130x130 sq 1391627508811 slowmoney431

A Spice of Life Catering + Events

Boulder , CO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

5541 Central Avenue, Suite 272
Boulder, CO 80301 US (map)

PHONE

303-443-4049

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A Spice of Life Catering Events is an award winning locally owned Boulder company serving the Front Range area since 1987. A Spice of Life is committed to providing highest quality food... Read more
A Spice of Life Catering Events is an award winning locally owned Boulder company serving the Front Range area since 1987. A Spice of Life is committed to providing highest quality food and beverage with overwhelming presentation and first class service. Our mission is to make our clients feel like guests at their own successful event.



The A Spice of Life Event Planning, Kitchen, and Service Teams are professional, experienced and knowledgeable; each department strives to produce flawless, distinctive events that will impress you and your guests. As a full-service event planning company, we offer event design consultations, custom menus, site walkthroughs and on-site coordination along with our gracious and capable service. For over two decades, our impeccable standards and pursuit of innovation have resulted in award-winning cuisine. Our talented gourmet kitchen staff is supervised by an experienced Executive Chef as well as a creatively gifted Chef de Cuisine. Our menus feature superior, fresh ingredients, sourced locally whenever possible.



A Spice of Life is ranked as the #1 Boulder Catering Company, winner of The Boulder Daily Camera Boulder County Gold People's Choice Award from 2000 through 2013. We also support our community through donations to more than 60 community fundraising and non-profit organizations each year.



A Spice of Life is a Zero Waste facility and operation. By joining with Boulder's own Eco-Cycle, we’re able to drastically reduce the amount of waste we produce through appropriate composting and recycling. Read less
Catering , Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1374244814305 slowmoney4314
130x130 sq 1374244861489 slowmoney4344
130x130 sq 1374245119852 slowmoney4528
130x130 sq 1374244499069 fttsalad
130x130 sq 1374244911120 slowmoney4418
130x130 sq 1374244765155 img1393
130x130 sq 1374244504778 roastedchicken
130x130 sq 1374244575125 048spice3jtimmer
130x130 sq 1374245878600 img1425
130x130 sq 1374245729667 img2026
130x130 sq 1374245778933 img2134
130x130 sq 1374244510741 strawberrybruschetta
130x130 sq 1374245831808 img2874
130x130 sq 1374244643067 161spicefarm2080212
130x130 sq 1374244610854 0100farmtablejtimmer
130x130 sq 1374244671694 fftdinnerpork
130x130 sq 1374245242180 dpp0027
130x130 sq 1374245250209 dpp0029
130x130 sq 1374245270830 dpp0050
130x130 sq 1374245298664 dpp0067
130x130 sq 1374245333782 036spicefarm2080212
130x130 sq 1374245365146 055spicefarm2080212
130x130 sq 1374245389180 079spicefarm2080212
130x130 sq 1374245419732 134spicefarm2080212
130x130 sq 1374245450478 166spicefarm2080212
130x130 sq 1374245518661 0068farmtablejtimmer
130x130 sq 1374245614813 0135farmtablejtimmer
130x130 sq 1374245552085 0070farmtablejtimmer
130x130 sq 1339774129791 aspiceoflifeimage3
130x130 sq 1339774144092 aspiceoflifeimage5
130x130 sq 1339774159153 aspifeoflifeimage1
130x130 sq 1339774122035 aspiceoflifeimage2
130x130 sq 1339774136936 aspiceoflifeimage4
130x130 sq 1339774151886 aspiceoflifeimage6

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, British, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, French, German, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
We offer our clients complimentary private tastings as an opportunity to refine their menu selections. At your request, your event specialist will design a tasting menu for you and your fiancé based on the menu you’ll serve to your guests on your wedding day.
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
While we have skilled pastry chefs in our kitchen to craft a variety of desserts for your reception, we recommend contacting a professional wedding cake maker for your wedding cake. We can, however, provide additional sheet cakes that may be needed to serve all your guests in a variety of delicious flavors.
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
A Spice of Life offers complimentary cake cutting and serving as part of our services on your wedding day. After the ceremonial cake cutting, members of the service staff will cut and distribute your chosen wedding cake or other dessert to your guests.
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
A Spice of Life Catering holds a liquor license at our A Spice of Life Event Center. For events held at venues other than our event center, we have TIPS trained bartenders as well as liquor liability insurance to serve your alcohol.
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
A Spice of Life is the exclusive provider of alcohol at the A Spice of Life Event Center location in accordance with our liquor license. At other locations, A Spice of Life can recommend local providers of alcohol and will provide professional bartenders to serve your guests responsibly, without a corkage fee.
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
As a full-service event planning company, we are more than capable of coordinating any rental needs you might have, from china and flatware to tenting and lighting. We have our own in-house rental items available and can contract with other local rental companies as needed on your behalf. We act as the liaison with most of the vendors and services required for your event so that you may enjoy your day without worrying about the logistics.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
A Spice of Life has a wonderful team of service professionals who strive to exceed expectations for you, your family, your guests, and your vendors. Our staff undergoes extensive training to ensure the service you receive is consistent and courteous.
What is your maximum catering capacity?
2000

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1970
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Country / Golf Club
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
275
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
ColoradoBride
Wedding:
6/21/2008
4.7/5.0
I had a great experience with Spice! They are a little pricey, but definitely still within the reasonable limits. They did a GORGEOUS job with my rehearsal dinner, and pretty much did everything I asked. They were very courteous, professional, responsive, and easy to work with. I would ABSOLUTELY go with them again!
I had a great experience with Spice! They are a little pricey, but definitely still within the reasonable limits. They did Read more...
I had a great experience with Spice! They are a little pricey, but definitely still within the reasonable limits. They did a GORGEOUS job with my rehearsal dinner, and pretty much did everything I asked. They were very courteous, professional, responsive, and easy to work with. I would ABSOLUTELY go with them again! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Kristin
Wedding:
9/20/2014
4.6/5.0
Amanda was a great contact and very flexible with our menu. The only thing I would change is the communication could have been a little more clear. The details of our walk through were a little bit miscommunicated. After that and up until the day of the wedding they totally made up for it. The day of the team was fabulous to work with. Thanks!
Amanda was a great contact and very flexible with our menu. The only thing I would change is the communication could have Read more...
Amanda was a great contact and very flexible with our menu. The only thing I would change is the communication could have been a little more clear. The details of our walk through were a little bit miscommunicated. After that and up until the day of the wedding they totally made up for it. The day of the team was fabulous to work with. Thanks! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
A
Wedding:
1/2/2014
4.6/5.0
Our wedding was on January 2nd of this year. We were originally going to have it at the A Spice of Life Event Center, but since it didn't reopen with the flooding, we had to find a new venue. The staff at A Spice of Life was great! They gave us a list of venues to choose from, and went along with the decision we eventually decided on. While there were some monetary issues due to the change in location, we got those worked out.
We also worked with three different people within A Spice of Life (at various times), and at the end, our Event Coordinator was Amanda - who was amazing!

At the end of the day, our wedding went super smoothly!! Amanda and Meridi were wonderful! They were there for us, and made sure that everything went great - they even made sure that my husband and I ate! :D The rest of the staff and the bartenders were wonderful, and talked to the guests and had a good time as well as did their job!

We did a plated dinner and had options for a fish dish (my personal favorite!), a chicken dish, a vegetarian dish (my husband's favorite!), and a vegan dish (a close second favorite for me - and great for the vegan guests you might have!). I have a lot of dietary restrictions, so was hesitant and worried about the meals, but A Spice of Life was very, very, very accommodating and I felt great afterwards!

All we heard after the wedding from the guests, was how amazing all of the food was, and how wonderful the event staff were! I just wish we had more leftovers to take home with us... :/
Our wedding was on January 2nd of this year. We were originally going to have it at the A Spice of Life Event Center, but Read more...
Our wedding was on January 2nd of this year. We were originally going to have it at the A Spice of Life Event Center, but since it didn't reopen with the flooding, we had to find a new venue. The staff at A Spice of Life was great! They gave us a list of venues to choose from, and went along with the decision we eventually decided on. While there were some monetary issues due to the change in location, we got those worked out.
We also worked with three different people within A Spice of Life (at various times), and at the end, our Event Coordinator was Amanda - who was amazing!

At the end of the day, our wedding went super smoothly!! Amanda and Meridi were wonderful! They were there for us, and made sure that everything went great - they even made sure that my husband and I ate! :D The rest of the staff and the bartenders were wonderful, and talked to the guests and had a good time as well as did their job!

We did a plated dinner and had options for a fish dish (my personal favorite!), a chicken dish, a vegetarian dish (my husband's favorite!), and a vegan dish (a close second favorite for me - and great for the vegan guests you might have!). I have a lot of dietary restrictions, so was hesitant and worried about the meals, but A Spice of Life was very, very, very accommodating and I felt great afterwards!

All we heard after the wedding from the guests, was how amazing all of the food was, and how wonderful the event staff were! I just wish we had more leftovers to take home with us... :/ Read less
Services Used: Catering
130x130 sq 1325901935977 dscn3219
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/9/2012
4.6/5.0
I loved how Spice of Life knew our reception venue up and down - Dawn was great for knowing what would fly at Planet Bluegrass and what would not, that was irreplaceable, truly! I also loved all the personal touches and service on the day of our wedding. In choosing the menu Dawn was so helpful with what would work together and what would not. I also loved their WIDE variety of foods to choose from. The presentation of the food was also phenomenal on the day of. I will say though that the food on the day of our wedding tasted of a lower quality than on the day of my husband and I's tasting, it was not bad, just not the same level of quality I had anticipated. Lastly, I loved how even though we were not having the reception at their event center they still coordinated all our rentals.
I loved how Spice of Life knew our reception venue up and down - Dawn was great for knowing what would fly at Planet Read more...
I loved how Spice of Life knew our reception venue up and down - Dawn was great for knowing what would fly at Planet Bluegrass and what would not, that was irreplaceable, truly! I also loved all the personal touches and service on the day of our wedding. In choosing the menu Dawn was so helpful with what would work together and what would not. I also loved their WIDE variety of foods to choose from. The presentation of the food was also phenomenal on the day of. I will say though that the food on the day of our wedding tasted of a lower quality than on the day of my husband and I's tasting, it was not bad, just not the same level of quality I had anticipated. Lastly, I loved how even though we were not having the reception at their event center they still coordinated all our rentals. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Heather
Wedding:
7/10/2004
4.6/5.0
They were wonderful! I always got a quick response from them regarding changes to the menu and number of guest. They worked with us to create the perfect menu and we never had to worry about running out of food to feed our guests. During the reception they also made sure that everything ran smoothly and stayed on time.
They were wonderful! I always got a quick response from them regarding changes to the menu and number of guest. They Read more...
They were wonderful! I always got a quick response from them regarding changes to the menu and number of guest. They worked with us to create the perfect menu and we never had to worry about running out of food to feed our guests. During the reception they also made sure that everything ran smoothly and stayed on time. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
juliamecklenburg
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.5/5.0
A Spice of Life was recommended to us by our wedding planner. The tasting was fantastic and we only changed a couple of things on the menu. We asked that the contract show the cost/item which was helpful with our budget. We also adjusted some things based on how much each item cost. I'm glad we did a walk through beforehand of the set up as there were somethings that were important to me that ASOL was able to accomodate after we reviewed them in the walk through (head table set up, buffet set up, coffee stand, etc.). The food turned out delicious and we received many compliments from guests on the tasty orderves and friendly staff. I would highly recommend the carving station if it's in your budget. The steak was delicious! ASOL provided a waiter at the reception who waited on just me and my new husband. That was amazing and I would highly recommend having your own waiter at your reception, no matter which catering company you go with! A couple of concerns that came up for us were that it took a very long time to finalize the contract, and that was partly due to ASOL taking a couple of months to get back to us with requested changes. Also the heater for the carving station didn't work and it was reported from a couple of guests that at the end of the night, the coffee was cold. Other then that though, everything went really smoothly. The reception was so wonderful and I am very thankful that we chose ASOL as our cateror.
A Spice of Life was recommended to us by our wedding planner. The tasting was fantastic and we only changed a couple of Read more...
A Spice of Life was recommended to us by our wedding planner. The tasting was fantastic and we only changed a couple of things on the menu. We asked that the contract show the cost/item which was helpful with our budget. We also adjusted some things based on how much each item cost. I'm glad we did a walk through beforehand of the set up as there were somethings that were important to me that ASOL was able to accomodate after we reviewed them in the walk through (head table set up, buffet set up, coffee stand, etc.). The food turned out delicious and we received many compliments from guests on the tasty orderves and friendly staff. I would highly recommend the carving station if it's in your budget. The steak was delicious! ASOL provided a waiter at the reception who waited on just me and my new husband. That was amazing and I would highly recommend having your own waiter at your reception, no matter which catering company you go with! A couple of concerns that came up for us were that it took a very long time to finalize the contract, and that was partly due to ASOL taking a couple of months to get back to us with requested changes. Also the heater for the carving station didn't work and it was reported from a couple of guests that at the end of the night, the coffee was cold. Other then that though, everything went really smoothly. The reception was so wonderful and I am very thankful that we chose ASOL as our cateror. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
jespatch
Wedding:
1/6/2012
4.4/5.0
A Spice of Life was great. Everything was on time, tasted great, and they even were able to accomodate the guests at my wedding that had special dietary needs.
A Spice of Life was great. Everything was on time, tasted great, and they even were able to accomodate the guests at my Read more...
A Spice of Life was great. Everything was on time, tasted great, and they even were able to accomodate the guests at my wedding that had special dietary needs. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.3/5.0
I really liked the location of this venue. We had our wedding outside on the golf course, and the weather was beautiful. They stop the golf while the ceremony is going on so that was really nice. The few issues I had was that it was extremely difficult to find a hotel in Boulder that was close to the venue that wasn't extremely expensive. We ended up at the Courtyard Marriott which was one of the cheapest yet still nice hotels. However their room rate was still high.

The second issue was that we had a little mix up with the bar tab after the event. We had a set amount that was hosted and for some reason one of the wedding planners "thought" my dad said to add another $500 to the tab during dinner. He had said he would "consider" it if we got closer to the limit. So we got a big old bill after the wedding for an extra $500 that no one knew about. They need to have contract addendum's or something around for people to actual SIGN and confirm they want to add more money to the bar.

Over all though, the look/feel of the location was really nice, and the staff was great to work with except for the bar mishap. And the food was amazing.
I really liked the location of this venue. We had our wedding outside on the golf course, and the weather was beautiful. Read more...
I really liked the location of this venue. We had our wedding outside on the golf course, and the weather was beautiful. They stop the golf while the ceremony is going on so that was really nice. The few issues I had was that it was extremely difficult to find a hotel in Boulder that was close to the venue that wasn't extremely expensive. We ended up at the Courtyard Marriott which was one of the cheapest yet still nice hotels. However their room rate was still high.

The second issue was that we had a little mix up with the bar tab after the event. We had a set amount that was hosted and for some reason one of the wedding planners "thought" my dad said to add another $500 to the tab during dinner. He had said he would "consider" it if we got closer to the limit. So we got a big old bill after the wedding for an extra $500 that no one knew about. They need to have contract addendum's or something around for people to actual SIGN and confirm they want to add more money to the bar.

Over all though, the look/feel of the location was really nice, and the staff was great to work with except for the bar mishap. And the food was amazing. Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
megan
Wedding:
7/13/2013
4.2/5.0
Spice of life provided me with a beautiful ceremony location and in the same venue my reception as well. It was also awesome to have my caterer at the same venue as well. Since they were all in the same company, everything flowed nicely and was easy to work with only one company for all 3 services. Their prices were definitely reasonable and their food delicious. I only ranked a little lower than 5 since they transitioned out coordinators in the middle of my planning and a few things that were promised were not so easily promised a second time with the new coordinator. With that said, they did a great job and I had a beautiful wedding. Thank you!
Spice of life provided me with a beautiful ceremony location and in the same venue my reception as well. It was also Read more...
Spice of life provided me with a beautiful ceremony location and in the same venue my reception as well. It was also awesome to have my caterer at the same venue as well. Since they were all in the same company, everything flowed nicely and was easy to work with only one company for all 3 services. Their prices were definitely reasonable and their food delicious. I only ranked a little lower than 5 since they transitioned out coordinators in the middle of my planning and a few things that were promised were not so easily promised a second time with the new coordinator. With that said, they did a great job and I had a beautiful wedding. Thank you! Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork 128
brandy
Wedding:
4/12/2013
4.2/5.0
We had an amazing wedding. we got in on a special and learned a few tricks in the business to receive additional discounts- which made our dream wedding a reality. the staff here is amazing. Holly helped us all along the way and answered all of my questions and was flexible, letting me pick and choose how I wanted things to work, let us stop by several times to try and figure out set up, etc. worked with us on a custom menu and selection. Zach set up the ceremony site and helped us with our final set up decisions and also with the flow of the ceremony and dinner reception. Holly thought of almost everything and managed to keep a dialogue going with me for several months during planning and constructing. It takes a lot more thought and consideration planning a wedding that I would have ever imagined but she helped make it easier.\r\nOnly cons were: there was a slight delay in response, but this is common I found out-in the wedding industry. There was a slight misunderstanding and one ingredient that was pretty adamantly left out of the menu-due to severe reaction-was accidentally included during the wedding -yikes, but catastrophe was avoided as I caught it in time and removed it from the plate.\r\nWe had such a good time, we forgot to make ourselves a doggy bag to take with us and the food was SO good but we didnt have a good chance to eat, so I was bummed about that. The tastings we went to were amazing-we loved everything and had a very difficult time choosing only a couple of appetizers and only one dish for dinner! But that\'s a good problem to have.\r\nWe loved the Spice of Life and felt very lucky to have had our wedding here outdoors with the flatirons in the backdrop and a wonderful space with plenty of room for our guests and a built-in dancefloor (as well as a back up rain plan) and free parking-all in such a beautiful space.\r\nDefinitely recommend them.
We had an amazing wedding. we got in on a special and learned a few tricks in the business to receive additional Read more...
We had an amazing wedding. we got in on a special and learned a few tricks in the business to receive additional discounts- which made our dream wedding a reality. the staff here is amazing. Holly helped us all along the way and answered all of my questions and was flexible, letting me pick and choose how I wanted things to work, let us stop by several times to try and figure out set up, etc. worked with us on a custom menu and selection. Zach set up the ceremony site and helped us with our final set up decisions and also with the flow of the ceremony and dinner reception. Holly thought of almost everything and managed to keep a dialogue going with me for several months during planning and constructing. It takes a lot more thought and consideration planning a wedding that I would have ever imagined but she helped make it easier.\r\nOnly cons were: there was a slight delay in response, but this is common I found out-in the wedding industry. There was a slight misunderstanding and one ingredient that was pretty adamantly left out of the menu-due to severe reaction-was accidentally included during the wedding -yikes, but catastrophe was avoided as I caught it in time and removed it from the plate.\r\nWe had such a good time, we forgot to make ourselves a doggy bag to take with us and the food was SO good but we didnt have a good chance to eat, so I was bummed about that. The tastings we went to were amazing-we loved everything and had a very difficult time choosing only a couple of appetizers and only one dish for dinner! But that\'s a good problem to have.\r\nWe loved the Spice of Life and felt very lucky to have had our wedding here outdoors with the flatirons in the backdrop and a wonderful space with plenty of room for our guests and a built-in dancefloor (as well as a back up rain plan) and free parking-all in such a beautiful space.\r\nDefinitely recommend them. Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
5541 Central Avenue, Suite 272, Boulder, CO 80301 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for A Spice of Life Catering + Events
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1391627508811 slowmoney431