130x130_sq_1338505910884-aldenforweddingwire

Alden Castle

Brookline , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

20 Chapel Street
Brookline, MA US 02446 (map)

PHONE

617-854-5000

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

You've dreamed of this day all of your life. The decor. The attire. The ring. The cake. For a wedding celebration fit for a fairytale romance, there is no place other than Alden Castle.... Read more
You've dreamed of this day all of your life. The decor. The attire. The ring. The cake. For a wedding celebration fit for a fairytale romance, there is no place other than Alden Castle. Gorgeous chandeliers, soaring windows, dramatic balconies and gilded ceilings combine to create a venue fit for your dream. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1333027902818-aldenbostonlogorgb
130x130_sq_1374930411453-outside-w.sign-cc
130x130_sq_1236706213271-veronique-viewfromoutside.jpg
130x130_sq_1375219176492-lobby-pic-cc-1
130x130_sq_1375219177918-lobby-pic-cc-2
130x130_sq_1375219191427-outside-fountain-cc
130x130_sq_1375219198974-longwood
130x130_sq_1338503513843-aldenmodernroomthumb5large
130x130_sq_1332940224676-aldencastlemodernflare
130x130_sq_1338503506853-aldenmodernroomthumb3large
130x130_sq_1374930597868-cl-with-gobo
130x130_sq_1375202552077-cl-table-cc
130x130_sq_1338503490240-aldenmodernroomthumb1large
130x130_sq_1338503530967-aldenmodernroomthumb6large
130x130_sq_1332940228555-cluboh1
130x130_sq_1375202439327-cl-20s-show-2
130x130_sq_1375202626300-showcase-mr
130x130_sq_1375202389316-cl-9.20-sc-4
130x130_sq_1375202413286-cl-cer-bw
130x130_sq_1375202535767-cl-placecard-table
130x130_sq_1338503499722-aldenmodernroomthumb2large
130x130_sq_1375202495032-cl-ceremony-2
130x130_sq_1375202527088-cl-mezz-cc
130x130_sq_1375202611929-showcase-mr-lounge
130x130_sq_1382480986132-club-ceremony-chairs
130x130_sq_1382481014984-ola-cl-cer
130x130_sq_1382481023105-ola-dance-kiss
130x130_sq_1338503415168-aldenballroomthumb5large
130x130_sq_1338503432084-aldenballroomthumb3large
130x130_sq_1338503442216-aldenballroomthumb6large
130x130_sq_1338503450647-aldenballroomthumb4large
130x130_sq_1375219260780-bv-erindave-dancing
130x130_sq_1375219246785-ballroom-mezzanine-bench
130x130_sq_1375219250517-ballroom-mezzanine-sofa
130x130_sq_1374930376526-bv-cer-snap-2
130x130_sq_1375219253584-bv-cer-snap-1
130x130_sq_1375219257113-bv-cer-snap-4
130x130_sq_1382644732115-bv-rounds-and-long-tables
130x130_sq_1374930463677-bv-recep--cake
130x130_sq_1382479881676-baldwin-11
130x130_sq_1382479816067-baldwin-28
130x130_sq_1382479841668-baldwin-27
130x130_sq_1382479828083-baldwin-26
130x130_sq_1382479850757-baldwin-38
130x130_sq_1382479891226-baldwin-40
130x130_sq_1382479872840-baldwin-54
130x130_sq_1382481093690-ry-wed-0034
130x130_sq_1382481122352-ry-wed-0103
130x130_sq_1382481147106-ry-wed-0105
130x130_sq_1382481172860-ry-wed-0143
130x130_sq_1382643712934-ry-wed-0186.5
130x130_sq_1382643736552-ry-wed-0193
130x130_sq_1382643803105-ry-wed-0293
130x130_sq_1382643837317-ry-wed-0296
130x130_sq_1382643879734-ry-wed-0097
130x130_sq_1382643904444-ry-wed-0178.5
130x130_sq_1382644595199-ballroom-candelabra
130x130_sq_1382644598842-ballroom-color
130x130_sq_1382644612278-black-pink-and-white
130x130_sq_1382644766480-showcase-bv-mitz-3
130x130_sq_1382644605327-ballroom-overview-2
130x130_sq_1382644617768-ballroom-yellow
130x130_sq_1382644628811-bv-pink-table
130x130_sq_1382644663558-bv-room-with-cake
130x130_sq_1382644696792-bv-yellow-table
130x130_sq_1382644724135-ola-ballroom
130x130_sq_1382644725894-ola-couple-bv
130x130_sq_1382644728108-ola-outside

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1920
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Glamorous, Modern, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
250
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
100
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Alden Castle was a great venue for our reception! We booked it close to a year in advance and Cindy, our event planner, stayed in touch with us throughout the year. She kept us on a great timeline so everything felt very organized and stress free. She took care of all the little details so that our day was very well run and relaxing for us. She even made sure we had some quiet time and got some food and a beverage with our bridal party before we went to the cocktail hour. Very attentive! It's a beautiful space with very professional staff. And the food was great!! We got so many compliments on what a yummy meal it was.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Thank you, thank you to Michelle and Cindy for making our wedding an amazing and memorable day! The venue is beautiful, the staff is accommodating and responsive to any changes that you want. Anything is possible! This is not an inexpensive venue, however you absolutely receive what you pay for and Cindy listens closely to every concern you have and works with you every step of the way. I could not have asked for a better event coordinator to help bring our vision together. We will miss working with you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend anyone get married at Alden Castle. The staff is amazingly responsive and helpful, and will listen to your individual needs and vision for your wedding and go above and beyond to make it happen. Cindy was our coordinator and she made so much of the planning process stress free. It was so nice I have someone who called all other vendors the week before the wedding and confirm dates and times. If anything went wrong, I don't even know about, because the Alden castle staff did such an amazing job we were completely shielded from issues. And the food! Our guests still rave about it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience with Alden Castle. Cindy was extremely helpful and professional. She guided us throughout the entire wedding planning process. Cindy is a master at her trade and did not miss a beat. We felt completely confident in her hands. The Wedding was a huge success! Gorgeous venue! Amazing service! Excellent food! We would highly recommend this venue for any Boston wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
It wouldn't be possible to say enough phenomenal things about Cindy Goodman, our Alden Castle coordinator, or the Alden Castle team in general. So many of our guests have commented on how professionally and smoothly everything was handled by the venue. When we arrived, we found a tray of our cocktail hour appetizers waiting for us and two glasses of champagne. All of the food was phenomenal, and our wedding went off without a hitch!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I have only positive things to say about Alden Castle... they were amazing. From the first interaction with them, when we met with Michelle, throughout our entire planning process with Cindy, everyone has just been so kind, thorough and organized. Cindy is extremely attentive and responds to emails almost immediately. We did not have a worry at all on the day because we knew she was on top of everything. We had our reception there on April 26, 2014. We had 100 guests in the club room, which fit perfectly. We did plated dinners of filet mignon and chicken and the food was delicious, even better than our tasting. The cake was also amazing. The service was impeccable the entire night as well. Definitely recommend!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
A,
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Gorgeous venue, five-star food, extremely professional staff and absolutely perfect service. Hands down best decision we made for our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justine
Wedding:
10/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely amazing, I can’t say enough good things about the Longwood event group. Cindy Goodman, the event coordinator, was fantastic. Very hands on, always responsive to e-mails and phone calls, and really on top of everything. She was almost like a part wedding planner as she provided suggestions, let me know how certain things are done (ie when do I send out invitations?) She took all of my decorations and handled them perfectly on the day. The venue itself is gorgeous (you really do feel like you’re in a castle ballroom). Alden also upgraded my cocktail hour to the club room which was very spacious. The food is amazing, all the guests were commenting on it. The staff were extremely professional, and several guests came up to after to say so, commenting on things like how every waiter comes to eat place setting and sets everyone’s food down at the same time. Waiters came up to guests at tables asking if they could get them a drink, even though we didn’t pay for tableside wine service or anything. I was very well taken care of myself, with a bridal assistant who made sure I always had what I needed, whether it be a drink or a piece of every flavor cake! Can’t recommend Alden enough!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Alden Castle and its staff are, in a word, incredible. I could not have been happier with this venue or the service provided by the Alden Castle team. Michelle Sagi and Cindy Goodman were an incredible resource and they made everything so much easier for me, my husband and my whole family. They provided us with great references for vendors from the florist to our hotel room block. I cannot imagine what planning our wedding would have been like without them! They made every effort to get to know my husband and me so that our event would reflect everything that we wanted. They provided honest and candid advice when we asked for their opinions, which was invaluable and made decision making a breeze. They always responded to my barrage of daily emails in a timely manner and made sure to reach out and check in on me throughout the entire planning process. The service you receive when you host an event at Alden Castle is beyond compare and I have recommended the venue to friends and family for their future events without hesitation. The space is classic and timeless and completely took my breath away from the moment that I first visited. I look forward to hosting future events at Alden Castle and will always regard Cindy and Michelle as dear friends.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ola
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
"Our wedding of about 75 people was held in the Modern Club at Alden Castle. The space itself is heaven. The hardwood floors, the gold leafed ceiling, and the glass chandeliers were just some of the space highlights. I didn't want the same old hotel ballroom and this fit our vision perfectly. It was just the right mix of vintage chic and elegance.

My experience with the staff was excellent. From the moment I met Michelle (the Dir. who showed me the space), to Cindy, our fabulous and super organized wedding coordinator, right down to the entire staff during the wedding and the following day at our farewell brunch. My bridal attendant was an angel in disguise and was by my side whenever I needed anything - even ensuring I took a minute to eat something (b/c let's face it, eating is the last thing on a bride's mind when she wants to connect with everyone) My husband and I both felt that the staff went above and beyond to make our wedding perfect. They excel at customer service!

The food was superb, every dish was cooked to perfection. I don't think there was one guest who didn't praise the excellence.

We truly could not have asked for anything better. I wouldn't hesitate whatsoever to recommend this venue to anyone getting married.”
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
A++++++++
GREAT service, amazing venue, one of a kind, worth every penny.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
1/12/2008
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding reception here and I absolutely loved it. The room was beautiful, the food was fantastic, (and my husband and I are both very picky!) There were some small heating issues because it is an older building but the staff was fast to take care of it. It took us six months to find the perfect spot and looking back I am 100 percent happy we choose to have our reception here.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joanne
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
I am not sure how to express the perfection provided by Veronique for our daughter's wedding. The staff treated us like royalty. The wedding plans were overseen by one of the most organized, pleasant and available people we have ever worked with. This was not our first rodeo, but our second event at Veronique. It is a treasure of old world, continental beauty. It is well laid out and the food is restaurant quality. I think the royal family missed the mark and should have chosen Veronique. We are so very glad we did!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aitric
Wedding:
9/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Our wedding at Veronique was amazing. The food was unbelievable. We definetly overfed our guests but that was very important for us. The venue itself is so breathtaking. The night was magical. All the guests were very impressed with the food, the venue and the staff. I cant reccomend this place enough. I know that it is not right in Boston as some would like but it has the benefit of being close to the city and it also was more affordable than a lot of places we saw. Our wedding cake ... I couldnt have asked for anything better. We should them a picture of what we wanted and also they were able to take some details from our wedding invitation and implement them into the cake. Unbelievable and so delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dreambml
Wedding:
4/12/2008
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was simply amazing. Every guest we have spoken to has said it was one of the best they had been to. The food alone has received so many compliments. While Veronique is pricey, they really do an incredible job with every detail. Gourmet food, exceptional service, gorgeous room. They even give you a "bridal assistant" for the day; she never hovered, but somehow was always there when I needed something - including changing shoes! The year it took us to plan our wedding was so easy, because they helped with every little thing! I only saw two reception sites, and booked Veronique within 24 hours of visiting them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
drew-k
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
We received ridiculous personal care and attention at Alden Castle. It seemed like we were their only clients, and that should be taken as the highest of compliments. There were some moments of frustration regarding the venue and the changes that the management made during our preparation, but I will say that they were handled professionally and creatively, and in the end, the final results ended up exceeding our expectations. Cindy (and Michelle) went above and beyond to solve our problems, which only added to our overall satisfaction and experience. Anyway, I'm confident that Alden Castle is behind those issues now with the renovations complete.

Needless to say, both my wife and I are thoroughly impressed with the venue and the staff. We knew people would have fun, and we were confident that there would be compliments flying our way days following the event about the music, ceremony, and other personal touches. What we didn't expect was that guests would rave about how attentive the servers were. Countless individuals told me that everyone working there was so polite and so organized. There was no aimless wandering, puzzled looks, or strange downtime, which I am learning is quite common at these types of events. There was food everywhere during the cocktail hour, and the champagne toast worked perfectly. Everyone was ready to go when the big moment came. Oh, and I have heard over and over again that the food was insanely good (which we already knew). I know the feedback is genuine because it's usually led with something like, "usually the food at weddings is ok at best, but..." Words I've heard to describe the food following that sentiment include, "moist," "delicious," "fluffy," "tasty," and, my favorite, "warm." I guess people aren't used to their food arriving at an edible temperature at weddings!

Whenever my wife and I talk about how smoothly everything went, which seems to be at least once an hour, the discussion always ends with us confirming how lucky we were to have our event there, and that we made the perfect decision when it came to choosing our wedding venue. And we thank Alden Castle one last time for making it possible. We are truly riding a high just over a month after the event, as are our many friends that shared the evening with us. We will be recommending Alden Castle whenever possible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cn2000
Wedding:
5/31/2008
4.9/5.0
The Veronique is a beautiful and elegant venue for a wedding or reception (I had the reception there). The staff is professional and very helpful- I worked with Genevieve Onorato, and she was great in helping me plan the menu, seating, and other details you might forget about with everything else that you have to take care of. The food was delicious, and the night ran smoothly without any hitches. For a wedding in Boston, I found that the Veronique compares very favorably to the other venues I explored in terms of price, quality and value. The best part is that the venue, catering, and cake is all taken care of by Longwood Events, so it's truly one-stop-shopping! I would definitely recommend this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emilie
Wedding:
6/28/2008
4.8/5.0
I just had my wedding at Veronique last Saturday, and let me tell you... it was my absolute dream wedding. Their staff and wedding coordinators are so detailed oriented, my pages and pages of diagrams of how to exactly set up each and every little thing was perfectly executed the night of the wedding. Not only that, I literally had 115 vases they had to fill up with water for floating candles, and all they said was, no problem. The venue is gorgeous, the food is AMAZING (we had the oven roasted sea bass, and the filet mignon with black trumpet mushroom sauce - both were cooked PERFECTLY). Even during cocktail hour, you know how sometimes those passed trays at weddings only get a few people eating?? These trays were totally empty by the end of that hour... the bacon wrapped scallops and the lamb chops are AMAZING.

The bridal attendant that I had was always around when I needed her, and was never too close =) Everything was just perfect. So, if you are able to have your wedding at Veronique, you will not be disappointed. I highly recommend this venue... and if you're interested in hiring lighting professionals, the ballroom looks even more gorgeous with uplighting =)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
4/6/2013
4.8/5.0
I’m not quite sure where to begin because I have so much praise for Alden Castle. In sequential order of events, Michelle Sagi our sales rep was extremely professional and responsive as we toured the venue. What impressed me the most was her patience when it came to showing the venue to my parents after we (my husband and I) had decided “this was it.” When you speak with her, you can tell she has a tremendous amount of pride for the place and that she generally loves where she works and what it can offer to a bride and groom as a wedding location. I remember Alden Castle was the first venue we toured and she actually encouraged us to visit other venues (which we eventually did) just to compare. She’s honest and trustworthy and was a great person to introduce me to the venue. I have nothing but praise for her. And then there is Cindy my wedding coordinator. When it comes to wedding coordinators, Cindy is it. These are the words that come to the top of my head when I think of how exceptionally good she is at her job: responsive, understanding, flexible, “on top of it,” professional, attentive to detail. She won not only me over, but also my mother who sometimes had very different opinions about how the wedding should go, be decorated, timed, etc. In planning my wedding, I was sometimes surprised at how long it would take vendors to get back to me. However, with Cindy, she was always responding to me within a few hours. If there’s one thing that stands out the most to me about her, it’s how she was always one step ahead. It was one of those things where she would answer my question before I was able to even articulate it. It’s like she would see me look at something in the distance when I was revisiting the room, and she’d say, “yes, that chair doesn’t need to stay.” While the execution of the wedding happened with the help of the florist, DJ, wait staff, etc., I really credit Cindy for making it literally perfect. I would not have changed ONE thing. Not one.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
7/7/2007
4.8/5.0
Everyone at Veronique was excellent. They were extremely helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, and really seemed to enjoy their work. They took care of every detail so everyone involved with my wedding could relax on the big day. The venue was beautiful and the food was delicious. They even made us a beautiful wedding cake. I would recommend this place to every bride!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JoyfulBride
Wedding:
6/14/2008
4.8/5.0
Trang was our wedding contact at Veronique and she was very detail oriented, kind and responsive. There wasn't more that 24 hours before she would call/e-mail the answer to a question or remind us of things she needed before the reception. She was great. The actual venue was beyond words--beautiful like a victorian castle--and the food is by far the best I have ever had a wedding (and I would tell you if it wasn't!). I even had my own attendant for the day who got me anything I needed although I didn't need much!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shevaCC
Wedding:
8/18/2007
4.8/5.0
Veronique took care of everything for my wedding reception. They guide you through the entire process as if you've paid a personal wedding planner. Plus all of my vendors told me that they have the best food of any wedding venue in the area. They kept me on track with their reminders, they really did have the greatest food, plus they take care of their brides and grooms. We had a personal assistant at the reception making sure we had food and drinks as we were taking pictures then mingling with our guests. Their venue is gorgeous -- if you want a fairy tale wedding reception definitely check them out. It's similarly priced to holding a reception at several area hotels but the quality of service goes way above and beyond plus it's much more unique.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
12/21/2013
4.8/5.0
Alden Castle was the perfect location for a winter wedding. The facilities were beautiful, the food was excellent and the service was perfect. Every member of the staff was friendly and professional. The coordinator, Cindy, took care of all of the details and keep things running smoothly. We didn't stress at all through the process because it was clear that Alden Castle would help execute a perfect wedding- and they did!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
E.
Wedding:
5/3/2014
4.7/5.0
The food was phenomenal, the staff was professional and helpful. I would have liked a bit more flexibility with the options available to me.

My wedding day went very well.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara Catherine
Wedding:
4/27/2013
4.6/5.0
Cindy was a pleasure to work with and everyone who helped on our wedding night was great! When the dance party started I went to go and take my heels off because my feet were hurting and one of the event managers helped me take them off and even gave me a quick foot rub! (Definitely a plus!) The food was amazing and there was not one person who complained. We were told be everyone it was the best wedding food they have ever had and how attentive the staff was. The only negative thing I have to say is that when my grandmother needed to use the restroom she was told she couldn't go (only because we were being introduced momentarily into the reception but still the action was undesired). A mistake that was immediately taken care of. The decor of this venue is breath taking and made our night perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better event planner to work with (Cindy), who was attentive, kind, sweet, and flexible throughout the whole process, as well as understanding. I highly recommend Alden Castle for anyone getting married !
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
12/31/2008
4.6/5.0
I had my wedding on New Years Eve at Veronique. Almost 5 months later and my guests still rant and rave about it. The food was delicious and the staff amazing! Veronique is a beautiful reception venue and provided my dream wedding! Like most of the other reviews we did have some planning issues due to turnover but in the end we ended up with Stuart who was a pleasure to work with and made sure everything was perfect! I do not have one complaint from my wedding night and most of that is due to the great venue. I wish they still has a restaurant open as I would do anything to have the delicious food they served again! Thanks to eveyone at Veronique who made my wedding so special.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mf
Wedding:
10/16/2005
4.5/5.0
I'm torn giving a review because I'm not really sure who's at fault here. I was living abroad while I got engaged and my parents searched venues for me. They said they booked this venue for the date I wanted and asked if the venue needed a deposit - apparently Veronique said no, that they would hold it without a deposit, and my parents then left for a month to come visit me abroad. When they came back, they found that the day I wanted had been given to someone else. So I had to get married on a Sunday evening, rather than a Saturday. Veronique claims they would have asked for a deposit, my parents insisted they offered and were told it was unnecessary. Veronique was very generous in their offer to make it up to me, though (they threw in some free extras which was wonderful).

In spite of that, they were extremely accommodating and my coordinator (Jennifer Gullins) was particularly amazing. The food was wonderful, the venue looked like a fairy tale when I walked in, and my cake was teriffic! (If you look on their website, there's a chocolate cake with traditional vows on the side - "To Have and To Hold, From This Day Forward..." etc - that's my cake!) I'd have given them five stars if it weren't for the whole date screw up thing.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1203016151562-crop
Meaghan
Wedding:
11/28/2008
4.3/5.0
Everything was great at the Veronique, the food was probably the most talked about and the atmosphere of the the Veronique was incredible. It was perfect because the decor of the ballroom was already perfect, so you only needed to do little things as far as centerpieces and what not. The place itself is so beautiful, so that was definitely a plus on the money side. The only issue I encountered with the Veronique was the responsiveness. It got out of hand at times and I was starting to get concerned because they aren't great at responding to emails or phone calls, but the end results were great and I would definitely recommend this place to have your wedding. I had my ceremony and reception there and it all turned out beautiful. Great food, booze, service....
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
allisondoc
Wedding:
10/12/2008
4.1/5.0
Veronique is a beautiful venue-my wedding was stunning. Initially we dealt with Bridget who was a pleasure-she was responsive to all of our questions and very willing to negotiate price. Once we booked we then dealt with another member of the staff who was not as responsive and I was disappointed when I was not informed that the girl who I was introduced to as my bridal consultant left the company.

The food was amazing-everyone loved it. The space is gorgeous. They were flexible in allowing me to arrive early with my bridal party to the bridal suite.

There were a couple of things that were forgotten on the day of the wedding or around the wedding-there was construction and scaffolding on the building that we were told would not be there for our wedding day...they forgot the ice cream that went along with the cake and the cookies and milk were not what we expected. That being said when we discussed these points we were compensated/reimbursed and they were always professional.

I would highly recommend Veronique to those looking for a luxurious wedding in a beautiful old castle-type building, with wonderful food.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KathyGee
Wedding:
10/25/2008
4.1/5.0
Club Longwood, Veronique. A. The only reason they get an A and not an A+ is that they had some significant turnover issues during my year there, and I ended up having to start over a few times with the wedding coordinators as they came new to the scene. That aside, holy moley, does this place do an amazing job in execution. There’s a very heavy staff to guest ratio, and an even heavier staff to bride/groom ratio! With a bridal attendant for the day, an event coordinator, several members of management all on hand, with their secret service ear buds and mikes, this thing goes off without a hitch – extremely impressive. Beyond that, the room is gorgeous and romantic, the food was spectacular (people raved all night), and just every aspect of the night was smooth as silk.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
clmj
Wedding:
9/27/2008
4.0/5.0
The waitstaff was amazing and wonderful - a guest arrived who had not told us that she needed a gluten-free meal. She informed the server on the spot, and not only did she get an entire gluten-free meal that came out on time with the rest of the meals, but the Veronique staff also sent the head waiter over to her table as each course was served to check on her.

Also, my sister had invented a "signature cocktail" recipe for us. It was a bit complicated and required some unusual ingredients. The Veronique staff invited us for a tasting, made an excellent version of her cocktail - it was delicious - and great they could accommodate us.

Downsides were that our original wedding coordinator left the company before our wedding and the new coordinator that was assigned to us seemd a little inexperienced and quite overwhelmed. She missed many details during the planning process - BUT, in the end it all came out beautifully.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melaniehambrick
Wedding:
10/3/2009
3.7/5.0
My wedding came out wonderfully. A couple of snags along the way that were a bit frustrating. We submitted our final count, but before being able to provide her with the table numbers for everyone, I had some questions. It took a week for our coordinator to get back to me. That was 1 week before my wedding. I finally called her after also sending 2 more emails with no response. They also kept telling me that they were a boutique venue, but they didn't allow us very much flexibility in the wine list. That being said, when I arrived at the ballroom, I looked in and it was exactly what I had pictured. I was never without a drink and the service that night was exceptional. The food looked so good that people took pictures of it and it tasted even better!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monkeerulz
Wedding:
9/20/2008
3.7/5.0
The ratings that I supplied for the Veronique is for the day of. I couldn't ask for better service on my wedding day. Despite all of the headaches I encountered during the planning process (and there were plenty), the staff at Veronique went above and beyond expectations. They stuck to the schedule, they were very accommodating and they handled any hiccups professionally. I couldn't ask for a better day. The planning process, however, was different. Lack of communication spread like an illness which made things extremely difficult and frustrating for me. The grounds were under construction which made it next to impossible to hold our pictures there, despite the staff's reassurance for months that everything would be finished in time. I also felt as if they were doing their very best to nickle and dime me which I didn't appreciate. But nonetheless, I'm glad I held my event there and I would recommend it to future brides with a warning and advice to get all questions answered in the beginning. And don't be afraid to ask for alternatives instead of going by what they say is the "norm".
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1211941125443-janicewedding004
Jennifer
Wedding:
4/19/2008
3.4/5.0
First let me say that our reception at the Veronique was fantastic!
However there were a few glitches.
First and foremost was the fact that tea and coffee was never served.

The another problem was that the wedding party was not able to have appetizers in the main lobby during picture taking. While I now understand that this is the policy I am very disappointed that it was not explained ahead of time. I hope in the future you will make it a policy to inform people ahead of time about this policy so they can plan accordingly.

The candy bar which cost over $2,000 was not as good as we had expected. It was to include peanut M&M's and in fact there were plain M&M's. Also we were told there would be pink wrapped York Peppermint Patties which turned out to be silver wrapped. Also the candy bar ran out! We paid $13 per person for candy as well as a set up fee, I had NO expectations that the candy would run out after paying that much!

I will recommend the Veronique as we loved the reception and the whole experience. The food was delicious especially the wedding cake!

The wait staff and event coordinators were excellent and we so appreciated how well everything was packed up for us. However I will tell them about our few problems.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
20 Chapel Street, Brookline, MA 02446 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Alden Castle
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1338505910884-aldenforweddingwire