130x130_sq_1404142188204-trio-narrow-wedding-wire

Artisan Bake Shop

Rochester , MA

LOCATION

265 Walnut Plain Road
Rochester, MA US 02770 (map)

PHONE

508-763-4905

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

{The Perfect Combination of Style, Taste and Service} With a pastry chef and artist on staff our cakes designs are endless. From classic elegance to whimsical or nautical I believe that... Read more
{The Perfect Combination of Style, Taste and Service} With a pastry chef and artist on staff our cakes designs are endless. From classic elegance to whimsical or nautical I believe that your cake should be designed around your vision and style.

Only the highest quality ingredients and always made to order. Your options range from Wedding Cakes to Cupcaakes or even something fun and fanciful like a Dessert Buffet & Bake Sale Tables with handmade local fruit pies with cider donuts.

We are known for our elegant and custom-made cupcake stands which can provide a gorgeous alternative to cake at your reception. Complimentary consultations include a full sketch session and tasting with a large variety of cake flavors to try.

I look forward to meeting with you to design the most delicious cake of your dreams.

Cheers, Meredith Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1345395352889-aprilkseashellweddingcakeoceannauticalyellowivorywhite2
130x130_sq_1345395371673-cascadeseashellfloral
130x130_sq_1345395396571-hydrangeaweddingcaketwotieredbuttercreampurpleblueflowers
130x130_sq_1345395404543-mintjulepcuphydrangeaseaglassdriftwoodbeachnauticaloceantealwhitefondant2
130x130_sq_1345395407682-modpolkadotsseabluestieredcake
130x130_sq_1345395509870-birchcakelogrusticfarmcountryweddingwoodenpedestaltree
130x130_sq_1345395529824-birchtreeweddingcakelogrisertreerusticlights
130x130_sq_1345395549528-birchtreeweddingcake
130x130_sq_1345395560018-cranberrywedding2
130x130_sq_1345395567352-winecraterusticcupcakedisplay
130x130_sq_1404143063096-trio-narrow-wedding-wire
130x130_sq_1404143366849-yellow-wedding-cake-flowers-shells-white-chocolate
130x130_sq_1404143085582-0020corinnaraznikovd56a2805
130x130_sq_1404143241344-joyelle-west-photography-artisan-bake-shop-nautica
130x130_sq_1404143119969-0007corinnaraznikovimg1282
130x130_sq_1404143229965-photo-credit-corinna-raznikov-photography
130x130_sq_1404143151510-0090corinnaraznikovd56a3154
130x130_sq_1404143175067-0486corinnaraznikovrc3a4460
130x130_sq_1404143196132-0481corinnaraznikovrc3a4450
130x130_sq_1404143372948-modern-wedding-cake-contemporary-orchid
130x130_sq_1404143215147-0477corinnaraznikovrc3a4447
130x130_sq_1404143236704-download
130x130_sq_1404143237621-navy-stripe-preppy-anchor-t
130x130_sq_1404143261831-classic-elegant-white-wedding-cake-white-on-white-
130x130_sq_1404143350882-wave-nautical-navy-blue-white-ivory-buttercream-si
130x130_sq_1404143496704-fall-magnolia-season-autumn-modern-cake-purple-gre

INFO FOR CATERING

Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
Complimentary tasting and design appointments book as a 90-minute block and include a full sketch session, then conclude with a tasting (4-6 types of cake and 8-12 different fillings and our signature vanilla buttercream, all are chef's choice. If you have particular flavors you'd like to try, we'll do our best to include all of your requests. While you're tasting, we'll put together pricing for you and send you home with a big packet of details and sketches along with our book the date sheet which will discuss deposits to book with us. Please contact us for more information regarding booking an appointment with our pastry chef via email artisanbakeshop@gmail.com or phone 508-763-4905.
What is your maximum catering capacity?
400

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
We offer complimentary private tastings which book as a one-hour appointment.
What are your tasting hours?
Our tasting consultations book appointments only. Please call ahead for our current tasting hours: call 508-763-4905.
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
We price by the slice, our prices range from $3.75-$12.00 per serving depending of the complexity of the design. We offer a "Bride's on a Budget" package which offers two designs and a multitude of color schemes to fit into a tight budget.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Top Cake or Anniversary Cakes are always included in our pricing. You can either choose to save the top tier of your tiered wedding cake (we make the remaining tiers a little bit larger to accommodate the numer number of servings lost from saving that top tier) or you can choose the gift certificate option: we drop a card in your box that day which entitles you to a complimentary anniversary cake. Just call a week before you plan to celebrate your first anniversary and we'll bake a fresh cake for you in ANY flavor that you choose!
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
Yes, we offer a "Bride's-on-a-Budget" package which includes two predetermined styles and a multitude of color schemes.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
All of our cakes, buttercreams and fillings are lovingly made from scratch with only the finest and freshest ingredients! Always committed to local farms & families: local eggs are delivered every Saturday afternoon and local honey is harvested and delivered in the summer. Local seasonal fruit and berries are picked right down the road and delivered to our door. Our strawberry buttercream is made year-round with native strawberry puree and tastes just like strawberry ice cream-- it is pretty amazing!
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
Our cakes are baked fresh for each wedding and never ever frozen.
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
Typically, we schedule two to three weddings per weekend. We recommend scheduling a consultation 3-14 months prior to your wedding date.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Absolutely! If needed: we will provide a floral worksheet that can be sent to your florist with a stem count for types and different sizes of flowers needed for the cake.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
We rent the following: solid wood white cupcakes towers, nautical rope trimmed cupcake stands. We offer a huge selection of elegant chine cake pedestals, silver trays and beautiful risers, as well as floating cake stands, metal craft cake risers and more.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Yes, we deliver within the areas of Southeastern Massachusetts, South Coast of Massachsuetts, all of Cape Cod, Eastern Rhode Island, & Providence, RI. All delivered include styling and setup at the reception site.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Meredith did a fantastic job with the cakes for our wedding! We designed two cakes because my husband and I are gluten-free. Her gluten-free cakes are just as delicious as her regular cakes! She is very creative and also really fun and easy to work with. Our cakes were beautiful and tasted amazing too! Thank you so much Meredith!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Meredith was a pleasure to work with right from the start. At our consultation she had me bring pictures and she took my ideas and improved them. She sketched them out at the meeting and the tasting was incredible. It was difficult to decide on a cake because everything tasted so good. She uses fresh ingredients made from scratch and delivers the wedding cakes and sets them up herself. Her prices are reasonable and the final product is amazing. People are still asking where I got my wedding cake a month later.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Meredith at Artisan Bake Shop was a pleasure to work with and produced a cake that exceeded our expectations- we loved it! Plus, the tasting and consultation to figure out what you want is a lot of fun!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachael
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Artisan was the best! The cakes and cupcakes are delicious and affordable. They are also Pros when it comes to managing the details. I got married on a Boston Harbor Island and other than giving them the contact info for the coordinator, I did not have to lift a finger in terms of the details and logistics with getting 100+ cupcakes and top tier cake on a boat and onto an island. No surprise fees and incidents. They are the BEST.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cleide
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Working with Meredith from Artisan Bake Shop was one of the most pleasant experiences in my entire wedding planning process. Meredith is a true artist who takes great pride in her work. Our cakes were absolutely beautiful, better than I could have imagined, and absolutely delicious. Multiple guests commented that it was the best cake they ever had! If you're looking for a cake that is a work of art and tastes amazing, go with Artisan, you will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
8/2/2013
5.0/5.0
The wedding cake and dessert bar that Meredith created for my wedding day was something out of magazine! On top of being visually stunning, her creations are the best you have ever tasted. My guests had never seen anything like it and loved it. My husband and I really enjoyed the cake tasting. Meredith is very talented and passionate and it shows!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Artisan Bake Shop was the perfect bakery to use for our wedding cake! Meredith was so pleasant to work with and was super helpful with the whole process. We wanted a rustic cake with fresh flowers and she drew up a beautiful sketch at our first meeting which ended looking exactly like our wedding cake! She was also very helpful in recommending a local florist to use for the flowers (Always in Bloom!) and they were absolutely gorgeous and the staff was also very helpful in working with me over the phone.

Most importantly, the cake was BEAUTIFUL and tasted amazing!! Everyone I spoke to said it was the best cake they've ever eaten, and I had some very picky guests! We somehow ended up with a lot of extra cake at the end of the wedding and I'm not ashamed to admit that my husband and I took it on our mini-moon and enjoyed it all week! I can't wait for our anniversary cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/12/2013
5.0/5.0
When my husband and I walked into Artisan Bake Shop, we were expecting the usual: two, maybe three flavors of cake and two frostings. But that's not really the Bake Shop's style: we walked into four or five flavors of cupcakes and a WHOLE PLATTER of frostings. Try choosing from among Bailey's cream, peanut butter, strawberry, and a whole host more. Needless to say, we left extremely sugar high and more than a little obsessed. Fast forward to the wedding day...not only did we end up with more cake than we expected (which we promptly devoured post-honeymoon), but even the venue asked "where did you get that cake??" So do yourself a favor and go see Meredith. The cakes are amazing, and I didn't have to worry for a second about anything during the process. You even get a choice: keep the top layer for your anniversary, or she'll make you a fresh cake in a year. Absolutely phenomenal.

Sarah & Jon Vostok
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Meredith at Artisan Bake Shop came to our rescue when we suddenly had to look for a new (dairy-free) cake vendor three weeks before the wedding. Since we live in Arizona, we weren't even able to taste the cake beforehand and just had to trust that it would be amazing. After begging for them to squeeze us into their busy schedule, they moved around a few deliveries and made it happen. I emailed one picture of our idea, and the cake was more amazing and delicious than we could have imagined. Dairy-free red velvet with "buttercream" frosting and raspberry jam filling - amazing! I wouldn't recommend anyone else for your wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Meredith was a joy to work with. She made our cupcakes and small cake for our wedding. We had so much fun getting together with her to taste the cakes and discuss design. When we arrived at the reception the cupcakes were beyond my expectations, they were wonderful! They look great and tasted even better! She also made the cake and cookie favors at my bridal shower and everyone was raving at how delicious everything was, Her work is impeccable!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
WOW! is all I can say. The cake tasting was wonderful. The owner went through the cakes, the designs, the costs, everything you need to know. She then sketched my cake with the color samples I provided. Then she provided 3 different cakes and many different frostings. We cleared our plates!
Along with the wedding cake, we did a dessert bar that was a huge hit at the wedding it gave folks something different to try rather than being forced to eat cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about my experience with Meredith and the Artisan Bake Shop for my daughters wedding. Meredith was accessible and totally responsive to all of our inquiries and requests. The cake was amazing...beautiful and delicious...and the scones she made for the wedding favor were the best I've ever had. Meredith was also able to accommodate my Gluten Free guests with delicious cupcakes (boxed with their name and table number) so they wouldn't be left out of the festivities. She did the same with the favors. The compliments continue to come in from the weddings guests weeks after the event. I find myself trying to think up an excuse to order another cake or some other delicious goodie from the Artisan Bake Shop. Thank You Meredith!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good about Meredith and the crew at Artisan Bake Shop! They created the cake for our wedding and Meredith was incredible during our consultation. We had been to other bakeries and were unimpressed by their run-of-the-mill and impersonal tastings. Meredith really took the time to DRAW out several different cake options, and described our flavor options thoroughly. She was also extremely mindful of our budget and made kitchen cakes (just as tasty!!) to supplement our decorative cake. I highly recommend Artisan for any of your baking needs! Our cake was absolutely beautiful, and we received MANY compliments on how delicious and moist it was!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1318205712205-pickett6
René
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Artisan created the cake of my dreams, literally. Other vendors said it couldn't be done or wanted to charge me outrageous prices. Artisan created a gorgeous 5 tier seashell themed cake and even made it work with my budget. Meredith would even email me new ideas after our consultation to make sure our cake was exactly what we wanted. 5 stars for Artisan!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
This place is amazing! I ordered my gluten free wedding cake from here. I sent them a picture and told them I wanted something similar to what was in the picture. I had two flavors for my cake chocolate and red velvet. The chocolate part of the cake had either strawberries or raspberry in the middle and it was amazing. All my guests raved about how good the cake was. They never even knew it was gluten free. I am going to order another cake from them real soon, it was just so good. It didn't just taste good it looked amazing too! It matched perfectly with my flowers. Thanks again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DeAnna
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Working with the Artisan Bake shop, in particular Meredith, was a blast! My fiance and I had some rather strange demands and unique requests regarding our wedding cake, and the bakers were able to make everything happen for us..we couldn't be more pleased. We ended up going with a white cake with layers of vanilla and chocolate buttercream throughout. The inside vanilla buttercream layer was filled with teal sprinkles to match our colors. I received so many "this was the best cake I've ever had" comments throughout the night. The outside of our cake was a challenge for us. We knew we wanted to keep it elegant but still bring out our fun, kid-like sides. Meredith sat down with us numerous times and developed the PERFECT sketch...very elegant white buttercream on the top two layers, some beautiful white sugar flowers decorated with teal and black edible glitter, but the bottom of the cake was the biggest hit as it was covered with teal and black sprinkles. How amazing! I describe it as "business on the top, party on the bottom." I am still hearing how our cake was so unique and nobody had ever seen anything like it. I will definitely be recommending Artisan Bake Shop to my other bride friends.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Artisan Bake Shop responded with the following comments:

DeAnna, it was such a pleasure to work with you! We had such a blast with you cake!! Thank you so much for choosing Artisan Bake Shop!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We LOVED Meredith at Artisan Bake Shop- we came in for a consult with some different ideas in mind and she worked with us until we had a complete sketch of what we wanted our wedding cake to look like. She was full of ideas, had lots of tasty samples and most importantly, she really delivered on the big day. She also made mini 2-tier bridesmaid cakes for me to give to each of my bridesmaids, AND made my hubby the most amazing grooms cake (an intricate easy chair scene, with a little sculpture of our dog, amongst other things). Suffice it to say- I ate a lot of her cake during my wedding weekend, and everything was beautifully executed and delicious (and moist- not dry, like a lot of fondant decorated cakes can be). Everything was also delivered on time. The 20 min drive off Cape to meet with her is SO worth it- do it! She's the best cake decorator in the whole area!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kayla
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
We loved our wedding cake and groom's cake! So many compliments on the day of our wedding! I picked up our anniversary cake today and can't wait to enjoy it tomorrow! Fabulous job!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
130x130_sq_1319083433567-cake
Stasia
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
We could not be happier to have worked with Meredith and the Artisan Kitchen (Artisan Bake Shop) for our wedding cake. What drew us to Artisan Kitchen was their commitment to local and organic ingredients and sustainability (they purchase eggs, fruits & produce from local farms, use recycled products and even compost!). Since the first day we met Meredith at the Shop for our cake tasting, she was extremely helpful in creating the exact design we wanted. Artisan Kitchen crafted us a 4-tier round wedding cake with spackled buttercream frosting and sugared cherries - it looked like something directly out of Martha Stewart Weddings! Not to mention each tier was a different flavor of spectacular goodness! :) We highly recommend Artisan Kitchen for your wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mia
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
We got pies from Artisan Kitchen for our wedding instead of cake. The pie was DELICIOUS - and I am a baker so I know good pie when I taste it :) The price was much better than other places in Boston that I checked, and the pie was also much tastier. We got the mixed coastal berry and the apple - delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rfortes
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
The Artisan Kitchen was great! They were professional and easy to contact at any time. They delivered exactly what was asked of them and the cake tasted wonderful! I will definitely use them for other occasions.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KMP72311
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Meredith was so much fun to work with! We scheduled our tasting about 4 months out from our wedding & then were so excited to see our cakes on wedding night! Meredith worked with our requests perfectly, doing 5 (smaller) vintage-y cakes for our wedding & the prices were so reasonable. She also delivered directly to our venue & set them up beautifully. Our guests loved the fun flavors (pistachio & lemon fillings, Bailey's, red velvet, etc). ! We would highly recommend to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
The Artisan Kitchen did an amazing job decorating our wedding cupcakes!! They were beautifully designed and DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!! I have a dairy allergy and was having a difficult time finding a cupcake vendor for our wedding. I have tried a number of "dairy-free" cakes and many of them were just dry and gross, but when I saw that the Artisan Kitchen had chocolate cupcakes that were naturally dairy free, I thought that is my BEST bet at a dairy free cupcake that has all the flavor of a "normal" cupcake. They really blew me away with how delicious the cake and dairy free icing were!! The presentation was wonderful and everyone was raving about the great tasting cupcakes!! I planned my wedding from across country, I live in Portland, OR, and they were so responsive and great!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
superbride
Wedding:
11/1/2008
4.8/5.0
My experience with The Artisan Kitchen was amazing. I had a great meeting with Meredith in which she helped process my vague ideas into creative masterpieces. When the cupcakes and top cake I had ordered were delivered, they were beautiful, but not exactly what I had expected (because of a miscommunication on my part) and I had mentioned it around her staff. A few days later, she offered me a refund for the top cake, which I absolutely could not accept from her! The cupcakes and cake were more beautiful and better tasting than I ever had imagined! Thank you for a great experience.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keeley
Wedding:
9/23/2007
4.2/5.0
Did a fabulous job with our cakes. We did 16 table cakes and everyone loved them! She did wonderful work!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

DEALS

Professional Photo = Free Anniversary Cake!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Provide us with a professional digital photo of the wedding cake that we designed for you and you'll receieve a gift certificate for a FREE 7" Anniversary Cake.
Deal #WW3d6ebfdddeeb234b
220x220_1404142188204-trio-narrow-wedding-wire

MAP

 
265 Walnut Plain Road, Rochester, MA 02770 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Artisan Bake Shop
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo