130x130_sq_1352303327517-amkarphotobridegroomlafayettepark

Amkar Photography

St. Charles , MO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

St. Charles, MO US 63304 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Company Overview
Amkar Photography was established in January 2008 by Amanda Kar with the assistance of her husband Anindeep Kar. I specialize in contemporary and journalistic style... Read more
Company Overview
Amkar Photography was established in January 2008 by Amanda Kar with the assistance of her husband Anindeep Kar. I specialize in contemporary and journalistic style wedding/portrait photography, offering services in and around the St. Louis area. Over the last two years, Amkar has shown strong growth in sales and operating margin. Very rapidly, it has positioned itself as a niche provider in the creative services space. This would not have been possible without Amkar's unflinching commitment towards excellence in providing unique product quality and superior service.
Every year Amkar introduces new and innovative ideas to its clients which very clearly differentiates it from its competitors. The company's rapidly swelling list of satisfied customers bears testimony to this effect.
Amkar aspires to continue capturing special moments through its lens. What matters most at Amkar is our customers. Through our day-to-day operations, we hope to continue serving them to the best of our abilities.

Mission and Vision
Whether you are a fashion model, a senior in high school, a mother-to-be or a bride-to-be, finding a photographer to capture you during these moments in your life is a very important task. You may not realize it before the moment arrives, but how you are captured in a photo tells the story of how you lived and who you were during that time. It's a very significant thing to behold in your personal journey. You cannot entrust the capturing of such personal moments to just any photo studio who may process your event as one among thousands and offer you confusing and overpriced packages. You want an easygoing atmosphere, prompt service, apt communication, affordable prices, and unique photos that are catered to you and not to a studio system. This is the service Amkar provides.
For clients, our goal is simple and true. We want to provide you with a means of capturing and preserving your life's sparkling moments so that those times may be remembered forever. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1352304504310-amkarphotounionstationbridegroom
130x130_sq_1352304768397-amkarphotoforestparkengagement
130x130_sq_1352305259957-amkarphotobridewindowprep
130x130_sq_1352305644114-amkarphotowineryweddingbouquet
130x130_sq_1352305642154-amkarphotolesbianwinecellarfirstlook
130x130_sq_1352306028567-amkarphotobridalsari
130x130_sq_1311905595819-img409
130x130_sq_1352305253737-amkarphotobridalpartycheer
130x130_sq_1311905522717-dsc1681
130x130_sq_1352305257699-amkarphotobridegroomwalklafayettepark
130x130_sq_1311905536975-img412
130x130_sq_1311905499332-img348
130x130_sq_1287809690691-img035
130x130_sq_1287809718458-img244
130x130_sq_1287809714832-img148
130x130_sq_1311905642416-img152

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
My creative designs are particular to the specific couple and atmosphere of their event. My special techniques employ sepia, aged black and white, sfumato and selective focus methods.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Yes. What a silly question.
Is your media preference film or digital?
Exclusively digital.
How many photographers do you work with?
I have 3 buddy photogs who become my seconds or backups on occasion.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Of course! Another silly question.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
Never more than one shoot (wedding or non) in a day. Never more than one wedding in a weekend.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
I have 3 backup photogs. I've only once had to use one of them as a backup when I was pregnant in 2012.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Nikon D700 DSLR, backup Nikon D7000, tripod, external flash, lighting diffuse, portable spotlight, extra batteries.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes, see above. I've never had equipment malfunction as I have major OCD's about checking that stuff before the event day.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
All my packages are figured based on an hourly rate, each for me and for a second photog should you decide to have one.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Yes, $200/additional hour for me, $100/additional hour for the second photog (if you employ one).
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
It's not necessary that clients provide me meals, but it is courtesy that they do so. I don't require a certain amount of break time for a meal. I nibble when the guests are doing so, and jump up when action resumes again. I don't figure nibble time into break time from shooting.
Do you charge for travel?
Yes, $0.55 per mile round trip outside of the St. Louis/St. Charles metro area.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
1-2 weeks.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
Via online viewing galleries (images cannot be saved from the internet, but prints may be ordered from galleries). A print rights-released DVD of all images is mailed after the online gallery is up.
How long can the client keep the proofs?
Online viewing galleries are active for 3 months, but clients may request to extend them if needed.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes, all images on disc are discreetly copyrighted as artwork belonging to the photographer. I provide a release and grant permission to my clients to make their own prints of my images as long as the copyright is not removed.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes. All clients sign a consent form to allow images to be utilized by the photographer for commercial purposes in print or online.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Digital files only (edited, retouched and in JPEG format) are provided to clients.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes, in online viewing galleries as well as in a sneak peek preview on Amkar's Facebook wall.
What kind of albums do you offer?
Press printed Art Book albums as well as photo printed Flushmount albums.
When will the client get the final album?
This depends on the client. Clients initiate the album design process and must first choose all the images they want in their album before design begins. Once they choose and submit images to me, design and turnaround takes 2-3 weeks, or less if we schedule a complimentary in-home design session.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J
Wedding:
6/1/2014
4.8/5.0
Amanda was very flexible with dealing with the weather during outside photos. She did a great job using natural elements and lighting to make the photos look great! The photos were fantastic and she was a pleasure to work with!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brian
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Amanda was fantastic. We found her name and information in a flyer when we were looking for cakes and couldn't have been happier. She was very good at asking us what WE wanted in photos and structuring how she worked around that. She is very talented and you can tell she takes her work very seriously. She genuinely wants every experience to be unique and different. I recommend using her for engagement photos as well so that she can get more acquainted with you for the actual big day. Either way, you will never have a problem and won't even think twice about being in good hands.
Services Used: Photography
Amkar Photography responded with the following comments:

Thanks for your review, Brian! I enjoyed making your big day something special. Every couple has their own special chemistry, and you two had something really nice to work with. Also had a beautiful wedding day, to which I owe your great shots!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
4/6/2013
4.5/5.0
Amanda is very good at listening to your ideas and tailoring her work to your wedding. I had a unique vintage themed wedding, inspired by the 1904 World's Fair and she not only captured the perfect shots and poses (both for engagement session and wedding day), but she also edited some pictures to have that special vintage quality I was looking for (but didn't have to ask for). She was very professional the day of the wedding and super reliable. I would highly recommend her. Her packages are a good value for the quality you get. She fit everything in that I really wanted. No complaints!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karlita
Wedding:
3/30/2013
4.4/5.0
Amanda did a great job for my spring wedding. We had a large wedding party which can sometimes be difficult, but we were very, very pleased with how our pictures turned out! I would definitely recommend her!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
10/29/2012
5.0/5.0
We had heard of Amkar from a previous wedding we were at. She is VERY reasonable and did an above and beyond job with our fall engagement pictures! She was very professional and was fun to work with. I would highly recommend her for an engagemnet session or wedding day :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
10/27/2012
4.9/5.0
Amanda at Amkarphoto photography was great to work with. She worked with our schedules and dealt with the control freaks we were very professionally :). Her photos are amazing and very artistic as well as beautiful. We also felt her prices were extremely reasonable for the number of photos, time spent, and other services we received. We have already recommended her to others and will continue to do so.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Amanda was excellent to work with. She was timely with her responses and had excellent communication throughout. We got the photos so quickly and they are all beautiful. Excellent value and quality. We would choose her again and again!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Amanda was a amazing to work with. She caputred our wedding day perfectly.

I'm beyond thrilled with the way my wedding photos turned out. I look forward to working with Amanda in the future.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Irene
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Mandy was so professional and gave very good direction for the photo shoot. Her relaxed style will make anyone feel at ease. She has an excellent eye for color, light and composition in all the photos she took. She was very quick with getting the photos to view on her website.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Amkar photography is a wonderful company to work with. Amanda was very professional and helpful. Our wedding day ran perfectly, and our pictures are breathtaking. We love every moment she captured. Amanda went out of her way to double check lighting in our venue days before our wedding to ensure the quality of our photos. She went above and beyond, and we would use Amkar again in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sunny
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
We love our wedding pictures!! Very sweet and touching,She catch up a lot of beautiful and special moment ! Thanks Amkar gave my whole family wonderful memories!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy63040
Wedding:
3/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Amanda is amazing!! When I got my DVD in the mail I was blown away just with the first glance of the cover! I was so impressed with Amanda's creativity and knowledge I would recommend anyone to her in a heartbeat! She took pictures that I never would have imagined I would be lucky enough to have of my wedding and reception. I even heard comments from my guest about how professional she was. She really seemed to blend in and people were really impressed...and even more so after they saw my pictures.... That by the way I got back so fast I couldn't believe it! The pictures have well exceeded my expectations and I don't know how on earth to ever thank her enough! Just amazing!!

-Cindy and Chris
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tricia
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Amanda was great! We're a tough bunch to reign in and didn't want a lot of the staged, wedding party kind of shots but more candid, fun stuff. And we got it...and then some! Actually ended up making the Fox news down at the Stadium. The pics turned out better than we could have imagined. I'd highly recommend Amanda!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Yessi
Wedding:
8/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Our photographer was talented, professional, thorough, very patient, and paid attention to every detail. She asked a lot of questions in order to understand what I wanted and delivered that and more. I am very impressed with her work and would recommend her to anyone and everyone! I will definitely seek her services out again for my next special occasion.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
banphrionsa17
Wedding:
6/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Amkar made all of the planning for photos a breeze, and Amanda made it extremely fun. From our first consultation to the day of the wedding, they were very flexible with everything from arrival times, session lengths, and types of pictures we wanted to take. Amanda is so sweet and funny and it was a pleasure to work with her. And the pictures are absolutely AMAZING! Not only did she take over 1000 pictures, she captured all of the emotions of my husband and I, and all of our guests. Picking pictures for our wedding album will be one of the hardest things to do. Pricing is very reasonable for the wonderful service, and I would recommend Amkar photo to all St. Louis brides. We plan on using Amkar for all of our professional photo needs in the future.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Spanish teacher
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
The pictures were great! We received our CD of pictures in less than a month. There were always in communication with us and were flexible in creating a package that was good for us. I would high recommend them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amanda
Wedding:
6/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Amanda was great. She took our slight delays in stride and the pictures I received went above and beyond. I love them all! Everyone I have shown the pictures to has had the same thoughts, they could not have been better.

Amanda was so easy to work with. She was so nice but also told us how to stand etc. so that she could get the best pictures, the group shots would have been boring without her ideas!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lily van dillen
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
Booking Amkar was one of the best decisions I made! I wish I could rate as 6 stars, as that is the service and quality of photos I received - above and beyond expectations!!! Only my highest praises and compliments.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Winnie
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Amanda was AWESOME!!! She made us feel very comfortable and told us how to stand. Our wedding was not big so she took a lot of great photos!! LOVE LOVE LOVE them!! Thank you so much!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
co
Wedding:
4/13/2011
5.0/5.0
AMKAR Photo was fantastic! My pictures came out even better than I had hoped! My favorite picture of my new husband and I is quickly becoming my background to everything- my computer, phone, etc. She was extremely professional, responded to my many emails nearly instantly, and was prompt even in the unexpected snow that hit my wedding. I highly highly recommend Amkar for your wedding. You will not be disappointed!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shortstuff
Wedding:
11/27/2010
4.8/5.0
Amanda did a fantastic job on our engagement and wedding photos! I was so pleased with the way she did everything!
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
St. Charles, MO 63304 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Amkar Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1352303327517-amkarphotobridegroomlafayettepark