130x130_sq_1285439699689-livepreview.aspx

A Modern Day Affair

Massapequa , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Massapequa, NY US 11758 (map)

PHONE

516-308-2632

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

From weddings, corporate events, and showers to birthdays and more, A Modern Day Affair is a full service event planning company based out of Massapequa, NY. We specialize in all kinds... Read more
From weddings, corporate events, and showers to birthdays and more, A Modern Day Affair is a full service event planning company based out of Massapequa, NY. We specialize in all kinds of events both big and small. Whether it's a one of a kind birthday party, or the wedding of your dreams A Modern Day Affair will make sure you and your guests will have an unforgettable time.

We here at A Modern Day Affair believe your day should be just that – Your Day. More often than not, it seems the host or hostess of an event is the person who gets to enjoy it the least. You put all of your time and effort into planning and when the day comes, you’re so caught up in the details that you don’t even get to enjoy it like you could. A Modern Day Affair prevents exactly that. Our purpose is to ensure that every detail of your event is executed as planned, so you can enjoy it as much as your guests.

From the moment you join the A Modern Day Affair team, we treat your affair as if it were one of our own.

Whether you need someone to help you coordinate your affair from start to finish, or you just need that extra eye for the day of, A Modern Day Affair is here to help. We offer complete and partial planning services for all types of events, large and small.

We will work with you in the days leading up to your event to go over your vendor contracts and details as well as any special requests you may have. We coordinate with your vendors in advance to assure that the day runs smoothly.

On the day of your affair, did you forget something at home? No worries, we’ll run back and get it for you. Are your vendors running late? We’re on it. Did someone spill wine on your new dress? We’ll get it out. Our goal at A Modern Day Affair is to allow our customers to feel like a guest at their own event. We do the work so you don’t have to. Read less
Wedding Planning

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1258083534250-postcard
130x130_sq_1284909546962-img2984
130x130_sq_1284909282650-img2972
130x130_sq_1284909269415-img2967
130x130_sq_1284909235759-img2965
130x130_sq_1284909233228-img2963
130x130_sq_1284909192697-img2961
130x130_sq_1284909184806-img2962
130x130_sq_1284909150040-img2960
130x130_sq_1284909146072-img2959
130x130_sq_1284909101603-img2958
130x130_sq_1284909098697-img2957
130x130_sq_1284909056462-img2956
130x130_sq_1284909052290-img2955
130x130_sq_1284909329025-img2974
130x130_sq_1284909319118-img2973
130x130_sq_1284909375337-img2976
130x130_sq_1284909362978-img2975
130x130_sq_1284909422540-img2978
130x130_sq_1284909409775-img2977
130x130_sq_1284909475228-img2981
130x130_sq_1284909454915-img2979
130x130_sq_1284909523665-img2983
130x130_sq_1284909505868-img2982
130x130_sq_1284909565884-img2985
130x130_sq_1284909589103-img2986
130x130_sq_1284909606822-img2987
130x130_sq_1284909988478-img3006
130x130_sq_1284910022493-img3008
130x130_sq_1284909935040-img3005
130x130_sq_1284909986900-img3007
130x130_sq_1284910075400-img3012
130x130_sq_1284910099384-img3013
130x130_sq_1284910039228-img3009
130x130_sq_1284910056400-img3010
130x130_sq_1284909895197-img3003
130x130_sq_1284909931368-img3004
130x130_sq_1284910119759-img3014
130x130_sq_1284909631025-img2988
130x130_sq_1284910692915-img3119
130x130_sq_1284910765337-img3121
130x130_sq_1284910560493-img3112
130x130_sq_1284910541993-img3110
130x130_sq_1284910588509-img3113
130x130_sq_1284910583806-img3114
130x130_sq_1284910618853-img3116
130x130_sq_1284910609087-img3115
130x130_sq_1284910643259-img3118
130x130_sq_1284910639650-img3117
130x130_sq_1284910486290-img3109
130x130_sq_1284910479931-img3108
130x130_sq_1284910527947-img3111
130x130_sq_1284910720290-img3120
130x130_sq_1284910764525-img3122
130x130_sq_1284910820587-img3123
130x130_sq_1284910829072-img3124
130x130_sq_1284910886400-img3125
130x130_sq_1284910873400-img3126
130x130_sq_1284910941243-img3128
130x130_sq_1284910941259-img3127
130x130_sq_1284911006212-img3130
130x130_sq_1284911010993-img3129
130x130_sq_1284911037665-img3131
130x130_sq_1284911037775-img3132
130x130_sq_1284911056259-img3133
130x130_sq_1284911098040-img3134
130x130_sq_1284911124572-img3135
130x130_sq_1284911167650-img3136
130x130_sq_1284911198306-img3137
130x130_sq_1284911226697-img3138
130x130_sq_1284911257822-img3139
130x130_sq_1284911268431-img3140
130x130_sq_1284911309181-img3147
130x130_sq_1284911313150-img3146
130x130_sq_1284911380337-img3149
130x130_sq_1284911385962-img3148
130x130_sq_1284911422853-img3150
130x130_sq_1284911424087-img3151
130x130_sq_1284911462103-img3154
130x130_sq_1284911462572-img3153
130x130_sq_1284911474259-img3156
130x130_sq_1284911472775-img3155
130x130_sq_1284911505822-img3158
130x130_sq_1284911486072-img3157
130x130_sq_1284911545353-img3160
130x130_sq_1284911527415-img3159
130x130_sq_1284911588743-img3165
130x130_sq_1284911562353-img3164
130x130_sq_1284911605806-img3166
130x130_sq_1284911631697-img3167
130x130_sq_1284911642712-img3168
130x130_sq_1284911661947-img3169
130x130_sq_1284913394134-06292010073913pm
130x130_sq_1284913225353-134329sorrentino7337pj993
130x130_sq_1284913225165-134376sorrentino7337pj1040
130x130_sq_1284913228525-134401sorrentino7337pj1065
130x130_sq_1284913228493-134400sorrentino7337pj1064
130x130_sq_1284913230978-134404sorrentino7337pj1068
130x130_sq_1284913231712-134405sorrentino7337pj1069
130x130_sq_1284913232587-134411sorrentino7337pj1075
130x130_sq_1284913233384-134412sorrentino7337pj1076
130x130_sq_1284913234759-134416sorrentino7337pj1080
130x130_sq_1284913235228-134476sorrentino7337pj1140
130x130_sq_1284913235978-134568sorrentino7337pj1232
130x130_sq_1284913236697-134595sorrentino7337pj1259
130x130_sq_1284913237462-134626sorrentino7337pj1290
130x130_sq_1284913249040-06292010071948pm1
130x130_sq_1284913247931-06292010071948pm2
130x130_sq_1284913259759-06292010072036pm1
130x130_sq_1284913263775-06292010073432pm
130x130_sq_1284913272806-06292010073432pm1
130x130_sq_1284913276243-06292010073432pm2
130x130_sq_1284913287415-06292010073520pm1
130x130_sq_1284913282384-06292010073520pm
130x130_sq_1284913303384-06292010073603pm
130x130_sq_1284913294853-06292010073520pm2
130x130_sq_1284913305650-06292010073603pm1
130x130_sq_1284913315150-06292010073603pm2
130x130_sq_1284913327962-06292010073641pm1
130x130_sq_1284913318337-06292010073641pm
130x130_sq_1284913342759-06292010073720pm
130x130_sq_1284913328197-06292010073641pm2
130x130_sq_1284913341978-06292010073720pm1
130x130_sq_1284913357493-06292010073720pm2
130x130_sq_1284913357400-06292010073755pm
130x130_sq_1284913371259-06292010073755pm2
130x130_sq_1284913370509-06292010073755pm1
130x130_sq_1284913384509-06292010073835pm
130x130_sq_1284913383509-06292010073835pm1
130x130_sq_1284913393603-06292010073835pm2
130x130_sq_1284913408118-06292010073913pm2
130x130_sq_1284913407556-06292010073913pm1
130x130_sq_1284913421478-06292010073951pm1
130x130_sq_1284913422868-06292010073951pm
130x130_sq_1284913439697-06292010074031pm
130x130_sq_1284913436212-06292010073951pm2
130x130_sq_1284913452743-06292010074031pm2
130x130_sq_1284913451072-06292010074031pm1
130x130_sq_1284913464822-06292010074107pm1
130x130_sq_1284913460822-06292010074107pm
130x130_sq_1284913481806-06292010074151pm
130x130_sq_1284913474259-06292010074107pm2
130x130_sq_1284913489384-06292010074151pm1
130x130_sq_1284913494931-06292010074230pm
130x130_sq_1284913507493-06292010074230pm2
130x130_sq_1284913498806-06292010074230pm1
130x130_sq_1284913512275-06292010074310pm
130x130_sq_1284913520806-06292010074310pm1
130x130_sq_1284913526087-06292010074310pm2
130x130_sq_1284913534275-06292010074356pm
130x130_sq_1284913540290-06292010074356pm1
130x130_sq_1284913545056-06292010074356pm2
130x130_sq_1284913557493-06292010074441pm1
130x130_sq_1284913556603-06292010074441pm
130x130_sq_1284913569587-06292010074517pm1
130x130_sq_1284913570197-06292010074441pm2
130x130_sq_1284913587915-06292010074556pm
130x130_sq_1284913586618-06292010074517pm2
130x130_sq_1284913602415-06292010074556pm2
130x130_sq_1284913602415-06292010074556pm1
130x130_sq_1284913615587-06292010074646pm1
130x130_sq_1284913614165-06292010074646pm
130x130_sq_1284913625306-06292010074646pm2
130x130_sq_1284913629087-06292010074726pm1
130x130_sq_1284913643822-06292010074811pm
130x130_sq_1284913638650-06292010074726pm2
130x130_sq_1284913655853-06292010074811pm2
130x130_sq_1284913650618-06292010074811pm1
130x130_sq_1284913669009-06292010074851pm1
130x130_sq_1284913660228-06292010074851pm
130x130_sq_1284913681556-06292010074943pm
130x130_sq_1284913671462-06292010074851pm2
130x130_sq_1284913692197-06292010074943pm2
130x130_sq_1284913685025-06292010074943pm1
130x130_sq_1284913711150-06292010075023pm1
130x130_sq_1284913700275-06292010075023pm
130x130_sq_1284913703056-630201080743am
130x130_sq_1284913719978-08122010012401pm5
130x130_sq_1284913712228-08122010012401pm4
130x130_sq_1284913728853-08122010012401pm7
130x130_sq_1284913731322-08122010012603pm
130x130_sq_1284913740587-08122010012603pm2
130x130_sq_1284913738806-08122010012603pm1
130x130_sq_1284913751728-08122010012745pm1
130x130_sq_1284913748353-08122010012745pm
130x130_sq_1284913755134-133349sorrentino7337013
130x130_sq_1284913752228-133348sorrentino7337012
130x130_sq_1284913758806-133355sorrentino7337019
130x130_sq_1284913755478-133350sorrentino7337014
130x130_sq_1284913758806-133356sorrentino7337020
130x130_sq_1284913762197-133373sorrentino7337037
130x130_sq_1284913762728-133359sorrentino7337023
130x130_sq_1284914292072-377013
130x130_sq_1284914292087-377014
130x130_sq_1284914293337-377015
130x130_sq_1285432760515-img5051
130x130_sq_1285431956547-img5371
130x130_sq_1285431917730-img5015
130x130_sq_1285432019617-img5086
130x130_sq_1285431963173-img5083
130x130_sq_1285432070967-img5097
130x130_sq_1285432022414-img5095
130x130_sq_1285432041510-img5099
130x130_sq_1285432115097-img5101
130x130_sq_1285432137568-img5106
130x130_sq_1285432219218-img5150
130x130_sq_1285432191137-img5131
130x130_sq_1285432243659-img5202
130x130_sq_1285432268396-img5201
130x130_sq_1285432339795-img5207
130x130_sq_1285432314120-img5204
130x130_sq_1285432396770-img5214
130x130_sq_1285432417116-img5219
130x130_sq_1285432482296-img5224
130x130_sq_1285432457668-img5221
130x130_sq_1285432572134-img5232
130x130_sq_1285432532723-img5227
130x130_sq_1285432598715-img5233
130x130_sq_1285432637829-img5370
130x130_sq_1285432707150-img5030
130x130_sq_1285432671599-img5029
130x130_sq_1285432747107-img5044
130x130_sq_1285432807302-img5022
130x130_sq_1285432793613-img5049
130x130_sq_1285432890405-img5024
130x130_sq_1285432849947-img5023
130x130_sq_1285432912111-img5031
130x130_sq_1285432922815-img5025
130x130_sq_1285432977274-img5037
130x130_sq_1285433010778-img5038
130x130_sq_1285433034078-img5040

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What wedding planning services do you offer?
Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
5/18/2014
5.0/5.0
From the day I requested information from AMDA I worked with Shauna. Every time I emailed or contacted her she got back to me right away. I did the half-day package, which was a final meeting with her, one final vendor meeting, and 6 hours the day of the event. I had her come to my final with my maitre'd so that she knew all the details going into the reception. On the day of, she was worth every penny! We had a late start due to the wonderful traffic on the east end, which held up both the photographer and the officiant as well as guests. I was sitting in the car with my mom and her and my dad handled everything, I had no idea what was going on until after it happened. She then got me back to East Wind, helped me through pictures and half of cocktail hour. It was the perfect amount of time and she did a great job in keeping me relaxed with the ceremony running a little late!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacqueline
Wedding:
3/14/2014
5.0/5.0
How people get married without these girls is beyond me. I cannot say enough good things about Shauna and her assistant Hanna. I first met with AMDA in June. From then on, Laura answered all of my questions and emails promptly. She always had great advice and wisdom to give me. Shauna was selected to be our DOC for our wedding day. We met at Panera and went over every detail of the wedding. Not only is she thoughtful, but super supportive and very detail oriented. She thought of everything! I caught myself saying more than once “I didn’t even think of that!” She has such a warm and fun personality, too. Working with her all day was more like hanging out with a friend who happens to be awesome at handling weddings and prepping you for moments you don’t know are coming. For example, as they brought out the cake, Shauna rushed to me with my lipstick in hand and said, “Here, put this on, you’re about to take a lot of pictures”. This pretty much sums up how on the ball she is. Seriously, she had everything covered. She was so attentive to every personal matter. I truly don’t know how I could have gone through the day without her. As skeptical as my husband was at first, by the end of the day he was so happy we decided to go with AMDA. They were my saving grace this whole wedding. My husband and I got to enjoy the entire day from start to finish without a single worry and that is all thanks to Shauna and Hanna.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
AMDA was AMAZING! Laura was super helpful and accomodating prior to the wedding (she was ony of the few vendors that understood brides have full times jobs and can't drop what they're doing on a weekday morning) and was always very easy to meet with. On the day of, she and Rosalyn were my sanity......they got me dressed, made sure my place settings were perfect, fixed my disastrously decorated cake, got stains out of my dress, and most importantly, kept me calm. If you're planning a wedding on LI, hire them IMMEDIATELY!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karin
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Laura was the best money we spent! She and her assistant were so great. They were on top of everything and had us all in order and on time. She carries around a ton of necessities and was always at the ready to help. She saved me from a dress malfunction with my hoop shirt and many other things I couldn’t begin to remember. She also kept in contact with all my vendors and kept things moving along perfectly. She was never far from my side and was completely focused on the task at hand. They made sure all the ceremony items were picked up and brought to the RH, which was very helpful. I also paid her a bit extra to tie on all my chair bows, which was a huge task, but a beautiful result.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I seriously don't know how people have weddings without a DOC! Laura & Rosalin thought of a million little things that would never have occurred to me! They are on top of it, and they totally have your back! This is great because it allowed my mom & MOH to relax & enjoy the day, because my DOC's were taking care of everything. I HIGHLY recommend using AMDA. I want to use them for another event in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I simply CANNOT say enough great things about A Modern Day Affair. We used AMDA for our wedding planning and day of coordinators. Laura and Shauna were such a great help from the very beginning stages of wedding planning to our wedding day. AMDA helped narrow down our search for vendors, verified vendors, and answered any questions I had. On the day of our wedding, I didn't have to worry about a thing and neither did any of our family or friends, Laura and Shauna were there to make sure it was perfect. Our wedding could not have gone any smoother and I truly believe it was because of A Modern Day Affair. THANK YOU Ladies!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1372131877339-avatar
Kelly Anne
Wedding:
5/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Laura & Shauna from A Modern Day Affair were my just-in-case, my back bone, my safety net. I felt comfortable knowing I had them on my side should something unexpected happen on my wedding day (thankfully that did not happen!)... but it was great knowing they were there to help no matter what!
I can't thank them enough for all of their help!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.2/5.0
The planners were nice , very organized and there to help in the months leading up to the wedding. However, I am not sure it was worth the money. I did my own day of timeline, and had friends/family support before the wedding so i didn't rely on them much. And for the actual day of the wedding i would have been fine without them and only with the help my reception place offered. After reading so many positive reviews, I guess I had higher expectations. If I could go back and do it again, I would have saved the money for something else.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Hiring A Modern Day Affair to coordinate our wedding day was a great decision! Laura and Agnes, were beyond helpful. They alleviated all wedding day stress. Definitely do not hesitate to call these ladies :)
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1358383507171-fbavatar2481027
Anonymous
Wedding:
12/30/2012
5.0/5.0
AMDA was the best investment we made for our wedding day! I knew from the beginning that I needed someone to take all of my hard work and bring it to life on my wedding day (because I would be too busy to make sure every little detail was in its desired place!) The girls did an amazing job from setting up the room with all my specifics to bringing me my inhaler when I needed it to having bobbie pins and straight pins at all times! The best compliment came at the end of the night when my husband said "they were worth every penny!!!" My sister will use them again in 2 years - No question about it!! Thanks Laura & Shauna!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christine
Wedding:
12/28/2012
5.0/5.0
I knew from the moment that we got engaged that we had to have a day of corrdinator. I am a severe type A personality and I did not want to spend my wedding day micromanaging our vendors. So, I began doing my research and I kept coming across amazing reviews on A Modern Day Affair, within 20 minutes of our initial meeting I knew that this was the right fit. Over the next two years they were there to answer any question, help me figure out any issue and reassure me that it was all going to work out. Laura our corrdinator came to my final meeting with my florist, our rehearsal at church, our final drop off at our reception site and a final meeting where she took over everything. Laura had copies of all of the contracts, knew all of our bridal party members names, had a list of my special request and so on. She knew it all and took care of it all effortlessly. When my bustle fell apart Laura and her assistant (who's name escapes me at the moment, sorry!) quickly macgyvered a new french bustle which looked better than the original! Laura was a calming influence who I trusted to managed my perfect day. I am sure I could have muddled through without her assistance but I am so thankful that I had her. She helped make our perfect day come true and I cannot thank her and her team enough for that.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
I chose A Modern Day Affair to be my day of coordinators for my wedding on November 3, 2012 on the north fork of Long Island. I was a very hands on bride, planned our entire wedding, made our table numbers, favors, etc, so after months and months of hard work I knew when the big day came that I wanted to be able to enjoy every moment and not have to stress any unforseen challenges. Shauna and Amy gave me that freedom and piece of mind on my wedding day and I am just so appreciative that we had them!! They assisted with basically everything from arranging the days timeline and getting the boys their boutonnieres, to taping the straps of my dress on and giving me mouthwash at the reception! Amy even walked my grandmother down the aisle at the rehearsal because she had noone to walk with, I mean how sweet is that! They did a killer job working with our caterer setting up all the little details at the reception and when the band tried to end 10 minutes early they made sure they played exactly until 10 on the dot!! I am sure there are a million other little things that I could praise them for but i dont think there is enough room in this little box :)
Plain and simple-Hiring AMDA was one of the best decisions I made regarding the wedding, we are forever grateful for the hard work, enthusiasm and support they gave us on the most important and special day of our lives!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We went with A Modern Day Affair for our wedding and let me tell you, hands down the best decision we made. Laura and Shauna were so helpful and on top of everything throughout our entire day! I honestly do not know what would have been if they were not there! So blessed to have had them there with us! We also had a photobooth through them and that was a complete hit! You will not go wrong booking them for any event especially a wedding! If you think you don't need it, trust me they give you piece of mind the week ad day of your wedding! Thank you ladies so much!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Having AMDA with me on my wedding day was hands down the best decision I ever could have made. Laura and Rosalyn were with me for my entire day and I could not have been more grateful for the two of them. They were by my side whenever I needed anything, helped calm situations down when it was required, and ensured that my day went off without a hitch. There is no doubt in my mind that they went above and beyond for me and I will be forever grateful to them for helping my day become so magical. I had a few surprises for my husband and Laura helped make sure they stayed that way. She was always responsive and helpful with any questions I had. They confirmed all my vendors, helped get my girls as well as myself dressed and ensured our pictures were a success, just to name a few things. I hands down recommend them to anyone considering a coordinator. The week before my wedding I was nervous and expressed my concerns about several things to Laura but she ensured me that her and Rosalyn would be there for me on my special day to make sure it was perfect and she was true to her word. Thank you both so much!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
the team was amazing - everytome I turned around they were right behind me to address anything I needed. I am so glad we made room in our budget for a day of coordinator! Thank you Laura and Rosalyn!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review Dana! We're so happy we were able to make your day as memorable as possible!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about A Modern Day Affair! I had Laura and Shauna and they were absolutely great to work with for my day of coordination. I felt like I didn't have to worry about a thing - and if I did manage to worry about something, I would just mention it to them and they would tell me that they already took care of it. They were just always 10 steps ahead of me and it made the day so much easier - not sure what I would have done without them! The whole week leading up to the event was extremely hectic for me, and it was such a relief to have them calling all of the vendors to make sure all of the details were confirmed. They were also willing to do whatever it took to make sure I was calm - the night before the wedding Shauna showed up for the rehearsal at the rehearsal dinner venue and we were running really late to set everything up for the dinner. She was only there to help us rehearse for a few minutes (and then had somewhere else to be), but when she saw how late we were running, she jumped right in to help us set up before we rehearsed. As soon that happened, I knew I was in good hands. You really can't go wrong with AMDA! Highly recommended!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review Laura! We're so happy we were able to make your day as memorable as possible!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
A Modern Day Affair did a wonderful job. They made sure we were taken care of all day. They made sure the whole bridal party ran on time. They made sure the church was ready and the cocktail and reception room were perfect. The only disappointment was the coordinator for our event only made it to 1 out of 3 final vendor meetings (as contracted). This may have helped when we had a few minor problems that arose at the hall the day of our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review! We're so happy we were able to make your day as memorable as possible!
130x130_sq_1320164667441-memento267
Liz
Wedding:
7/27/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about the AMDA team!! Shauna and Michelle were my saviors on my wedding day! Up to the wedding, Shauna was my own personal therapist and guide when things would get stressful. She confirmed all the final details with all of the vendors the week of as well, so that was a list of last minute things I didn't have to worry about. They were my biggest advocates for the things that we wanted and how we wanted everything to go. If there were problems, they only let me know about the ones that needed my attention. They thought of so many things throughout the day that I would've never thought of. They kept me on time with the schedule as well. I had forgotten to put on my throw away garter and they both ran up to the bridal suite with me ripped open the bag and threw it on my leg so fast, I didn't even know it happened!! Also, simple things like making sure I always had a drink or Michelle re-aaplying my lip gloss for me throughout the day did not go un-noticed. These ladies were worth every penny and then some! Hands down one of my favorite vendors for our wedding!! Thank you so much to Shauna and Michelle and the AMDA team!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review Liz! We're so happy we were able to make your day as memorable as possible!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
7/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Michelle and Laura were absolutely amazing! My new husband didn't even think we needed a DOC and I just thought that for peace of mind it could be helpful. My reception hall had a maitre'd as well as a bridal attendant, but that definitely wasn't enough! Michelle and Laura helped with every little detail, from holding a light for my photographer during certain shots, telling me the right words at the exact right moment to going to the reception hall for answers when they wouldn't call me back, and then helping me change my dress (3 times). A friend even spilled a drink on my dress and they very quickly jumped on it to make sure there were no stains. Both my new husband and I completely believe without a doubt that we would not have had the amazing day we had without these ladies and there are not enough words to say to truly put into words how much they did for us. Our bridal party just did what they could, but when I needed answers, they would ask question after question. The girls at AMDA just got a quick list, and I mean QUICK when they walked in the door and jumped right on it. There were no questions asked.. just a here's the list I really need these things taken care of and an "okay, we've got it." Michelle even asked me "do you have your something blue, borrowed, old new?" So, I went over the list in my head and realized my something old was missing! I asked all the girls in my bridal party, my mom, my dad, and everyone there if they had something and as I looked at them with their blank faces... Michelle just hands me her ring and offers me to wear it. I am very honest in saying that my husband was skeptical about a DOC and I just thought they could be of some help here or there, but no.. that is not the case. They are the complete opposite! My husband now goes to his friends that are grooms-to-be and emphasizes that they NEED to call AMDA.. and to be honest, it's really cute how he says it. I just laugh every time because I can totally remember him when he was like "you already signed a contract... okayyy...?"

I absolutely, without a doubt in my mind, recommend AMDA to every bride who is looking to have their day run smoothly and have the ability to relax for 15 minutes (Yes, they kicked every vendor and every person out of our bridal suite for a full 15 minutes!) ... and we love and cherish every second of that day because they were the ONLY reason we were able to enjoy it. We both are just so grateful to these ladies, so thank you! (times a million)
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review Kristen! We're so happy we were able to make your day as memorable as possible!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
6/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Having Shauna from AMDA with me on my wedding day gave me great peace of mind and allowed me to relax during such an important event. Inevitably, several things went wrong during the day - some small and some major. Shauna made sure that all issues were resolved quickly and painlessly. She was professional, knowledgeable, calm, and efficient. I'm so glad that I decided to enlist her services as it allowed me to have the perfect, stress-free wedding of my dreams.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review Kimberly! We're so happy we were able to make your day as memorable as possible!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bellelise325
Wedding:
6/5/2012
3.8/5.0
They did a great job the "day of," however, they were unable to attend my vendor appointments due to the fact that they have full-time jobs elsewhere and my appointments were scheduled from 9am-5pm Monday to Friday. Also, Laura should be more mindful of the fact that all weddings are different and just because last week's bride did things one way, that doesn't mean that next week's bride will be doing the same thing. Shauna is top-notch. I overheard Laura gossiping - not cool.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Geri
Wedding:
6/3/2012
5.0/5.0
The girls were wonderful in helping me realize my dream wedding. I would definitely recommend them to someone else to use.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review Geri! We're so happy we were able to make your day as memorable as possible!
Bg15
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
I am a pretty hands on bride and only needed help on the day-of my wedding. I found Modern Day Affair online and after reading the reviews decided to meet with them. Laura from the beginning was very professional and organized. Her pricing was great and she was worth every penny. Although my venue had a bridal attendant, Laura was a god send on the day of my wedding. She made sure everything ran smoothly and I was not stressed out at all. I cannot say enough great things about Laura and her team and I would recommend her to any future brides.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nadyd
Wedding:
4/7/2012
4.7/5.0
A Modern Dy Affair was a true lifesaver! They went above and beyond in order to make my day wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1298001293078-08200
Kristyn
Wedding:
3/23/2012
5.0/5.0
AMDA was fantastic. I didn't have to worry about a thing all day. I was feeling a little overwhelmed but when they got there my day really turned around. The rest was smooth sailing and my wedding day was fantastic. My husband thought we were throwing money away but he is so happy we hired them now. They were fabulous!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gina
Wedding:
10/30/2011
5.0/5.0
AMDA was amazing! they were there for me the whole night. super organized, and attentive to details! they were just wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
10/16/2011
4.4/5.0
I had the pleasure of working with Laura and Shauna for my October 16th wedding. I knew from the beginning of my planning that I would need Day of Coordinators (certain members do understand the concept of personal boundaries or the idea that a wedding is ACTUALLY about the bride and groom). As I shorter on time and patience, and stress levels rose- Laura was there to guide me through it all (if not physically, electronically). My Big Day finally arrived, and everything was practically perfect. My mother-in-law kept asking why I wasn't freaking out and running around- and I would just point to Laura and Shauna (and smile). My husband was not on-board with me hiring them in the beginning, but by our wedding weekend- he is still singing their praises to anyone that will hear him. My awesome wedding became a wedding I could enjoy, since I did not have to worry about ANYTHING! WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shoegal1575
Wedding:
10/9/2011
5.0/5.0
AMDA was amazing. I was completely stress free on my wedding day. Without their help I would have been a basket case.

They coordinated and executed every detail to my exact specifications.... I did what every bride should do on their day- I enjoyed myself.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Veronica
Wedding:
9/25/2011
5.0/5.0
AMDA are AMAZING!
They did such a great job! I had Laura & Michelle the day of my wedding and I dont have any complains at all.
They were next to me the whole time, they kept me on track, they solved any problems if anything came up, they helped me with everything!

I couldn't have asked for a better Day of Coordinator than them!
I would SO definitely recommend them to Any future Brides!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot thank Laura and Michelle enough. We used them for the Day of Service and it was the best decision of my life They were amazing to work with from day one. I met with Michelle twice before our wedding and she was so nice and down to earth..both her and Laura made our wedding day perfect. I would recommend them to any bride/groom who wants to enjoy their night and wants their best man/groomsmen, maid of honor/bridesmaids to enjoy the night too!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lana61682
Wedding:
7/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Cannot say anything but great and amazing things about this group. They were organized, timely and kept everything running smothly. They made sure I was relaxed and even fought with my vendors who didnt want to listen to the "bride" LOL.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1289453439594-aruba2009070
A
Wedding:
7/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I simply can not say enough good things about Laura (whom I mainly worked with) and Shauna (met the day of) Laura was prompt and thorough in answering any of my questions throughout the process and she was organized. The day of I felt no stress and I feel it definitely was a result of the ladies. (My venue actually provided a bridal attendant, but thank god they were there, b/c she was making me crazy!) They did everything they promised and more, including bra checks, lip stick reapply and awkward father girlfriend dealings. They made sure everything went smoothly. The thing I think that really made us comfortable is that they were one of the first and only people who didn't judge us (whether verbally or by that "look") we weren't nontraditional per-say, but we definitely rocked some etiquette rules and did some things that not "everybody else" did they never made us feel awkward or out of place. They were the best!!

BTW totally affordable! Check them out!! Oh and we did the photo booth package!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chantelle
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
We originally had a family friend scheduled to be our DOC, but she had to cancel at the last minute due to work. I called around and the girls from AMDA got back to me right away! I worked with Laura, whose husband I happened to go to high school with, and Adriana. I have to say, they were LIFESAVERS on my big day. I messed up my dress two different times and they managed to save it. They also managed to keep our day running smoothly in spite of a few other mishaps. They kept our unruly bridal party organized and made sure our party went off without a hitch. Laura and her magic emergency suitcase were always right there when I needed them and she definitely helped calm down my groomzilla a few times too. Overall our day was perfect thanks to Laura and Adriana's help and I would definitely recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

Thank you Chantelle! We wish you and your new husband nothing but the best!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mts7911
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
All I can say was have AMDA as my day of coordinators was the best decision my husband and I made. There were a few glitches on my wedding day and Shauna and Michelle had things taken care of before I even had time to worry about it. They made sure that the vendors did what was in there contracts and because we brought everything in even the linens they made sure everything was set up the way that we wanted it. They were never intrusive but I loved the fact they were always there to make sure that my cup was full, my dress was perfect and my veil stayed on. I could go on all day about how amazing they are. They had a package with a photobooth which was very afforable. I love looking at the pics from it in the scrapbook that we ordered with the photobooth
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
I used A Modern Day Affair to help me plan my wedding which was most definately not a traditional one. We rented a house on the beach and absolutely needed the help of this company. I met with Shauna and knew right away she would be the woman for the job. She went above and beyond and was always very sweet. All I had to do was mention an concern and she was all over it. The day of my wedding I met Laura and she was fabulous. The two of them set up my center pieces, set up my ceremony site, directed the caterer and the D.J. all according to what I wanted. They made sure my wants and needs were the main priority and they executed them. I can't thank them enough for all of their help! I definately recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the kind words Jamie!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anney
Wedding:
6/5/2011
4.5/5.0
I worked with Shauna & Michelle and I really feel that the day of would've been a insane ball of stress and confusion if they weren't there. I was a pretty self sufficient planner and rarely asked for help leading up to the day but I am SO glad these two ladies were with me the day of. They helped corral people where they needed to be, french bustled my dress BEAUTIFULLY (took the pressure off my maid of honor to learn how), and took care of every little thing that popped up. Highly recommend <3
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your kind words Anney! May you and Marco have a happy and healthy life together.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
WeezyGirl2354
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
I was on the fence about a DOC for a while but as the wedding got closer and my ideas got bigger I thought it would be nice to have an extra set of hands. I didn't want my family and friends to have any responsibility other then to have fun and share in our day! The coordinators with A Modern Day Affair were helpful, informative, professional, friendly, caring, dedicated and consistent. From our first meeting to the time I hugged them goodbye I had no worries thanks to them! I know that my husband and I were able to enjoy our day to the fullest because we had them by our side (though, they were out of sight and around only when we needed them). By far the best wedding vendor I booked for our May 28, 2011 wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your very kind words! Wishing you all the best.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nglinski
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Laura and Shauna were such a pleasure to work with and made the day of the wedding a breeze! They are both very detail oriented and extremely helpful in the planning process. They think of things you may have forgotten and offer their suggestions. You definitely need help the day of your wedding and they helped elmininate all of the stress. They are extremely professional and all of our vendors said they were easy to work with. I highly recommend using their services for your wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

It was a pleasure working with you and your family Nicole!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diane
Wedding:
4/15/2011
5.0/5.0
A Modern Day Affair was AMAZING!! My Husband and I were a little unsure about getting a Day of Coordinator but A Modern Day Affair was soo worth it. Laura was the go to person not me and this totally made my wedding day. I was able to enjoy myself and take in everything which most brides can not say that they are able to do. From the moment we booked with them they answered my e-mails and helped me along the way. Any question large or small was answered. I would reccommend A Modern Day Affair to everyone!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A Modern Day Affair responded with the following comments:

Thank you Diane!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bridetobe2011
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Michelle and Laura were amazing. At first I didn't think I NEEDED a doc but for the price I figured why not? Boy am I glad that we booked them! We were able to enjoy our wedding and not worry about a thing. Best money we spent :)
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jaf380
Wedding:
2/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Thank you Lauren and Shauna for relieving me of worry on my day :)
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BeccaH
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
For a new business, these women really know what they’re doing! They were fantastic; I cannot stress that enough! When I first booked them for my Day of Coordinators, both my Mom and now-Husband said, “Why? We can handle everything ourselves.” I said, “Just you wait and see.” The morning of the wedding, Laura and Michelle were barely with me for an hour when my Mom came up to me and said, “You know, hiring these women was a great idea. I had no idea they’d be so helpful!” My husband said the same.

I wasn’t able to bring everything to the hall earlier that week, so Laura grabbed everything and brought it over to my reception hall. She also picked up an extra bottle of champagne that I wanted for my BMs and me that morning. Michelle stayed behind at the hotel with me and checked me into my honeymoon suite for that night and transferred all of my stuff over to that room while I was getting ready. They both kept to their time line as much as possible and when I asked them to rush the receiving line, they did exactly that! I couldn't believe how fast they got the line to go!

Michelle and Laura did so many other things that made them absolutely invaluable to me. I honestly couldn’t imagine my day without them. They allowed me to enjoy my wedding! I've heard about DOCs going to the bride with every problem or mishap and I thought to myself, “Why would they do that? Shouldn’t they take care of those things themselves and leave the bride alone?” Turns out, I was right! Laura and Michelle didn’t tell me about ANY of the problems that happened at my wedding, they simply took care of them and only asked me what was completely necessary for me to know/answer like who was tipping certain vendors and when I wanted to change out of my ceremony shoes. They knew what to keep me informed of and what shouldn’t concern me.

They really did an excellent job. They should have charged me 100x what their cost was!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NYYankeeGirl72
Wedding:
6/6/2010
5.0/5.0
I was a bride on a very tight budget and thought I could not afford hiring a Day of Coordinator. A Modern Day Affair was offering a wonderful special for Day of Services that I had to jump at the chance of having someone assist me with my wedding day. I have to say that the services provided was more than I had ever asked for. From the first communications and meetings held in the months prior to my wedding to the day of, they were were nothing but professional and extremely pleasant to work with.

Shauna and Amy were my DOC's for the day and they went above and beyond to make sure that I had everything I needed. Both my husband and I and both our families have nothing but great things to say about their services. Modern Day Affair made my wedding day one of the best experiences of my life. Thank you ladies!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
A true asset to have on your special day!!!!!!!!!!!!! These ladies went above and beyond and exceeded any expectations one could have for Coordinators. One of the best choices I made in planning my wedding!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1236805246168-278_7831
Rosalind_75
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
These ladies went OVER AND BEYOND for my wedding day!!!! They checked my facebook status found out I had a tummy ache and called to see if I needed them to bring meds over!! I swear they ran out 2-3 times to get me stuff that I needed. THE LEVEL OF SERVICE WAS AMAZING!!!! THANK YOU LAURA, SHAUNA AND MICHELLE !!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning

MAP

 
Massapequa, NY 11758 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for A Modern Day Affair
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1285439699689-livepreview.aspx