130x130 sq 1276451763627 wwthumb

Aria Melody DJ

Hoboken , NJ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

708 Jefferson Street, 4
Hoboken, NJ 07030 US (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Aria Melody DJ is a refreshingly different kind of company - the alternative to the cheesy DJ.

As a wedding guest himself, John Sinclair strives to get right what so many DJs... Read more
Aria Melody DJ is a refreshingly different kind of company - the alternative to the cheesy DJ.

As a wedding guest himself, John Sinclair strives to get right what so many DJs get wrong. He constantly monitors the volume, honors all "must play" and "do not play" lists, pronounces all names correctly and doesn't play your typical, overplayed music.

No lights. No fog. No blow-up instruments. No excessive talking on the microphone.

Aria Melody DJ believes music can be fun but professional, tasteful and without gimmicks.

And of course, you'll have complete creative control over your playlist.

We're rated 5-stars by Wedding Wire, Project Wedding and Yelp.com users and a favorite of couples and wedding planners alike.


Please visit our website @ | www.ariamelody.com & if our approach matches your taste, we look forward to hearing from you.

No pressure. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1267753843637 ariamelodysrccmykcs2
130x130 sq 1276450062627 johndjpic
130x130 sq 1267740172113 janinebryan390
130x130 sq 1267740590941 jessicaandjustin1687
130x130 sq 1267740206160 reception4
130x130 sq 1267740136035 johnns2
130x130 sq 1267740713082 0599
130x130 sq 1267740525629 0611
130x130 sq 1267740503395 0530

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
The anti-cheesy wedding DJ: no lights, no fog, no blow-up saxophones, no ponytail, no drinking, no taking breaks, names pronounced correctly, volume set at an appropriate level, the dance floor packed. I prefer to stay in the background to ensure the music is seamless -- its your wedding day, the DJ shouldn't be the center of attention.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
You'll have complete creative control over your playlist. Some clients select all the music to be played; some just a few songs. And of course, we'll discuss how you would like requests to be handled.
What is your usual attire?
I prefer to blend in as a guest: dark suit, tasteful shirt & tie. I vowed to never be the DJ in a glittery tux or collarless shirt.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
Only if it's a unique version. I'll research all music before your wedding day.
How many other DJs do you work with?
You'll meet with John Sinclair and he'll be your DJ/MC on the day of your wedding. We have a comprehensive contingency plan in case of an emergency (one that we've never, ever used).
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
We book dates on a four-hour minimum.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes. And we prefer to do this for each & every booking.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
We don't claim expertise in any one international genre; we've done Jewish, Greek, Serbian, Liberian, Italian, Spanish, Irish, German and Bosnian weddings.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Absolutely! Sometimes the best place to start is writing out your "do-not-play" list. Generally, our "do-not-play" list contains any sort of line dance (Macarena, The Chicken Dance, YMCA), and what we call "typical" wedding music: It's Raining Men, Funkytown, The Twist, Mony Mony, etc.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes. We only use professional DJ equipment: Mackie 450 speakers, Denon CD Players and Sennheiser Wireless microphones.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
None. No lights. No fog. No blow-up instruments. We promise.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
Approximately 60-90 minutes. We require a table & access to electrical outlet, which we'll coordinate with your venue.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
Never. We do not hang any signage or pass out business cards. We won't even say our company name during your event.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
All speaking on the microphone is professional, tasteful and kept to a minimum (as specified by you).
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Music is the best motivator. We have excellent judgement and know what and when to play to motivate your guests.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
No breaks. No meals. No alcohol. No smoking. No hitting on bridesmaids.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
We book 3-4 weddings a month maximum so each and every couple gets the customized, personal service they expect.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
There are no additional charges once quoted a rate.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
30% of the total amount.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Teresa
Wedding:
11/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Aria Melody was great! We had Joseph as our DJ and greatly enjoyed working with him. He really listened to what we wanted (no cheesy songs or excess time on the mike!) and incorporated some last minute changes/additions the day of the wedding seamlessly. We had an amazing time dancing our hearts out, as did our friends/family. We'd recommend Aria Melody in a heartbeat!
Aria Melody was great! We had Joseph as our DJ and greatly enjoyed working with him. He really listened to what we wanted Read more...
Aria Melody was great! We had Joseph as our DJ and greatly enjoyed working with him. He really listened to what we wanted (no cheesy songs or excess time on the mike!) and incorporated some last minute changes/additions the day of the wedding seamlessly. We had an amazing time dancing our hearts out, as did our friends/family. We'd recommend Aria Melody in a heartbeat! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Rachel
Wedding:
10/18/2014
4.9/5.0
Everyone raved about how great of a DJ we hired for our wedding, and we have Owen to thank! He did a superb job keeping the music going and getting everyone on the dance floor. The floor was packed basically the entire night, so compliments to the DJ! One of the introductions got messed up, but it was an honest mistake that I think was due to an error in printing the names in our wedding party. I was a bit bummed that he prematurely began a particular song before we were ready for it, but again, it was likely miscommunication and would have happened with any DJ company. Overall, we were very pleased with Owen and Aria Melody, and we were so fortunate to have had them perform at our wedding! Owen did a fantastic job, and so many of our friends made it a point to tell us how excellent our DJ was at mixing music and keeping everyone on the dance floor! We would 100% recommend Owen and Aria Melody to anyone and everyone!!!!
Everyone raved about how great of a DJ we hired for our wedding, and we have Owen to thank! He did a superb job keeping Read more...
Everyone raved about how great of a DJ we hired for our wedding, and we have Owen to thank! He did a superb job keeping the music going and getting everyone on the dance floor. The floor was packed basically the entire night, so compliments to the DJ! One of the introductions got messed up, but it was an honest mistake that I think was due to an error in printing the names in our wedding party. I was a bit bummed that he prematurely began a particular song before we were ready for it, but again, it was likely miscommunication and would have happened with any DJ company. Overall, we were very pleased with Owen and Aria Melody, and we were so fortunate to have had them perform at our wedding! Owen did a fantastic job, and so many of our friends made it a point to tell us how excellent our DJ was at mixing music and keeping everyone on the dance floor! We would 100% recommend Owen and Aria Melody to anyone and everyone!!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Michelle
Wedding:
8/30/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I just got married last weekend, August 30, 2014 and we had Joe as our DJ. From the beginning when we first met him we already had a good feeling about him and when we met up in person we knew that we really made the right decision. I gave him a list of songs so he can have an overview of what we like to listen to and he used that to curate an awesome set list for our wedding. Our wedding was such a blast and everyone was on their feet from the 5 year old to the 70 years olds! He knew when to keep the crowd up and going and when to let them rest and over all he just gave such a great energy! All our friends immediately asked for his information and my mother in law even wants him to DJ her birthday party!! Thank you so much Joe for such a wonderful time, you made our wedding perfect!

Best,

Joey and Michelle :)
My husband and I just got married last weekend, August 30, 2014 and we had Joe as our DJ. From the beginning when we first Read more...
My husband and I just got married last weekend, August 30, 2014 and we had Joe as our DJ. From the beginning when we first met him we already had a good feeling about him and when we met up in person we knew that we really made the right decision. I gave him a list of songs so he can have an overview of what we like to listen to and he used that to curate an awesome set list for our wedding. Our wedding was such a blast and everyone was on their feet from the 5 year old to the 70 years olds! He knew when to keep the crowd up and going and when to let them rest and over all he just gave such a great energy! All our friends immediately asked for his information and my mother in law even wants him to DJ her birthday party!! Thank you so much Joe for such a wonderful time, you made our wedding perfect!

Best,

Joey and Michelle :) Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
elise
Wedding:
7/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Thank You, Owen!!! Aria Melody was perfect for our wedding. Owen was awesome to work with and did a great job. He accommodated all our requests, and even found some Italian songs that were requested by our families. He was helpful in guiding us to select the perfect ceremony and reception music for key moments. We are so happy to have worked with Owen and Aria Melody - can't recommend them enough!
Thank You, Owen!!! Aria Melody was perfect for our wedding. Owen was awesome to work with and did a great job. He Read more...
Thank You, Owen!!! Aria Melody was perfect for our wedding. Owen was awesome to work with and did a great job. He accommodated all our requests, and even found some Italian songs that were requested by our families. He was helpful in guiding us to select the perfect ceremony and reception music for key moments. We are so happy to have worked with Owen and Aria Melody - can't recommend them enough! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Talk about a DANCE PARTY!! From the moment we walked in through the doors the WHOLE ENTIRE wedding was dancing their asses off! Owen, our DJ for the night listened to every single word we said, and totally made our wedding the party of the year.

We are so thankful to John, who runs the company and Owen, for their vision and listening to our details. I cannot wait to have another party and have them rocking the house again!

We love you!
Talk about a DANCE PARTY!! From the moment we walked in through the doors the WHOLE ENTIRE wedding was dancing their asses Read more...
Talk about a DANCE PARTY!! From the moment we walked in through the doors the WHOLE ENTIRE wedding was dancing their asses off! Owen, our DJ for the night listened to every single word we said, and totally made our wedding the party of the year.

We are so thankful to John, who runs the company and Owen, for their vision and listening to our details. I cannot wait to have another party and have them rocking the house again!

We love you! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Kate
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.8/5.0
John was amazing to work with! He responded to all emails very quickly and was very professional. We sent him a list of the types of songs we wanted played and some must plays. He filled in the gaps, and kept the dance floor full all night. And most important to us, there we no gimmicks or cheesy announcements, just great music! Would highly recommend!
John was amazing to work with! He responded to all emails very quickly and was very professional. We sent him a list of Read more...
John was amazing to work with! He responded to all emails very quickly and was very professional. We sent him a list of the types of songs we wanted played and some must plays. He filled in the gaps, and kept the dance floor full all night. And most important to us, there we no gimmicks or cheesy announcements, just great music! Would highly recommend! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Rich
Wedding:
4/25/2014
5.0/5.0
We decided on Aria after seeing Owen dj a friends wedding. The music was awesome and we loved that he never made the night about him. So happy we moved forward with him for our own wedding. He had the dance floor packed the entire night and did a flawless job of feeling out the crowd and playing the right music at the right time. If you want great tunes and a professional who understands it's your night, aria is the way to go. He also did the ceremony and cocktail hour - worth every penny!
We decided on Aria after seeing Owen dj a friends wedding. The music was awesome and we loved that he never made the night Read more...
We decided on Aria after seeing Owen dj a friends wedding. The music was awesome and we loved that he never made the night about him. So happy we moved forward with him for our own wedding. He had the dance floor packed the entire night and did a flawless job of feeling out the crowd and playing the right music at the right time. If you want great tunes and a professional who understands it's your night, aria is the way to go. He also did the ceremony and cocktail hour - worth every penny! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Daniel
Wedding:
3/30/2014
5.0/5.0
Let me start by saying: all of the guests we've heard from has said they loved the music and how perfectly it fit our wedding. We knew early on that we wanted a simple elegant reception to match our personality as a couple. When we met Owen over coffee, we got a good feeling from him that he understood what we were going for AND that he was a professional who knew all the small details we couldn't predict that would help make the day perfect. Owen worked with us to make the reception the perfect mix of excitement, casual, fun, and elegant. As I said earlier, everyone tells us they had a fantastic time, and we really loved it. Thank you so much Owen and Aria Melody, we will gladly recommend you to our friends!
Let me start by saying: all of the guests we've heard from has said they loved the music and how perfectly it fit our Read more...
Let me start by saying: all of the guests we've heard from has said they loved the music and how perfectly it fit our wedding. We knew early on that we wanted a simple elegant reception to match our personality as a couple. When we met Owen over coffee, we got a good feeling from him that he understood what we were going for AND that he was a professional who knew all the small details we couldn't predict that would help make the day perfect. Owen worked with us to make the reception the perfect mix of excitement, casual, fun, and elegant. As I said earlier, everyone tells us they had a fantastic time, and we really loved it. Thank you so much Owen and Aria Melody, we will gladly recommend you to our friends! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Denesha
Wedding:
3/28/2014
5.0/5.0
I always second guess reviews with all 5's but Aria Melody definitely deserves the high ratings. I was contacted quickly by John Sinclair after I left my contact information online. He outlined everything I needed to know regarding Aria's services and was beyond helpful. He took care of all of the administrative duties and made sure I was taken care of up to my wedding date.

Joseph Schimicci DJ'ed my wedding and I cannot say enough great things about Joe. He took the time discuss the vibe I was going for at the wedding, the type of music I liked (and the type of music my groom, and family liked as well) I had some pretty specific requests and Joe was able to deliver on everything I needed. After giving Joe a list of songs he was able to incorporate other songs not on the list that I absolutely loved. I allowed my guests to make requests but one of the songs requested I was not a fan of so while dancing I made eye contact withe Joe and he knew right away to smoothly transition out to the next song. It was pretty cool :). A month later guests were still asking about my venue and my DJ.

I highly, highly recommend Aria Melody and would use them again for any event where I need DJ services.
I always second guess reviews with all 5's but Aria Melody definitely deserves the high ratings. I was contacted quickly Read more...
I always second guess reviews with all 5's but Aria Melody definitely deserves the high ratings. I was contacted quickly by John Sinclair after I left my contact information online. He outlined everything I needed to know regarding Aria's services and was beyond helpful. He took care of all of the administrative duties and made sure I was taken care of up to my wedding date.

Joseph Schimicci DJ'ed my wedding and I cannot say enough great things about Joe. He took the time discuss the vibe I was going for at the wedding, the type of music I liked (and the type of music my groom, and family liked as well) I had some pretty specific requests and Joe was able to deliver on everything I needed. After giving Joe a list of songs he was able to incorporate other songs not on the list that I absolutely loved. I allowed my guests to make requests but one of the songs requested I was not a fan of so while dancing I made eye contact withe Joe and he knew right away to smoothly transition out to the next song. It was pretty cool :). A month later guests were still asking about my venue and my DJ.

I highly, highly recommend Aria Melody and would use them again for any event where I need DJ services. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Melissa
Wedding:
3/15/2014
5.0/5.0
I had the pleasure to work Owen for my wedding. From our first meeting to the day of the event, he was so easy to work with. My music selections were played, my do not play list was not played..it was awesome! I made changes to playlist along the process and everything was handled effortlessly. Not to mention, my guests were talking about how great the music was well after my event. Great signs of an awesome DJ!
I had the pleasure to work Owen for my wedding. From our first meeting to the day of the event, he was so easy to work Read more...
I had the pleasure to work Owen for my wedding. From our first meeting to the day of the event, he was so easy to work with. My music selections were played, my do not play list was not played..it was awesome! I made changes to playlist along the process and everything was handled effortlessly. Not to mention, my guests were talking about how great the music was well after my event. Great signs of an awesome DJ! Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
708 Jefferson Street, 4, Hoboken, NJ 07030 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Aria Melody DJ
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1276451763627 wwthumb