130x130 sq 1295994227831 1

ALTERATIONS BY DAWN

Hagerstown , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

925 frederick st, BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
hagerstown, MD 21740 US (map)

PHONE

301-766-4758

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I have been in business since 1975. I have specialized in formal alterations.....bridal gowns, mothers dresses, bridesmaids, proms, etc.....I love what I do and my prices are great... Read more
I have been in business since 1975. I have specialized in formal alterations.....bridal gowns, mothers dresses, bridesmaids, proms, etc.....I love what I do and my prices are great too!!! I work by appointment only so please call 1-301-766-4758. Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1298390970484 j
130x130 sq 1298390983921 c
130x130 sq 1298390999500 b
130x130 sq 1298391011875 d
130x130 sq 1298391026984 k

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom
What accessories do you provide?
Hair Accessories, Jewelry

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Jenny
Wedding:
3/1/2014
3.0/5.0
I bought my dress at David's Bridal and took it to Dawn Brooky for alterations since my friend recommended her (from 5 year ago). Dawn wrote down the wrong times and dates the first two appointments. It was a little stressful and frustrating. I didn't really expect much of the gown because that wasn't my main focus, so her tailoring was okay.

The only problem I had was that my dress fell apart after we tried to bustle it during the wedding... And then everyone ended up stepping on it and ripped it. The work came undone. The corset I had her tailor was also not the best fit. We weren't able to tighten the dress enough in the back because of the fit so the dress was a bit loose in the waist area. The fabric was not saved like expected, but it could be my fault because I didn't specifically ask to have the fabric and applique saved...

Dawn was pleasant when I spoke to hear. Nothing against her... It was just a bit stressful.
I bought my dress at David's Bridal and took it to Dawn Brooky for alterations since my friend recommended her (from 5 Read more...
I bought my dress at David's Bridal and took it to Dawn Brooky for alterations since my friend recommended her (from 5 year ago). Dawn wrote down the wrong times and dates the first two appointments. It was a little stressful and frustrating. I didn't really expect much of the gown because that wasn't my main focus, so her tailoring was okay.

The only problem I had was that my dress fell apart after we tried to bustle it during the wedding... And then everyone ended up stepping on it and ripped it. The work came undone. The corset I had her tailor was also not the best fit. We weren't able to tighten the dress enough in the back because of the fit so the dress was a bit loose in the waist area. The fabric was not saved like expected, but it could be my fault because I didn't specifically ask to have the fabric and applique saved...

Dawn was pleasant when I spoke to hear. Nothing against her... It was just a bit stressful. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
ALTERATIONS BY DAWN responded with the following comments:

I am shocked to say the least, to hear this review....my bustles only come apart when someone steps on the dress.....that way the dress doesn't get holes.
The dress was plenty tight, if it wasn't, why didn't you say so.
also...as far as saving fabric...I ALWAYS put the scraps at the bottom of the bag.
I do not have anything in my book with wrong dates or times so I am not sure where that is coming from
I am sorry you are such an unhappy bride
130x130 sq 1335270042225 032312eprocopiophotographyartistfavorites0027
Michelle
Wedding:
9/29/2012
0.5/5.0
My first bridal gown fitting took place at Dawn’s home. For the second fitting I arrived at Dawn’s house and she was not home. I knew she worked at a bridal shop so I thought to drive over there. She was there and said she had confused my dress for one from that shop (thinking the appointment would be there). I felt very awkward because I was not a customer. She asked another worker tie up my dress, she could not do it, and then told me to wait for Dawn. Dawn finally came over she stuffed me into the dress. I had concerns about the fit but she assured me that it was supposed to fit that way. 2 weeks later when I tried the dress on at my sister’s it did not fit at all! I immediately called Dawn. Dawn didn’t return my call for a day and a half. When she did, she left a message to call her back if I wanted to make an appointment. I already had another appointment with another seamstress for the next morning at that point. The seamstress was shocked that another seamstress would tell me that the dress actually “fit” properly. She found many other issues with the dress as well…crooked bustle, cups outside the dress (should have been inside the dress), hand stitching (not machine stitched), crooked stitches …the list goes on. I hadn’t noticed things given I felt so rushed during the awkward second fitting. I called Dawn right away with these issues but she never called me back. Instead she sent me an email refuting everything I told her and said I didn't "give her a chance" to fix the mistakes. If it was just the fit issues, fine, but it was all of other problems and the poor customer service that I was very disappointed with. She also said that she would refund me $100 dollars but never did. The only positive things I can say was she did do nice beading work to the back of my dress. I do not recommend Dawn for bridal alterations. Maybe Dawn was having an off day when she was working on my dress but it's not worth the risk with your precious bridal gown.
My first bridal gown fitting took place at Dawn’s home. For the second fitting I arrived at Dawn’s house and she was not Read more...
My first bridal gown fitting took place at Dawn’s home. For the second fitting I arrived at Dawn’s house and she was not home. I knew she worked at a bridal shop so I thought to drive over there. She was there and said she had confused my dress for one from that shop (thinking the appointment would be there). I felt very awkward because I was not a customer. She asked another worker tie up my dress, she could not do it, and then told me to wait for Dawn. Dawn finally came over she stuffed me into the dress. I had concerns about the fit but she assured me that it was supposed to fit that way. 2 weeks later when I tried the dress on at my sister’s it did not fit at all! I immediately called Dawn. Dawn didn’t return my call for a day and a half. When she did, she left a message to call her back if I wanted to make an appointment. I already had another appointment with another seamstress for the next morning at that point. The seamstress was shocked that another seamstress would tell me that the dress actually “fit” properly. She found many other issues with the dress as well…crooked bustle, cups outside the dress (should have been inside the dress), hand stitching (not machine stitched), crooked stitches …the list goes on. I hadn’t noticed things given I felt so rushed during the awkward second fitting. I called Dawn right away with these issues but she never called me back. Instead she sent me an email refuting everything I told her and said I didn't "give her a chance" to fix the mistakes. If it was just the fit issues, fine, but it was all of other problems and the poor customer service that I was very disappointed with. She also said that she would refund me $100 dollars but never did. The only positive things I can say was she did do nice beading work to the back of my dress. I do not recommend Dawn for bridal alterations. Maybe Dawn was having an off day when she was working on my dress but it's not worth the risk with your precious bridal gown. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
ALTERATIONS BY DAWN responded with the following comments:

I am sorry for your displeasure Michelle..I assure you I did everything possible on my end. When you called to make an apt to try on your gown, you did not state where we would meet and since you choose a Sat afternoon apt, I assume you were from the shop. no one there made you feel uncomfortable, if anything they were very helpful and supportive. the dress did not fit on the first try because it was not being corsetted correctly, it is important that the breast are IN the bra cups in order to get a correct fit. I can assure you the rest of my work was the same high quality as it has been for 38 yrs. I did think it was unfair of you to go to another seamstress if you had issues instead of letting me see what the problem was. I still dont understand what the issues were. I did call you back the same day and you had already arranged another seamstress who has much higher rates and believe me...she saw you coming. any seamstress who puts down anothers work is not to be trusted. she is only out to gouge you for more money.
From the issues you told me you were unhappy about, an offer of 100 dollars to you was generous as I did not have to offer anything at all. If you had brought the dress back to me as per customary, everything could of been taken care of. I feel you have given me a bum rap on this, but I do wish you well in your marriage.
Default vendor profile pic
kdsamwed
Wedding:
9/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Dawn Brooky is an amazing, friendly, talented seamstress! She did an amazing job in such a short amount of time. She made me feel comfortable and the results were perfect! She went out of her way to accomodate my schedule, and was very fair in her pricing. I will come back anytime I need formal alterations.
Dawn Brooky is an amazing, friendly, talented seamstress! She did an amazing job in such a short amount of time. She made Read more...
Dawn Brooky is an amazing, friendly, talented seamstress! She did an amazing job in such a short amount of time. She made me feel comfortable and the results were perfect! She went out of her way to accomodate my schedule, and was very fair in her pricing. I will come back anytime I need formal alterations. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
lmartin
Wedding:
5/21/2011
3.8/5.0
I had Dawn alter my wedding dress. I had it brought in a little, the top clipped back at the bust, the dress shortened, and a bustle added. She did a great job on bringning the dress in, shortening it, and clipping the bust. i had a 5 pooint bustle at 2 of the point broke within 10 minutes of me having the dress bustled on my wedding day.
I had Dawn alter my wedding dress. I had it brought in a little, the top clipped back at the bust, the dress shortened, Read more...
I had Dawn alter my wedding dress. I had it brought in a little, the top clipped back at the bust, the dress shortened, and a bustle added. She did a great job on bringning the dress in, shortening it, and clipping the bust. i had a 5 pooint bustle at 2 of the point broke within 10 minutes of me having the dress bustled on my wedding day. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
ALTERATIONS BY DAWN responded with the following comments:

I am sorry you thought my perfect workmanship only deserved such a low grade due to the fact that two bustle loops broke. The only reason they woulld of broke is if someone stepped on the train, they are designed to give way so as not to tear a hole in the dress. I would of thought with such perfect workmanship I would of rated at least an 4.6
Default vendor profile pic
Jeanna
Wedding:
3/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Dawn was wonderful! I didn't have much flexibility in my schedule to meet and I had a very short time frame to get my wedding dress altered (only 3 weeks); she went above and beyond to work with my busy schedule. The alteration were perfect; my dress fit exactly as I imagined it should! She was extremely professional and friendly and her prices were very reasonabe. It was an overall wonderful experience!!!
Dawn was wonderful! I didn't have much flexibility in my schedule to meet and I had a very short time frame to get my Read more...
Dawn was wonderful! I didn't have much flexibility in my schedule to meet and I had a very short time frame to get my wedding dress altered (only 3 weeks); she went above and beyond to work with my busy schedule. The alteration were perfect; my dress fit exactly as I imagined it should! She was extremely professional and friendly and her prices were very reasonabe. It was an overall wonderful experience!!! Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
ALTERATIONS BY DAWN responded with the following comments:

thank you so much for the pleasure of helping you with your gown...you were a delight to work with
Default vendor profile pic
jennifer
Wedding:
1/1/2011
5.0/5.0
I can not put into words how wonderful my gown looked...every bead in place..a perfect fit and wowed my now husband....
dawn is incredible
I can not put into words how wonderful my gown looked...every bead in place..a perfect fit and wowed my now Read more...
I can not put into words how wonderful my gown looked...every bead in place..a perfect fit and wowed my now husband....
dawn is incredible Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
Daniela
Wedding:
6/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Dawn did an amazing job with me dress. I contact her two weeks before our wedding and she was very flexible in her shedule. It was great to work with her and I would go to her again.
Dawn did an amazing job with me dress. I contact her two weeks before our wedding and she was very flexible in her Read more...
Dawn did an amazing job with me dress. I contact her two weeks before our wedding and she was very flexible in her shedule. It was great to work with her and I would go to her again. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
ALTERATIONS BY DAWN responded with the following comments:

Thank you very much....now your job is to stay in love.....lol
Default vendor profile pic
reebs0
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
I was a little scared after reading some of the reviews I found online, but I really like working with Dawn. She was super flexible in scheduleing and very professional. You could tell she has a ton of experience! I loved the way my alteration turned out!
I was a little scared after reading some of the reviews I found online, but I really like working with Dawn. She was super Read more...
I was a little scared after reading some of the reviews I found online, but I really like working with Dawn. She was super flexible in scheduleing and very professional. You could tell she has a ton of experience! I loved the way my alteration turned out! Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
ALTERATIONS BY DAWN responded with the following comments:

It was a pleasure working with you.....and give me a call anytime for other formals....thanks...
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Dawn was able to turn my dress into exactly what I wanted. I wasnt too pleased when I first got it home..somehow the bling of buying it faded....but when dawn gave me ideas and put them in place...wow....I am a happy bride to be now!!
Dawn was able to turn my dress into exactly what I wanted. I wasnt too pleased when I first got it home..somehow the bling Read more...
Dawn was able to turn my dress into exactly what I wanted. I wasnt too pleased when I first got it home..somehow the bling of buying it faded....but when dawn gave me ideas and put them in place...wow....I am a happy bride to be now!! Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130 sq 1380558587282 11576616141770586048031121896386n
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.4/5.0
*0 Quality of Service. *Very* poor quality work overall, plus Dawn ruined my sash and my sleeves. The sash is replaceable, but not the sleeves.

*0.5 Responsiveness. Dawn responded to my calling to make appointments, but she was not responsive to my requests for a refund. Her responses to my problems with my dress were not based on concern for me, for my dress, or for my stress, but for how she could salvage her reputation and cast blame on me.

*0.5 Professionalism. Dawn treated me decently in her fitting room. When I came to her with the problems in her work and to request a refund, she treated me rudely, implied that my motive for contacting her was because I had dress-regret, and said that she was the professional, there was nothing wrong with her work, and that I was the one with the problem. She said she would work on my dress again if I wanted her to, but she would do it her way, not in the way I wanted. Her way caused the problems in the first place, and I won't trust her with my dress again. I also unfortunately expect Dawn to reply to my review in a manner to cast doubt on my legitimacy, as she mentioned she would and could respond to any reviews I left online.

*0 Value. I paid Dawn $280 for alterations, all of which I am now re-doing myself, other than the hem. Her poor workmanship is costing me time, costing me emotional energy, and costing me money beyond what I paid her. I will not take the dress back for more of her poor work. I have requested a refund for everything but the hem, but she will not issue a refund. Her final response was "perhaps we weren't meant to do this dress together." I paid her good money to do good work. She got my money, but I got only poor-quality work and an unwearable dress as she left it. That's not right by anyone's standards.

*1 Flexibility. I'm giving Dawn a full star for flexibility, as I misjudged traffic once from Winchester, VA, and she made time to see me at the bridal shop instead of at her home.
*0 Quality of Service. *Very* poor quality work overall, plus Dawn ruined my sash and my sleeves. The sash is replaceable, Read more...
*0 Quality of Service. *Very* poor quality work overall, plus Dawn ruined my sash and my sleeves. The sash is replaceable, but not the sleeves.

*0.5 Responsiveness. Dawn responded to my calling to make appointments, but she was not responsive to my requests for a refund. Her responses to my problems with my dress were not based on concern for me, for my dress, or for my stress, but for how she could salvage her reputation and cast blame on me.

*0.5 Professionalism. Dawn treated me decently in her fitting room. When I came to her with the problems in her work and to request a refund, she treated me rudely, implied that my motive for contacting her was because I had dress-regret, and said that she was the professional, there was nothing wrong with her work, and that I was the one with the problem. She said she would work on my dress again if I wanted her to, but she would do it her way, not in the way I wanted. Her way caused the problems in the first place, and I won't trust her with my dress again. I also unfortunately expect Dawn to reply to my review in a manner to cast doubt on my legitimacy, as she mentioned she would and could respond to any reviews I left online.

*0 Value. I paid Dawn $280 for alterations, all of which I am now re-doing myself, other than the hem. Her poor workmanship is costing me time, costing me emotional energy, and costing me money beyond what I paid her. I will not take the dress back for more of her poor work. I have requested a refund for everything but the hem, but she will not issue a refund. Her final response was "perhaps we weren't meant to do this dress together." I paid her good money to do good work. She got my money, but I got only poor-quality work and an unwearable dress as she left it. That's not right by anyone's standards.

*1 Flexibility. I'm giving Dawn a full star for flexibility, as I misjudged traffic once from Winchester, VA, and she made time to see me at the bridal shop instead of at her home. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
ALTERATIONS BY DAWN responded with the following comments:

I plead the fifth on this one....we don't want to go there.....

MAP

 
925 frederick st, BY APPOINTMENT ONLY, hagerstown, MD 21740 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for ALTERATIONS BY DAWN
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1295994227831 1