130x130_sq_1232734727593-174

American Trolley Tour/Choo Choo Trolley

Philadelphia , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

4941 Longshore Avenue
Philadelphia, PA US 19135 (map)

PHONE

215-333-0320

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Transportation

REVIEWS

4.0
out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
3.6/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matthew
Wedding:
5/18/2013
2.1/5.0
We were a little skeptical of this vendor given some of the mixed reviews we saw online, so I spent a fair amount of time specifically asking the lady on the phone about the quality of trolleys (any issues with broken benches, windows, etc?). She assured me that all of their trolleys were well taken care of and refuted any negative reviews, so we went ahead and booked them for our wedding since they were less expensive than others.

On our wedding day, the trolley did arrive early to pick us up (that was a positive), but I was extremely disappointed to find that there were a number of issues with the trolley. One window was completely knocked out and the spider-webbed pane just sat on the floor. Two other windows were cracked. At least one bench was completely unusable because the wooden planks were falling off it, others were also damaged. I had to ask the driver to remove the broken window and put it in a safer place so that the bridal party would not be injured by it. We were lucky that it did not rain and that we did not need to fill the trolley up to the 24 person capacity, because we would have had some serious issues.

The driver was very nice and on time (which is why I gave them any stars at all), but needed one of my groomsmen to stand at the front and give him directions to the church the entire drive, since they do not have GPS. I'll say that again - this is a transportation company that does not have GPS...

I've since called their office to let them know about the busted up trolley they sent us, despite previous assurances that it would be well-maintained. She acted surprised, but did not apologize and said she would look into it. I've had to repeatedly call her to get a response (they won't call me back) and all she does is make excuses like "the windows broke on the way to picking you up". Really? I still can't get a response from them and can't help but feel like they do this sort of thing regularly.
Services Used: Transportation
Bg5
Rachel
Wedding:
10/20/2012
4.4/5.0
We had a trolley for our wedding guests from the hotel to the ceremony/reception venue. The cost was extremely reasonable, but the trolley sent definitely needs some updating and maintenance. The seat cushions were not attached on some of the seats, the wood needed some sanding and finishing, and some of it was splintering (which isn't great when you're walking down a rather small space with a dress you don't want to get caught on anything or torn). The driver didn't follow the directions we gave him, so it ended up taking a VERY long time to pick everyone up and drop everyone off. There were supposed to be three pick-ups in from the hotel before the wedding, but he only made two, and our groomsmen were 45 minutes later than they wanted to be to the ceremony, though the ceremony itself was still able to start on time. However, the cost was very reasonable, the drivers were extremely sweet and kind, and everyone got home safe and sound. There was a hiccup with our schedule, almost, as the contract wasn't changed to reflect the 30 minute earlier start time and their coordinator just happened to call the day before to double check on the hotel name, so we were able to confirm and then fix the first pick up time. Had that call not happened, we ALL would have been very late to the ceremony, and I would have been seen by my groom and guests before I even arrived at the venue. Thankfully, all worked out pretty well, but there were certainly a few issues here and there, though all were fixed quickly and efficiently, and the trolley certainly needs some updates. There is a difference between charm and old, and it edged a bit too close to the old side.
Services Used: Transportation
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Philly/June Wedding
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.4/5.0
I was a bit nervous leading up to our wedding about contracting with American Trolley/Choo Choo Trolley as I had to make several calls to the office before our contract was sent out to us. Given our wedding was in June - a hugely popular month for weddings in Philadelphia - I was concerned that without a signed contract on file the trolleys we needed for our event would be reserved by others.
I did have to make several calls, reminding staff who I was, when our event was taking place, and other basic details provided severeal times previously, before the contract was finally sent. However, the staff was very pleasant and apologetic, extending a discount for the delayed correspondence. We had trolleys for our rehearsal dinner and wedding, transporting more than 70 guests the day-of from our hotel in Center City to our venue and back at the end of the evening. The actual trolley service provided was nearly perfect! If you want to use their services just be patient, but their prices were fair and the trolleys themselves absolutely as expected.
After our rehearsal dinner, our driver -- who was VERY nice -- was issued a parking ticket by the Philadelphia Police Department for blocking traffic. This took place before we all boarded the trolley at the restaurant to return to the hotel. Once we boarded, he then stood in front of the trolley announcing it to all of our guests, which was a bit embarrassing given he was complaining to us as if we were his family/friends rather than clients. We had guests with us from across the US, UK, Japan, and Australia. It was a bit odd. Although it was raining, he wanted to drive with the doors open for better air circulation (none of us were complaining of heat), which when stopped at a red light in Old City, gave a drunken man the opportunity to step onto the trolley, happily (thankfully) swinging his 40 in a paper bag and yelling. Not a great first impression of Philadelphia for out-of-town guests. Even after this incident, I had to specifically ask that the doors be shut to prevent something similar happening again.
They totally redeemed themselves the next day, however, in getting the wedding party around the city pre-ceremony for photos. And guests who were transported from the Loews Hotel to our venue enjoyed their rides as well.
All said, I would recommend their services to a bride who has patience and is laid back. The value was very good, the trolleys clean, the drivers safe, and they were a nice way to get around the city.
Services Used: Transportation
130x130_sq_1304371589774-engagementphoto
Jill
Wedding:
10/2/2011
4.1/5.0
I worked with Valorie to book our trolleys and she was so sweet and helpful. We had to make a change of plans the week before the wedding and she went out of her way to make sure all of the details were correct and didn't try to nickel and dime us. The only problem was one of the trolley drivers showed up 30 minutes late, which did effect the overall timing of the day and was definitely disappointing. The trolleys are definitely old, but that is what we loved about them. Considering we got the trolleys for way cheaper than we budgeted for, I would recommend to other couples, cautioning to have someone on top of making sure they arrive on time, or scheduling them to arrive a little earlier than you need.
Services Used: Transportation
Default-vendor-profile-pic
willie
Wedding:
6/11/2011
2.4/5.0
The trolley was 45 minutes late to pick-up the bridal part. Then didn't know how to get to the ceremony site. Then didn't know where the hotel was where the guests were supposed to be picked-up for the ceremony...on and on..late making last run before the ceremony so guests missed the ceremony...rain at the end of the evening....roof leaked so badly that those in the back were soaked. It was reported that the water was pouring in holes in the roof..be wary of this company.
Services Used: Transportation
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Our driver was fabulous! And the agency allowed us to pay when we had the money over a one year period-they really worked well with us and we had an amazing experience with the company!
Services Used: Transportation
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aly
Wedding:
4/9/2011
5.0/5.0
i delegated booking our transportation to my husband and he did a great job finding American Trolley Tour/Choo Choo Trolley. he worked with Valorie who was able to work within our budget to provide trolley transportation for both the rehearsal dinner and the wedding. our driver was fantastic and proved a great umbrella holder during the deluge of rain on friday night and saturday did a wonderful job of shuttling guests between the hotel and venue. our entire weekend went off without a hitch and the transportation was no exception.
Services Used: Transportation
130x130_sq_1269747151289-030710puchon12
Jennifer
Wedding:
11/6/2010
4.3/5.0
Everyone was nice in the office when booking trolley, driver was great. One window in trolley was broken though :( and it was really cold
Services Used: Transportation
Default-vendor-profile-pic
avrusert
Wedding:
10/25/2009
3.8/5.0
Choo Choo has a great selection of trolleys and transport- you can surely find what you need for your day. The only drawbacks is that if you don't call during office hours, you can't be guaranteed a call-back. I had to call several times to confirm and re-confirm that our paperwork was in and that everything would run smoothly. Their drivers were timely and efficient. Not super friendly, but they get the job done.
Services Used: Transportation
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TStripes360
Wedding:
6/2/2007
4.6/5.0
They would have received a 5 star across the bord from us except for one small mistake. They had no record of our payment. They waited until the day before the wedding to tell us. We paid in full the day we booked by check and they cashed it that following week. We planed our wedding from out of town and had now way of proving we paid since checks were at home in Georgia. But the saving grace was that they went ahead and showed up and provided us with exceptional service on the day of the wedding.
Services Used: Transportation

MAP

 
4941 Longshore Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19135 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for American Trolley Tour/Choo Choo Trolley
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1232734727593-174