130x130_sq_1380053217801-arnew-1web180

Amanda Red | Wedding Photographer (formerly Red Gecko Studio)

Madison , WI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

402 East Wilson Street
Madison, WI US 53703 (map)

PHONE

608-669-1268

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I celebrate bold & sophisticated weddings with brides and grooms who just can't wait to say to the world, "This is my husband." "This is my wife."

I believe that there is no... Read more
I celebrate bold & sophisticated weddings with brides and grooms who just can't wait to say to the world, "This is my husband." "This is my wife."

I believe that there is no such thing as saying "i love you" too much.

I believe that red shoes go with everything.

I believe that husbands thrive on respect and wives flourish with love.

I occasionally still sneak my childhood rabbit into bed with me, much to my germ-ophobic husband's dismay. It's a good thing he really loves me.

I believe that the two most important phrases in a marriage are "please" and "thank you."

I believe that travel is a basic necessity of life, just like fresh air and home cooked meals.

I believe that Paris really is the city of love.

I drive my six-speed manual SUV like it's my husband's sports car.

I believe that pugs are the funniest and sweetest animals in the world.

I secretly love eating alone in expensive airport restaurants.

I believe that everyone should learn one ballroom dance.

I believe that moments matter.

Most importantly, I believe that Husband and Wife are sacred and important roles.

I would be thrilled to learn how I could be a part of your wedding day. Read less
Photography

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Prints, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Black and white, sepia tone, art edits, and off-camera lighting, to name a couple. Please feel free to discuss your requests with me.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
I think it is important to have experience in as many lighting conditions as possible. I've worked with low light, off-camera lighting, bright sunlight, overcast conditions, and indoor conditions with and without flash.
Is your media preference film or digital?
I work in digital format right now. If a couple is interested, I may be talked into bringing my film medium-format camera to try and grab a few unique shots!
How many photographers do you work with?
A second photographer is included with select packages.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Absolutely. I do not outsource your wedding to another photographer.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
In a day- no. In a weekend- sometimes.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes, I have a network of other area professionals with whom I would work to find a replacement.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
I bring two - three professional digital SLR cameras and a variety of professional lenses, in addition to flash and off-camera lighting. Second photographers bring their own equipment in addition to mine.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes. That is essential!
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Full day.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Yes, additional hours can be added to your package if needed.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
If I take a break, it's generally just to eat, and even then I prefer to stay close to the action in case I can jump up and capture a spontaneous moment! As my average wedding day is 8 hours, I do require that myself and any other photographer with me is provided with a meal. Vendor meals are fine, too!
Do you charge for travel?
Yes, outside of Dane County.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
3-6 weeks for the full proofing, but I always post a sneak peek on the blog right away!
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
A proofing website.
How long can the client keep the proofs?
The proofing website will be hosted for up to three months after the wedding. Extensions can be purchased at any time.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes, all photographers ultimately keep the copyrights to the images they shoot. I do, however, release the copyrights to the couple as well. Please don't hesitate to contact me with any questions on this topic.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes.
What kind of albums do you offer?
I offer a variety of great album styles & sizes.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cat
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
We truly lucked out having Mandie as our wedding photographer. She and her assistant, Nick, are absolutely amazing! We had so much fun with them. Their work is beyond gorgeous and we could not be happier with the pictures from our special day. She found exquisitely beautiful, unique locations around town for our group pictures. Mandie’s candid style and perfect lighting make for incredible pictures of our friends and family that we will treasure forever. PLUS – we got a sneak preview of our photos the very next day! Such an awesome treat! Cannot thank her enough. Worth every penny.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Devina
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely amazing..I cannot recommend a more amazing photographer and a genuinely good person. Amanda and her team captured every perfect moment of my weekend. Not only did she take outstanding "in the moment" photos but I felt like she was a friend attending our big day. She has a huge heart and passion for her field. A true romantic.. she was as excited as my own friends on every detail. Mandie wanted to know our entire love story, what's important to us and our relationship.. how cool is that?! We hired her for two days because we had a complex wedding and I'm positive I did the right thing. I would be happy to talk to anyone about what she did for us and frankly what she could do for you. She is going to be that photographer that books out years in advance because she is so talented!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Mandie was great! Fun to work with and the pictures were AMAZING. Incredibly fast turnaround to get our pictures!! A+++
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Mandie at Red Gecko Studio is spectacular. She is an exceptionally talented photographer and more importantly is is super fun to be around. I really enjoyed her company on our wedding day. We had a second shooter as well who did an equally outstanding job. I am embarrassed that I do not recall his name, but he worked with the men most of the day. She also drove all the way to Minneapolis to shoot our engagement photos. It was wonderful to have some pictures of where we live along with where we were married. If you are looking for a talented photographer in the Madison and surrounding areas who is also just a joy and a blessing to be around Red Gecko is what you are looking for. I have never been good in photo's, I am one of those people who can't figure out where to put their hands but with Mandie's direction I was so comfortable and we now have amazingly beautiful memories of our wedding day. Worth every penny. Your wedding day goes by so fast, you will want to have the special moments you missed captured the way that only Red Gecko Studio can. Also, she wears sparkly red boots which I adore. Hands down amazing. I would rate more than 5 stars if I could.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
10/6/2012
4.9/5.0
Not sure where to begin with Mandie...I feel like the list of good things goes on and on. We met Mandie after the first two photographers we contacted were booked for our wedding day, but man am I happy they were booked! The first impression I got from Mandie was that she was super bubbly, LOVED her work, and had the talent to back it all up. She's confident in her work, and rightfully so. We got some absolutely breathtaking photos from our engagement, wedding, and day-after photo sessions, and these are memories we will cherish forever. In fact, we're still having a hard time deciding which ones to get enlarged - there are just too many great ones to choose from. The reason why Mandie's work stands out is that she captures real emotions, she doesn't edit the crap out of her photos (because she doesn't need to), and she captures totally unique images. There's no doubt that her work is some of the best in the area. Oh, did I mention she's fun to work with too? Her personality makes it easy for those camera shy people (like us) to get comfortable in front of a camera.

The only one semi-negative comment I have about Mandie is that, depending on when your wedding is, it may take a while for her to finalize your images. Mandie's business is very successful due to the quality of her work, so during peak wedding/fall colors season, she's shooting multiple days a week, sometimes multiple sessions/day. Our wedding happened to fall right in the middle of peak season in Wisconsin, and not only that, we had multiple sessions worth of photos, so she had double the images to go through for us. Understandably, this took a little longer than usual, but to be honest, it was totally worth the wait.

If you want a photographer who can capture the images that bring you back to your wedding day all over again, Mandie is the way to go. We couldn't be happier with our images and get endless compliments on the ones we display proudly in our home.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We are very happy with the quality of the photos, the beauty of what Mandie captured, and the true ease of working with her studio. Red Gecko Studio was recommended to us by others in the business and we recommend Red Gecko Studio.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs.H
Wedding:
6/15/2012
4.6/5.0
I get compliments over and over again about how great the pictures from my wedding are! I love the creativity that the team at Red Gecko have and the uniqueness of the shots. These aren't your standard wedding photos, there is an artist at work here! Thank you for the treasures I now have!
Services Used: Photography
Bg5
Kristin
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Mandie and her assistant Crystal did an amazing job. Mandie was very easy to work with, very responsive if we had any questions, her images really represented the two of us and our relationship. Very happy with her work and would highly recommend her!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1317063335380-engagment8
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Mandie is WONDERFUL! Her work is amazing and you will not be disappointed. She is worth every penny!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dana
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.8/5.0
I found Mandie and Red Gecko Studios from a friends sisters friends cousin. Crazy right!? Imagine me trying to explain that to Mandie when I emailed her to discuss the possibility of shooting our wedding! My fiancee and I were living in Chicago, and Mandie was in Madison- so we knew we wouldn't be able to meet in person right away. Mandie suggested the 3 of us get on the phone together....and that was all it took! Jason and myself (mostly me) spent probably an hour+ talking to Mandie about our wedding day, our expectation for photos, etc. She was so professional and helpful, that we decided we wanted to work with her no matter what! Lucky for us, she wanted to work with us too, and had availability on our wedding day! She even came up to Chicago to shoot 'engagement-pics' for us a couple months before our wedding. The night of our wedding, Mandie showed a slide show of pictures from earlier in the day (getting ready, the ceremony, the bridal party)...it was her first time attempting a slide show of photos AT the actual wedding (we were happy to be her guinea pigs). Our guests were BEYOND wowed by the beautiful photos.... we had everyone gathered around a large screen, oooohing and aaaahing. It was such a wonderful night! Mandie (and her assistant Crystal) were so friendly and fun, it was hard to even tell that they were there, amidst all the action getting great shots! I would highly recommend her to anyone! (assuming you're getting married next year or after...she is booking up FAST!) :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
B
Wedding:
6/6/2010
4.7/5.0
The Red Gecko Studio captured our wedding pictures the way we want them to be. Mandie was amazing and was very instructive in how she wanted us to pose for our pictures. The result spoke for itself. We couldn't have asked for a better wedding photographer. We were luckily to have gotten her to take our wedding pictures as we contacted her about a month before the wedding day itself! Luckily Mandie was available and was very generous to include us in her schedule. Thank you Mandie! Check out her work on Facebook / Red Gecko Studio.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Guld
Wedding:
12/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Mandy was FANTASTIC!!! She was very flexible and the pictures turned out amazing! Would highly recommend Red Gecko Studio.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becca D
Wedding:
5/21/2009
5.0/5.0
We just had our engagement session with Mandie, and she's definitely a great photographer. Very flexible in terms of location, types of shots, and shall we say, odd quirks of her participants. The session was fun, relaxed, and I think she really succeeded in capturing a number of shots that no only looked nice, but looked like US. Can't wait for the wedding pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MarianneF
Wedding:
4/24/2009
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Red Gecko studio! I first found the Red Gecko website by surfing in the internet. I met with the photographer, Mandi Haberman, at a coffee shop for a consultation. She was very professional, and she had creative and artistic ideas. I am so pleased with the photographs and my family and friends are just blown away. I highly encourage an engagement session too because you can really take your time and have fun. The pictures turned out amazing, even my fiance's friends were raving about the pictures. Additional bonuses about choosing Red Gecko is that Mandi is so fun to work with because you can see she really enjoys what she does. She made me feel excited about the shoots... And, she provided me great details on hair and make up contacts as well. She corresponds very regularly too which puts me at ease because there are so many other things I'm trying to plan. A+++ I loooove the photography!
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
402 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Amanda Red | Wedding Photographer (formerly Red Gecko Studio)
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo