130x130_sq_1258063721657-aggazebo

Abernethy Center

Oregon City , OR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

606 15th St.
Oregon City, OR US 97045 (map)

PHONE

503-722-9400

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Abernethy Center is the ideal setting for your wedding in the Portland, Oregon area. We have mastered the art of the event, along with all the service and details that go into making... Read more
Abernethy Center is the ideal setting for your wedding in the Portland, Oregon area. We have mastered the art of the event, along with all the service and details that go into making that event a success. But the reason we are here, the passion that keeps us going, is this -- we are caretakers of the most important day of a couple's life. We understand the responsibility that comes with that job, knowing that the wedding day is not just a day at all, but a web of moments each as monumentally important as the next. Whether you want a stunning outdoor wedding or an elegant indoor affair, we have the perfect setting for your story. Take the tour and discover what makes Abernethy Center Oregon's premier event location. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1355268656268-503erichmcveydanielkara
130x130_sq_1355268620302-368erichmcveydanielkara
130x130_sq_1355268683750-518erichmcveydanielkara
130x130_sq_1355268583120-758erichmcveydanielkara
130x130_sq_1221075369448-hollandfirstdance9-07
130x130_sq_1229624733000-mj1084
130x130_sq_1355268837499-vgmitchelldyerphotography
130x130_sq_1355268803265-img0219hawthornestd
130x130_sq_1355268824110-impressionartsvgceremony
130x130_sq_1355268836192-onajared7
130x130_sq_1355268841604-vgpathlevy
130x130_sq_1355268793423-zlitpathwayevrim
130x130_sq_1355268973705-ballroomthephotoglight
130x130_sq_1355268946531-zwarmballroom
130x130_sq_1355268995683-ballroompatio
130x130_sq_1355269005603-clipimage007
130x130_sq_1355269039057-patiowithlightspowers
130x130_sq_1355269066013-picture046
130x130_sq_1355269205958-clipimage001003
130x130_sq_1355269207919-clipimage008
130x130_sq_1355269209940-clipimage009
130x130_sq_1355269211974-clipimage0010
130x130_sq_1355269215879-clipimage0019

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2001
When was your venue last renovated?
2001
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Park / Zoo / Natural Space
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Other
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
44
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Abernethy is a beautiful place to get married and everyone there is so professional, friendly and so helpful.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michele
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
The entire staff at Abernethy Center is awesome! The venue itself is so beautiful and they take care of so many little details! When our daughter ever finds her soul mate, I hope she'll choose Abernethy for HER venue! Even with the rain.... It couldn't have been more perfect! Also, every one of our guests RAVED about the food! Especially the beef with Bernaise sauce.and the coconut shrimp! AMAZING!!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurie
Wedding:
3/28/2014
5.0/5.0
Our daughter had her wedding in the Chapel and the reception in the ballroom. The Abernethy staff were very helpful and attentive to anything that my daughter and fiance needed throughout the entire day. The food was amazing the venue beautiful. The event was a complete success, starting with Alyssa (event specialist) who brought this altogether with our wishes and wants, with our event coordinator on the day of the event Christina, she kept all of us in line and on a good timeline for the big event. The timing was so important because most of the day the bridal party did not realize what time it was as we were getting ready. Having someone help you along was perfect.
The Abernethy staff in the ballroom made the event very special with the plated food for the bride and groom and any items that they may need. They made sure that all guests were safe and happy.
Perfect venue for the big day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alex
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing! They helped me through all of questions and made the day run perfectly smooth! The chapel is the best place to get married during the cold season and made for an amazing day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
The facilities were beautiful, the staff was helpful, and the day went very smoothly!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Celia
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
The staff at Abernethy were amazing - Laura was our representative and she is awesome!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was absolutely beautiful! Elizabeth helped us through the planning process and then Amy was my wedding coordinator the day of. I wouldn't change a thing! Definitely had the wedding of my dreams there!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
The center and the staff are great. Always answered my questions, made my weddinh very easy and I cannot recommend them more.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lizabeth
Wedding:
8/16/2013
5.0/5.0
The Abernethy Center is absolutely amazing. My guests couldn't stop talking about how wonderful the venue and reception area were. My Wedding was set in Abigail's Garden. From the rehearsal to the hours leading up the Wedding the Abernethy Staff was amazing and always one step ahead.

The food was so good. Everything was fresh, well prepared, and hot.

I HIGHLY recommend this venue!
Services Used: Catering, , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
The Abernethy Center is AMAZING! I found them online and fell in LOVE with the Veiled Garden! After seeing it in person, I knew this was to be the setting of the exchanging of our vows and the start of our new life together. From beginning to end, their staff was incredible! Gently guiding me through all of the decision making-never pushing any services on me. We added a LOT of our own touches and had several vendors working throughout the evening and everything came together PERFECTLY! I love that they offer so many options to customize your special day! From the beautiful chiavari chairs and sashes, to the ivory shantung linens, the edible hibiscus flowers in our toasting flutes to the chocolate fountain-the list continues! AND THE FOOD!!! Everyone is still RAVING about the food! It was truly delectable! Having our wedding and reception at Abernethy was a dream come true! I highly recommend The Abernethy Center!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1332213301157-004
Rachel
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
I am so glad that DH and I had our wedding at Abernethy Center. It really was a beautiful day. I was a bit worried about not staying on schedule but it all worked out so well. Throughout our planning process, we worked with Alyssa and she did a great job. On top of everything, we even had a beautiful sunny day at the end of September!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Abernethy Center responded with the following comments:

Rachel,
Thank you for your kind words! It was such a pleasure working with you. I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful and sunny wedding day.
130x130_sq_1327290935790-img9109
Chrissy
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
The Abernethy Center was such a beautiful place to get married. We had our ceremony at Abigail's garden and then immediately followed it with the reception in the big white tent behind it. Everyone was helpful: servers were fast and responsive, the day-of coordinator was friendly and responsible, and the food was fantastic!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
Melissa
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
If I could start all the planning over again, I would NOT change my venue. The Abernethy Center is AMAZING! We chose Abigail's Garden and it was absolutely beautiful, the service is incredible. Everyone that works there is extremely friendly, kind, understanding...everything you would want in service. You do have to use their caterer, but it was so worth it. I heard more about how delicious the food was than anything else!
Pay the money, never regret it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jan
Wedding:
7/3/2012
5.0/5.0
If we designed our own venue, nothing would be different from what Abernethy's Abigail Garden is ... everything was exactly as we envisioned the perfect outdoor wedding site to be! Laura was fabulous to work with leading up to the wedding, Ashley was a great event coordinator for the rehearsal and wedding, and all wait staff were too. We chose the daffodil package with hors deuvres of: fruit plate, cheese platter, firefly tarts and mushroom/fontina pastries ... all were delicious and plenty of it. I give this an unreserved thumbs up.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Abernethy Center responded with the following comments:

Kaitlyn,

It was such a pleasure working with you! I am so glad to hear your day went as you imagined :). I hope you are enjoying married life!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrigby
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
The Abernethy Center was absolutely beautiful! The staff was more helpful than I could have imagined. The day we booked the venue they were always available to answer questions. They also do their own catering and the food was phenomenal! I have a lot of food allergies and they were very accommodating. Our wedding was perfect, much of the credit is due to the stunning Abernethy Center and their wonderful staff!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Johanna
Wedding:
5/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Everyone at the Abernethy Center, from the event coordinator down to the servers, was a joy to work with. I could not have planned my own wedding without them stepping in and taking care of the details, and I'm so grateful that on my wedding day, I didn't have to worry about a thing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosie
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
The Abernethy Center is wonderful! When our original venue lost their lease 3 months before our wedding, I called the Abernethy Center hoping they could help. They offered us their chapel (beautiful!) and made sure that we had everything we needed to make our wedding day perfect. Laura took care of every detail of our wedding (including many things that I didn't even consider) and was quick to respond to any question that we had during the planning process. She was friendly, caring, and a pleasure to work with. On our big day, the team of Abernethy Center staff that we had were fabulous! Ashley attended to our every need and request and she, as well as the rest of the staff, were so friendly! Thanks to them my husband and I were able to enjoy our wedding with very little stress and no worries! It was the perfect day, just as they had intended!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Abernethy Center responded with the following comments:

Rosie,

You and Thomas were such a pleasure to work with and so sweet! I wish you all the best ~
130x130_sq_1310712272858-epic3
Cara
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
We were married in Abigail's Garden at Abernethy Center on September 17th, 2011 and it was everything we could have hoped for our wedding day. From the first tour, to booking and planning Alyssa and the rest of the staff have been extremely helpful and accomodating. We had been planning for an outdoor ceremony at the gazebo, but it rained the day of the wedding. Abernethy's ceremony staff was quick to respond and adjusted the reception tent for the ceremony and then back again. They even provided my guests with umbrellas. The bridal suite was awesome, btw. All in all we were very pleased with Abernethy and it's staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jordyn.l
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Beautiful, affordable, all-inclusive
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia Busch
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
I am absolutely thrilled will Alyssa and the other ladies at Abernethy. They were so accommodating and professional. They really made my day (despite the weather) perfect. I would 100% recommend Abernethy Center!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
renee
Wedding:
5/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Everything ran perfectly at the wedding, I felt absolutely no stress!! The service was excellent, could not have been happier with my choice. I felt confident that the event coordinator and everyone helping knew exactly what they were doing, beyond my expectations. Another bonus is the dj I had, Rose City DJ's, had DJ'd there so much that he knew the staff very well and helped run the show too. Between him and the Abernethy staff, it made my day peaceful and fun.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
82410Bride
Wedding:
8/24/2010
5.0/5.0
I got married in the Abigail's Garden and it was the best day of my life. The staff were amazing and accommodating and extremely helpful. Jill was our day of coordinator and she made sure things were going smoothly and kept in touch with me throughout the day to let me know what was going on. Christina was my sales coordinator and I can't say enough good things about her! She was always positive and smiling when I saw her. She was very flexible while I couldn't make up my mind lol. She was seriously the best and I'm so glad we got her. The rest of the staff are extremely nice and helpful. They really strive to make your day the best day of your life. I will be recommending The Abernethy Center to other brides who are looking for a wedding venue.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Valerie
Wedding:
6/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Most beautiful place to have a wedding. We loved every moment of our special day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs.Ray
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
I LOVED my outdoor ceremony! It was sooooo beautiful and perfect! I had dreams about my wedding but they didn't compare to how beautiful the day turned out to be. And the staff were all great and very nice.

I had a morning wedding and I had to be up very early to be ready by 8 and I didn't have time/forgot to eat so I started feeling a little sick so the coordinators brought me a good assortments of snacks and water to help my tummy before starting.

There was only one thing that didn't go so smoothly, the timeline. It was all fine but there was time when I felt things should move along quicker than they were because guests were getting restless (during reception) and when we planned out the reception, Rachelle told us during the slideshow coordinators would just move out chairs out in front so we would be able to watch too but once that happened during the reception, the coordinators were a little confused by it and wanted to move out table and I just thought that they would already know to just move the chairs rather than me telling them. It wasn't a big deal or anything just a little confusing.

My total experience was great and I would do it all over again. And the food was wonderful! All my guests loved the brunch, especially the omelettes!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
4/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth at the Abernethy Center was great to work with! She was always extremely helpful and flexible, especially since we were planning our wedding from a distance! Our reception was held in Abigail's Garden, which was an absolutely beautiful atmosphere. The food is excellent and the staff is very helpful and kind! They were great with all of the little kids running around as well as with filling all of our unique requests! Give them a shot if you are looking for somewhere to hold a great party!

Emily
Portland, OR
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erika
Wedding:
4/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Everyone I worked with at the Abernethy Center was great. Rachelle helped in the planning, and Kathie with the execution, and both are fantastic at their jobs. We used the Veiled Garden and the Ballroom. Both are beautiful. I would definitely recommend them to my friends!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
The site is beautiful and the staff was very responsive.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krywilson
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
I found the Abernethy Center years ago online and fell in love with it! When I got engaged it was the first place I thought of to go look...and I was not disappointed! They made one of the most important days/nights of my life absolutely magical...I have been to many other venues in the Portland Metro area and The Abernethy Center truly was the best choice I could have ever made!...If you choose the Abernethy Center don't be afraid to brain storm new and innovative ideas with the staff they are open and willing to work with you to make your special day all that you want it to be!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
daniellejlawr
Wedding:
4/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Each individual of their staff was very friendly, helpful & outgoing. From the first day we walked in the door to the night we left the reception the service was exceptional and beyond comparison. The energy in the entire space is positive. They have a huge selection from food & beverage to linens & ideas. The aesthetics of the venue are beyond belief. Other gardens are not as clean or well kept & for the price you get more than expected. I would recommend this venue to anyone for a wedding, banquet or other special event for its beauty & service which are beyond comparison to others in the area.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karie
Wedding:
8/4/2008
5.0/5.0
The Abernathy Center was absolutly wonderful, so wonderful, that 2 of my friends booked a wedding through them.
Our personal DJ didn't show up, and they said, "No problem, we will make sure your songs are here in time." And that is what happend, our music was there without a hitch.
Our wedding coordinator, Elizabeth,was amazing. She explained everything I needed to know, and took care of EVERYTHING! She was ontop of everything; nothing on our wedding day fell through the cracks.
Their food was amazing, the staff were so wonderful, and they truely made everyone welcome. There was no pressure to leave, but just to relax and have an amazing time.
I would do it again in a heart beat!! Everyone should get married at the Abernathy Center. Everyone who was invited to our wedding still talk about how wonderful our wedding was....Thank you Abernathy!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
7/5/2008
5.0/5.0
The Abernethy Center is the BEST!! We planned our wedding from out of state and we needed a venue that we could trust. Our wedding was flawless. Elizabeth made sure everything went off without a hitch. The venue is so pretty and PERFECT for a wedding. The food was great! Our family loved it and so did we. We highly recommend the Abernethy Center.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan D.
Wedding:
6/28/2008
5.0/5.0
I had absolutely nothing to worry about on the Big Day, and the venue was spectacular. It was like something out of a movie with the greenery, the white gazebo, and the babbling brook. The food was so delicious. I had guests comment multiple times about how great the salmon and the salad were.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
8/18/2007
5.0/5.0
Abernethy Center was fantastic to work with! At first I thought it was a lot of money, but for what they provide, it really is worth it. You don't have to worry about any kind of rental fee, etc, everything is all included. We worked a lot with Allison and she was very helpful in answering any questions we had. They were very accommodating and flexible to work with. And the food? Well, pretty much amazing. We still have guests a year later that tell us how amazing the food at our wedding was. The garden that our ceremony took place in was beautiful and the ballroom extremely elegant. Would definitely recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M'Lissa
Wedding:
7/3/2007
5.0/5.0
The ladies at the Abernethy Center made my wedding picture perfect! I would highly reccommment them to anyone who wants a beautiful garden setting for their wedding. They take of everything and you will be so pleased!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany830
Wedding:
8/30/2003
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough fabulous things about Abernethy Center! The facilities are beautiful, well-kept and convenient to get to. The staff is amazing...very professional and willing to make sure every detail is attended to. Well worth the expense!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
7/28/2013
4.9/5.0
My husband and myself live in San Diego, so finding and booking this place was a blessing. As we walked through each different venue we were in awe and so excited how beautiful, clean and amazing this place is and we booked the same day!!!! We planned our wedding working with laura through email and phone calls through our 3 month engagement from san diego, it was so easy and Laura was so professional, nice, and very helpful to work with! All the staff are very friendly, works with you, and has great prices. We did not get to do a food tasting but was very pleased with the food, it was delicious and our wedding turned out beautiful. We picked Abigail's gardens because we loved the outdoor venue, the plants and trees were gorgeous so not many decorations were needed, and we liked that it was an easy transition from the ceremony to the reception, unlike the veiled gardens and chapel( they are amazingly gorgeous) but we did not like that the reception room. It is located across the street from the venue and a bit confusing to find and was too dark and claustrophobic for me. The room is actually big and the outdoor patio with bistro lights is gorgeous, it wasn't my type so make sure TO WALK THROUGH the place in person. This company was wonderful, the venue gorgeous. I defiantly wouldn't get married anywhere else it was the perfect place! The only thing I did not like was that the person you work with and plan the whole wedding with and get to know IS NOT your wedding day coordinator. Bailey did a good job, BUT we met her 2 days before our wedding, it was not as personal and she did not know anything about us so it was upsetting to be transferred over to a stranger who was not as involved in our wedding. Laura was very kind and gave us a sweet parting card i thought was sweet and very nice of her to do. Overall AMAZING and wonderful and you should DEFIANTLY BOOK THIS VENUE!!! : ) - Brittany F
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julianna
Wedding:
8/18/2012
4.9/5.0
Beautiful garden and ball room!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
thegr8pre10der
Wedding:
7/12/2009
4.9/5.0
The Abernethy Center exceeded our expectations at every step. The venue, the catering and the office staff (Rachelle) were all amazing and my wife and I could not have asked for a better experience.

I cannot recommend the Abernethy Center more. Very impressive and a perfect venue for that special day.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katiej117
Wedding:
8/23/2008
4.9/5.0
Everything went so perfectly. It was smoother and more beautiful then I ever imagined it would be. The Abernethy Center was so accommodating, they made everything I asked for happen. It was very well organized and so professional, I’m still receiving compliments from our guests on how good the food was.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wetsplaash
Wedding:
8/6/2008
4.9/5.0
Although I chose not to use this vendor, the contact that I spoke with was gracious and accommodating, she offered me many varieties of ways to execute the big day. Unfortunately my big day was already taken by someone else! The grounds are absolutely incredible, you feel like you are a princess walking through a fairy tale, I would recommend the Abernathy Center to Anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SayntCarly
Wedding:
9/8/2007
4.9/5.0
We loved everything about the Abernethy Center. Our ceremony/reception took place in Abigail's Garden and it was BEAUTIFUL! They also provided the catering for our event, DELICIOUS! We still get comments from our guests about how beautiful our wedding was. It was due in large part to the wonderful grounds, the great staff (we loved working with Sally), and lovely food. We highly encourage you to consider Abernethy Center for your wedding.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurie
Wedding:
8/27/2006
4.9/5.0
Abigail's Garden provided the picture perfect setting for our special day! The staff was incredibly helpful in calming a stressed out bride! My guests still talk about the incredible food over 2 years later!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandon
Wedding:
8/3/2013
4.8/5.0
We had our wedding at Abernethy Center and they were great. There were sometimes issues getting in touch with our coordinator because of how busy they were, but this was minor in the grand scheme of things. The wedding itself ran like a well oiled machine. The staff were all excellent and on hand for anything we needed, they served us food first, knowing that we'd be up and moving around quickly, and I didn't hear a single complaint about the service from any guest. The Veiled Garden (our specific venue at Abernethy) was beautiful and overall, the day of the wedding couldn't have gone more smoothly. A+!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sunny1322
Wedding:
6/25/2011
4.8/5.0
Very professional and beautiful venue. Everyone was very helpful and eager to help.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
guitargirl75
Wedding:
7/22/2009
4.8/5.0
We had our wedding on a Wednesday night in Abigail's garden. It was beautiful! Everything was set up when we arrived. When we walked into the bridal suite, there was a tray of snacks, wine, and a fridge full of soda. There was even a special note. Everything was taken care of on our wedding day. I did not have to worry or stress about any of the details because it was already taken care of. Even though our wedding was on a weekday, it felt like it was a Saturday night becuase The Abernethy Center took such great care of us. They plated our food and brought us drinks before we even had to ask for them. It was a great wedding, everyone had a great time. Our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jason
Wedding:
8/18/2006
4.8/5.0
Our wedding was in the larger Abigail's Garden section to accomodate our entire wedding outside. The setting is beautiful, the staff were freindly and professional, and the food was great. Everything was setup and taken care of without a single problem. The bride's and groom's quarters were also great to hang out and get ready in privacy before the big event. It would possibly be nice if they could allow for other approved catering services, but as I said the food was great.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
Loved the aesthetics of the venue. My wedding was in the veiled garden and it was absolutely beautiful. We were only allowed onsite 2 hours prior, but with the help of friends and family everything was done in time. The contact person I had leading up to the wedding was great. Very informative, patient, kind, and helpful. She was quick to respond and very professional. The value of what we got I think was great. We were able to obtain the retainer fee/deposit at a discount because they were having a special. The wedding venue was flexible. The ceremony was indoors and was very nice. The food, I heard, was great.

The only issue I had with the process is not having the same person I had been communicating and working with leading up to the wedding, being the person who was at the wedding. A different person was provided as the wedding liaison, but I was only able to meet her the day before the wedding at the rehearsal. There were no major disasters, but I wish I had been able to meet/speak with the wedding liaison sooner than the day before the wedding because then I would have felt more at peace and happier with the situation. The reason I gave a 4 for quality of service is that everything was superb leading up to my wedding day, but the day of the wedding I did not get to really talk to the wedding liaison much prior to everything starting (which is in some ways a good thing, but not what I was used to based on the relationship I had with the previous planner). Also, I felt that the wedding liaison's ability to trouble shoot things was lacking. For 150-200 people more hands should have been on deck for a smoother day. Very thankful that I had arranged friends and family to help with set up, take down, and all the other little details. The server, who seemed to have a ton of experience, reassured me that everything ok.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
6/14/2013
4.7/5.0
I found many venues online but my husband and I only toured Abernethy and decided on the spot that we wanted Abigail's Garden for our wedding venue. It was absolutely gorgeous! As the months, weeks, and days leading up the the date approached, our wedding coordinator was in contact with us for every step. Letting us know when things were due, when to start planning and also when the dinner taste testing was. We had no issues and we were quite excited when we got to see everything come together!

We loved having our wedding there on a beautiful Friday evening after the clouds opened up finally and the sun shined brightly!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
6/1/2013
4.7/5.0
Great to work with! Answered all my questions promptly. The food was delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1299966832636-040
Maggie
Wedding:
3/3/2012
4.7/5.0
Abernethy center was the first venue we looked at and we knew right away it was for us. You can have your ceremony and reception in the same place which makes it convinent. The staff is helpful and not to mention all of their grounds are beautiful!! Food is great as well!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cmoss
Wedding:
7/25/2009
4.7/5.0
Overall, the Abernethy Center was great! Abagail's Garden is beautiful and does not need much (if any) decoration. We planned our wedding from our current home in Houston, TX and they were great to work with while planning from afar. Everything was beautiful and the staff was very flexible in helping us personalize all of the details. They are a great value for all of the services provided compared to other venues in the Portland Metro area.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
9/2/2006
4.7/5.0
The Abernethy Center was fabulous. They are well worth the money for a stress-free wedding!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mmbudwo
Wedding:
8/20/2005
4.7/5.0
The Abernethy is a hidden gem! We had our ceremony in the big garden as well as the reception and it was absolutely beautiful. The staff was all very nice and would give us anything that we asked for. The food was very delicious and they actually let us take most of the leftovers home with us. I would definitley recommend this as a wedding site!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pmonium
Wedding:
3/27/2005
4.7/5.0
This was a wonderful venue for my wedding and reception! The food tasted fantastic, everything looked beautiful, and they were very helpful.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
Every interaction I had with Abernethy was incredible - they know what they're doing! So professional and incredibly helpful. Abigail's garden was our ideal wedding site!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JWimberly
Wedding:
8/19/2010
4.6/5.0
Overall we had a wonderful experience with Abernethy Center. I would recommend them to my family and friends. The only complaints we had were regarding food. We rated them a 4 for quality of service because we did not get the correct side dish served at our reception, and our wedding cake was changed and we were not informed. We went for a tasting and chose all of our food, then after our reception found out that they had changed bakers and did not know why our potato side dish was incorrect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ar1angel
Wedding:
6/18/2007
4.6/5.0
The venue was perfect! They were very helpful. The only complaint that we had was that they were not flexible with the rehearsal times.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kayla
Wedding:
6/23/2006
4.6/5.0
Abnernethy was so great. It was so beautiful, and in a perfect location. They pretty much do anything you could ever want. The only thing I didn't like was that we had to spend as much on food as we did on the rental....which was hard to do when it was in the middle of the day, and we weren't serving alcohol. It was perfect though....worth the money!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/25/2013
4.5/5.0
We had a great experience at Abernethy Center! We had a morning ceremony in the Veiled Garden followed by a brunch reception in the ballroom. The guests loved the food, especially the waffle bar. It was so fun and different, but not in a way that scared my traditional grandmother.

It was totally worth the money to just have everything taken care of. I have no idea how other brides do it without the type of coordination before the wedding by people who will think of everything you don’t even know to ask about. And I am convinced that my wedding would have crashed and burned without the day-of coordination offered. It was so nice not to worry about set-up/clean-up, whether the food got there on time, where I was supposed to be, if we were running ahead of or behind schedule, etc. My mind was so dazed and blank with wedding day bliss that I had no idea what was going on. Abernethy totally saved me!

We had a few issues here and there, but nothing major and I can’t necessarily blame Abernethy. At the last minute we decided to use the Chapel’s dressing rooms, so we were kind of rushed out of there right after the ceremony (if we’d just used the ballroom it would have been fine). And my mom really wanted a to-go bag with all the leftovers, but I think they’d already been thrown out. I’ll bet if I had known to ask Abernethy would have accommodated.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1349918407484-kawikajennoct631
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/6/2013
4.4/5.0
My wedding at Abernethy was wonderful. We were so concerned it was going to rain, and our wedding was suppose to be in Veiled garden. At the last minute, the Abernethy offered us the chapel at no additional cost. We did end up having it outside, and it was perfect. The only problem we ran into, was that there were not enough seats during the ceremony 128, our final guest count was 138. My mom told them multiple times that they needed no chairs, but they only brought out 4 more.

More than one person came up to me at the wedding and told me how wonderful the food was.

Jennifer
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SeptBride
Wedding:
9/11/2010
4.4/5.0
Beautiful location and really great food! Nice nearly all-in-one venue with lots of parking for guests.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denise
Wedding:
7/6/2010
4.4/5.0
A beautiful place with two gardens and a ballroom to choose from. It was the only place that was elagant and a decent price. It helps them a lot if you know what you want and can tell them, they will do it for you.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sasha_Mrs_Olson
Wedding:
9/19/2009
4.4/5.0
Overall, I was very pleased with the Abernethy Center. The food was delicious, the staff was great, and my emails were always responded to very quickly, which is important when details are getting finalized. One thing to note: their office was installing a new software program around the time that my wedding details were being finalized, so there was some delay in that regard, but it is more beneficial for future brides! Be sure to ask them in detail, when interested in booking, who will be there to assist the day of the wedding. My husband and I were under a different understanding and were pretty surprised a day before the wedding. However, it turned out beautifully, the staff is all highly qualified, we just hated to be surprised so close to our big day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ciara
Wedding:
8/18/2013
4.3/5.0
What a wonderful and beautiful venue, we were so pleased with our experience with Abernethy, and their entire team. Working with Alyssa was so wonderful and easy we could not have asked for anyone better. We were married in Abigail's garden and had the reception in the tent. The food was amazing and I was so happy with the service and attention we received on the day of our wedding, they make you feel very special and do everything they can to make sure you requests are met. Although it was on the pricey side, I felt it was worth the extra money to go with a venue who knew exactly what they were doing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
and1115
Wedding:
7/22/2011
4.3/5.0
Abernethy Center was very professional and helped us make our day exactly what we wanted!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lilsteng
Wedding:
8/1/2008
4.3/5.0
Beautiful Venue but didn't do a couple things I asked them to do.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.2/5.0
Beautiful space! There are quite a few rules (fake flower petals inside, real flower petals outside, no sparklers- those sorts of things) Overall they were great to work with, patient and organized! I would recommend this vendor!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jareds941
Wedding:
8/15/2009
4.2/5.0
The AC was a great place for both the ceremony and the receptions. We were in the veiled garden for the ceremony and the ballroom after. Everything went pretty smoothly and all in all it was a great experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/4/2008
4.2/5.0
This is a beautiful venue. The staff are great to work with and are very professional. They are a little inflexible, but I think that's expected at this type of venue.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
7/3/2008
4.0/5.0
Beautiful Ceremony and reception stie.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alex
Wedding:
8/29/2010
3.9/5.0
We had our wedding in Abigail's Garden last August (2010). Beautiful place, nicest people. Everything was going smoothly except for little, insignificant things like the Br./Gr. table platform was 8'' instead of 16'' like we ordered, the bartender disappeared for like 20 minutes, but not until somebody broke into our bands two cars, and that was like 20 min into reception, so the band was up on the parking lot for a half an hour talking to cops and we plaid two sons over and over again, and that's when we've learned that; it does happen sometimes. They got back and the event took off, beautiful place, great music, every one's happy. They even provided a guy to play the music from my Ipod for the ceremony. We did bring our own cake, they cut it for us and we were supposed to bring the cake stand back to our cake lady, but when we called them the day after next, NO CAKE STAND, NO iPOD could be found. we've tried again couple of times, but no result so we just gave it up.

Other than that everything was good. I WOULD recommend the place, BUT I would also recommend you bring somebody to watch the parking lot, and watch your stuff. If you bring anything with you make sure you take it back with you the same day. Or you may not be able to find it after.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.7/5.0
We recently got married at Abernethy Center. We had our ceremony in the chapel and our reception in the ballroom. We loved the space, the food was delicious, and the reception staff was very helpful and responsive. Our only complaints are that we were switched to a new event specialist before the wedding, and our information was not communicated clearly between the two which resulted in some miscommunications. Also, we were not impressed with our ceremony specialist for the day of the wedding. Our experience was that the ceremony specialist was not very helpful. However, overall we were satisfied that we had our wedding at Abernethy Center.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
cher and jay hawkey
Wedding:
10/4/2008
3.4/5.0
The person we worked with was not the person we ended up having directing at our actual ceremony. It was hard forming that relationship with the one person and having someone who knew nothing about you or what you wanted telling you what you needed to do next. Also, with the rain we had the day of, we changed all our ideas for the outdoor ceremony to an indoor one and we constantly felt we had to fight to get what we wanted... A great place, but left something to be desired...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debra
Wedding:
7/18/2008
3.4/5.0
The service at Abernethy the day of the event was exquisite. The wait staff could not have been more attentive; the food was delicious, and the room was set up just as we had been told it would.
As to the planning side of things - it was extremely frustrating. As an excited bride to be I let a lot go, not wanting to taint my wedding experience. My greatest frustration was being handed off from start to finish to, not one, not two, but THREE coordinators before the event finally occurred. The first one would email me for wedding details; I would respond immediately, then she'd email me the same request, and as I learned, she misplaced my original information. Which was odd, because I had used their online website to print out the various packages, already had everything from appetizers, colors, entree's, and the cake selected BEFORE I ever sat down with the first coordinator. The second one they gave me was nice enough, but on a limited schedule, and prior to my wedding went on vacation; enter the third individual. The third person seemed more interested in continually increasing our count; given she was not at our rehearsal and the young lady sent in her place had the wrong wedding couples information - we didn't find her to be any more attentive than the others. We started at a count of 100 - I explained we had about 35 we had not heard from - we decided what the heck, it was our wedding, we'd go ahead (at $48/plate) and give a final count of 135 - she then bumped that to 150 -- telling us they had to build in a 15 person 'buffer' -- I was confused given we just gave her a 35 person buffer; but again, we said, "okay" and went with her 150 -- as I'm literally putting on my wedding gown, there's a knock at the dressing room that the florist noticed more tables and knew I wouldn't want them empty, so she quickly put together 2 more centerpieces at $160.00 each --- the reason? When we agreed to the 150, our coordinator YET AGAIN, added another 15 buffer, now at 165. We also opted for the chair covers and sashes so each time she added in her "buffer" that price went up as well. As I've said, the service was fantastic, the venue is beautiful -- but BE CERTAIN of WHO your coordinator is, and be certain they will be available throughout all stages of your planning; and above all else -- give a certain count and get something confirmed from them. No matter how many times I told them "this includes your buffer of 15" -- they would still raise the count by 15. A wedding at which we expected 135 AT THE MOST, cost us in food, flowers, and decorations, the wedding of 165. In doing the math, that extra 30 = 1440.00 for food; 320.00 in additional flowers; and 150.00 in chair covers/decorations, and $120.00 for the additional cake slices. More than $2,030.00 than it should have cost over our HIGHEST estimate. We did not ask for gifts, but requested guests donate to two of our favorite charities -- the embellished numbers our wedding was set up for cost us money we would have preferred to see donated at the very least; and also left empty tables that didn't provide a very nice 'visual.' Don't allow yourself to be railroaded -- make sure you know the numbers and you should have a wonderful experience with everything else.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/26/2010
3.0/5.0
The team that was in charge of us was very friendly and tried to make things the best for us.

The site was beautiful and the wedding ran smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ShannaLynn
Wedding:
10/8/2006
3.0/5.0
For the most part, having my wedding at this venue was a good choice. However, there were a few things that I diskliked although I got a great value for my wedding since we had ours in the "off" season (October). There wasn't much flexibility and everything cost extra (use of the projector and screen for a slideshow, etc.). Also, the coordinator they had in charge of my wedding set me up to walk down the aisle the wrong way.

The food was excellent-absolutely no complaints there! Ambiance and set up of the room were very good as well
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amaze
Wedding:
1/21/2012
2.7/5.0
I was asked on two occasions what type of service I was planning on having. My fiance and I are nondenominational and really didn't see how it was any of their business.
I chose not to use Aberbethy Center because I did not want to feel judged.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/27/2013
2.6/5.0
Lost one of the payments I made towards my wedding. Tried to say I hadn't made it at all. I had to track down receipts and bank statements to prove I had. A lot of the verbal agreements I made were totally different than the written contract, so it was very confusing. The steamer they supplied for my gown was filled with mold! The woman who helped on the day of my wedding was not on top of things. She didn't have the bridal party start walking down on time (and SHUSHED me when I said something!!!!) and then they had to run down the aisle to make it to the end before the music stopped. I was promised a coat check would be included in my event cost but on the day of I was told I would have to pay extra or have one of my guests stand in the coat check all night. They started to throw out the food at the reception before the end of the event, even though there was tons left! Just seemed so wasteful as we has paid for all of it! I would have like to have had the option to take it home or donate it. This is definitely not the place to get married if you are hoping for a stress free day. However, the venue is so pretty and the church is just perfect. The environment made up for the bad experiences. My guests and especially my groom felt very comfortable in the cozy location. The food was excellent and surpassed my expectations! The staff at the reception was very helpful and nice. It was wonderful to have everything included (chairs, tables, cake cutter, etc.). My event coordinator really pulled it together as the big day was getting closer, and worked with me to make changes when guests cancelled and added rsvps last minute, which was much appreciated. The security deposit was returned much quicker than expected. Although I had good and bad experiences, I would only change one thing: more time to set up before having to get ready. It was all a little rushed.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Abernethy Center responded with the following comments:

I apologize that there was confusion regarding your payments. Unfortunately mistakes do happen, however we always try our best to make sure and correct them which is why I was so glad we where able to track down your payment and apply it to your account with the help of your bank records. We have noted your other comments as well and have taken steps to ensure that these things do not happen in the future. I hope overall you had a wonderful day and will carry fond memories for years to come!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.4/5.0
I'm sorry, but I have nothing but disappointment to write about the Abernethy Center. If we could start over, we would run from them.
Why? Unfortunately we were lied to about several things, the staff was rude, they attempted to charge us more for our catering package than was agreed in our contract, and our wedding was terribly rushed. My guests reported that they felt the staff was rude and rushing them them as well. We were charged for damages, but not given photos until a full month afterward - and the photos were not timestamped. That being said, I highly recommend that you take before AND after photos of EVERYTHING if you book with this venue.
Even more troubling, they also offered my decorators the use of some of their equipment, without telling them that there would be a fee. Then they deducted the costs from our deposit! They did not consult me or my husband about these costs. When we voiced how wrong it was for them to do this, they made up more reasons to keep the money and cut off communication with us. Yes, they made decisions about OUR money without consulting US!!!
Also, record every conversation and refuse to leave until they give you everything decided upon in writing. We tried to follow this advice ourselves, but were assured that everything would be fine. It wasn't, and it cost us our dearly. We verbally discussed what we wanted, were told everything would be fine, and we got nothing at all that we were assured we would receive. It also caused us to have to redo the decorations in the chapel (10 days before our wedding) because they recanted their allowances.
Yet another thing, they stopped offering some services without informing us. When we signed our contract, we were told certain things would be available if we decided to use them. Then, when we told them we wanted them, we were told they were no longer available! So, they failed to provided contracted services. Truly, I recommend you wed elsewhere!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1244917100640-app
judee
Wedding:
7/30/2009
2.3/5.0
Although the wedding was amazing the service was not! Our planner was rude and didnt really seem to care for our wedding too much, we were just $ signs to her. They say they are flexible with payment but they are not at all, its their way or no way! And FYI if you do book with them, they say that on week days they dont have a catering minimum but they do because if you dont buy off their catering menu you have to buy their cake, which you will have to end up getting a catering packge for anyways....so you pay either way! The day of the wedding was amazing though they give you a different cordinator the day of and she was amazing! So over all the wedding was beautiful but the hassle was deffinatly not! If you are up for some stress then do it, if not then you should look else where.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.2/5.0
This is a beautiful venue. However, the contracting has been awful. We aren't exactly rolling in money, so we were trying to negotiate prices, but Elizabeth is quite shrewd. Our wedding is not until later, but I am so upset about the way we have been treated so far, that I absolutely must write a review.

We are very displeased and may opt out of it should the costumer service not drastically within the next few days, we will leave this venue and our deposit, because there is no sense in spending any more money on an expensive event when we are feeling we are getting the short end of the contract.

Please be careful with them in your contracting. You have been warned.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
606 15th St., Oregon City, OR 97045 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Abernethy Center
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1258063721657-aggazebo