130x130_sq_1236836874347-shear0087

AJ's Hair Design and Makeup

Portland/vancouver , OR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Portland/Vancouver, OR US 97212 (map)

PHONE

360-521-3987

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

On-Site Artistry
We come to you on your wedding day.
Our professional artists are available individually or together to timely service your event.
With over 10 years of... Read more
On-Site Artistry
We come to you on your wedding day.
Our professional artists are available individually or together to timely service your event.
With over 10 years of experience, we make bridal parties look picture perfect.
We are talented, versatile, flexible, personable, and come fully equipped.

Contact Us: (360) 521-3987 Read less
Beauty & Health

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1349664745041-stuvlandcropped
130x130_sq_1236836359347-fritzphoto250softfocuscopy
130x130_sq_1274450890412-meeganvanpelt
130x130_sq_1349664722424-home1
130x130_sq_1349664786680-home7
130x130_sq_1349664788567-rachellebride
130x130_sq_1279594558453-fritzphotoshakira036
130x130_sq_1236836476066-l_4b78bc4e62f32b096f40605cdcca64d8copy
130x130_sq_1279594415031-perfectweddingshow09140
130x130_sq_1349664684333-fritzphotodanner063
130x130_sq_1236835857316-shear0251a
130x130_sq_1236836175535-fr7cba1
130x130_sq_1274450853912-fritzphotoharry018
130x130_sq_1349664773090-smithsmithsoulmatesphotosoulmatesphoto1300
130x130_sq_1239743764796-ericcable4
130x130_sq_1236836013160-bethclose-upcopy
130x130_sq_1236835743722-kellieupdo1copy
130x130_sq_1236836525910-fritzphotomarissa-014
130x130_sq_1236835926597-dsc_0284copy
130x130_sq_1236836276504-320_20080725_ng_3_242
130x130_sq_1236836324332-fritzliedtke-michellem-014
130x130_sq_1236836441957-randallwedding01smallcopy
130x130_sq_1236836382363-fritz_111
130x130_sq_1239743741093-brideback1copycopy
130x130_sq_1236836555379-aubreyhairmakeupcopy
130x130_sq_1236836040847-3girls
130x130_sq_1239743610765-bride
130x130_sq_1239743781750-fritz026copy
130x130_sq_1239743839109-readytoprintupdos4copy
130x130_sq_1349664657546-ajshairdesignmakeupphotobysikora9
130x130_sq_1239743872593-32020080725ng3265
130x130_sq_1239743907609-fromviller156
130x130_sq_1349664714097-home6
130x130_sq_1279594369156-perfectweddingshow09007
130x130_sq_1279594605109-fritzphotodannereng010
130x130_sq_1349664694020-37429329236851760011377026703331142731834845822n
130x130_sq_1274450705005-dsc6412

INFO FOR BEAUTY & HEALTH

What beauty services do you offer?
Hair, Makeup
Do you offer trials and consultations?
Yes
Can you service a large group or bridal party?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
AJ did hair and makeup for me and my mother at my wedding in July 2014 on-site at a winery. She was punctual, efficient and very professional. AJ listened to all of my thoughts, comments and musings during the day of and created the most beautiful hair that was exactly what I was thinking in my head, even though I wasn't able to verbalize it very well. Not only did my hair get tons of compliments, my flawless makeup that looked like me, but with glow and glamour, was PERFECT as well.

We also went through a trial run a few months before my wedding, and I think that really gave me confidence on my wedding day. AJ was super responsive to all of my questions, and really went out of her way to accommodate my trial run so that we could coordinate with my photographer for an engagement shoot. On my wedding day, Kendal came to do a second hair style for me, and it was just fabulous as well. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend both of them to my girlfriends or family for their wedding or just a night out! Thank you!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
AJ was quick and did all her work expertly. I was very happy with the hair and makeup she did for me on my wedding day and my bridesmaids/mothers/grandmothers were also very happy. She brought another makeup artist with her, so AJ did everyone's hair the day-of and both my hair and makeup. The videographers & photographers asked her to do a few things for good shots and she was willing to be flexible for the sake of cinematography. I was very grateful for this! I highly recommend AJ - not only for her quality work, but also for her attentiveness in responding to my emails and communication.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michaelle
Wedding:
12/2/2013
5.0/5.0
AJ was so awesome and my hair looked Fabulous!!! I am 39 and have tried all my life to get hot iron curls to stay in my hair without going limp. I could Never do it!! But AJ made beautiful and SOFT curls stay in my hair the entire day! As a matter of fact, they were still there when I woke up the next morning! That is incredible, if you know what I mean. She's so great and I will absolutely refer her and hope to use AJ again!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cassia
Wedding:
9/22/2013
5.0/5.0
A.J. is very talented and wonderful to work with. I had an idea to do an Audrey Hepburn type look and it turned out perfectly. I got so many compliments on my big day and my photographs look stunning. I would definitely recommend A.J. and her team.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
caitlin
Wedding:
8/25/2013
5.0/5.0
AJ’s Hair Design and Makeup did my bridesmaids, myself and my mothers hair and makeup for my August wedding. The run-through was in her adorable at home studio where she played around with different looks and ideas for my big day. I semi changed my mind on my hair a couple weeks before the wedding and knew that I wouldn’t have to do another run through due to how amazing she did the first time. I was blown away to say the least! My hair was intricate, beautiful and stayed in place all night! My makeup was light and airy and didn’t seem to make me look unlike myself but only brought out everything! The makeup stayed in placed through tears and a many hugs and looked amazing! I wish I could have Aj do my hair and makeup daily, she is absolutely wonderful!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
AJ was fantastic and did an amazing job achieving the exact look I wanted! She was very professional and a joy to work with. I had an early morning wedding and she got it all done with plenty of time to spare! I would recommend her to any bride!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurel
Wedding:
8/18/2013
4.9/5.0
AJ was great to work with. She was super fast at responding to my emails, and was very clear in price, and what it included. My hair and makeup for my wedding was absolutely fabulous. I'm so glad I went with her. Also two of my bridesmaid had their hair done, and were both impressed by her speed and execution of the styles they asked for. I would defiantly recommend AJ to anyone in the market for professional hair & makeup. Thanks AJ!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emilia
Wedding:
8/11/2013
4.9/5.0
I just got my trial done by AJ and she ended my long frustrating search for a makeup artist for my August wedding. I have a very specific vintage hair style in mind that no one does anymore. The few stylist I saw before her just weren't hitting the mark. But AJ actually nailed it and my hair looked beautiful! And the make up was wonderful! I was skeptical about the makeup because the other few trials I had were not very good and I left not feeling pretty afterwards. But AJs makeup looked great! I got compliments all night and tons of likes on Facebook! My skin looked smooth and radiant. The makeup coloring was very natural looking, not bright and gaudy, and my eyes looked dramatic and pretty. I feel confident I will look wonderful the day of my wedding. I can now relax knowing this task is checked off on my long list of wedding TO DO's.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kayla
Wedding:
7/14/2013
5.0/5.0
AJ did my trial hair and makeup and she did a fabulous job! I showed her a picture of the hairstyle I wanted and she recreated it flawlessly in no time at all! I have no doubt that the whole bridal party will look amazing the day of the wedding!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
7/13/2013
4.2/5.0
Kendal was my stylist. She is incredibly talented and thoughtful. I loved my hair and makeup. Services were a great value. It was a little challenging to communicate as you don't receive direct contact information for your stylist. You end up using the main phone and email for AJ and it takes a couple days to get response.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/23/2013
4.8/5.0
Loved my makeup and hair - brought to life my wishes perfectly for both. Was very calm and mellow on a high stress day as well as professional and prompt. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a beauty and hair artist!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
I took my daughter for her trial run and we had a great time meeting AJ and seeing the magic she creates! She got the hairstyle my daughter wanted on the first try and the make up looked gorgeous! She even did a little trial on me to see if I could tolerate a few false eyelashes. We can hardly wait until the wedding day to see what AJ will do to make us all look lovely!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
AJ did a phenomenal job on my hair and makeup - love the way it turned out for my wedding.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1330128603373-26028318838010665431586850076317486437432486n
Tia
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
I had the best makeup because of AJ!! Thank you!!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
N
Wedding:
3/17/2013
5.0/5.0
My hair was styled just as I hoped for, and then even better. AJ created a hair design for my pin-up inspired theme that was amazing. She even double checked and triple checked how everything looked after I was dressed and ready to go. I was so impressed with how well my hair and makeup turned out, that was the first time during the day that I was emotional.
I still receive compliments on how lovely I looked and I have to give some of that credit to AJ. She knows her stuff and is a pleasure to work with.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angie
Wedding:
2/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Aj was AMAZING!!! She exceeded my expectations, and made me feel amazing! Being in the beauty industry myself, I knew this was the one thing I didn't want to cut myself short on, and I will forever look back on that as the best decision I made! I had people asking me all day who did my makeup and hair, she is wonderful and I would recommend her to ANY Bride!!!! :D
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexandra
Wedding:
10/26/2012
5.0/5.0
I had the most amazing experience with AJ's Hair Design and Make-Up. She and her crew had to deal with 5 bridesmaids a junior bridesmaids, a MOB, and myself. None of us did a trial and she was given random photos on the spot to try and recreate. Every single person turned out beautifully!!! The make-up and hair was catered perfectly to each person to highlight their best features. We don't have one bad picture due to the professionalism of their beauty services. We even shortened their work time by and hour and she finished perfectly on time. I would highly recommend AJ to anyone looking for a memorable wedding experience!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rothana
Wedding:
10/13/2012
2.8/5.0
From the moment AJ arrived to the moment she left there was something off about her. Through out our communications she was great but on the day of our wedding she showed up with a negative air to her. She was late and came off as being very unprofessional. I don’t know what was going on but she was totally off… Our photographer whom has worked with her in the past mentioned that she didn't seem like her usual self. She is very talented and obviously knew what she was doing except for the fact that she made me feel uncomfortable through out the whole process… I couldn't wait for her to leave. It was a hectic day and I totally did not need a Debbie downer on my wedding day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
8/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Aj was wonderful to work with. She did amazing on my hair and makeup! I am so happy with how it turned out! I could not have felt more beautiful. She did the perfect amount to make me look flawless, but not like i had caked on makeup. It was very natural looking! Would highly recommend!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1347896113219-fbavatar1711623
Lanoi
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
AJ is an absolute professional that you will not only enjoy working with, but can be confident in her abilities to transform you to your "best self". I had a hair and makeup trial with AJ a few months before my wedding on July 28th 2012 and I was thrilled with the outcome.

On the wedding day, AJ and one of her assistants showed up 15 minutes before they were expected to get there to get everything set up for us. She was in charge of my hair and makeup, my mother’s hair and hair/makeup for 5 bridesmaids.

AJ has extreme attention to detail and I was floored by her ability to manage the craziness that was going on around her - flowers showing up, lunch getting set up, the videographer everywhere, unannounced family members stopping by, etc. All the while, she was calm and focused on what she was doing.

My makeup and hair when I was finished was exactly what I wanted - simple, elegant, and understated. I literally didn't feel as though I had any on. And even when tears came later in the day, nothing on my face was ruined. I just carried lip gloss for touch ups.

Thank you AJ for being such a huge part of our wedding day, for making me, my mom and my girls feel absolutely beautiful!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1326914010319-emilychris30
Emily
Wedding:
6/9/2012
4.6/5.0
Wonderful service. AJ came to my house the morning of my wedding. I was constantly changing the number or hair and makeup services that we were going to need, and even added a bridesmaid hair styling the morning of. AJ and her partner were fabulous, we all got the looks we wanted and the makeup lasted all day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1337026454230-41300010150923168802107577712106121225071040134097o
Krissy
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
AJ and her team are so talented and sweet. They showed up on time, dressed nice and did an amazing job! My makeup lasted well into the next day, which was nice because I was extremely tired the next morning and we had an early flight to Hawaii. My hair held up until the end of the night and I was very pleased with quality of hair and makeup products she used. I would recommend her to anyone who is looking to be papered on your wedding day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LauraKSanders
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
AJ did an amazing job on my hair & makeup..would recommend her 100 times over!!! Thank you so much!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1313122739781-dsc9034
Belinda
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
She did a beautiful job on my bridal party, my mom and myself! HIGHLY reccommend!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
I thought AJ did an amazing job doing my hair and makeup for my wedding. AJ and her assistant also did my mom's makeup and the hair and makeup of some of my bridesmaids. I thought she was extremely easy to work with, listened to my feedback after the trial run, and delivered picture perfect hair and makeup that truly lasted all day. Some of my bridesmaids had their hair done at 9 AM and at the end of the night still looked great. I felt the cost was well worth it especially since she can meet you on location. I couldn't have been happier with the service we received.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AndreaC
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding at the Hotel Deluxe in October of 2011. AJ provided on-site hair and makeup services to me (the bride), my Matron of Honor and my mother-in-law. I planned my wedding from LA and even though AJ and I did not meet before the wedding she was able to create a beautiful, vintage look for me on the spot. She was attentive to detail, style, and personality. I looked like a more beautiful version of myself! Thank you so much AJ for making my wedding day beautiful!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jaimieanne
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
You can’t go wrong with AJ and her team! She did hair and make-up for my wedding. I had a HUGE wedding party and was really worried about the timing of it all. AJ was attentive, professional and calming even before my big day! One the day, she kept to her schedule and my 7 bridesmaids, 2 moms and I looked AMAZING! Everyone LOVED their hair! The make-up looked fabulous. I really loved that the looks were contemporary, age appropriate and glamorous without being over-the-top! I will use AJ and her team again and would recommend them without any reservation, in fact with insistence! Book them and you won’t regret it!!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
overjoyed
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
AJ Lane did my hair and makeup for my summer wedding. My makeup was beautiful and my hair was exactly how I wanted it. It was a very hot day and I was worried about my hair and makeup staying in place for 12 hours. Even though I did get very sweaty on the dance floor, I looked great all night, and to my amazement, the next morning my hair was still in place. Our wedding was two days long, and I didn’t even have to fix my hair for the second day! AJ was very easy to work with, flexible, talented, has exceptionally reasonable prices, and is very nice. I would highly recommend AJ to any bride who wants to look stunning and beautiful on their wedding day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
therealamy
Wedding:
7/16/2011
4.9/5.0
These ladies were awesome!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tori
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
AJ's Hair Design and Makeup did an amazing job on me and my entire bridal party. They were so easy to work with and professional. Everyone could not have been happier with their work and I would recommend them to any bride looking for her hair and makeup artists!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dede Hammond, Mother of the Groom ~
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Helloooo ~ This past weekend my son married the love of his life and as a bridal shower gift to Sara I hired AJ to come work her magic on the wedding day ~ Gosh am I ever glad I did! I have extremely high standards and it takes a lot for me to put my recommendation out there, having said that ~ I HIGHLY recommend AJ Hair and Makeup Designs for your wedding or ANY occasion. AJ is a lovely young gal I met when she did the hair and makeup for a photo shoot for a Bridal magazine, where my daughter, Taylor was the model. AJ was amazing then and I watched her in action and I was IMPRESSED so a year later when wedding bells came, I contacted AJ and she came to do the HAIR for my Daughter-N-Love Sara, for the Momma of the Bride, Karen, myself and two of the bridesmaids ~ SUPERB! FANTASTIC! AWESOME! AJ also did Sara's and my make up! Oh my Gosh ~ I have not felt so pretty in a long time and get this ... my hubby even said I LQQK'd 20 years younger and kissed me while dancing! Of course it goes without saying the bride was spectaculary beautiful and what was most important was that AJ was open to ANYthing she wanted, until the Bride felt it was perfect! And Sara was breathtaking! I could close with this endorsement and I probably should not brag, but I am going to anyways ... bear with me. At age 53 ~ I felt SO pretty and guess what? WOWzer on the pictures, not just the professional pics where they can photo shop but little snap shots ~ I do LQQK amazing if I say so myself ~ Thank you AJ ~ I need you daily now! Oh and one last thing ~ As Mother of the Groom ~ my hair and makeup was done at 10am in prep for pictures and at 10:30pm as I brushed my teeth, in the mirror, hair and makeup was still lovely ~ Truly Amazing! I found AJ to be very Professional, Talented, Reliable, Punctual and most Enjoyable and absolutely LOVELY to spend the morning during the wedding preparation time. She was a joy to have in the Bridal suite, not intrusive at all ~ letting all the activity happen while she worked her magic but also when I was tearing up ~ worried I was going to ruin my makeup AJ helped calm me when I needed her most! It is my pleasure to recommend AJ while taking this opportunity to say Thank to her! I am not sure what my next special event will be ~ but I am putting AJ on speed dial IN my cell phone! Sincerely, Dede Hammond
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Blanca Salarzon
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
AJ is the best Hair and Make-up artist I've ever known. I love that she does her work in a very relaxed and calm way. It just proves her true knowledgeability and experience in her craft and in the field of Wedding Beauty and artistry.
I was afraid at first at the possible turn out of my hair and makeup because months before the wedding I was not hands-on and wasn't able to help out with the preparations for our wedding due to my U.S. physician's licensure exams. Thanks to my sister hazel and mom in law and mom for guiding me through this. Given this, I was not able to make a pre-wedding Hair &Make-up trial. On my wedding day, I just told AJ, since I didn't have any ideas for my hair and make-up, for her to be the one in-charge. I simply said: " AJ, I trust and believe in you..just do what you think is best for me. Just make look me taller and slender cause I was really chubby and my cheeks were really sticking out!". To everyone's surprise, AJ did something really magical. It was a huge transformation. AJ did something very very very good. I must say, I looked beautiful/gorgeous/amazing. I don't normally say that.. but just on my wedding day I know I really was beautiful. Thanks so much AJ you are simply the best. My hair was artistically done and I looked years younger with my make-up. It all looked so clean and classy. All my guests liked my hair and makeup. They were so amazed at how artistically the hair was especially from the front/top/sides and back. It had curls that were braided intricately and the good thing was that it wasn't the usual boring flat hair others opt for but wasn't high like a bee hive/beauty queen would opt for. It had just the right elevation from the scalp that gave my face that certain glow and distinction. I will be posting pics thru http web address because I know that it is by seeing that we all believe. Thanks for being so professional, thanks for doing the hair of my whole bridal party even without us letting you know before hand. Thanks for bringing one of the members of your team who also did an amazing job with my mom,aunts,and jr. bridesmaid. Thanks for re-fixing the hair of one of my flower girls which I did initially. You made us all look all so beautiful, young and very sophisticated. I highly recommend AJ and her team. Her Hair and Make-up service is very very very reasonable and highly affordable given the beautiful and amazing work she does. You are the best. You are unbelievably awesome. You are beautiful in and out.. you are fantastic..Thanks AJ:) TO VIEW HER WORK CHECK OUT THIS LINK:
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.222879194403690.72977.100000448343086&l=8cceb94ba7
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alexandraf
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.5/5.0
I had AJ do hair and makeup for me and my three bridesmaids for my wedding May 21. I had a preview done months before so I already knew how kind and helpful AJ was. What I didn't know was what a calming presence she would cast in our hotel suite the morning of my wedding. She and her assistant Tunell were so much fun, making us at ease. When I asked last minute if my mom could have her hair and makeup done also, AJ answered in a heartbeat that she would absolutely fit her in, and she completed all of us seamlessly in the allotted time. We were all stunned at how beautiful our hair and makeup was. She matched our skin tones perfectly, never looking cakey or overly dramatic. And it photographed amazing. My hair was soft (not crunchy!) and exactly as I'd wanted it - it perfectly matched the photo I had brought in. I can't recommend AJ or her beautiful services enough.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa Calhoun
Wedding:
5/14/2011
4.8/5.0
AJ did an amazing job for not only my hair and makeup on my wedding day, but for my entire wedding party. The makeup is very high quality and most of my wedding party (including me) wore the makeup the next day and still looked amazing! The entire team was very professional, thorough, and pleasant to work with. If I ever need my makeup done for a special event again, you can bet I'll be calling AJ to do it. : )
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
towelbird
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
AJ got back to my query quickly and was willing to provide services for only two people since my wedding party was small. She was there early and prepared and was flexible when we weren't able to get started on time. I really appreciated working with her and got many comments on my hair and make-up. I felt so beautiful that day and appreciated the help in attaining that beauty.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amazinchrissie
Wedding:
3/10/2011
5.0/5.0
AJ's Hair and Make-up is awesome. It's very difficult to find a vender that you want in your price range. I called AJ 3 days before the wedding to set up an appointment for the wedding day and she was available, which was a huge relief for me. She was on time when she had to come to the hotel and start with myself and the bridesmaids, at 5 am! Aj and her assistant were very nice and professional, they did not seem tired at 5 am, instead they were very happy, up beat, and ready to work. I was kinda scared because a lot of people usually get a test run for both hair and make- up, but with AJ, there's no need! She did a wonderful job on my 3 girls and myself. Her opinion is wonderful as well. Ask her questions and she will be honest and blunt, which is better than trying to soothe you over and make you look like crap. We had a morning wedding so she went along with the theme and made everyone look very natural and fresh. She is very creative and very good with her work. I would book her again for different occaisins in the future.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anja Shimogawa
Wedding:
2/25/2011
4.9/5.0
I live out-of-state and had my ceremony planned for 10am on a Friday. It became evident in my research online that most salons in the Portland area didn't open early enough for me and my party to get our hair and makeup done. Needless to say, I was absolutely relieved when I found AJ's Hair Design and Makeup. Not only was she available, but AJ was willing to be at my hotel by 6:30am! I wasn't able to come in for a trial run and knew I would just have to trust AJ since I didn't feel comfortable doing my own hair/makeup. My wedding day came, AJ showed up on time, I showed AJ a few ideas of an updo and all services were completed on time. I was very happy with the outcome and received many compliments throughout the day. I would highly recommend AJ for your beauty needs!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
taylorhammond
Wedding:
11/5/2010
5.0/5.0
I worked with Aj from Aj's Hair Design and Makeup during a wedding photoshoot where I modeled couture bridal gowns. Besides getting my hair done for high school dances, I had never had my hair professionally done. I also had never had my makeup professionally done. I remember sitting in the chair, so excited with how it was all going to turn out!

I was already really nervous for the shoot, and Aj was the first person I met that day. She was really sweet and did her best to carry a conversation with me and make me more as ease :) The makeup she used was incredible, and as she was doing my makeup, she told me about the product she was using. When I saw myself after makeup, I was amazed! She hadn't put very much makeup on me, but it was just enough. It was so sophisticated and elegant!

I loved how Aj did my hair. The shoot was for couture bridal gowns, so she did my hair in long, luscious curls. I was amazed with how quickly she did my hair (as it takes me forever), and it looked PERFECT!

I LOVED everything about what Aj did! The makeup was absolutely perfect, and the hair was beautiful. I am not yet engaged, but I am positive that as soon as I am and start wedding planning, I will definitely book her. My brother is getting married this summer, and we have already booked Aj for their wedding to do the bride, mother of the bride, and mother of the groom's hair and makeup. They were so impressed with her work, they jumped right on booking her!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lottiesmom
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
AJ was professional and helpful at both my trial run and the day of my wedding.

For the trial run, she looked at a few photos of hairstyles I had found and listened to what I had in mind and created an awesome off-beat updo for me. As for makeup, I don't really wear makeup and she took the reigns on that look. I wanted to look a little ethereal but not overdone, and that's exactly how it turned out. Fabulous!

On my wedding day, her and her assistant showed up right on time, ready to do the hair and makeup of my whole bridal party (3 bridesmaids, 2 mothers, and myself). She was able to give my bridesmaids a style that coordinated with mine but still allowed me to stand out. And with each girl having different makeup preferences and skin tones, she was still able to make them all feel beautiful and glamorous. We all kept our makeup and hairstyles going all night for the after-after-party (I had a morning wedding).
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Oceanside Bride
Wedding:
8/19/2010
4.8/5.0
Getting married in Oceanside, OR, on a Thursday did not present many options for local hair/make-up options...AJ to the rescue! She drove out to the coast, came to the house where we were staying and proceeded to make me and my maid of honor look like rock stars! I didn't fully appreciate her artistry until I saw the pictures from our photographer - we looked GORGEOUS! AJ answered all my emails before the wedding, and once we were together, made sure I had exactly the look I wanted before she left. She was great - and such a sweetheart!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.7/5.0
Tanell and Kendal where great, they are very nice and extrememly talented. Aj has a great group of ladies working for her and the service was excellent and very high quality!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sophia
Wedding:
8/7/2010
4.9/5.0
AJ does AMAZING work. I have never looked so good!! She is FAST too. Her makeup and hair stayed the entire wedding day. The only minor thing was that there was a bit of confusion in our communication on the schedule. I originally thought she would bring another person with her to do hair, but she ended up showing up by herself. I was a bit worried she wouldn't get everyone done on time, but she worked really fast and everyone looked amazing!! She has really great prices and you just can't beat the quality. She made me look so great that my husband cried the first time he saw me... and I have NEVER seen him cry before.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kari
Wedding:
7/25/2010
5.0/5.0
A.J. was fantastic, and I highly recommend her. She was able to accommodate my "special" circumstances which were that I never wear make-up and was terrified of looking unnatural on my wedding day. But she understood exactly what I was looking for, and it turned out 100% perfect. My hair stayed in place, and all my make-up stayed on my face through the whole day night--even through the 85 degrees and blazing sun of my ceremony. She had the best prices of anyone I contacted. I have very high standards--if I pay money for a service, I expect it to be 5-star. And A.J. definitely delivered.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cloud Nine Bridal
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
AJ is extremely talented, very sweet, and listens to what you want. She is willing to travel to the place of your choosing and brings her amazing assistants if needed. We had no problem in getting everyone done in time. Myself and all of my maids had our hair and makeup done by her and she listened to what I wanted for the maids and what I wanted for myself. I told her I wanted for myself to be a little dramatic with fuller lashes and focus on my eyes. She delivered what I wanted and was even gracious enough to apply my tattoo cover up kit for me. She is so amazing, I would recommend her to everyone. In fact, I will be going back to her to do my hair and make up for a photo shoot for my business website.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darcie
Wedding:
5/15/2010
4.9/5.0
AJ's Hair Design & Make-Up was the best choice for my bridesmaids and I when selecting hair & make-up services for my special day. Both Rachael and Kendall were punctual, friendly & talented! My bridesmaids and I were able to show the stylists a picture of what we were envisioning for our hair and they were able to recreate the hairstyles perfectly! Make-up, including fake eyelashes, was done tastefully. My entire bridal party had nothing but wonderful things to say about our day full of primping! Even with the first bridesmaid getting her hair done at 10:00 a.m. and the wedding ceremony not until 5:15 p.m., everyone's hair and make-up looked as good as it did when first looking in the mirror after the service was completed. Compliments were abundant! I look forward to getting the opportunity to work with AJ's Hair Design & Make-Up again!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jfbowden
Wedding:
12/20/2009
5.0/5.0
I just got married on December 20th and AJ was kind enough to come to our hotel to do makeup and hair for my niece, my mom, and me on her birthday! I've always been extremely reluctant to have anyone do my hair or makeup because on the few occasions that it has been done I felt like it was a waste of money and I didn't like how I looked. I looked "made up", not like myself at all, and my hair well, it just wasn't good...not many people know how to work with fine, thin hair without making it bouffant, AJ totally took care of me! I absolutely LOVED how she did my hair and makeup! All of my friends kept commenting how beautiful I looked and that I still looked like me...many of them felt like they looked beautiful on their wedding day, but not like themselves so that was a huge compliment! It was so nice to be able to stay in my hotel room and relax instead of rushing around from place to place to get ready. AJ's prices are very reasonable especially considering how much stress it takes out of your day to have her come to you! She's so sweet and easy to work with. I HIGHLY recommend calling AJ to take care of you for any special occasion that you want to look FABULOUS for!

Love ya girl!
Jeannie Bowden
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cassie
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend AJ to any bride who wants a look that will last until her honeymoon! I was running late to the venue and AJ and her team were more than patient understanding the craziness the bride is under on the big day. She did hair and make-up for myself, my bridesmaids, and the mothers. We all looked fabulous, different styles for our individual skin types/preferences. AJ applied a few false lashes in the corners of my eyes and I swear even days after the wedding, after washing my face multiple times, they still looked as beautiful as the day she put them on. Her prices are not the cheapest but they are well worth every penny, plus tip! I felt beautiful, she knew the look I was going for without too much preparation, and she and her team were professional yet fun to work with. I even recommended them to Ania Bridal who used them to style their models for various bridal shows.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Auyong
Wedding:
10/31/2009
5.0/5.0
AJ's Hair Design and Makeup was very professional and friendly.Their hair and makeup services are excellent and they are very acommodating.I would highly recommend her to anyone and would definitely use her services in the future.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Genny
Wedding:
9/19/2009
4.9/5.0
I could not have asked to look more gorgeous. AJ's did such an amazing job and I am forever grateful to them! They truly made me look the best I have ever looked and the pictures are amazing! The make-up lasted forever and they came to us, making the day run so much smoother. I would highly recommend AJ's.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erinfonaas
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
AJ and her team did hair and makeup for me and my bridal party on my wedding day - it was absolutely PERFECT! I couldn't have asked for anything better! Although I had a hard time describing the look I was after, AJ nailed it and my vision came to life. She even came to me - setting up shop in my hotel room! She worked carefully but quickly and her company was a delight! Our hair and makeup lasted ALL NIGHT without any problems! I recommend AJ and her team of great artists to anyone looking for hair and makeup services for any occassion! THANK YOU AJ! :)
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1250750263862-1509022
RSB
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
I would definitely recommend AJ! I have very sensitive skin and very reluctant to do air brush again. She really was very patient to explain to me what she uses for her clients and I am really impressed. She uses mineral make up which I like. I also liked the updo hairstyle she did on my wedding day. I love the lipstick and gloss that she used. I had to order for my own personal use. She was so flexible and was able to take care of my Mom and siblings' eye lashes. I also had someone to fix the dress, hair for my formal photo shoots after the ceremony. That was really nice to have. She gave me information even on skin care. She definitely is good at what she does!
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Audrey
Wedding:
7/31/2009
5.0/5.0
I've had a really wonderful experience with AJ's. I had very bad experience with other makeup artist. I loved it! They are there in a very early morning, they are patience and calmness in dealing with the ordinary wedding stresses. I want to thank them for doing such a great job and would highly recommend them to anyone looking for talented makeup artists
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mel
Wedding:
7/3/2009
5.0/5.0
I have to say AJ doing my hair and makeup was the most relaxing thing that happened that day, she truely did such a wonderful job I felt so beautiful and for that I have her to thank!! My sister and freind also used her for hair and makeup and they looked fabulous. I tell everyone I know that's getting married between her talent and professionalism, not to mention price, AJ's the way to go!!!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KTodd555
Wedding:
6/27/2009
4.8/5.0
AJ provided great on-site hair and makeup for the entire wedding party. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
motherofbridejenny
Wedding:
6/13/2009
5.0/5.0
AJ is a true professional. We had a trial hair and makeup session at her home a few weeks before the wedding. Then on the day of the wedding, AJ came to my home and did makeup for the mother of the bride and flower girl, and did hair and makeup for the bride. Everybody was happy with the results. We didn't want an over-the-top look but instead wanted to look like ourselves but BETTER. AJ made us look great. Highly recommend.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
momofthebride
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
AJ is great, she knows her business, she listened and did what
we asked. I am really grateful that we found her. She added to the
day by making our time with her organized and efficient. Her helpful and calm manner was a real plus, on your wedding day you need someone like AJ.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LOVE30
Wedding:
10/27/2007
5.0/5.0
Aj came to my house the day of the wedding. She did hair and makeup for me and all six of my bridemaids! What I wanted most was for my bridesmaids, the girls closest to me in life, to feel beautiful that day. Aj made my dreams come true. We looked fresh and sophisicated; everyone felt pretty and walked with confidence. I was especially impressed by her professionalism and attention to detail.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Helene
Wedding:
9/9/2007
4.5/5.0
She came to my home to do the trial and was very patient in working with me until I was happy.

She then came to the wedding site a week later and did my hair and make-up along with 4 bridesmaids and 2 moms.

We all looked fantastic.

The makeup was very fresh, light and held up great!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
5 stars all around! AJ is very talented at what she does. I highly recommend her!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1343717719339-jwwaterhousemermaid
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
She made me (and all the ladies in my wedding) look amazing. I went to her house for a trial run beforehand. I let her know that I had my engagement photo session later that day and she made sure my hair was down (different than the wedding day updo we were planning) and looked great before I left for our pictures that day.

Now, I think I looked pretty great in my engagement photos, but I swear I looked even better on my wedding day. She used Jane Iredale make-up, which didn't budge and stayed on until I was ready to take it off. It even lasted through me sweating while hiking up a steep hill during our engagement photos in the summertime.

The best thing she did was what she did for our 11 year old niece. The poor girl got hit in the face with a ball at softball practice a few days before the wedding. Her mom did her best to ice her swollen nose down before the wedding day, but she still had a very noticeable black eye. AJ was able to work wonders and she looked like nothing ever happened to her. Everyone was amazed at how great AJ made her (and everyone else) look at the wedding. I would definitely recommend her!
Services Used: Beauty & Health

MAP

 
Portland/Vancouver, OR 97212 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for AJ's Hair Design and Makeup
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1236836874347-shear0087