130x130_sq_1365956822089-img0299

Amarante's Sea Cliff

New Haven , CT
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

62 Cove Street
New Haven, CT US 06512 (map)

PHONE

203-467-2531

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Experience Amarante's Sea Cliff: A Hidden Gem

Boutique Catering - Delicious - Directly on the Water - Outstanding Service - Total Privacy

At Sea Cliff your wedding... Read more
Experience Amarante's Sea Cliff: A Hidden Gem

Boutique Catering - Delicious - Directly on the Water - Outstanding Service - Total Privacy

At Sea Cliff your wedding or event really will be a private one. You not only get a private room, but also an entire building with a deck facing the most natural water views in Connecticut. You won't hear noise from parties next to yours; you will not be sharing a restroom, waiters or chefs with other parties.

Our staffs of international chefs prepare banquets that you will be delighted to serve to your guests; they are experienced in many cultures, service styles and dietary needs.

As soon as you contact us you will feel the friendly, relaxed service offered to you and our desire to make your event the event that will be a success. The Amarante family has been entrusted for over fifty years to maintain this vintage facility with much care and love. It was designed in a Cape Cod style which has been maintained to keep the natural charm of yesteryear with all the conveniences of today.

Please call us (203) 467-2531, for an appointment when planning your next event.



Little things mean a lot ..

Changes are starting at Sea Cliff

Our vintage Grand Ballroom is getting a new face.

It is very subtle, very elegant, and very Sea Cliff.

Just to make you a little more comfortable. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1365956907878-homepagejune
130x130_sq_1365956915400-76050101514385218763582112193247n
130x130_sq_1389986286315-0001
130x130_sq_1365957131019-nightgazebo
130x130_sq_1389986465113-annandale-13
130x130_sq_1365956921583-53446810151201102991358427252676n
130x130_sq_1365956944013-59
130x130_sq_1365957035888-d-68
130x130_sq_1389986489426-img019
130x130_sq_1389986661301-lauren-anthony-150
130x130_sq_1365956932178-548798101509803414463581487771864n
130x130_sq_1389986543610-img093
130x130_sq_1365957076031-img2107
130x130_sq_1389986711757-shannonjessewed-32
130x130_sq_1389986625434-lauren-anthony-148
130x130_sq_1365957113394-img2866
130x130_sq_1365957058050-img0910
130x130_sq_1389986381630-0029
130x130_sq_1389986414820-0030
130x130_sq_1389986430839-1236610101518208585863581958690186
130x130_sq_1389986443757-annandale-13
130x130_sq_1389986475971-bridalroo
130x130_sq_1389986517440-img051
130x130_sq_1389986571641-img272
130x130_sq_1389986596023-img352
130x130_sq_1389986695518-lauren-anthony-153
130x130_sq_1389986713768-sunse
130x130_sq_1389986941480-annandale-16
130x130_sq_1389987711016-grandballroom4
130x130_sq_1389987717224-img002
130x130_sq_1389987785367-img173
130x130_sq_1389987837370-img439
130x130_sq_1389987861755-img587
130x130_sq_1389987890713-img330
130x130_sq_1389987914423-img420
130x130_sq_1389987938072-img445
130x130_sq_1389987963027-img445
130x130_sq_1389987977443-inngall5
130x130_sq_1389987978540-innrotation
130x130_sq_1389987980222-shannonjessewed-73
130x130_sq_1389987879491-shannonjessewed-44

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1962
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Boat / Yacht, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Nautical, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
280
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
55
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
74
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jana
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
We cannot say thank you enough to the ENTIRE staff at Amarante's. They could not have been more accommodating. They set up the Grand Ballroom perfectly to our vision even accommodating a last minute light up marquee sign that we wanted hung behind us at the head table. The weather was perfect and the sunset on the water was spectacular. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Grace was with us during most of our cocktail and dinner hours and gave us a big hug as we said goodbye. Darlene, our Maitre D, helped us throughout the whole time we were at our reception. She constantly checked us on us to see if we needed anything and was wonderful to work with. The cocktail hour could not have been better. All of our guests had an amazing time on the deck. Dinner was the best meal we could have asked for. The beef and shrimp were cooked to perfection and all of our guests went out of their way to tell us how good the food was. We've been to several of our friends weddings and at the end of the day when you have a venue that knows how to operate a solid wedding and serve good food, it's all that matters (that and a good DJ). Amarante's went above an beyond our expectations in serving our guests and we are so pleased to have spent our wedding day with them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
5/18/2014
5.0/5.0
The venue and staff were both amazing! We could not have asked for a better atmosphere and experience for our wedding!!! Jose was awesome!!!! :)
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sue
Wedding:
5/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Staff went out of their way to make sure the day went smoothly. So impressed. 110 people-not 1 complaint. Rave reviews from the cocktail hour to the lobsters being cooked perfectly. Would recommend this venue hands down every time someone says I just got engaged!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victoria
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
The staff at Amarante's was great to work with! They made sure that everything went perfectly! All of my guests are still talking about how great the food was!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Amarante's Sea Cliff was the best choice for our wedding! The ball room was beautiful; the planning staff was easy to work with and the service the day of the wedding was perfect. I rate the overall experience 100%. The guests were “wowed” by the food and venue. We had a few issues with our DJ from The Pros and the Amarante’s staff did everything they could to make sure I was happy and that everything worked out! Amarante’s Sea Cliff reduced the stress that can come with planning a wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nickie
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Amarante's was wonderful! Even when I dropped the ball on some things they helped to ensure everything went smoothly!
They did a great job and the food was amazing!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Amazing evening coordinated by a flexible and supportive staff!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding at The Inn at Amarante's Sea Cliff in June 2013. The service was exceptional, food was out of this world - and EVERY guest told us how amazing the quality of the whole experience was. Absolutely everything went correctly - and it is all due to the amazing staff, and level of detail Amarante's puts into everything.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Fiona
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding at Amarante's was perfect! The venue is amazing and has so much to offer. The view is spectacular, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the food is phenominal. We couldn't have asked for a better venue to celebrate our special day. We highly recommend using Amarante's for your wedding or any special event / occasion!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
10/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Grace was wonderful! The food at our Oktoberfest themed reception was great! Jose was so conscientious! Amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
From the moment we went for our first appointment to the time we said I do. Amarante's was the perfect choice for us they were very responsive and made sure to take care of every detail. not only were we taken care of so were our guest, I know that if anyone else's were to choose them would have the same experience. From ceremony to reception It was just beautiful. When choosing this venue Peter was very helpful and was able to answer any and all of our questions. Grace let us know that we didn't need to worry about anything including the rain that was predicted. How can we leave out our Matrie D Darlene who was there for us throughout the night and also made sure that our guest were ok!!!!!! I could not have been happier!!!

MJG 10/2012
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lori
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Cannot say enough about how pleased we were with Amarante's Sea Cliff. Darlene, our maitre'd was very organized and attentive to every detail. The venue was beautiful and the food to quote my guests "was the best food they ever had at a wedding". I highly recommend this vendor.

Lori DaSilva-Fiano
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Amarante's truly made my wedding a fairy tale day. The food was amazing, the ambiance was romantic, the view was stunning, and all of this was delivered with some of the best customer service I have ever encountered. They were extremely helpful during the planning process, despite the fact that I was planning the event from Texas. Lastly, Amarante's is signifacantly less expensive than other venues of their type, which is what drew me to them in the first place, but nothing is sacrificed in the process. The quality, atmosphere and service were all five -star. Holding your event at Amarante's will make it unforgettable!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MG422
Wedding:
6/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Amazing! Food was unreal and Peter and Grace are super friendly and easy to work with. Our friends cannot stop telling us how amazing our cocktail hour and the views of the sound were throughout dinner and our ceremony :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
We dealt with both Peter and Grace both who were always nice and professional. We originally booked the Inn but since they did not have a wedding taking place that evening in the ballroom they upgraded us to the ballroom at no charge. The place was amazing! Our guests raved about the view and the food! It was absolutely amazing! Darlene and Jose were in charge of making sure everything that day ran smoothly. They did a GREAT job! All of our guests commented on the beautiful place and what a great time they had!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BTMarganski
Wedding:
3/30/2012
5.0/5.0
They were AMAZING! Everything was beautifully perfect. The food was better than the tasting we went to, the room looked beautiful, the staff was beyond helpful and accommodating. Great price for great food, beverages and service! I would highly recommend Amarante's to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
3/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Amarante's went above and beyond to make our day so special! Our guests raved about the food and the attentive service by the staff. Amarante's provided top of the line service from ALL of its staff. I would absolutely reccomend Amarante's to every bride looking to get the most for their money! My husband and I were so happy with our decision to have our reception here!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Amarante's staff was so wonderful to work with. Grace had seamless execution of the timeline of our wedding; the staff was so helpful and pleasant. Everything was perfect from the easy direction of the location off the highway, the immaculate grounds, that my dress didn’t even have a speck of dirt on the train from an outdoor setting. Their staff even took great care in helping my mother walk down the stairs before getting to the aisle. I couldn’t be happier with a wedding venue’s attention to detail from helping my older guest, to making sure each of my guest were happy with their entrée, even offering them seconds. I would tell everyone to look into this venue, and book early if you have a special date in mind. Everyone raved about the cocktail hour and how delicious the food was, everything was cook to perfection, and every detail was polished with confidence and perfection.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kirsten
Wedding:
7/4/2011
5.0/5.0
I am so happy with my decision to have my wedding at Amarante’s Sea Cliff. Not only is the venue beautiful, the staff is equally amazing! Grace put me at ease every step of the way. She is a pro and knows weddings inside out. She constantly had to remind me that I was the only one who hadn’t done this yet, and everyone on their staff has been through it a thousand times before. It felt great to be able to let go and trust someone else to handle a few aspects of the wedding planning process. As I’m sure any bride-to-be knows by now, planning a wedding can be stressful . The staff at Amarante’s really simplified the process. Jeremy was also a star player on the Amarante’s team- numerous guests at our wedding commented on how professional and attentive he was.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Everyone commented how great the food, service, staff, location, weather and decor were. The view of Long Island Sound was spectacular. Food were simply delicious. Dover filet was cooked just right and one guest even complimented how his medium well prime rib was cooked exactly medium well. My mom wanted to seat 11 people at one table and Amarante's was able to accomodate us with an oval table to seat 11. That's so awesome.

Darlene was simply wonderful. She was very attentive to our needs and was so worried about me staining my wedding dress when I ate some pasta with marinara sauce. That was so sweet. It was good to be reminded to be extremely careful with the red sauce. People also loved Jeremy. As for Jose, we didn't really see Jose since he was in the kitchen. However since the food came out so efficiently and were cooked just right, I would have to kudos to him and everyone else too.

The staff also did a fabulous job helping my friend move the flowers from the ceremony inside and set up the centerpieces. I wanted to re-use the flowers to save some money and it turned out great. Last but not least, we got moved to the Grand Ballroom for free since it was not booked for the night. The Grand Ballroom was an awesome venue with vaulted ceiling and dance floor right in the center. It really made our night to have the festivities in one big room. And there was plenty of room to set up the photo booth. Peter and Grace have been with Amarante's for many years and they know how to run weddings. Overall I was extremely pleased with Amarante's and I would highly recommend them.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KT514
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Amarante's is a beautiful, New England venue that exceeded our expectations in terms of customer service, ease of use, and overall quality. The staff at Amarante's constantly worked to make our day perfect, and were fantastic at managing all the little details that can make a wedding day seem like work rather than your celebration. From the very start, the staff were approachable, always available to answer questions, and flexible with our needs. Although initially we were contemplating having a wedding planner, we found we didn't need one with Amarante's help. Overall, the setting was gorgeous (we used the lawn/gazebo for our ceremony), the food was excellent, and the service was exceptional.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
7/22/2006
5.0/5.0
The day went by flawlessly. They paid attention to all of our needs. The food was the delicious and the view was spectacular.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffanygrace55
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Amarante's exceeded our expectations! We originally booked The INN room, well before our final meeting they asked us if we would like to upgrade for FREE to the Grand Ball room b/c they did not have an event going on in there at that time. The Grand ball room was awesome! They were so flexible with us they did everything for us and decorated it beautifully! We had two workers with us the day of the wedding that insured me and my husband had everything we needed drinks, food, etc. They were awesome we loved him! and I recommend to EVERYONE that I know that is getting married!!!!! A++++++++
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Amarante's Sea Cliff was amazing! I have been dreaming of this day for 30 years and I could never have dreamed a more perfect night! From start to finish Amarante's was incredible! The staff was attentive and courteous and just plain fantastic! There was little work for the bride and groom throughout the planning process and Amarante’s offered whatever assistance they could. Overall this was an amazing experience, Amarante’s is phenomenal!!! Thank you, Amarante’s for making my dream come true!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/4/2009
5.0/5.0
I am so grateful I had my reception at Amarantes Sea Cliff! It was amazing. I had a ton of questions and Peter and Grace answered them with patience and understanding. My guests are saying it was the best food they have had at a wedding. Cooked to perfection and everyone had a hot meal. The grand ballroom was decorated so beautifully. The staff is so attentive. We all had a wonderful time. Not to mention the priceless setting outside. The sunset and beautiful surroundings made it worth every penny.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Craig and I got married April 30, 2011. We chose April to keep our costs down a little bit. We chose amarante's because their prices were good, their view was spectacular, and the provided everything we needed. They included the cake, the center pieces, open bar. They took all of wedding day materials such as flutes, cake servers, flowers, etc and made sure it was all out. We had our ceremony at amarante's inside because another Bride was using the gazebo. We were allowed to use the gazebo for pictures, however. It was still beautiful. Doreen (I hope I got her name right) was outstanding. She was our maitre'd and she communicated with the DJ, photographers, and other vendors to make sure everything went smoothly. If I needed anything she was right there to get it for me. Even if it was a cocktail! The Grand Ballroom was beautiful. We did not change any of the decorations or really add to them. You could if you want to. We had a brilliant sunset and the pictures were unbelievable. The electricity in the area went out. They worked with the DJ for conflict resolution and I didn't even know anything was wrong. The food was incredible. For the price, I was really expecting your standard crappy wedding food. The lobster was so tender and cooked perfectly. We had the clambake wedding. I unfortunately was too busy to eat any of the appetizers during the social hour, but I didn't hear any complaints! I'm a no frills type of person so I didn't add any of the extra's to the wedding menu. But they did have options to add a raw bar, venetian tables, etc for additional dollars per head. You can make it as fancy or as informal as you'd like. If you chose amarante's I'm sure you and your guests will love it.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Amarante's was the perfect venue for my wedding. The views were just beautiful from the room. And the outdoor area for cocktail hour was amazing. By taking care of all the food, wedding cake, linens, and centerpieces, Amarante's made my wedding planning so much simpler! And on the wedding day everything was executed smoothly. The dinner was also delicious, we got many compliments from guests on the entrees.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joy
Wedding:
6/23/2013
4.9/5.0
Everything was fantastic! The staff worked together great as a team and made it perfect!! All the guests raved about the food.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
5/12/2012
4.9/5.0
Grace was great to work with-answering my many questions before the wedding. Our ceremony was outside on the lawn and our reception was in the Grand Ballroom. The grounds were absolutely stunning! A beautiful spot for photos at sunset. Our guests raved about the cocktail hour-my husband and I missed most of it because we were taking photos-but everyone said how wonderful it was. Darlene took care of me before the ceremony and my husband and I throughout the night and made sure all the events throughout the night ran smoothly. I cannot say enough great things about Darlene! The staff were very attentive to a couple family members who had special requests/needs. The food at the reception was amazing. The prime rib and chicken marsala were both fantastic. We had many out of town guests who had a truly fabulous time at our wedding because of Amarante's hospitality.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/27/2013
4.8/5.0
We chose Amarante's for the location, but are left satisfied by the value and quality. The food, drinks, and excellent service surpassed our expectations. You will be impressed!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi Hill
Wedding:
4/12/2008
4.8/5.0
Amarantes Sea Cliff was just the perfect setting for our day..the staff was great to work with,the food was great and views were breathtaking.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lizzybeth
Wedding:
6/14/2008
4.8/5.0
Amarante's Sea Cliff was the best choice for my wedding. This facility not only has an amazing view of the Long Island Sound, it also has a nice outdoor gazebo perfect for pictures and wedding ceremonies. The staff was very professional and personal and very punctual kept us on time for everything i would recommend this site for any event
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jthomas
Wedding:
8/22/2009
4.8/5.0
Amazing, amazing, amazing!! The staff at Amarante's was above and beyond what I could have expected ~ from Peter and Grace leading up to the big day to Jose and Carlos who took care of everything during the reception. The place was beautiful and our guests were extremely impressed with everything. Amarante's helped make this such a perfect day that we will never forget. My only gripe is that, if you don't meet the minimum number of guests, you are charged 17% less the normal per person cost which is extremely expensive when you consider that it is less food and alcohol being served (I don't know if that is normal but it took us by surprise).
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
9/19/2009
4.6/5.0
The biggest dream for my wedding was to have our pictures taken on the beach, so we looked for seaside venues to hold the reception. Amarante's was the absolute best value for the money. While they are certainly not at the most inexpensive end of the spectrum, what we had included with our price definitely made it worth it. They have several packages to choose from. Our package included premium open bar, our cake, centerpieces (which I chose not to use, but were actually nice), linens (but not chair covers), two choices of delicious dinners (with the option of adding vegetarian if needed), and a fabulous cocktail hour. Plus, the sunset that we got that night couldn't have been more perfect if we ordered it ourselves. The staff was extremely professional and efficient - the maitre'd was awesome- she fixed a few last minute problems we had with seating arrangements and gifts, and no one knew any different. Be prepared to not get EVERYTHING that you are looking for, though (and I consider myself a pretty low-maintenance bride). The only negative feedback that I have is that we wanted a longer reception (it was 5 hours) and wanted to add time at the beginning, which we were told we could do, if we so chose to, when we signed the contract. When I tried to add time, they wouldn't allow it because there was another wedding before us on the lawn. I would have paid the money like we were getting married there if I knew it would allow us to have more time at the reception. Also, there was no bridal room, and there is the possibility for other wedding receptions to be happening at the same time (if that's an issue for you). Other than that, I give it a great rating and would recommend to most anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
houarch
Wedding:
4/25/2009
4.5/5.0
What can I say - everything about our experience at Amarante's was wonderful. From the moment I walked into the Grand Ballroom I was sold - the room and the view of the Sound are absolutely amazing and exactly what I was looking for. Peter and Grace were very friendly and helpful to work with; they made sure everything ran smoothly on our wedding day. And although we didn't get to sample much of the food - everyone told us everything was wonderful. People were particularly impressed with the VERY substantial cocktail hour.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Etatem
Wedding:
10/31/2009
4.2/5.0
We were truly blessed to have our wedding at Amarante's. Our day went wonderfully. The food was to die for people are still talking about the canapes. The flexibility of Amarante's cannot be over stated. Not only did they let us play around with the time, they also let us pick the room we wanted. The grounds were amazing and couldn't have been more beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
junebride3
Wedding:
6/28/2008
4.1/5.0
Our wedding was absolutely beautiful. We held the ceremony and the reception at Amarante's, and it is a lovely setting. The staff was extremely friendly, with one exception. There was one person we worked with whom we found extremely difficult, sometimes to the point of rudeness. However, the food, the ambiance, and the rest of the staff more than made up for this one person. We chose the Gala Wedding, which was worth every penny. The desserts were incredible, the bar was well stocked, and the food was plentiful and beautifully presented. I would definitely recommend Amarante's to any discerning bride and groom.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cynthia
Wedding:
7/30/2009
4.0/5.0
We got married at Amarantes and also had our reception there. We were disapointed because we were suppose to have an outdoor wedding, but we had the worst storm that night! So our wedding was inside the reception hall, which turned out to be fine. They did a great job making it look as beautiful as possible considering our stormy weather conditions. The food was great, the room was beautiful and we did have a nice waterfront sunset to look at! I don't know if it was the Amarantes staff or the DJ but we never had our bouqet toss or garder toss as we had requested which was a little disapointing. We also were not thrilled with the maitre d' we had that night he seemed to be very inpatient and was yelling at one of his waiters in front of our guests. We loved Grace! She was very helpful with stubbron family members and was always honest with us. Overall we loved Amarantes and were very happy with the way everything turned out!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
4/8/2006
4.0/5.0
We were late getting to the reception hall from the church, and the Amarante's staff were responsive and professional in asking us how we wanted to alter the schedule for the rest of the reception. The room looked beautiful and the food was delicious. It was perfect for dancing.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TinySanto
Wedding:
7/7/2007
3.8/5.0
We had several things that we had discussed prior to signing a contract that the vendor ended up changing. We had discussed putting the dance floor in a different location and the vendor said, "Sure." After we signed and got closer to the date the vendor said, "No, we can't do that." Then they said they needed to put the buffet on the dance floor and I said no. Come my wedding day, they did it anyway. They said, "We are very good at making sure we keep wedding ceremony's running on time." My wedding guests weren't even seated until 15 minutes after my ceremony was supposed to start because the wedding before me was not finished yet. I lost valuable daylight picture taking time because of this. I loved the place and the food. JUST MAKE SURE YOU GET ALL OF YOUR REQUESTS SUCH AS THE ONE ABOVE IN CONTRACTUAL WRITING BEFORE YOU SIGN ON THE DOTTED LINE.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1207085414046-ace_01
AdriM
Wedding:
7/26/2008
3.6/5.0
The location was beautiful, food was great...only gripe is that we felt like they couldn't wait to get us out of there. We had an evening wedding and were more than willing to pay for an extra hour, but we didn't feel welcome to stay
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.5/5.0
Amarante's was the perfect reception venue for my wedding, as it was beach-themed, low key, and a beautiful backdrop. The staff was wonderful to work with all throughout the planning process, until the day of my wedding. The food was great, most of the staff was extremely accommodating, but that's where it ends. On her wedding day, a bride doesn't want to be the one worrying about details or being bombarded with questions from the staff...I was. Even though we had written specific instructions on how the day should go, it was confusion during the announcing of the bridal party time. Also, we used The Inn as our location, specifically for the large deck we were promised for the evening and the views. This would work out great...unless one of the staff decides to let the other party in the Ballroom use the deck for their happy hour. Since it was Grace's family member getting married, they not only used our deck for more than half of our time, but my family and friends, including myself and my husband were treated as if we were imposing on their party. Every time we went outside, even though we were told we could "share" it at that point, we got looks and comments made at us. Since there wasn't enough parking, Amarante's allowed the other party to park on the lawn near the gazebo so our pictures were pretty much ruined for the sunset shots. When we did go outside to try to take some pictures, their rude guests would set off car alarms, just to ruin our night.
This picture will sit with me for a long time...so, even though I did not let this ruin my day, it sits wrong with me. When they tried to make up for their mistake, it was a bunch of back and forths and we pretty much only got offered free drinks and food for a night on the deck. Considering the amount of money our families put into this place, I am extremely disappointed.
I know this will be one of a few bad experiences, as with every venue, but just keep in mind that not all they promise is true.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
62 Cove Street, New Haven, CT 06512 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Amarante's Sea Cliff
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo