130x130 sq 1334325292360 covercropped

Accolade

Lake Saint Louis , MO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

29 Ravens Pointe Dr.
Lake Saint Louis, MO 63367 US (map)

PHONE

314-308-8281

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Accolade (formerly known as Pleasure Groove) specializes in elegant, fun, high energy wedding receptions and corporate events. Few other dance bands in the Midwest so flawlessly combine... Read more
Accolade (formerly known as Pleasure Groove) specializes in elegant, fun, high energy wedding receptions and corporate events. Few other dance bands in the Midwest so flawlessly combine the energy and talent of a top concert or nightclub band with the professionalism and elegance of a top wedding or private event band. The Accolade experience is guaranteed to give you and your guests an evening they'll never forget.

Accolade is a 7-piece band specializing in popular dance music from the 60s through today, with a focus on Motown, Top 40, R&B/Soul/Funk, and Disco, as well as jazz and light music for dinner and cocktail hours. From 2001-2011, the band was known as Pleasure Groove. The word accolade means "an expression of the highest praise," and the name Accolade was inspired by the consistently enthusiastic response the band received from their clients and audiences during their first ten years. Accolade has two of the most extraordinary lead singers you'll find anywhere, which may explain why their clients are routinely asked by their guests, "Wow! Where did you find this amazing band?"

In addition to their great music, Accolade offers many "special touches" to help make your event as successful and hassle-free as possible. For example, they work closely with their clients to customize their performances around their clients' preferences, they provide professional emcee services, they often are consulted for suggestions to help their clients plan the entertainment portion of their evening, and they usually can honor special requests. For the benefit of their clients, Accolade has invested in customized state-of-the-art technology that gives them a superior sound and maximum control over their volume, which is especially important for low-volume dinner music. They also pay detailed attention to the visual aesthetics of their performances, taking special measures to ensure that their stage area complements the elegance of your venue.

Whatever the occasion, Accolade is the perfect dance band to help bring your special event alive. Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1273763310023 fourseasonsbandcrop
130x130 sq 1296152858034 745bushbandcrop
130x130 sq 1260022730524 cocacabana1
130x130 sq 1296153438909 720bushbandcrop
130x130 sq 1260022752399 cocacabana7
130x130 sq 1260022805414 cabana.tent013
130x130 sq 1260022818180 cocacabana4
130x130 sq 1260023182180 img9259edited
130x130 sq 1260023198680 img9284
130x130 sq 1260023224258 band
130x130 sq 1260023293633 mac1corrected
130x130 sq 1260023310539 358
130x130 sq 1264436634194 bernieelking3268
130x130 sq 1264436645069 bernieelking3274
130x130 sq 1264436656460 bernieelking2571
130x130 sq 1296154575378 722bushrobyncrop
130x130 sq 1330027764942 melanieversionaccoladergb
130x130 sq 1334325123104 covercropped

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Classic Rock, Dance, Funk, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Reggae, Soul
Do you have liability insurance?
No
What is your band's usual attire?
We have several options, but most clients prefer our semi-formal attire, which strikes the best balance between elegance and fun. Our semi-formal option is all black with tuxedo coats but without vests and ties, and our female singer typically wears a dress matching the wedding colors. We also offer a formal option with complete tuxedos (including vests and ties).
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Yes. Please visit our website for samples of live recordings or contact us to request a CD.
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
Yes, gladly. We pride ourselves on customizing our performances for each client.
How much time do you usually need for setup?
We request 3 hours, though we can sometimes set up in significantly less than that. If we can get 4 hours or more, we'll take it. It is our practice to take extra time to hide our cables and skirt our equipment to ensure that the stage area complements the elegance of your venue. This is one of the many examples of our attention to details that other bands often overlook.
How much space do you usually require?
15' x 15' is ideal, though we can work with 12' x 12' (and sometimes less).
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
Not at weddings. We believe that the focus at a wedding should be on helping the bride and groom celebrate their marriage, not on promoting the band.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We offer complimentary lighting to illuminate the stage and dance floor. We also have options for upgraded lighting to illuminate the entire room, though our complimentary lighting is more than adequate for the vast majority of weddings.
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
We emcee the reception in accordance with the preferences of the bride and groom, particularly during the early portion of the evening when it is important to keep on schedule. However, once dancing begins, there is very minimal talking (or space) between songs. At that point, our job is to keep the dance floor packed, and we do that by playing one hit after another.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
That almost never happens. We've chosen our repertoire very carefully to encourage dancing, and we've mastered the art and science of arranging our music in an order to keep the dance floor packed. Plus, the energy of the band is simply contagious. In the 10+ year history of the band, we can remember one or two instances in which the dance floor was empty for a song or two. If your feet don't hurt at the end of the night from dancing so much, then you didn't hire Accolade.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
June
Wedding:
8/2/2014
5.0/5.0
Accolade played for our daughter's wedding and we could not have been happier with this decision! Mark was wonderful to work with and made some great suggestions based on his experience. The wedding party and guests loved the band and the dance floor was packed all night.
Accolade played for our daughter's wedding and we could not have been happier with this decision! Mark was wonderful to Read more...
Accolade played for our daughter's wedding and we could not have been happier with this decision! Mark was wonderful to work with and made some great suggestions based on his experience. The wedding party and guests loved the band and the dance floor was packed all night. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Denny
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
I did not even have to think about providing a rating of 5 on every category. Accolade was incredibly easy to work with, and I can't imagine anyone throwing them more curves than we did. They were so accommodating to every whim (and some requests were in that category). Now let's talk about the quality of the music. They are one of the most versatile bands I have ever heard, and they have a very professional look. They provided cocktail music, which went to dinner music, which went to dance music. They can play anything, and I mean anything, and they will play it at the appropriate decibel level. People of all ages were on the dance floor until the final moment, and there was a chant of "encore" for a while when the band said goodnight. And this chant came from a lot of people.
I did not even have to think about providing a rating of 5 on every category. Accolade was incredibly easy to work with, Read more...
I did not even have to think about providing a rating of 5 on every category. Accolade was incredibly easy to work with, and I can't imagine anyone throwing them more curves than we did. They were so accommodating to every whim (and some requests were in that category). Now let's talk about the quality of the music. They are one of the most versatile bands I have ever heard, and they have a very professional look. They provided cocktail music, which went to dinner music, which went to dance music. They can play anything, and I mean anything, and they will play it at the appropriate decibel level. People of all ages were on the dance floor until the final moment, and there was a chant of "encore" for a while when the band said goodnight. And this chant came from a lot of people. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I would recommend Accolade to absolutely anybody. They were the perfect band for our wedding day. Mark was extremely accommodating throughout the planning process, and also very responsive. He made everything leading up to the big day very easy. Their actual performance blew me away. They provided the perfect background music during dinner, and from the moment the dancing started, they were phenomenal. They brought a ton of energy and sounded amazing. Everybody in attendance had a fabulous time, and so many of our guests complimented us on our band choice. People were shocked that this is just a hobby for Accolade - they truly sound as if this is their one and only profession. I'm a musician myself, so I feel I have higher standards than most brides, and I was incredibly impressed.
I would recommend Accolade to absolutely anybody. They were the perfect band for our wedding day. Mark was extremely Read more...
I would recommend Accolade to absolutely anybody. They were the perfect band for our wedding day. Mark was extremely accommodating throughout the planning process, and also very responsive. He made everything leading up to the big day very easy. Their actual performance blew me away. They provided the perfect background music during dinner, and from the moment the dancing started, they were phenomenal. They brought a ton of energy and sounded amazing. Everybody in attendance had a fabulous time, and so many of our guests complimented us on our band choice. People were shocked that this is just a hobby for Accolade - they truly sound as if this is their one and only profession. I'm a musician myself, so I feel I have higher standards than most brides, and I was incredibly impressed. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Steve
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Just go ahead and hire Accolade. You can review the below for the details but I have no doubt in my mind that you will be absolutely thrilled with not only the performance of the band, but the professionalism that they show throughout your entire time working together.

Being lovers of music with friends who are musicians, we needed a band that would really standout and be something we would talk about for years to come. Accolade proved to be that band over and over. From our first conversation with Marc, we knew we were in good hands. He was easy to talk to and extremely flexible with any special requests that we had.

Our wedding ceremony was outdoors at the Worlds Fair Pavilion, which can be tricky, but the PA Accolade provided for our singers ended up going off without a hitch. The fact that they have their own sound team put us at ease as they delivered time and again. When it was time for the band to hit the stage, they came out and sang one of the best renditions of "At Last," that we've ever heard. Our friends were going nuts and from that point on it was the rocking dance party we always wanted it to be. Their singers were on point all night, moving from Stevie to Frank to Justin and Whitney to Beyonce to Ella with an ease that no wedding band we've ever seen has shown.

While we could have danced all night with Accolade at the helm, sadly the night eventually came to an end. Thankfully, they played a good friend of ours wedding just 3 weeks afterwards. We spoke with the band briefly prior to their wedding and were shocked to see that they actually remembered us. We were lucky to spend pretty much the entire night on the dance floor with all of our friends as they killed it once again.

Have no fears booking this band for any of your functions. You'll not only be getting a band that will make your life easier, but one that you'll want to book over and over again.
Just go ahead and hire Accolade. You can review the below for the details but I have no doubt in my mind that you will be Read more...
Just go ahead and hire Accolade. You can review the below for the details but I have no doubt in my mind that you will be absolutely thrilled with not only the performance of the band, but the professionalism that they show throughout your entire time working together.

Being lovers of music with friends who are musicians, we needed a band that would really standout and be something we would talk about for years to come. Accolade proved to be that band over and over. From our first conversation with Marc, we knew we were in good hands. He was easy to talk to and extremely flexible with any special requests that we had.

Our wedding ceremony was outdoors at the Worlds Fair Pavilion, which can be tricky, but the PA Accolade provided for our singers ended up going off without a hitch. The fact that they have their own sound team put us at ease as they delivered time and again. When it was time for the band to hit the stage, they came out and sang one of the best renditions of "At Last," that we've ever heard. Our friends were going nuts and from that point on it was the rocking dance party we always wanted it to be. Their singers were on point all night, moving from Stevie to Frank to Justin and Whitney to Beyonce to Ella with an ease that no wedding band we've ever seen has shown.

While we could have danced all night with Accolade at the helm, sadly the night eventually came to an end. Thankfully, they played a good friend of ours wedding just 3 weeks afterwards. We spoke with the band briefly prior to their wedding and were shocked to see that they actually remembered us. We were lucky to spend pretty much the entire night on the dance floor with all of our friends as they killed it once again.

Have no fears booking this band for any of your functions. You'll not only be getting a band that will make your life easier, but one that you'll want to book over and over again. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Scott
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Accolade proved to be the perfect band for our wedding. From our initial phone conversation with Mark to the last song of the evening, we felt like we were in professional and talented hands. We had several special requests for Accolade at our reception, and they were able to accommodate all of them. It truly felt like they were there with the singular goal of celebrating us and our special day, and they set the tone for the evening. Of course the best review I can give is to say that throughout the course of the night several of our attendees exclaimed "These guys are awesome!" What more could you want?

We can't recommend Accolade highly enough. Book 'em early, you won't go wrong!
Accolade proved to be the perfect band for our wedding. From our initial phone conversation with Mark to the last song of Read more...
Accolade proved to be the perfect band for our wedding. From our initial phone conversation with Mark to the last song of the evening, we felt like we were in professional and talented hands. We had several special requests for Accolade at our reception, and they were able to accommodate all of them. It truly felt like they were there with the singular goal of celebrating us and our special day, and they set the tone for the evening. Of course the best review I can give is to say that throughout the course of the night several of our attendees exclaimed "These guys are awesome!" What more could you want?

We can't recommend Accolade highly enough. Book 'em early, you won't go wrong! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
christine
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Accolade played for my daughter's wedding and were phenominal! They exceeded expectations on every front.
Accolade played for my daughter's wedding and were phenominal! They exceeded expectations on every front.
Accolade played for my daughter's wedding and were phenominal! They exceeded expectations on every front. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Bryonie
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Accolade played my wedding reception at Lemp's Grand Hall on 3/16/13. The band absolutely "MADE" our reception! Mark, Rachel and the rest of the band were a pleasure to work with; they were flexible, and were able to honor most of our requests, including an unusual room configuration! I would be hard-pressed to find a band as fabulous as Accolade for ANY event.
Accolade played my wedding reception at Lemp's Grand Hall on 3/16/13. The band absolutely "MADE" our reception! Mark, Read more...
Accolade played my wedding reception at Lemp's Grand Hall on 3/16/13. The band absolutely "MADE" our reception! Mark, Rachel and the rest of the band were a pleasure to work with; they were flexible, and were able to honor most of our requests, including an unusual room configuration! I would be hard-pressed to find a band as fabulous as Accolade for ANY event. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Karley
Wedding:
1/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We highly recommend Accolade if you are thinking about having a band for your wedding, or any for function for that matter. I was very set on having a band for our wedding reception, and my fiancé (now husband) was not too sure about it in the beginning – but was thankful in the end. I heard about Accolade (then Pleasure Groove) when I was in college and was still thinking about them 7 years later when we started wedding planning. From the first contact, Mark and Rachel were very responsive and flexible to our needs when it came to price, music, and order of events. The quality of sound and attention to detail from Accolade was impeccable. We had so much fun the entire night because of the energy, soul, and incredible music that Accolade provided. Even those who did not prefer to dance still had a great time because of the outstanding job the entire band did. We are truly grateful for the experience we were given and will never forget how wonderful our wedding night was. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts Accolade!
We highly recommend Accolade if you are thinking about having a band for your wedding, or any for function for that Read more...
We highly recommend Accolade if you are thinking about having a band for your wedding, or any for function for that matter. I was very set on having a band for our wedding reception, and my fiancé (now husband) was not too sure about it in the beginning – but was thankful in the end. I heard about Accolade (then Pleasure Groove) when I was in college and was still thinking about them 7 years later when we started wedding planning. From the first contact, Mark and Rachel were very responsive and flexible to our needs when it came to price, music, and order of events. The quality of sound and attention to detail from Accolade was impeccable. We had so much fun the entire night because of the energy, soul, and incredible music that Accolade provided. Even those who did not prefer to dance still had a great time because of the outstanding job the entire band did. We are truly grateful for the experience we were given and will never forget how wonderful our wedding night was. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts Accolade! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
becschapes
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot rave enough about the amazing job that Pleasure Groove did at my wedding reception! I was excited enough by how great they sounded on their website, but the clips do not do them justice.
From my first email, the managers were very responsive to any questions and concerns I had. Brides have so much to worry about and PG was very patient and helpful when it came to planning the night.
I feel really lucky that I found them... I googled St. Louis Motown band and thank god they came up! I did not want the typical, cheesy wedding bands that my friends and family had hired. So please spread the word about them! I love Motown, soul, funk, and PG is a premiere band for those genres. They also rocked out some contemporary faves.
We got more raves about the band than anything else at my wedding--and I had a really nice wedding! They were my favorite part, too. They really made it the best party I will ever throw.
I cannot rave enough about the amazing job that Pleasure Groove did at my wedding reception! I was excited enough by how Read more...
I cannot rave enough about the amazing job that Pleasure Groove did at my wedding reception! I was excited enough by how great they sounded on their website, but the clips do not do them justice.
From my first email, the managers were very responsive to any questions and concerns I had. Brides have so much to worry about and PG was very patient and helpful when it came to planning the night.
I feel really lucky that I found them... I googled St. Louis Motown band and thank god they came up! I did not want the typical, cheesy wedding bands that my friends and family had hired. So please spread the word about them! I love Motown, soul, funk, and PG is a premiere band for those genres. They also rocked out some contemporary faves.
We got more raves about the band than anything else at my wedding--and I had a really nice wedding! They were my favorite part, too. They really made it the best party I will ever throw. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Accolade was absolutely amazing and worth every penny! They honestly were the difference in an ordinary wedding to making an extraordinary wedding.
Accolade was absolutely amazing and worth every penny! They honestly were the difference in an ordinary wedding to making Read more...
Accolade was absolutely amazing and worth every penny! They honestly were the difference in an ordinary wedding to making an extraordinary wedding. Read less
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
29 Ravens Pointe Dr., Lake Saint Louis, MO 63367 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Accolade
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1334325292360 covercropped