130x130_sq_1403410621310-great-memories

AARON TOPFER: Nationally Award-Winning Musician & DJ

Serving All Of New England
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

CALL: 1-877-YOURMUSIC
SERVING ALL OF NEW ENGLAND, US

PHONE

877-968-7687

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
DJ , Ceremony Music

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1350872020683-newyorktimesarticleweddings
130x130_sq_1359392507710-marthastewartweddingsarticle
130x130_sq_1350872039283-bostonmagazinearticleweddings
130x130_sq_1351221375426-westportmagazinearticle
130x130_sq_1350872031497-bridegroommagazinearticleweddings
130x130_sq_1351049274135-nhbridemagazinearticle
130x130_sq_1384798110687-courtney--garrett-pictures-not
130x130_sq_1350272775840-9.22.12note
130x130_sq_1348798224537-8.10.12note
130x130_sq_1348798197032-july1stletterfrombride
130x130_sq_1316060717912-margateresortthankyouletter
130x130_sq_1316060766912-letterfromhowlandwhitneysinnjacksonnewhampshirefiltered
130x130_sq_1317342800075-shapeimage65
130x130_sq_1321241580756-whitefrankenotebackside
130x130_sq_1315331063087-april30thwedding
130x130_sq_1315331025538-vermontdjandlivemusic
130x130_sq_1292652849653-amandanick2
130x130_sq_1292652669028-600x6001280176347620aaronwmariahbc500brn1040re
130x130_sq_1292653036121-fouacheeandgavinopt80
130x130_sq_1292653008903-jamieandkimberley2ls50bc50060
130x130_sq_1292652820403-audreycrop80
130x130_sq_1292652887699-karatim3
130x130_sq_1292652930340-marciafitzpatrickoriginal

INFO FOR CEREMONY MUSIC

What ceremony music arrangements can you provide?
Instrumental - Duo, Instrumental - Solo, Instrumental - Trio, String - Quartet, String - Trio
What instruments does your group play?
Cello, Flute, Guitar, Harp, Organ, Piano, Trumpet, Viola, Violin

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Professional, Low-Key, 100% Non-Cheesy - We are the Only 100% Non-Cheesy DJs in All of New England. . . This has been verified by Bride after Bride.
What is your usual attire?
Formal.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
We have done an Impressive Number of Indian-American, Chinese-American, Japanese-American and Greek-American Weddings.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Unlike most DJ's, we take Respecting Our Brides' & Grooms' Do-Not-Playlist and Must-Playlist VERY SERIOUSLY. In fact, we put it in our Contract! In all our 15 years, we've NEVER failed to respect a Clearly-Defined Do-Not-Playlist and Must-Playlist!
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No, and we believe that DJ Companies which do display banners are Very Distasteful.
What is your overtime rate?
Our fee is for Unlimited Hours.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
No Travel Fees Whatsoever.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carol
Wedding:
6/20/2014
5.0/5.0
Aaron put me at ease from the very beginning. His reassurances throughout the process from planning to the actual day-of we're greatly comforting. He is a true expert with music and his talents were a true asset to our wedding.

Aaron played his piano for the ceremony. He even learned a couple pieces for me (I am a fan of Coldplay). He played piano with and hired two other musicians for the cocktail hour (saxophonist and bassist) and I was pleased to see that they were just as talented as he was.

His Djing skills were second to none and our dance floor was packed after dinner. Many guests kept complimenting me over and over on the music selections...actually they were selected mostly by Aaron.

Thanks again, Aaron!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carly
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
We hired Aaron to play piano during our ceremony and DJ for our reception. Admittedly, I was nervous about hiring a DJ - one often hear's horror stories about DJ's, but I honestly could not have asked for a more perfect ceremony and reception. From our first call, he was professional, knowledgeable and the opposite of cheesy. Aaron worked with us one-on-one to develop a feel for each wedding "event" and music selections for our entire day - everything was on-point, well managed and suited our personalities perfectly. He was so organized, which really put me at ease on the big day. We received endless compliments about the music throughout the day and even continue to do so almost three weeks later.

Vendor selection can be overwhelming at times, but do not hesitate to hire Aaron for your big day. I highly recommend Aaron without reservations!

Thank you for everything, Aaron!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
Aaron is the BEST!!! My husband and I recently hired him to DJ our wedding, and could not be happier with the decision. Aaron is a truly talented pianist and DJ who is professional, respectful, and dependable. He performed live ceremony and cocktail hour music, and DJ'd our wedding. Aside from learning new music on the piano to play during our ceremony (which helped add a personal touch to the vows that our guests loved!) he worked with us closely leading up to the wedding to ensure he knew our music preferences, what we wanted to hear, and what we wanted to stay away from. At the end of the day, everything was flawless. The last dinner plate had barely been cleared before the dance floor was packed. Guests danced the ENTIRE night; even after the last song ended late into the night, people lingered, hoping for more.

If you're looking for a cheesy wedding DJ, he's not for you. If you're looking for a talented DJ who will go above and beyond to make your day perfect and keep your guests engaged and the dance floor packed (I can't tell you how many times guests squealed "I LOVE THIS SONG!" at our wedding) look no further.

THANKS, AARON!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
1/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Aaron was our musician and disc jockey...all in one. He played piano and also was joined by a violinist who was equal in talents and performance to him at our ceremony and cocktail reception.

The reception was fun throughout with plenty of our requests mixed with Aaron's music selections mixed in. I also especially appreciated his announcement voice which was never flashy, cheesy and never overly done. Our crowd kept giving us compliments throughout about our music...which was mostly because of Aaron.

Thanks to Aaron, we had one of the most important days of our lives turn out to be one of the greatest days of our lives.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
All of my friends used the same DJ. We wanted something different.

Aaron was perfect for the job. My husband wanted a band; I wanted a DJ. Aaron provided a jazz group including himself on piano along with a bassist and saxophonist for cocktails. They were PHENOMENAL!

Then, he transitioned to DJ for the Reception. Many of my friends (including, yes, the ones who had all used the same DJ that I didn't use) said Aaron was the BEST DJ they've ever seen at a wedding!

Wow! Thanks to Aaron, we had everything we had hoped for and then some!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Aaron is an AMAZING one-stop musician and DJ. Our guests can't stop raving to me and my parents even now several weeks later.

We wanted someone who could please EVERYONE at our wedding and Aaron did this and then some. His live music was beautiful during my ceremony and cocktail hour. He played music on the piano that my grandmother and my grandfather liked (and he played Billy Joel's "Piano Man" for me!)

His DJ talent was wonderful and from the end of dinner to the last dance, the Dance Floor was the Most Packed I've ever seen it at ANY wedding. The best DJ by far we've ever seen.

We couldn't have been more pleased. We were lucky quite honestly to have found him for our wedding.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We hired him for our cocktail hour music and reception DJ. My fiancé & I were looking for someone who keeps the party going from start to finish without injecting himself on the microphone. Too often we've seen other DJs at family weddings where you can't get them to stop talking on the microphone or seeing themselves as the center of attention. Aaron did neither and the live music during the cocktail hour was a big plus for my guests. All in all, I would definitely have to say that Aaron was the best part of our reception and one of the best parts of our entire wedding!
Services Used: Band, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Aaron helped make our wedding day everything we dreamed of! Music was very important to us and once we spoke to Aaron we knew he was our Wedding Musician. It was great to have one person in charge of all the music through out the day. He was absolutely amazing on the keyboard during our outdoor ceremony and the live piano for cocktail hour really set the mood we wanted. Then during the reception the dance floor was never empty and all of our guests complimented the music! One guest even said we had the best dance music ever at a wedding!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
8/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Aaron was our DJ and ceremony musician. Excellent music from start to finish. Was also quick to respond to my calls and emails leading up to the wedding day. I would definitely use him again.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Aaron was professional in every way and worked with us to make sure we had a great day. Can DJ and play piano which is great. Highly recommended!!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bill
Wedding:
7/28/2013
5.0/5.0
We got married in July and are just getting around to writing reviews now. Aaron was one of the best choices we made for our entire wedding experience. He performed flawless piano music at the ceremony and for our dinner. He also hired a violin-player to join him on our short notice request. I especially enjoyed his Dj'ing which was fun but not obtrusive. Everyone commented on our choice of music and Aaron was perfect for our crowd!

Recommended him highly!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I really enjoyed working with Aaron as he provided our ceremony and cocktail hour music (piano & violin) as well as was the DJ for the reception. He was responsive and professional during the planning process. There was not a minute that our dance floor wasn't full. I could not have asked for a better experience!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Excellent - customizable, not cheesy, fantastic....everyone commented on how amazing the DJ was! Everyone of all ages was on the dance floor all night.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Aaron was the entertainment for my wedding in June. He is a gifted piano-player and DJ service.

The ceremony music was beautiful and Aaron made picking our ceremony songs very easy All it took was sitting down with him one afternoon at his office and he played the piano for us to select our music.

At the reception, from the point dinner ended until the very end, the dance floor was always full & I never had to worry about Aaron not reading the crowd. He was our favorite vendor...worth every cent and then some!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mike
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for wedding DJ, just stop. No need to look any further past Aaron. Top rate from start to finish. We booked Aaron to DJ as well as play live music during the ceremony and cocktail hour. Guests could not stop talking about how good the DJ and the live music were we couldn't agree more.

If you want a loud, boisterous or cheesy DJ/MC Aaron is not your man. If you want a classy, professional musician that caters the entire musical performance around your tastes and keeps the dance floor packed all night long you can't do better.

Aaron took the time to speak with us over the phone to get a sense for our musical tastes, the vibe we wanted for the wedding, our guest demographic mix and completely customized the musical selections around what we wanted.

We were so happy we chose to go with Aaron for our wedding and I know you will to.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Aaron was AWESOME at our wedding! He literally was spot on with all the music and the dance floor was packed the entire night. Also loved his piano playing during the ceremony and the cocktail hour. He was highly professional and all around an awesome musician. Would recommend him to anyone!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
5/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We had Aaron at our wedding a few weeks ago. If you're looking for a DJ who doesn't do any games or make loud announcements, then Aaron is your guy. Our crowd was dancing literally ALL night and we had the best time. Thanks Aaron!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Aaron is a professional and from the start I knew we were in good hands. Aaron was going to play the piano during our ceremony and cocktail hour, and then we decided to also add a sax and bass to make a three piece jazz trio. He's a fantastic piano player, and chose two other great musicians to join him. We also worked with Aaron on the music for the ceremony and reception. He helped us by recommending a few songs, and was also open to all of our ideas and music choices. We couldn't have asked for a better music partner for our wedding. The music for the ceremony and cocktail hour was perfect, and he kept everyone on the dance floor during the reception. Everyone told us what a blast they had and I know that had a lot to do with Aaron's music choices. We're very grateful for getting to work him!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
4/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Perfect Services! Aaron provided strings for our ceremony and dinner and then did the DJ for afterwards. We are not a "typical" couple in that we don't dance at all or go to clubs. Our families are also hard to get to dance as witnessed at several family weddings we've attended in the past 2 years.

But, Aaron got us and our family and friends dancing. Everyone had a great experience and we can't appreciate Aaron enough for all he did for us.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maya
Wedding:
3/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Aaron provided the music for my ceremony and reception in March. We were referred to Aaron by a friend. I come from a large family and have seen a lot of entertainment at other family and friends weddings. So many times we've all been to weddings where the DJ was loud or even rude. Aaron did not make the reception about himself which we all appreciated. The ceremony piano music was also a big plus. I would recommend Aaron to any bride looking for a musician and DJ who is not interested in being the center of everything.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
laura
Wedding:
2/24/2013
5.0/5.0
We hired Aaron for our wedding on 2.24.13. He played special pieces that we asked him to learn for the ceremony on the piano. My guests couldn't stop raving about his piano music afterwards. My husband had very specific music requests for the reception (he is a former dj). Aaron accommodated all of our requests and was VERY flexible (put my husband at ease). Would definitely recommend him if you want a "worry-free" dj and a musician.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Aaron was the ceremony musician and DJ for our winter wedding. We hired him to do our ceremony music and reception. We could not have been happier with his services. Would definitely recommend.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
1/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Aaron was amazing! We got married 1.26.13 and had an AWESOME time at our wedding. Every guest was up and dancing. Aaron accomodated all of our requests and truly listened to what we wanted. He worked with us to create the "play list" and created the musical vibe we wanted. Many of our guests said our wedding was one of the best they had been to and that they had a "great time". Thank you Aaron for making our wedding so fun and special!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Aaron was absolutely fabulous to work with - my husband and I could not be happier with our choice to hire him as the DJ for our wedding. Aaron was professional and made our lives very easy in the planning time leading up to the wedding and during the reception. He was responsive to emails and took the time to really understand what my husband and I were looking for in a DJ. He made the reception a seamless event and kept everyone out on the dance floor until the evening came to an end. If I were ever in need of a DJ again, I would hire him in a heartbeat! Thank you so much Aaron!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
We used Aaron throughout our entire wedding day. He played the piano at our ceremony, organized the other musicians for the ceremony, played the piano at our cocktail hour, and turned into DJ for the reception. Aaron was so attentive to our requests and really made the day perfect. Everyone said it was the best dance party they have ever been to (exactly what we were looking for)! The music at the ceremony and cocktail hour were beautiful and the reception was a blast. His professionalism and attention to detail were much appreciated.
We were unable to meet him in person because we are from NJ so were a little skeptical at first but after our initial meeting over the phone, we were sold on how attentive he was. He really seemed to care to make the day exactly how we wanted it - and he did. Thanks Aaron! You are the best!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
When looking to book a DJ for our wedding, my husband and I were very concerned about finding someone who would allow us a lot of creative control over our music and who wouldn't be cheesy! Aaron fit the bill on both accounts, and we HIGHLY recommend him!

Aaron played the piano for our ceremony, and it was absolutely beautiful. It was so special to have live music as I walked down the aisle, and Aaron is a tremendous musician. We didn't attend our cocktail hour, but our guests really enjoyed hearing him play then, as well!

Regarding our ceremony, we were very particular about hearing certain songs (we're huge Phish fans), and Aaron was accomodating to all of our must-plays and do-not-plays. The music throughout dancing was so well done, and people were on the dance floor all night!

During the planning process we really got a sense of Aaron's attention to detail and professionalism, and we knew we were in great hands. He was always very responsive to my emails and calls, and I truly enjoyed working with him.

We've already had several friends mention to us that they'd like to work with Aaron for upcoming events because they were so impressed with his work at our wedding. We loved that he didn't feel the need to make himself the star of the show, but rather guided our reception with class. If you're looking for a great DJ who will create an atmosphere of fun and elegance, please choose Aaron Topfer! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
10/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Aaron was the MUSICIAN + DJ for our wedding. We had a DIY wedding and were glad to have Aaron help organize everything. He met with us once before the wedding and was very good at covering all details very thoroughly. On our wedding day, He was FANTASTIC at getting everyone up & dancing for several hours. His announcements were clear. Everyone had a great time and Aaron had a lot to do with that!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
9/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Aaron was very professional to work with. He made sure that we had everything we needed before the wedding and worked with us on what we wanted.

He was great about communicating with us before and during the wedding.

Aaron definately kept the dance floor going!

Thanks so much!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
130x130_sq_1318956463978-aruba2
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Excellent non-cheesy DJ .. Very responsive and flexible to all our requests and / or questions prior to and on the wedding day. Great value - travelled to RI from NH for our wedding at no additional cost.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shaun
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Aaron is/was EVERYTHING I could have hoped for in a DJ/Musician!! He responded VERY quickly and completely to every email I sent with my questions and concerns. He was extremely flexible to our requests and on our wedding day, he was PERFECT! He was pleasant to talk to, and never pushed us towards something he preferred to do, but instead took the time to understand how we would like our day to be. His musical talent is amazing with MANY of our guests asking where we found him and how they could contact him for their events. His DJing skills are incredible also. Not once was the Dance floor empty. His ability to read the crowd and know what will keep them dancing impressed me immensely, as there was not a single moment the floor wasn’t packed! Aaron, thank you very much for a GREAT experience and I honestly hope there is another opportunity for us to ask you back to lead us in another awesome party!
Shaun and Kate
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maura
Wedding:
8/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Planning our wedding from the NYC area was difficult. We could not drive up to Maine very often. Many vendors did not return our phone calls. Aaron was always prompt and communicated well leading up to the wedding. He provide a string quartet for our Ceremony. He played his jazz piano for the cocktail hour and we had him play this during dinner as well. My wife and I love music and picked many songs for him to play. He pleased our requests and added a few of his own that went over very well with our crowd. The best part was his personality which was unobtrusive - he only spoke on the microphone when absolutely needed. No gimmicks which we both appreciated. Thanks Aaron!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I have already reccomended Aaron to another friend who is having a wedding. We wanted a DJ that would keep our family and friends on the dance floor without being cheesy and he more than succeeded! People didn't want the party to end. He did exactly what we asked for and he was flexible. His cermony music and cocktail piano playing were beautiful and our guests really enjoyed it!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We hired Aaron to Dj our wedding and it was one of the best decisions we made. Not only did he DJ the ceremony, but he played the piano for our ceremony and cocktail hour. To get a DJ and musician all in one was great and you cant beat his pricing. His performance at our wedding both as a pianist and DJ were beyond what we had hoped for. We had guests asking us for the soundtrack of the wedding. We gave him some suggestions as to what kind of music me liked and he took those suggestions and ran with them. We would highly recommend Aaron to anyone looking for a DJ. Music makes the wedding and he made our wedding unforgettable. I promise you, you will not be disappointed.

P.S. Aaron is not one of those cheesy DJ's that tries to make the show about him and is constantly talking. He just played good music and provided the perfect soundtrack to our wedding. Hire him!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chris
Wedding:
6/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Aaron was the perfect person to work with us for our special day. We could not have been more pleased . We had a small wedding with guests from 2 to 90 years old, but still the dance floor was busy all night. He was happy to play all kinds of music, take requests, and was able to pick just the right songs to keep the party going! It was especially nice to have Aaron playing the piano for our ceremony and cocktail hour. This was a uniqe touch not offered by any other DJ, and made the evening even more special. We were beyond happy with our choice and would 100% recommend him to anyone looking for a fun, classy, and professional DJ to make their event memorable!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot recommend Aaron enough! He was beyond professional from start to finish, both dealing with us and our other vendors! Aaron was absolutely dedicated to ensuring that we had the perfect music to fit each aspect of our wedding. He helped us find the right ceremony music, which he played beautifully on his keyboard. He also played music during our cocktail hour to fit the crowd and, although we were not there for this portion of the evening, we've heard it was great!

Aaron quickly stepped into the role of our DJ for the reception and did an INCREDIBLE job!!! He played every song we asked for as well as followed our do-not-play list with no issues. I cannot even begin to describe how thankful we were to have such an amazing pianist and DJ. Our only regret is that the reception didn't last longer so we could dance more! THANK YOU, AARON!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
6/8/2012
5.0/5.0
The biggest thank you to Aaron Topfer for providing such amazing entertainment for our wedding! I literally had the best night of my life and Aaron was a huge contributor to that. The music was perfect and my husband and I loved how Aaron was able to combine upbeat Indian music with the top 40s to make a non-stop dance party. The floor was always crowded and people have come up to me since the wedding commenting on how great the DJ was. Our guests loved that he kept the flow going without being "that annoying DJ that doesn’t put the mic down." It was if Aaron was only there when require and not at all overbearing. I loved our first song on the piano; he was able to learn it and play it live, so beautiful!

Aaron is a classically trained pianist also and was able to perform our procession and recession during the ceremony. After the ceremony he played live during the cocktail hour, so guests were able to enjoy live music before the party began!

I 100% recommend Aaron for any event. He was reliable and understood our needs immediately. He's even sending us our wedding track playlist so we can relive the night again!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
skiVT3
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
When planning a wedding, it can be very frustrating to get all of your vendors to be as responsive and professional as possible. If you hire Aaron, you will not have to worry about any of this! He should teach the entire wedding industry how to provide excellent customer service.
We met with Aaron at his house and got to hear him play piano and describe how he DJs a wedding. We called him 10 minutes after leaving and hired him! He is extremely responsive to emails and phone calls and his pre-wedding checklist is very thorough. Aaron shows up at a wedding knowing exactly what type of music you would like played for the perfect evening. He respects your do-not-play list and will keep people dancing all night long.
Aaron's price also includes live cocktail hour music. He is an outstanding musician. Aaron played piano with a stand-up bass player for our cocktail hour and the music was fabulous. Live music at a cocktail hour was a better fit for us than a jazz playlist from the DJ. Aaron was also very flexible throughout the planning process. We changed the start time of our reception a few times and even added an extra hour. Aaron had no problem accommodating these changes.
All in all, hiring Aaron was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. We couldn't be happier. Thanks for being a part of our special day, Aaron! It was an absolute pleasure to work with you and I hope to see you at some of our friend's weddings in the near future.
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CaityOLeary
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Aaron was great! As far as the prep work is concerned: I was a very flighty bride and Aaron dealt with it very well. The ceremony music was beautiful and timed perfectly. His DJ skills are awesome. He played all our favorite music, and more importantly, kept the dance floor packed all night. I can't recommend Aaron enough, I am so impressed.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
victoria
Wedding:
2/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Aaron was the dj for our wedding and also played piano at our cocktail hour (for no extra charge)! If you are looking for a non-cheesey, professional dj that actually listens to what you wantand follows through with what you discussed, he's your guy. My husband and I were so pleased with his services. We honestly could not have asked for better! Thank you Aaron!!
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lcwalsh333
Wedding:
2/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Aaron was AMAZING! He had everyone dancing all night! His pre-wedding planning techniques cover everything and he has an AMAZING list of mustic to look through. He really listens to the bride and groom to make the day perfect!

He did beautifully at the ceremony itself. He played the organ for the ceremony. His timing and skills were quite impressive.

I heard nothing but rave reviews of his cocktail hour piano playing as well. While we (the wedding party) were taking pictures, he entertained our guests with piano.

I recommend Aaron for both ceremony music and DJ services! Hes a two-fer, he's a talented musician and a great DJ!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
130x130_sq_1302738303900-2076011632714668306154984488231277261400340n
Rebecca
Wedding:
1/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Aaron is extremely professional, we didn't have to worry about anything. The ceremony music was perfectly timed and just what I wanted. The reception was so much fun our guest had the best time! There was barely anyone sitting at the tables for most of the night they were all on the dancefloor! The music is a huge part of your big day. We really felt it was important that we had someone who was experienced and could just take care of all the details, that is excatly what we got. I even gave Aaron some kind of rare songs that we wanted incorporated and he had them within minutes no problem. Definately would reccomend.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
11/26/2011
5.0/5.0
As mother of the bride, I was very honored when my daughter and her fiance enlisted my help to find a DJ for their wedding. After much research, Aaron Topher seemed perfect for their reception, and after speaking with him there was no doubt in my mind. He was professional, courteous, and absolutely wonderful for the cocktail hour, reception, and to MC.
The reception was perfect--a big thanks to Aaron. I would highly recommend Aaron (for any occasion).
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
I would give Aaron Topfer more than 5 stars if that were an option! Simply put, he is amazing and absolutely wonderful to work with. He has a professionalism and work ethic unlike any other DJ out there and his value for the quality of service he provides is unmatched! Aaron played live piano at our cocktail hours in addition to DJ/emcee-ing our reception and everything was beyond perfect! He respected our "do not play" lists while keeping the dance floor moving all night- Aaron has the ability to get everyone out of their seats and really made our reception- I would HIGHLY recommend Aaron to anyone looking for a quality DJ/musician without all the gimmicks- he's the best!
Services Used: Band, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
macdaddy
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Aaron Topfer and his DJ services were simply AMAZING! My husband and I were married in Bar Harbor, Maine on October 29, 2011. I had talked to several DJ's and really did my homework on each one of them. Aaron was the last DJ I had contacted and right away he stood out from all the other DJ's I had spoken with and I knew he was what I was looking for. He was a "cheesy" DJ like most people get. I hired him immediately without any hesitation. He was professional and knowledgeable in all aspects of weddings and music. Just by talking with me he knew exactly what we were looking for in a DJ and for music. Out of all my vendors, Aaron was by far the easiest to deal with. He was extremely prompt and efficient and made the whole process so easy. And that was exactly what I needed, as wedding planning is very hectic and crazy! Living in Maine with him being in New Hampshire posed no problem at all. I was able to easily correspond with him by phone and email quite nicely which for me was great because I was working 2 jobs at the time did not have much down time. After our reception almost every guest came to us and commented on the fact that it was the best wedding reception they had ever been too! I was worried that nobody would dance or stay on the dance floor. I was worried for nothintg because nobody left the dance floor the entire night!!! The music and transitions were so amazing that you just did not want to leave the dance floor! The one thing that sticks out in my mind the most was the wonderful job Aaron did for our grand entrance coming into the reception. His announcing was perfect and right on time, as well has the song transitioning. Our friends kept telling us days later that the entire grand entrance with the music brought tears to their eyes! It was that amazing! My husband and I could not have asked for a better DJ!!! Many many thanks!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacey
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Aaron was extremely professional and provided us with exceptional service. Our guests enjoyed the piano and bass during the cocktail hour. His music selections during the night were fantastic, the dance floor was packed! We really had an amazing wedding reception. Everyone was having so much fun that nobody wanted to leave after the last song, we could have danced all night.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
linbad2
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
If you do not book him you are making a big mistake. He was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! He was so organized and includes you in all his music making plans. He played the piano during the cocktail and dinner hours and everyone commented on how nice it was. When dinner was over he played every dance song we requested and then some. Everyone was up and dancing till the end. He was just great and I am so happy we found and booked him. You will NOT be disappointed!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jsher82
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
I first heard about Aaron on The Knot's Boston message boards. he was mentioned over and over again in rave reviews. I hired him to DJ our Labor Day Weekend wedding, and he did a wonder job. He also provided music for the ceremony, as well as the cocktail hour. The fact that he is a musician himself and can offer this service was a huge benefit. The ceremony music was beautiful (Canon in D, Grow Old with Me, Horn Pipe--Arron on the piano and a violinist), and although I was not at the cocktail hour, many guests told me that the music was great--and not so loud that you could not hear each other speak. During our reception, Aaron had everyone up on the dance floor, and did a great job sticking to our music list. Overall, he was a pleasure to work with--friendly, professional, and experienced. I also thought he was very fairly priced and a great value. I would certainly recommend Aaron to any future bride in the area!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
EmmaSam
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
I feel so fortunate to have had Aaron as the DJ and musician for my daughter's recent wedding. He was the consummate professional. Before the wedding, he asked my daughter a ton of questions so that he could know exactly what she wanted. He then made only the announcements she wanted and played only the music she asked for, and let me tell you, the dance floor was never empty the entire evening. He knew just how to keep the party moving. A good DJ is essential, and Aaron is that guy. I recommend him highly.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris
Wedding:
7/31/2011
5.0/5.0
Aaron was just awesome. He listened to what we wanted for our Wedding Ceremony and Reception and did just that,exactly what we wanted. Aaron plays beautifully and all of our guests really enjoyed his beautiful music. We planned our New Hampshire wedding from Chicago and he was very flexible and easy tp work with. His knowledge about all types of genre was very useful for our planning. We would highly suggest Aaron if you are looking for a talented musician to help you entertain your guests in a very classy environment.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emhanson
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
We were married almost 3 weeks ago and we are still getting constant feedback about our wedding day!! Most of all they are talking about the music. Everyone was so impressed with the styles that were played and how great the whole evening flowed together. Thanks to Aaron's expertise, our night was fun filled, and completely flawless. It was everything we expected and more!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joe
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
I would just like to say that now that you've found Aaron Topfer's website, there is no need to look elsewhere. Aaron was great, from the first phone call until the end of the reception. Aaron returned my emails and first phone call within minutes, which is more than I can say about most of the vendors with whom we dealt. I would have paid three times what Aaron charged for his services which was much more than reasonable. I thought we got Aaron and his fellow musicians for a steal. I also doesn't hurt that Aaron is just a really nice guy, who's musicianship is top-notch, and his professionalism is just as sharp.

Choose Aaron Topfer, Nationally Award-Winning Musician/DJ, for your next event. You will NOT be dissappointed!

Sincerely,



Joe & Allison Fowler
Married 7/9/2011
Kennebunkport, Me
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Duchess
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Aaron Topfer provided the music for our daughter's July 3,2011 wedding at the Wild Center in Tupper Lake N.Y. He is the most talented musician who will also provide DJ music and have your reception flow seamlessley. Moving from the synagogue where he played keyboard magnificently accompanied by violin, to cocktails where he provided a wonderful jazz trio, more live dinner music followed by the best DJ reception I have ever heard. All of the music was outstanding. He is a pleasure ! The Bride and Groom were thrilled. LRG
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole Rowsell
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Hiring Aaron was one of the BEST decisions my husband and I made during our wedding planning process. We hired Aaron the first time we met with him because we both had such a good feeling about his professionalism and experience as a DJ and Musician. We met with him about one year prior to our wedding and I was very happy with our decision. He was not about promoting himself; he was all about my husband and I and what we envisioned for our wedding day. When the wedding approached us, Aaron contacted us to discuss how to pronounce everyone’s name correctly and all the special touches we wanted for our BIG DAY. I thought this was very thoughtful of him. We decided to have a bag piper for our ceremony as well as Aaron play the piano for some of the special ceremonies like our Sand Ceremony and Rose Ceremony. It was absolutely perfect! We were very flexible with what kind of music we wanted Aaron to play. I just told him I wanted it to be fun and energetic. He told us that his talent is reading the crowd and making sure everyone danced the entire night, so I trusted him and gave a very limited play list. With all of the other things I had to do for our wedding, creating a play list was not the top on my list! I told Aaron things I definitely did not want played and songs that I definitely wanted to be played. That was it! We trusted Aaron with the rest, and we are so glad we did! He kept the crowd on the dance floor all night long! At one point my husband and I were dancing and we looked around and there was not one person sitting at their tables, it was amazing! We received so many compliments on how great of a job Aaron did and we will recommend him to all of our friends and family for future events. He was so flexible when it came to the wedding day. Our wedding was such a wonderful event that we will never forget and we owe a huge part of that to Aaron Topfer. He was a significant part in making our wedding a success and we couldn’t have been happier with our decision to hire him. They say your DJ makes or breaks your wedding, and Aaron will most definitely MAKE your wedding a day you will remember for the rest of your lives! We cannot thank Aaron enough for everything he did for us and will remember him forever!

Thank again Aaron!

Brent & Nicole Rowsell
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
plato79
Wedding:
6/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Aaron was the DJ we hired for our 6/3/11 wedding. We could not have made a better choice or a better investment. After speaking with Aaron the first time on the phone, I knew he was very professional and would work with us to create a memorable, wonderful, and dance-filled reception.

I expressed a bit about my vision to Aaron in that conversation: my fiance and I did not want a DJ who would make it his/her own show, talk over the music, play ridiculous "wedding" songs (i.e. the chicken dance, macarena, etc.), etc. Our vision was to hire someone professional who would play music that would draw our guests to the dance floor. Aaron was very honest and thoughtful in his response to my concerns and, perhaps it was his politeness and succinctness which assured me that he could deliver on his promise to create our vision for us. We could not have been more pleased with Aaron.

Aaron was the epitome of professional in any manner I dealt with him. He was fully prepared with the questions he asked us prior to the wedding; also, having met with him in the few weeks before the big day gave us all the chance to smooth out the details.

We additionally paid for two extra musicians at the cocktail hour and to play for dinner hour. Being a professional musician himself, Aaron selected two other amazing and talented professionals to play with him. Hands down, this was the best "unnecessary" expense/purchase we made for our wedding. All of our guests have commented on how classy it was to have a live jazz trio at the cocktail hour/dinner hour. I heard from my guests that people even started dancing to the jazz trio at the cocktail hour! I highly recommend this service - my fiance and I were beyond pleased with this addition.

Aaron is such a pleasure to work with. He was very flexible about everything. I had hoped to sing for my fiance, but was feeling nervous. Aaron simply checked in with me a couple of times during the reception to see how my nerves were - I appreciated his sensitivity and accommodating nature.

We could not have invested our money in a better way. Aaron took our suggested play list and elevated it to something magical. Our guests keep telling us that Aaron was the best DJ they'd ever encountered. What they echo is what my fiance & I experienced first hand: Aaron played excellent music to get all ages up and dancing. I don't think anyone was left in their seats!

If you are considering hiring Aaron, do it! He is the perfect DJ and musician. He is very committed to providing you with the experience that you envision and fully delivers on that commitment. I cannot express my gratitude to him and his fellow musicians for making my wedding day so very perfect!!
Services Used: Band, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kippy
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Aaron provided live ceremony music and was the DJ for the wedding reception. He was extremely professional throughout all our communications, and provided the musical styles requested by the couple as well as by the parents. The dance floor was always full, and the guests reported loving the music! We highly recommend Aaron Topfer!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CarolynS822
Wedding:
5/15/2011
5.0/5.0
My greatest fear in selecting a DJ for my wedding reception was of having a DJ who thought he could really "get the party started" with lots of interruptions and announcements, and by playing "classics" like the electric slide to get everyone out of their seats. None of these were even a slight concern with Aaron.

Aaron was extremely professional, helpful in planning the reception, and respectful of our desires (including play/do not play lists). He was able to provide many great suggestions for different parts of the ceremony and reception, but never tried to influence us. He was accomodating to some last minute changes to our selections and really took the time to understand exactly what we were looking for. Aaron also played/coordinated live music for our ceremony and cocktail hour, which was lovely. It was great to find someone that could both DJ and perform live music.

As for the reception, our dance floor was beyond packed for the entire night, and EVERYONE was dancing. We have gotten feedback from several guests that it was the most fun they have had at a wedding, and I attribute much of that to Aaron's good taste and expertise in keeping the party going! I would highly recommend Aaron's services to anyone looking to plan a classy and FUN event.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elisabeth
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Aaron was fantastic!! He played live for us for our ceremony on his piano, and did a great job on a couple of less-conventional choices we wanted for the ceremony. And for the reception, the dance floor was packed all night long! We've had many of our guests comment on how this was the best wedding party they'd ever been to, before running back out on the dance floor. And after the final dance song we'd selected, Aaron surprised us by playing our first dance song again, with the two of us dancing while all our family and friends stood around and watched us. It was such a great way to end the night and we really appreciated his choice to do that. If you are looking for someone to do the music for your ceremony and reception, stop here!!! You've found the best!

And thank you Aaron!!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claire
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
As far as Aaron's piano playing for the ceremony, I had a specific version of Pachelbel's Canon that I wanted to walk down the aisle to. Aaron not only learned it, he did it so quickly that he played it flawlessly when we sat down a month before the wedding (we only decided on our wedding date 4 months ahead of time). Also, his advice on the ceremony and reception in general was spot on.

As far as his DJ'ing, my husband and I are by no means experts, but we live in Los Angeles and basically spent our 20s going out to bars and clubs several nights a week. We have to say - Aaron is as good as any of them. During our approximately 4-hour reception, not once was the dance floor empty. He basically knew the perfect song to play at the right time. I have to admit - I was concerned when he initially said that he doesn't do the gimmicks that a lot of other wedding dj's do. What I realized during the wedding was he's so good at his job he doesn't need to use the crutches that other DJ's rely on. The most important thing in a DJ whether it's a party or at a bar is his/her ability to read the
room and Aaron has it in spades.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MattandMargie
Wedding:
2/5/2011
5.0/5.0
After dealing with a number of vendors (from photographers to reception halls) that were largely unresponsive and difficult to work with, it was a relief to deal with Aaron. He is a true professional. Planning a wedding is stressful enough without having to worry about whether people will call you back, be on time, and provide the service they advertise. Aaron recognized the stresses of planning a wedding and made sure everything was taken care of on his side of things. He called when he said he would call, and he arrived on time and professionally dressed. In addition to this, he went above and beyond, helping us pick music to dance to with our parents, choosing a final song, and the handling of special requests etc.

As for the music at the event, the announcements, and the handling of dances... Aaron's knack for making everything flow was second to none. We were making changes to how the wedding party was being announced AT the reception, and he took it in stride without a hiccup. His ability to fade music in and out when our first dances were ending was flawless.

When the dancing started after our meals, I've never seen anything quite like it. My family doesn't normally dance a TON, but it seemed that the floor was packed from the beginning right up to the last dance. I truly believe this is a testament to Aarons knowledge of music, and his choice of music really got people dancing, and then kept them dancing.

In short, I would strongly recommend Aaron Topfer for a DJ of any important event. From the DJs at my proms, to all the weddings I've been too, I've never seen another DJ that could match any part of Aarons performance.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K-Whit
Wedding:
11/27/2010
5.0/5.0
Aaron was amazing. The music was everything that my husband and I wanted. The ceremony, the dinner reception and the dance party all flowed together. Our guests where impressed with his music selection and the way the night seemed to be one endless party. Aaron was very accommodating and worked with us to provide the best for our family and guest.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
corymurph
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Aaron was wonderful. We had a morning ceremony with a brunch reception, so having jazz music played was perfect. Being from out of state I was nervous at first since I had never met him, and just was going on reviews and sample music from the website. However I had nothing to be nervous about! Everything went flawlessly and all my guests afterwards told me how incredible the music was and how much fun they had.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lsweeney2
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Aaron was amazing! We couldn't have asked for a better DJ. He played the piano for our cocktail hour and was the DJ for our wedding reception. He called me a few weeks before the wedding and asked me how I wanted everything to flow for the evening and my music preferences. He was so accomadating and took everything I said and incorporated it into the playlist for the evening. He kept everyone on the dance floor all night long, including both the young and old!!! He was fantastic and I would recommend eveyone book Aaron for their weddings!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kels5282
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Aaron is incredibly thorough, detail oriented, and talented. He plays the piano beautifully and played during our reception and cocktail hour. He also did a great job at the reception - the dance floor was packed all night. He booked a violinist for us for the ceremony/cocktail hour so that was nice to have one less thing to worry about.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
130x130_sq_1286369699920-pemaquidblackandwhite1
Life is Beautiful
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Mr. Topfer was an absolute pleasure to work with. He did a phenomenal job with the ceremony music, and was able to accommodate my selections of music. When we moved to the dance floor, he kept things hopping! Everyone enjoyed his dj style and music selections. Mr. Topfer’s expertise, professionalism and flexibility are all attributes brides-to-be look for in a vendor; I would highly recommend his services.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Bg5
ashnick48
Wedding:
9/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Aaron was a wonderful DJ. When we were searching for DJs, we wanted someone who would be able to provide music for both the ceremony and reception. The biggest thing for us was that we didn't want someone gimmicky or too showy...Aaron was perfect. He played the music we asked for and went above and beyond with his own additions. The dance floor was packed all night, thanks to Aaron He even checked in with us periodically to make sure everything was OK. My husband and I didn't leave the dance floor all night...we had a fantastic time and we have Aaron to thank for the wonderful music! If you want a talented musician to play piano for your ceremony and cocktail hour and a fabulous DJ for your reception with no gimmicks - all for an amazingly affordable price - then Aaron is your man. We highly recommend Aaron Topfer's DJ services....you won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan and Tony Tebow
Wedding:
9/17/2010
5.0/5.0
We had the pleasure of working with Nik Shukla for our wedding. After reading many reviews for different DJ services, I found Aaron Topfer to seem the most in line with the type of party I wanted to have. They described themselves as not too flashy, in your face with props and announcements, and a completely respectful approach to the music you desired for your day. We learned that we would have Nik as our DJ, and right from the beginning he was very professional and inquisitive about the style and feel we wanted for the wedding. About a month out we had an in depth planning meeting, somewhat difficult to coordinate as we lived in Hawaii and were planning a wedding in Maine, but Nik was always flexible with both of our busy schedules and was kind enough to stay up later on his end to accomodate us. The planning session was extremely helpful, Nik was full of good ideas on what types of music would work best for the type of crowd we were expecting, but also gave us full control of the music we wanted. We put together a First Priority and Do Not Play List, which I would definitely recommend doing even if you think you're not too "picky". If there are songs that are important to you or that you just absolutely despise, make it clear as to avoid any complications on the wedding day. We had an outdoor ceremony, which I thought might be difficult as far as the sound system goes, but the ceremony music sounded great, even with stronger winds outside that morning. During the reception Nik was able to hook up our IPod to play some songs that were newer and that he didn't have available. We spoke together just before the dancing began to make sure everything was right. Once the dancing began, Nik started with 60s/70s songs that we liked to get some of the older members of the crowd up and dancing, and then moved on to 80s, 90s, and newer dance songs. There was just the right mix of slow and fast songs, and we all had a blast dancing. I recieved many compliments on the music played after the wedding and how great the sound was (not too loud). Nik was extremely attentive and professional and very flexible with our schedules while we were still in Hawaii. You can tell that he cares about making your wedding perfect for you by the measures that he takes to ensure all of the details are exactly the way you'd like them. I'd recommend him to anyone who would like a more unobtrusive DJ who caters to the style of music that you would like, not his own preferences, while still making everything lively and loads of fun. Thanks again Nik!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
9/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Aaron was amazing. We had him do our ceremony, our cocktail hour, as well as DJ our reception! We really couldn't have asked for anything more. He was attentive and listened to what we wanted and what we didn't. The dance floor was ALWAYS full and we really enjoyed the mix of music he was playing. He was extremely helpful before helping us make decisions on different music selections. It was great to have him just sit down and play the selections so we could hear them. We highly recommend Aaron to anyone looking for professional and classy DJ/musician.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Folsar81
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Aaron was very professional and respectful of all our wedding day wishes. He understood what we were looking for and provided exactly that on our wedding day. He really know his music. I wanted a vintage feel during cocktail and dinner and he nailed that. Everyone was impressed by the selection of music and were even dancing early on. Later in the night when the party got going he had a great selection of dance music. The floor was packed the entire time which was what I really wanted...people having a great time and dancing. Great easy going guy that really knows what he's doing. Highly recommend him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fieryi
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Aaron was a very professional, efficient, courteous DJ. He did an amazing job with creating a classy but energetic atmoshpere.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennifer
Wedding:
9/7/2007
5.0/5.0
aaron was very professional and the song list was completely customized to fit our needs.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeffrey
Wedding:
8/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Aaron struck just the right tone with the music that he played, and he did a great job energizing the crowd at all the right times. We've gotten a ton of comments from friends and family about how the wedding was the best they've ever been to, and his efforts played a large role in that. We'd definitely recommend him to others getting married in the Boston area.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amylee4835
Wedding:
8/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Aaron knows how to pack a dance floor! Everyone from my 5 year old cousin to my 50 year old aunts/uncles were on the dance floor for most of the night - I couldn't believe it. He is very much "behind the scenes". I didn't want anyone who was going to try to get people to dance, lead some dumb line dance or make asinine jokes/comments. I wanted someone that would play great music and that is exactly what he did.

I did have a couple of people mention to me that you couldn't hear him well, so maybe mention that he make sure he talks loud or turn the music down a little when he is going to announce something (i.e. - who gets the centerpiece, that the ice cream bar is set up, that the photobooth would be leaving in an hour, etc.).

However, I heard everything he said and had no problems. Just something to note. He also played the piano during the cocktail hour and I have heard great things about that.

I hired him to pack the dance floor and he did it no problem!
Services Used: DJ
AARON TOPFER: Nationally Award-Winning Musician & DJ responded with the following comments:

We acknowledge that while we always strive to make the Clearest and Easiest-To-Understand Announcements, any DJ sometimes competes against challenging room acoustics...which they obviously have little or no control over.

However, had someone mentioned to us about the lack of clarity on the microphone, we could have made a few adjustments.

We agree that you had a Great Dance Party at Your Reception and Thank You for Hiring Us!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
6/27/2010
5.0/5.0
Aaron Topfer and his musical associates did a great job for my June '10 wedding. They provided ceremony music (a few james taylor songs} and jazz & pop songs for the cocktail reception.

Our reception was relaxed and informal (hors d'œuvres, stations, not a traditional dinner). Aaron was easy to plan and work with. He did a great job as a DJ and played all of our requests. The most amazing part was that he did all of this while being quite unobtrusive.......not stealing the show at any part of the evening while coordinating things smoothly.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Aaron was by far our favorite wedding vendor. He played the piano beautifully for our ceremony and cocktail hour. He DJed our reception, and incorporated different types of music including some of my husband's eclectic requests. He kept the party moving and the dance floor was packed all night. Our guests are still complimenting us on the music selections! I would highly recommend using Aaron for your wedding!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
When we were planning our wedding we knew that the music was going to play one of the most important roles during the evening. As an editor for a bridal magazine in NYC, my expectations for someone professional, kind, and easy to work with were a top priority. I knew I didn't want a live band, I wanted the music to sound authentic.

Being from Connecticut, working in NYC, and planning a wedding in Vermont was a challenge and finding a decent DJ was a task to say the least. But then we found Aaron Topfer and couldn't have been more pleased with him from the first conversation. He blew me out of the water when we first met. I actually left the meeting stunned that someone so professional existed in the Vermont wedding circuit.

Right away, we hired Aaron played at our ceremony and reception. Before our wedding, Aaron listened to literally everything we said, reviewed things with us thoroughly, and made some seriously great suggestions for our bridal party entrance and cake cutting. He even took it upon himself to contact our vocalist and meet with her several times ahead of time (even though they both live in different areas) to discuss the format of the ceremony and cues for both.

On the day of the wedding he was there ready to go. Our ceremony couldn't have been more beautiful or peaceful with Aaron playing, "Grow Old With Me" in the background during communion. His rendition brought tears to everyone's eyes.

At the ceremony, once again Aaron was "ON." He listened to all of our cues for when to play certain things during the evening and when to move on with other songs, and had all of our guests on the dancefloor the entire evening. My husband and I were blown away by him! Everyone from age three to age 97 was dancing. His song selection was unbelievable to say the very least. He even surprised us with a live version of Neil Diamond's "Sweet Caroline," as we are huge Boston Red Sox fans! We danced until midnight and could have kept going, except we needed some sleep!

Aaron was one of the best things that came out of planning our wedding. Without him it would have been just another day, but he made our wedding a non-stop party. He is the best DJ I have ever come across and I can't wait to suggest him to everyone I know!
Services Used: DJ
AARON TOPFER: Nationally Award-Winning Musician & DJ responded with the following comments:

Thanks for Your Review, Elizabeth!

It was a True Honor to serve the Senior Editor at Manhattan Bride Magazine for her own Very Special and Extremely Well-Planned Vermont Wedding!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Flowergirl
Wedding:
6/26/2009
5.0/5.0
We wanted a DJ who keeps his talking to a minimal and just plays music. Aaron did this perfectly and was great to work with. He also accompanied a singer friend of ours on the piano for the ceremony and we were quite pleased with the live music as well. He also helped us stay organized throughout our planning process. Recommended.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Aaron played some wonderful piano for our ceremony and cocktail hour. He also was our DJ. I loved the music he played throughout the entire evening. The ceremony music was beautiful and the dinner music was played at a decent volume - something my mom really liked. Later on in the night, Aaron really knew what he was he was doing as a DJ. Great music and no cheesy songs. Most of my guests danced nearly all night.

Our only disappointment was that we could not the attend the cocktail hour because we were taking pictures. Some of my guests raved about Aaron's piano music during that time.

If you are looking for someone who is classy, does not do games, and is also a talented musician, then Aaron is your guy.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
12/20/2008
5.0/5.0
Aaron was recommended to us from a family friend. He played the piano for our ceremony and cocktail hour, along with a saxphonist that he hired for us. He also Dj'ed our reception. Our family and friends couldn't stop raving about him. We wanted someone who was classy and didn't do any games. Aaron even exceeded our expectations.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/26/2008
5.0/5.0
Aaron was great to work with and allowed us to pick all of the music! A really great piano-player too. He also did my sister's wedding a year before so we already knew and trusted him. He's was flexible enough to play at our ceremony & cocktail hour, and also DJ at our reception venue.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kimberlykenya
Wedding:
8/8/2008
5.0/5.0
Aaron was great! He is great at customizing things just for you. He is a DJ but he also plays piano which he did during our cocktail hour. We never had time to come up with a must play list for the reception but he somehow knew exactly what to play to get all our guests out on the dance floor. He was professional and quick to respond to emails/phone calls. He has one price that includes ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception music which actually turns out to be less than most djs when you combine the services.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catherine
Wedding:
6/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Aaron was perfect! He set the exact mood that we wanted, didn't do a bunch of gimmicks, kept people dancing all night. And he's a superb musician! The ceremony music was beautiful!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
val7685
Wedding:
5/24/2008
5.0/5.0
Aaron played the piano for our ceremony and was the Dj four our reception. He had the dance floor packed all night. He really listened to our requests.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LogicX
Wedding:
8/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Working with Aaron was wonderful: We provided all the information he requested, and he just made everything happen, without us having to worry: I didn't even meet Aaron for the first time until AFTER our ceremony AND cocktail hour. Knowing that he had everything under control was wonderful! He did a great job, especially during our wedding: Made a custom entrance song for me that was a combination of songs with a sound effect, and he was able to get everyone up and dancing with the music selections.
I'd recommend Aaron to anyone -- made a great choice!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
1/1/2011
4.9/5.0
Aaron is extremely talented and provided beautiful piano music for our ceremony. He had another musician play the flute. Our guests asked us if our ceremony music was recorded because it sounded so nice. He also played piano during the cocktail hour and was very accomodating to what we wanted to hear. Aaron makes sure to speak at length before the wedding to get a sense of what we expected and how he could deliver it. Aaron also was the DJ for the entire night and knows how to play music to keep people on the dance floor. He also mentioned "tricks" incase people weren't getting up and dancing, which wasn't a problem for my guests! All in all, Aaron is talented, professional, responsive, and a value for the price you will pay.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Aaron arranged for all the music and entertainment for our wedding. The ceremony music was wonderful, the jazz band which played during cocktail hour was amazing as well. Aaron was the dj for our wedding and everyone had a great time. If you are having a wedding in New England I recommend Aaron and his professional services.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.8/5.0
We dealt with Nik Shukla, not Aaron. Nik was VERY attentive and went way above and beyond to get to know us and make sure that we had all of the bases covered. He made sure to have everyone's name correct, outlined the type of music we wanted him to play during the cocktail hour and reception, and made the effort to get to know us. We heard that everyone enjoyed the cocktail hour music and the dance floor was always full during the reception! We couldn't have asked for anything else. Thank you Nik!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/18/2010
4.8/5.0
I had the pleasure of working with Nik Shukla, Aaron's partner. He did an amazing job of coordinating the music for the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. He had excellent ideas for pieces that sounded nice together for the ceremony, and was incredibly flexible with the music he provided for the cocktail hour and reception. He allowed my husband and I to hand over our laptop with a certain live band's show we wanted to have played for the cocktail hour. He also was able to find some obscure Bollywood songs on iTunes for the guests at our wedding. He was completely professional and honored our "do-not-play" list to the tee. My only feedback for Nik is to perhaps discuss with the bride and groom prior to the wedding what percentage of songs they would like to be fast dance vs. slow dance, and also to use microphones for outdoor weddings regardless of the number of guests. Nik did a truly fantastic job, and is indeed dedicated to his business and performance.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tyler
Wedding:
2/25/2012
4.7/5.0
Aaron did an excellent job as our wedding DJ. He is very professional, thorough, and talented. He played keyboard and piano through our ceremony, and cocktail hour/dinner and did an excellent job. He really incorporated our music ideas/suggestions into the music that he played for the dancing portion as well. Can't say enough good things about his work, and would highly recommend him to anyone.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
130x130_sq_1209486345779-102_1049
Jessmg96
Wedding:
5/17/2008
4.7/5.0
Aaron Topfer did an excellent job for our entire wedding. He provided live music for the ceremony and cocktail hour and then transformed to DJ for the reception. It was definitely a money saver having the 2 in 1 for music. He was very professional and the music was great. He did everything just how we wanted it. He did a great job.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
130x130_sq_1329582105382-20111228portlandparks025
Shannon
Wedding:
8/24/2013
4.4/5.0
Aaron was very helpful through out the planning process and seemed very organized and professional, both of these qualities were very important to us planning from 1000 miles away. Everything throughout planning went great. He was helpful in music selections and flexible in accommodating our tastes and vision. The piano music during dinner was a big bonus as we got live music as an extra special touch.

We did have a small outage in our music during the dancing due to electrical issues on the part of our venue (even through Aaron arrived early and did extensive testing the issue only occurred after a prolonged period of playing music at a higher volume). He adapted quickly to get the music up and going before guests got restless and the dance floor remained packed the rest of the evening.

The only thing we are still upset about was that Aaron played the wrong song for our first dance even though it was clearly written down in his wedding planner packet and confirmed in an e-mail prior to our wedding day. While we did get to dance to our song much later in the night it started the reception on a bad note for us, not having the song we spent so long choosing that had much more meaning to us. While we can't get that particular moment back Aaron did send a sincere letter apologizing and gave us a partial refund.

We chose Aaron because of his work/talent at our friend's wedding. All in all, a great person to work with and a great pianist / dj despite his work at our wedding not being to the level we had observed at our friend's wedding the summer before.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
AARON TOPFER: Nationally Award-Winning Musician & DJ responded with the following comments:

We have a 95+% Customer Satisfaction Rating and are Consistently-Praised for the Quality of Our Wedding Music Planning System as well as the Live Ceremony Music, Live Cocktail Hour Music, & DJ/Emcee Services that we provide.

This is a Very High Rating for any DJ or Music Company anywhere in the US & Canada.

This obviously wasn't one of the 95+%.

We agree that this Wedding Day was less than perfect and have taken responsibility for our part in the form of a Prompt, Meaningful, & Sincere Apology Letter as well as a partial refund. The refund was Not Requested by the Bride or the Groom, but something we felt was Reasonable & Fair. We did make a rare mistake which is something we have Never done before over 100's & 100's of weddings.

We also would like to point-out that, unlike the 100's of wedding sites we have performed at across New England, this site did not provide a working & safe electrical outlet in the vicinity of the DJ Set-Up Location.

Further, one of the employees of the location revealed that this Site has had "DJ's who have blown fuses and all sorts of electrical issues" in the past. In fact, he said that he wouldn't be surprised if the place "burned down in an electrical fire".

Obviously, we will not be returning to this location for any further weddings in the future as it does not meet basic requirements for a Professional Wedding Site.

The Site itself...Jones Landing on Peaks Island...should Not be considered by any couple wishing to hire Professional Music Entertainment until the site owners hire an Electrician to fix the obvious & DANGEROUS issues that can destroy equipment and cause fires.

In the Bigger Picture, while the Wedding Day had some bumps, the quality of Our Ceremony Music, Our Cocktail Hour Music, and Our Dinner Music were praised by a number of guests besides the Bride & Groom, and the Dance Floor was packed for the last hour and half of the Reception.

By most Reasonable standards, the day was a Success which is why the Groom went out of his way to Praise Us and Thank Us at the end of the Reception.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.1/5.0
Aaron has fantastic communication! He has no overtime fees and stays for as long as you need him. He played the piano beautifully for our ceremony (at least the little I could hear) and he also hired a violinist. He wasn't able to perform during the cocktail hour, I'm not certain why though. The violinist still played, so it was fine. For most of the night, he played perfect music. The dinner music was nice, but sometimes it sounded soft, and other times loud. I know we gave him the styles of music we wanted to hear, but I heard a lot of Billy Joel songs. A little more variety would have been nice. Not that I didn't like the music, though. I had asked for a lot of dance songs towards the end - like Justin Timberlake, Rihanna, Christina & Britney, because I know a lot of my friends like it and will dance. But then he transitioned it into a lot of more hip-hop/rap which wasn't my thing. And his speaker system sounded terrible!! Maybe the volume was just too loud, but by that time, we only had 20 minutes left and we were all exhausted, that I just had him play our last dance song. And then he played an encore of our first dance song, which was a really nice touch. I was a little annoyed that someone apparently went up to him to tell him it was someone's birthday. But whoever it was gave the wrong name. And also, I knew of 2 other people's birthdays that I would have announced had I known we were even doing that. Aaron shouldn't have announced anything without consulting either myself, my husband or my parents - that is what we had discussed with him. There were some songs I know we said we definitely wanted played, and I never heard them. Oh well. Anyway, I had a blast, and for most of the night there were always a ton of people dancing!
Services Used: DJ
AARON TOPFER: Nationally Award-Winning Musician & DJ responded with the following comments:

Having served over 1,000 Weddings in the last 15 years, this Review is, a True Aberration. We have received Numerous Awards and National Recognition for the High-Quality of Our Services.

Our other Reviews across the Internet and on WeddingWire speak for themselves.

However, the success of a Wedding Day is the result of a Partnership between the Bride and Groom, their Guests, and the Wedding Professionals they've chosen to hire.

In this case, we would like to point out a number of ways in which this Partnership was violated by the Bride and Groom not communicating with this us effectively and generally being Out-Of-Line versus our usual Reasonable, Rational, and Highly-Satisfied Customer.

1} First of all, we were never informed that the Ceremony and Reception were taking place in exactly the same room. During our planning meeting with every Bride and Groom, we always ask about the logistical set-up. We were never informed.

When we arrived at the Event, we were the ones who were most surprised by this Lack of Communication. All that was needed was a little "Heads-Up" ahead of time. Never happened.

As a result, we had to forego Piano Music during the Cocktail Hour so that we could set-up our DJ System in the Reception space.

Over the course of 100's of weddings, this kind of logistical challenge is never a problem as long as we're given advance notice. Fortunately, our Wonderful Violinist was able to provide Cocktail Hour Music by herself which meant that the Clients received A+ quality music despite the oversight.

2} Tastes in Music are something that is always covered in our Very Thorough and Detailed Planning Meeting. The Bride and Groom were clear with us in this meeting that they were "not picky people" and that the Playlist was "not a must-play list".

We take Playlists/Do-Not-Playlists very seriously. Had we received a Clear Playlist and Do-Not-Playlist we would have gladly respected them.

Further, we usually get Compliments on our Music Selection which is always based on the Bride's and Groom's Tastes/Preferences. We always play CLEAN {Edited} versions of songs...the artists we played at this Reception are the artists and general styles that the Bride and Groom requested.

3} We ALWAYS get Lots of Compliments about the Quality of Our JBL Eon Speaker System. Many times people will say it's "the best DJ system they've ever heard".

Over the course of 100's of weddings, the comment above that our "Speaker System Sounded Terrible" is the Only Complaint of this type we've ever received. It is a known fact that certain people are unusually sensitive to louder music and perhaps this was the case. It is also a fact that no one else at this wedding complained.

4} We are Always Respectful on the microphone, and speak Minimally and in a Low-Key, Professional Way. The Bride's complaint about a single announcement we made is the Only Complaint of this type we've ever received over the course of 100's of weddings.

5} Last of all, the Bride has gone onto several internet forums to complain about and slander us repeatedly. May we suggest that a More Constructive, Humane, and Decent Approach for Everyone, including Future Customers, would be to voice any complaints to us directly.

In fact, had the Bride or Groom or frankly, anyone at the Wedding wanted us to correct something, we would have gladly corrected it On The Spot - resulting in an Immediate Solution and a Better Wedding for All.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrsmattyk
Wedding:
4/17/2009
3.8/5.0
Aaron was very professional. He was very thorough in our communication leading up to the wedding and I had many positive reviews from brides who had used him in the past. I was perhaps most impressed with Aaron's piano performaces during our ceremony and cocktail hour. He is quite talented. His DJ skills were up to par, and I think it is fair to say that the crowd we had at our wedding probably wasn't the biggest group of dancers a wedding has ever seen. So while I would have loved to see more people out on the dance floor, I chalked much of it up to the crowd, not necessarily Aaron. He was very flexible with me on the day of, rolling with the changes I wanted to make at the spur of the moment (for example, we had planned on doing an Anniversary Dance and decided not to last minute). I knew I wanted a relatively low-key DJ who wasn't going to be yelling out in to the crowd, bringing props, and leading line dances. Aaron did fit that bill, but in retrospect I wonder if someone with a little more energy would have inspired people to get out on the dance floor. I am definitely not disappointed with his services, but was not overjoyed either.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
AARON TOPFER: Nationally Award-Winning Musician & DJ responded with the following comments:

A couple facts are worth pointing out to give a Balanced View of why the dancing at this particular wedding was disappointing to the customer:

1} The Bride changed the Reception Plan at the very last minute to leave out a Special Anniversary / Longevity Dance. We were happy to make this change.

However, given the fact the her crowd was not a great dance crowd {as she admits}, the Anniversary Dance would have been a great way to get everyone up and dancing. It was part of the Original Wedding Plan for good reason.

2} Second, the Bride and Groom left the Reception for almost the Entire Last Hour to take outdoor pictures. This was their choice and priority.

However, in our experiences, when the Bride and Groom are absent for this long, most guests to tend to feel a little strange/awkward partying and dancing without the Bride and Groom there to join them!

Normal outdoor pictures, if they are done during a Wedding Reception, take about 10 minutes at most. We've worked with many, many couples who do outdoor pictures at some point during the reception. None ever takes a full hour like these did.

3} It's worth mentioning again that in this case, Bride's Mother has gone onto several internet forums to complain about and slander us repeatedly.

This has been especially Shocking and Out-Of-Line considering that Every Mother of the Bride we've ever interacted with has Loved Us and usually Raves About Us.

May we suggest again that a More Constructive, Humane, and Decent Approach for Everyone, including Future Customers, would be to voice any complaints to us directly.

In fact, had the Bride or Groom or the Bride's Mother or frankly, anyone at the Wedding wanted us to correct something, we would have gladly corrected it On The Spot - resulting in an Immediate Solution and a Better Wedding for All.
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for AARON TOPFER: Nationally Award-Winning Musician & DJ
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1403410621310-great-memories