130x130 sq 1276451763627 wwthumb

Aria Melody DJ

Hoboken , NJ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

708 Jefferson Street, 4
Hoboken, NJ 07030 US (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Aria Melody DJ is a refreshingly different kind of company - the alternative to the cheesy DJ.

As a wedding guest himself, John Sinclair strives to get right what so many DJs... Read more
Aria Melody DJ is a refreshingly different kind of company - the alternative to the cheesy DJ.

As a wedding guest himself, John Sinclair strives to get right what so many DJs get wrong. He constantly monitors the volume, honors all "must play" and "do not play" lists, pronounces all names correctly and doesn't play your typical, overplayed music.

No lights. No fog. No blow-up instruments. No excessive talking on the microphone.

Aria Melody DJ believes music can be fun but professional, tasteful and without gimmicks.

And of course, you'll have complete creative control over your playlist.

We're rated 5-stars by Wedding Wire, Project Wedding and Yelp.com users and a favorite of couples and wedding planners alike.


Please visit our website @ | www.ariamelody.com & if our approach matches your taste, we look forward to hearing from you.

No pressure. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1267753843637 ariamelodysrccmykcs2
130x130 sq 1276450062627 johndjpic
130x130 sq 1267740172113 janinebryan390
130x130 sq 1267740590941 jessicaandjustin1687
130x130 sq 1267740206160 reception4
130x130 sq 1267740136035 johnns2
130x130 sq 1267740713082 0599
130x130 sq 1267740525629 0611
130x130 sq 1267740503395 0530

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
The anti-cheesy wedding DJ: no lights, no fog, no blow-up saxophones, no ponytail, no drinking, no taking breaks, names pronounced correctly, volume set at an appropriate level, the dance floor packed. I prefer to stay in the background to ensure the music is seamless -- its your wedding day, the DJ shouldn't be the center of attention.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
You'll have complete creative control over your playlist. Some clients select all the music to be played; some just a few songs. And of course, we'll discuss how you would like requests to be handled.
What is your usual attire?
I prefer to blend in as a guest: dark suit, tasteful shirt & tie. I vowed to never be the DJ in a glittery tux or collarless shirt.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
Only if it's a unique version. I'll research all music before your wedding day.
How many other DJs do you work with?
You'll meet with John Sinclair and he'll be your DJ/MC on the day of your wedding. We have a comprehensive contingency plan in case of an emergency (one that we've never, ever used).
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
We book dates on a four-hour minimum.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes. And we prefer to do this for each & every booking.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
We don't claim expertise in any one international genre; we've done Jewish, Greek, Serbian, Liberian, Italian, Spanish, Irish, German and Bosnian weddings.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Absolutely! Sometimes the best place to start is writing out your "do-not-play" list. Generally, our "do-not-play" list contains any sort of line dance (Macarena, The Chicken Dance, YMCA), and what we call "typical" wedding music: It's Raining Men, Funkytown, The Twist, Mony Mony, etc.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes. We only use professional DJ equipment: Mackie 450 speakers, Denon CD Players and Sennheiser Wireless microphones.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
None. No lights. No fog. No blow-up instruments. We promise.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
Approximately 60-90 minutes. We require a table & access to electrical outlet, which we'll coordinate with your venue.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
Never. We do not hang any signage or pass out business cards. We won't even say our company name during your event.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
All speaking on the microphone is professional, tasteful and kept to a minimum (as specified by you).
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Music is the best motivator. We have excellent judgement and know what and when to play to motivate your guests.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
No breaks. No meals. No alcohol. No smoking. No hitting on bridesmaids.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
We book 3-4 weddings a month maximum so each and every couple gets the customized, personal service they expect.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
There are no additional charges once quoted a rate.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
30% of the total amount.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
thayer
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
John was the best. He was very kind, smart, and has great taste in music. He totally blended seamlessly with the wedding, set the entire vibe for a fantastic night, and was really nice to work with. I hope to use him again for another event someday!
John was the best. He was very kind, smart, and has great taste in music. He totally blended seamlessly with the wedding, Read more...
John was the best. He was very kind, smart, and has great taste in music. He totally blended seamlessly with the wedding, set the entire vibe for a fantastic night, and was really nice to work with. I hope to use him again for another event someday! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Andrew
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
We are so happy that we hired John Sinclair as a vendor. He is always professional, personable and best of all he's an amazing DJ! Leading up to our wedding he reached out to ensure that we were prepared for our formal dances as well as the dinner and dancing portion of our wedding. He is always quick to respond to emails and calls if you have any questions or concerns. We had a lot of ideas for him and he made everything happen flawlessly. The dance floor was packed the entire night and we received many compliments from our guests on the fun vibe that was created on our big day! If you are looking for a sophisticated, fun and memorable reception John will definitely not disappoint!
We are so happy that we hired John Sinclair as a vendor. He is always professional, personable and best of all he's an Read more...
We are so happy that we hired John Sinclair as a vendor. He is always professional, personable and best of all he's an amazing DJ! Leading up to our wedding he reached out to ensure that we were prepared for our formal dances as well as the dinner and dancing portion of our wedding. He is always quick to respond to emails and calls if you have any questions or concerns. We had a lot of ideas for him and he made everything happen flawlessly. The dance floor was packed the entire night and we received many compliments from our guests on the fun vibe that was created on our big day! If you are looking for a sophisticated, fun and memorable reception John will definitely not disappoint! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Brett
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Owen did a fantastic job at our wedding. He incorporated our desired play list with a great mix of new music. It blended well and the vibe in the room was excellent. Not for a second did Owen try and bring any attention to himself.
He is a class act. I was dead against paying for a dj and now I am glad we did.
Owen did a fantastic job at our wedding. He incorporated our desired play list with a great mix of new music. It blended Read more...
Owen did a fantastic job at our wedding. He incorporated our desired play list with a great mix of new music. It blended well and the vibe in the room was excellent. Not for a second did Owen try and bring any attention to himself.
He is a class act. I was dead against paying for a dj and now I am glad we did. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
yanksgrlfan
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough about John!!! From begging to end he was a true professional. He was accommodating to our entire playlist, and gave us input and quick responses when we needed it.
It was a Grade A experience working with John on our weeding and all of our requests were meet with 100% compliance. John doesn't need lights and fog to make a statement, his ability to keep a party going says it all. The lights went up at our wedding and people were still there-- not wanting to leave--the sign of a great party-- the sign of a GREAT DJ!!
I can not say enough about John!!! From begging to end he was a true professional. He was accommodating to our entire Read more...
I can not say enough about John!!! From begging to end he was a true professional. He was accommodating to our entire playlist, and gave us input and quick responses when we needed it.
It was a Grade A experience working with John on our weeding and all of our requests were meet with 100% compliance. John doesn't need lights and fog to make a statement, his ability to keep a party going says it all. The lights went up at our wedding and people were still there-- not wanting to leave--the sign of a great party-- the sign of a GREAT DJ!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
amyachang
Wedding:
6/19/2011
5.0/5.0
We looked long and hard for a wedding DJ that wasn't obnoxious, tacky and aggressive and that we felt would understand the kind of music and atmosphere we wanted to create at our wedding. We found all that and more in Aria Melody. Our DJ Owen was incredibly responsive, professional, and knowledgeable...not to mention a general nice guy. He did the music for our ceremony as well as the cocktail hour and reception, and indulged our exacting demands on editing the length and timing of the music to match the number of people in our processional. The music and the transitions and timing were all executed flawlessly. We highly recommend them!
We looked long and hard for a wedding DJ that wasn't obnoxious, tacky and aggressive and that we felt would understand the Read more...
We looked long and hard for a wedding DJ that wasn't obnoxious, tacky and aggressive and that we felt would understand the kind of music and atmosphere we wanted to create at our wedding. We found all that and more in Aria Melody. Our DJ Owen was incredibly responsive, professional, and knowledgeable...not to mention a general nice guy. He did the music for our ceremony as well as the cocktail hour and reception, and indulged our exacting demands on editing the length and timing of the music to match the number of people in our processional. The music and the transitions and timing were all executed flawlessly. We highly recommend them! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Vanessa Aiossa
Wedding:
6/5/2011
5.0/5.0
I was planning my wedding with a limited time schedule and John Sinclair was flexible in every respect. His musical assortment left no stone unturned and he went above and beyond his scope of DJ . It was very clear to me from the moment he approached us that he genuinely cared about making our day perfect. Additionally , every outlandish and obscure song my friends asked for , he had. Not in any sense your typical bells, whistles, smokescreen kind of DJ.
Definitely recommend. Unbelievable value.


as well as proffesional and
I was planning my wedding with a limited time schedule and John Sinclair was flexible in every respect. His musical Read more...
I was planning my wedding with a limited time schedule and John Sinclair was flexible in every respect. His musical assortment left no stone unturned and he went above and beyond his scope of DJ . It was very clear to me from the moment he approached us that he genuinely cared about making our day perfect. Additionally , every outlandish and obscure song my friends asked for , he had. Not in any sense your typical bells, whistles, smokescreen kind of DJ.
Definitely recommend. Unbelievable value.


as well as proffesional and Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Christina
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
I knew just by looking at the Aria Melody website that John would almost definitely be our DJ. After 30 minutes of sitting down with him, he was the first and last DJ we met with. I wanted exactly what he was promising - none of the cheesiness that almost comes hand in hand with most DJs, the shouting over the songs, the dancing with crowd, the constant announcements - and he delivered just like his tag-line. John was extremely professional, he mixed the list of songs that we gave him with some amazing song choices throughout the night that may as well have been on our list! I was initially a bit worried about the mixing of song genres - but any crossover was totally smooth and perfectly blended. He completely exceeded my expectations - I have never been to a wedding where people are on the dance floor before the first course has even been served! Yes, he's THAT good! He also sticks to the "Do Not Play List" and has a good feel for things that you would shut down even if it's not on the do not play list. Throughout the night we were REALLY thankful for that! If I could give more stars I would because he is EXACTLY what we wanted in a DJ. John is completely tasteful, professional, and he will work with you or help you if you have any trouble with song choices. For us, the music is what really makes the wedding, so this vendor was the most important to us. Aria Melody DJ could not possibly disappoint you. John is amazing and you can tell just by talking to him that he has an extensive music catalog not only on his computer, but in his head. Thanks for making our wedding, John!
I knew just by looking at the Aria Melody website that John would almost definitely be our DJ. After 30 minutes of sitting Read more...
I knew just by looking at the Aria Melody website that John would almost definitely be our DJ. After 30 minutes of sitting down with him, he was the first and last DJ we met with. I wanted exactly what he was promising - none of the cheesiness that almost comes hand in hand with most DJs, the shouting over the songs, the dancing with crowd, the constant announcements - and he delivered just like his tag-line. John was extremely professional, he mixed the list of songs that we gave him with some amazing song choices throughout the night that may as well have been on our list! I was initially a bit worried about the mixing of song genres - but any crossover was totally smooth and perfectly blended. He completely exceeded my expectations - I have never been to a wedding where people are on the dance floor before the first course has even been served! Yes, he's THAT good! He also sticks to the "Do Not Play List" and has a good feel for things that you would shut down even if it's not on the do not play list. Throughout the night we were REALLY thankful for that! If I could give more stars I would because he is EXACTLY what we wanted in a DJ. John is completely tasteful, professional, and he will work with you or help you if you have any trouble with song choices. For us, the music is what really makes the wedding, so this vendor was the most important to us. Aria Melody DJ could not possibly disappoint you. John is amazing and you can tell just by talking to him that he has an extensive music catalog not only on his computer, but in his head. Thanks for making our wedding, John! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
ian
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
I was thinking about throwing in a couple 4-star scores just so everyone reading this would think it's more believable, but that would be dishonest. 5-stars all the way.

There's not much else to say other than Aria Melody was perfect for us. John was everything we wanted in a DJ and nothing we didn't. His customer service skills were top-notch, basically doing anything and everything we asked him to. He was prepared and professional and the reception went perfectly. If you care about the music that plays at your reception at all, Aria Melody is perfect for you.

Really, with everything he did he actually helped make the best day of my life even better.
I was thinking about throwing in a couple 4-star scores just so everyone reading this would think it's more believable, Read more...
I was thinking about throwing in a couple 4-star scores just so everyone reading this would think it's more believable, but that would be dishonest. 5-stars all the way.

There's not much else to say other than Aria Melody was perfect for us. John was everything we wanted in a DJ and nothing we didn't. His customer service skills were top-notch, basically doing anything and everything we asked him to. He was prepared and professional and the reception went perfectly. If you care about the music that plays at your reception at all, Aria Melody is perfect for you.

Really, with everything he did he actually helped make the best day of my life even better. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Niyati
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
John is the best! Of all our vendors, he was the most organized and quick to respond to every email of ours. He spent a very long time trying to help me find a specific type of music for our introduction and it was perfect. We got exactly what we wanted...a great party that had the dance floor full, with music we either picked or within the styles we told John we liked. He had a great feel for timing and the flow of songs were spot on.

If you want a DJ that is running the show instead of trying to be in the middle of it, John is who you want. No excess talking, no self promoting during your event, and very professional. So much so that a bridesmaid already recommended John to her brother in law!

John, many thanks for a day that ended way too soon and best wishes for your own wedding to be just as perfect as you helped make ours!
John is the best! Of all our vendors, he was the most organized and quick to respond to every email of ours. He spent a Read more...
John is the best! Of all our vendors, he was the most organized and quick to respond to every email of ours. He spent a very long time trying to help me find a specific type of music for our introduction and it was perfect. We got exactly what we wanted...a great party that had the dance floor full, with music we either picked or within the styles we told John we liked. He had a great feel for timing and the flow of songs were spot on.

If you want a DJ that is running the show instead of trying to be in the middle of it, John is who you want. No excess talking, no self promoting during your event, and very professional. So much so that a bridesmaid already recommended John to her brother in law!

John, many thanks for a day that ended way too soon and best wishes for your own wedding to be just as perfect as you helped make ours! Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130 sq 1305841822756 fbavatar520820180
Moon Joon
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
John was wonderful from the moment we met with him. He was professional, friendly and was very easy to work with.We loved the idea that we both shared the "nothing cheesy" mindset as in no unnecessary talking/announcements, line dances and loved his music suggestions. He played everything, Motown, Hip hop, indie rock, pop and was great with helping us choose the right music.
He was helpful,accommodating, and easy to get in contact with until the very last minute of the wedding which was great because I am soooo indecisive.
All in all we loved having John as our DJ, the music was great, EVERYONE had a blast, and our wedding was perfect.
Thank you for everything John!! It was such a pleasure to have you be a part of our special day.
John was wonderful from the moment we met with him. He was professional, friendly and was very easy to work with.We loved Read more...
John was wonderful from the moment we met with him. He was professional, friendly and was very easy to work with.We loved the idea that we both shared the "nothing cheesy" mindset as in no unnecessary talking/announcements, line dances and loved his music suggestions. He played everything, Motown, Hip hop, indie rock, pop and was great with helping us choose the right music.
He was helpful,accommodating, and easy to get in contact with until the very last minute of the wedding which was great because I am soooo indecisive.
All in all we loved having John as our DJ, the music was great, EVERYONE had a blast, and our wedding was perfect.
Thank you for everything John!! It was such a pleasure to have you be a part of our special day. Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
708 Jefferson Street, 4, Hoboken, NJ 07030 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Aria Melody DJ
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1276451763627 wwthumb