130x130_sq_1279583967984-asachistyle

A Stem Above, LLC.

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1821 W Hubbard Ste 108
Chicago, IL US 60622 (map)

PHONE

312-226-6422

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A Stem Above offers unique designs from personal bouquets to overall event styling for a creative look above and beyond your expectations. Specializing in one-on-one consultations to... Read more
A Stem Above offers unique designs from personal bouquets to overall event styling for a creative look above and beyond your expectations. Specializing in one-on-one consultations to ensure your event is what you have imagined. A Stem Above always keeps in mind the goal to keep details and attentiveness at the forefront. Please contact us to start the consultation process! We work in all types of budgets depending on our availability! Read less
Flowers

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1388352686361-michelletodd016
130x130_sq_1388352876086-jpixphotography-4085-cop
130x130_sq_1388352998912-49
130x130_sq_1375985371608-0211
130x130_sq_1365876886790
130x130_sq_1375985412063-0721
130x130_sq_1388352817674-20130419delfslesiewicz042
130x130_sq_1388353016041-11
130x130_sq_1375991246301-bunchdesirejppstudiosllcktjppstudios42low
130x130_sq_1226613754590-17fosterolszewski860
130x130_sq_1375991116198-2012-06-02-13.08.08
130x130_sq_1388352328457-deena--matt---the-rasers-photography-04
130x130_sq_1226614686403-mason_300
130x130_sq_1365873786297-mg0149
130x130_sq_1388352205486-deena--matt---the-rasers-photography-00
130x130_sq_1375985392812-0707
130x130_sq_1388352621107-i001
130x130_sq_1375990869063-2o6v8581-1728996916-o
130x130_sq_1365879317954-gt-1071.1
130x130_sq_1375990972286-067ad0722
130x130_sq_1375991076479-458ab-2199447842-o
130x130_sq_1375990996543-0108
130x130_sq_1365879728245-elizabethkevinwedding355
130x130_sq_1279582604640-0150
130x130_sq_1375991257690-dawn-e-roscoe-wedding-photography31
130x130_sq_1375991042697-456ab-2199428929-o
130x130_sq_1375991167826-ad0626
130x130_sq_1226614465340-121_2104
130x130_sq_1255667731606-i0864
130x130_sq_1375991458277-mj-580
130x130_sq_1375991483067-warnermicklowhusarphotography044low
130x130_sq_1375991250647-bunchdesirejppstudiosllcktjppstudios81low
130x130_sq_1226614792887-pinkwedding6-9-07-06
130x130_sq_1255665899466-img2437
130x130_sq_1375991189910-ab-58-1823874620-o
130x130_sq_1375991407476-img3562
130x130_sq_1255666061872-kd0480
130x130_sq_1255666081559-kd0081
130x130_sq_1375991319594-i1652
130x130_sq_1375991221172-ab-667-1824258102-o
130x130_sq_1255666430247-img2877
130x130_sq_1226615539996-img_0124
130x130_sq_1375991479689-siegelkaplancarascophotography00601low
130x130_sq_1255666849825-bouquets
130x130_sq_1375991254254-dawn-e-roscoe-wedding-photography24
130x130_sq_1255667108231-img2784
130x130_sq_1375991365651-i1763
130x130_sq_1365873560177-gt-997
130x130_sq_1255667411747-041407meschelandsteve062
130x130_sq_1375991281385-i1308
130x130_sq_1375991486958-warnermicklowhusarphotography591low
130x130_sq_1375991451011-mj-578
130x130_sq_1375991443720-mj-541
130x130_sq_1226614124496-img_0251
130x130_sq_1255668128919-img1233
130x130_sq_1255667870559-img1217
130x130_sq_1375991466818-sa-1000
130x130_sq_1226615906012-miller0258_1
130x130_sq_1375991437679-ivyroom56527
130x130_sq_1255668185638-kd0178
130x130_sq_1255669075919-mm0603
130x130_sq_1255669113184-ciddf95e298762c4b47a96ce1132cbe5be8local
130x130_sq_1255669188716-img1636
130x130_sq_1260903467140-042907christinaandsotirios128
130x130_sq_1260903802171-042907christinaandsotirios276
130x130_sq_1260898069890-img2877
130x130_sq_1260906543468-090906andreaandmichael008
130x130_sq_1365873865204-dsc1174
130x130_sq_1260898376421-img2218
130x130_sq_1260904485984-kristinasreception5
130x130_sq_1279591634328-589
130x130_sq_1255668045278-bouquets2
130x130_sq_1260902468703-img3110
130x130_sq_1260906282406-090906andreaandmichael012
130x130_sq_1365879746267-elizabethkevinwedding361
130x130_sq_1279583696921-img4106
130x130_sq_1279582684515-img4103
130x130_sq_1279591522468-ad0486
130x130_sq_1279582693218-32089h7540
130x130_sq_1365879738870-elizabethkevinwedding359
130x130_sq_1279591629968-i100346
130x130_sq_1226616614903-041407meschelandsteve040
130x130_sq_1279582761953-img3778
130x130_sq_1279582811437-img3785
130x130_sq_1279582861156-img3821
130x130_sq_1279582895328-img3802
130x130_sq_1279583696671-img4103
130x130_sq_1279583788312-img4043
130x130_sq_1279591531796-ad0608
130x130_sq_1279591567781-img2437
130x130_sq_1279591574406-mcguire2072
130x130_sq_1279591623875-0126
130x130_sq_1375990922231-2o6v8582-1728997454-o
130x130_sq_1375991022930-0428www.davlincourt.com0755
130x130_sq_1375991262279-finchwedding-822

INFO FOR FLOWERS

Do you offer free or for charge consultations?
Free
Do you provide free or for charge sample arrangements?
Free
Do you offer delivery, set up, and breakdown services?
Breakdown, Delivery, Setup
What type of decor (if any) do you offer?
ASA offers everything from table top decor, linen consults, lighting consults, to chair rental.
Do you provide non-floral additions to floral arrangements?
Yes.
Do you offer full-services, such as wedding day setup, for an additional fee?
No, we have a list of recommended vendors for day-of planning.
If you have not worked at the ceremony or reception sites previously, would you be willing to visit the sites before the event?
Yes.
Do you offer flower preservation services?
No.
How do clients set up a consultation?
By emailing ASA or calling the studio.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.3/5.0
The flowers were beautiful... everyone said how wonderful they were. When we walked into the venue the flowers really made an impression and were very very beautiful. Erin is very nice and she is truly an artist.

My disappointment was mostly with the details. The contract continued to use language that wasn't true to our event. We also had booked an appointment the day that we first met for the flower previewing closer to the wedding date. I called the week before to confirm and didn't hear anything back for days, and the appointment was not on their calendar, however, Erin was able to meet with me and took the time to talk to me about arrangements, which was greatly appreciated.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrienne
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
We could NOT be happier! We met Erin many months before the wedding after I read all of her other terrific reviews on wedding wire. I had met with several other Chicago florists who just could not seem to work within our "small" floral budget as they told me at the meetings. At our first meeting with Erin she was really friendly and had no problem working within the stated budget. I then brought my fiance back to meet her and he was just as excited as I was. We discussed what we wanted, looked through pictures, and came up with a plan. As it got closer to the wedding, we had another meeting for a mock up and were able to see 2 of the centerpieces. When you describe how you want the decorations to look, you never know if the other person really "gets it" but, wow, she absolutely understood our vision! We left even happier than the first meeting. On the day of the wedding we showed up to the venue we saw Erin and her team hard at work finishing up the last minute details. Everything looked even more beautiful than the mock up. We used her company for centerpieces, bouquets, ceremony decor, and lighting. We had a combined Jewish/Hindu ceremony and she made us a beautiful chuppah/mandap. She also had access to Indian chairs which we were able to rent through her. I recommended her to some friends even before our wedding day but after seeing the final product, I just cannot say enough good things. Working with Erin and A Stem Above was a dream come true!
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Erin captured my vision perfectly. I was in awe of the arrangements she put together. It was like my Pinterest board had come to life. She's amazing!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashlee
Wedding:
9/22/2013
5.0/5.0
A Stem Above could not have been a more perfect choice to handle our wedding. From the initial consultation, Erin was easy to work with. She was able to articulate the entire look and feel I was going for in my wedding. From unique glass tear drops filled with flowers hanging at our alter to the floral crowns for the flower girls to the centerpieces. People could not stop talking about the flowers. Even the wedding coordinator said she didn't know when she had ever seen such a beautiful bridal bouquet and she's seen a lot of bouquets!!!Thank you A Stem Above for making our wedding day a truly beautiful day!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
Erin, who owns a Stem Above, is wonderful, creative person to work with. We had many raves about our beautiful and elegant flowers. We had 3 heights of center pieces and Erin showed us examples of all three starting with the highest and reworking them. She certainly met our daughter's vision.

I would highly recommend A Stem Above for your flowers. Erin also supplied our table linen.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.7/5.0
My fiancé (now husband) and I thoroughly enjoyed working with Erin and the rest of the ASA team. Erin was very easy to talk to about what we both wanted and it was great to have her input since it was right on par with my vision. When my flowers were delivered to my hotel room the morning of the wedding, I was completely floored with my bouquet: I loved it beyond reason! I had also wanted to incorporate fabric from one of my Dad’s shirts and she did a marvelous job working that into the “flow” of my bouquet. Not only was my bouquet spectacular, the flowers for my bridesmaids, my flower girl, the Mom bracelets and all the boutonnieres were everything I wanted and more!

The flowers for our reception space were also stunning! We had three different looks and I don’t think I heard one person say they liked one centerpiece more than another.

All and all, I was absolutely blown away by how great everything looked and how it all came together! Erin is great to work with and I would recommend her & her team hands down (and I would definitely use her in the future for some other event)!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dominika
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Erin was recommended to me by a friend. I couldn't be happier with the services provided by A Stem Above. Erin is so easy to work with. She is very creative, patient and her designs are nothing short of perfection. Starting from the candle votives running down the isle, to my stunning bouquet with feathers, all was amazing. Erin was always on top of things, quickly responding to all of my emails and phone calls. A Stem Above proposal was the most professional I have seen outlining every little detail. I am looking forward to working with Erin again!

Dominika
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Erin did an amazing job! I had somewhat specific idea of how I wanted my flowers to look. I met with her explained my vision and when my husband and I went to meet with her for a mock trial it was everything I wanted. My boquet was stunning and everything we ordered was delivered on time and looked amazing!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
7/20/2013
4.7/5.0
Thank you to the entire A Stem Above staff for making our wedding day absolutely beautiful and stress free!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
There aren't enough positive adjectives in the dictionary to described how beautiful and stunning the flower and decor was for my wedding this month. Erin tirelessly worked with us to design and create the perfect setting for our wedding ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception in Wheaton, Illinois. My husband and I moved to California during our wedding planning process from Chicago. Numerous emails with variable picture examples, flexibility to maximize meetings when we returned home, and ability to interpret what we wanted through few conversations are all examples of how A Stem Above truly impressed us with its professionalism, creativity, and ability to provide a quality product with ease.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
A stem above was very easy to work with and the flowers looked amazing. I would definitely recommend ASA for floral.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
I could tell immediately after our first meeting with Erin that she was a perfect fit for us. She is honest and amazing at what she does. All I brought her was one photo of a floral arrangement and told her that I liked the color combination. She showed me a few photos of flowers to discuss the textures and colors I liked and disliked. She was completely able to work around my ignorance in the area of flowers and colors. She also was able to read my cute but not girly style. Instantly she went to work designing and creating a vision in her head. She created a proposal and quickly sent it over.

Fast forward a few months. We go to have our showing where she set up a mock table centerpiece. We worked through what we liked and disliked and wanted changed and wanted to keep. She was very flexible and made changes on the spot based on our reaction to the sample.

Now, wedding day. I arrive at the wedding venue and am handed the most beautiful, unique, exactly my vision bouquet. The flowers were exactly what I pictured and more. Everyone thought they were beautiful and they perfectly complemented the bridesmaid dresses! She created a gorgeous arch for the ceremony as well. As we entered the reception, I was so impressed by the table centerpieces. It was just what I wanted! Beautiful manzanita branches accented by colorful bouquets and hanging tea lights mixed with submerged flowers. She also created a gorgeous branch/flower piece to display the place cards. The whole event was magical and A Stem Above helped create the perfect, colorful pieces to match! I can't wait to recommend them!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deena
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Erin was a pleasure to work with. She helped me bring to life the vision for my wedding. She is extremely creative and artistic and I am so lucky to have found her to do my wedding florals. My bouquet was amazing. The peonies were lush and maintained their vivid color the entire night. My yellow and black centerpieces where beautiful and really made my venue "pop" with color. My favorite part of working with Erin was my centerpiece mockup day. She had a table set with the place settings, linens, chairs, and centerpieces which replicated my wedding. It made me so excited for my big day and helped calm my nerves. I would recommend "A Stem Above" to everyone.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Erin and the ASA team were amazing at understanding our vision and delivering a spectacular event within budget. I highly recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I hired A Stem Above as the florist for my late May wedding in downtown Chicago and was so thrilled with the results! From the very beginning I found Erin (ASA owner) so cool and very easy to work with. I had a very specific vision in mind and she knew exactly how to bring it to life and make it even more beautiful than I had imagined. ASA handled it all for us - rehearsal dinner, ceremony decor, personal flowers, reception centerpieces, and various floral accents - each and every part was perfect and stunning! Lots of peonies! We received sooo many compliments from our guests on how gorgeous our wedding was. To top it off, ASA was able to stay exactly within our initial budget - always a bonus as wedding costs really add up. Thank you ASA, amazing work!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.2/5.0
What an awesome Job!
This note is in reference to MaryBeth Moroney and Matt Ferrante’s Wedding May 26th.
Sorry I am so late with this thank you. An unexpected hospital stay has set me back a few weeks.

The ceremony flowers were beautiful and I absolutely loved the petal aisle. The extra flower petals for the tables added that extra splash of color and were just perfect. We loved the pearl bracelets with the corsages.

Changing out the bridal bouquet was so special. I am so glad your assistant called and it could be handled on the spot to make the day perfect. Your assistant was very professional and caring. The bridemaids bouquets were also very beautiful.

I briefly saw you at the venue. Thank you for coming up with a votive for the Unity Candle table. Didn’t think about what the lighter would look like. The high boy tables were great also with the gerber daisy.

MaryBeth enjoyed working with you, being able to stay in a budget, and all your wonderful ideas and tips to make this day perfect.
(What tips – for the ceremony to face north or south instead of west, the votive to light the unity candles from, your opinion on the corks for the centerpiece to name a few. )

Thank you again. We were extremely pleased.

Kathy Moroney
Mother of the Bride
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolute Perfection! A Stem Above brought or vision to life. Thank you for making our dream a reality! I would recommend ASA to EVERY bride!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shalonda
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
I worked with Erin at A Stem Above for my Memorial Day Nuptials, and she was great! I went to several consultations with other florist before deciding to work with A Stem Above. After meeting Erin at her studio I knew I wanted to work with her. She worked within my budget, and was a true professional. She understood what I wanted and offered her expertise without being pushy. She was extremely flexible; I planned my wedding from Maryland, and was often changing the type and color of flowers I wanted. Most of our communication was via email and she never seemed to get frustrated that I was constantly emailing her. She and her staff were very accommodating. As I mentioned, I was planning from out of town and I had set dates that I could meet; it was never a problem.
On the day of the wedding the room looked absolutely AMAZING! It really was everything I had imagined; it all came together so beautifully. I would recommend Erin and her team to anyone with floral arrangement and décor needs.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diana
Wedding:
4/27/2013
4.9/5.0
Erin at ASA was a pleasure to work with for my wedding flowers. I provided her with a few photos of things that I liked, and she showed me additional photos to confirm our understanding of what I was looking for. I wasn't too picky about the specific types of flowers, but more about the colors and textures of the arrangements, so Erin worked well within my budget. What I received on my wedding day was above and beyond my expectations. My bouquet was absolutely gorgeous and exactly what i had envisioned. It even kept for an additional week in the fridge while I was on my honeymoon and another week when we were home. The florals for the tables were beautiful, and I received several comments from guests about how pretty everything looked. Erin was a pleasure to work with, listened to what I wanted, and brought my vision to life!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
4/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Brian and I used ASA for our wedding floral and ceremony decorations, and had the most amazing experience! Erin took our color ideas and ran with it. Her creations were beautiful, elegant, and captured the exact look and feel we had been hoping for! She is so professional and runs an amazing business, which I would work with again and again. Using ASA was the least stressful and most amazing part of the whole wedding process. I didn't worry one bit about the delivery, set up or take down, and everyone who came to the wedding just raved about how pretty the ceremony decor was and th floral for the bouquets and reception! ASA was such a great and essential part of our wedding!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1338398586782-fbavatar2458609
Audra
Wedding:
12/1/2012
3.7/5.0
The flowers were gorgeous. We had a few missing items on the big day, but nothing major. Erin was great to work with and made planning very easy. I gave her my vision for the day (which was pretty loose) and she ran with it! Great work.
Services Used: Flowers
A Stem Above, LLC. responded with the following comments:

Audra- Thank you for such kind words... the blessed Mary bouquet was the missing item, correct? Just trying to make sure we make a note!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
A Stem Above provided flowers for my Schaumburg, IL wedding. Erin invested time upfront in helping me identify my vision and shape it to fit within my budget. She was very creative and shared great ideas with me. For the reception she provided curly willows with orchids and hanging votives (all hand attached) as well as low centerpieces for half the tables. Very detailed work as these were set up on site and it was executed perfectly - the room looked breathtaking.

As the wedding took shape, Erin was flexible in changing our initial details and concepts (specifically for the personal flowers). These changes were made within my budget. With her flexibility to rethink and provide me new ideas, the wedding party personal flowers were what I wanted - classic but unique, soft & romantic.

Everything was delivered on time and executed as planned. Erin was upfront with her schedule and was responsive to requests/changes. Very detail oriented and very creative. Executed perfectly. Could not have asked for anything more beautiful or professional.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
H.
Wedding:
9/28/2012
4.8/5.0
There is no other word that can describe what the staff at ASA did for my wedding floral than 'breathtaking". The designs were inventive, the colors were perfect and their service was wonderful. The time spent working with the designer Amy and the owner Erin was a collaborative and creative experience. I knew that I could trust them with my vision and they took it heads and tails beyond what I could ever have imagined. I would highly recommend A Stem Above for any wedding or formal event.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Erin and her staff are amazing at what they do. Through the entire process they have been professional, imaginative and great listeners. My flowers turned out beautiful! We received compliments throughout our entire wedding on how wonderful and unique all of the flowers were. I would recommend A Stem Above in a second to any future bride!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
7/27/2012
5.0/5.0
A Stem Above did our wedding at Salvage One this past summer. It was beautiful! They used a collection of found objects, floral and votive candles. It was indie, cute, beautiful and fit the decor of Salvage One and our wedding parties attire perfectly. I'd recommend them in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
Erin and her team at A Stem Above do beautiful work and at a reasonable cost.

From our first meeting, i felt completely comfortable that Erin understood my preferences, and could take my vision and create a look that was beyond my expectations.

On the day of, A Stem Above blew me away. All the arrangements were gorgeous, the flowers perfect, and our bouquets were vibrant and gorgeous. My only regret was leaving on my honeymoon right away - i would have liked to enjoy the flowers for a week!

I've already recommended A Stem Above to two brides, and I will continue to do more. I could not have been happier!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Words cannot describe the magnificent job "A Stem Above" did in decorating the"Hall of Lions" at the Intercontinental Hotel Chicago. It was truly transformed. The flower selections, arrangements and lighting added such drama and romance to the wedding. Without your expertise this special day would not have been as magical!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
A Stem Above was amazing. Erin is beyond talented and she was so easy to work with. I highly recommend her for any event.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I could not be more thrilled with with the outcome of our wedding. Thanks to Erin at A Stem Above, our ceremony and reception were breathtakingly beautiful. Erin really took the time to listen to us and understand our vision. As a result, she was able to make our vision come to life and even managed to exceed our expectations in a number of ways. Erin is incredibly talented and a dream to work with. My husband and I sincerely appreciate everything that she did to help make our wedding day so special. We feel very lucky to have found A Stem Above. If you are looking for an exceptional florist, this is the place to go!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I could not be more thrilled with with the outcome of our wedding. Thanks to Erin at A Stem Above, our ceremony and reception were breathtakingly beautiful. Erin really took the time to listen to us and understand our vision. As a result, she was able to make our vision come to life and even managed to exceed our expectations in a number of ways. Erin is incredibly talented and a dream to work with. My husband and I sincerely appreciate everything that she did to help make our wedding day so special. We feel very lucky to have found A Stem Above. If you are looking for an exceptional florist, this is the place to go!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Cannot say enough positive things about Erin and her fabulous team! When I walked into our reception space, I was completely floored. From our placecard table to center pieces, the beautiful scene dotted with crystals and orchids was beyond magical. You certainly won't be disappointed! I told Eriin I wanted a big ball of peonies to carry and when it arrived, I couldn't stop smelling it. I kept having to wipe lipstick marks off my bouquet throughout the day because it was so incredibly lovely smelling!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gina
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Erin and her team at A Stem Above did an absolutely amazing job for our wedding. I admittedly am terrible at describing things and know nothing about flowers. I based all my flower requests on a bouquet that I had found online (the lighting made the flowers look way darker than their actual hues). Anyway, Erin listened to everything I said and executed it exactly as requested. She was so easy going and candid that I felt comfortable telling her that I really didn't like the first showing - I even remember saying the words "baby shower." (Don't forget, this was my doing since I requested a bunch of pastel flowers that I had never actually seen in person!) Erin was amazing. She was in no way offended and the only thing she cared about was figuring out what I was picturing (which was probably brutal for her since I had no idea what I was saying, so thank you Erin!) She sat down and spent so much time with us, pulling up pictures and grabbing samples of flowers so I could actually show her what I envisioned. She was also great about letting me go antiquing and finding whatever I wanted to throw into the mix. I really left the design up to her and she integrated all of my "props" beautifully and pulled together a space that was even better than I could have imagined on my own. It was so important to me that she understood what I was going for and she made such an effort to do so that I didn't have to worry for a second about how it would all come together. I'll never forget walking onto that terrace and into that tent ... I couldn't get over what a beautiful job Erin and her team did. Look for her amazing work in the Spring/Summer 2013 Knot issue! The details were so beautifully done that our wedding will be featured. Highly highly recommend A Stem Above!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Erin was amazing. I had a smaller budget but she still worked with me to create unbelievable flowers. The flowers were perfection, it was like she literally went inside my head and designed what I had been dreaming of. Every guest commented how special the centerpieces were. Also, the colors were on point, I have been in other weddings when the colors are not always what is described but Erin's flower's colors were exactly what I asked and wanted. She was also great in making very last minute changes. Also, I met with a quite a few florists who were very snotty, Erin was sweet, approachable and very talented.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christen
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Going with A Stem Above was the best decision we made throughout our entire wedding planning process! They created our vision beyond our expectations for our July wedding. I told Erin what I was thinking, she suggested some looks through photos, and then ran with it. She set a sample table with the exact flowers and design we wanted before we ever signed with her. I was so comfortable putting the overall look of our wedding in her hands. She has an incredible eye for floral design and it will absolutely MAKE your wedding! A Stem Above really took a lot of stress and worry off our hands.

I will never forget the moment my husband and I walked into the ballroom before the guests to see what had been created. I was brought to tears with how beautiful everything looked. The flowers were flawless and the entire ballroom was breathtaking. During and after the reception, and even now, I still receive compliments about the flowers. They also took care of our welcome reception the night before on a boat on the river. I left the complete design in their hands and couldn't have been happier with the results!

Another thing that made the process so much easier was everything they took care of for us. From the flowers, to the linens, lighting, and chairs... the one stop shop was a load off our shoulders. Erin worked hard to find us the best price for everything, many things for less than we had found on our own.

We were referred to A Stem Above and now I will confidently refer them to anyone in the market for floral design, especially for a wedding!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ChiTownBride7
Wedding:
11/20/2010
4.2/5.0
Erin's work is beautiful. I chose A Stem Above as my florist for my wedding because I had seen two other friends use ASA, and I loved what I saw.

I should mention that the flower budget was the most difficult for me to understand and digest. Spending 11% of my total budget on flowers, for one afternoon seems insane...but I knew I needed to in order to set the ambience of the night. Erin was helpful in working with me to keep my costs down. She suggested table runners to tie in more color, this was a great detail that was only a few dollars extra per table.


Her attention to detail is perfection. Erin has great ideas that she suggested that were within my budget. She wasn't trying to sell me something I didn't want or couldn't afford.

I read a ton about asking your florist to use local flowers instead of bringing them in from outside the country...there wasn't a florist I spoke with that didn't import flowers. You have to be realistic...what type of flowers grow in Chicago during November?

Overall, I was surprised with how inflexible most vendors were. Erin, fortunately worked evenings which was great for my schedule. I few times I had to rearrange my schedule to work with her availability to drop of payment, fabric, take a day off of work to meet at the hall, etc.

One of the things that surprised me most while looking for vendors, especially florists, is the variance of websites. A professional website goes along way in my view. Even further, pictures showing your current work. The website for A Stem Above is a true indicator of their work. I worked with another florist (not A Stem Above) in the area, that came highly recommended from family friends. I decided against her for a number of reasons, but a stand out reason is because she couldn't show me a single recent picture of a wedding she had done. The mock up arrangements that were made for me, looked exactly like my relatives wedding from 10 years ago...set your expectations and make sure your vendors exceed them.

Erin and her teams work at ASA was excellent and I do recommend them.
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1230663783046-engaged
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.3/5.0
Erin at A Steam Above did a fantastic job on our flowers for the wedding. I started to worry a bit as the big day came close due to little communication with her, but all of my worries subsided when I saw the amazing job that was done with the decor. I have had so many compliments on my bouquet and decor, I have already recommended A Stem Above to 2 other brides.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BetsyKunz
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
I really cannot say enough good things about Erin and her business, A Stem Above. I will highlight the reasons I selected Erin over many other options in Chicago: (1) from the first meeting with Erin, I felt she was someone I connected with. It was obvious that she wanted to fulfill my vision and dreams for my wedding, and she took time and care to provide every detail. (2) I felt that she was much more flexible than other florists I met with both on price and design. Beautiful flowers are expensive, but I felt I was getting a lot for my money with Erin, and her prices were more than fair.

I am thrilled that I selected Erin. The results were beautiful, more so than I had even imagined. My bouquet was exactly what I wanted, and many guests complimented both my bouquet and the three different designs she created for the guest tables. I would highly recommend A Stem Above for all Chicago brides!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Neil
Wedding:
9/11/2010
4.8/5.0
Beautiful flowers! Exactly what I wanted and even better. They even came in below budget.
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1254792321964-0010edited1compressed
Amanda
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
I worked primarily with Erin to create our wedding vision for the flowers. She worked with us as we were using a tight budget and created an extrodinary reception with beautiful and unique centerpieces! She listened to everything that I wanted, and although a few minor details were incorrect, overall the quality of work was amazing!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
George
Wedding:
7/18/2010
4.8/5.0
Erin listened to our daughter's vision and delivered on what she had in mind. Flowers were fresh and well positoned. The success of our daughter's wedding was due in part to the elegance of the flower arrangements and room setting. If you are looking for a florist with creativity I would recommend working with Erin Foster.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie Nowak
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Erin and her staff created the most amazing flower, archway, and decorative arrangements that I've ever seen. All my guests were asking who made our flower arrangements, and I was so excited to say A Stem Above. We had the best working experience with them over all of our vendors. They quickly responded back and were extremely professional. I can't thank them enough for making our day so beautiful!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monkey
Wedding:
7/4/2010
4.9/5.0
Erin is an absolute sweetheart. The quality of her work competes with any of the "big name" wedding florists in Chicago—without emptying your bank account. Erin and her team are not only creative, professional, and attentive but worth every penny. Without question, we'd hire them again.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melshaw78
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
I worked mainly with Erin at A Stem Above, and not only was she so sweet and fun to work with, but her openness to my ideas and wants made me that much more comfortable with my decision to work with the Company. I provided photos as examples of what I was looking to do, and she used those and also came up with additional ideas based on what I had provided, to make the most amazing bouquets, various table pieces, and alter piece.
The day of the wedding I was so oblivious to almost all of the decor, but even though I managed to miss it all, many people commented on it to myself and my family. I just can't wait for the photos to come in so I can see what I missed! My favorite were the 15 varied-sized submerged orcid stems on the place card table. My bouquet was enormous, and I actually cried (for the first time, mind you!) when it arrived as it was so amazing.
Another thing A Stem Above provided were runners for each dining table, and that truly pulled the whole room together. Throw in the high boy table pieces, and the (comped) bathroom piece, and it was a true masterpiece.
Should I ever have another need for amazing flowers, Erin will be my first call. I can't thank them enough for all of their input, openness, and the beautiful scene they created throughout the entire day.
Thank you A Stem Above!!
mel
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Valintina
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
The flowers were beautiful. A Stem above did an amazing job. They listened to what we wanted. I would definitely recommend them.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
I loved my flowers! A Stem Above was great to work with. Stephanie and Erin were very prompt with answering my questions. They were very professional. They worked with my budget and provided me options that worked with it. I would highly recommend A Stem Above.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ygonzalez
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
A Stem Above did an amazing job with flowers. My vision for my wedding was met from beyond my expectations. I loved everything. The freshness of the flowers, the delivery and most of all the quality of work is impeccable. Thank you for seeing my vision and giving me that classic look I had dreamed of.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.5/5.0
Great to work. They did a wonderful job on my wedding. They took my wedding colors and flower ideas and made it a reality.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
5/16/2010
5.0/5.0
Erin was one of my favorite vendors. We clicked right away during our first meeting. She knew exactly what I wanted, and gave me some of the most beautiful flowers I've ever seen.

My bouquet was incredible. I can't stop raving about it. It was right out of a fairy tale. My bridesmaids bouquets were equally as gorgeous, and everyone loved them.

Erin created gorgeous centerpieces, supplied my chuppah, floral decor for the chuppah, cake floral, and several other decorative items for my wedding. She's more than a florist, she's really a room designer. I loved every single thing she did for the wedding. You can tell she put a lot of love into it.

I wanted expensive flowers like peonies for my wedding, and Erin gave them to me for a fraction of what other florists charge. She was fabulous, and I'd recommend her to anyone!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MDakis
Wedding:
12/12/2009
4.8/5.0
From the minute I met with Erin at A Stem Above, I knew that she was going to make our wedding absolutely gorgeous! She and I were on the same page with my 'vision' right from the start, and she managed to make my "sparkly" theme classy and elegant. The previews she put together for us at our venue were stunning, and she was very receptive to the little details we wanted to add to our space. She has a great eye for knowing what looks good in when it comes to make a room really come together - from the candles, to the linens, to the floral arrangements. She also did a great job melding my desire for a more modern floral design with matching the room's more elegant feel. I LOVED the final product, and more important, our guests were blown away by how beautiful everything looked.

Erin was very responsive throughout the whole planning process and has a great, fun personality. She was a pleasure to work with, and her team worked flawlessly to make everything perfect on our day. This included setting up flowers at the church and then transporting them to the venue. She also did a great job of working with our budget. I would 100% recommend Erin at A Stem Above if you are planning a wedding or event! You won't be disappointed.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Greenstone
Wedding:
11/7/2009
4.7/5.0
Erin took my idea from a picture, and created it exactly as I had hoped. The bouquets were excellent & I was very pleased with the flowers & service!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
10/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Erin was extremely helpful during our consultation and was always available from the time we booked her up until the wedding date. I really appreciate that she came to Salvatore'sto set up a mocked up arrangement - I thought that was a great benefit for us to see it at the venue. She was very flexible w/ the items in the contract up until the flowers were ordered - we appreciate that since we had to make some changes to our budget near the end. The pricing was very reasonable for the quality of flowers that were used.The flowers were beautiful and I absolutely loved the centerpiece on the piano - I'm very pleased with A Stem Above and I will definitely recommend Erin and the ASA team to friends!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrssalazar
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Erin was absolutely THE BEST to work with! Not only were the arrangements stunning, but she stayed well within my budget - that's tough to do when the bride is asking for orchids and tropical blooms!! All of my guests were blown away by how beautifully the venue was adorned with fantastic blooms and candles galore. I can't say enough how happy I am that I chose Erin at A Stem Above to do my flowers. FABULOUS!!!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rose
Wedding:
9/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Erin and A Stem Above are fabulous! I could not have asked for a better florist for my personal flowers and wedding reception. She was super easy to work with and was able to guide me to make everything look absolutely beautiful. I would recommend Erin not only for weddings but any other event that florals/decor is needed. She's cost conscious, too which really impressed me. In addition, her warm, easy going personality made her a pleasure to work with!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SJ
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Erin's ability to take simple beautiful flowers and turn them into dynamic arrangements sets her apart from other florists. She not only enjoys what she does, she has a raw talent that not many possess. Who else could pick flowers from the side of the road and turn them into a masterpiece worthy of a magazine? I would highly recommend A Stem Above to any bride!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
led1357
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
A Stem Above was so easy and fun to work with. I don't know much about flowers so it was great to have someone just handle it. The flowers/decor was absolutely gorgeous. It was so much better than I had imagined. Double thumbs up!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SF826
Wedding:
7/11/2009
5.0/5.0
A Stem Above was amazing to work with. Erin listed to the vision I had for my wedding day and more than delivered! And she was so great dealing with a stressed out bride and my last minute add-ons and changes. I cannot tell you how many guests complimented the table arrangements, along with my bouquet and the bridesmaids flowers.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rslinn
Wedding:
6/21/2009
4.8/5.0
Erin at Food for Thought was really great to work with. I was kind of a picky/indecisive bride when it came to flowers, but she was patient with me. And everything turned out beautiful without me breaking the bank.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
6/13/2009
5.0/5.0
A Stem Above is absolutely amazing. Our wedding this past June turned out exactly the way we had dreamed it would look. Erin was wonderful in every way. She was flexible and open to any idea that we had. She also offered her own unique ideas that just took our design to the next level. Her work and the work of her staff was impeccable. Our reception room just looked absolutely perfect without one flower or design element out of place. She took our personalities and our own personal taste in design and helped us to bring it all together in a way that I don't think either of us could have ever envisioned. We both cried when we saw our venue for the first time. Erin is unbelievable and we would & have recommended A Stem Above to everyone we know.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/6/2009
4.8/5.0
We met with several floral vendors in town and after meeting Erin at A Stem Above our search was over! I wasn't sure what I wanted, but I knew what I DIDN'T want -- flowers that were too expensive (they die after all!), tired arrangements that looked like everyone else's, or table arrangements that were overbearing and were too big to have a conversation around. Erin was able to articulate exactly what I wanted and came up with ideas that were appropriate for the venue and looked simply gorgeous -- all without going over budget! I loved the personal flowers; the bouquets were stunning and her idea for the boutonnieres was perfect and not at all girly ;) A Stem Above came recommended to me by a friend, and I would very enthusiastically recommend them to anyone who is looking for a professional florist who is able to create fresh, original arrangements that truly reflect your taste.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LibraryBride
Wedding:
4/18/2009
5.0/5.0
I thought Erin did a great job with our wedding. We wanted very simple centerpieces and to incorporate our library theme and she really pulled it off. She even suggested using an old card catalog to really highlight the venue and decorated it with flowers - it was gorgeous. She's excellent!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jafinger
Wedding:
11/15/2008
5.0/5.0
Erin Foster and her company, A Stem Above were beyond anything I could have hoped for. Her ideas were new and exciting. Her designs were gorgeous. Her flowers were beyond perfect. I could not have asked for more from a florist. The moment I met her I knew she would do a wonderful job. She was willing to listen to my ideas, make changes as needed and really create a beautiful event. I have gotten so many compliments since my wedding. My family and friends were raving about how beautiflul my flowers were. I would recommend A Stem Above to anyone getting married or anyone that needs flowers for a special event. I'm so happy I found A Stem Above!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
madlove
Wedding:
10/25/2008
4.9/5.0
Erin is absolutely incredible! She's extremely easy to work with and does fantastic work. I had to make some last minutes changes in which Erin had to totally redo the floral arrangements for 20 tables! Not only did she not have any qualms about helping me out, she made everything look wonderful. I highly recommend Erin and A Stem Above to any bride, she will help make your day unique and wonderfully yours.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kbsantos
Wedding:
10/18/2008
4.9/5.0
Erin was absolutely wonderful to work with! She has impeccable taste and style. She is extremely efficient and available. She goes above and beyond for her clients. For example, I did not want my beautiful flowers she arrangement for my wedding to go to waste, and she offered to come at the end of the night and wrap the flowers in raffia for our guest! She was so hard working. She was there till after 1 am!

Erin did our flower arrangements for our rehearsal dinner and our wedding reception and everyone was in love with the flowers. All of our guest were highly impressed with Erin and her flower arrangements. Even our wedding coordinator from the Four Seasons was highly impressed and asking about her and how I found her! She is a gem and a pleasure to work with. I would highly recommend her and her company to anyone.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karao
Wedding:
9/20/2008
5.0/5.0
Erin was wonderful to work with. She listened to my ideas and improved on them in a way I never thought possible. My centerpieces were absolutely breathtaking and unique. I had genuine compliments from my wedding planner, my photographer and the venue staff who all could not get over the amazing table decor. I know that Erin & her staff are very versitile, as I have seen photos of some of her work. Her work always has a different funky twist and will certainly be something you haven't seen before. I loved working with her!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BandG2
Wedding:
6/26/2008
5.0/5.0
Erin was amazing. Friendly with everyone in our wedding party, helpful, collaborative throughout the planning process, completely got what I was going for and delivered flawlessly. I have told EVERYONE about them because of the quality of their work.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cara
Wedding:
10/20/2007
4.4/5.0
Overall A Stem Above was nice to work with. The arrangements turned out a bit smaller then I would have liked, but the flowers we beautiful and healthy.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lmrussell
Wedding:
6/29/2007
5.0/5.0
A Stem Above did a fantastic job for our wedding. Erin always had great suggestions and the flowers were absolutely beautiful. I can't tell you how many compliments we got on the decor.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CAAbernethy
Wedding:
5/27/2006
5.0/5.0
Erin turned my blank reception space into exactly what I had imagined - she didn't miss a single detail from the flowers to the linens. I still get compliments on her flowers 2 years later! I've since used her for my mother's surprise birthday party which was equally perfect and referred her to 4 other friends that have loved her work as well.

She was always available to answer questions throughout the planning process, spent time brainstorming with me but was able to take my scattered ideas and make them a reality. She and her staff were onsite at my reception and had everything handled long before we arrived so that everything was seamless. They pay great attention to detail and it shows in all of their work. I felt like Erin handled my wedding as a stand alone event, not just another wedding. She has great style and was wonderful to work with from start to finish!

I would recommend her work to anyone and know my wedding wouldn't have been nearly as beautiful without Erin and her staff!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
4/8/2006
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were recently married in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. Erin did an amazing job on the flower arrangements and decor for our beach wedding. It was absolutely beautiful! She worked with the on-site coordinator to make sure all of our needs were met. Erin made sure the flowers we had selected were available in Mexico and made excellent suggestions for flowers that worked well in that environment. A true creative genius. Thank you for making our day gorgeous!
Services Used: Flowers

MAP

 
1821 W Hubbard Ste 108, Chicago, IL 60622 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for A Stem Above, LLC.
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo