Nophoto-130

Alex's Catering

Vallejo , CA

LOCATION

300 Virginia Street
Vallejo, CA US 94590 (map)

PHONE

707-643-1711

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Catering

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Genevieve
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
We had the best experience with Alex's! Sammy was amazing to work with and all of his was incredible! They were fun and easy to work with and very accommodating. They easily changed up some of their regular menu items to work around our theme and never sacrificed the quality. They had awesome creative set-ups for the cocktail hour and we got compliments from so many guests on the food - everyone wanted to take home more! They absolutely fit our personality and style to perfection.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Alex's provided catering for our wedding 5/25/14. At our tasting we were amazed with how good everything was! It was hard to decide on the best options because we wanted it all. Our guests were similarly impressed with the quality and presentation at our wedding. The hors d'oeuvres were extremely well presented and delicious, the dinner was made just right, and they provided excellent service. We couldn't be happier.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
5/22/2014
5.0/5.0
Choosing Alex's was one of the easiest vendors to pick when planing our wedding. Alex's was so easy to work with, from my first interaction up to the last. Sammy was a sweetheart, and I was equally impressed with the staff come our wedding day. Sammy and his staff, always made sure even we were taken care of even if we were getting taken away for pictures. They even gave us an insulated take home bag with food at the end of the night, in case we were too busy that night to eat.
And of course the food was delicious too, or we would have not choose them. Now I just have to figure out how to steal the recipe for the potato and cheese bites.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1369309404417-wedding-from-k
Ashley
Wedding:
5/17/2013
4.8/5.0
Tom with Alex's Catering is exactly the service- and detail-oriented person you want running the behind-the-scenes show at your wedding. His waitstaff was professional and efficient, and the food... Let's just say that my husband didn't stop talking about their spare ribs from the day we did our tasting menu until the day (five months later) he finally got to eat them again at our wedding.

If I could give Alex's six stars for Value I would. We did tasting menus with quite a few other fancy-pants (i.e. significantly more expensive) caterers. We couldn't have been happier with the food and service provided by Tom and his staff, and the food was the same or better quality at a significantly less expensive price.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerstin
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Alex's Catering provided all food and beverages for our wedding last year in Sonoma. They were awesome to work with and really listened to everything we wanted for our guests. We had some specific "Southern" requests for our wedding that they accommodated without a hitch. As one of the mains, we really wanted some good BBQ ribs, something not that common up here in wine country California. When we had our tasting with them, we were blown away by the quality of their ribs. They had us right there.

On the day of, they were super professional and everything worked flawlessly. Afterwards, we had a lot of guests comment on the great food at our wedding, which makes us proud we chose Alex's Catering.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenni
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Had a great experience with Alex's Catering from the tasting to the follow up after the wedding. We had already done a few tastings at places equally priced and one much higher priced but we were so impressed with the quality, taste, service and presentation that Alex's Catering provided. Amy was incredibly easy to work with, very nice and made us feel like she cared about our budget and our wedding. After selecting the menu, my husband found out he was allergic gluten and I became lactose intolerant. Amy went through every item and made substitutes to accommodate our allergies. They even got separate cake cutters so we wouldn't contaminate the gluten free cake with the regular cake. We ended up not meeting the guest minimum we were certain we would get to and Amy repriced the menu for us so we wouldn't have to pay for the meals that wouldn't be eaten.

On the actual wedding day, they went out of their way to keep us happy, make sure we were well fed, had a drink and happy. They were so calm and attentive and really took care of our guests too. Everyone loved the food! They packed us a cooler to take a few meals and left over cake home. After the wedding, Amy sent an email making sure we were happy with everything and congratulating us again.

Not only was the food top notch, but the care and attention they showed made us feel very special! I highly recommend Alex's Catering for any event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robyn
Wedding:
9/21/2012
5.0/5.0
As an out of town bride, I never met the caterer until after I sent in the deposit based upon the recommendation of my wedding planner and review of the suggested menu. My wedding planner took us to Alex's Catering as soon as we got off the plane. We had the most delicious meal complete with 4 appetizers (with creative presentation), a salad, and three entree choices. Every item we tried had amazing flavors and delighted all of the senses! Alex's was patient with us (as non-foodies) and answered all of our questions about the ingredients, presentation, etc. in an informative and helpful way. They even gave us a to go doggie bag with everything we were too full to finish. We were in contact with Tom from Alex's throughout the planning process to talk about what they needed from us, the planner, etc. Tom was responsive and reassuring as the date grew near and our number went from 45-50 down to 35. Our small destination wedding grew even more intimate and he was easygoing even as my anxiety grew. Alex's Catering set up an on-site kitchen as the winery did not have this equipment. I did not see the kitchen anywhere - the presentation was flawless. The only opportunity for improvement would be to increase the number of appetizers served during the cocktail reception as I heard a bunch of my guests saying they missed out on the mini-baked potatoes, lemon-garlic prawns, or mini-burgers, etc. I requested two dual entrees for the groom and myself (half vegetarian ravioli and halibut and another half vegetarian ravioli and filet). Tom and the team fulfilled all of these special little requests. The staff - event captain, bartender, wait staff, etc. - they were all friendly, kept my guests happy, satisfied and their glasses full. I had nothing but overwhelmingly positive comments from everyone in attendance - even the other vendors that work with caterers all the time! After the event, true to form Alex's gave us a doggie bag with some left over food from the wedding dinner!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1296428474534-015
Anonymous
Wedding:
7/3/2012
4.7/5.0
Overall, great catering company! They let us create our own menu and the food was fantastic! They do a lot of business so it felt like they were a little hard to get ahold of, but on the day of, they definitely exceeded my expectations! The staff was wonderful and were so attentive to all of our guests and were extremely attentive to us..they literally followed us around with food and drinks! Wonderful company and I would highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tiernansf
Wedding:
4/14/2012
4.7/5.0
We loved this family-owned catering operation in Napa. We went to a few tastings and the food topped the rest. The service from Sammy up to the wedding was laid back and personal (which we greatly appreciate). Their team did a wonderful job (and the food was just as tasty as at the tasting!) on the night of the event and even sent us home with a picnic bag full of goodies.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1318623454448-.facebook1020487048
Amanda
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Alex's Catering were so great when we told them our budget they not only stayed with in but also provided us with some options that were better and less expensive. There servers on the day of wedding were so amazing. We had cameras at each table for guest to use. When on of the Servers Troy saw that guests were either not taking pictures or were having trouble using the camera he went around made sure not film was wasted. As a result we go some great fun pictures of or reception and our guests.

At the end of the night they even sent my husband I home with a togo bag with two meals for use to eat later. They had said they know many brides and grooms do not get to eat to much during a wedding reception. I thought this was such a nice gesture. I could not be more happy with Alex's Catering.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eric
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Everything was so fantastic!

The food and service and bartending and help along the way were all great!
Services Used: Catering
Wwnetwork-128
Jacquie
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.6/5.0
We received bids from a couple of different caterers and Alex’s hit it out of the park. The bid was a lovely story – it described the various components of the wedding and really made you imagine it (vs other caterers that just give you an invoice). When we went to the tasting, the food and presentation completely lived up to our expectations.
The day of, the food was just as good! The heirloom tomato bar and BBQ Pork Crisps were huge hits. In fact, I would love another pork crisp right now ☺
Alex’s also did a great job of rolling with the punches. We had a couple of no-shows, so we asked the extra food be delivered to one of our louder and hungrier guests. They didn’t even ask questions – they just did it.
Their services are more expensive than some of the competition – but you get what you pay for.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bluehorseyoga
Wedding:
6/12/2010
4.5/5.0
Everyone RAVED about the food at our wedding. They create your menu from scratch by asking you questions about what you like. Our theme was gourmet, fun, comfort foods. For hors d'oeuvres, we had mini lamb sliders in a cone with french fries, lobster BLT cones, mini turkey pot pies, mini gazpachos with mini grilled cheese, and phyllo asparagus. Dinner was amazing too! They were professional, attentive to detail, and a pleasure to work with. They were attentive to everyone but extra attentive to close family members, wedding party and of course, Us - during the reception. They packed up our leftovers and also gave us a little bag of goodies and leftovers afterwards in our room, which we scarfed down at 1 am!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
8/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Absolutely amazing. When we spoke to Tom months before the wedding day, he was so professional and attentive. He helped us come up with a tentative menu, addressed everything we might need, and offered to email a 'potential contract'. His prices were more than fair, he was flexible in trying to save cost where we could, and offered for us to come out to California for a tasting before the event in case we wanted to make changes. Living in Texas, it was difficult to find vendors we could trust, and Tom never once let us down. When we came to do a tasting a few months before the wedding, we were blown away. The food offered was presented as if we were in a top level restaurant, and the food selections tasted even better. I actually became a little nervous, thinking that to prepare for 3 people coming to taste as a preview would be easier than for a massive wedding event, and feared I might be disappointed when that high level was not reproduced at the actual event. Yet Sunday night the food was exactly what he had promised, and even more. Everyone raved at the food, at how the event was coordinated, and the magic that was created, in a large part, by Tom. Our event was at a winery where we needed to trust the caterer to bring in everything from chairs for the ceremony, to lounge furniture, lighting, dance floors, choices of tableware, etc....and Tom came through in flying colors. I hope and pray that anyone who is looking for a very reasonably priced upper end quality of service and product finds this site before booking anything. God was certainly with us when we came to Tom to make the wedding day our most amazing, wonderful memories. Thanks for everything Tom, you are the best.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristi
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
Rolando made us feel right at home when we arrived for our tasting and even altered bits of the menu to my picky pescatarianism. It was amazing to have most of our guests walk away saying that it was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding and surprising that some even said they hadn't had food that good at restaurants. I only wish I could have them cater everyday!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ginger
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
I received and am still receiving wonderful reviews about the food from my guests at my wedding. It was all great and not your typical wedding food, as one guest put it. I worked with Tom, who was very nice and easy to work with. He explained the costs and how changes I make impacted the cost, so there were no surprises. He tried to work within our budget. He was flexible in making changes along the way. Great food, great service. All this and they were the least expensive of the caterer's in the area that I contacted. I would highly recommend them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
7/17/2009
4.5/5.0
Alex's Catering was wonderful. The food was fabulous. Everyone loved the set up and especially the appetizers. Would highly recommend using them for any occasion
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
saucyliz
Wedding:
11/1/2008
4.7/5.0
Alex' Catering is the greatest - I highly recommend working with them. Rolando was very good about trying to meet my budget but yet serve delicious food and set a beautiful table. I had so many guests compliment us on how good the food was. Also, the room looked terrific. I really enjoyed working with Rolando and will miss interacting with him.

The tasting experience is the best too!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bayareawino
Wedding:
9/13/2008
5.0/5.0
Great service and even better food! Always professional, extremely responsive, great value, able to take care of all of your catering needs (from linens to flatwear to bar service to food) and did I mention that the food was delicious. The night went by so fast that it was sometimes a blur, but I will never forget how delicious the apetizers, dinner and dessert were!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
busy bride
Wedding:
5/24/2008
1.8/5.0
The food at our wedding was wonderful. Many guests still talk about the tasty appetizers, fresh and juicy meats, and creative desserts. HOWEVER, the process of working with our sales associate was VERY annoying and stressful. I wouldn't burden any bride with the experience of working with Alex's Catering. Our sales associate Rolando provided us sample menus. When we added or removed items the prices fluctuated severly. (I understand if you change from 4 appetizers to 5, there should be a price difference, but he could often not explain huge discrepencies in the menu price.) I believe he changed the price for event based on how much money he wanted to make and not what we ordered. When we asked him to explain the prices he would get very impatient with our questions. He also had difficulty working with location coordinator. Just what you need to do before your wedding - break up fights between your caterer and wedding coordinator! While Rolando offered us many options for rentals (glasses, linens, etc.) durng our tasting, once we booked he told us we were getting white linens - period. To top it off, on the night of our wedding we were promised that a to-go box + champagne would be in our limo when we departed. We purposly didn't take the time to eat our entire dinner knowing we would have food later. Of course, no to-go box in the limo. It's been 5 months since the wedding and Alex's hasn't paid us our remainin balance. It's only $30, but it's still ours and just really annoying.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
minimarsh6
Wedding:
10/28/2007
4.4/5.0
over a year later, people still talk about how delicious our food was. every encounter was pleasant, the food was delicious, and they even packed us (the bride and groom) up with some leftovers to take back to our hotel with us. they were helpful with tips and ideas for our venue, and were very knowledgeable at what they were doing.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Richness
Wedding:
10/6/2007
4.3/5.0
Great food, A little pricey
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1218509931952-510
Monica
Wedding:
9/8/2007
5.0/5.0
Alex's catering provided us with delicious food and great service. At the time of booking they offered us great ideas and were very respectful with our budget. I will highly recommend them.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
8/14/2004
5.0/5.0
Amazing. They cared for every detail, they delivered amazing food and still, four years later, people are STILL talking about how delicious the food was. The service was excellent - I would use them a million times over!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.6/5.0
The menu planning was so much fun and our Alex's contact was fantastic to work with. He's actually the reason we choose to go with Alex's Catering over any other vendor. He was extremely well connected with the wedding planning community in Napa Valley which was very helpful in securing all of our other vendors. We were able to custom build our menu - the food was delicious and beautifully presented at the tasting. And while we got tons of very positive comments from our wedding guests, the quality was just a little bit off from the tasting at our actual wedding. This was a little bit disappointing, but all in all, they were a great company to work with!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.8/5.0
Alex's Catering was the only caterer that came up with an exciting menu within 48 hours of me calling them. They were also the most reasonably priced and the food was amazing. The service could have been a better prior to the event. I sometimes felt that I was managing them. However, on the day of the event, Tim, the banquet captain came through. Everytime I turned around he was there to ensure that everything was going smoothly. We had a perfect wedding and everyone raved about the menu.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Alex's Catering was outstanding they set up the most delicious menu for us.Their whole staff was wonderful,we very much liked working with them.The food was very filling and they managed to please all of our guests appetites.I wish our meal would have gone on forever it was so perfect!We will not hesitate to recommend them.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
300 Virginia Street, Vallejo, CA 94590 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Alex's Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220