Nophoto-130

April Irelynn Floral & Design

Trenton , MI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1855 Westfield
Trenton, MI US 48183 (map)

PHONE

734-818-7135
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Flowers

INFO FOR FLOWERS

Do you offer free or for charge consultations?
Free
Do you offer delivery, set up, and breakdown services?
Breakdown, Delivery, Setup

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.5/5.0
April did a great job making my vision come to life. The value was great as I think she went above and beyond what she charged. The only minor con was that some of the flowers were dead in some of the arrangements that, if I were her, would have removed completely. We also had a miscommunication over one of the arrangements, but none of that affected our day. I would recommend.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
April was such a pleasure to work with! I didn't really know what I wanted when I went to meet with her and she came up with some great ideas that fit into our budget. On my wedding day I almost cried when I saw my bouquet because it was simply breathtaking!! I highly recommend April!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
9/24/2011
4.2/5.0
I had heard many amazing things about April through the Knot website.

There are a few things that do ring true with her- she is probably the best choice if you are looking for inexpensive wedding flowers.

Seeing as I'm from downriver, visiting her at her home was not a problem. We met in January for my September wedding. She did provide me with a detailed price quote of what I was looking for.

Our contract was for a bride bouquet, 4 bridesmaids, 1 flower girl nosegay, groom bout, 6 additional bouts, and 3 corsages. It was a great deal. I gave her the deposit of $100 with my signed contract.

Communication was sometimes tricky. I'm not sure if e-mail is her best point of contact, but that is primarily how we communicated with each other. Sometimes it would take a few days for her to respond to my inquiries.

We had finalized the drop-off time of my flowers on Wednesday for my Saturday wedding. She confirmed the drop off Saturday morning, and was about 45 minutes late. No big deal to me, obviously there was a Michigan game that day and I was in Ann Arbor.

She e-mailed me asking for me to send down some BMs to get the flowers. I followed the instructions, and sent down the girls to get them for me. She had told them it was all in there, and took off.

The flowers looked great. They had orange Asiatic lilies, hot pink roses, and red cockscomb. However, they didn't hold up as well as I would like. Some of the flowers started to break before we walked down the aisle.

When the girls came upstairs, I opened the box immediately to find out that she had not included my flowergirl's bouquet in my box.

My Mom had called April shortly after her departure (I'm talking less than 5-10 minutes if that) and did not receive an answer to the call. My Mom had tried a few more times, left a few voicemails, etc. to no avail.

April did not return any calls the day of my wedding.

The morning after the wedding, she did write me an e-mail apologizing for the missing flowers. She said she went to the hospital immediately after (due to some family member who is in hospital) and she had kept her phone off. In the same e-mail, she did state she would send me a refund for the flowers that were missing.

I did receive that check this past week, less than 30 days after my wedding.

I was very fortunate that it was not a major bouquet that was missing. I still believe that her prices are fantastic, and her work is good for the amount that I spent.
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1268622613304-cimg2538
Tiffany
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
April was very helpful with providing flower choices for me that were in my budget as I'm not very flower savvy. She always emailed me back in a timely manner. I would recommend her to other brides. Her prices are very reasonable.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
April is great! Her flowers are beautiful and such a great price. I was in love with my bouquet when I saw it. She worked with me within in my price point and still produced beautiful flowers. She also set up an amazing head table and back drop behind it. It really helped set the stage for the reception!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Smitharoo
Wedding:
6/4/2011
4.6/5.0
April was a pleasure to work with and our wedding flowers came out beautiful. She was definitely one of our favorite wedding vendors. We didn't want to spend a ton on flowers and April was completely willing to work within our budget and made suggestions for less expensive options. The flowers were the style and colors we had discussed and they really helped to make our wedding beautiful. The bouquets, boutonnieres, cake flowers, and accent flowers were perfect. My only complaint is that out of the 3 different centerpieces styles we had, 2 were exactly as discussed, but on the 3rd style the colors didn't really match the rest of the flowers or our wedding colors very well. Not a big deal because they were still very beautiful, but worth mentioning. Also, as another reviewer mentioned, she works out of her home so when you meet with her expect kids and dogs (who want to be in your lap). But to me, if it meant saving money on the flowers, it wasn't a problem.

April is very friendly and courteous and responds to emails very quickly. I changed my mind so many times and asked a ton of questions and she always responded quickly and never acted like she was annoyed by my many emails.

I would HIGHLY recommend April to anyone who wants beautiful affordable flowers.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AllisonMFry
Wedding:
5/15/2011
3.9/5.0
I found April through a friend. I added her on Facebook and looked through her dozens of pictures. I was impressed by her beautiful designs, so I made an appointment to see if she could provide my wedding bouquets, boutonnieres and corsages.

My bridesmaids and I went to her house and were a little appalled that she let her dogs inside to lick us and jump all over us. Looking back, this was extremely unprofessional. I understand she works out of her home, but she should have left her dogs outside for the 20 minutes we were there.

I also found she had a very dry personality. She's not much of an outgoing person, so keep that in mind when choosing your wedding florist. She didn't smile much. Weddings are supposed to be happy, right?

One thing that really bothered me: We set up a time I'd stop by to drop off the rest of my payment. I will mention I thought I already paid her, so I was actually late getting the payment to her. That was obviously my mistake.

She wasn't home when my bridesmaid went by to drop the cash off to her. April and I had written back and forth through e-mail days before to confirm the date and time, so I was extremely upset when she wasn't home. My bridesmaid waited there for an hour after my stated time and still wasn't there.

Countless phone calls and emails later, April called me back and explained she was home now. NO apology for NOT being there when she said she would. I ended up just driving there myself, getting the money from my bridesmaid so she could go about her day and paid April myself.

She explained a family member was in the hospital and she needed to get out of her house, so she went for a bike ride. She obviously didn't take her cell phone with her. I understand things come up, but she should have called me to explain this before she left for her ride so I wouldn't have wasted my bridesmaid's time by sending her there on our agreed-upon time. It really rubbed me the wrong way that she never even apologized for being an hour late.

On the day of my wedding, April delivered my flowers as promised. Everyone loved the bouquets, although the tied ribbon design she put on my bouquet came apart before I walked down the aisle. It wasn't knotted tight enough. Not a big deal but worth mentioning. I'm an easygoing bride, so I just tried to tie it back as tight as I could.

I wasn't particularly impressed with my husband's boutonniere. She had laced some green ribbon into the shape of a support ribbon (think the pink cancer ribbon) and it just didn't belong. None of her pictures on Facebook showed this design and I certainly didn't ask for it, so it just didn't belong there. Looked weird and depressing to me.

I would not go back to April for flowers. Her flower designs are beautiful and affordable, but there are trade-offs that I wish I hadn't made. A bride shouldn't be as stressed as I was about the payment situation. Her business practices and professionalism have a little bit of polishing to go through.
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1261979339925-2622674
Jen M.
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
What can I say that others haven't about April's work? She was a dream to work with and our flowers were gorgeous.

Early on in the planning process, my mother in law and I decided we were going to do our centerpieces ourselves. A few days under three months out, we realized this wasn't going to work and I asked April if she could do our centerpieces and alter arrangements as well.

I had Hydrangea's, Jade Roses and Spray Roses in my bouquet, my girls had purple hydrangea and Jade roses and my flower girl had a dark purple and green carnation pomander. Prior to the wedding, April recommended artificial flowers for my nieces pomander because in the past she said they like to swing them and then they become "weapons". Boy was she right. Typically my niece (who is 4) is very careful with flowers, was swinging that that thing around left and right. Even though she wasn't gentle with her pomander, it held up perfectly and lasted all night - as did all of the flowers/arrangements.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
soon-to-be mrs
Wedding:
8/21/2010
4.8/5.0
April was great! Very helpful, and willing to work with my budget.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rodney
Wedding:
8/8/2010
5.0/5.0
I was referred to April by my "August Wedding Buddy" after her and I compared notes on trying to find the most affordable vendors for our weddings. I wasn't willing to spend thousands of dollars on flowers that I would only be able to enjoy for that day but it was an important feature to have because I love having fresh flowers around me as much as possible. The first meeting was a little stressful with all the suggestions my mother keep coming up with even though I had a good idea of what I wanted. April quickly turned the focus back to me which made appreciate her professionalism even more. Her suggestions for my colors (red & purple) were creative and came out PERFECT! When she showed up that morning at the Whitney with the bouquets I cried, while the make up artist quickly shewed her away I was confident at that point her work at the alter and reception venue would be just what I wanted and she didn't disappoint. Her arrangements are REALLY want made my vision come alive. Everyone kept complimenting me on how perfect the colors came together but I couldn't take the credit it was all April!

I am already referring her to brides I know.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
leeshab1982
Wedding:
6/25/2010
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about April. She did an amazing job on all of our flowers. Our bouquets were absolutely gorgeous! They were so full and all of the flowers were bloomed and bright. I honestly would not change one thing about the way they turned out.

I had originally only hired April to do bouquets, bouts, and corsages because we had our centerpieces through another florist. Well, two weeks before my wedding, the other florist flaked out and we were stuck with no centerpieces. I called April, rather frantically, and she totally calmed me down and agreed to take on our centerpieces too.

I am so happy that the other florist backed out on us. April's centerpieces were beautiful and I wouldn't have wanted anything else! The fact that she came through for us at the last minute and did a fabulous job, shows how much she really cares about the people she works for.

I would recommend April in a heartbeat! I know she will be making many brides super happy in the future!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mink492
Wedding:
9/13/2009
5.0/5.0
April works out of her house so her prices are very affordable. I am not a huge flower person, but April was very helpful in guiding us to make our selection. Our flowers were beautiful and didn't break our budget. She was friendly and quick to reply to emails.
Services Used: Flowers

MAP

 
1855 Westfield, Trenton, MI 48183 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for April Irelynn Floral & Design
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220