130x130_sq_1348688179051-blogad2

A Simple Cake

New York , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

335 W 38th St, 11th Floor
New York, NY US 10018 (map)

PHONE

917-499-2030

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Extraordinary can be simple . . . and delicious.

We offer budget friendly cakes while keeping the quality and taste of a custom cake.

Visit our website at... Read more
Extraordinary can be simple . . . and delicious.

We offer budget friendly cakes while keeping the quality and taste of a custom cake.

Visit our website at www.asimplecake.com

Also visit our blog for ideas, inspiration and what we're working on at www.asimplecake.blogspot.com

Or reach us at 917.499.2030 to scheudle a tasting or inquire about a sample cake Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1348688662369-mg7397
130x130_sq_1398817064882-asc-pearl-dot-marz-mon
130x130_sq_1398816290534-eves-cake-july-201
130x130_sq_1360191626110-mg6137
130x130_sq_1398815775949-asc-silver-dragee--satin-ribbo
130x130_sq_1398815824993-asc-raining-dots-pin
130x130_sq_1360191810795-callasandglass
130x130_sq_1360191123252-emilyandannabelle

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got our wedding cake from A Simple Cake after tasting samples from a few other places. We were so happy with our decision! The cake was gorgeous and delicious -- we were sad not to have ordered extra to have more left over! But we plan to order a small one for our one year anniversary, it was that good. The people we worked with at A Simple Cake were professional and responsive, and the cake was delivered in perfect condition.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Oksana
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Lauren was amazing! She created the cake of my dreams! It looked awesome and tasted so good. All the guests loved it! I would highly recommend her to my friends.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Cannot say enough nice things about this vendor. I met with Lauren very close to the date (less than two weeks) for a tasting, but she was unruffled, matter-of-fact, and refreshingly NOT bridal-industry-crazy! My fiance was ill at the time, so Lauren boxed up slices of the same cakes I'd tasted to take home... all we had to do was contact her once we'd made up our minds. The cake was beautiful and was delivered on time, and exactly as promised.

We planned our wedding in a ridiculously short time frame, and throughout the process I would meet what I think of as wedding-industry hysterics—you know, the people who screech, "What do you mean you didn't start planning a year in advance?! You must not be ~~serious~~ about your wedding!" Lauren was the perfect example of the OPPOSITE of that kind of vendor. No drama, no hysterics—just straight-up competence and an exceptional product. An absolute pleasure to work with... and, seriously, ALL the cakes I tasted were superb. Already wishing our first anniversary could come faster so we can have more of it immediately! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Lauren was fantastic to deal with, very nice, efficient and helpful. Our cake was truly beautiful and delicious. I cannot recommend A Simple Cake highly enough. Thank you!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
I can not begin to tell you how awesome Lauren at A Simple Cake is but I will try . She is very detail oriented, professional, punctual, knowledgeable , and friendly. She genuinely loves her job. She not only made our cake beautiful and delicious , she was like a best friend helping us with detail in our wedding. I can not tell you how important that is to have in a vendor . She goes above her job description. Now onto the cake.. We had a lemon cake with fresh berries and cream inside. Our guests loved it. She also did a surprise grooms cake of dark chocolate and chocolate cream. Delicious! They keep the top tier of the cake which is perfect for freezing. Thank you so much again Lauren!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience working with Lauren. She answered all of our questions thoroughly and was very helpful in making decisions about the flavor and design of our cake. But beyond all else, the cake was DELICIOUS. Our friends and family still can't stop talking about how good it was all these months later! We also really appreciated the clarity and ease of using their website. Having prices, flavors and decorations outlined upfront, plus the ability to order samples and the actual cake online was a tremendous plus -- if only the rest of the wedding industry would follow suit!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clare
Wedding:
3/29/2013
5.0/5.0
We worked with Lauren at A Simple Cake, for our wedding cake and what a pleasure it was!

Lauren herself is lovely, talented and extremely professional. Nothing was a problem working with her. Emails and phone calls promptly responded to, tasting a breeze, and day-of delivery a non-issue!

We had a three tier buttercream, golden yellow cake, with tri-berry filling and it was delicious. They have their own buttercream recipe and it definitely tastes that way without the weird grainy, sugary or oily feeling that you get from so many weddings cakes.

We didn't want to spend a small fortune on the cake, but obviously wanted something delicious and pretty and A Simple Cake fit the bill perfectly. They had such wonderful designs to choose from and we settled on the Ruffles, which is one of their new designs and so divine! There are a few pictures of it on our wedding photographers blog here http://www.michellelange.com/blog/2013/04/01/wed-clare-john-new-leaf-restaurant-fort-tryon-park/

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to any of my friends not only for a wedding but for any special occasion!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My husband and I found A Simple Cake because it came with our reception package. This was perfect because we wanted a simple, white cake and probably would have found A Simple Cake had they not been recommended by our reception site.
We had our tasting and tried a number of different cakes and filings, as well as the fondant. Everything tasted amazing and we wound up picking an all chocolate cake. Picking the exterior design was also difficult because there were so many pretty options. When we finally made our choices, submitting them on the website was very easy and user-friendly.
Lauren was a wealth of information during our tasting, and followed up promptly when she said she would. When the big day came, our cake looked beautiful and tasted even better than I remembered. It was a pleasure working with A Simple Cake and the results were delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Frances
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Lauren from A Simple Cake worked with us to create an amazing cake - chocolate chip with milk chocolate mousse filling full of brownie bits. Everyone raved about cake at our wedding. Her red velvet and even yellow cake tastes amazing!

The design was elegant and we added ribbon and diamonds to it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sachi
Wedding:
10/12/2012
5.0/5.0
After doing a lot of research on cake comapnies we decided to go ahead with a simple cake. The great thing about these guys is that you can order your wedding cake samples to go and we made a party out of it with friends. We decided to go with a four tier cake with two seperate flavors. Everyone at our wedding absolutely LOVED the cake. I'm really sad that Hurricane Sandy ruined out top tier which was saved - but we will be placing another order with these guys instead to replace it. They are amazing. Cakes are fluffly and too delicious for words. You will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg15
Crystal
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
I love Lauren! She's so nice and lovable! My wedding cake was perfect. She did exactly what I imagine it to be. I highly recommend "A Simple Cake" for any event!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
risdgal
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Lauren at A Simple Cake was an absolute joy to work with. She was so relaxed, on-the-ball, and helpful. I brought a couple of friends to my cake tasting and we had a blast trying different cake flavors. After that, I just went on her super-easy website and mixed & matched until I had created my dream wedding cake. How easy is that?

My aunt who owns a bakery was at the wedding and raved about my lemon with coconut filling cake. It was delicious!! So much that my husband and I couldn't bear to freeze the top tier the next day, we had it for lunch. PERFECTION.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
3/22/2014
4.9/5.0
A Simple Cake was great to work with and the cakes are delicious! Our wedding cake looked exactly like the one we'd picked out on the site and was budget friendly vs many of the other wedding cake bakeries in NYC!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
I loved being able to peruse the cake designs and choose one through their website. It's really as simple as it gets. The cake was beautiful and delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
reneejustrenee
Wedding:
11/12/2011
4.9/5.0
A Simple Cake is an absolute miracle - a wedding cake that you can plan out online, with clear cost-per-slice disclosure and an amazing collection of styles and flavors. It's owned by Gale Watson, whose reviews speak for themselves. The beauty of A Simple Cake is that you can mix-and-match accents and styles that all fit together, so you're guaranteed something elegant and classy. As a long-distance bride, it was incredibly helpful. We can't wait to eat the top tier at our anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1370524766205-271098101502402544810334084397n
Andrea
Wedding:
7/20/2013
4.8/5.0
Lauren was amazing! She was so friendly, so easy to work with, so nice! We had no issues with our cake, and we did a lot of tastings and this was hands-down the best. Even the fondant is incredible! We couldn't be happier!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/8/2014
4.6/5.0
Our experience with Lauren and A Simple Cake was great. Our wedding cake was not only beautiful, but totally delicious. Almost every single piece was eaten well before the end of the reception (and we ordered plenty!). We had a cake tasting session a couple of months before the wedding and it was so much fun. Lauren made this part of the wedding planning process easy. We would definitely recommend A Simple Cake to any one looking for a perfect wedding cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
9/22/2012
4.5/5.0
Extremely professional service. Great website that enables easy ordering. Great value if you don't want something personalized. Cake tasted and looked amazing.

The stars for flexibility is because that is not their area of specialty. They have set options to select from and that's what keeps the price extremely reasonable
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
335 W 38th St, 11th Floor, New York, NY 10018 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for A Simple Cake
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1348688179051-blogad2