for. My wedding photos look like I spent thousands instead of hundreds. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
A L'Amour responded with the following comments:

We are confused with your review, since we do not rent dresses.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
twoluckypennies
Wedding:
7/8/2006
4.8/5.0
A L'amour was a fantastic bridal shop. The woman who assisted me was so kind, and went out of her way to make me feel special. She was also incredibly experienced as well -- and after asking me what I was looking for, had me try on a few styles of dresses. Then, she went into the back and pulled out the perfect dress -- something that I never would have thought of myself, but when I put it on, it was just perfect. So, her expertise was amazing. Then, she helped me find the shoes (which were on sale) and veil to match. The fittings went pretty smoothly and efficiently as well, and everything came out beautifully. Overall, it was a great experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Red
Wedding:
12/1/2010
4.7/5.0
In searchihng for my wedding dress I frequented four bridal salons (one was even downtown Chicago in the high end district). A L'Amour was the most professional salon I visited. Rhonda was my consultant and she was AMAZING, you must ask for her! She was the only consultant of all of the salons that asked me about my price point and what type of dress I had in mind. She did not try to sell me a dress out of my price range. She was the consumate professional and always friendly. My dress came EXACTLY when I was told it would arrive which was amazing since it was being shipped from overseas. The alterations were perfect as well! Some of those who have given negative reviews simply need to to their homework. You CANNOT expect to walk into a bridal salon and try on dresses without an appointment. Planning and research in advnace is critical. As for the person who said she wasn't allowed to walk around in her dress should get her facts straight. What really happens is this: when YOUR dress arrives and you go for your fittings they place a tarp on the floor of your dressing room and ask you to remove your shoes. They do this so when you try on your dress your not dragging it around on a potentially dirty floor. They also wear gloves when handling your dress to ensure it remains pristine for your special day. BTW, if you want to walk around in your dress and risk damaging it, they will let you do so. This was HANDS DOWN the best salon I visited. They were alway friendly and helpful. My mom even purchased her dress at this salon.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
12/12/2009
4.7/5.0
Excellent service!!!!Very professional and great sales !They have beautiful dresses there... After going to several places, I found my dress there, and it was not hard to fall in love with it... Really nice place to pick your dress and very friendly people...
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg8
Matt
Wedding:
8/20/2008
4.7/5.0
A little expensive but the gown was undoubtedly and undeniably gorgeous.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JULIE
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.6/5.0
A L'Amour helped me find my dress on my 1st dress shopping trip! In fact it was the very 1st dress I tried on! If you are looking to find an amazing gown without shelling out $3000+, I would suggest trying to schedule an appt during their Summer Sample Sales! I got my dress for 50%! It was almost 100% perfect! They also will provide you a list of recommended alteration locations! The staff is very friendly and knowledgable!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosie
Wedding:
2/19/2010
4.6/5.0
Very professional and great sales !They have beautiful dresses there... After going to several places, I found my dress there, and it was not hard to fall in love with it... Really nice place to pick your dress and very friendly people...
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BrideLady
Wedding:
6/27/2009
4.6/5.0
Flo was my consultant, and she was phenomenal. If I was reviewing Flo, she would receive 5’s across the board!
My experience at Al'amour was always fabulous and the customer service was top notch compared to many other places I visited. If you are looking for the best bang for your buck, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for phenomenal customer service and a hassle-free experience, this is the place to go!
Cons:
I found a Toni Federici headpiece at Al'amour. The price tag was clearly marked one price, but the price was scratched out with a pen, and increased by 25%! I called around and found that Macy’s Bridal salon was willing to order the piece for me at a cheaper price. I asked Al’amour to price match, but they did not. I also found my same dress at Macy’s bridal for less than what I purchased at Al'amour. The designer of my gown was Judd Waddell, and his dresses are only sold at Al'amour and Macy’s on State St. in Chicago. (I avoided Macy’s Bridal on State due to the lack of professionalism and very poor customer service)
Pros:
Never pushy, always patient with everything!
The seamstress did an excellent job altering my gown, but I only had the dressed hemmed and bustled. The alterations are pricey, and you can likely find a better value through another seamstress.
In the end, my gown was perfectly pressed and ready for pick-up as promised.
I chose Al'amour over other bridal salons because they were always professional and knowledgeable. They followed through on all phone calls and fulfilled all of my requests for color swatches and changes in appointment times. In the end, I paid extra for outstanding customer service and a hassle-free experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/10/2008
4.6/5.0
A little expensive but very worth it.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/15/2007
4.6/5.0
Each time I went into the store I had a positive experience. I worked with Renee and she was very friendly and always gave me tips on how to save some money even though in the end I bought my viel and some jewelry there. The staff is very helpful. You will need to make your appointments in advance because they book up quickly and I lived about 2 hours away so I always needed a late evening appointment. The store is very cute and the dresses are amazing. Everyone loved my dress! I would highly recommend going to this store at least to check out the dresses.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sophistispring
Wedding:
4/30/2010
4.5/5.0
Experience was the best out of all the dress shops I had visited. Best selection as well. My biggest complaint was I purchased a fabric flower to attach to my dress and by the time the wedding rolled around, I had changed my mind. I wanted to return or exchange the flower but they wouldn't allow it. It had been made clear to me they didn't do returns/exchanges from the beginning, so I can't complain too much.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
5/24/2008
4.5/5.0
The bridal consultant I worked with was Carmel. She was wonderful. She was very honest throughout the entire buying process. Every time I called to asked questions she either got to the phone immediately or called back very quickly. This salon has everything. They have gorgeous designer gowns, jewelry, shoes, veils, bridesmaid gowns, mother-of-the bride gowns. You will not have to shop anywhere else. I bought my dress 15 months in advance of the wedding and Carmel held everything I purchased at the salon until I picked it up 5 days before the wedding. This included my Lazaro dress, matching Lazaro veil, shoes, bracelet, earrings and hair accessories. The seamstress was also very gifted. They tailored my dress 3-4 sizes smaller and it fit me like a glove. I did have to travel from Madison, WI on Wednesday's to get the dress tailored since that was the only date available for the seamstress, but it was worth it. Overall, it was a phenomenal experience. I visited 15 salons in Chicago and Wisconsin and this was the best.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hilary
Wedding:
9/22/2007
4.5/5.0
A L'Amour was the only store near me or my family that sold the dress that I wanted. I did not browse for dresses there, I just went there to buy the dress that they carried. But, they were very kind and helpful during the dress buying process.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz-Ela
Wedding:
8/26/2012
4.4/5.0
My dress was stunning and perfect! It truly made me feel like the most beautiful woman in the world on my wedding day. They have a pretty solid selections of dresses- so you're most likely bound to find whatever you are looking A L'Amour is not the greatest experience I've had but not the worst either. They could upgrade their facility and their staff could be more organized and definitely more friendlier, but they did help me find the dress for me. They have a great selection of dresses and a great selection of bridesmaids dresses as well. I got my bridesmaids dresses from them and I really loved them. If you're practical, not looking for the fairy tale experience but looking for the best price for an amazing gown this IS the place.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lauren22285
Wedding:
3/17/2012
4.4/5.0
A L'amour always provided great customer service and we were able to get to know each other over time with ordering my wedding dress and bridesmaids dresses. The only thing I was a little disappointed with, where service is concerned, is that my initial consultant retired and I was never told who the new consultant would be or who I should call. I eventually called to find out who my main contact person should be. Unfortunately, my dress came in late, however, Susan was wonderful and found a few snags. Yikes! She called the company to have them make a new one and ship it out ASAP. It eventually came a few weeks later, as long as it arrived in great shape, the time really didn't matter in the end. I know this wasn't A L'amours fault and they did their best to get everything together for my big day. Kurin (sp?) was always a big help over the phone and in store and helped out with the bridesmaid dresses I wanted and the different sizes, styles and shipping arrangements needed. All the dresses came in very quickly and everyone was happy with their choice :) Thanks gals!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nmcjca
Wedding:
7/16/2011
4.4/5.0
I got my bridesmaids dresses from this store. The sales girl we worked with was young and just got married so she brought a lot of good ideas to the table and was enthusiastic. The selection was pretty big and they were knowledgable on all the ways we could make it more unique. My only problem is the store itself. It's a little cramped and a little outdated; made the experience kind of weird. But otherwise, good! =) Dresses came on time and were in good shape. No seamstress on site though.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
5/16/2010
4.4/5.0
I bought my beautiful Judd Waddell ball gown from A L'Amour. My dress was gorgeous, and it was my dream wedding gown. I couldn't have been happier with my choice.

A L'Amour was the second bridal shop I went to while shopping for my dress. I think the consultant has a lot to do with your experience, and Emmylou didn't dissapoint. I told her what my dream dress was, even though it was out of my budget, and she showed me something almost EXACTLY the same for a fraction of the price. I bought it the next day, and never questioned my decision.

I also purchased shoes for my bridesmaids here, and had no problems at all. The came in on time, and looked great.

My only negative thing to say about this shop is that my dress was purchased in a much larger size than I needed. It needed to be taken in 3 inches in the bust, waist and hips. I've been the same size for my entire adult life, so it's not because I lost weight.

Overall I give A L'Amour a grade of A-!! They have beautiful gowns...make sure to ask for Emmylou as your consultant!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.2/5.0
My dress was a perfect fit and looked amazing and unique from any other brides I have seen.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carla
Wedding:
8/15/1998
4.2/5.0
Is is worth the money. The consultants are very enthusiastic and proffesional. I loved visiting that store and have recommendet it to many of my friends. All have been very happy with the store in general.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarahus1982
Wedding:
1/15/2008
4.1/5.0
they were amazing
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sept06Chicago
Wedding:
9/9/2006
4.0/5.0
My consultant at A l'Amour was a lovely woman named Carmel; if not for her, I have no doubt I would have ended up in the "wrong" dress. She was wonderful! We had so much fun together, as I tried on dresses and she and I would look at each other and simultaneously say "nope, that's not it." And she was not pushy at all, which was my favorite part. I was about to buy my dress and hesitated - instead of buying it, I made another appointment so I could bring in two of my bridesmaids to help me with the final decision. Carmel understood completely! And their seamstress was also wonderful to work with - she is very talented.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/1/2007
3.9/5.0
If you want to go buy a designer wedding dress, this is a good place to go and try them out. They have, however, limited time to see you on the weekends because they are packed with appointments. I wanted to check out some wedding dresses and if I wanted to try them out on the weekend, I would have to wait 1 month before they could fit me in! The woman that worked with me simply could not find a dress in the back that was what I wanted to wear. I don't know if it was because I couldn't explain what kind of dress I wanted, or she just couldn't find anything back there, but it was very frustrating. And to top it off, I only could see dresses for an hour and she started late with me so it turned out to be 45 minutes. How are you supposed to find the dress you like when you can only go once a month and spend an hour (if you are lucky) with a consultant?
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
soontobemrsb
Wedding:
10/9/2010
3.8/5.0
Great Place! Matched my dress's price at another salon, since they are higher priced. Good service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dawnetta_dc
Wedding:
8/11/2007
3.6/5.0
Carmen was very helpful! I found a dress that was more reasonable than I had expected considering the price range the store emphasises. It was a very pleasurable experience & the staff helped so much that my mom & friends who had joined me just sat and watched me come out to the mirror. Just as every bride should- I loved my dress.
I also bought my jewelry, beautiful tacori bracelet, hairpice, earrings and broche at a buy one get one 1/2 price discount sale which worked out great!!! I made up for the savings in alterations, which were a little difficult to schedule and expensive.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandy
Wedding:
9/6/2008
3.6/5.0
The bridal salon manager is great to work with and she makes as many accomodations for you as possible. I would highly reccommend taking your gown elsewhere for fittings. The seamstress they have doing their alterations is very difficult to get along with and will not listen to what you have to say. She was extremely hard to work with, although her end result was good.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Jessica
Wedding:
4/24/2010
3.4/5.0
I did not get my dress here but I went dress shopping at this shop. Considering that this is a shop that has good reviews and carries a lot of high end dresses I did not find anything I like there. I think I was paired up with the wrong consultant as I explained to her what I was looking for brought pictures in but she kept bringing dresses that did not go with my taste or what I was looking for. I also went shopping here for BMs dresses and my consultant than was super nice and very helpful, I didnt find anything I liked there either for BMs dresses. I think it really depends on your wedding consultant but I am glad I bought my dress from Wedding Belles they had top customer service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1269267870645-ceremony11
Stephanie
Wedding:
9/25/2009
3.3/5.0
We purchased the bridesmaid dresses for our wedding at A L'Amour and got off to a rough start. The original sales clerk had been terminated and gave us misinformation. She had advised she had called in the order when she in fact had not called it in. When this was found out by the new sales clerk I was advised the store was going to charge each of my bridesmaids an extreme amount for fast shipping. Considering it was the stores fault, I did not find that to be okay. We had a hard time getting through to a manager, but when we did, she was so helpful. I can't thank her enough for the time she invested in fixing the problem and her communication w/myself and my matron of honor was reliable and prompt. I also was grateful for the heads up phone call received regarding a difficult bridesmaid and dress issues. I was scared off by the beginning of the experience but in the end I was grateful. I even thanked the manager with some Starbucks!

Also, best suggestion for alterations, Mary Burlingham in Glendale Heights. Very affordable, very sweet, and does an AMAZING job!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
3/15/2014
2.3/5.0
My experience at A L'Amour was like a roller coaster. I found the dress with the help of my bridal expert .... but never saw her again. And had to deal with the fact that she measured me incorrectly. Check those measurements ladies, I was in such a daze I didn't look it over, trusting the employee knew what she was doing. She didn't.

I liked the fact that the fittings were scheduled well in advance of my wedding date, but had to deal with a NIGHTMARE of a woman who did the alterations. However, this lady knocked the alterations out of the park, she knew what she was doing. She was just horribly unprofessional. Literally a terror.

Lastly when I picked my dress up an employee stated she would be sad to not see me anymore, but then brought out a flower girl dress that wasn't for my wedding at all (I was there to pick up the wedding dress for pete's sake).

But the alterations were spot on, it was steamed to perfection, the look was flawless really. So my experience could have been 10 times worse, I just wish the people working there hadn't been so unprofessional.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
9/22/2012
1.7/5.0
I knew the dress I wanted for my big day. I chose A L'Amour because they carried the specific designer and dress I wanted. On my first visit I was partnered up with a very sweet associate named Susan. I purchased my dress through her and all was seamless...until my next visit to look over my dress after it was received. I was told Susan was no longer there and was assigned a different associate for every one of my appointments there on out - no consistency. I didn't encounter one associate that seemed to care she was working with brides and the importance of details each bride had. I over-heard several brides express disgust and frustration during my appointments. It only got worse when my bridesmaids ordered their dress and I was the one following up with the store numerous times, going as far to speak with the owner, to find out when their dresses would be delivered. No one bothered to inform me or my bridal party that their dresses were being delivered from China which could cause a hold up in customs. So glad my interaction with this circus group is over. A L'Amour has some nice dresses but don't expect the basics in customer service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Kate
Wedding:
5/28/2011
1.4/5.0
" First I'll say that I tried to rectify this situation directly with A L'Amour management... but they have refused to do anything. My alterations were not completed correctly - and the absolute WORST thing you'd want to happen on your wedding day happened to me! When we put the dress on before the wedding, the hook, which the seamstre...ss at A L'Amour promised was moved to the correct location and secured correctly, flew off the dress and left the back of the dress open. Although I went through the preliminary check-in as well as three fittings, A L'Amour still couldn't get it right, and I was left with a dress that looked terrible in the back.

To make things worse - the seamstress I dealt with was completely unprofessional. At one of my fittings, she kept saying the "F" word over and over again, and told my mom and I how angry she was at other customers. At that same fitting, she cut her finger open, was sucking it during the fitting, and still got blood on the dress. When my mom pointed it out, she went and grabbed a rag with cold water and rubbed it out. This is something I'd expect at a cheap dress salon, but not at A L'Amour. My advice? There's tons of other salons in the Chicagoland area who would gladly accept your money and back it up with customer service to follow. Shop elsewhere!
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
236 West Northwest Hwy., Barrington, IL 60010 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for A L'Amour
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1367016922980-pronovias-benicarlo-editorial