130x130_sq_1385507782412-digital-photography-shot-by-azeez-bakare-

Andy Kushner Entertainment

Rockville , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Rockville, MD US 20850 (map)

PHONE

301-869-8855

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Precise attention to scale, budget, and personalization are hallmarks of Andy Kushner Entertainment as performances are tailored specifically to client needs and dreams. The goal is to... Read more
Precise attention to scale, budget, and personalization are hallmarks of Andy Kushner Entertainment as performances are tailored specifically to client needs and dreams. The goal is to provide a seamless, interactive, engaging experience that captivates all in attendance and exceeds expectations.

As a one of Modern Brides Trendsetters, Andy Kushner’s reputation for creating highly memorable, unique, and exceptional experiences has lead to many honors, awards, media coverage, and most importantly, thrilled newlyweds.

Check out the videos of our acts: SoundConnection, Rhythm6, SoundNation, Marquise, PopCulture Strings, and DJ/MC services.

For more information please check us out at http://www.andykushner.com.



2013 Bride's Choice Award 2013 Best Wedding Bands DC Area
WeddingWire The Knot- Best of Weddings 2013

2012 Bride's Choice Award 2012 Top Band Vote Getter: Sound Connection
The Knot - Best of Weddings 2011 Washingtonian Bride & Groom

2011 Best Wedding Bands DC Area 2011 Bride's Choice Award
WeddingWire WeddingWire

2011 Editor's Choice for Best Music & Entertainment
Washingtonian Bride & Groom

2010 Bride's Choice Award 2010 Best Wedding Bands DC Area
WeddingWire The Knot - Best of Weddings 2010

2010 Top Vote Getter: Andy Kushner 2010 Top Band Vote Getter: Sound Connection
Washingtonian Bride & Groom Washingtonian Bride & Groom

2009 Trendsetter Award 2009 Best Entertainment Concept, Budget Under $25k
Modern Bride Magazine Special Events International Awards

2008 Best Entertainment Producer 2008 Best Team Event, Budget Over $200k
ISES Capital Awards ISES International Awards

2007 Dream Team Member 2007 Entertainer of the Year
BRIDES Magazine Event Solutions Magazine Read less

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1349119169750-castleband1
130x130_sq_1385507561161-56628-ban
130x130_sq_1385507526488-evergreen-museum-wedding-8
130x130_sq_1349119167860-crowd
130x130_sq_1349119164488-soundconnectionband5jpg
130x130_sq_1385507566249-nm08
130x130_sq_1385134955422-1385335524674137608483159150084
130x130_sq_1385507568845-soundconnection
130x130_sq_1349119163803-singerscherie01
130x130_sq_1385134416982-digital-photography-shot-by-azeez-bakar
130x130_sq_1385507572279-standard2011-wolftrapball-web-10-thumb-594x360-243
130x130_sq_1349119164833-marquise
130x130_sq_1385507576578-standard2011-wolftrapball-web-13-thumb-594x360-244
130x130_sq_1385134952774
130x130_sq_1385134413548-digital-photography-shot-by-azeez-bakare-1
130x130_sq_1385133971238-60261310151755140693888120827067n-
130x130_sq_1349119166892-vipscrowdjpeg
130x130_sq_1385134405799-digital-photography-shot-by-azeez-bakare-
130x130_sq_1349119169342-fullband02b
130x130_sq_1385134409382-digital-photography-shot-by-azeez-bakare-1
130x130_sq_1349119161620-rob07
130x130_sq_1385133745142
130x130_sq_1385133974868-digital-photography-shot-by-azeez-bakar
130x130_sq_1385133978216-live01-
130x130_sq_1385507563701-images-
130x130_sq_1349119168211-fillmoresign
130x130_sq_1349119166172-wsasseeninld326x131

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Agency
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians), Medium (4-6 musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
80s, 90s, Acoustic, Blues, Classic Rock, Classical, Funk, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Reggae, Rock, Strings
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
What is your band's usual attire?
Our dress is based upon the specific instructions of our client.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Yes, upon request
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
Yes, we include two free songs to learn with every performance
How much time do you usually need for setup?
Less than one hour.
How much space do you usually require?
We can fit any occasion.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No, we let the performance speak for itself and want the focus on the guests of honor.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
If you can think of it, we can get it.
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
We can do whatever the customer prefers.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
NEVER an issue
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Our prices are all-inclusive.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
50% of fee.

INFO FOR CEREMONY MUSIC

What ceremony music arrangements can you provide?
Brass - Quartet, Brass - Quintet, Brass - Trio, Instrumental - Duo, Instrumental - Solo, Instrumental - Trio, Soloist / Vocalist, String - Quartet, String - Quintet, String - Trio
What instruments does your group play?
Cello, Drums, Flute, Guitar, Harp, Piano, Saxophone, Trumpet, Viola, Violin
What is your usual attire?
Our dress is based upon the specific instructions of our client.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Yes, upon request.
How much time do you usually need for setup?
Minimal
How much space do you usually require?
We can fit any location.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Our prices are all-inclusive.

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
No, we will get whatever tracks are needed.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes, this is encouraged so that everything goes perfectly.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Yes
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
No, our prices are all-inclusive.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
50% of fee.

INFO FOR UNIQUE SERVICES

What specialty service(s) do you provide?
Dance Instructor, Game Shows

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Everything about working with Andy, his team, and our band was fantastic! The pre-wedding planning was smooth and fun. I always received quick, helpful replies from Andy and his team and they seemed genuinely invested in making sure everything was exactly what we wanted. We hired Sound Nation as the band for our reception and they were spectacular! They had everyone on the dance floor until the very last song - including my 93 year old grandmother and great aunt! We received tons of compliments on how great the band was and would absolutely recommend this group (including the additional norms) for anyone who wants a true party. Thank you!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Andy Kushner and his team were a pleasure to work with when arranging our wedding. The music was great. So much fun! All of our guests were dancing!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
I hired PopCulture Strings as a trio to play during my outdoor wedding ceremony and cocktail hour on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. Their music was beautiful and they did a great job custom tailoring the play list (a mix of traditional and contemporary music) to meet my and my husband's preferences. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
June
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Excellent. Everyone commented on how great this band was.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wayland
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
SoundNation brought the house down at our wedding reception and many of our guests said it was the "best wedding band they've ever seen." Andy was great to work with and met with us prior to our wedding to help customize the performance and flow of the evening down to every last detail. It was great to work with someone who allowed us to put our personal touches on the event and it was the perfect end to our special day. We highly recommend them!
Services Used: Band, Lighting & Decor, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Pop Culture Strings was the perfect group for our wedding. An amazing collection of talented and energetic artists. They spent time to understand our music goals and then proceeded to create the perfect musical flow from the pre-reception, wedding ceremony and dinner following. A delight to work with throughout. All of our guests provided rave reviews. We could not have been happier as they made our special day, all the more special. Many thanks the gourd and to Andy Kushner for recommending them.
Services Used: Band, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Pop Culture Strings were absolutely fabulous. They were a string quartet that played pop songs ranging from the Beatles to Lady Gaga. We had them play at our cocktail hour and it gave it class and also got people excited for the reception. Guests at the wedding were blown away by their talent and uniqueness. Working with the group was super easy too. They were extremely accomodating.
Services Used:
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We hired Sound Connection to play at our wedding and they were excellent. After our initial sit down with Andy we knew he was the one and this is without going to see them play. To this day people still talk about the band and how great it was. I plan to contact Andy for any future events. Do yourself and your guests a favor and hire Sound Connection!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancy
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
I wanted to let you know how FANTASTIC Sound Nation was at the wedding of our daughter this past Saturday. I am sure you hear this all the time but they had the place rockin’ and rollin’! At one time, I think every pair of feet were on the dance floor. The energy they put into their performance was contagious and the guests were singing (at least I think they were singing and not screaming!) along w/ the band. Loved it! Loved it! The bride and groom wanted everyone to dance and they got their wish. Even the staff at the reception commented that this was the most fun wedding that has ever been held at the venue. People danced and sang for 4 hours. The wedding was a once in a lifetime event and SOUND NATION took it to the top.

The staff at AKE was A+ and very reponsive. It was a pleasure working with them and we really appreciated their attention to detail. They made it so easy!

Best,
Nancy Stout aka mother of the bride and now mother-in-law!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Olivier
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience working with Andy and Rhythm6. We wanted our special day to be a bit different, and they worked with us to create a truly unique ceremony and party. Sara Gray and the band had everyone dancing all night until we got kicked out by our venue. Many thanks for making it a party to remember.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We booked SoundNation for our wedding, and they were simply AMAZING. It was a pleasure working with AKE in preparing for our special day, and the Director of Operations, Jennifer Bristow, was very professional and responsive to any questions we had. The band director, Robert Sullivan, was likewise outstanding. They played outdoors on a hot June evening, and kept the crowd dancing the entire night. What's more, they listened carefully to our musical tastes, and made sure that all of our guests were entertained. They learned a new song for our first dance (it was a mash-up, so not the easiest), and the female lead absolutely nailed it -- not an easy thing to own a Beyonce medley as fabulously as she did! I have heard from countless guests how MUCH they LOVED the band, and we have AKE and SoundNation to thank for that. Best day of my life, and so glad they were a part of it!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
SoundNation is a great band to have for your wedding! We actually booked them because they played at another wedding we attended and it was one of the few weddings we have ever been to where almost every guest in attendance danced for most of the night. Once again, they didn't fail to impress and our guests had a great time. All of our guests were commenting about how great they were & some asked if they were willing to travel out of the DMV for parties. The band was very flexible because we had to rework the timeline so a family member could finish feeding her newborn in order for her to see the first dance and they even let one of our guests play the guitar for a song! They played a great set and kept us entertained for the entire night. We couldn't have been more pleased.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had Andy Kushner's Sound Connection band perform at our wedding in Middleburg, VA on June 1, 2013. I can honestly say they were the BEST wedding band I've ever heard!! Our guests are still raving about how amazing they were. All 4 singers had incredible voices!!! The musicians were incredible. The band played all of our top songs we requested & made sure to avoid any on our "do not okay list". Everyone was so professional, courteous and FUN! Our guests never left the dance floor!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Hiring Sound Connection was like buying an insurance policy guaranteeing an amazing wedding and party. Andy knows how to design the music to make sure that the wedding is a celebration and a great time. Don't think twice - if you want a wedding that every one will be talking about what a great time they had - hire Sound Connection.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Hands down the BEST band out there! They had all of our guests on the dance floor all night long, and everyone was raving about them. High energy, talented, professional. We loved working with them.
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1318269701917-fbavatar2025642
Chelsea
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Sound Nation was the best wedding band we could ever have asked for! The dance floor was packed from the 1st song to the very last dance. Andy Kushner Entertainment was always fast, responsive and very professional throughout the entire planning period and wedding day itself. We still are hearing from our friends and family that Sound Nation was one of the best wedding bands they've ever seen.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracy
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
I learned about Andy through my now uncle who used him for his daughter's wedding. I was able to experience Marquise there and was very fortunate to be able to have Marquise be available to travel all the way to my wedding in the Chesapeake Bay. I was not disappointed either occasion! Marquise sounds great and were so easy to work with. Even though my wedding was a whirlwind, I enjoyed their talent immensely as did my husband and more importantly our guests had an amazing time largely because the music created such a fun atmosphere. Thank you Andy. Thank you Marquise. My wedding was perfect and you were a HUGE reason for that.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
SoundConnection played at our wedding on May 19, 2012. We're still getting emails and notes from friends raving about the band.

From our first conversation, Andy took the time to understand the kind of wedding reception we were planning, and recommend how SoundConnection could help us meet those needs. Andy helped us plan our reception, and had great suggestions for timing that helped us create the event we wanted.

We hired SoundConnection based on reviews on WeddingWire, as well as feedback from a friend who had hired them. We planned the wedding from out of town, so we weren't able to hear them perform until our wedding day. While it seemed like a slight risk - it worked out perfectly. They kept our party going, and kept the dance floor packed all night, but were also able to deliver beautiful ballads for all of our dances (first dance, father/daughter, mother/son.) Highly recommend SoundConnection.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ruthie
Wedding:
5/20/2012
5.0/5.0
everything was very professional, fun, and all guests of all ages enjoyed the music.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea V
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
We loved our DJ!!! We had DJ Noel and he is excellent to work with. He was very responsive and was easy to work with. He was very flexible working with our hectic schedule and always on time with all our meetings. He was extremely patient with all the times I was indecisive. We thank Noel for being OUR DJ at our wedding!!! It was a pleasure working with you. Everyone...especially my family loved how he interacted with the audience and how he got on the dance floor. My wedding was truly magical and memorable and I want to thank Andy Kushner Entertainment for being a part of it. I will definitely recommend Andy Kushner Entertainment to my friends when they get married. I also plan to work with them again so they can be our DJ for future events. Well Noel, I am so happy to have you as our DJ and for the million time.....THANK YOU for everything. :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
natmd82
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Sound Connection played for our wedding reception in Bethesda, MD, and we can't put into words how incredible they were. Even in the days leading up to the wedding, Andy Kushner was extremely responsive to us and accommodated our rather strict "do not play list," took responsibility for bringing all of our intro and first dance songs, and agreed to read a long and comedic intro script for the bridal party entrances. At the reception, Sound Connection knew exactly how to read the mood of the crowd and adjust their music as appropriate. I was continually amazed with each successive song at how current they were or at what a great spin they put on older songs (when they played Party Rock the crowd was shocked and went wild!). We have been to many, many weddings over the past few years and there is no doubt in our minds that Sound Connection tops all of the other wedding bands we have heard. All of our guests - including professional musicians (Broadway, National Symphony Orchestra, recording artists, etc.) - just raved about the band, and they were the talk of our brunch the next morning. Our wedding band was the MOST important detail to us since we love to dance, and Sound Connection did not let us down. We are pretty sure that all of our engaged friends will be hiring them for their receptions! Absolutely amazing, first-rate performance - thank you Andy and Sound Connection!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
James
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Andy Was great. We met several weeks in advance to select the music and mood. As promised Andy orchestrated the entire evening the guest stayed on the dance floor all night long. The band was very skillful , they changed outfits several times, I would highly recommend Soundconnection.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
akc726
Wedding:
2/19/2012
5.0/5.0
We used Sound Connection as our wedding band, Pop Culture Strings as our string quartet for the ceremony and Richard the piano player for the cocktail reception and all three were AMAZING! We received numerous compliments on all of them. They helped set the tone for the wedding and followed through until the very end. When the wedding was over, all of my friends stayed on the dance floor, hoping that Sound Connection would come out for an encore! Andy was very nice and called me the week before the wedding to make sure everything was going well and to see if I had any last-minute requests. The band played everything that we requested of them and had the dance floor packed all night. It was well worth the money.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fatherOfTheBride
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
SoundNation was awesome! They got the crowd rocking right away, and the dancers’ enthusiasm fueled the band. It was a virtuous cycle of increasing energy on both sides. The crowd cried for more, and everyone was extremely disappointed when the venue's house rules forced them into the finale far too early for the guests. I give them my highest recommendation.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alysonburns
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Amaretto was simply amazing. They have a wide-ranging playlist and happily added a couple of songs to their repertoire for our reception. Both the band and Andy Kushner Entertainment were easy to work with and more than happy to trade email after email after email to make sure we nailed down all of the details prior to the big night.

I knew we made the right choice when I asked Chris about how we might handle the transition from a slow mother/son dance to a high energy dance set. He responded "Don't worry about that... that's what we're good at." We couldn't believe how many people ended up packing the dance floor... and how it stayed that way the rest of the night.

It would take all of our fingers and toes to count the number of guests that told us that Amaretto was the best wedding band they'd ever witnessed. We think they'll do the same for yours.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marianne
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Our guest danced until the very end. We contracted for extra playing time, which was a smart move. The band was very engaged with the audience and permitted some special request from the bride and groom. The band makes or breaks the party. This one was a winner with young to old.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SeptWedding
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Andy Kushner Entertainment and Sound Nation brought the perfect combination of quality music and high energy to our wedding. From the moment they started playing, our guests could not stop dancing! They really understood how to read the crowd and keep everyone entertained. I would highly recommend them!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DC
Wedding:
3/5/2011
5.0/5.0
The band kept our dance floor packed the entire night with their incredible quality of music. They took care of every aspect that a band would need to do at an event, and they did it with professionalism and energy. We decided not to give any special instructions on what music to play, and this was a great decision. They are professionals who do this every weekend, and they knew exactly what to play to keep people dancing all night. We had so many compliments about them, and we have even had guests book them for their upcoming events. My husband and I look forward to seeing them play again!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CarlAndDarin
Wedding:
3/4/2011
5.0/5.0
It's hard to believe that people settle for services from other entertainment companies when you can have so much more with Andy Kushner Entertainment. Seriously. There is no better group of folks in the region from our perspective. People say to us all the time that they've NEVER been to such a great wedding reception and most liken it to more of a "party."

The dance floor was jamming all night long with guest young and old...and people only left when it was time for the decor folks & caterers to begin breaking things down. There was an incredible vibe going from the beginning with DJ Sonkwa and fluid interchanges of Sound Nation (live band) and dj...back and forth with no drop off in attendee excitement.

The band even took the time to learn new music and perform it live at the wedding ceremony using just the piano and beautiful voices! Plus they got on the dance floor themselves with the wireless mic really bringing the love for music to everyone!

Our wedding really was a dream wedding...that's not hokey stuff, it's an honest appraisal.

Carl & Darin
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Sound Connection is the best most amazing band! Everyone danced the entire evening. They worked with us to give the bride and groom exactly what they asked for. Our guests are still raving. Everyone commented that NO ONE sat the whole wedding! their sound is fabulous!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LinzBez
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Andy Kushner and Sound Connection were absolutely fabulous in every possible way. He took the time to meet with my husband and me to discuss exactly what type of party we wanted and to get to know us as individuals and a couple. Having a personal connection really helped, and we couldn't have asked for a better band. They knew exactly what we wanted and what our guests needed to have a good time. Throughout the reception all 200 guests were on the dance floor, only sitting to grab a bite to eat. Our family and friends are still raving about how amazing the band was at our wedding!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brenda
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Sound Connection got the reception going and kept up the pace for the entire wedding. Everyone was dancing and had a fabulous time. They even learned the music and lyrics to a song that the groom's mother wanted to hear when she danced with her son. Andy Kushner was so responsive to everything we wanted, but we followed his recommendations regarding timing, music selections and lighting. In the end, we were having too much fun and had the band play an extra hour. It is a night we will all remember forever.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne-So
Wedding:
8/29/2010
5.0/5.0
I have really only good things to say.
This band has rocked our wedding party. everybody was on the dance floor from the start to the end. It says everything.

Although I wish there was a little bit of country music in their repertory, it ended up being just fine and fun with the 3 country songs that I picked, everybody is still talking about how great of an evening it was and how good our band was. And they are now doing some of our friends weddings :)

Thank you again for making our special day so incredible ! There is no doubt you are the greatest out there !
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Sound Connection is truly the best! The played at our wedding in August and guests are still raving about their performance. Sound Connection had people dancing from the moment they entered the reception until it ended. Your wedding or event will be a guaranteed success if they are there!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cgout
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Andy Kushner Entertainment (especially Sir Andrew) played such a huge role in our big day!! They were so helpful from the very beginning in terms of making suggestions and guiding us in the right direction. We had a vision going into the process and not only did they help us realize it they had amazing ideas about how to truly customize the night so that it was unparalleled. We have recommended them to EVERYONE we know!! Sir Andrew was amazing, we've never seen anything like him as a host/MC, he kept the evening flowing, energetic, and appropriate. The DJ was on point, knowing not only what to play and reading the crowd perfectly, the transitions between songs was like we were at a nightclub!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
6/27/2010
5.0/5.0
Andrew Larris took the time to get to know what we were hoping for at our wedding. He hit it out of the park!! You cannot go wrong with him. What an amazing night!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aspeurach
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
I have nothing but the best things to say about Sound Connection!!!! They are incredible and everyone had the best time dancing to their music. They kept the entire evening lively and knew exactly when, and how, to get the party started! Our guests kept telling us how amazing our band was, and we completely agree!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were incredibly pleased with Sound Connection! Working with the band beforehand was a pleasure due to the quick responses we received and their professionalism. They brought the party to life and got everyone out on the dance floor! We highly recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
IMPACT Events
Wedding:
5/2/2010
5.0/5.0
I am an event planner who owns IMPACT Marketing & Events and planned my own wedding with my wife. We thought we had every detail ironed out up until the last few weeks before the wedding. We then realized that we needed an entertaining host and MC to get the party started and keep the momentum going all night long. There was only one man for the job - Sir Andrew! After 13 years of event/wedding planning, I have never seen anyone engage an audience like the way Andrew did from AKE. Without him, our wedding would not have had the same positive impact on us as well as our guests. I strongly recommend every bride and groom to hire Sir Andrew to host their BIG DAY as they will be happy that they made this decision.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chipshotjim
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
We used Sound Connection for my daughter's wedding in April 2010. The band is fabulous and working with Andy Kushner and his staff was a very satisfactory process. They were responsive, professional, and easy to work with at all times. They have a great deal of wedding experience and because of them, the music part of the big weekend was without stress or tension. They are outstanding!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chillyjilly
Wedding:
1/2/2010
5.0/5.0
I cannot rave about this band enough! Everyone agreed this was the best party ever and at the end of the evening (1AM) the dance floor was full with everyone chanting "encore". And the best part of all was that the band accommodated and played an encore. I wouldn't change a thing. They played beautifully at the ceremony and during the cocktail hour and outdid themselves at the party. WORTH EVERY CENT!!!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josh
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
I wanted to sincerely thank Brenna Kennedy, our Production Coordinator with Kushner Entertainment, for all of her hard work throughout the planning process with Marquise. Her expertise and professionalism were greatly appreciated and her suggestions and insights were both beneficial and attentive to our specific needs.

We would also like to extend our sincerest thank you to Marquise. I can say without hesitation that Marquise exceeded our greatest expectations. Their set list was exceptional and included something for every age. Their energy was infectious and they had everyone at the reception on the dance floor all night. Shirleta, Marquise's band leader, and the band were extremely accommodating and attentive to our specific requests. Everyone commented on how phenomenal the band was and we would definitely recommend them for any occasion. Thank you for making our reception an unforgettable event.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marianne
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
We had Sound Connections at our daughter's wedding in August of 2009.
They were ten steps above a great band. They put on a show that engaged the
audience. The dance floor was crowded the entire evening until the very end.
Teenage, young adult and even grandpa danced the night away.

We would hire them again and are for a 2010 wedding.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justin
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Almost every guest commented that the Groove was the best wedding band they have ever seen.
Services Used: Band
Andy Kushner Entertainment responded with the following comments:

The Groove's name has been changed to theVIPs.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mlk
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
We booked Sound Connection to play at our wedding. They came highly recommended from multiple groups of people. Andy and his assistant Brenna were very friendly and easy to work with. Andy came with the band to our wedding and MC'ed the whole event. I had a very special request, which I don't think is very common, and they accomodated me to the max (I am too embarrassed to say what I did). The band was awesome. Sound Connection was extremely engaged and energetic the whole night. They cared about how our guests were feeling and it showed. Everyone complemented the band afterwards.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
monbelm
Wedding:
5/9/2009
5.0/5.0
After seeing them at an inaugural ball, we hired Sound Connection for our wedding reception. The band did a phenomenal job! Their sound was amazing, as was their range. By trying all kinds of different music and picking up the mood of the crowd, the band managed to get everyone on the dance floor: all the guys who had come without their wives; all the guests that hadn't seen each other in ages and wanted to catch up rather than dance; all the shy non-dancing guests. The musicians were unflappable professionals who worked around the quirks of the venue, the lengthy toasts, and my father's persistent requests for waltzes. There was no difference in the professionalism and energy Sound Connection brought to entertaining our 100+ person party or the 600-person inaugural ball. They made our party spectacular, and we heard compliments about them for weeks afterwards. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eric
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.9/5.0
We had a great time with them and our guests are still raving about the band. We have had a number of friends tell us it was the best wedding band they've ever heard/experienced. They exceeded our expectations on every level and simply knew how to play to a crowd and keep the energy high. We highly, highly recommend Sound Nation without an ounce of hesitation.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marilyn
Wedding:
8/18/2012
4.9/5.0
Noel Sonkwa was our DJ and he was great and easygoing. He kept the music going at the reception and included all our requests. Our crowd did not need any motivation to get on the dance floor and Noel respected that. At the right moment he taught a Cuban line dance which was really fun. There was a slip in one of the processional songs so that explains the 4.5. The cost was reasonable and competitive. We would absolutely recommend him and Andy Kushner Entertainment.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1294880393671-esesh18
Katharine
Wedding:
7/9/2011
4.9/5.0
Andy Kushner's SOUND NATION played at our wedding and they were an unbelievable hit!!! We have received hundreds of compliments from our guests and their talent was evident as the dance floor was packed ALL NIGHT!!

They are tremendously talented musicians and also truly have a knack for making everyone feel included - both young and older guests. At one point in the evening I looked across the dance floor and both a 60 year old guest and a 20 year old guest were dancing with their ties around their heads - sure fire sign of a successful band.

They blended classic motown with recent top 40 hits and were just incredibly professional. They truly made our reception and I am so glad we chose them. My husband is Puerto Rican and Andy even helped us add a Latin percussionist to add a little extra flavor to the reception.

Andy was incredibly easy to work with and the folks from Sound Nation were perfect professionals. They also provided our ceremony music/audio, which was perfect and one sound tech stayed an extra half hour to play songs from an iPod to keep the party going.

SoundNation is expensive, but worth every single penny and probably then some. If you want to really take your wedding reception to the next level - live music from SoundNation is the answer. One of the very best decisions we made in planning our wedding!!!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cmcalligraphy
Wedding:
6/13/2010
4.9/5.0
We hired Sound Connection for our daughter’s wedding. They were awesome. As soon as our guests heard the music as they entered the ballroom, they got on the dance floor. It was packed. Everyone had a fabulous time. The band played the songs we asked for, but they also were able to judge by the crowd what what music would be just right. It’s like they had a sixth sense about what to play. As the party came to a close and people were leaving, we received so many nice comments and compliments about Sound Connection. That made us feel really good. In fact, our other daughter “put in an order” to have Sound Connection at her wedding, whenever that would be.
Six years later we did hire Sound Connection again for her wedding. Our family and friends remembered the band and were so excitied to find out they would be playing at the second wedding too. They knew they were in for a fun celebration!
Kudos to Sound Connection. They are the best. We recommend them to whoever we know who is planning a party.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
6/20/2009
4.9/5.0
Just amazing--the best wedding band that I've ever heard (and all of our guests told us the same thing). They really got the party started and had a blast with everyone all night. The musicians are stellar and the singers are spectacular. A++++
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Sound Nation and Pop Strings played at our wedding and they were both AMAZING! The band was out of this world great, the dance floor was jam packed all night. Even when they tried to slow it down for salads people wouldn't stop dancing. The voices were incredible and it was almost hard to believe they weren't the real singers of the songs!! All we keep hearing from our guests is "BEST BAND EVER!!". I have friends that aren't even engaged yet asking for their info!!

Pop strings crushed it too! Everyone thought it was so cool hearing the current songs for the strings. And Andy came up with the idea to use don't stop believing for the recessional song and everyone loved it!!

Thanks for helping us put together an awesome, amazing night!!!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AYC
Wedding:
4/21/2012
4.8/5.0
We had booked the Sound Nation band through Andy Kushner. The band was by far one of the best bands I've ever seen play at a wedding (and I'm not being biased). Many of our friends have or are opting for bands versus a DJ. Soundnation just made the atmosphere of the evening so much better!

We were referred to them through a friend of a friend. She had a list of bands and as soon as we saw their video we knew they were the one! The "big man's" voice reminds you of Stevie Wonder. We did have a different female lead singer but she was out of this world. They had the entire floor jam packed, and was also willing to learn two new songs for us.

By the end of the night, we had everyone chanting "one more song" because nobody wanted to leave the dance floor. Andy, himself, was also very responsive and professional. We decided on adding a horn a few weeks before and he made it seemless. I highly recommend SoundNation and Andy if you need an experienced band that can keep everyone on the dance floor.

While it was expensive, the price was actually lower than some other bands we had looked at and well worth it!
Services Used: Band
Wwnetwork-128
Andrea
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.8/5.0
we had sound connection at out august 2010 wedding and they were great! we got tons of compliments on them and they kept the dance floor moving the whole night.

my only problem really was that they royally messed up our first dance song, skipped a whole section of the song, which had the cue for our big finale in it. therefore, we had no idea when the song was ending and didn't get to do our fancy dance combination with the dip that we'd been practicing for 3 months. so that was very sad. we had asked to get a CD of them singing our song so we could find a cue if it was different from what we'd been practicing with, but were told that they don't even get their parts until a few days beforehand. our choice was to risk that or bring a CD of our song that they could play instead of playing live, but that seemed silly since we were paying so much for a live band. they do offer to learn 2-3 songs for you and we assumed they would learn it and perform it the same way it was on the CD.

but other than that, we were very happy with them. they also played piano during our cocktail hour, which was fine as well.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brenda
Wedding:
8/7/2010
4.8/5.0
Andy Kushner provided the string quartet for the ceremony, jazz trio for the cocktail hour and the band Sound Connection for the reception. All of the music was fantastic at the wedding. The dance floor was filled for the entire party, up to the last song. It was the livliest party we have ever been at!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
I used the band SoundNation through Andy Kushner for my wedding and I cannot write enough great things about the band. I was nervous at first since I chose them by watching online videos and reading reviews and not by personal experience. Some of the other bands were fantastic but way out of my price range. They were able to learn our first dance and the father-daughter dance just like they had promised. Throughout the wedding, I had guests coming up to me asking how I found them and telling me how wonderful they were. I even had guests going up to them asking for business cards. Everyone both young and old were up and dancing. They played a mix of classic oldies to todays top 40 songs. There was also a great balance between slow dancing and party songs.

The only reason I did not give 5 stars has nothing to do with the band. I wish I had been contacted a month prior to the wedding instead of 2 weeks to figure out the logistics/details of everything. Since I had never been married, I did not know the typical run down and am not able to use my phone during the day so it was very difficult and stressful to get things figured out. Luckily it was all taken care of and the end result was better than what I expected.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cjolly
Wedding:
8/15/2009
4.7/5.0
Andy did a great job helping us find our wedding band, Marquise! Marquise was a great wedding band, they played music that allowed all of our guests from ages 5 to 85 get up and dance! We appreciated their professionalism, they were on time and kept the wedding reception tempo moving forward. We also appreciated that the band's leader spent her time on the microphone singing not commentating or talking to the crowd.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rea
Wedding:
4/14/2012
4.5/5.0
Since wedding wire won't let me post 2 reviews of the same vendor, I have to break them up here. In sum, I rate Sound Nation a full 5-stars (more if I could!) and I rate Andy Kushner Entertainment (the management company 4.5 stars.

Overall, I strongly recommend Andy Kushner Entertainment because of their high-quality, award-winning bands. Music is a smaller portion of your budget, but it is by far one of the most important and memorable elements of your event. For me, the band is the #1 thing that people remember and continue to talk about from my wedding (because of how incredible they were), and I cannot wait for the opportunity to to use them again in the future!

For Sound Nation, I give them a solid 5-stars across the board!! Before my wedding, "the band" was what I was most excited for in the days leading up (aside from marrying the love of my life of course) and they did not disappoint at all. This was the line-item that I splurged a bit in and I'm so glad I did. "Phenomenal" "The Bomb!" "They KILLED it!" is all I continue to hear from our guests months after the event. One guest called recently to say, "I was just at a huge over-the-top birthday party with a great band, but they still weren't as good as Sound Nation. You're band was AMAZING!" Our first dance was to John Legend's "So High" and the lead singer was so good that a few people thought it was really John Legend at first! :-) If you are considering Sound Nation at all, just book them! You won't regret it!

For Andy Kushner Entertainment (the management company), I offer an strong overall 4.5 review. I could not rate management with the same 5-star review because I experienced a few hiccups along the way in my planning process (there was a change in personnel that resulted in a few issues, but Andy stepped up to the plate and made himself PERSONALLY available to me to fix things). I appreciated Andy's commitment to service and in the end, everything was fine.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
6/16/2007
4.3/5.0
A large number of our guests commented that Marquise was the best wedding band they have ever heard. The female vocalist is amazing. She had our 80 year old aunt dancing on the stage!
Services Used: Band
Bg19
smolof
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.2/5.0
We loved Sound Nation's sound and style. They sounded great on my wedding day, HOWEVER, they completely ignored my "do not play list" and played 5 songs in a row that I asked them not to play. I don't know if it was a mix-up or what, but I spent a ton of time going through their song list and I was extremely frustrated at my reception when Miley Cyrus' "Party in the USA" started playing.
With that being said, they learned 2 new songs for us, they sounded wonderful and our guests were on the floor all night. Definitely hire them, just make sure they are aware of your song selections.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
2/09
Wedding:
2/28/2009
4.0/5.0
We hired Sound Nation for our wedding in early 2009 and the band was fabulous. They had a great varied song list and an incredibly full sound. Everything about them was great--they played everything from swing and other material the older guests like and great contemporary stuff too; they also learned a song at my request for the first dance. My guests danced the entire time and I continue to get compliments on the band. My only complaints was that they kind of ignored the list of their songs we had requested they play, with a few exceptions. But honestly, because they avoided the songs I'd asked them not to play, and because everything else they played was so great, I barely noticed the absence of songs I had asked for and didn't hear. I definitely recommend them.
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
Rockville, MD 20850 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Andy Kushner Entertainment
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo