130x130_sq_1271425745107-www.aboveabc.com2

Above and Beyond Catering

Boston , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

42 Plympton Street
Boston, MA US 02118 (map)

PHONE

617-426-5999

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are full service caterers and personal event planners. Depending on your needs, we provide food, flowers, rentals, props, tents, staff and entertainment. At Above and Beyond Catering,... Read more
We are full service caterers and personal event planners. Depending on your needs, we provide food, flowers, rentals, props, tents, staff and entertainment. At Above and Beyond Catering, we work with you to ensure a scrumptious and memorable event for you and your guests. We welcome special requests and strive to accommodate our clients needs. Our goal is to exceed your expectations. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1204131575490-coffeeisculinarytasting001
130x130_sq_1204131629243-coffeeisculinarytasting007
130x130_sq_1271426257950-corntortillacups
130x130_sq_1271426363357-dessertsii
130x130_sq_1271426364216-islandweddingtablesetting
130x130_sq_1271426364654-shrimpcocktailii
130x130_sq_1271426365591-www.aboveabc.com3

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, British, Cajun, Caribbean, Creole, French, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Polynesian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
Yes
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
Yes
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
We do not charge a cake cutting fee.
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
We have a MA Liquor License and carry liquor liability insurance. Our bartenders are all TIPS Certified.
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
Client can provide their own alcohol with no corkage fee.
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
We can provide all rentals.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
We do provide event Staff.
What is your maximum catering capacity?
1000

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Very happy with food and service
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robbie
Wedding:
9/29/2013
5.0/5.0
I'm a professional event planner who has had the pleasure of working with Mark and his staff for 7+ years. When I got engaged I absolutely knew I was going to ask him to cater my wedding. My bride and I actually decided that one of the priority factors when choosing a venue was that it had to allow outside caterers. Although I'm an event manager by day, I wanted to be able to fully enjoy being a groom at my own wedding. We decided against hiring a wedding planner for the day of the event so we relied heavily on Mark, his staff and a few good friends to take care of all the details. From set-up, timing the wedding party procession, coordinating announcements with the DJ, and packing everything up - we didn't have to worry about a thing. An incredible gift for me, who was in charge of planning "logistics", and my bride,who was in charge of "design".

Mark was extremely patient with us as we selected a wedding menu that was very non-traditional. We eliminated the plated dinner and chose to have 3 stations instead. Make your own: pasta, taco and sliders. This invited our guests to interact with each other and extended the fun they were having at the cocktail hour. I heard rave reviews for the food - and each station was beautifully decorated and really fit our rustic chic theme. We tried to control many of the details that day, but left the specifics of catering decor to Mark. He really listened to all of our ideas and executed them in a really beautiful way. Everything in the room looked like it was in a magazine.

One of my favorites was the cupcake table. We chose 3 kinds of cupcakes in lieu of a wedding cake. We asked him to incorporate a really interesting fold out sewing box, chunks of wood and our Scrabble themed cupcake toppers. The result was stunning - and delicious!

He assigned one server to take care of us and we actually got to eat some of the food - despite everyone warning us that would never happen.

Highly recommend Mark for any kind of event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing service and super easy to work with when planning.
The food was OUTSTANDING and service was even better.
These guys will help with anything and everything you need done. It was amazing to have such great service and responsiveness from a wedding vendor.
They left not only my husband and I, but all our guests blown away.
I completely understand how these guys keep getting awards for being the best. THEY ARE!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
12/23/2012
5.0/5.0
The name says it all above and beyond will definitely choose them again for all my catering needs
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
knorden2
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Above and Beyond catered my daughter's wedding this past New Year's Eve and the accolades are still coming in from ALL of our guests. The food, the food, the food and how GREAT it was is brought up with each person who came to the wedding. Mark, Brian and Chef Michael did everything possible to be sure they knew what we wanted and the execution was flawless!!!! As caterers, this group CANNOT BE BEAT! but their help does not stop with the food alone.....additionally, Mark came up with a unique and fantastic idea for transforming the ceremony room at our venue which helped immensely with the flow of the guests during our cocktail hour. We are so happy that we went with Above and Beyond Caterers....professionalism, invaluable input on all levels, and undeniably DELICIOUS food at its best!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lara
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
I spent a great amount of time interviewing several caterers for our April wedding. Mark was by far the most patient, accommodating and responsive of the caterers I spoke with, and it was for these qualities that we decided to go with him (that and the tasting we went to was absolutely spectacular). We must have changed the menu at least 4 times before we even signed the contact, and probably a few times after that. We changed our rentals (open bar vs. wine/beer only, then back again). We sent emails back and forth, played phone tag. I'm sure we drove him crazy, but Mark was nothing but enthusiastic, professional and a pleasure to speak with each time.

The afternoon before our wedding, we realized we had to move our ceremony indoors and had to find a way to cover a railing. We immediately called Mark, he asked us to send pics of what we needed covered, and he calmly took care of it. The same focused serenity was evident in the way he managed his staff the day of our wedding. His staff was efficient and genuinely pleasant, and everyone had a great camaraderie. Our food was delicious - we had a Mexican buffet, and everything was amazing and perfectly seasoned. Nothing was too rich or too salty, both of which tend to be common with wedding food. We were assigned our own staff member that took care of our food/drinks all evening. She was an absolute DREAM. All in all, a wonderful experience from beginning to end.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
606130214
Wedding:
10/23/2010
4.6/5.0
Above and Beyond Catering put together an amazing menu for our wedding. After our tasting we didn't even bother exploring other options. The service was great and our guests are still raving about the food - especially the Thanksgiving In A Bite appetizer. The cost for our beer/wine/champagne bar package was incredibly reasonable. Also, they were very flexible in allowing us to bring in desserts from another vendor. My only complaint is with their communication. I was a low-maintenance bride with catering experience, so my questions were few and far in between. Yet, I would go days and one case, two weeks, before getting a response to my few basic questions/requests, even with the wedding one month away. Overall, I think the food and staff service are worth the communication frustrations and would definitely hire them for a future event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bigheart55
Wedding:
1/20/2010
4.2/5.0
i must say these people were very friendly and hospitable when it came to the catering part of my wedding. i am very grateful for everything that these people did to help me plan my wedding. i was confussed as to what i should serve at my wedding but these pople helped me through and gave me many options that i really liked and before going anywhere else i decided to stay here and go with them. I reccomend to anyone.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Great food and great service! My guests talked about the food for MONTHS after the wedding! We really appreciated working with folks who not only can do a great job, but are also considerate of our needs, and desire to be environmentally friendly. The creativity and flexibility with our mostly vegetarian menu was outstanding. It was a pleasure working with Above and Beyond and thank you for helping us create our unique wedding experience!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
9/20/2008
5.0/5.0
Mark Haley, owner of Above and Beyond Caterers did an outstanding job for my wedding reception. He handled my reception personally. He talked to us regarding the type of reception we were looking for. Mark had many great ideas. We wanted a mingling party, with plenty of food and I've been told by many of my guests that it was the best wedding they ever went to.....considering my husband and I are both in our 50's our guests have been to a lot of weddings. The first thing they said was the food was great, there was plenty of food and the service was outstanding!
Thank you Mark and Above and Beyond Caterers for making our wedding reception perfect.
Sincerely,
Tara Brennan
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Henry
Wedding:
9/13/2002
4.5/5.0
High value catering, delicious food and a great staff.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
42 Plympton Street, Boston, MA 02118 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Above and Beyond Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo