130x130 sq 1295202582184 7410846490239756612578198756653505462648359n

ae photography

Rochelle , IL

LOCATION

Rochelle, IL 61068 US (map)

PHONE

815-997-8318

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

ae photography is a fresh, modern and innovative husband & wife team. our style is non-traditional and our goal is to capture truthful, honest imagery, believing every photo should tell... Read more
ae photography is a fresh, modern and innovative husband & wife team. our style is non-traditional and our goal is to capture truthful, honest imagery, believing every photo should tell a story--even if you weren’t part of it. we document the day and preserve actual moments. we photograph every last detail and then some, knowing full well how much time went into planning each and every one of them. once the day is over the photographs will be the only way to look back at your hard work and see how beautifully it all came together.

we fully believe each and every photo from your wedding should be edited to match the photos that draw you in on the websites, blogs and portfolios and lead you to book that specific photographer. we believe showcasing beautiful work to reel clients in, only to give them an end result of straight-out-of-the-camera files, basic edits or even just a handful of select favorites fully edited is false advertising and not what the client fell in love with and paid for. the editing process, for us, is more than half of the job. we work hard to make each image from your day the best in can possibly be, giving you a photo disc full of magazine worthy moments telling the story of your day.

we like couples who really understand the importance of photography on their wedding day and are willing to think outside the box with us. with ae, you will receive modern, yet timeless photos with a touch of whimsy here and there. we believe it is our duty to stay updated by giving our clients the latest styles & products, forms of communication and photo equipment & editing software.

we are truly honored to be part of every wedding & session we capture. we love growing with our clients; capturing their engagement, wedding, babies and full family portraits. it is such a blessing to work together and do something we are both so passionate about. we started this in 2002 out of pure love for photography and will continue to shoot with the same amount of passion we had in our first year throughout our entire career.

thanks for your interest & we hope to hear from you soon!

-ae Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1295200474950 14910646878335256612578198756654251377162231n
130x130 sq 1295200476184 14920646878332256612578198756654251365714639n
130x130 sq 1295200476809 149244468783387566125781987566542513932835n
130x130 sq 1295200477825 14947946783827756612578198756654105057187855n
130x130 sq 1295200479950 14962446783846756612578198756654105122664458n
130x130 sq 1295200481012 3347846618375256612578198756653698542165135n
130x130 sq 1295200481731 3365946475269756612578198756653489822317008n
130x130 sq 1295200482606 3371446715815756612578198756653938416851809n
130x130 sq 1295200483903 3375146582679756612578198756653635637491690n
130x130 sq 1295200484731 3603846547667756612578198756653580985298049n
130x130 sq 1295200485590 3791746582673756612578198756653635623490661n
130x130 sq 1295200486356 3796146547676256612578198756653581028037511n
130x130 sq 1295200487294 3955646618361756612578198756653698496059003n
130x130 sq 1295200488294 401604671580475661257819875665393837811072n
130x130 sq 1295200489372 6768246491150756612578198756653507312475851n
130x130 sq 1295200490340 6775646547673756612578198756653581014556440n
130x130 sq 1295200491340 6870646491252256612578198756653507356024868n
130x130 sq 1295200492309 69320464902412566125781987566535054712232n
130x130 sq 1295200493637 6939246475266256612578198756653489814012641n
130x130 sq 1295200494403 6945746547671756612578198756653581008083310n
130x130 sq 1295200495278 7174346629649256612578198756653720824218986n
130x130 sq 1295200496981 722274679473425661257819875665412411519669n
130x130 sq 1295200498012 7248546629651756612578198756653720837384293n
130x130 sq 1295200498809 7272946432690756612578198756653439996517157n
130x130 sq 1295200499809 7374346618368256612578198756653698526775930n
130x130 sq 1295200500715 7381946715809256612578198756653938396590819n
130x130 sq 1295200501934 7398046547670256612578198756653580996766586n
130x130 sq 1295200502622 740124649124825661257819875665350733806652n
130x130 sq 1295200503544 7410846490239756612578198756653505462648359n
130x130 sq 1295200504481 7437746794716256612578198756654124055800910n
130x130 sq 1295200505809 7532246783837756612578198756654105066796270n
130x130 sq 1295200506840 7576846629646256612578198756653720815403990n
130x130 sq 1295200507575 7655446794749256612578198756654124155471847n

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Negatives, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

3.5
out of 5.0
3.5/5.0
3.3/5.0
3.2/5.0
3.5/5.0
3.7/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Rick
Wedding:
6/29/2013
0.0/5.0
UPDATE: Eric finally sent us the discs in early February '14. Although they were late and communication with them was frustratingly difficult, we did get the photos, and they were edited professionally.
-=-=-=-
BEWARE of these photographers!

We purchased photography services, including thank you cards, and got their special, "pay in cash" special price. It's scary to drop a big wad of cash on a wedding vendor, but my wife actually grew up in the same town as them and didn't want anyone else to shoot our wedding. She really liked their style, and basically said, we need them to shoot it and there are no other options.

The day of the wedding, Eric was actually really great. He seemed like a nice person. But, that's only part of what you want in a wedding photographer. You actually want to see some photos. And, of course, we have not received ONE photo since then. It's been 6 months, and they've stopped communicating with us. Early on they returned texts and said "photos will be ready soon" or "thank you cards are coming next week", but they never did. Now they won't respond to calls or emails. I've tried calling, texting, sending emails, facebook, etc.

My parents were unable to attend my wedding because my dad has cancer and was going through chemo. Eric actually took a "wedding message" video of me talking to my parents, which he said he would get to me so I could send to them. Never got it. I'm sure my parents would like to see that. Maybe my dad will some day, but probably not.

I even contacted them anonymously through wedding wire as a new customer, to see if they would respond, and less than 24 hours later, Eric responded saying they'd be happy to shoot my wedding.

I'm sure they're just laughing at us right now. We really just want our photos, but at this point, we've given up. It would be funny, if it wasn't so stupid. Please people, stay away from them.
UPDATE: Eric finally sent us the discs in early February '14. Although they were late and communication with them was Read more...
UPDATE: Eric finally sent us the discs in early February '14. Although they were late and communication with them was frustratingly difficult, we did get the photos, and they were edited professionally.
-=-=-=-
BEWARE of these photographers!

We purchased photography services, including thank you cards, and got their special, "pay in cash" special price. It's scary to drop a big wad of cash on a wedding vendor, but my wife actually grew up in the same town as them and didn't want anyone else to shoot our wedding. She really liked their style, and basically said, we need them to shoot it and there are no other options.

The day of the wedding, Eric was actually really great. He seemed like a nice person. But, that's only part of what you want in a wedding photographer. You actually want to see some photos. And, of course, we have not received ONE photo since then. It's been 6 months, and they've stopped communicating with us. Early on they returned texts and said "photos will be ready soon" or "thank you cards are coming next week", but they never did. Now they won't respond to calls or emails. I've tried calling, texting, sending emails, facebook, etc.

My parents were unable to attend my wedding because my dad has cancer and was going through chemo. Eric actually took a "wedding message" video of me talking to my parents, which he said he would get to me so I could send to them. Never got it. I'm sure my parents would like to see that. Maybe my dad will some day, but probably not.

I even contacted them anonymously through wedding wire as a new customer, to see if they would respond, and less than 24 hours later, Eric responded saying they'd be happy to shoot my wedding.

I'm sure they're just laughing at us right now. We really just want our photos, but at this point, we've given up. It would be funny, if it wasn't so stupid. Please people, stay away from them. Read less
Services Used: Photography
ae photography responded with the following comments:

No one is laughing here... You can never understand the circumstances surrounding this but take a minute to read through earlier reviews. It was not our intention for things to turn out this way, until now we have had happy clients and provided a great service. Because of a recent change of events surrounding my wife's ongoing health problems I have in fact stopped taking on new clients until I can get all past due contracts closed. Had you responded to your initial "fake" inquiry with more details, you would have been referred to one of our close friends/photographers who has been taking most of our potential clients. As I recently discussed with you, I am working to get you your products as soon as possible.
Default vendor profile pic
Scott
Wedding:
6/15/2013
0.0/5.0
DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY.

We hired AE Photography to shoot our wedding on June 15, 2013. It's over a year later and we still have not received the photos that we paid for.
DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY.

We hired AE Photography to shoot our wedding on June 15, 2013. It's over a year later Read more...
DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY.

We hired AE Photography to shoot our wedding on June 15, 2013. It's over a year later and we still have not received the photos that we paid for. Read less
Services Used: Photography
ae photography responded with the following comments:

We aren't taking new clients and you knew this so not really sure what your angle is here but...
Also keep in mind that quality of service includes the quality of your photos and you haven't even seen them. I guess you just selected all 0 because your just trying to give the most negative response possible and not give an honest review. Flexibility? Wouldn't that include the numerous discounts we gave to tailor a package that fit your budget? Not that any of this matters I just think you should think about all areas of a service before trying to negatively impact their business in the future. Leave an honest review instead of saying "I'll show them". This is how people make a living and just because you have an issue with a service doesn't mean everything shouldn't be taken into consideration.
Default vendor profile pic
J
Wedding:
6/8/2013
0.0/5.0
We paid AE photography (Ashley and Eric) to photograph our wedding reception which took place in June of 2013. They were payed in full prior to the wedding. Eric showed up to photograph the wedding, but then we never got our pictures afterwards. We paid for both a photo disc of all of our photos and an online wedding gallery which was supposed to be in place 90 days after the wedding. They fed us lies throughout the process claiming they were putting all their efforts into getting our photo disc ready when we didn't get an online photo gallery. The photo disc deadline came and went and we still have no photos of our wedding. Numerous emails, phone calls, facebook messages went unanswered. They then claimed they would send us the unedited photos since they had broken their entire contract, but of course we were being naive and they did not send us those either. Sending someone unedited photos literally takes 30 seconds. Now they are claiming they are having personal issues but this is after 8 months of lies... IF that was the real reason they should have been honest and upfront form the beginning. Additionally, they admitted to us they have not provided people wedding photos from 2012 still. So they knew they were already not giving people their wedding photos when they signed us for a 2013 wedding. They have no empathy or compassion for their clients. They are just taking people's money with no remorse.
We paid AE photography (Ashley and Eric) to photograph our wedding reception which took place in June of 2013. They were Read more...
We paid AE photography (Ashley and Eric) to photograph our wedding reception which took place in June of 2013. They were payed in full prior to the wedding. Eric showed up to photograph the wedding, but then we never got our pictures afterwards. We paid for both a photo disc of all of our photos and an online wedding gallery which was supposed to be in place 90 days after the wedding. They fed us lies throughout the process claiming they were putting all their efforts into getting our photo disc ready when we didn't get an online photo gallery. The photo disc deadline came and went and we still have no photos of our wedding. Numerous emails, phone calls, facebook messages went unanswered. They then claimed they would send us the unedited photos since they had broken their entire contract, but of course we were being naive and they did not send us those either. Sending someone unedited photos literally takes 30 seconds. Now they are claiming they are having personal issues but this is after 8 months of lies... IF that was the real reason they should have been honest and upfront form the beginning. Additionally, they admitted to us they have not provided people wedding photos from 2012 still. So they knew they were already not giving people their wedding photos when they signed us for a 2013 wedding. They have no empathy or compassion for their clients. They are just taking people's money with no remorse. Read less
Services Used: Photography
ae photography responded with the following comments:

We in fact are still working on client photos. We have closed all 2012 contracts and have moved on to 2013 contracts. We are still working on your photos. If Unedited photos took 30 seconds to send, the world would be a better place. Consider the fact that your RAW files total around 25-30GB. I will continue to work on your photos until I am finished. Yes, health issues have played a role but there are other personal issues you can never know or understand. The discs I am mailing now have waited a year for their photos, you will not have to wait that long as we are slowly making progress but unfortunately you will have to wait a little longer.
I am sorry for that.
-Eric
Default vendor profile pic
Sam
Wedding:
10/13/2012
0.0/5.0
Using AE Photography as our wedding photographers was a frustrating, time-consuming mess. We only just received the digital discs of the pictures, 14 months after our wedding.

We were supposed to start receiving our pictures through an online gallery 6 months after the wedding. At the 7th month, hardly any photos had been added. There was a note from the owner on the gallery, stating that they had various personal issues, and that the photos would be added slower than usual. We decided to cut them some slack, and didn’t question them about it for a couple of months. About a month before our 1st anniversary, there had been no further updates, and to make matters worse, their website had been down for months, meaning that we didn’t even have access to the few pictures that had been previously posted. I started emailing them often, with no response. They had all but completely cut off ties via their various social media accounts, using it primarily to state that they had no access to phones or the internet.

I eventually had to contact the Illinois Consumer Fraud Bureau and open a claim. We finally received our picture discs a few weeks ago, with no further explanation or apology. Although I’m glad that the pictures turned out fine, I’m incredibly upset that it took this long and that we had to go to such great lengths to get the product we paid for.
Using AE Photography as our wedding photographers was a frustrating, time-consuming mess. We only just received the Read more...
Using AE Photography as our wedding photographers was a frustrating, time-consuming mess. We only just received the digital discs of the pictures, 14 months after our wedding.

We were supposed to start receiving our pictures through an online gallery 6 months after the wedding. At the 7th month, hardly any photos had been added. There was a note from the owner on the gallery, stating that they had various personal issues, and that the photos would be added slower than usual. We decided to cut them some slack, and didn’t question them about it for a couple of months. About a month before our 1st anniversary, there had been no further updates, and to make matters worse, their website had been down for months, meaning that we didn’t even have access to the few pictures that had been previously posted. I started emailing them often, with no response. They had all but completely cut off ties via their various social media accounts, using it primarily to state that they had no access to phones or the internet.

I eventually had to contact the Illinois Consumer Fraud Bureau and open a claim. We finally received our picture discs a few weeks ago, with no further explanation or apology. Although I’m glad that the pictures turned out fine, I’m incredibly upset that it took this long and that we had to go to such great lengths to get the product we paid for. Read less
Services Used: Photography
ae photography responded with the following comments:

Sam, you received your photos.
We are dealing with several personal issues, still. This has been ongoing for over a year now and no amount of explaining can make you understand what exactly we are dealing with. Despite all of our recent hardships surrounding my wife's health many things were effected yet we still took the time to edit every single one if your photos as we would for anyone else. All of this occurred throughout this difficult time for us. Yes, I am sorry it took so long as it has for others and I apologize from the bottom of my heart. We did not want this to be frustrating for you. I hope you can now enjoy your photos. Thank you for your patience.
Best, Eric
Default vendor profile pic
Lisa
Wedding:
9/22/2012
1.4/5.0
Where to begin... I guess I should have went with my gut feeling on this vendor. After a few initial email contacts about pricing and payment, I had a feeling I should go with another vendor....but since I did admire their photos, I went with AE. I had several meetings with Eric and was confident that he knew what we wanted. I was surprised and disappointed on my wedding day when Ashley showed up in my bridal suite and did not even introduce herself. Not to mention the fact that I specifically told Eric I did not want 'getting ready photos'.

The wedding day itself went off without a hitch. The photographer snapped away and I was hoping that maybe we had just gotten off to a bad start. Post wedding, I realized that she had not captured some very important details, one being our rings! Which I specifically requested. :(

Our package was to include 'thank you' cards. Which were supposed to be ordered on 11/20/2012. I was told in an email correspondence from Ashley that the turn around time was 2-3 weeks. After not hearing anything from them by the middle of December, I emailed to get a status. I received no response. So I emailed again and was told it would be an additional 8-9 weeks. Wowza! They are blaming it on their lab. I'm not so sure I believe this.

I was also told that the remainder of my photos would be posted to my gallery with in 3 months. Well that time frame has come and gone and now I'm told that it will be at least another 3 months before they are posted.

I do not recommend this vendor. I paid them up front and promptly only to receive very poor customer service and I have yet to receive my 'thank you' cards. I'm supposed to get some prints with my package as well.....I doubt I will receive those anytime soon. Heck I can't even order them because I haven't seen all my photos.

I hope I don't have to resort to legal action as another reviewer did....
Where to begin... I guess I should have went with my gut feeling on this vendor. After a few initial email contacts about Read more...
Where to begin... I guess I should have went with my gut feeling on this vendor. After a few initial email contacts about pricing and payment, I had a feeling I should go with another vendor....but since I did admire their photos, I went with AE. I had several meetings with Eric and was confident that he knew what we wanted. I was surprised and disappointed on my wedding day when Ashley showed up in my bridal suite and did not even introduce herself. Not to mention the fact that I specifically told Eric I did not want 'getting ready photos'.

The wedding day itself went off without a hitch. The photographer snapped away and I was hoping that maybe we had just gotten off to a bad start. Post wedding, I realized that she had not captured some very important details, one being our rings! Which I specifically requested. :(

Our package was to include 'thank you' cards. Which were supposed to be ordered on 11/20/2012. I was told in an email correspondence from Ashley that the turn around time was 2-3 weeks. After not hearing anything from them by the middle of December, I emailed to get a status. I received no response. So I emailed again and was told it would be an additional 8-9 weeks. Wowza! They are blaming it on their lab. I'm not so sure I believe this.

I was also told that the remainder of my photos would be posted to my gallery with in 3 months. Well that time frame has come and gone and now I'm told that it will be at least another 3 months before they are posted.

I do not recommend this vendor. I paid them up front and promptly only to receive very poor customer service and I have yet to receive my 'thank you' cards. I'm supposed to get some prints with my package as well.....I doubt I will receive those anytime soon. Heck I can't even order them because I haven't seen all my photos.

I hope I don't have to resort to legal action as another reviewer did.... Read less
Services Used: Photography
ae photography responded with the following comments:

We were contacted by Lisa in January 10th of 2011 and by January 23rd, we had exchanged 25 emails and met face to face. We worked hard to come up with a completely customized package for Lisa; including everything she wanted within the price range she was looking for--which is something we always want to do for our clients. She thanked us numerous times for getting back to her so quickly, working with her needs and answering her questions. Of course, we were happy to do so, as that is our job, and we want everyone to be 100% informed and confident when booking. It is very important to us.

We have 4 standard packages in which we base everything off of, and she wanted to add specific products and hours to our lowest package. Being as flexible as we always are, the finalized custom package gave her a boxed print set with (100) 4x6 photos in a custom photo box (a $541.75 value), our "Thank You Package" (a $189.44 value), 2 hours (a $433 value) completely FREE of charge in order to stay as close to her budgets as possible. She listed all she was hoping to receive within her package along with her budget, and we gave it to her. We also allowed her to receive a special promotional discount after it's expiration to save even more money, and with that savings came an extra $222 off her total, because part of the bonus was that there would be no tax added onto the package--basically, we covered the tax charge. It was noted upfront that with special discounts and/or promotions which allow clients to take thousand/s off their package price, payment is due in full at the time of signing. However, we agreed to be flexible when she asked to split it into two payments; the standard $1000 deposit at the time of booking and the remaining balance 2 or 4 weeks after. We gave her the full month to pay the remaining balance. There is no truth behind such low ratings for flexibility and value, as anyone could see with just the simple information above.

Throughout our correspondences, she asked whether she would receive 1 or 2 photographers, because we state in our contract , it is our decision as to who (Eric or Ashley) and how many (1 of us, both of us or 1 of us with a second shooter) will preform the service when such a large discount is used. She was told she would more than likely receive 1 with her package, and she responded as being fine with that. Once again, to attempt to go above and beyond, we hired a second shooter/assistant to be present and help out as a surprise bonus for her. When I and my assistant arrived (early), we specifically went to where the bride was located to introduce ourselves. We entered and said hello twice and were completely ignored. I began prepping my gear to get detail shots (which included rings, as that is almost always the time in which we photograph them) and to ensure she did not want any bride prep, because she had told us she was on the fence--and we obviously wanted to at least ask the day of so as to not miss any important moments. Lisa finally acknowledged us, and we did introduce ourselves and attempt to have small talk to ensure she felt comfortable, etc., as we always do. She informed me she did not want bride prep, and I specifically asked about details shots within the prep room so I would "be out of the way", and she told me she had "too much going on and was too busy" for me to take photos. I wanted to make the best use of my time as possible and make sure I captured the important moments--as is standard practice. When I am asked to arrive at a specific time, and the only "event" going on is bride prep, I would feel as though I would be doing a disservice not to clarify whether or not she wanted some quick shots--especially of the details. When I'm told to leave the room in which I would have shot solo photos of the rings and am told not to take details shots within that room, I cannot be held accountable for those photos not being part of the set. I asked numerous times throughout the day if there were specifics they needed (as new ones tend to come to mind for couples during the wedding), as well as did everything in my power to take multiple shots of every detail and happening that occurred. Our goal is to tell the story of the day, and that was what I was there to do. I ended up staying later than the contractual package specified without any prior notification. I did so without any issue (which also required me to pay my assistant for extra time).

When it comes to the Thank You Set (which, once again, was given to them free of charge), we stated that a few selected favorites from their Private Time photos would be posted to their Online Gallery 2-3 weeks after the wedding so they could make their selections. We required payment for their overtime before that 2-3 week period began, as our contract states. When we did post to their gallery (at the stated time), instead of posting 5-10 photos, we posted nearly 200--the entire Private Time set, as a special surprise. Lisa was very happy and said she loved the photos. They were all professionally edited within that time period, and it took a lot of work, but we did it to try and give her great service. Our contract specifically states to please allow 8-10 weeks for all products & add-ons within your package once the final order has been received by ae. It does not always take this long, but we would rather be early than late. This time period is not all based on the lab, as Lisa stated. We have create the product, upload it to the lab, wait for their turnaround, and then the additional wait time for the lab to ship to us and for us to review the product and ship it out to the client--all while dealing with many other weddings, sessions, orders, albums, etc. There is a lot of work going on at once--that is the reason behind any professional service's turn around time.

We are still very much on track with this wedding and have no where near missed the deadline/s. To state that she has not seen her photos, while at the same time stating we missed important moments does not match up in the first place. We feel one must take the time to view their images prior to posting negative accusations implying we miss important moments, when there is now way it could be known until everything has been posted. Our contract states we begin posting at the 90 day mark, when in fact we posted within the 2-3 week mark because of the fact that we posted nearly 150 extra for this couple when we uploaded their "Thank You" card options. Our contract then states that the disc will be shipped at the 6 month mark. The 6 month mark is also stated within our initial magazine sent out to all inquiries so our turn around time is known upfront. Our turn around time allows us the proper time required to edit EVERY photo from EVERY wedding we shoot to match the quality of work showcased on our site, blog. etc. We do not believe in featuring beautifully edited work to bring couples in, only to give them straight out of the camera files, basic edits, or a couple dozen favorites edited while the rest haven't received any professional work. We feel that is false advertising, and that is not what we are about. Our time is spent working for many, many weeks on every wedding we photograph. We feel honored and blessed to be chosen to capture each one, and are determined to give those we work with the best photos possible, as this is one of the most important days of peoples' lives. Our work is so special to us, and so are all of the couples we have worked with.

We always encourage clients to read the contract to ensure everyone is on the same page. Lisa has many questions regarding the contract, so it appeared as though she had. It is evident from this review, she didn't read it fully or misunderstood parts of it. We feel this information needs to be made public due to the fact that Lisa's review implies very much the complete opposite of the service she was given. We were always quick to reply, overly flexible and went out of our way to accommodate her needs to give her the exact package she wanted.

It seems very common for clients (with any artistic service or small business) to decide that every aspect of the service they have been given was poor when they become upset with one thing. This needs to be noted and understood by potential clients looking at our reviews. We were never notified of any uneasy feelings, concerns, disappointments, etc. It was all very much the opposite until this review, and when the turnaround times for the Thank You Cards (which are clearly stated within our contract for every service, add-on and product we offer) were apparently misunderstood by no fault of ours. We have followed through with our services exactly as stated we would within our contract and went above and beyond to ensure Lisa received what she wanted. She will, of course, receive the (free) print set within the proper time frame, even though she implied as though she will undoubtedly receive it late in her review.

Leaving such a negative review when it just includes assumptions, misunderstandings or failure to read the contract--on the client's part (not the photographer), fabrications, or deciding to state every aspect of the service was poor when the client stated many times throughout the service relationship that she was happy with our customer service, the package, the photos, etc.--all because she is upset over one thing, is simply not proper or fair way to do things.

We are following the legal document that was signed, therefore there would be absolutely no reason to take legal action. We are unsure of why any of this is posted when none of it adds up. We are also surprised that the client chose not to mention almost all of these issues they apparently had with us to us, but instead leave it on here to intentionally harm our business, a business in which we build from scratch and love with everything we've got. If anyone has an issue, I would hope they would speak with us first instead of leading us to believe all is fine and then choosing to let us know this way. We will always do everything in our power to make our clients happy, but we do understand that there are instances in which you have done nothing wrong, and yet you still can't make specific people happy, and that must be the case here.

Each couple we work with means so much to us. We hope those who read this will take a look at our other reviews and let them speak for our work. If you have any questions or concerns about us, please feel free to get in touch! Please do not let false accusations, assumptions and complete lies deter you from our services. We have had the joy of shooting weddings and working with new couples; capturing their lives, and many times becoming friends in the process, for over 10 years! We are blessed and care deeply about our reputation and the integrity of our business. We treat every wedding as our own, and that is the honest truth!

We wanted to post a very in-depth, sincere response to this, because we feel this review is unfair and false, and we want everyone who reads it to be well aware of that.
Thank you for taking the time to read through this!
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/5/2012
1.3/5.0
We hired ae photography for our wedding back in May of 2012. Leading up to the wedding everything was great. They were easy to get in contact with and responded to emails usually within 24 hours. They were flexible with all of our pre-wedding meetings and customizing our photo package for us. The day of was wonderful. Eric is very knowledgable and was great at directing the shoot. We had a day after session in August of 2012. Again, great day of. But it's about that time that communication got difficult. My husband and I tried to be understanding knowing that there were personal issues at play. It's now august 2014 and so far all we have received are the photo discs from the wedding and the day after shoot. We ordered and paid for the biggest package which includes the photo discs as well as many prints, an album, and other photo items. There were some delays on our end because we moved out of state and it took a bit for us to get the list of photos we would like to use in the album back to ae but they have had the list of photos for close to a year and we still haven't heard any whisper of when we will get our album despite the timeline that is printed in their contract. We have reached out and asked simply for a timeline of when we should be expecting the rest of our package and the response is always "we're just finishing up with this other wedding then we will work on yours". I was just reading through the other comments on here and the response from the photographers and saw they had posted that they are done with all 2012 weddings. Well, that's not true. Because my wedding was in 2012 and they are not done with our package. We hired these photographers to capture this important day and it's disappointing to not receive all the items we paid for to remember that day.
We hired ae photography for our wedding back in May of 2012. Leading up to the wedding everything was great. They were Read more...
We hired ae photography for our wedding back in May of 2012. Leading up to the wedding everything was great. They were easy to get in contact with and responded to emails usually within 24 hours. They were flexible with all of our pre-wedding meetings and customizing our photo package for us. The day of was wonderful. Eric is very knowledgable and was great at directing the shoot. We had a day after session in August of 2012. Again, great day of. But it's about that time that communication got difficult. My husband and I tried to be understanding knowing that there were personal issues at play. It's now august 2014 and so far all we have received are the photo discs from the wedding and the day after shoot. We ordered and paid for the biggest package which includes the photo discs as well as many prints, an album, and other photo items. There were some delays on our end because we moved out of state and it took a bit for us to get the list of photos we would like to use in the album back to ae but they have had the list of photos for close to a year and we still haven't heard any whisper of when we will get our album despite the timeline that is printed in their contract. We have reached out and asked simply for a timeline of when we should be expecting the rest of our package and the response is always "we're just finishing up with this other wedding then we will work on yours". I was just reading through the other comments on here and the response from the photographers and saw they had posted that they are done with all 2012 weddings. Well, that's not true. Because my wedding was in 2012 and they are not done with our package. We hired these photographers to capture this important day and it's disappointing to not receive all the items we paid for to remember that day. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
cmkownacki
Wedding:
9/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Absolutely loved working with ae photography. Their style was EXACTLY what I was looking for and I couldn't have been any happier with the results. I truthfully don't have a single complaint. Ashely and Eric were very responsive to our wants/needs for our wedding day and were so much fun to work with during our engagement session and on our wedding day. I have recommended ae photography to everyone I have talked to since the wedding and recommend them to anyone looking for a more artful, personal photographic style that captures the special, un-poseable moments from you most special day. Thanks ae!!!!
Absolutely loved working with ae photography. Their style was EXACTLY what I was looking for and I couldn't have been any Read more...
Absolutely loved working with ae photography. Their style was EXACTLY what I was looking for and I couldn't have been any happier with the results. I truthfully don't have a single complaint. Ashely and Eric were very responsive to our wants/needs for our wedding day and were so much fun to work with during our engagement session and on our wedding day. I have recommended ae photography to everyone I have talked to since the wedding and recommend them to anyone looking for a more artful, personal photographic style that captures the special, un-poseable moments from you most special day. Thanks ae!!!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Susan Beaird
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Eric & Ashley did our engagement pictures and wedding pictures and we were very pleased with the service they gave us. They were very flexible with us and did a great job on all of our pictures. They drove all the way from Illinois to Iowa for our wedding too! A couple years ago we asked if they could take a few snap shots of us and they went above and beyond--they had us go to different sites and took all kinds of pictures for us. They posted a bunch of pictures on their website and edited them all too--They are both very talented and the work they do is incredible--I would highly recommend them to anyone wanting pictures taken. I encourage anyone that reads this to visit their website: www.photographyae.com
Eric & Ashley did our engagement pictures and wedding pictures and we were very pleased with the service they gave us. Read more...
Eric & Ashley did our engagement pictures and wedding pictures and we were very pleased with the service they gave us. They were very flexible with us and did a great job on all of our pictures. They drove all the way from Illinois to Iowa for our wedding too! A couple years ago we asked if they could take a few snap shots of us and they went above and beyond--they had us go to different sites and took all kinds of pictures for us. They posted a bunch of pictures on their website and edited them all too--They are both very talented and the work they do is incredible--I would highly recommend them to anyone wanting pictures taken. I encourage anyone that reads this to visit their website: www.photographyae.com Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Candice
Wedding:
6/19/2010
0.6/5.0
I have mixed feelings writing this review for AE photography. As you can see, my wedding was in 2010, so this review is delayed but that is of no fault of mine. I really wish I could write a glowing review that so many other brides seem to have written, but that is impossible at this point.

Starting from the beginning, my contract was apparently not a legal document to the company, as nothing was followed as written. I did not receive the proofs as stated, and the excuse was that my wedding was in the summer, "prime wedding season" so that is why there was an initial delay. Then my online gallery was not completely posted until almost exactly 6 months after the wedding date. At that point I was rushing to order prints as I was hoping to have Christmas gifts of family pictures from the wedding, since the wedding was in June and all. I paid for those and they never arrived. This time it was a "misunderstanding that they were needed" and I was given credit for future prints.

The package I paid for before the wedding included a professional wedding album. Within 1 month of the final gallery posted, I ordered the album from AE. This happened in January 2011, so around 7 months after the wedding. I was told there would be an album creation time period as well as up to 12 weeks for the album company to complete it. When the summer months came and I realized the album was overdue, I was told there was an error in the ordering process and it would be rush ordered so that I didn't have to wait another 12+ weeks. This was told to me in August of 2011.

It is now 2012, and I have had my emails ignored as well as Facebook communications ignored and deleted. I still have not received the professional wedding album that was due to me 1 year ago. After filing a legal complaint, I was told AE had personal issues and that I was going to have to wait for them to tell me when I would receive my product. I asked for a refund instead and that was ignored. I am still in the process of attempting communication with AE and resolving this, as I paid for this package which included an album in June of 2010. To this day (Feb 2012) I am still waiting.

In conclusion- Are the pictures great? Yes. But if you want to actually see your photos and receive the products you paid for, I would go somewhere else. There are plenty of great photographers out there that are professionals and understand how to run a business. As a bride/groom, you deserve to be treated with respect before, during, and after the wedding.
I have mixed feelings writing this review for AE photography. As you can see, my wedding was in 2010, so this review is Read more...
I have mixed feelings writing this review for AE photography. As you can see, my wedding was in 2010, so this review is delayed but that is of no fault of mine. I really wish I could write a glowing review that so many other brides seem to have written, but that is impossible at this point.

Starting from the beginning, my contract was apparently not a legal document to the company, as nothing was followed as written. I did not receive the proofs as stated, and the excuse was that my wedding was in the summer, "prime wedding season" so that is why there was an initial delay. Then my online gallery was not completely posted until almost exactly 6 months after the wedding date. At that point I was rushing to order prints as I was hoping to have Christmas gifts of family pictures from the wedding, since the wedding was in June and all. I paid for those and they never arrived. This time it was a "misunderstanding that they were needed" and I was given credit for future prints.

The package I paid for before the wedding included a professional wedding album. Within 1 month of the final gallery posted, I ordered the album from AE. This happened in January 2011, so around 7 months after the wedding. I was told there would be an album creation time period as well as up to 12 weeks for the album company to complete it. When the summer months came and I realized the album was overdue, I was told there was an error in the ordering process and it would be rush ordered so that I didn't have to wait another 12+ weeks. This was told to me in August of 2011.

It is now 2012, and I have had my emails ignored as well as Facebook communications ignored and deleted. I still have not received the professional wedding album that was due to me 1 year ago. After filing a legal complaint, I was told AE had personal issues and that I was going to have to wait for them to tell me when I would receive my product. I asked for a refund instead and that was ignored. I am still in the process of attempting communication with AE and resolving this, as I paid for this package which included an album in June of 2010. To this day (Feb 2012) I am still waiting.

In conclusion- Are the pictures great? Yes. But if you want to actually see your photos and receive the products you paid for, I would go somewhere else. There are plenty of great photographers out there that are professionals and understand how to run a business. As a bride/groom, you deserve to be treated with respect before, during, and after the wedding. Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130 sq 1293520772989 dsc73163
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I found AE Photography very early on in the wedding planning process and compared every other photographer to them from then on. Even as the details of our wedding changed over our fairly long engagement, I couldn't see anyone else being there except AE. On the day of the wedding, my expectations were met and exceeded. They were very professional and creative. I never worried about what they were going to capture- their style was a perfect match for our wedding. They were beyond flexible with pricing and packages, and I am so thankful to them and my husband for making the price work for our wedding. We don't have the photos back yet, but so far I couldn't be more pleased.
I found AE Photography very early on in the wedding planning process and compared every other photographer to them from Read more...
I found AE Photography very early on in the wedding planning process and compared every other photographer to them from then on. Even as the details of our wedding changed over our fairly long engagement, I couldn't see anyone else being there except AE. On the day of the wedding, my expectations were met and exceeded. They were very professional and creative. I never worried about what they were going to capture- their style was a perfect match for our wedding. They were beyond flexible with pricing and packages, and I am so thankful to them and my husband for making the price work for our wedding. We don't have the photos back yet, but so far I couldn't be more pleased. Read less
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

$50 for referrals
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Current & past clients can receive $50 for refferals you make that result in booked weddings. $50 per wedding--no limits! You can choose to receive a cash payment or credit toward your account!
Deal #WW6b4ee8f2e949723b
220x220 1295202582184 7410846490239756612578198756653505462648359n

MAP

 
Rochelle, IL 61068 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for ae photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1295202582184 7410846490239756612578198756653505462648359n