130x130 sq 1276451763627 wwthumb

Aria Melody DJ

Hoboken , NJ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

708 Jefferson Street, 4
Hoboken, NJ 07030 US (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Aria Melody DJ is a refreshingly different kind of company - the alternative to the cheesy DJ.

As a wedding guest himself, John Sinclair strives to get right what so many DJs... Read more
Aria Melody DJ is a refreshingly different kind of company - the alternative to the cheesy DJ.

As a wedding guest himself, John Sinclair strives to get right what so many DJs get wrong. He constantly monitors the volume, honors all "must play" and "do not play" lists, pronounces all names correctly and doesn't play your typical, overplayed music.

No lights. No fog. No blow-up instruments. No excessive talking on the microphone.

Aria Melody DJ believes music can be fun but professional, tasteful and without gimmicks.

And of course, you'll have complete creative control over your playlist.

We're rated 5-stars by Wedding Wire, Project Wedding and Yelp.com users and a favorite of couples and wedding planners alike.


Please visit our website @ | www.ariamelody.com & if our approach matches your taste, we look forward to hearing from you.

No pressure. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1267753843637 ariamelodysrccmykcs2
130x130 sq 1276450062627 johndjpic
130x130 sq 1267740172113 janinebryan390
130x130 sq 1267740590941 jessicaandjustin1687
130x130 sq 1267740206160 reception4
130x130 sq 1267740136035 johnns2
130x130 sq 1267740713082 0599
130x130 sq 1267740525629 0611
130x130 sq 1267740503395 0530

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
The anti-cheesy wedding DJ: no lights, no fog, no blow-up saxophones, no ponytail, no drinking, no taking breaks, names pronounced correctly, volume set at an appropriate level, the dance floor packed. I prefer to stay in the background to ensure the music is seamless -- its your wedding day, the DJ shouldn't be the center of attention.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
You'll have complete creative control over your playlist. Some clients select all the music to be played; some just a few songs. And of course, we'll discuss how you would like requests to be handled.
What is your usual attire?
I prefer to blend in as a guest: dark suit, tasteful shirt & tie. I vowed to never be the DJ in a glittery tux or collarless shirt.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
Only if it's a unique version. I'll research all music before your wedding day.
How many other DJs do you work with?
You'll meet with John Sinclair and he'll be your DJ/MC on the day of your wedding. We have a comprehensive contingency plan in case of an emergency (one that we've never, ever used).
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
We book dates on a four-hour minimum.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes. And we prefer to do this for each & every booking.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
We don't claim expertise in any one international genre; we've done Jewish, Greek, Serbian, Liberian, Italian, Spanish, Irish, German and Bosnian weddings.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Absolutely! Sometimes the best place to start is writing out your "do-not-play" list. Generally, our "do-not-play" list contains any sort of line dance (Macarena, The Chicken Dance, YMCA), and what we call "typical" wedding music: It's Raining Men, Funkytown, The Twist, Mony Mony, etc.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes. We only use professional DJ equipment: Mackie 450 speakers, Denon CD Players and Sennheiser Wireless microphones.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
None. No lights. No fog. No blow-up instruments. We promise.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
Approximately 60-90 minutes. We require a table & access to electrical outlet, which we'll coordinate with your venue.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
Never. We do not hang any signage or pass out business cards. We won't even say our company name during your event.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
All speaking on the microphone is professional, tasteful and kept to a minimum (as specified by you).
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Music is the best motivator. We have excellent judgement and know what and when to play to motivate your guests.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
No breaks. No meals. No alcohol. No smoking. No hitting on bridesmaids.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
We book 3-4 weddings a month maximum so each and every couple gets the customized, personal service they expect.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
There are no additional charges once quoted a rate.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
30% of the total amount.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Liz
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved Aria Melody's approach to DJ-ing and they are true to how they advertise. No crazy announcements or gimmicks, just great music that provided an essential flow to the whole event! We worked with Rob Sicat for our wedding in New Haven, CT in 2013.

Rob was excellent! We thoroughly enjoyed our first meeting with him. He was relaxed, had great experience, and really listened to what we wanted. We had hoped to have a band for the wedding but it fell through and I'm so glad that it did. Our guests still talk about how great our DJ was and the whole room was dancing most of the night!!! He also was super helpful in terms of logistics, working on playlists through spotify, and on the day of, helped us with the sound for our outdoor ceremony. I would highly recommend Rob to anyone looking for a fantastic DJ and a truly unforgettable soundtrack to your wedding!!!
We loved Aria Melody's approach to DJ-ing and they are true to how they advertise. No crazy announcements or gimmicks, Read more...
We loved Aria Melody's approach to DJ-ing and they are true to how they advertise. No crazy announcements or gimmicks, just great music that provided an essential flow to the whole event! We worked with Rob Sicat for our wedding in New Haven, CT in 2013.

Rob was excellent! We thoroughly enjoyed our first meeting with him. He was relaxed, had great experience, and really listened to what we wanted. We had hoped to have a band for the wedding but it fell through and I'm so glad that it did. Our guests still talk about how great our DJ was and the whole room was dancing most of the night!!! He also was super helpful in terms of logistics, working on playlists through spotify, and on the day of, helped us with the sound for our outdoor ceremony. I would highly recommend Rob to anyone looking for a fantastic DJ and a truly unforgettable soundtrack to your wedding!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Ashley
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Joe Dunn was our DJ for our wedding on 10/13/13. He was so easy to work with and completely open to all of our ideas. My husband and I were very involved in our song selection for every aspect of the wedding - pre-ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. Joe did an amazing job - our friends and family are still talking about how great the music was and how much fun they had. The dance floor was constantly packed and Joe took all of the ideas we had and made them reality. We could not have asked for a better DJ or a better company to work with. John Sinclair was our main contact throughout the process and he was also incredibly responsive and on top of everything. I would recommend them hands down to anyone who is looking for a DJ company that listens to you, avoids all of the corny gimmicks and lets everyone have a great time.
Joe Dunn was our DJ for our wedding on 10/13/13. He was so easy to work with and completely open to all of our ideas. My Read more...
Joe Dunn was our DJ for our wedding on 10/13/13. He was so easy to work with and completely open to all of our ideas. My husband and I were very involved in our song selection for every aspect of the wedding - pre-ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. Joe did an amazing job - our friends and family are still talking about how great the music was and how much fun they had. The dance floor was constantly packed and Joe took all of the ideas we had and made them reality. We could not have asked for a better DJ or a better company to work with. John Sinclair was our main contact throughout the process and he was also incredibly responsive and on top of everything. I would recommend them hands down to anyone who is looking for a DJ company that listens to you, avoids all of the corny gimmicks and lets everyone have a great time. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Molly
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
John at Aria Melody DJ is awesome! From the first meeting, to the day of our wedding, John was completely professional, responsive and most importantly- talented. My husband and I gave John a pretty extensive playlist as we both love music and would be damned if our wedding had the usual, overplayed and standard music. John took our requests- played them, and also made his own selections that fit our style and the mood perfectly. He understood what we were going for and surpassed our expectations. There was not a single person seated during the dance portion and our friends and family are still talking about how it was the most fun they've had at a wedding. I should also mention that John was a perfect MC. He provided structure to the evening with simple, non-overbearing announcements and kept things running smoothly. I would highly recommend Aria Melody for any event!
John at Aria Melody DJ is awesome! From the first meeting, to the day of our wedding, John was completely professional, Read more...
John at Aria Melody DJ is awesome! From the first meeting, to the day of our wedding, John was completely professional, responsive and most importantly- talented. My husband and I gave John a pretty extensive playlist as we both love music and would be damned if our wedding had the usual, overplayed and standard music. John took our requests- played them, and also made his own selections that fit our style and the mood perfectly. He understood what we were going for and surpassed our expectations. There was not a single person seated during the dance portion and our friends and family are still talking about how it was the most fun they've had at a wedding. I should also mention that John was a perfect MC. He provided structure to the evening with simple, non-overbearing announcements and kept things running smoothly. I would highly recommend Aria Melody for any event! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Erica & Bryan
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We learned about Aria Melody because Owen was the DJ for our friends' wedding a few years ago, and we had a blast at it. For our wedding, we worked with John, and I can honestly say it was the most stress-free part of planning our event. John was professional, responsive, flexible with meeting times, offered great advice on the selection and timing of our songs, and knew the ins and outs of our venue. My parents ballroom dance and had some unusual song requests that my husband and I were worried would detract from the fun of the party, but John was able to work in all the requests at opportune times while keeping the party going the entire night, so everyone young and old had a great time. I think the most important thing is that working with John, we had 100% peace of mind that everything was going to run smoothly, and it did. I don't know why anyone would choose another company! Aria Melody DJ is awesome.
We learned about Aria Melody because Owen was the DJ for our friends' wedding a few years ago, and we had a blast at it. Read more...
We learned about Aria Melody because Owen was the DJ for our friends' wedding a few years ago, and we had a blast at it. For our wedding, we worked with John, and I can honestly say it was the most stress-free part of planning our event. John was professional, responsive, flexible with meeting times, offered great advice on the selection and timing of our songs, and knew the ins and outs of our venue. My parents ballroom dance and had some unusual song requests that my husband and I were worried would detract from the fun of the party, but John was able to work in all the requests at opportune times while keeping the party going the entire night, so everyone young and old had a great time. I think the most important thing is that working with John, we had 100% peace of mind that everything was going to run smoothly, and it did. I don't know why anyone would choose another company! Aria Melody DJ is awesome. Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130 sq 1365277153450 img0442
Jessica
Wedding:
9/22/2013
5.0/5.0
We had Joe DJ our wedding and he was fantastic! He had everyone dancing all night, including our older family members and all of our friends. He was also super flexible, we ended up changing the whole order of the party during cocktail hour to accommodate my sick grandmother who had to leave early. My dad really wanted her to see our father / daughter dance and we had originally scheduled it to be later in the evening. Anyway, Joe was completely flexible and re-organized the whole night on the spot.
Before the party was over our friends were asking for the DJs info. We've already given it to several people! He's truly amazing!
We had Joe DJ our wedding and he was fantastic! He had everyone dancing all night, including our older family members and Read more...
We had Joe DJ our wedding and he was fantastic! He had everyone dancing all night, including our older family members and all of our friends. He was also super flexible, we ended up changing the whole order of the party during cocktail hour to accommodate my sick grandmother who had to leave early. My dad really wanted her to see our father / daughter dance and we had originally scheduled it to be later in the evening. Anyway, Joe was completely flexible and re-organized the whole night on the spot.
Before the party was over our friends were asking for the DJs info. We've already given it to several people! He's truly amazing! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Shae
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ Owen was absolutely amazing! When we initially started looking for our wedding DJ we did not want someone that was going to be in the middle of the dance floor on the microphone dragging people out of their seats and Aria Melody is the place to go if you are like us. They make your wedding about you and tailor the music to your specific needs and wants. We instantly clicked with Owen at our initial meeting and he fully understood our music taste. He provided the soundtrack to our Cocktail hour, Reception and After Party and all of our family and friends came up to us raving about the music during each part of the night. Thank you Owen for getting all our guests on the dance floor without ever needing to forcefully drag them out there :) We will be back for future events!
DJ Owen was absolutely amazing! When we initially started looking for our wedding DJ we did not want someone that was Read more...
DJ Owen was absolutely amazing! When we initially started looking for our wedding DJ we did not want someone that was going to be in the middle of the dance floor on the microphone dragging people out of their seats and Aria Melody is the place to go if you are like us. They make your wedding about you and tailor the music to your specific needs and wants. We instantly clicked with Owen at our initial meeting and he fully understood our music taste. He provided the soundtrack to our Cocktail hour, Reception and After Party and all of our family and friends came up to us raving about the music during each part of the night. Thank you Owen for getting all our guests on the dance floor without ever needing to forcefully drag them out there :) We will be back for future events! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Jon
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
For our wedding, we were specifically looking for a DJ who would just play music (good music) and keep the dance party flowing - we didn't want strobe lights, blow-up microphones, or any of that stuff! Aria Melody delivered on our wishes.

Joe was our DJ and we had a great experience with him and with the company, overall. Both he and John were pretty quick to respond to emails and phone calls, and they weren't perplexed by our "minimalist" DJ requirements (as that is basically what they do - the whole "no gimmicks" thing). Several other DJ companies we inquired with offered no less than two-man teams to DJ our wedding (which we thought was unnecessary and only served to drive up the price) and didn't quite understand that we did NOT want to be presented as "bride and groom" accompanied by Jock Jams and a smoke machine.

If you're looking for a DJ that will be easy to work with and play the music you want to hear at your wedding, then we would suggest Aria Melody. Our wedding guests mostly commented on 3 things from our wedding: the food, the MUSIC, and the overall atmosphere (and also my dress - had to throw that one in there) - overall that is an A+ wedding, in our opinion.
For our wedding, we were specifically looking for a DJ who would just play music (good music) and keep the dance party Read more...
For our wedding, we were specifically looking for a DJ who would just play music (good music) and keep the dance party flowing - we didn't want strobe lights, blow-up microphones, or any of that stuff! Aria Melody delivered on our wishes.

Joe was our DJ and we had a great experience with him and with the company, overall. Both he and John were pretty quick to respond to emails and phone calls, and they weren't perplexed by our "minimalist" DJ requirements (as that is basically what they do - the whole "no gimmicks" thing). Several other DJ companies we inquired with offered no less than two-man teams to DJ our wedding (which we thought was unnecessary and only served to drive up the price) and didn't quite understand that we did NOT want to be presented as "bride and groom" accompanied by Jock Jams and a smoke machine.

If you're looking for a DJ that will be easy to work with and play the music you want to hear at your wedding, then we would suggest Aria Melody. Our wedding guests mostly commented on 3 things from our wedding: the food, the MUSIC, and the overall atmosphere (and also my dress - had to throw that one in there) - overall that is an A+ wedding, in our opinion. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The first DJ we met with claimed to not be a "cheesy" wedding DJ, but then proceeded to make me feel badly/stupid that we didn't want a MC, lights, bouquet toss, etc. I left that meeting in tears. When we met with John of Aria Melody, I immediately knew we'd found our DJ. He was flexible in terms of scheduling a meeting with our busy work schedules, had amazing music suggestions, and found a way to blend our music tastes (90s grunge for my husband, alt-country for me) during dinner into songs that got EVERYONE on the dance floor.
The first DJ we met with claimed to not be a "cheesy" wedding DJ, but then proceeded to make me feel badly/stupid that we Read more...
The first DJ we met with claimed to not be a "cheesy" wedding DJ, but then proceeded to make me feel badly/stupid that we didn't want a MC, lights, bouquet toss, etc. I left that meeting in tears. When we met with John of Aria Melody, I immediately knew we'd found our DJ. He was flexible in terms of scheduling a meeting with our busy work schedules, had amazing music suggestions, and found a way to blend our music tastes (90s grunge for my husband, alt-country for me) during dinner into songs that got EVERYONE on the dance floor. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Rob was absolutely the greatest wedding DJ... he took EVERY request my husband and I made before the wedding and wove it in with his own awesome song ideas perfectly. The parents and "the kids" had an amazing time thanks to him-- it was perfectly balanced.

We had a lot of concern about the volume of music during dinner (parents were very concerned they wouldn't be able to hear themselves talk!). Rob was able to make a very chill vibe that everyone appreciated and enjoyed.

Thank you so much for making our wedding so much fun!
Rob was absolutely the greatest wedding DJ... he took EVERY request my husband and I made before the wedding and wove it Read more...
Rob was absolutely the greatest wedding DJ... he took EVERY request my husband and I made before the wedding and wove it in with his own awesome song ideas perfectly. The parents and "the kids" had an amazing time thanks to him-- it was perfectly balanced.

We had a lot of concern about the volume of music during dinner (parents were very concerned they wouldn't be able to hear themselves talk!). Rob was able to make a very chill vibe that everyone appreciated and enjoyed.

Thank you so much for making our wedding so much fun! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Aria Melody DJ is an amazing company and our DJ Rob was professional, talented and just an overall pleasure to work with. He catered to all age ranges but stayed within our taste of music. He was able to read the crowd throughout the night and made sure everyone got on the dance floor. No cheesy gimmicks, no line dancing, just great music!
Aria Melody DJ is an amazing company and our DJ Rob was professional, talented and just an overall pleasure to work with. Read more...
Aria Melody DJ is an amazing company and our DJ Rob was professional, talented and just an overall pleasure to work with. He catered to all age ranges but stayed within our taste of music. He was able to read the crowd throughout the night and made sure everyone got on the dance floor. No cheesy gimmicks, no line dancing, just great music! Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
708 Jefferson Street, 4, Hoboken, NJ 07030 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Aria Melody DJ
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1276451763627 wwthumb