130x130_sq_1330263285702-3tierswhitewithblackribbonredroses

A Place for Cake

Oak Ridge , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Oak Ridge, NC US 27310 (map)

PHONE

336-209-7050

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A Place for Cake brings Style Taste and Service to you! If you are looking for a fabulous and elegant wedding cake or a fun and funky grooms cake, we deliver (literally!). We know eating... Read more
A Place for Cake brings Style Taste and Service to you! If you are looking for a fabulous and elegant wedding cake or a fun and funky grooms cake, we deliver (literally!). We know eating cake is fun!

Please call us at 336-209-7050 or email us at emily@aplaceforcake.com looking forward to meeting you! Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1341605359204-marina
130x130_sq_1341605118932-bridalparty
130x130_sq_1341605161942-broachwedding
130x130_sq_1341605241147-hayloft1
130x130_sq_1341605746036-treestump1
130x130_sq_1341605855944-troxler1
130x130_sq_1341605920179-troxler3
130x130_sq_1341605203791-broach2
130x130_sq_1341605282836-hayloft2
130x130_sq_1341605324786-hayloft3
130x130_sq_1341605394723-marina2
130x130_sq_1341605431371-marina3
130x130_sq_1341605463786-orchid1
130x130_sq_1341605492834-orchid2
130x130_sq_1341605546691-pumpkin1
130x130_sq_1341605616823-pumpkin2
130x130_sq_1341605887338-troxler2
130x130_sq_1341605671210-pumpkin3
130x130_sq_1341605705291-purple
130x130_sq_1341605783805-treestump2
130x130_sq_1341605824916-treestump3

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Not required by state
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
Check for our scheduled tastings at the Wedding Galleria, or schedule a custom tasting at your convenience.
What are your tasting hours?
Varies, please call to schedule.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Yes.
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
We do primarily custom work and can provide our design or work with yours. Let us design your custom cake.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
in season, local grown fruits when available.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
All cakes are freshly baked as close to the event as possible. Cakes are NEVER frozen.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Yes.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Free delivery within 15 miles of zip code 27310. $2 per mile charge if past this distance, $20 minimum charge.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
A Place for Cake is AMAZING!!! Emily is very sweet and easy to work with and great at responding to emails/questions. My fiance and I had a bunch of different ideas of what we'd like our cake to look like and she did an awesome job of combining them and creating a beautiful design. Our cake was gorgeous and just what we'd hoped for! And not only was the cake beautiful, but it was DELICIOUS! I had at least 30 guests make a point to tell me how yummy the cake was. We had lemon with lemon candy filing, strawberry with fresh strawberry cream filling, and chocolate with chocolate mousse filling and all of them were fantastic! My only regret is that I only had the lemon and chocolate. :) In addition to being beautiful and delicious, the cake was also an amazing value. So many wedding cakes out there are overpriced in my opinion, but with A Place for Cake you get a great "bang for your buck."
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Our cake was absolutly delicious! It was beautiful and moist. Everyone raved about our cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1405476176395-avatar
Jenifer
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Emily did an amazing job on my dessert table and wedding cake. We have since used her for 2 more additional cakes and I have 3 more cakes ordered with her. Her cakes taste amazing and her artistic talent is out of this world.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
2/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Emily from A Place for Cake was very professional & reasonably priced. She made a lemon & red velvet cake for my wedding which was absolutely delicious! She makes her own custard as well. I cannot wait until my anniversary so that I can purchase another cake from her.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
WOW is all I can say!! Emily and her desserts are unbelievable!! I had interviewed and been to several different cake designers and then I found Emily by chance. I set up a appointment for a tasting and she had asked me what flavors I liked prior to the tasting. When I got to the place where her business is she had a beautiful table set up and had made several mini cakes for us to try. the cake literally melted in our mouths.
I had asked Emily for suggestions since it was a Summer/Evening wedding I wanted something light but fun and memorable. Emily gave us her suggestions and right there sketch a mock 3 tiered square cake. The drawing was exactly what I was looking for. Emily also suggested to have some additional desserts incase guests did not like cake or we did not have enough cake because I was going with a smaller cake.
Emily suggested we have mini cupcakes and each dozen would have a different filling just like our cake. We also had cookies and crèam puffs that were out of this world. I will say I am not a dessert person nor a cake person but I actually ate the wedding cake at our wedding and had a cookie & cream puff the next day and it was just like nothing I had ever tasted before. Emily even came early and completely decorated the dessert table with fresh flowers and all of her display platters were positioned perfectly to showcase the cake and yet still showcase the other desserts. More than half of our guests have asked us for her information so that they can start using her for the parties etc. Hands down the best cake I have ever had and it was a pleasure working with Emily!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
The cake and cupcakes were delicious! It did not taste dry or like it had been sitting in the fridge for long. We had many people comment on how good both were!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The cake was beautiful!! When I walked in to the reception it was the first thing I noticed and it was goregous! On top of being pretty, it was delicious!! Everyone loved it!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
North Carolina MOB
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
The staff and service at Oak Ridge Cakes were the best; they responded quickly to questions and changes, and made the experience so very easy! We asked for a very complicated cupcake that looked like a real blue hydrangea bloom for the outdoor wedding; the results were so spectacular that butterflies actually landed on them as if they were real flowers. Needless to say, the crowd was wild about them; the cupcakes were not only beautiful, they were fresh and delicious as well!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
the cup cakes were soooo beautiful! they matched the wedding so perfectly and they TASTED WONDERFUL!!! Oak Ridge Cakes did an OUTSTANDING job on the cup cakes their delivery and set up! i highly recommend them to anyone!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bliszak
Wedding:
8/7/2010
4.7/5.0
She makes beautiful cakes, however, my grooms cake was not what I requested and once I saw the cake it was too late to change it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.4/5.0
I remember hearing that everyone loved the taste of the cake...it was just too sweet for me as I requested it less sweet. I was told it was pretty too...like most brides i missed a lot of detail but no complaints. I like that next year we get a fresh cake and this time I know it will be less sweet ...perfect....(smile). anniversary cake still too sweet to enjoy it. also customer service was not at its best. I felt as though because she had her payday she felt that she could speak to me any kind of way. I will not refer anyone to her in the future. this time around quality of service 1, responsiveness 1 (late responding to communications), professionalism 1, value 3, and flexibility 1 (because she told me she was doing me a favor by delivering it to me and not charging me when I asked for delivery she just said sure no problem at first. -just rude.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
Oak Ridge, NC 27310 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for A Place for Cake
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1330263285702-3tierswhitewithblackribbonredroses