Nophoto-130

A L'Amour Bridal Shop

Barrington , IL

LOCATION

Barrington, IL US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

3.9
out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.0/5.0
3.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
A L'amour was great! I wasn't sure what I wanted when I walked in and they made me try on EVERY style so I can narrow down what I liked and what looked best on me. It was great! And my dress was perfect!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
I said "yes, to the dress" within trying on 3 gowns at A L'Amour! I described what I was looking for and they nailed it not to mention they found the perfect gown and it was way under my budget! How perfect was that! And while the actual first purchasing of the dress was amazing, I found that they were truly stellar in all the follow up appointments. Many places from other brides I hear just kind of forget about you after they make the sale. Not A L'Amour. They made sure my dress was perfect even doing a last minute alteration 2 days before the wedding! Carmel was beyond amazing and really took care of me and not to mention my mom and bridesmaids that all got their dresses from here. The only that was hard was the location as I was in the city and the commute to get there was tough, but for anyone in the "burbs, this place is a must. You can't find a better bridal shop!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abbie
Wedding:
6/23/2012
4.9/5.0
I loved this place. I was married this past june, but actually found my dress here in January 2011. It was the 4th place I had been to and they were hands down the most professional and really knew what they were doing. I hadn't been to a place before that really knew what I wanted. I tried on two dresses before i found my dress. My consultant Carmel was fantastic. She immediately pulled out dresses that I was asking for, I had been to four places before for them to find the exact opposite of what I wanted. She was a pleasure to work with, she was so friendly and excellent at her job. The seamstress did an awesome job too! Loved this place! would recommend for any one looking for a wedding or bridesmaids gowns. They have such a large selection. If I had one complaint it would be the limited hours for alterations (Wednesdays) other than that they were fantastic!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
6/16/2012
3.7/5.0
I found the wedding dress of my dreams at A L'Amour. After shopping at several other bridal shops, no one seemed to be listening to my description of what I was looking for. The very first dress I tried on at A L'Amour was exactly what I had pictured. The woman I worked with, Susan, was particularly helpful and eventually we ended up getting our bridesmaid dresses from there as well.
We ordered our dresses way in advance, and when they came in they were the wrong color. A L'Amour worked with us to correct the problem, but we were told they could not "rush order" the dresses because it was their busiest time of the year. Eventually the dresses came in and were everything they were supossed to be.
Overall - beautiful/affordable dresses, excellent alterations, less than perfect ordering system
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J-Jankowiak
Wedding:
6/9/2012
0.0/5.0
I was not very pleased with the service we received from this boutique! I order my bridesmaid dresses from them and first off they were rude and unprofessional. I had the dress chosen for my girls and when I went in they handed me the gown and as the girls tried it on the consultant was chatting with her co-workers and plain out ignored us. Then, they told me the price of the dress and when I had each of my girls order them the price they were given was well over the price the consultant had originally gave me. I was not aware of this until all the dresses had been ordered. Before the girls ordered the dresses A L'Amour told us that they needed all the measurements before the end of January to make sure the dresses would be in on time. One by one my girls put in their measurements and one girl went in direct to them to get her measurements taken and ordered her dress. Later in May I get a call from A L'Amour stating that since we were "late" in getting the orders in, the dresses wouldn't be in until the first week of June (my wedding was June 9th). I asked when the last dress had been ordered and she blames my sister in law for not getting her measurements in until the first week of January (which from what we were originally told this would have been early). She then tells me there is nothing she can do and blames my girls not apologizing for any inconvenience or anything. 2 weeks later she calls me again to let me know the dresses have arrived. Huh??. Whatever, at least it all worked out. The dresses get shipped to where they need to be and the local girls go pick up their dress. Later, I get a frantic phone call from the girl who had gone to A L'Amour to get her measurements and her dress doesn't fit, Oh, it wasn't to big, no, that’s an easy fix. Her dress is too small and she can’t even zip it up. Of course I told her to go back to A L'Amour and have it altered since it was their mistake, they should have to fix it... They tell her they can't do anything and they only do alterations for brides not Bridesmaids. She went somewhere else and it all turned out ok, everyone looked beautiful for my wedding day. However, unless you want to deal with added stress and a place that has no idea what’s going on in the store or the warehouse I WOULD NOT recommend getting even shoes from this place!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1316626938245-married
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.1/5.0
I got my bridesmaid dresses and my shoes from A L'Amour Bridal Shop. They were very nice and professional and the dresses were great. One word of advice this is a boutique shop so when they say it's going to take 4 months it takes 4 months! My girls ordered there dresses for our September 10, 2011 wedding on April 10, 2011 and they arrived on August 10, 2011. Be conscious of their hours of operation as well, but this is true of a lot of wedding dress boutiques. A couple times my calls were not returned and I had to call back a few times before I got an answer. Overall though, they were good.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CMcDaniel
Wedding:
8/6/2011
0.9/5.0
Unfortunately I found "the dress" here. My sales lady, Marjory, obviously worked on commission and not satisfaction. I loved it, but before I bought it wanted to show my bridesmaids. She made it sound like if we walked out the door at close and came back the next morning when it opened the dress would disappear. She really wanted me to buy the sample dress, but I wanted it new because I wanted the designer to make some custom changes. I was so unhappy I ended up calling the designer of my dress overseas and someone there told me there was a trunk show in NY. L'Amour matched the price, but not until one of my bridesmaids heard them talking that I must be lying. Anyway... long story short, I was super sad with the service, but loved my dress. The one positive thing was they they gave me the name of a seamstress who was AMAZING! Sarah Ciliberto in Long Grove!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
matm
Wedding:
10/30/2010
4.9/5.0
MOTB persepctive: Rhonda, our consultant, first asked my daughter what she envisioned. Then she asked me for our budget - I gave her a range and she stayed in it - bringing us dress after dress that fit my daughter's needs while staying on budget. The wedding gown my daugher chose was spectacular! It truly was "the dress." I credit Rhonda for really listening to her and knowing the inventory. A L'Amour also gave us great advice for bridesmaids and MOTB/G dresses. Well done!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Manditchka24
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Emmy listened to everything I told her I wanted in a gown and the very first dress she put me in had it all and for almost half of our budget! Everyone there was very helpful throughout the entire process of ordering the gown, shopping for accessories, and alterations. Being an out of town bride, they were able to accommodate me with special alterations appointments and even did the alterations for a bridesmaids dress I purchased there for another wedding when they don’t usually do bridesmaids alterations. It was overall a fantastic experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1246379357468-adkellypic
kellylynn
Wedding:
6/26/2010
3.2/5.0
Overall I had a good experience with A L'amour. The sales staff are wonderful and very helpful! I bought my wedding gown, 7 bridesmaid dress, 1 mother's dress and all my jewelery from A L'amour. Had a great experience doing all of that.

The reason for the low score is because of the alterations. The women would not listen to what I wanted and made rude comments to me throughout the process. I had to call in the sales women (who is wonderful) before the alterations women would let me finish a sentence. After all of this, my dress did come out the way I wanted it, however, it was not fun getting there.

I would recommend purchasing something from this store. However, I would take my alterations to someone else.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
5/8/2010
4.8/5.0
This bridal shop was amazing! I absolutely loved my dress and it fit very well after the alterations. It is an expensive shop, but very well worth the price. I was extremely happy with the professionalism and service. They worked with my busy schedule to be able to make alteration appointments and pick up my dress at convenient times for me. I greatly appreciated that. There are only a few hours a week, on one day, to make alteration appointments. It is most of an afternoon and into the early evening. Overall, they were extremely helpful. I also bought my earrings from this store. I bought my shoes online at a lower price. I love this store!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jbll326
Wedding:
3/26/2010
4.4/5.0
I love love love A L’Amour in Barrington!! It was the first and only bridal shop I went to, because I bought the 4th dress I tried on! Rhonda, my consultant, was incredible. She asked me what I imagined for my dress and what I wanted – and she LISTENED. She brought me everything they had that I had asked for and none of them looked good on me. She asked if she could bring me some other dresses that didn’t fit my description perfectly, but that she thought might work for my body type while still incorporating the characteristics that were important to me. The first dress of that group was the one I fell in love with and had The Moment with and I didn’t put on a single dress after that. Through all the fittings and appointments, I felt so comfortable at the salon and got to know almost everyone there. They are all so friendly and accommodating. The only downside is that they only do alterations on Wednesdays. Not too inconvenient for me since I live in the NW burbs, but it would be a major PIA if I lived in the city.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
phylaz
Wedding:
8/18/2007
4.8/5.0
Carmel was wonderful to work with and was very accommodating to show me all the styles I was interested in. We didn't have to mess with parking and traffic of downtown Chicago. The seamtress was very nice and even met me in Chicago for a fitting at my maid of honor's home.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for A L'Amour Bridal Shop
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220