130x130 sq 1170973583342 altaredvows final

Altared Vows by Taya

Wilmington , DE
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

802 Elizabeth Ave
Wilmington, DE 19809 US (map)

PHONE

302-354-7317
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

CHECK OUT THESE SPECIAL OFFERS!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Altared-Vows-by-Taya/36728679944

Now offering a 20% discount off of White Winter Weddings... Read more
CHECK OUT THESE SPECIAL OFFERS!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Altared-Vows-by-Taya/36728679944

Now offering a 20% discount off of White Winter Weddings (December-February), if booked by September 1.

If you're part of the military & want to get married at the Chapel at DAFB, I am offering a special rate of $200! Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1194955964796 100 0989
130x130 sq 1194956016625 stabley2
130x130 sq 1194956071593 proudceremony3
130x130 sq 1194956106484 shew
130x130 sq 1194956146515 schladt knorr lo

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What types of weddings and events do you provide services for?
Ceremony Rehearsal, Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious, Single Religion, Vow Renewal
What services do you provide?
Allow Couples' Own Vows, Licensed
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Anglican, Baptist, Buddhist, Catholic, Earth-Based, Episcopalian, Evangelical, Hindu, Islam, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, Mormon, No Denomination, Orthodox Christian, Pagan, Presbyterian, Quaker, Taoist, Unitarian
On average, how long are wedding ceremonies you officiate?
Less than 30 Mins.
In which states are you licensed?
DC, DE, MD, NJ, PA

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
David
Wedding:
12/10/2016
5.0/5.0
My partner (now husband) and I had a great experience with Taya. She responded to all emails, even sharing some of her personal photos she took with us. She was on time, friendly and a compliment to the whole experience.
My partner (now husband) and I had a great experience with Taya. She responded to all emails, even sharing some of her Read more...
My partner (now husband) and I had a great experience with Taya. She responded to all emails, even sharing some of her personal photos she took with us. She was on time, friendly and a compliment to the whole experience. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
HL
Wedding:
9/24/2016
5.0/5.0
We had a lovely meeting with Taya at our home (which is also our wedding location). She was full of suggestions and ideas for truly personalizing our ceremony. We are really looking forward to working with her!
We had a lovely meeting with Taya at our home (which is also our wedding location). She was full of suggestions and ideas Read more...
We had a lovely meeting with Taya at our home (which is also our wedding location). She was full of suggestions and ideas for truly personalizing our ceremony. We are really looking forward to working with her! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Robin
Wedding:
7/23/2016
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend using Taya for your ceremony. She is absolutely amazing. She made it so when I spoke with her, I was less stressed. She reassured that everything would work out just fine. Although the weather was extremely HOT, we all made it through. Thanks again Taya.
I would highly recommend using Taya for your ceremony. She is absolutely amazing. She made it so when I spoke with her, I Read more...
I would highly recommend using Taya for your ceremony. She is absolutely amazing. She made it so when I spoke with her, I was less stressed. She reassured that everything would work out just fine. Although the weather was extremely HOT, we all made it through. Thanks again Taya. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.4/5.0
TAYA IS UNCOMMUNICATIVE AND VERY UNPROFESSIONAL.

We contacted Taya in October of 2015 to perform our wedding ceremony this May. She was very communicative at first, offering us details about the packages she offers and having us fill out a questionnaire about the two of us and our relationship, what we would like in a wedding, etc. Within a week, we had signed a contract and sent her a deposit. On November 19, we noticed that Taya had cashed our check, but had never sent us back the signed contract. We sent three emails and made a phone call to her to ask for our contract. By January 2016 , we had received nothing but excuses -- and still no fully executed contract. Unacceptable. One of the excuses she offered was that she was being sued by another couple whose wedding she abandoned because they were 45 minutes late! And now she was questioning whether she should continue in this line of work. (!) I'm not sure exactly what happened, but we thought it was completely unprofessional and ridiculous that she would leave a wedding venue without marrying the couple that was contracted with her. (And we were flabbergasted that she would share this with us.) Because of this, we felt that Taya was lacking a true commitment to us, and we refuse to take a chance on such an important event. Therefore, we found someone else. On January 28, we informed Taya of this, and asked for our deposit money back. We didn't think this should be a problem since we were not technically under contract and she had rendered no services to us. Also, we were still nearly 5 months out, so she was given plenty of advance notice. Unsurprisingly, we have still not heard a word from Taya about this, and we are considering legal action at this point.
TAYA IS UNCOMMUNICATIVE AND VERY UNPROFESSIONAL.

We contacted Taya in October of 2015 to perform our wedding Read more...
TAYA IS UNCOMMUNICATIVE AND VERY UNPROFESSIONAL.

We contacted Taya in October of 2015 to perform our wedding ceremony this May. She was very communicative at first, offering us details about the packages she offers and having us fill out a questionnaire about the two of us and our relationship, what we would like in a wedding, etc. Within a week, we had signed a contract and sent her a deposit. On November 19, we noticed that Taya had cashed our check, but had never sent us back the signed contract. We sent three emails and made a phone call to her to ask for our contract. By January 2016 , we had received nothing but excuses -- and still no fully executed contract. Unacceptable. One of the excuses she offered was that she was being sued by another couple whose wedding she abandoned because they were 45 minutes late! And now she was questioning whether she should continue in this line of work. (!) I'm not sure exactly what happened, but we thought it was completely unprofessional and ridiculous that she would leave a wedding venue without marrying the couple that was contracted with her. (And we were flabbergasted that she would share this with us.) Because of this, we felt that Taya was lacking a true commitment to us, and we refuse to take a chance on such an important event. Therefore, we found someone else. On January 28, we informed Taya of this, and asked for our deposit money back. We didn't think this should be a problem since we were not technically under contract and she had rendered no services to us. Also, we were still nearly 5 months out, so she was given plenty of advance notice. Unsurprisingly, we have still not heard a word from Taya about this, and we are considering legal action at this point. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Altared Vows by Taya responded with the following comments:

I agree that during the time of communication with this couple I was difficult to reach for a variety of personal issues. The couple has been refunded their deposit (check was sent prior to this review). I would like to note that the wedding I walked out of was booked the day before the ceremony & I notified the couple I had another obligation & it could not start late & that was the ONLY way I could help them, to which they agreed. I made several calls to the couple during the time I was waiting to express my concern & was told they would be there right away. It clearly states in my contract that it is up to my discretion to stay for a wedding that is running more than 15 minutes late, so I was well within my rights to leave this ceremony which was already 45 minutes late. Lastly, if the couple had a valid marriage license, I could have at least signed it for them before leaving, but they hadn't even obtained a legal license so this wasn't a legal marriage. All that being said, I am happy that this client was able to find another officiant to better suit their needs & I wish them the best.
Default vendor profile pic
Julia
Wedding:
7/11/2015
1.0/5.0
Very unprofessional did not return phone calls and did not return emails for weeks had me totally stressed out wondering if she was even going to show up or not also forgot what time the wedding was supposed to be
Very unprofessional did not return phone calls and did not return emails for weeks had me totally stressed out wondering Read more...
Very unprofessional did not return phone calls and did not return emails for weeks had me totally stressed out wondering if she was even going to show up or not also forgot what time the wedding was supposed to be Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Altared Vows by Taya responded with the following comments:

While driving to the venue, I called the bride to notify her of my arrival time. She didn't answer so I called the site coordinator, who's information she provided. They told me the wedding was starting an hour later than I expected. I arrived at the site on time & decided to sit & enjoy the view, even though I thought it was odd. At precisely the time the wedding was to start, I got a call from a relative & they asked how close I was & thankfully I was right in the parking lot & was there immediately!

As for communication, there was a lapse in communication when I explained to the bride I was out of state tending to an ill family member. I confirmed with the bride via telephone conference & multiple emails AND a Google calendar confirmation that everything was set for the wedding date. I even extended the offer to allow personalized vows free of charge & to also provide a blessing over the dinner free of charge, since they were gracious enough to invite me to stay.

I understand the bride was very nervous due to them being in one state & me being in another, but I was always in contact. I also answered multiple questions for her regarding her marriage license & changing her name. Given such correspondence, I'm not sure why she didn't think I would be there to perform the wedding, aside from her being a very nervous bride.

The couple booked me for my standard ceremony package, which includes limited emails & phone conversations. This bride probably would've been better suited for my Extreme Custom Package, which is specifically geared towards those who need a little more attention.

The ceremony itself went off exactly as planned & I was told by a number of their guests how nice & intimate it was. I enjoyed a lengthy visit with the family at the small reception dinner. I am sorry that the bride didn't feel the service was worthy of more stars, but wish them all the best - I am happy that they found each other! Love & peace, Rev. Taya
Default vendor profile pic
naomi
Wedding:
6/16/2015
5.0/5.0
Taya was everything we wanted in an officiant.
Taya was everything we wanted in an officiant.
Taya was everything we wanted in an officiant. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
David
Wedding:
5/31/2015
5.0/5.0
My wife and I wanted a wedding that would be simple, happy, and meaningful. We also were determined to have an event with absolutely no stress (if possible). Taya Dianna was perfectly wonderful. At an extremely reasonable cost, she provided a variety of possible texts (which we tailored to our own hearts) and performed the ceremony as if we'd known her for years. All through the process, she was easygoing, flexible, and very encouraging. On the day of our wedding, she was poised, sincere, and totally there for us. It couldn't have been better.
My wife and I wanted a wedding that would be simple, happy, and meaningful. We also were determined to have an event with Read more...
My wife and I wanted a wedding that would be simple, happy, and meaningful. We also were determined to have an event with absolutely no stress (if possible). Taya Dianna was perfectly wonderful. At an extremely reasonable cost, she provided a variety of possible texts (which we tailored to our own hearts) and performed the ceremony as if we'd known her for years. All through the process, she was easygoing, flexible, and very encouraging. On the day of our wedding, she was poised, sincere, and totally there for us. It couldn't have been better. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.0/5.0
I finally took a good look at my official marriage license to find out she filled it out for the wrong day! I am trying to get her currently to change it so I would be officially married on the correct day but have not hear back for at least 2 weeks now. Also, usually takes a few days for her to respond to emails because she works a full time job too.
I finally took a good look at my official marriage license to find out she filled it out for the wrong day! I am trying to Read more...
I finally took a good look at my official marriage license to find out she filled it out for the wrong day! I am trying to get her currently to change it so I would be officially married on the correct day but have not hear back for at least 2 weeks now. Also, usually takes a few days for her to respond to emails because she works a full time job too. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
kiera
Wedding:
11/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Taya was absolutely amazing and wonderful to work with ~ highly recommend her services!
Taya was absolutely amazing and wonderful to work with ~ highly recommend her services!
Taya was absolutely amazing and wonderful to work with ~ highly recommend her services! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.5/5.0
Thank you for marrying us. A little difficult to communicate,but it worked.
Thank you for marrying us. A little difficult to communicate,but it worked.
Thank you for marrying us. A little difficult to communicate,but it worked. Read less
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
802 Elizabeth Ave, Wilmington, DE 19809 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Altared Vows by Taya
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1170973583342 altaredvows final