130x130 sq 1466312040 3ad32236af0283c1 042

ALTERATIONS BY DAWN

Hagerstown , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

925 frederick st, BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
hagerstown, MD 21740 US (map)

PHONE

301-766-4758

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I have been in business since 1975. I have specialized in formal alterations.....bridal gowns, mothers dresses, bridesmaids, proms, etc.....I love what I do and my prices are great... Read more
I have been in business since 1975. I have specialized in formal alterations.....bridal gowns, mothers dresses, bridesmaids, proms, etc.....I love what I do and my prices are great too!!! I work by appointment only so please call 1-301-766-4758. Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1466312309257 042
130x130 sq 1466312395362 154
130x130 sq 1298390970484 j
130x130 sq 1298390983921 c
130x130 sq 1298390999500 b
130x130 sq 1298391011875 d
130x130 sq 1298391026984 k

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom
Which of the following services do you provide??
Alterations, Appointments Only, Full Customization
Which of the following items do you offer?
Bridal Gowns, Customary Attire, Formal Gowns, Garters
What is the average turnaround time for a bridal gown? (select one)
Less than 6 months
What is your return policy?
Final Sale

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.3/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
LOUIS
Wedding:
12/10/2016
4.9/5.0
My compliments on Dawns work for a short time frame.My fiance was very pleased with fitting her in to accommodate her schedule at a pressing time. Her work was bragged on for fitting and suggestions. Then finished in plenty of time. She was so happy to have it finished a quick turn around. Can't thank Dawn enough for her gown. Have referred others to her. Thank You very much Dawn.
My compliments on Dawns work for a short time frame.My fiance was very pleased with fitting her in to accommodate her Read more...
My compliments on Dawns work for a short time frame.My fiance was very pleased with fitting her in to accommodate her schedule at a pressing time. Her work was bragged on for fitting and suggestions. Then finished in plenty of time. She was so happy to have it finished a quick turn around. Can't thank Dawn enough for her gown. Have referred others to her. Thank You very much Dawn. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
Angie
Wedding:
11/10/2016
4.9/5.0
I find Dawn to be a breath of fresh air. She helps to take away some of the stress of my wedding day. My dress needs help and she can make magic happen. She has ideas and helps to make everything fall in place. Something a bride needs with so much going on otherwise. Dawn has done other work for me as well and everything she does is top notch. She is just a wonderful person all around. Easy to work with and her prices are wonderful. She has my business. If you need someone to help with a dress or alteration Dawn is your girl. She is a wonderful lady. You cant go wrong. Thanks for all you do.
I find Dawn to be a breath of fresh air. She helps to take away some of the stress of my wedding day. My dress needs help Read more...
I find Dawn to be a breath of fresh air. She helps to take away some of the stress of my wedding day. My dress needs help and she can make magic happen. She has ideas and helps to make everything fall in place. Something a bride needs with so much going on otherwise. Dawn has done other work for me as well and everything she does is top notch. She is just a wonderful person all around. Easy to work with and her prices are wonderful. She has my business. If you need someone to help with a dress or alteration Dawn is your girl. She is a wonderful lady. You cant go wrong. Thanks for all you do. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
10/22/2016
1.3/5.0
I received an advertising postcard from Alterations By Dawn a few months ago. Her website says to contact her not through the website but through regular email. I have emailed her twice asking for more info and have yet to receive a response. I do not understand why send out the postcard if you are not interested in gaining new clients. She is very close to me so I was very happy to receive the postcard.
I received an advertising postcard from Alterations By Dawn a few months ago. Her website says to contact her not through Read more...
I received an advertising postcard from Alterations By Dawn a few months ago. Her website says to contact her not through the website but through regular email. I have emailed her twice asking for more info and have yet to receive a response. I do not understand why send out the postcard if you are not interested in gaining new clients. She is very close to me so I was very happy to receive the postcard. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
8/20/2016
5.0/5.0
I found Dawn Brooky from Alterations by Dawn to be the greatest seamstress who provided me a beautifully altered wedding gown that we thought was going to be difficult to alter but she did the most amazing job and created miracles for me. I couldn't have been happier with her service. Her friendliness was also a plus, such a sweet woman to work with and always making my appointments for fittings super smooth and comfortable. Appointments were not hard to get and she had flexibility which was great for me. Thanks again! I will highly recommend her to my friends and family for the future!
I found Dawn Brooky from Alterations by Dawn to be the greatest seamstress who provided me a beautifully altered wedding Read more...
I found Dawn Brooky from Alterations by Dawn to be the greatest seamstress who provided me a beautifully altered wedding gown that we thought was going to be difficult to alter but she did the most amazing job and created miracles for me. I couldn't have been happier with her service. Her friendliness was also a plus, such a sweet woman to work with and always making my appointments for fittings super smooth and comfortable. Appointments were not hard to get and she had flexibility which was great for me. Thanks again! I will highly recommend her to my friends and family for the future! Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
Jenny
Wedding:
3/1/2014
3.0/5.0
I bought my dress at David's Bridal and took it to Dawn Brooky for alterations since my friend recommended her (from 5 year ago). Dawn wrote down the wrong times and dates the first two appointments. It was a little stressful and frustrating. I didn't really expect much of the gown because that wasn't my main focus, so her tailoring was okay.

The only problem I had was that my dress fell apart after we tried to bustle it during the wedding... And then everyone ended up stepping on it and ripped it. The work came undone. The corset I had her tailor was also not the best fit. We weren't able to tighten the dress enough in the back because of the fit so the dress was a bit loose in the waist area. The fabric was not saved like expected, but it could be my fault because I didn't specifically ask to have the fabric and applique saved...

Dawn was pleasant when I spoke to hear. Nothing against her... It was just a bit stressful.
I bought my dress at David's Bridal and took it to Dawn Brooky for alterations since my friend recommended her (from 5 Read more...
I bought my dress at David's Bridal and took it to Dawn Brooky for alterations since my friend recommended her (from 5 year ago). Dawn wrote down the wrong times and dates the first two appointments. It was a little stressful and frustrating. I didn't really expect much of the gown because that wasn't my main focus, so her tailoring was okay.

The only problem I had was that my dress fell apart after we tried to bustle it during the wedding... And then everyone ended up stepping on it and ripped it. The work came undone. The corset I had her tailor was also not the best fit. We weren't able to tighten the dress enough in the back because of the fit so the dress was a bit loose in the waist area. The fabric was not saved like expected, but it could be my fault because I didn't specifically ask to have the fabric and applique saved...

Dawn was pleasant when I spoke to hear. Nothing against her... It was just a bit stressful. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
ALTERATIONS BY DAWN responded with the following comments:

I am shocked to say the least, to hear this review....my bustles only come apart when someone steps on the dress.....that way the dress doesn't get holes.
The dress was plenty tight, if it wasn't, why didn't you say so.
also...as far as saving fabric...I ALWAYS put the scraps at the bottom of the bag.
I do not have anything in my book with wrong dates or times so I am not sure where that is coming from
I am sorry you are such an unhappy bride
130x130 sq 1335270042225 032312eprocopiophotographyartistfavorites0027
Michelle
Wedding:
9/29/2012
0.5/5.0
My first bridal gown fitting took place at Dawn’s home. For the second fitting I arrived at Dawn’s house and she was not home. I knew she worked at a bridal shop so I thought to drive over there. She was there and said she had confused my dress for one from that shop (thinking the appointment would be there). I felt very awkward because I was not a customer. She asked another worker tie up my dress, she could not do it, and then told me to wait for Dawn. Dawn finally came over she stuffed me into the dress. I had concerns about the fit but she assured me that it was supposed to fit that way. 2 weeks later when I tried the dress on at my sister’s it did not fit at all! I immediately called Dawn. Dawn didn’t return my call for a day and a half. When she did, she left a message to call her back if I wanted to make an appointment. I already had another appointment with another seamstress for the next morning at that point. The seamstress was shocked that another seamstress would tell me that the dress actually “fit” properly. She found many other issues with the dress as well…crooked bustle, cups outside the dress (should have been inside the dress), hand stitching (not machine stitched), crooked stitches …the list goes on. I hadn’t noticed things given I felt so rushed during the awkward second fitting. I called Dawn right away with these issues but she never called me back. Instead she sent me an email refuting everything I told her and said I didn't "give her a chance" to fix the mistakes. If it was just the fit issues, fine, but it was all of other problems and the poor customer service that I was very disappointed with. She also said that she would refund me $100 dollars but never did. The only positive things I can say was she did do nice beading work to the back of my dress. I do not recommend Dawn for bridal alterations. Maybe Dawn was having an off day when she was working on my dress but it's not worth the risk with your precious bridal gown.
My first bridal gown fitting took place at Dawn’s home. For the second fitting I arrived at Dawn’s house and she was not Read more...
My first bridal gown fitting took place at Dawn’s home. For the second fitting I arrived at Dawn’s house and she was not home. I knew she worked at a bridal shop so I thought to drive over there. She was there and said she had confused my dress for one from that shop (thinking the appointment would be there). I felt very awkward because I was not a customer. She asked another worker tie up my dress, she could not do it, and then told me to wait for Dawn. Dawn finally came over she stuffed me into the dress. I had concerns about the fit but she assured me that it was supposed to fit that way. 2 weeks later when I tried the dress on at my sister’s it did not fit at all! I immediately called Dawn. Dawn didn’t return my call for a day and a half. When she did, she left a message to call her back if I wanted to make an appointment. I already had another appointment with another seamstress for the next morning at that point. The seamstress was shocked that another seamstress would tell me that the dress actually “fit” properly. She found many other issues with the dress as well…crooked bustle, cups outside the dress (should have been inside the dress), hand stitching (not machine stitched), crooked stitches …the list goes on. I hadn’t noticed things given I felt so rushed during the awkward second fitting. I called Dawn right away with these issues but she never called me back. Instead she sent me an email refuting everything I told her and said I didn't "give her a chance" to fix the mistakes. If it was just the fit issues, fine, but it was all of other problems and the poor customer service that I was very disappointed with. She also said that she would refund me $100 dollars but never did. The only positive things I can say was she did do nice beading work to the back of my dress. I do not recommend Dawn for bridal alterations. Maybe Dawn was having an off day when she was working on my dress but it's not worth the risk with your precious bridal gown. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
ALTERATIONS BY DAWN responded with the following comments:

I am sorry for your displeasure Michelle..I assure you I did everything possible on my end. When you called to make an apt to try on your gown, you did not state where we would meet and since you choose a Sat afternoon apt, I assume you were from the shop. no one there made you feel uncomfortable, if anything they were very helpful and supportive. the dress did not fit on the first try because it was not being corsetted correctly, it is important that the breast are IN the bra cups in order to get a correct fit. I can assure you the rest of my work was the same high quality as it has been for 38 yrs. I did think it was unfair of you to go to another seamstress if you had issues instead of letting me see what the problem was. I still dont understand what the issues were. I did call you back the same day and you had already arranged another seamstress who has much higher rates and believe me...she saw you coming. any seamstress who puts down anothers work is not to be trusted. she is only out to gouge you for more money.
From the issues you told me you were unhappy about, an offer of 100 dollars to you was generous as I did not have to offer anything at all. If you had brought the dress back to me as per customary, everything could of been taken care of. I feel you have given me a bum rap on this, but I do wish you well in your marriage.
Default vendor profile pic
kdsamwed
Wedding:
9/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Dawn Brooky is an amazing, friendly, talented seamstress! She did an amazing job in such a short amount of time. She made me feel comfortable and the results were perfect! She went out of her way to accomodate my schedule, and was very fair in her pricing. I will come back anytime I need formal alterations.
Dawn Brooky is an amazing, friendly, talented seamstress! She did an amazing job in such a short amount of time. She made Read more...
Dawn Brooky is an amazing, friendly, talented seamstress! She did an amazing job in such a short amount of time. She made me feel comfortable and the results were perfect! She went out of her way to accomodate my schedule, and was very fair in her pricing. I will come back anytime I need formal alterations. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
lmartin
Wedding:
5/21/2011
3.8/5.0
I had Dawn alter my wedding dress. I had it brought in a little, the top clipped back at the bust, the dress shortened, and a bustle added. She did a great job on bringning the dress in, shortening it, and clipping the bust. i had a 5 pooint bustle at 2 of the point broke within 10 minutes of me having the dress bustled on my wedding day.
I had Dawn alter my wedding dress. I had it brought in a little, the top clipped back at the bust, the dress shortened, Read more...
I had Dawn alter my wedding dress. I had it brought in a little, the top clipped back at the bust, the dress shortened, and a bustle added. She did a great job on bringning the dress in, shortening it, and clipping the bust. i had a 5 pooint bustle at 2 of the point broke within 10 minutes of me having the dress bustled on my wedding day. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
ALTERATIONS BY DAWN responded with the following comments:

I am sorry you thought my perfect workmanship only deserved such a low grade due to the fact that two bustle loops broke. The only reason they woulld of broke is if someone stepped on the train, they are designed to give way so as not to tear a hole in the dress. I would of thought with such perfect workmanship I would of rated at least an 4.6
130x130 sq 1380558587282 11576616141770586048031121896386n
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.4/5.0
*0 Quality of Service. *Very* poor quality work overall, plus Dawn ruined my sash and my sleeves. The sash is replaceable, but not the sleeves.

*0.5 Responsiveness. Dawn responded to my calling to make appointments, but she was not responsive to my requests for a refund. Her responses to my problems with my dress were not based on concern for me, for my dress, or for my stress, but for how she could salvage her reputation and cast blame on me.

*0.5 Professionalism. Dawn treated me decently in her fitting room. When I came to her with the problems in her work and to request a refund, she treated me rudely, implied that my motive for contacting her was because I had dress-regret, and said that she was the professional, there was nothing wrong with her work, and that I was the one with the problem. She said she would work on my dress again if I wanted her to, but she would do it her way, not in the way I wanted. Her way caused the problems in the first place, and I won't trust her with my dress again. I also unfortunately expect Dawn to reply to my review in a manner to cast doubt on my legitimacy, as she mentioned she would and could respond to any reviews I left online.

*0 Value. I paid Dawn $280 for alterations, all of which I am now re-doing myself, other than the hem. Her poor workmanship is costing me time, costing me emotional energy, and costing me money beyond what I paid her. I will not take the dress back for more of her poor work. I have requested a refund for everything but the hem, but she will not issue a refund. Her final response was "perhaps we weren't meant to do this dress together." I paid her good money to do good work. She got my money, but I got only poor-quality work and an unwearable dress as she left it. That's not right by anyone's standards.

*1 Flexibility. I'm giving Dawn a full star for flexibility, as I misjudged traffic once from Winchester, VA, and she made time to see me at the bridal shop instead of at her home.
*0 Quality of Service. *Very* poor quality work overall, plus Dawn ruined my sash and my sleeves. The sash is replaceable, Read more...
*0 Quality of Service. *Very* poor quality work overall, plus Dawn ruined my sash and my sleeves. The sash is replaceable, but not the sleeves.

*0.5 Responsiveness. Dawn responded to my calling to make appointments, but she was not responsive to my requests for a refund. Her responses to my problems with my dress were not based on concern for me, for my dress, or for my stress, but for how she could salvage her reputation and cast blame on me.

*0.5 Professionalism. Dawn treated me decently in her fitting room. When I came to her with the problems in her work and to request a refund, she treated me rudely, implied that my motive for contacting her was because I had dress-regret, and said that she was the professional, there was nothing wrong with her work, and that I was the one with the problem. She said she would work on my dress again if I wanted her to, but she would do it her way, not in the way I wanted. Her way caused the problems in the first place, and I won't trust her with my dress again. I also unfortunately expect Dawn to reply to my review in a manner to cast doubt on my legitimacy, as she mentioned she would and could respond to any reviews I left online.

*0 Value. I paid Dawn $280 for alterations, all of which I am now re-doing myself, other than the hem. Her poor workmanship is costing me time, costing me emotional energy, and costing me money beyond what I paid her. I will not take the dress back for more of her poor work. I have requested a refund for everything but the hem, but she will not issue a refund. Her final response was "perhaps we weren't meant to do this dress together." I paid her good money to do good work. She got my money, but I got only poor-quality work and an unwearable dress as she left it. That's not right by anyone's standards.

*1 Flexibility. I'm giving Dawn a full star for flexibility, as I misjudged traffic once from Winchester, VA, and she made time to see me at the bridal shop instead of at her home. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
ALTERATIONS BY DAWN responded with the following comments:

I plead the fifth on this one....we don't want to go there.....
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I have been going to Dawn for alterations of my clothing for over 10 years, including my bridal gown being amazingly created by her. I am sad to see that some people weren't as happy with her work as I know her very personally and know how amazing of a seamstress and designer of wedding gowns she is. She's worked with designers like Skazzi and Vera Wang which should tell you how inincredible her work and professionalism is. I work for a very important person where I need to wear high end designer suits and would just die if it weren't for Dawns help in altering my clothes for my petite size. I think she is just great and feel very blessed to have someone who can tailor my clothes for my needs and work with me so well. Thank you Dawn, you have always been a life saver!
I have been going to Dawn for alterations of my clothing for over 10 years, including my bridal gown being amazingly Read more...
I have been going to Dawn for alterations of my clothing for over 10 years, including my bridal gown being amazingly created by her. I am sad to see that some people weren't as happy with her work as I know her very personally and know how amazing of a seamstress and designer of wedding gowns she is. She's worked with designers like Skazzi and Vera Wang which should tell you how inincredible her work and professionalism is. I work for a very important person where I need to wear high end designer suits and would just die if it weren't for Dawns help in altering my clothes for my petite size. I think she is just great and feel very blessed to have someone who can tailor my clothes for my needs and work with me so well. Thank you Dawn, you have always been a life saver! Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
925 frederick st, BY APPOINTMENT ONLY, hagerstown, MD 21740 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for ALTERATIONS BY DAWN
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1466312040 3ad32236af0283c1 042