130x130_sq_1315947766517-dsc8031edit1favorite

A.R.Affairs

San Diego , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

10515 caminito sulmona
San Diego, CA US 92129 (map)

PHONE

619-481-2070

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A.R. Affairs started in 2000 in Portland, Oregon and moved to San Diego, California in 2005. Our staff have served in the United States Military. This unique experience makes us the only... Read more
A.R. Affairs started in 2000 in Portland, Oregon and moved to San Diego, California in 2005. Our staff have served in the United States Military. This unique experience makes us the only area specialists in military weddings.

Our meticulous attention to detail makes our services especially unique. From the beginning of the design stage, to the last guest who leaves your event, no detail is forgotten. It is also our goal to give you the most value for the least cost possible.

We truly care about all our clients and go the extra mile for every event. It is what we love to do! Our experience planning many events over the last eight years has given us the knowledge to offer you the best. We understand every event is unique and full of personal style. Our promise is to add the "wow" factor, complete with personalized touches, to every event. Read less
Wedding Planning

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1291283511399-beachwedding01
130x130_sq_1291283520461-beachwedding02
130x130_sq_1291283530711-beachwedding08
130x130_sq_1291283541211-beachwedding10
130x130_sq_1291283551430-beachwedding12
130x130_sq_1291283558414-beachwedding15
130x130_sq_1291283571164-beachwedding17
130x130_sq_1291283582711-beachwedding20
130x130_sq_1286865254930-bridalbizzarepinktable2s
130x130_sq_1286865284149-bridalbizzarepinktables
130x130_sq_1286865307477-bridalbizzaretabledesignyellowblack2
130x130_sq_1286865328664-bridalbizzaretabledesignyellowblack6
130x130_sq_1286865357430-bridalbizzaretabledesignyellowblack3
130x130_sq_1291282395289-0430bll
130x130_sq_1291282405618-0046bll
130x130_sq_1291282414774-0269bll
130x130_sq_1291282426368-0510bll
130x130_sq_1291282434821-0816bll
130x130_sq_1291282448289-0402bll
130x130_sq_1291282463586-0769bll
130x130_sq_1291282475774-0753bll
130x130_sq_1291282487914-0994bll
130x130_sq_1291282502305-1148bll
130x130_sq_1291282510696-1141bll
130x130_sq_1291282522993-1155bll

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly / Green, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kclough
Wedding:
10/22/2011
4.8/5.0
When I decided on a destination wedding in San Diego, I knew I would need a coordinator that could not only provide recommendations for the best venues and vendors in the area, but could also make sure that every detail of my special day was taken care of. Alexandra not only met those requirements, but went above and beyond in so many ways.

From my very first conversation with Alexandra, she expressed genuine excitement for the vision I had and immediately began offering suggestions for various venues and décor. I loved all of her ideas, and incorporated many of them into my wedding. Her fees were also very reasonable, which made it a little easier to stick to that darn budget!

I visited San Diego several times before the wedding and Alexandra made sure we made the most of every visit. And with all of the connections she has in the industry, she not only found the best venues and vendors to meet my needs, but also saved me money! She also has a ton of DIY ideas to share, which helped save money, too!

On my wedding day, Alexandra arrived at the ceremony/reception site in the VERY early morning hours to make sure every little detail was in place...and that included setting up ALL of the reception décor! I can’t thank her enough for how everything turned out. It was absolutely perfect from beginning to end.

If you’d like to see pictures from the wedding, please visit the link below:
http://www.stylemepretty.com/2012/01/13/rancho-santa-fe-wedding-by-bryan-n-miller-photography/

Alexandra is a true professional and I would recommend her to anyone!!

Happy wedding planning!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alison
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.8/5.0
Alexandra was great! We used her for he day of our wedding even though she really helped out way more than just the "day of".She had great ideas and has been in the business for a while so was a great help planning since I knew nothing of the southern Cali. wedding vendors. ( We are from the east coast). She really made our day run flawless and even decorated out room at the end of the night. I would highly reccommend her to anyone wanting a flawless wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
We used A. R. Affairs for a Day of service for our wedding planning. Alexandra could not have been more on top of every detail in the days leading up to the wedding. We met with her and her assistant Emily Ann 2-3 times before the day. They both made sure that all our T's were crossed and all of our I's were dotted. Emily Ann was the main contact for us and our event. She was excellent. We could call her at any time to ask her questions or make sure she was up to date with any changes we may have made. Emily Ann went with us on our walk through about two weeks prior to the wedding, came to our house to pick up decorations, and even came to the rehearsal the day before. The day of the wedding I had not a fear. She made sure that everything was done and I had not a worry. She coordinated everything from the time the girls walked down the isle to when certain songs were played. I would definitely recommend A. R. Affairs to anyone planning an event. Alexandra and her team are more than on top on it! They made my wedding day flawless!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1284198519228-img0473
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Very professional, very personal!
It was wonderful working with Alex. I met her at a Bridal Bazaar in San Diego, she was full of so much energy and cheerfulness! I was a bride with a budget and ended up planning a destination wedding! Initially was hesitant of paying someone to coordinate and organize a wedding – I thought, "how hard can it be?" But out of curiosity I set up an appointment with her and before we were even halfway through I realized how much goes into planning and organizing. I didn't want to worry about anything, or have my fiancé, parents, or wedding party to be running around on the big day. Leading up to the wedding, Alex was always accommodating, and able to meet on any schedule and almost any location. I was amazed at how much time she would spend with with me going over everything, even if it had already been discussed before. Even when I thought I had thought of everything, she reminded me of what we had left to cover, and gave me some wonderful ideas that were budget friendly! We had set up time-lines, made decoration mock-ups, went over vendor requests, kept in contact with all the vendors, and so much more! When the big day came, I can't begin to describe how wonderful it was to be able to relax and know everything was going to go smooth. I highly recommend working with Alex she helped make mine and my now husband's day so memorable, and her energy, organization, and attention to detail was amazing! Thanks for everything Alex, we couldn't have done it without you!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HeatherB
Wedding:
5/14/2011
3.0/5.0
I will start with the good then tell you the bad.

My wedding day went off without a hitch and I attribute that to the “day of coordination services” from A.R. Affairs. There was so much to do on my wedding day to make it as beautiful as it was. I could not have done it without a coordinator that day.

But, did I need/get all the extras that I paid for? No such luck. I described my wedding to Alexandra to be simple and use the beauty of the venue I chose, the Martin Johnson House in La Jolla, CA. Being that I was a first time bride I was very nervous about planning a wedding/reception for 80 people. I somehow thought there was more that went into it and that I needed guidance along the way. This is what Alexandra heard and used to convince me I needed the “month of coordination” in addition to the “day of”. She said wedding planning should be fun, not stressful and that is what she was there for. She also told me that she would be able to negotiate the best prices for me since she had relationships with numerous vendors.

By the time I hired Alexandra I had already researched numerous caterers, menus and pricing. I mentioned to Alexandra that I had done my research and wondered what she thought of my top three choices but I received no guidance. We attended two tastings together and when I asked her opinion about my first choice, she told me if I liked them I should go with them. Not really the guidance I was looking for or was promised nor did she do any negotiating in regards to the contract on my behalf.

Per my contract, I was promised a trip to Shinoda Design Center to pick out some decorations/centerpieces, etc for my wedding. Due to my wedding being very simple and the venue not needing much decoration, Alexandra convinced me that I did not need to go to Shinoda. I understand not needing to go but I wanted to see different ideas which is another reason I added on the ‘month of’ coordination, to go to Shinoda.

Alexandra asked if I was stressed the weekend before my wedding, I said yes and she offered her assistant’s help. The task of creating my table seating list for my guests to find their tables on the day of the wedding was given to her assistant 1 week before my wedding. It was nice because she came to my house to see what I wanted it to look like, etc. but I became irritated and more stressed when it was 3 days before the wedding and the task had still not been done. I had emailed her an Excel spreadsheet with my guest names to make the seating list and I asked her 2 days before my wedding if she in fact received the email with all she needed to make my seating chart and she confirmed that she did receive my email with the spreadsheet. At the wedding rehearsal my seating list was still NOT made! I asked her when she would be doing the task since my wedding was the next day!! At that time I again double checked that she had everything she needed to complete the seating list; she confirmed having all she needed. Alexandra and her assistant told me not to stress anymore and go enjoy my rehearsal dinner with my friends. I did that without my cell phone since I left it charging in my car. Alexandra and her assistant had both called me numerous times during my rehearsal dinner to tell me they in fact did NOT have the email they needed to finish my seating list. That is why I asked at the rehearsal about receiving my email!! I got these messages at 8pm when I was on my way home to get much needed rest for my big day!! I had a hysterical crying bout but managed to get the assistant what she needed and all was fine. At least my one thing that went wrong was before the wedding day and my wedding day was amazing!

If I can offer a lesson learned from this it would be: Only purchase the service you absolutely need. It isn’t that hard to plan a wedding, even if it is your first time! If your wedding is small and simple do not get the month of services, they are not needed!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A.R.Affairs responded with the following comments:

Hello Heather! We are so sorry to hear your disappointment. A.R. Affairs would have been more then happy to have adjusted your contract and services if your concerns had been brought to our attention at anytime during the wedding planning process. We will add that we did perform complimentary services, more than outlined in your package, and are so sorry we still didn't meet your expectations.

To address concerns; the seating chart. The most current seating chart was not sent to us until the evening before your wedding day despite our persistence requesting this information sooner. Without accurate information, the seating chart would have created much confusion on your wedding day. The seating chart was completed and ready for your wedding as promised.

All consults/appointments addressed in A.R. Affairs contract, and agreed upon, were fulfilled or substituted for other meetings of you choice to satisfy all consults outlined.

We are so happy that your wedding day was made flawless by A.R. Affairs.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rochelle
Wedding:
4/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Alexandra and A.R. Affairs was the best money we spent on our wedding! We NEVER would have been able to have the amazing day we had if Alexandra hadn't have been there. We were originally going to have someone we know do our wedding coordination, but at the last minute (3 months before the wedding!) she said she couldn't do it! We had done most of the big planning ourselves (or so we thought), but knew we needed someone there on the day to help with getting everyone situated with our 2 locations. Alexandra did one of my best friends weddings in October and I had her card, so we kept our fingers crossed and E mailed to see if she was available. Fortunetly, she was.

We had her 'day of' service, but she did so much for us before the wedding, it was so much more than that! We thought we were close to finished planning our wedding, but there were so many little things we hadn't even thought about that Alexandra reminded us of and helped plan. She answered all of our E mails quickly and was very organised and made sure all our vendors were on the same page. If she had not have been involved in our wedding, we would have had a HUGE disaster with the photographer!! A week before, Alexandra was trying to contact our photographer again, as he hadn't gotten back to her. While discussing timing, he tried to dispute the signed contract we had sent in 6 months prior! We needed him at the hotel at 1pm and if Alexandra hadn't have been there, he just would have showed up at the church at 3pm WHEN THE WEDDING WAS DUE TO START!!

The day of the wedding, everything went so smoothly! The timeline was perfect and she made sure it was stuck to. She's all about what the bride and groom need and want. While she is very personable and sweet, she's also not afraid to be firm with difficult vendors, which is nessesary sometimes! My husband says,"she was like a ninja on the day" because everything was done and in its place, but you never really saw her very much. Very stealth! :) One of the nicest things she did was she went to our hotel room down the street and decorated our room with candles and set up our guestbook nicely....it was a beautiful way to end our day!

Alexandra and A.R. Affairs definitely goes above and beyond to make sure your day is exactly how you want it. She is worth her weight in gold and we can't thank her enough for making our wedding day the most amazing day of our lives! :)
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bob
Wedding:
11/24/2010
5.0/5.0
It is often said the two biggest fears people have are death and public speaking (although others have added their biggest panic was going through an airport security pat down). Having ample experience with two of those three, I can truly appreciate those fears. But what the researchers who developed the list have grossly omitted was one of the biggest fears of all …. getting married! Throw in making the marriage a destination wedding and now the situation has become a downright terror!

For the bride and groom to plan a wedding (which tends to be mostly the bride and partly the groom), it requires an unlimited amount of time, an astounding amount of money, and the maximum amount of stress. Yoga and meditation can only go so far to relieve the stress, and that is where a getting a top notched wedding planner comes in. Open up the yellow pages or go on Google to search for a wedding planner and you will find more listings than pre-teen fans of Justin Bieber.

So what are the criteria for finding the best wedding planner (especially in a different city)? You want somebody who is “Optimum”. By “Optimum”, I mean Organized, Professional, Trained, Intuitive, Money Manager, Understanding, and Meticulous!
With A.R. Affairs, and Alexandra Roselee, we found that company and person! In fact, Alexandra was not just Optimum, she was OPTIMUM! The character Jennifer Lopez portrayed in the movie The Wedding Planner paled in comparison to Alexandra. Like a top Hollywood agent, Alexandra had a stable of all-star vendors at our service. From cradle to grave, Alexandra worked with each vendor to ensure we were getting the best product at the best value! Better yet, because each of the vendors were local and small, they were able to craft the best creations (be it our cake, flowers, photographer or DJ) and make it unique from any other wedding! And other than having something similar to the upcoming Prince William wedding, what wedding couple wouldn’t want their wedding unique and first class?!

Remember the old expression, “treat someone the way you would like to be treated”? That is how A.R. Affairs and Alexandra approached our marriage. Alexandra went over and above what a typical wedding planner would do. She spent countless hours driving with us to meet our different vendors, she was a last minute seamstress for a button that popped off my tuxedo on the wedding day, and when we returned to our hotel room she had arranged a room full of rose petals and dozens of lit candles! Indeed, this was something right out of a romantic movie or novel.

Weddings are obviously events to be remembered and the A.R. Affairs slogan of “Be a Guest at Your Own Event” could not be better said!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Alexandra at AR affairs made our wedding absolutely perfect!!! We couldn't have done it without her. She was professional with us and all of our vendors,recommended excellent vendors for us to work with, and made it so ourselves and our family/ wedding party did not have to stress at all the day of our wedding. She made a detailed time-line for our wedding day and was able to keep everything running smoothly and in a timely manner. She went above and beyond what we had hired her to do. She picked up our flowers for us, brought all of our bouquets to me at our hotel room, and set up ALL of the decorations for our ceremony/ reception without having to ask for help from any of our family. We were able to enjoy our day without being bothered by any phone calls or hassles. If that wasn't enough, she even decorated our hotel room with flowers and candles for our wedding night =).
We were so impressed by her stellar service that we recommended her to my best friend to help with day- of coordination for her wedding, where she did an excellent job as well.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A.R.Affairs responded with the following comments:

It was so wonderful working with you! Thank you for this review!!! Alexandra
Default-vendor-profile-pic
catherinejohnson1
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
My wedding would not have been possible without Alexandra. I hired her last minute for full coordination and she was able to effortlessly pull of planning and executing my amazing wedding without any difficulty. She worked with me around my budget, set up meetings with vendors and went with me to every one. She was present in every part of the planning, and genuinely cared about me and my special day. She gave incredibly artistic and creative ideas, and helped me figure out what I wanted when I didn't even know myself. Even with the normal things that go wrong on a wedding day, she handled them without my even knowing anything had gone wrong. I highly recommend Alexandra to anyone who is thinking of hiring a planner.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A.R.Affairs responded with the following comments:

AWWW! I loved workking with you!!! Thank you so much or the great review! You and your family were such a joy to work with! Alexandra RoseLee, A.R. Affairs
Default-vendor-profile-pic
styxchic
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Provided service.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
A.R.Affairs responded with the following comments:

I loved working on this wedding! Thank you so much for the great score! Alexandra RoseLee, A.R. Affairs

MAP

 
10515 caminito sulmona, San Diego, CA 92129 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for A.R.Affairs
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1315947766517-dsc8031edit1favorite