130x130_sq_1404063215179-img4158-edit

Artistic Productions

San Diego , CA

LOCATION

5173 Waring Road, Suite 170
San Diego, CA US 92120 (map)

PHONE

619-593-7367

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Artistic Productions is owned and operated by Merrylin and Bob Brichmann. Services include: disc jockey, emcee, mobile music, ceremony and reception sound and lighting, special event... Read more
Artistic Productions is owned and operated by Merrylin and Bob Brichmann. Services include: disc jockey, emcee, mobile music, ceremony and reception sound and lighting, special event planning, event coordination, microphones, uplighting, DVD/slide show productions and projection, monograms, themed events, referral and general consultation. Combining services and packages varies with each client and event.
We are based in San Diego, California and service all of San Diego County. We have also provided services in other parts of California, Mexico and various states throughout the US. While we field over 1200 inquiries each year for our services, we actually engage 225-250 clients each year. We are not overwhelmed and our clients get their deserved attention for making their event unique and successful.

We are professional Disc Jockeys, Emcees and Event Coordinators. We are experts in event planning and specialize in weddings, corporate parties and family functions. Our professionalism, personalities and experience are our strengths.

Founded in 1990, we have established ourselves as one of the more reputable and experienced entertainment companies in southern California. Most of our business comes from past client and industry referrals. We've earned a great reputation that we're very proud of.

We specialize in wedding ceremonies and receptions, but also book everything from corporate and convention functions to family picnics and birthday/anniversary parties. We've done rehearsals, store grand openings, fashion shows, charitable auctions and school/youth dances. We're very versatile and able to travel. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1279004746527-0027mckenneyseyboldwedding
130x130_sq_1279004888902-img7979

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Merrylin was the DJ at our wedding and she was awesome! She was very energetic and professional and kept the party going. She did a great job finding the songs that we requested and had such a positive attitude with everything we asked. She really put me at ease and was able to sit with us before the big day and go through each detail, song by song. She was very personable and was responsive to all of my questions (even my non-music related questions). Everything was perfect. We highly recommend Merrylin!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melody and Natasha
Wedding:
3/20/2014
5.0/5.0
Merrylin was fantastic! If you are looking for a knowledgeable, fun and professional DJ she IS your lady. We had the pleasure of working with Merrylin and if we were to do it all over again, we would use her in a heartbeat. She has an enormous music selection which is filled with any and every kind of music you could think of. She kept our wedding guests dancing all night long. She was interactive and made the night very enjoyable. She was extremely courteous and very professional. Her smile illuminated the dance floor and the night ran very smoothly. She also made a point to be available to us if we had questions or concerns throughout the entire planning process. Not only was she an amazing DJ, she was flexible with some last minute changes we wanted to make, and she really pulled through with them! Our guests raved about how great she was which made us even more appreciative of her! She MADE our first dance. Merrylin will always be our first choice if we need a DJ. We cannot express enough gratitude towards her and what she did to make our wedding perfect.
~Natasha and Melody Dockery-Chleva
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Merrylin is an amazing DJ. She is great at reading the crowd and keeping the party rocking!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cherie
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Loved the music, the energy and the awesome service! My guest danced until we were shut down by our venue :-)
Services Used: DJ
Bg8
Anonymous
Wedding:
3/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Merrilyn was amazing! She met with my husband and I two different times before the wedding, she was always professional yet fun to be around. We were given the ability to chose our must plays, would like to play,or don't play. I give Merrilyn the credit for keeping my reception flowing so beautifully throughout the night, numerous guest told me the night was well organized and they loved her music. I'm so happy we chose Artistic Productions as our DJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mackenzie
Wedding:
12/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Merrylin and Artistic Productions were an absolutely amazing addition to our ceremony and reception. Between the music selection and the ease at which Merrylin helped our reception along, we will forever be grateful. She did what you hope for when your big day approaches, made it easier on me and reduced so much stress. Out of all the worries you have on your wedding day, the DJ was one thing I never had to worry about. Merrylin had all that we could hope for and more in a DJ and we still talk about how lucky we were to have her. We would recommend her to friends, family, and really anyone looking for a DJ in San Diego because you can't get anyone better.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristy
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Wow!!

I couldn't have chose a better DJ for my wedding at Grand Tradition Estates. After reviewing the DJ's from the preferred vendor list from my venue, I felt defeated. No of them looked very promising from there websites and sample music.

I went on a whim and chose Artistic Productions out of a wedding magazine I picked up in San Diego. I called and spoke with Merrilyn. Merrilyn and Bob are a married couple that both DJ for their company. I spoke with Merrilyn on the phone for the first time and 45 minutes later we were still talking about my husband's and my love story, history, style of music etc. She was booked for another event, but Bob was available.

I met with Bob at a cake vendor that I was visiting. We sat and went through my vision for the day. He explained that their website will allow Nic and I to go through songs and add to lists of "likes" "loves" and "don't play" lists. It made it so easy to give Bob a sense of our musical style. Nic and I always thought the DJ makes or breaks and wedding. But OH MAN, Nic and I have never had so much fun dancing at any event. We had people on the dance floor we never thought we would see in our life time.

Bob did an amazing job keeping the party flowing and people on the dance floor. He was an amazing MC and wouldn't of had the same wedding without him as our DJ. Highly recommend Merrilyn and Bob with Artistic Productions for any event you need a DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allie
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot recommend Bob and Artistic Productions enough. Bob was the DJ for our wedding on October 13th and I am so happy with how things went. Long before the big day, we met with several different DJs. Though our meeting with Bob was perhaps the most laid back, it also felt the most professional of them all. He had the most experience and his online resource for selecting the playlist was great. And more importantly, he also was experienced with being an emcee and scheduling the events. This was invaluable for me, as I didn't have a wedding planner and was doing things myself. So we made the decision to hire Bob and it was perhaps the best one we made in picking out our vendors.

Bob was always easy to get a hold of and answered any questions I had quickly and clearly. There were one or two instances where I sent off a panicked email over a random question, which he quickly responded to and answered. He was much more than a DJ as he helped to keep my stress level low! We ended up moving out of town during the process, but we were still able to have meetings with Skype. And when I had some week of drama that happened, he was able to help me come up with an easy solution.

As for the actual reception, it was perfect. The dance floor was never empty, which was something I had worried about happening. He read the crowd perfectly to know when to change the tempo and keep everyone happy. He was on top of all the events and made announcements as needed. One of our groomsmen, who has been to a ton of weddings and is a bit of a music geek, said he was the best DJ ever. Very high praise from him! Bob was also flexible with the time, letting us add on an extra hour at the end cause the guests was having so much fun! Everyone was disappointed when we eventually had to stop the music.

Overall, Bob was a lifesaver for me. He was professional, knowledgeable and fun. My husband and I both agree he was the best money we spent for the reception.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1313263774393-img0621
Casey
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Merrylin was AWESOME!! She created a timeline for me and totally kept the flow of the night. I even had a list of special/strange requests and she nailed every single one of them. All my guests were coming up to me telling me how awesome my DJ was. She rocked the party for sure. I had the best time ever. I loved her and would totally recommend her.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dagna
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
I know this review is a little long, but trust me, these two are worth it!

Kyle and I got married at the beautiful Prado in Balboa Park, San Diego on June 30th, 2012. I was extremely worried about finding good vendors since we live in Las Vegas and we would only be able to go up to California twice before the wedding. Bob and Mer were the first and last DJs we spoke with and they blew us away.
We met them at Coffee Bean and talked for close to an hour. First off, they are married- I love this because a) they like each other and b) they know how important music is to a couple on their wedding day. Second, they have KILLER musical taste! Kyle and I love Rockabilly and off the wall music and they actually knew who the bands we mentioned were (we didn't expect that!)
We decided on the spot that we were going to hire them. Bob was going to be our DJ and he was visibly excited about our music choices!
We met again when we went to San Diego in March and threw around more ideas. Throughout the next few months he quickly answered emails and talked with me on Facebook at 3 in the morning when I couldn't sleep, discussing and suggesting things we might like. Bob was 100% there and it took a TREMENDOUS amount of stress out of the whole process. (His humor and great personality didn't hurt either!)
The day of the wedding came and the music was absolutely amazing. It was a perfect reflection of us.
Sadly Bob had a health emergency, but Mer took over so seamlessly that none of the guests noticed. She rocked it!!!
I had requested some pretty obscure songs and it still baffles me how Mer and Bob found them!
People are still telling us it was the best music they EVER heard at a wedding- even the staff had made comments.

Needless to say, we would hire them again in a heartbeat and so should you!!!

Thank you Bob and Mer for the perfect wedding :)
-Dagna Bishop
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sharon Zoo 6-10-12
Wedding:
6/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Merrylin was thrown a few " curve balls" for my daughter's wedding.
Some of the music they wanted was not easy to find. It was from artists that are not known or played in the United States. Merrylin never gave up the search, using search engine after search engine, ( she did say that they actually "stumped the DJ" ). She ended up finding most of the music and we were all very happy.
Also the bride and groom were not dancers but Merrylin had them on the floor dancing for most of the time!
I can't say enough for Merrylin ( co -owner of Artistic Productions),
she is so very kind, caring and professional, this wedding was held in an area non of us were familiar with and any questions I had even not music related she answered for me. If she did not know right off hand, she found the answer and got back to me within hours!!
We all were totally impressed and recommed her 1000 % !!
Thanks Merrylin you are awesome !!
Sharon Zoo 6-10-12
Services Used: DJ, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ejewison
Wedding:
2/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Merrylin was amazing. She was incredibly helpful and made the entire process easy. Her music choices were excellent - everyone had so much fun
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob and Merrylin are a fantastic team to work with. Our event was well planned, flowed smoothly, and looked gorgeous, all thanks to the work Merrylin did as our coordinator. I was able to contact her at all times during the planning process for advice and feedback.
Bob ROCKED the event with his DJ skills-our party did not stop until it was time to go to sleep. He is easy to work with and he did a GREAT job as the Emcee for the night! HIGHLY recommend....
Services Used: DJ, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor
130x130_sq_1296625344016-04mikejoyclinynpcopy
jhashimoto
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob was a great DJ. He used a lot of the songs that we requested and gave to him. He kept everything flowing and made sure everyone kept dancing.
He was very easy to work with.
We would highly recommend using his services!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Challise
Wedding:
7/24/2010
4.9/5.0
Artistic Productions came recommended to us by our wedding reception venue, the Manchester Grand Hyatt in downtown San Diego. Upon first meeting of Bob and Merrylin, we knew they would be the perfect fit for us and our event. We literally booked them on the spot.

Bob was the DJ and emcee for our wedding reception in July 2010. One of the many things I appreciate about Bob is the fact that he told us up front this was about us and not about him, there would be no cheesiness about it. He was absolutely perfect, said the right amount but not too much, played music that everyone loved, most importantly us. We even extended our reception because everyone was having such a great time dancing.

Their website is great, they have a section for "love it", "like it", and "hate it", so that you can go in and give an idea of your musical tastes. Bob did a great job pulling from our lists and getting the vibe of what we like from just a few song selections. We had several people comment on how great the music was, even the background music during dinner, which usually goes unnoticed. My husband wanted to make a mix to be played during the cocktail hour, and Bob happily obliged. We burned the CD and sent it to him, and he played it for us as our background music during that time. Bottom line is Bob was very flexible and happy to do whatever to suit our needs.

Artistic Productions was by far the "favorite" of my wedding vendors. They were easy to communicate with and I knew that I didn't have anything to worry about with Bob behind the mic. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a fun yet classy, easy to work with DJ in San Diego. Thanks so much for everything!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
T
Wedding:
4/17/2010
4.9/5.0
Merrylin and her husband Bob run Artistic Productions. Although only one of them DJs your wedding, both of them work together on the music prior to the wedding. From our first meeting with Merrylin and Bob, we felt instantly comfortable. In fact, they were the first vendor we met with and we decided to go with them right away. It was so easy. They have a website that is relatively easy to use which you use to tell them which songs are “must play” and which ones you don’t want to hear. Closer to the wedding, we also met with Merrylin and she got to know us well enough that she just created a “vibe” for each portion of the wedding based on our preferences (ie. the cocktail hour, dinner, etc.). We of course chose specific songs for different parts of the wedding like the processional, sand ceremony, first dance and cake cutting, but we didn’t have to choose a bulk of the songs- she just “got” us and what we wanted to create. Also, we did choose some very specific songs for different parts of the ceremony and reception that were not on their website, but Merrylin was happy to go on iTunes and purchase the versions we wanted. The ceremony/reception turned out great- Merrylin kept the evening moving and kept everyone dancing!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AubsMascari
Wedding:
1/23/2010
5.0/5.0
What can I say.....Merrylin was amazing at my wedding. She was professional, and everything ran soooooooooooo smooth. She kept the dance floor full the whole night. Can't wait until we get to party with her again!!!!!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Bg19
Megan
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
Merrylin saved the day when our DJ cancelled at the last minute. She worked with us on the tight schedule and everything turned out perfectly! I had such a great time grooving with my husband and friends. Thank you so much!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Didier
Wedding:
7/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Artistic productions made what looked like another complicated and stress-inducing wedding service a pure delight to plan. All other DJ's we looked at were over the top and way too interested in selling us a party we didn't want for our intimate gathering - AND at a price that didn't make sense.
With Merrylin Brichmann, we immediately knew she would taylor the event to our personal music tastes (80's european pop, french caribbean, contemporary and classical) and create the perfect atmosphere for dancing (using creative yet subtle lighting in our ballroom). Our family and friends thought she was not only professional but she orchestrated the evening beyond expectations.
Thank You, Merrylin for having "all the right tunes" during that memorable Summer evening.

Best Wishes, Sonia and Didier
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brenda
Wedding:
11/8/2008
5.0/5.0
Merrylin did an excellent job emceeing at our wedding! She helped with the timeline, she played the music we wanted, and she offered some good advice about how to make our reception different and flow well.

Merrylin met with us when we were choosing our dj, and I liked her from the beginning. My now husband Paul wasn't sure about having a woman as the dj, but I talked him into it. He was very glad we chose her! Everything went extremely well, and Merrylin did everything we wanted, including not playing the naughty music until our priest left the reception. Everyone danced the whole night - until midnight! We received many compliments on how great the music was and how much fun everyone had at our wedding!

I highly recommend Merrylin and Artistic Productions.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
9/6/2008
4.0/5.0
Bob Brichmann was our DJ. He did a fine job. He played the kind of music that we wanted. Unfortunately, he did not really mix anything. One song would end and he'd start another. I probably could have put an ipod on. We didn't ask him to do much talking or working the crowd, so he was quiet (at our request). When he did introduce people for toasts and such he was very good. Overall, he was easy to get in touch with, affordable, and followed instructions well. But the mixing was lacking, which is a bit surprising.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
11/4/2006
5.0/5.0
For our wedding we knew we wanted our guests to dance and have a great time! Both Bob and Merrilyn were extremely helpful to us when we were planning our wedding (they worked great with all of our other vendors). Bob ended up being our DJ for the night and he did an amazing job. Bob was very professional and responsive to our guests music tastes, he made sure the party kept going and that EVERYONE was dancing and having an amazing time! Overall we would strongly recommend Artistic Productions to our friends (and anyone wanting their reception to be memorable for the right reasons... great music, lots of dancing!!!).
Services Used: DJ

DEALS

Uplighting
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Reference that you found us via Wedding Wire and we'll add four free uplights to your event when you book our DJ services. That's a $150.00 value. We'll further discount additional uplights at $25.00 each.
Deal #WW23594b019e92a0fc
220x220_1404063215179-img4158-edit

MAP

 
5173 Waring Road, Suite 170, San Diego, CA 92120 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Artistic Productions
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1404063215179-img4158-edit