Nophoto-130

Arden Hills Resort Club and Spa

Sacramento , CA

LOCATION

Sacramento, CA US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

3.9
out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
3.7/5.0
4.1/5.0
3.9/5.0
3.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Martinique
Wedding:
4/6/2013
4.7/5.0
Arden Hills Resort is a beautiful paradise for anyone longing for an exotic, romantic ceremony and elegant reception. The journey to the altar can be difficult at times but the staff from start to finish are there for you! They answered all my questions, took my family on countless tours so I could show them, and we're all very friendly. I would suggest getting an outside day-of coordinator because once my reception started my day-of coordinator that came with the Arden Hills package I purchased was no where to be found. So when it came to cake cutting(we couldn't find a knife), getting the sparklers ready(didn't know where they were or the lighters), and other little things I found myself, mom and others having to talk with the serving staff in order to get things done. At one point I was down on my hands and knees going through all our stuff under the tables looking for sparklers instead of enjoying our reception. However, the ceremony went off without a hitch and Shannon came to the rescue whenever we needed her! Overall the experience was definitely five stars worthy, the food was amazing, the staff was friendly, and it was the wedding of our dreams.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1279075160418-mg00031a
jamie
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Arden Hills Resort was the BEST place to hold my wedding. They were extremely helpful to me over the year it took to plan the wedding. my coordinator was there when ever I needed her and they accomadated me with anything I needed. The day of my wedding, they set everything up and it looked GREAT! They made things run so smoothly and I couldnt have picked a better place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
anonymous reviewer
Wedding:
7/10/2011
2.9/5.0
The wedding coordination is great... UNTIL the reception begins, when no one is attentive to what is going on. We had a great wedding coordinator before the actual event from Courtney, so no complaint there. She is wonderful. But Arden Hills obviously splits the responsibilities and turns everything over to the less-than-competent banquet staff once the reception itself begins. We were constantly looking for someone to troubleshoot problems. We had to walk into the back room many times just to find help with problems of one sort or another. One table had to take more sparkling cider from another table because empty bottles were not being replaced as we had requested. There should have been someone on the ball, to watch, listen, and respond before problems arose. It is a beautiful venue but it lacks consistency in terms of wedding coordination from start to finish.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
WishUKnew
Wedding:
11/27/2010
4.6/5.0
They were great to work with! The site was beautiful and they were really flexible and nice with the budget we gave them. The food was fantastic as well! I highly recommend them!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melissajbarker
Wedding:
11/20/2010
4.0/5.0
Everything looked beautiful. There were a couple things that were forgotten, when we got to our head table, they never poured the champagne for our toasts. And they also ran out of olives for Martinis. The coordinator was nice enough to run to the store and buy olives for us though! But we never got our champagne...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
10/22/2010
4.0/5.0
Arden Hills was a beautiful place for a wedding. They are very good at their planning process and I was never concerned with the execution of our wedding plans or ideas.

Our wedding coordinator was Melissa, who was very nice and helpful!

It was very expensive to have our wedding there, but it was mostly worth it. If you have the money to spend, it certainly was stress-free!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg2
Angro
Wedding:
9/19/2010
4.0/5.0
Arden Hills was visually EXACTLY what my husband and I were looking for in a venue. We wanted a Grecian/Tuscan type of feel which is immediately obvious upon entering the gate at Arden. Arden is an excellent venue, espeically if you're looking to have your ceremony and reception location in the same place. We did, so consider the convenience for your guests and don't make them travel twice. The Courtyard is beautiful as is and needs little to no decor, especially with the gorgeous flowers that are already in place. We simply added some aisle decor and a few flower petals that were dropped by the flower girls (no runner needed), so that saved us some money. The lighting fixtures, carpeting and other decor in the Gold Room are a little outdated, but some decent lighting and elegant decor is all you need to change the whole ambiance of the room. The food was incredible! Our guests are still complimenting the food almost 2 months later. The food on wedding day was even better than at the tasting. The staff is very professional but they are busy because they are a large venue and service many clients. Just be patient because they'll respond to you in time for all your deadlines. Sandra was excellent in her knowledge of the wedding business and is very updated on the new trends - plus she's beautiful so that's always a plus. Alicia was very helpful and flexible as our day-of coordinator. She accommodated our last minute changes with a smile. The Villa is a beautiful accommodation and staying on site makes the wedding night so much easier with no driving needed. However, Arden is strict on their rules, so read those in detail ahead of time because they won't bend on rules. Keep in mind that Arden caters to their preferred vendors, so choose the ones that are right FOR YOU and not for Arden. Also, Arden is a bit pricey, if that's a factor for you, but at the end of it all, they delivered amazing food, great drinks, a beautiful space, and professional staff to help us. Regardless of the venue you choose, I will ALWAYS recommend hiring an outside planner (not connected to any one venue) and allow them to do the majority of the communications for you. It will save you the stress and they know all the ins and outs of the wedding business. Either way, Arden Hills is an amazing wedding location and I'd do it all over again at the Arden.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1274748852497-janandalicia240
Aleasha
Wedding:
8/8/2010
3.6/5.0
Looking for a site to get married was a difficult task! I spent many nights search until I found Arden Hills. The locations was beautiful! I had three places on the property to choose from to get married, I fell in love with the flowers at the Villa! They took care of the catering I just had to choose the package I wanted. At first I thought they were to expensive, but once I priced the tables, chairs, table cloths, silverware, plates, napkins, and food individually they ended up being affordable.
The whole staff is very professional, the wedding went very smoothly, their were a couple little details they left out, but no body besides my self and my mom would of noticed. The one draw back is they do not have a place for the groom to get ready except the bathroom. But that is really the only negative, I would defiantly recommend Arden Hills to a friend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kimurob
Wedding:
8/1/2010
4.3/5.0
Our wedding at Arden Hills turned out to be so beautiful. The outdoor courtyard for the ceremony and Gold Room for the reception accomodated our large guest list (220) and all the existing flowers required little extra decoration. Our wedding coordinator, Shannon Hall, was so friendly and accomodating and ensured that the day ran smoothly. The main drawback was that it is a country club and the venue restricted access to most of the property which limited photo opportunities. Our guests seemed very happy with the food and service.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Mae-Ann
Wedding:
5/30/2010
1.0/5.0
I agree 150% with one Yelp review on that says "Do not let your worst enemy book at event at Arden Hills." There is a reason 90 % of the reviews on Yelp are of the salon or the spa and not the actual event venue. A lot of the positive 4-5 star reviews are also from people who have ATTENDED a wedding or event but not actually been the person to book the event. The staff here is incompetent, rude, unprofessional and snooty - from the bored "I have better things to do" receptionist to the event managers who lack customer service skills and try to execute the most important (and possibly most expensive) day of your life with very little effort. Their website advertises a fancy, world-class venue and unparalleled service when in reality; all they are really after is your money. We booked our wedding ceremony and reception here in 2009 because we fell in love with the Villas. The Sales Manager sold us on how beautiful the Villas Garden was about all the perks and amenities of what it would be like to be the "Villas Bride and Groom." It was expensive, but we thought we were paying for quality as that was what they were supposed to be known for right? Wrong! There were so many things that went wrong that easily could've been avoided - it felt like no one cared to correct it, period! Not only was there a lack of communication skills and professionalism in the staff (especially the Managers and even General Manager), there was a huge lack in customer service and competence.

I would be more than happy to email or speak with anyone interested or even thinking about booking an event there to answer whatever questions you have about our experience. I would give you my time simply because I do not want you to go through the stress and frustrations that my husband and I went through. I have been in guest relations my whole career and cannot believe how much Arden Hills lacks. They will take your money and all you'll be left with are pretty pictures of the garden and the outside of the Villas. If you book here, you'll basically only be paying for the photo opportunities and NOT quality, service or execution. Please check into alternative venues in Sacramento before you even think about touring this place. This place is just not worth the time, effort, patience or money it takes to finding an event/wedding venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1259809054351-engagementpicture1
Aubree
Wedding:
5/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Arden Hills was the perfect venue for my wedding! Everything was top notch! Thank you so much for a classy, elegant, memorable day! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CHanft
Wedding:
6/20/2009
1.4/5.0
Although our wedding coordinator was really great, Arden Hills as a company is horrible. Customer Service is NOT their forte. They do have an incredible venue, but that will only get them so far. The day of my wedding they treated my guests and my bridal party like garbage. I was incredibly embarrassed. After spending nearly $18,000 at their venue, they had the audacity to not let in a catered lunch I had delivered to my fiancee and his groomsman while they waited in the grooms suite. They made the guys order something from the bar first. Seriously? My $18,000 at Arden Hills alone was not enough??? Most of their staff is incompetent and rude. Our bridal suite in the villa lost its electricity 2 hours before the wedding and it took nearly 45 minutes to fix. The toilet broke 45 minutes before the ceremony and they never fixed it, my husband and I came back to our "honeymoon suite" in the villa at midnight to find a still broken toilet- how romantic. It's too bad such a beautiful venue has such horrible service.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Californey
Wedding:
10/19/2008
4.8/5.0
After having everything planned and organized our wedding planner quite 2 weeks before our wedding day& our priest had a stroke. They were very quick to inform us and meet as many times necessary to make me & husband happy so we feel comfortable going to our wedding day. Everything went smooth and was lovely. They were very helpful along the way .. nothing was rushed and no huge disasters. Friendly, professional staff!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nichole
Wedding:
8/16/2008
3.6/5.0
Arden Hills was my dream site for my wedding ceremony and reception. We booked almost two years in advance and were told by the event booker everything we wanted to hear - our options for set up, timing, food.. etc. Then, when it came closer to our wedding we were assigned a wedding coordinator - who gave us an entire set of different answers to he questions we had answered months before. We had to change a lot of our plans and it was added stress that no bride needs that close to her wedding.
It wasn't all bad - we had many bumps in the road, but when it came down to it, they did do a beautiful job and our wedding was perfect. I just wish the planning would have been a bit less stressful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katgal
Wedding:
5/10/2008
3.3/5.0
Overall, the event went smoothly. There were, however, a number of small mistakes throughout the evening. Flowers weren't transported from ceremony to reception, aisle runner was missing, and vases were not on the wedding party table as requested. But all in all, it was a nice event and everyone enjoyed themselves.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
4/26/2008
3.8/5.0
Arden Hills was a beautiful location, but there are a lot of weddings going on all the time there, so I didn't feel as special as I would have liked. i.e. as my ceremony was set up and I was looking at it before walking to my room to get dressed, a bridal party came in and did their wedding rehearsal there. A few drawbacks were, you have to go with one of their florists or pay a buyout fee, and they weren't as responsive as I would have liked. Otherwise, I loved my location. It was gorgeous and I got a lot of great response from guests. I would definitely recommend this venue. You get a DOC, which took a lot of stress off. The initial price tag looks high, but when you realize you are paying a flat fee (and not having to rent tables, chairs, find a caterer, etc.) it actually ended up being one of the best deals we found. Another major plus, was the bar was a flat fee per person. We had an open bar for five hours for about $18 per person. If you are hosting your event for people that like to drink, this is a good deal. The drawback though, was the champagne toast was ridiculously expensive ($5 per person for ONE GLASS OF CHAMPAGNE!) and we didn't end up going for for the chapagne toast. The food was also pretty good and we felt it was reasonably priced.
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LK
Wedding:
9/3/2006
3.4/5.0
When we saw the venue we knew this was where we wanted to have our wedding. When we first talked to them everything sounded pefect but the closer we got to the date there were a lot of changes. The cook and wedding coordinator had left the facility so we had to work with a new cook and coordinator which made it a little hard since we loved the food we tried when we booked and we had to explain to the new wedding coordinator all our details again. At first we were frustrated but the facility worked with us and made sure we were satisfied with the services and even got the banquet manager to step in to make sure we were happy.
Throughout the planning everything went well, but during the day of our wedding. There were a few other weddings that same day so halfway through our wedding we lost our coordinator and timing was off, that frustrated us. With the other weddings going on it was a little hectic and we lost a few things since our bridal suite had people going in and out, since then they have built the villas so hopefully others will not have that problem. We stayed at the villas for our 1 year anniversary and they are gorgeous..... The only suggestion I would have would be for the wedding coordinator to focus on one wedding the whole time instead of trying to juggle 2 weddings on the same day, for the price we paid for services I don't think that is asking for that much.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
From the day of booking Arden Hills Resort Club and Spa for our wedding until after our wedding we were SO impressed with the service, Kathy and Shannon were willing to help every step of the way knowing my family was from out of town. Shannon made sure that everything was the way we wanted it and was willing to go above and beyond for us. Thank you so much!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Arden Hills Resort Club and Spa
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220