130x130_sq_1370974199338-indian-peacock-wedding-cake

Around the World in 80 Cakes

Washington , NJ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Washington, NJ US 07882 (map)

PHONE

908-818-9866

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I started Around the World in 80 Cakes out of a love of flavor. I strive to create an edible masterpiece that is both delicious and eye-catching to be the grand finale of your big day. I... Read more
I started Around the World in 80 Cakes out of a love of flavor. I strive to create an edible masterpiece that is both delicious and eye-catching to be the grand finale of your big day. I make a wide range of interesting and exotic cake flavors using ingredients from around the world as well as traditional favorites. I also offer a variety of wedding favors in the form of decorated cookies, mini tiered cakes, or boxes of assorted chocolate truffles. Please see my portfolio for some examples. Read less

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1370974033177-indian-peacock-wedding-cake
130x130_sq_1370974014036-bright-gerbera-daisy-wedding-cake
130x130_sq_1370973935634-purple-lisianthus-wedding-cake
130x130_sq_1370973915896-blue-orchid-and-vine-wedding-cake
130x130_sq_1370973932678-lillies--freesia-wedding-cakesmall
130x130_sq_1370973994691-blossoms--buds-wedding-cake
130x130_sq_1318249275230-fallleavesandbranchesweddingcake
130x130_sq_1318249276652-leavesandscrollsweddingcake
130x130_sq_1318249277449-navybluecupcaketower
130x130_sq_1315247695980-ivoryfondantandroseslarge
130x130_sq_1315247720839-willywonkacakelarge
130x130_sq_1315247148683-beachweddingcupcakes
130x130_sq_1293943182305-snowandhollyweddingcakeww
130x130_sq_1305556723046-cherryblossomcake2
130x130_sq_1315247748292-img3569
130x130_sq_1305555834218-redscrollbridalshow
130x130_sq_1289876570184-gerberadaisycake
130x130_sq_1315247736324-redheartscakelarge
130x130_sq_1289876549387-img1849
130x130_sq_1289876579731-20090823162234edited
130x130_sq_1289876552371-img1746
130x130_sq_1289876544793-traveltrunkcake
130x130_sq_1288068518292-coachbag380x285
130x130_sq_1289876566590-img1189
130x130_sq_1288068517901-coachbag2380x285
130x130_sq_1289876547559-img2532
130x130_sq_1289876575153-atlantis
130x130_sq_1305555839578-decoratedbrownies380x253
130x130_sq_1305555840937-pinktieredweddingcookiesugarbox
130x130_sq_1305555837015-fleurdeliscakepop380x253
130x130_sq_1305555838640-pinklustercakepop380x253
130x130_sq_1305555840515-redtieredweddingcookiesugarbox
130x130_sq_1289875538746-dscf0903
130x130_sq_1289875548825-img0366
130x130_sq_1289875541309-img1845
130x130_sq_1289875543293-favors1
130x130_sq_1289875545309-fallcookies
130x130_sq_1289875551481-img2773

INFO FOR FAVORS & GIFTS

Do you offer a catalog of products or custom products?
Custom Products
Do you handle design, printing, and assembly?
Assembly, Design, Printing

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
Yes, we offer private tastings. Tastings sessions are $30 and last 1 hour. Included is your choice of 2 cake flavors, 2 filling flavors, 
 and 2 frosting flavors as well as a detailed cake design and estimate. The $30 tasting fee will be deducted from the total of your order if you choose to sign a contract with us.
What are your tasting hours?
Please call at least one week in advance to set up a tasting session.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Yes, the top tier of the wedding cake is included as a gift to 
 the happy couple to save for their first anniversary.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
We use all natural flavors and ingredients.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Yes
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Yes, we offer free local delivery within a 10 mile radius. After that delivery costs about $1 per mile. Final delivery price will depend on distance, difficulty of delivery and setup.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Connie
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
I did a lot of research before choosing someone to make our wedding cake, but there was something about Jen's site that drew me to her. And once we met her, we knew we made the right decision! From the start she was so professional and took the time to explain every detail to us. We went into our tasting thinking we wanted a tiered cake and ended up choosing a cupcake tower. And we would not change a thing! The flavors were to die for, the cupcakes were beautiful, and our guests were thrilled! I can't wait till next year so I can order a cake or even more cupcakes! Thanks, Jen, for everything!! We'll be in touch!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patricia
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Our cake was amazing!!! People that never eat cake at weddings heard from others that the cake was so delicious that they even had a piece. I went in with some ideas as far as flavors and design, and whatever I was lacking, Jennifer accomodatied and suggested things that worked well to fullfill our desires! Around the world in 80 cakes was fantastic and completely reasonable!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jaclyn
Wedding:
6/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Jen was absolutely amazing! Without her our wedding would not have been the same. In a very short amount of time she was able to work miracles!! We had her do our wedding cake and a surprise grooms cake. Both were magnificent and the flavors were to die for! The wedding cake was 4 tiers and was a Guinness Chocolate with a chocolate ganache filling and a butter cream frosting. I sometimes dream about how good it was! I did a grooms cake because I couldn't resist the flavor combination. It was vanilla butter cream and cake and tasted like a sugar cookie but ten times better. (I'm drooling) Jen made the grooms cake in the shape of the playing field from League of Legends and I was amazed at her detailed work (as was my husband!).

Jen was wonderful to work with, especially as I was a crazy bride to be. She came over to our house and did a tasting with not just me and my husband but my stepson, mom, brother and a few others. It was a mad house but she was a trooper! I will never forget those cakes or our wedding day!

Thanks Jen!!!!
(Now I just need an excuse to order another cake ;-D)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I am SO happy I discovered Jen's cupcakes at the Washington Farmer's Market. I have Celiac Disease & was very nervous about finding a good gluten free cake for my wedding. Jen designed a beautiful & delicious gluten-free chocolate wedding cake & then was able to create both gluten-free and regular cupcakes for my guests. She even color-coded all the cupcakes (and created cute labels for them!), so my gluten-free guests could choose a safe cupcake, too! As a NYC resident (and fan of many NYC gluten-free bakeries...), I have to say Jen puts the NYC cupcakes to shame!

I had talked with other companies about wedding cakes before I met Jen, and I had fears that I wouldn't be able to have a cute gluten-free cake for my wedding (or that other companies wouldn't take my allergy seriously). Jen was in constant communication with me about the cake, and was an absolute pleasure to work with. From our first meeting together, she demonstrated knowledge of the gluten allergy & was ready to accommodate my requests. People are still raving about the cakes, and I hope to be able to work with Jen again soon!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melina
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Jennifer from Around the World in 80 Cakes was absolutely wonderful. She was very helpful with the idea/design process. My now husband and I gave some vague ideas and she brought it all to life. She even made our Owl cake toppers, which i still have. The cake and cupcakes were beautiful and all the flavors were delicious! Jennifer made everthing extrememly easy, from the taste testing to our wedding day! I will definitely recommend Around the World in 80 Cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Favors & Gifts
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Jen made a wedding cake for us that was not only beautiful, but delicious! She was amazing in helping us plan exactly what we wanted the cake to look like, right down to the details. She made flowers for the cake that matched some of the flowers from my bouquet, and matched the color of the bridesmaids' dresses perfectly!

It isn't often that wedding guests talk about how delicious the cake is - but all of our guests are still mentioning it! The top tier is in the freezer, but my husband and I keep talking about how difficult it is going to be to wait until our 1 year anniversary to enjoy it.

I would recommend Around the World in 80 Cakes to anyone for any occasion. Jen is professional, caring, kind, and an extremely talented baker and artist! Thank you for helping to make our wedding so special :-)

Cindy & Larry
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Perfect and Worry Free!
Choosing "Around The World In 80 Cakes" was one of the best planning decisions I made! How can I rate the piece of mind that Jennifer gave me? (5 gold stars!) Jennifer knew just what to do and how to do it... (not to mention her professional kitchen is amazing) Our cake and cupcake tower were beautiful, inviting and delicious! Jennifer used our conversations and meetings to her every advantage. Listening carefully and staying in constant touch she took every opportunity to gather the information she needed to make our cake just what we imagined it would be. When the day came I didn't even know she had been there other than everything was set up and looking lovely for our guests! Accommodating every taste Jennifer provided us with amazing flavor combinations, Lavender cake with Lemon frosting, Peach cake with Almond frosting and Lemon cake with a Raspberry filling and of course, the raved about, Gluten Free Chocolate cake with Vanilla Frosting! All my Gluten Free guests were amazed with her recipe and I can't wait to have another reason to order a cake! I would absolutely recommend "Around The World In 80 Cakes" to anyone planning any event... Thank you Jen!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eig715
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Jen's cake was not only beautiful, but delicious, and not only delicious, but beautiful. I can't decide which one I want to emphasize more. Numerous people told us how much they loved our cake. It was so unique! It was so us! We love that Jen was able to capture our vision and make it real. We love all of Jen's different flavors. Pina Colada! Peppermint Patty! All delicious! Thank you, Jen!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nana
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
It was an absolute pleasure working with Jennifer to create the favors for my sister's wedding. She created cookies in the shapes of 3 tier wedding cakes, and she used the color scheme of the wedding to design the cookies. She welcomed us when we went for a tasting, even though she told us that a cookie tasting wasnt something she had done before, and she gave us a tour of her place of business. Overall, Around the World in 80 Cakes was the best choice for edible favors, and I would recommend her to anyone planning any type of event. She even showed up hours before the wedding to deliver the favors, and her prices are very reasonable.
Services Used: Favors & Gifts
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marsha
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Jen from Around the World in 80 Cakes made a cake and cupcakes for my daughter's Bat Mitzvah. Jen was an absolute pleasure to work with. She listened to my daughter's ideas and looked at her drawings and she came up with the perfect cake -- it was exactly what we wanted. Then Jen made 100 matching cupcakes! The cake and cupcakes were absolutely beautiful and tasted delicious. We will definitely be coming back to Jen for our next big party and would certainly recommend her to others. Thanks, Jen, for making my 13-year-old so happy on her special day.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gerri
Wedding:
3/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Jennifer made a cake for my daughter's Bat Mitzvah. We knew we wanted to hire her the first time we met. The cake was absolutely delicious, and was decorated perfectly! Everyone commented on how good the cake was & "to die for" was a favorite phrase. Jennifer was a pleasure to work with and I would definitely order from her again.

Gerri Klein
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
thetaz74
Wedding:
12/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Jen has done an amazing job! First she did an awesome surprise birthday cake for my fiance in April...we loved the cake design, the taste, service...so she was a must have for our wedding cake. We married 12/11/11, Jen did a custom cake with Djembe drums on top. I sent her photos and she made a beautiful masterpiece. I surprised my husband with the design and he was so excited... Jen has exceeded our expectations, with the design, taste, service, professionalism... two cakes done, and she will always be our choice for cakes in the future...
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1310441186394-img91822
Jubilee
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Working with Jen from Around the World in 80 cakes was a great experience. Beginning with the quote to cake tasting, we knew we wanted her to make our wedding cake. All of her cake flavors and frostings are fantastic in taste and texture. She is very responsive and great at keeping you in the loop so you have a peace of mind that everything is going as planned. Our cake came out exactly as we had dreamd of. I would recommend Around the World in 80 cakes to anyone for any occasion.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Around the World in 80 Cakes (Jennifer Rao) did an absolutely amazing job on our wedding cake. She was extremely professional when we met with her and discussed cake details. We gave her a picture we found on a website and it looked identical to it. Around the World in 80 Cakes exceeded my expectations! The cake was delivered on time and set up the way it was discussed! The price was extremely reasonable and she had a great wide range of flavors you could choose from. We would recommend Around the World in 80 Cakes to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Jen was an absolute pleasure to work with from start to finish! She was extremely helpful and made sure that the end result was exactly what we wanted. We had a cupcake tower with a small top cake and everyone raved about how good they were! I would absolutely recommend Jen's services to anyone for any occasion large or small.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
laurens
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Jen at Around the World in 80 Cakes is wonderful! She created cupcakes for our wedding in four different flavors, each with different color papers, frosting and a different decoration on top - all done around our vineyard theme. Our guests raved about the taste of the cupcakes, and the display was beautiful. Around the World in 80 Cakes also made a groom's cake that was an exact replica of a classical guitar, and it was a huge hit with the groom and our guests. Finally, Jen also handled our favors, which were tasty chocolates done up in an adorable box wrapped in a bow. She worked with us on the wording and image for the card inside the favor box and was extremely flexible and easy to work with.

Jen set everything up beautifully and I didn't have to worry about a thing! I give Around the World in 80 Cakes a high recommendation.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Favors & Gifts
Bg17
rswirl101@hotmail.com
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.5/5.0
We had a 20 sided-die groom's cake. The cake looked great and was absolutely delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kelc
Wedding:
8/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Wonderful, fantastic, etc. Jennifer, from Around the World in 80 Cakes is unbelievable. Not only is she a wonderful person, but a fabulous baker & artist. Her cakes & cupcakes look pretty, & they are delicious!!! Jennifer also helped me in a huge pinch with getting my order ready a day earlier, delivered & set up due to the lovely "Irene". I highly recommend Jennifer for your special day. She definitely made our day even more delicious! Our guests really enjoyed her cake & cupcakes. Thank you Jennifer!
Karin
Warren County, NJ
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cehollen91
Wedding:
7/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was AMAZING! We had a cupcake tower and top cake and everything was perfect. Jen went above and beyond to make sure that our cake got to our wedding (3 hours away) without a problem. She also made a grooms cake for my husband...it was perfect! Not only did everything look great, it was the best wedding cake I've ever had. The guests are still talking about it! Jen worked with us to give us exactly what we were looking for...we can't recommend her enough!

Claire and Oliver Spence
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
D'arcy
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
We were so pleased with the cupcakes and cake that Jennifer made for our son's first birthday. From order to delivery, the entire process was handled professionally and openly. We have never worked with a vender that was better at communicating and responding to our inquiries as promptly as Jennifer did. Not only was the final product delicious but the guests at our party were "wowed" by the attention to detail in the decorating of the cakes. Perhaps the best compliment we could give Jennifer is that we are looking forward to working with her again!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cathy
Wedding:
7/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Jennifer made a great cake for my husbands birthday. He is a huge fan of angry birds and she as able to create a cake that looked identical to one of hte boards in the game. The detail was amazing. Everyone loved thecake and it was delicous too! I will definately look to have more cakes done in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Evette
Wedding:
6/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Jennifer came to my rescue for short notice creation. The finished product exceeded my expectations. My guests raved about the design and the taste. Her creativity matches the quality of her epicurean delights. No need to go to the “cake boss” when this hidden gem is much more accessible.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mary
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Jen was wonderful to work with she's not only very creative in regards to design but she made a cake that was DELICIOUS.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cadamek
Wedding:
6/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Jennifer did a 1st birthday cake for my daughter & it was amazing! She exceeded my expectations. The cake was exactly what I wanted & super delicious! I wish I would have found her long ago for my wedding cake. I highly recommend Jennifer for all occasions in need of cake :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cakaholic in NJ
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Jennifer (the owner/cake baker) was so sweet and accomodating. We ordered a wedding cake for our 25th anniversary party. We went to a cake tasting where she provided more than enough flavors. She was so easy to work with and grasped our ideas right away.
The cake was BEAUTIFUL, professional...exactly what we had wanted!
And...it was SO DELICIOUS! We had priced others in our area, and "Around the World in Eighty Cakes" was one of our best priced estimates. You would have thought with the quality, flavor, and professional appearance of the cake that it could have been equal to any cake seen on TV! We highly reccommend "Around the World in Eighty Cakes!" We can't say enough about how much we loved our cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carol
Wedding:
12/22/2010
5.0/5.0
The cake was decorated beautifully and looked too perfect to cut, but once we did, we found delicious cake inside. Very moist and tasty!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lbraun17
Wedding:
12/17/2010
5.0/5.0
I asked for a wedding cake that was classy, elegant, and one that would capture all the beauty of winter. Around the World in 80 cakes nailed it!!! The cake was almond flavored with raspberry and chocolate ganache filling with white fondant. The cake took everyones breath away! It was perfect in every way and tasted even better than it looked! I would recommend 80 cakes to anyone looking for quality cakes and desserts for their special occasions!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crossword Puzzle Cake
Wedding:
12/2/2010
4.9/5.0
The service provided by the vendor was a birthday cake. From initial creative thinking to artistic execution, the cake was a great value for the money, and it was a pleasure to deal with the vendor.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deb
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Jen Thank you for a wondeful wedding cupcake tower.
If you are looking for a baker that will work with you and listen to your ideas I highly recommend Around the World In 80 Cakes.The colours were perfect the cakes were delicious.I have aready given your name and website to alot of my friends both those that made the wedding and those that could not but have seen pictures of the cakes and heard how good they were.
Thank you again for your wonderful cake and all your help.
Deb & keith.11/16.10
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kewtee314
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Jen was extremely accommodating and a pleasure to work with even though we were an out of town wedding! It was hard to put all our trust into someone for a wedding cake which we would not see the final product until our special day. We felt confident that Jen got to know us well enough as a couple to know exactly what we would like with a few extra special touches. The cake was delicious... even a year later! Who knew how many memories would come flooding back to us with one bite of Jen's amazing cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mishybelle
Wedding:
4/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Among the general confusion and surprise when walking in to your bridal shower, i couldnt understand why my mom brought 2 of my favorite purses, and had them on display in the room. Upon closer inspection - THEY WERE CAKE. Unbelievable - Jen made my bridal shower cakes as replica's of a Louis Vitton Speedy and a classic Coach bag. The cakes were totally 3-dimentional, standing up as the purse would if you just put it on the table itself, with all of the details: handles, stiching, zippers and more. THe cakes were not only magnificent to look at - but they tasted delicious. Jen created specific cake flavors for me, and paired each one with a complimentary butter cream filling and icing. The only thing that could have been better was if I could have walked out with them on my arm! (but at least i got the leftovers!)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mjm012409
Wedding:
1/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Jen from Around the World in 80 Cakes made the cake for my wedding. It was a winter wedding so we were looking for a creative design that had a snowflake theme. Jen had some great ideas and came up with a tiered designed that matched our colors and looked beautiful. To top it off, she made two very cute toppers. I was also impressed by how many different and unique flavors Jen offered. She helped us pick out flavors that tasted great and would work well together. I would highly recommend Around the world in 80 Cakes to anyone. It was a great experience!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
7/14/2007
5.0/5.0
The cake was absolutely beautiful and it tasted delicious. It was exactly what Jen had promised, and she delivered on-time to our bridal shower location, which made everything easier for us. The cake was designed to look like a jewelry box and most people didn't even realize it was a cake! Everyone was just in awe of how realistic it looked.

I would highly recommend Around the World in 80 Cakes, and I plan to use Jen again for future events!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lady M
Wedding:
5/21/2005
5.0/5.0
We ordered solar system cupcakes for my son's 3rd birthday party and they came out beautiful! The colors were gorgeous and they tasted even better than they looked! We will definitely use Around the World in 80 Cakes for our next party!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M
Wedding:
11/30/2002
5.0/5.0
Jennifer made a beautiful birthday cake for my boyfriend. It tasted delicious and was exactly what I wanted in terms of design. People were raving over how cool it looked and also how good it tasted. I would recommend her to anyone needing a cake for any event. She was so easy to work with and so talented! Someone even asked "did the cake boss make that?"
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
Washington, NJ 07882 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Around the World in 80 Cakes
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo