130x130_sq_1231918354857-asablak1

A Savory Affair Cuisine and Catering

Mesa , AZ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

156 W. Main St.
Mesa, AZ US 85201 (map)

PHONE

480-610-4528

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A Savory Affair is a fabulous catering business owned and run by brothers Chef Timothy and Chef James. They both started out washing dishes at a local thai restaurant in the Pheonix... Read more
A Savory Affair is a fabulous catering business owned and run by brothers Chef Timothy and Chef James. They both started out washing dishes at a local thai restaurant in the Pheonix Area. At 17 Chef Timothy joined the Army and served eight years as a Black Hawk helicopter crew chief. Upon Chef Timothy's return to the valley he attended Le Cordon Bleu Scottsdale Culinary Institute where he studied with his older brother Chef Jesse. Upon hearing that his brother, Chef Timothy had completed his cullinary training Chef James enrolled in Arizona Culinary Institute. Durring the next two years Chef Timothy opened his first kitchen as the executive Chef for Longbow Golf Club and catered over 200 weddings and events. Once Chef James had completed his culinary education he and CHef Timothy began A Savory Affair Cuisine and Catering and commenced to partner up with some of the valley's premeir wedding venues. In 2005 they opened thier first restaurant in downtown mesa, BaK'd, where they feature resurvation only casual fine dining, French fusinon, Chef hosted dinners. Here they have fed some of the world's most famous artists including: Engel Burt Humperdink, Kenny Rogers, Kenny Loggins, Winton Marsalis, Jimmy Eat World, Ashley Simpson, Enrique Englasias, Flyleaf, Maroon 5, Neyo, Bad Religion, Social Distortion, Michael Bolton, The Cheiftons, Lyle Lovette, Los Lobos, Blues Travelers, Lindsey Buchingham, Paula Abduel, Kottommouth Kings, Flogging Molly, Rise Against, Death Cab for Cutie, Surge Tankien, Angels and Airwaves, Alkaline Trio, and Reverand Whorton Heap. A Savory Affair is also endorsed by The Mesa Arts Center, The Edge 103.9, Kiss FM 104.7, Camel Country, The City of Mesa, and the Town of Gilbert. A Savory Affair and BaK'd also cater many of the valley's fund raisers like Viva Las Vegas, and Active 20s 30s club event, Boy's and Girls fund raisers, MDA Taste of the Town, as well as donating to various other charities. Chef Timothy's motto is "The Only thing you have to do is show up and smile. Point me in the right direction and I will take care of everything." To date these brothers have catered hundreds of events and fed hundreds of thousands of people. With their rock star attitudes and killer culinary creations it's hard to be disappointed. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1231917101186-img_5510
130x130_sq_1231917676029-img_4935
130x130_sq_1231917718014-img_5566
130x130_sq_1231917199623-img_5428
130x130_sq_1231917674217-img_4933
130x130_sq_1231917322092-clearchannellor
130x130_sq_1231917347076-johnjaylor
130x130_sq_1231917347451-maclor
130x130_sq_1231917384217-img_1777
130x130_sq_1231917401420-johnjaytim
130x130_sq_1223149115221-img_6500
130x130_sq_1231917301717-img_5307
130x130_sq_1231918008482-img_3049
130x130_sq_1223149262393-img_6541
130x130_sq_1231917279779-img_6632
130x130_sq_1223149039799-10lobstertail&veal
130x130_sq_1231917039076-img_4964
130x130_sq_1231917091014-img_5496
130x130_sq_1231918125592-img_7031
130x130_sq_1231917408639-img_1798
130x130_sq_1231917190123-img_5427
130x130_sq_1231917483467-img_0726
130x130_sq_1231917498201-img_0500
130x130_sq_1231917546654-img_0727
130x130_sq_1231917549607-img_0728
130x130_sq_1231917035279-img_5930
130x130_sq_1231917592107-img_0740
130x130_sq_1231917616982-img_0741
130x130_sq_1231917648686-img_0743
130x130_sq_1231917654248-img_0744
130x130_sq_1231917726342-img_0806
130x130_sq_1231917755482-img_6870
130x130_sq_1231917773326-img_6567
130x130_sq_1231918039795-img_6886

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
African, American (New), American (Traditional), British, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, French, German, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Pan-Asian, Polynesian, Russian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
all of our tastings are free of charge
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
No but we highly reccomend A Piece Of Cake
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
The cake cutting is free as long as it is done withing an hour of dinner ie 7pm dinner, 8pm cake cutting
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
Yes we bring all of our own uniformed serving staff
What is your maximum catering capacity?
2000

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
A Savory Affair and Chef Timothy were awesome! It was great to be able to taste some of their food during our first meeting. The final product on the day was delicious. Everyone was saying how much they enjoyed the food! Plenty went back for seconds! Overall, super yummy food from a great company.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
We loved Chef Tim and his staff so much, we had them cater our rehearsal dinner as well as the wedding! Both dinners were exceptional. Tim is an amazing and creative chef. From the tastings to the dinners...there is nothing he made that was not outstanding!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Chef Tim was amazing. We told him some ideas of what we wanted for food and took everything to the next level. So many people said our food was the best they ever had at a wedding. Chef Tim was also able to make changes for us during the wedding to accommodate my very pregnant and picky sister so she could also enjoy her meal. Most importantly, he was fun and such a pleasure to work with.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1392834225101-img069
Alicia
Wedding:
4/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Chef Tim was great! The food was delicious and the wedding was perfect! I am more than happy with the outcome!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
The food was terrific and Chef Tim was a pleasure to work with. We had filet mignon and pork medallions which everyone raved about. Guests are very picky about food at weddings and all of ours were happy with the food and the beautiful presentation.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
3/14/2014
5.0/5.0
We booked through Regency Garden, we were lucky enough to have Chef Tim and the Savory Affair team with us! The tasting was absolutely delicious, so we knew our wedding menu would be just as fabulous. Looking online and picking favorites beforehand really helped at the tasting. The buffet was so amazing, not like the traditional "wedding food" people dread. We had so many guests go back for seconds because they couldn't get enough. Thank you A Savory Affair!!
Services Used: Catering
Bg8
jenn2814
Wedding:
2/8/2014
5.0/5.0
The food at my wedding was, without a doubt, the best meal I've ever had. And I hadn't had anything to drink, this was a sober assessment. My husband now compares all food to the chicken cordon bleu, which was amazing. My only regret was that I wasn't wearing sweatpants so I couldn't gorge myself sufficiently. 100% recommend.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
11/21/2013
5.0/5.0
When Chef Tim tells you, "if you can dream it, I will do it", he means it 100%. He was able to give us what we wanted and tweaked it just enough to keep it in our price range. He was attentive to all of our dietary needs- gluten free, corn free, and a variety of other food allergies- and carried it through the entire meal so that my new husband and I weren't restricted fro what we could enjot. The food was absolutely delicious and Chef Tim was professional, but kept a sense of humor. He truly enjoys what he does and you can see it in the quality of his product.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
We had nothing but compliments the day of our wedding. In fact many guests helped themselves to a second serving because they all liked it so much! Chef Tim is quirky and fun to work with. He is very accommodating and doesn't nickel and dime you.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kendall
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend a savory affair for any catering services! The owner Chef Tim is awesome and has such a fun personality. He really knows how to put foods together so it brings out the best flavor and also looks pretty! Everyone says that no one remembers the food at your wedding...well they do if it's good! I keep getting compliments on the food even to this day!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
The food is amazing! Everyone is still talking about it.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristy
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our catering as part of the package with Regency Garden wedding venue in Mesa. When we attended the tasting with Chef Timothy, our parents went with us. He gave us a tasting we would never forget. The food was delicious and was an entire meal. The choice selection is hard as all of the food is unbelievable. It was such an easy process after we picked the food selections. Chef Timothy did the rest. He was easy to communicate with thru email or telephone. The guests at our wedding said it was the best food they had ever eaten. All of their plates were clean. Chef Timothy always takes care of the kids first to make sure they are taken care of. We would highly recommend A Savory Affair if you want an amazing experience for your guests. The outdoor buffet in the garden at Regency Garden was a gorgeous setup and all of his staff are very friendly. Thanks Chef Timothy for a an amazing wedding reception.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1352342209550-img0216
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Food was excellent! The chef served both myself and my husband. I thought that was a nice touch. They made sure there was plenty of food for bride and groom and all the guests. The rosemary potatoes were a crowd favorite. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1374557536145-0322fxc5748
SophieJones415
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Chef Tim was wonderful beyond words and a very energetic person. I am a vegetarian and so were some of my guests. Chef Tim was so accommodating to this and made wonderful food. We got many complements on how good the food was! Everything was perfect with the food thanks to him and his staff. Chef Tim was included as part of the package with Regency Garden in Mesa and we had a perfect wedding day.

Thank you so much!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Chef Tim far exceeded our expectations for our reception food. He worked very closely with us as we are both pretty picky eaters and we were able to come up with the most delicious meal we could have asked for. To top it all off, him and his team were so professional and totally blew us away with his customer service. He would be a great choice for your catering needs.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1322270899668-img2870
Kayce
Wedding:
3/22/2013
5.0/5.0
The food was excellent! We went with a fettucini and chicken with poblano sauce as our two main dishes. I received so many compliments on how good the food tasted, especially how moist and flavorful the chicken was. I'm not a huge chicken fan and even I loved every last bite of it! The tasting wasn't what I was expecting, as they bring out a prepared plate of several items. I guess I was expecting a little taste of multiple items, but this actually worked out best because I never would have picked out the poblano sauce if they hadn't just brought it out. And that might have been the best part about the meal!! They brought my husband and I prepared plates the day of the wedding (we were at Regency Garden) so that we didn't get caught talking to people in the buffet line and could be done eating first so as to have more time to visit later. It worked out perfectly!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patricia
Wedding:
3/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Our food was perfect! Everyone is still talking about the food they ate at my wedding and how much they enjoyed it. They were great to work with! I could not be happier with all of it!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claudia
Wedding:
2/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Beau still has not stopped talking about the dinner on our wedding night!! From start to finish everything was great with Chef Tim! We booked our wedding with Regency Garden, and Savory Affair is the vendor that comes with the packages. Chef Tim invited us in to have dinner and set up our menu. I was thinking that we were going to get to taste a couple of things and make decisions. He actually cooked us a complete meal and it was amazing! His menu has a lot to offer and the food is great! Beau started talking about how he couldn't wait to have dinner at our reception and how he was excited for the food as soon as we left! We are happy with the way it turned out!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diana
Wedding:
1/5/2013
5.0/5.0
The bride, groom, and I (mother of the bride) had several tastings with various caterers, but none compared to the originality, fabulous flavor, and willingness to go the extra mile like Chef Tim. He and James and their staff created a perfect meal with perfect service--after all, how many times do wedding guests rave about the food? Everyone at our event was astounded! You will never experience "just average" from these folks --they are fantastic!!!!!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracy
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I went into our tasting with no idea what we wanted to serve at our wedding. A Savory Affair quickly put us at ease with their sense of humor and excellent food. With in minutes, we realized that anything we chose was going to be delicious. They helped us design a menu, and were very responsive to our needs for last minute additions to the menu the week before the wedding. Our wedding meal was absolutley delicious, and our guests haven't stopped talking about it!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
I couldn't be more pleased with the fabulous job done by A Savory Affair! I had such a wonderful experience working with Tim! He is a blast! And they are so incredibly accommodating and willing to go the extra mile to make a Bride's day perfect! My guests LOVED the food! I would highly recommend choosing this as your caterer!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
11/9/2012
5.0/5.0
A Savory Affair was included in my package with the venue I chose. Me, my husband, and my parents all went to the tasting. This was no ordinary tasting like I expected. We sat down at a dinner table and were served a full meal by the chefs. They explained what everything was as they brought it out. We had expected to be trying a sample of a bunch of different foods but the chefs trust that you will be impressed by the meal that they choose to serve you and boy, are they right! The food is absolutely amazing! I hadn't really planned to have time to enjoy the meal on the wedding day but I made sure I had time for the food and it was the thing I looked most forward to beforehand. Me and my husband loved their cooking so much we said we wished we were rich so we could hire them to be our full time cooks! :) My parents even joked about hiring them for our rehearsal dinner even though we already had a place booked.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerrie
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
WOW!! All I can say is these guys were so great!! The 5 course meal tasted fantastic! The butter for the bread melted in your mouth, the chicken and filet was to die for, the cinnamon gelatin dessert was like a cin-a-bun. The presentation of each course was like a work of art. We could not ask for anything more.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
A Savory Affair was wonderful to work with. Their food is amazing! Our guests loved it! We had lots of options and were able to make a menu that we really loved. The day of the wedding they were awesome. My husband and I were so busy so they served us dinner first before our guests. Some how they were there but not noticed and just provided excellent service and fantastic food. This wasn't your typical wedding food! I highly recommend them to anyone planning a large event!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1328855230277-120114philipps15
Erin
Wedding:
5/25/2012
5.0/5.0
WOW!! I cannot rave enough about A Savory Affair! Their food was amazing and their services were excellent. They were extremely accommodating and helpful when we selected the menu. They provide a FULL meal at their tasting. I have to say, I left that place thinking, "man I can't wait for my wedding just to eat that food again!" I've had so many average meals at weddings and I couldn't wait to serve my guests the best of the best. I would recommend A Savory in a heartbeat. We had the Chicken Marsala, which I would also highly recommend.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ERHickey
Wedding:
4/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Their food is SO GOOD they did a great job making it just want we wanted! Well displayed and tasted great! Thank you for helping to make our night perfect:)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RaylynTils
Wedding:
4/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Chef Tim with A Savory Affair made our wedding PERFECT! He was very perfessional, very resonably priced and his food is DELICIOUS! We were hooked at our tasting and went with him right away. We received so many compliments at our wedding about how great the food was. I would recommend this caterer to anyone!! They were awesome!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1310443966451-71collums
Courtney
Wedding:
3/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Chef Tim was amazing! He offered helpful suggestions when we were stuck on decisions and he responded quickly to my emails. The food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
2/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Absolutely mouth-watering food! I enjoyed the food and all the guests did as well. Everyone was friendly and I recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1309323563773-25871610150300479000568505205567958533342103o
Richard
Wedding:
2/3/2012
5.0/5.0
One Thing went wrong here...wrong sauce..we asked for red pepper coulis and got a butter ver blanc sauce..however, That was not enough for me to say these guys aren't good.. Being fellow graduates these guys still blew my socks off... I will be hiring this team for my anniversary dinner! If you want good food at your wedding...call Savory Affair! as far as the sauce;miss communication happens all the time! Again best wedding ever..2.3.12..Richard Mehl
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Since we're kinda "foodies" the menu at our wedding was very important to us. We worked with A Savory Affair through Regency Garden and we weren't disappointed. For the tasting alone you're treated to a gourmet dinner, and everything was delicious. The food at the wedding ended up being just as great, and they are also good about making sure you get to eat at your wedding! They brought out the appetizers to us since we were getting our pictures taken during cocktail hour, and they make sure the bride and groom are served first for dinner. They were very courteous in making sure we were well taken care of and satisfied.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1296724045954-newimage
Daphne
Wedding:
10/28/2011
5.0/5.0
Chief Timothy, and the Savory Affair team were wonderful to work with! Our wedding food was not just the typical wedding food you have at any other wedding. My new husband and I wish we could have just been guest so we could have enjoyed our food more for seconds and thirds like all of our wedding guests. We got soo many compliments from how wonderful and flavorful our food was! A big thanks to the Savory Affair team for making our wedding day an AMAZING day, you guys are great at what you do!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katiecormier
Wedding:
10/23/2011
5.0/5.0
The food was incredible! When we had our tasting, we were amazed by the amount of selection they had. Everything was done perfectly for our wedding!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MGriffin
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
The food was amazing! Very good sevice
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ms Barb - Mom of Bride
Wedding:
10/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Thanks so much for the delicious buffet you produced for my daughter's wedding at Regency Gardens. The sauces were awesome and the meats cooked well. It was enjoyed my all.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristal
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Chef Timothy was so fun and outgoing and extremely helpful! His food is amazing and offers quite the variety. Everything we had tasted to perfection. He was able to answer all of my questions very quickly and is easily reached through email for any last minute questions or concerns. I would recommend them to everyone for catering needs. I wish they still had a restaurant!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1291572949958-kim5
Kimberly
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
They were great to customize a package I had received already! The food was excellent and they were great with everything! Never had to worry about a thing!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Chef Tim was great. We had a tasting prior to deciding whether or not to book. Then when we were constructing the menu, he was sure to help us accommodate a few guests who had allergies. Amazing food and service. People still talk about how much they enjoyed the food 8 months later!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daniel & Carmen
Wedding:
6/10/2011
5.0/5.0
We were connected to A Savory Affair via our wedding planning through Regency Garden for our June 10th 2011 wedding. We were provided a tasting at their Mesa, AZ storefront by their most recent chef addition (we deeply apologize to him for not recalling his name), who treated us to the most savory and delicious meal we have ever had. We were just thrilled to know that the food for our wedding was going to be beyond our expectations, not to mention blow away our guests. The chef who led us through the tasting also staffed our wedding and we were very happy to see him. The food was as phenomenal as we had hoped and we only wished that we could have eating much more of it than we had time to. We will look for reasons to use A Savory Affair in the future and would recommend them to anyone looking for phenomenal catering.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
I wish I could have been a guest at my wedding so I could have eaten more! A Savory Affair provided without a doubt some of the best and most flavorful food I have ever tasted. Their rolls and butter alone are fantastic but then they had an option for scalloped sweet potatoes and I was in heaven! Chef James is so friendly and laid back that it was like a friend cooking for our event. The way they do their tasting in their catering shop is great because it is so casual and personal and you are never made to feel rushed. We went through what the menu would be and he explained how everything would work with the appetizers and buffet the day of the wedding.
The day of the wedding I received many compliments on how good the food was and the fact that it was hot, something that doesn't always happen at weddings. Chef James and Chef Tim have a wonderful business and they are a pleasure to work with. Thank you so much!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lilhunnyb
Wedding:
4/29/2011
5.0/5.0
DELICIOUS! A Savory Affair catered my wedding through Regency Garden and they were perfection. They were friendly and offered so many wonderful choices! They even accomodated my requests for a special vegan meal as well as gluten free meal. Thank you so much for making my special day that much more special!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
We got married on 4/2/11 and A Savory Affair Cuisine served the best food. I figured oh I probably won't eat at the wedding because that's what everyone says, but the food was so good I made sure to eat. Thank you to Chef Tim and his staff you guys are awesome.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
heather
Wedding:
3/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Our food was amazing! For the next week all we heard about was how awesome the food was and how the pesto pasta was amazing! This is the only catering company you should even consider. Don't waste you time looking around Chef Timothy and his crew is hands down the best.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
feisty77
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
We loved the food at our wedding. Chef Tim was great to work with (although seems that sometimes a phone call is quicker than email). Food was absolutely amazing and incredible value for the price. We thought that this was the best wedding food we had ever had at a wedding. Chef Tim and his staff also set up all of our tables for us (and took care of it at the end of the night), made sure the wedding party got appetizers and drinks, and served us the meal so we didn't have to go through the buffet line. I wish I could eat this food again, yum!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
The catering crew was professional and fun, and made sure we enjoyed our meal. The food was amazing; everyone at our reception loved it.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happy bride
Wedding:
10/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Working with Savory Affair made our catering experience enjoyable and so easy! We did not have to worry about anything after meeting with Chef Timothy! Their food was to die for! So flavorful and exactly what we could have imagined!

The few times we had questions; Chef Timothy promptly got back to us and answered our questions! There was no phone tag or playing of games, they were precise and very professional!

We would both highly recommend Savory Affair for any of your catering needs! My husband and I would/will hire them again for any event that needs to be catered!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shane
Wedding:
9/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Both chefs have a great sense of humor and personality that was apparent when we walked into their shop for the tasting. The food was absolutely amazing! Truly easy to work with and would love to hire them for any future catering needs I have.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendy - Mother of the Bride
Wedding:
9/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Our experience with Savory Affair was awesome. It started with the tasting event and Tim totally understanding what we were looking for. Their choices are very broad and there is something for everyone and every budget. We have had so many compliments on the food and how smoothly serving dinner to 160 went. We also had the hot appetizers prior to dinner and they were very tasty. Thanks again Tim and your crew for such a professional job. You are truly the master Chef!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jmccarthy
Wedding:
8/29/2010
5.0/5.0
A savory affair was amazing. We received so many compliments on the food, everyone said that it was the best they had ever had at a wedding. Chef Timothy was great too. He was very patient with explaining what would work best for us and made the food tasting a great experience as well. Everything turned out wonderful and we couldn't have asked for a better caterer.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BrookeEkhaese
Wedding:
6/6/2010
5.0/5.0
If I could give Chef Tim a 10, I would. He was amazing!! His food is so tasty and his portions are huge. His waitstaff was perfect.

We were able to have a 4 course plated dinner for the price that the majority of the other caterers were quoting for a basic buffet.

Tim worked with us to create a wonderful meal that was beautiful, tasted like a million bucks and worked in our limited budget.

You'd be crazy not to use A Savory Affair!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
6/4/2010
5.0/5.0
We enjoyed the food tasting. The food was amazing at our wedding. Everyone loved it. The chef was very easy to work with and gave us great suggestions. He made sure we were happy with all of our choices. The best!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
4/24/2010
5.0/5.0
A Savory Affair's food was amazing. The food was unique and delicious. Chef Timothy was extremely friendly and very laid back. He was flexible with our consultation and even helped entertain our toddler when we couldn't find a sitter. The only thing that I would suggest is to specify your wishes regarding the left over food during your consultation. I had intended to ask them to box it up to take home but with the excitement of the wedding forgot, and by the time I remembered the caterers were gone.
Services Used: Catering
Bg19
prplebtrfly22
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
OMG! Can you say amazing food???? A Savory Affair Cuisine & Catering did an awesome job catering our wedding. The customer service was awesome and the food was "to die for"! Our guests are still commenting about how yummy the food was! They even sent us off with two take home plates so my husband and I could enjoy the food later :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karis
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
A Savory Affair was an absolute delight to work with. We were called promptly after booking our package (through Regency Garden) by Chef Timothy to touch base and let us know to call him whenever to set up our tasting. Once we left a message to set up a tasting, they called up back the next day and were able to with us the next week. We met with Chef James for the tasting, and was absolutely satisfied with not only the food choices and options, but the presentation of the food as well. We even received a confirmation email the next morning clarifying our selections to ensure everything was as we expected.
The night of the wedding, the food was absolutely delicious, and set up just beautifully. We also had numerous guests compliment us on the herbed chicken with southwestern chipotle sauce. Chef James, Chef Timothy and the whole staff at A Savory Affair did an amazing job throughout, and we were proud to call them our caterers.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1269793648430-2433687860882381110015611512597282255208n
jillthrasher
Wedding:
3/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Savory Affair did an amazing job with our meal. There had been an issue (NOT THEIR FAULT) with one of the dishes and they bent over backwards to make sure they took care of us. They even sent my husband and I off with a care package - they really care about their clients and it showed. The flavor of all the food was amazing, definitely NOT your typical dry boring wedding food!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chood126
Wedding:
3/5/2010
5.0/5.0
The food was magnificent. We choose the lasagna and it was very well cooked, all the food turned out great. Thanks to you.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amber16784
Wedding:
2/22/2010
5.0/5.0
The food that was provided for our wedding was beyond anything I could have hoped for!!
We had a fairly simple list of what we were going to have at our reception (bread, pasta, salad) and even with those "simple" items the chefs created such amazing taste combinations and offered us a wide variety of ideas and things they could do.
Plus Chef Timothy is a blast to work with!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carissa&Mat
Wedding:
1/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Chef Timothy and his brother did an absolutely fantastic job at the wedding. The food was flawless. I even made a special request from the options provided on their menu, and they accommodated it without a problem! They were so nice and made the entire night go smoothly (and deliciously!! ) I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angie
Wedding:
1/7/2010
5.0/5.0
The food is amazing and the chefs are super rad!
Meeting the chefs, tasting the amazing food, and picking my own menu with their great recommendations was my favorite part of planning my wedding!

It all worked out great and was delicious!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1228493852871-bisbee
branowen
Wedding:
11/13/2009
5.0/5.0
These guys are AMAZING! We changed up their typical menu a bit, and they were perfectly happy to accommodate. They gave us a free tasting of our menu, and we just fell in love. The portions were enormous, the food was extra-flavorful, everything was extremely fresh and they gave us our leftovers to enjoy for almost a week afterwards.

Chef Timothy was our contact, and he responded to our phone calls and e-mails immediately each time we had a question or change. Savory Affair was one of the few vendors we had no issues at all with. They were GREAT!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1231635839750-picture004
lor187
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
The food was amazing and all our guests loved it!!! The caterers were so much fun and really made our wedding special!! I could not have asked for anything more. I loved these guys and you will too!!!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
3/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Chef Tim is absolutely amazing. The food was great and our guests were very pleased. Not only did it taste amazing but it looked nice the way it was set up for our guests. It was a very good experience working with chef Tim, he is very flexible and always had time to talk with us and he did exactly what we wanted. He even brought a soda bar on the wedding day when we thought we were only going to have lemonade which was very thoughtful. We had more guests than we expected but never ran out of food and chef Tim even made plates for us since we were too busy to get in line to eat. We highly recommend this vendor.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberley
Wedding:
3/28/2009
5.0/5.0
The food was great! Our guests gave us compliments all night on how good the food was. The chefs were fun and personable while picking out the menu (if you can dream it, they can make it). Highly recommended
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Billiebrunick
Wedding:
3/7/2009
5.0/5.0
WOW! is the only word I can think of. The food was out of this world. Their staff where great. Everything was so elegant and amazing. Our chef was so great, all our kids enjoyed him. To this day we still get comments on how wonderful the food was and how great the service was. Thanks A Savory Affair!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mollydolly721
Wedding:
1/10/2009
5.0/5.0
The food was awesome! They really worked with us to create a menu that worked for us. All of our guests kept raving about how great the food was and how great it was that they were able to go back for seconds. They are so easy to get a hold of and they even work with you right over the phone. We were so happy with our meal!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
robin
Wedding:
8/1/2008
5.0/5.0
A Savory Affair did a beautiful job of catering our wedding. The food was delicious and had a wonderful variety as well as being beautifully displayed. It was very reasonable and exceeded our expectations.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Valarie
Wedding:
2/17/2008
5.0/5.0
Tim and his crew are amazing. Everyone said the food was incredible! Saw many empty plates.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
7/11/2007
5.0/5.0
Chef Tim was great to work with! He took our idea's and went with them. All of our family and guests raved over the food-and rightly so, it was absolutely amazing. The presentation was great, and the food tasted even better. Working in the wedding industry myself, I couldn't be more pleased with the outcome of our event. It was better than I hoped.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
achurch8
Wedding:
3/3/2007
5.0/5.0
Our catering with A Savory Affair was included in the wedding package we purchased, however the chefs there impressed us so much with their creativity and flavors at the tasting and with our menu planning, we had our rehearsal dinner at their restaurant, Bak'd. (We also went back for a private dinner on our first anniversary, which was another great night of food and memories!) Years later, we are still receiving compliments from our friends and family about how delicious the food at our wedding was.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
9/16/2006
5.0/5.0
Can not say enough positive about these guys. When our other caterer canceled, leaving us three days away from the wedding with no food, A Savory Affair stepped in and saved our day! They made amazing food (better than any wedding food our guests had tried) and stayed within the budget we had reached with the other guys. On top of all that, they were professionals through and through. They get an A+++++ in our book and we will recommend them for years to come!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1292715677479-6371346813244168653931168658925144369934n
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Chef Tim at A Savory Affair was awesome! I was able to have a wide variety of food at a reasonable cost, and I got a lot of compliments on how great the food was. Sometimes Chef Tim was hard to get a hold of but admittedly I was contacting him during the busiest time of year for wedding catering, so it wasn't a big deal. Everything was perfect on the big day, so 5/5 for sure!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
2/27/2014
4.8/5.0
Our food was amazing!! Everyone loved our menu. We paid a little more for it but it was worth every penny!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1268971014938-engagementweb5
KN2010
Wedding:
12/3/2010
4.8/5.0
Chef Tim really worked with us on our menu. We had a set menu for adults, kids, then a few vegetarian/gluten free meals we needed. He helped through the process and the food was great, so many of our guests said they loved it.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
A Savory Affair Catering is absolutely amazing! I thought food like that only came from 5 star restaurants, and was certainly something I could never afford. I was wrong!

Everyone at our wedding was raving about the food. The wait staff was prompt and attentive to detail, and Chef Timothy created a wonderful menu with us that we found sumptuous and delicious.

I can't wait until the restaurant portion of the shop opens back up, I need to have more of that great cuisine!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lpdreams
Wedding:
12/31/2009
4.8/5.0
A Savory Affair was part of the package deal at the Regency Garden. Their food was very good and the dinner to pick out our food at their place in Mesa was stress free and yummy!

We had a mix of cultures at our wedding and wanted something that was neutral but not too bland. We had many comments on how great the food was and everyone wanted to know who made it.

We are very happy that we went with them for our wedding meal. They were very professional and helpful.

Thank you!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
asudan
Wedding:
10/11/2009
4.8/5.0
We cannot say enough great things! A Savory Affair took care of all of our requests, held our hand when we needed it and offered advice when we asked! Our meal was perfect! The service was perfect! Everything was perfect!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tyersbride
Wedding:
6/12/2009
4.8/5.0
A Savory Affair's food is amazing. We went in for a tasting and were blown away. My husband couldn't stop talking about how excited he was for the food at our wedding after that. They really can make anything you want. The food is displayed beautifully. My personal favorite part was that they plated food for me and my husband and served us first so we actually did get to eat at our wedding!

The reason I put a 4 for responsiveness was that I had to call a few times before I got through to them on the phone but once I did they were really flexible about finding a day to meet.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
angeltred
Wedding:
3/27/2009
4.8/5.0
Chef Timothy is awesome! He provides great food, wonderful service, and a lot of fun! He helped personalize our menu and although our choices were slightly unusual he made it all work together. If you are looking for a really good caterer at an affordable price, definitely check out a Savory Affair.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TravelingGirl31
Wedding:
3/7/2009
4.8/5.0
They were great! I was told that the food was wonderful. I told Chef Timothy what I wanted and they made it happen. I didn't have to worry about anything, but eat the day of my wedding. It all was soo good. I would recommend them any time.....
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alex Koupal
Wedding:
11/16/2008
4.8/5.0
Chef Timothy is awesome. We had several unavoidable issues and Chef was very flexable. Fun to work with and the food...OMG the food. It was amazing. I've had so many people come to me after the wedding and tell me how great the food was. You know its good food when people say "I loved your wedding, and the food... it was the best wedding food ever!" Thank you Chef!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bonnie
Wedding:
10/21/2012
4.7/5.0
A Savory Affair catered my October wedding this year. I went completely off the package menu that came with my venue package, and the caterer absolutely came through for us. They let us do tiny little cheeseburgers, mini cones of french fries, and Baileys milk shakes as our passed hors d'oeuvres during cocktail hour, and then for our main meal we had filet mignon and chicken in this awesome chipotle bisque. My friends and family raved about how amazing the food was. It was definitely not your typical mediocre wedding food. The work that Savory Affair put into our menu and serving our guests was my favorite part of our wedding!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacqueline
Wedding:
4/26/2010
4.7/5.0
The food at my reception was a hit! Everyone loved the idea of food stations and talked about the food for weeks. Everything went perfect that night. Thank you Chef Tim!!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1242777097877-img2271r4
DirtdiggerGirl
Wedding:
11/7/2009
4.7/5.0
Chef Tim and his staff are a ton of fun, very laid back, yet responsible and accountable. They are very flexible and customized our menu, even creating a dish they've never done before on our request. In choosing a menu, they were able to give suggestions on what foods would compliment each other well.

The staff for the wedding was very capable and handled our concerns promptly and quickly. There were only two issues on the wedding day. First was an error with the order which turned out to be partially our (bride and groom's) error which they offered to resolve on the spot. The second concern was that the cake slices were cut rather large such that not everyone was able to get a slice of cake. Otherwise, the food was delicious, the presentation was top notch and we heard nothing but compliments about the food. In fact, many guests made a point to tell us how good the food was.

We highly recommend using A Savory Affair for your event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
julieprince
Wedding:
1/17/2009
4.7/5.0
Chef Tim did an awesome job on the food. Everyone loved the food. The price was very reasonable and Chef Tim puts his heart and soul into every product. The catering was part of a package deal through Regency Garden in Mesa, AZ.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1242147887046-happycouple
keleka507
Wedding:
7/11/2009
4.6/5.0
The food was amazing. It was absolutely delicous. The menu tasting process, meeting, and design was flawless. I have good allergies (Celiac disease) and I had guests with allergies and preferences that they immediately took care of. They made a completely gluten free meal for me so I didn't have to worry. That was huge. Their menu choices are phenomenal, but more than that, they were willing to work with us to create something we would really like and that reflected us.
The only downside was that at the reception, before dinner was served, they ran out of red wine. We payed for unlimited beer, wine, margaritas, soft drinks, water, iced tea, hot tea and lemonade. We have a huge family that loves to drink wine, many Italians, and most drinkers wanted red wine. We found out later that they brought 3 bottles of red wine for a 7 hour event with 150 people. Really? It seemed incredibly unprofessional. I was told they went to get more wine for the rest of the night, but I'm sure most people didn't realize they could go back for that.
The food really was amazing, and well worth the money. I was incredibly happy with the chef and the meal. It was just the bartender that ruined part of the night.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JessicaR
Wedding:
5/27/2007
4.6/5.0
I would HIGHLY recommend A Savory Affair to anyone. More than a year after our wedding, our friends still bring up the delicious food that was served. If you've ever had wedding food, you know this is rare. Chef Tim and his staff are fun, creative, and excellent chefs. Not only is the food delicious, but it looks amazing too, like a gourmet restaurant. While we planned our menu with Chef Tim well in advance of the wedding, I am a vegetarian and so I let him make me something special as a surprise and I was not disappointed. It was absolutely outstanding. From salads to sides to hors de ouvres, even specialty butter for the bread, everything was amazing. The wait staff were great too. Really speedy so no one was waiting too long.
One of my only regrets from my wedding is not having time to sample any of the appetizers because everyone just raved about them.

My only complaint was that it was sometimes difficult to get a hold of Chef Tim. Even though I had not heard from him a week before my wedding, I knew he would come through and boy did he deliver. I can't say enough about how wonderful everything was. He even called the day before the wedding to see if it would be okay if he brought chargers to match the china (free of charge!!) and also if he could dress up our salad by serving it in goblets. How do you say no to someone making your wedding even more spectacular for free!?

If you're looking for absolutley delicious food for the best price you'll find and you want someone who will customize a menu to meet your wants, call Savory Affair. You will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Easyaspie
Wedding:
3/17/2012
4.5/5.0
The food was fantastic! We were able to attend a free tasting and Chef B did a fantastic job impressing us. All of our guests raved that the food was perfect...which feeding a hungry group off 100+ is important. The best part was how organized it was, there wasn't a long line of people waiting for food, which I have seen at other weddings. The food was presented promptly, professionally, and was fantastic!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ghsffasluster
Wedding:
3/21/2009
4.5/5.0
Chef Tim and Chef James are amazing. They went above and beyond!!! The food was fabulous, and I could not have found such amazing food, service, and full china for the same price anywhere!!! I completely recommend them without hesitation!!!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1396971734515-phot
Kelsey
Wedding:
11/9/2013
3.8/5.0
I really enjoyed Chef Timothy as a person. It's hard for me to write a negative review for him, because of the fact that he's such a great guy.

My maid of honor had just had a baby before my wedding. The baby developed multiple severe food allergies, so my MOH could hardly eat anything. I emailed Chef Timothy to see if he could have just a completely plain chicken breast for her (our entree was chicken). He said that would be no problem. Unfortunately, my MOH never got her meal and wasn't able to eat anything at my wedding. She traveled to Arizona from Michigan with a newborn and a 2 year old, so it really broke my heart that she wasn't taken care of.

My husband and I didn't eat our food either. I HATE pesto. Not only because of the taste, but also because nobody wants green stuff stuck in their teeth at a wedding. The food at our wedding was COVERED in green. I heard from many of my guests that they were afraid to eat it because they didn't want green things stuck in their teeth. It's so disappointing to me that my husband and I paid so much money for ourselves and our guests to not eat. That being said, I do not think A Savory Affair is a bad company, nor do I think Chef Timothy is a bad chef. It just didn't work out for us that evening. The food he prepared for us at our tasting was magnificent. I just wish the food at our wedding would have been the same!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura0930
Wedding:
8/4/2007
3.8/5.0
They were very flexible with customizing my menu, but the food didn't go over so well. The meat was a touch salty, and the chicken was not as we had agreed. Also, there were no vegetarian or children's emergency meals, as I was led to believe would be available just in case without having to add them to the order. But the price was good and the owners were fun to work with.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
156 W. Main St., Mesa, AZ 85201 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for A Savory Affair Cuisine and Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1231918354857-asablak1