130x130_sq_1372084354792-dsc2620

Ashley Bakery

Charleston , SC

LOCATION

1662 Savannah Hwy
Charleston, SC US 29407 (map)

PHONE

843-763-4125

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are a full service bakery, including artisan breads, pies, cookies, cakes, party trays and pastries for wholesale and retail customers. The owners, along with their 4 daughters and... Read more
We are a full service bakery, including artisan breads, pies, cookies, cakes, party trays and pastries for wholesale and retail customers. The owners, along with their 4 daughters and loyal employees, are dedicated not only to quality and customer service, but to the community as well.

Eileen and Bernard Ferri bought Ashley Bakery in 1988. A Charleston native, Eileen Ferri, has been baking for many years. Her traditional recipes tantalize taste buds throughout the Low Country! She is known for creating signature breads for the finest restaurants in Charleston. Eileen also bakes all wedding and occasion cakes for our clients.

Hayden, Eileen's daughter, has been decorating cakes for more than 10 years. Her designs have been featured in several magazines including: The Knot, Charleston Weddings Magazine, Southern Living Weddings, In Style Weddings Magazine, Unveiled, Southern Bride, Brides Magazine and American Cake Decorating. With a Bachelor of Fine Arts, Hayden has taken her degree and evolved it into creating amazing sculpted cakes, beautiful wedding cakes and creative special occasion cakes. She has used invitations, paper, fabric and many other elements for inspiration in her designs. Her creative capabilities have resulted in spectacular cakes!

Ashley Bakery is also happy to have Lani as a part of their decorating team. She has been with the bakery for 3 years. She decorates most of the occasion cakes. With her attention to detail and our delicious cakes, we see lots of smiles from our customers! Lani has used invitations, ideas from clients and her own experience in decorating to make beautiful cakes.

Wilson and Tim arrive early each morning to provide the bakery with our fresh baked breads. Their skilled hands create several kinds of bread and pastries for retail and wholesale clients.

Even Hayden's husband, Russ, pitches in delivering cakes and running errands for the bakery. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1345654513990-reception15
130x130_sq_1345654357301-dsc2620
130x130_sq_1345654628009-paisleycake
130x130_sq_1345654071931-01
130x130_sq_1345654833063-cakes
130x130_sq_1345654942849-closeupcupcakesetup
130x130_sq_1345655037335-fallcolorscake

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Our cake was absolutely delicious. My maid of honor and I had a great time at the tasting but it was extremely difficult to pick our flavors because everything was so tasty. I'm counting down the days until 6/28/2015 so we can have another bite on our first anniversary! My sister used them about 9 years ago for her wedding and their service and flavor remains the same after all these years.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
I'm so happy we had Ashley Bakery do our wedding cake! It was absolutely delicious - our guests loved it too! Hayden was also super accomodating and creative with our design - I had asked for a custom fondant flower with a ribbon around the cake to match the broach and ribbon on my dress and it came out beautifully!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
I am so happy I used Ashley bakery. The cake was not only beautiful, but it was delicious! If you are considering them to make your wedding cake, look no further! They were wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My cake was an absolute work of art. I have no idea how they made it look exactly like the pinterest picture that i brought to them. It was also the best tasting wedding cake according to the wedding guests. You will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Ashley Bakery supplied the most realistic vintage suitcase with world globe that I could gave ever imagined. Most guests had no idea it was a cake. It went perfectly with the travel themed wedding rehearsal grooms cake. Not only was it stunning to look at but it was truly the best cake I have tasted. I never expected it to be so moist and delicious. Thank you for sharing your talents and making our event even more fun. Also, delivering it in the pouring rain! Even though I live 2 1/2 hours away, I will be back!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
There are no words to describe our appreciation to the staff of Ashley Bakery for making the most precious groom's cake and the perfect wedding cake for our daughter & son-in-law's wedding weekend. They helped to make this the most wonderful wedding this couple could have ever hoped for.

We received so many compliments on both cakes ~ from gorgeous, delicious to 'who made it?' It must be very rewarding for them to know that they play such an integral role in the most momentous occasions in others lives; to add such happiness to those times. Their cakes make others happy; not only because of the way they look, but also because of the way they taste.

So, know that we thank the Ashley Bakery team for all of their hard work, long hours, creativity, etc. -their efforts once again paid off for yet another satisfied customer(s)! We would recommend them to anyone. Thank you!

Warm regards,
Caroline
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Siobhan
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
I would absolutely recommend Ashley Bakery!!! They helped me with the most amazingly detailed grooms cake and absolutely beautiful wedding cake!! AND both cakes were delicious!! They were so very helpful along the planning process and always responded to all of my phone calls and emails! They were a real joy to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Libby
Wedding:
1/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was as delicious as it was beautiful! Our guests wanted to sample all the different layers. Ashley Bakery was great to work with & had lots of pictures to look at when designing your cake. The taste testing was very helpful and lots of fun! I would highly recommend Ashley Bakery for your wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
I have been to numerous weddings where the cake was beautiful but dry and not tasty. This was not the case with Ashley Bakery. The number one compliment I got about my wedding was the quality of the dessert table. We did a unique wintery spread with cake tops and baked goodies. They were all amazing!! I would recommend them as one of the best bakeries in Charleston!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Susan and Hayden are FABULOUS!!!!! They made our wedding cake and a groom's cake that I surprised my husband with at our rehearsal dinner. I asked them to make the groom's cake look like a spot-tail red drum fish and they nailed it! My husband LOVED it!! And it was delicious too!!! Our wedding cake was absolutely gorgeous and delicious and everyone commented on how wonderful it was. Totally fuss-free process and top notch product!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
charlene
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Found Ashley Baking after the cake baker I had been working with for several months bailed on me. They got better offer that the groom's cake that I needed. Anyway, Susan and Hayden and the cake are perfection. It was the best red velvet cake I've ever had and I have had many!! Hayden took my drawing and made the best "Keg of beer" cake you have ever seen. My son was so surprised - everyone loved the cake. They were so easy to work with and so helpful, I highly recommend Ashley Baking.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We had cupcakes and mini desserts for our wedding. Everything was incredible! So delicious! I highly recommend this bakery to anyone in the charleston area:)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacklene
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Hayden and Susan at Ashley Bakery were amazing to work with. I showed them a picture I found on pinterest and Hayden was able to recreate the cake for me, and it actually looked more beautiful than I ever could have imagined. The cake was pretty and tasted amazing. Susan responded to every email and question I had in timely manner. I would definitely recommend using them. They were friendly, easy going, and the results were fantastic!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Our cake was beautiful and delicious. Ashley Bakery was very responsive for what we wanted our cake to look like.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bella
Wedding:
6/30/2013
5.0/5.0
I found Ashley Bakery through a simple google search, and I'm so lucky that I did! I worked with Susan Campbell who was extremely accommodating considering we planned a destination wedding. One chance we happened to be visiting the groom's family who live in South Carolina and we were able to schedule a last minute cake tasting. When we sat down with Susan for the cake tasting our daughter became sick and we had to rush out, but Susan was on her feet and gave us all the information we needed, pictures of possible cakes, and a box of cake samples to taste on the road. We were able to decide while driving back to Virginia with one sick child, and two others in the back seat, which cake we loved. We chose a Kaluah chocolate, bottom tier with a Carrot Cake top tier with butter cream frosting. In addition to the Wedding Cake, Susan also helped me to surprise my groom with a speciality groom's cake, made in true Miami Dolphin style. Susan stayed in constant contact with me and as able to answer every question I had. The cake tasted amazing! People were hoarding it at the reception! I truly appreciate everything Susan and the staff at Ashley Bakery did for us, and the amazing cake's they made!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Delicious..heavenly...divine! These were just a few descriptions of how our wedding cake looked and tasted! We couldn't have asked for more and every flavor was scrumptious. I would recommend the Ashley Bakery to anyone and everyone with a sweet tooth. The service was impeccable as well!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Beautiful and delicious! Our guests raved about the look and taste of our cake! I loved the design and the colors were perfect for our theme! They were flexible and open to developing a design that truly fit our style. We were thrilled!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
My baker flaked at the last minute and it was Ashley Bakery to the rescue! When they tell you that their red velvet or their butter cream icing are to die for... It is one hundred percent true. My fiancé was in the restaurant business for many years and when he tasted the red velvet, he said that it was the best and most moist he had ever had. That is saying a lot coming from a man who hates sweets. The cake was beautiful, no perfect... I would hire them again in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Montie
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Great cake with a side of good people!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Ashley Bakery has hit perfection again! The wedding cake was not only gorgeous, but very delicious. I have ordered desserts from them for years, and have been very pleased with every order. If you want the wedding cake of your dreams, Ashley Bakery is the place to go.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Great in every way! My cake was exactly what I had imagined and it was so delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1331905251797-4031837807641307164550009735498632761899360n
Kelly
Wedding:
2/22/2013
5.0/5.0
DELICIOUS AND GORGEOUS! WoW! They went above and beyond to make our cake perfect. It was designed to look like my dress and it was perfect! Such a pleasure to work with the ladies at Ashley Bakery. They are so talented and they make a mean cake :-)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Eileen and Hayden Ferri really deserve all sorts of praise for my wedding and groom's cakes. These women created two cakes that were absolutely gorgeous, and equally as delicious! We had pumpkin spice cake with vanilla butter cream frosting for the wedding cake. The icing was smooth with little dots around the edges of each layer, and topped with gold gilded fruit, nuts, greenery, and red berries. It was so stunning that it actually stopped my husband and me for a second during our introduction. The groom's cake was absolutely decadent. Chocolate cake with rippled chocolate icing, topped with the fruit, nuts, and greenery, and the cake topper I bought as a suprise - a little corgi figurine of my husband's beloved dog. Comments we received: "This is the best cake I've ever had at a wedding!" "Wedding cake isn't usually good. This is DELICIOUS!"

Will absolutely recommend them to EVERYONE in the Charleston area! Amazing quality, presentation, and a reasonable price! CALL THEM!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I can truly say that Ashley Bakery exceeded my expectations for our wedding cake. The design of the cake was gorgeous and the taste...just amazing. Everyone could not stop talking about how delicious the cake was. And now that the wedding is over, I have already ordered another cake from Ashley Bakery since I cannot wait a year to have some more of their delicious cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberleigh
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Wonderful and extremely creative group! We loved our cake so much, and it was really delicious!! We were able to come in well under budget for our cake, and everyone was able to have some at the wedding!

Highly recommend this provider, they are so nice!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Hands down the most delicious cake we tried all over Charleston! The hummingbird cake is the best cake i've ever had in my life and the outside of the cake was beautiful as well!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Ashley Bakery provided an astounding cake that went well above my expectations! The design was an exact replica of the proposal and the delievery was early, and well-polished! I was very impressed with the fresh, moist taste and vivid flavors! Many of our guests commented on the wonderful taste of the cake!! I would recommend Ashley Bakery to every Charleston bride!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1294977234428-dsc01595
Rachel
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding cake was beyond perfect! Ashley Bakery came up with a design that included the top portion of my dress and they even added the bow and brooch to really make it look perfect! I was very pleased with the design, delivery, and most importantly...the taste!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Peyton
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
We did a small cake with mini desserts. Everything was wonderful. I usually don't eat wedding cake but this was delicious!!! So many flavors and options. They are so creative and can do anything you want!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chickweeds
Wedding:
10/14/2006
5.0/5.0
This bakery is family owned and operated and I felt as if they were personally invested in making sure my cake was exactly what I wanted. Although they have several books of sample cakes that are beautiful, I took them a photo I had pulled from a magazine. She had never done a cake with decoration like I was asking for but was confident and excited to do it. The cake turned out beautifully and the flavor was so good my guests commented on it for weeks. My husband and I were eager for our first anniversary to come to eat it again! (It was still delicious--moist and flavorful.) I would (and do) recommend this bakery without hesitation to anyone looking for the perfect, personalized cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MOB N CHS SC
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
We received so many compliments on the wedding cake at our daughter's reception. It was delicious--each layer a different flavor. During the cake testing there were just too many "good ones." The bride and groom selected layers of carrot cake, red velvet cake, white chocolate and marble. All had cream cheese icing. The cake was so moist and so good that guests ventured to a second piece--another layer. The layer the bride & groom "cut" was red-velvet and I can't wait to see those pictures. The red cake was a "visual surprise" to everyone gathered around for the cake-cutting and toasts.
The decorating was very intentional on Ashley Bakery's part. They wanted exact color samples and exact font print outs--so it all matched. It was beautiful and delicious.
YUM! and how many times do you hear that on wedding cake?
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Ashley Bakery makes THE best tasting cakes that I have ever had and I am quite the connoisseur of desserts. Not only was my cake beautiful, it tasted amazing! They offer quite a selection of flavors for both the cake and the frosting!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ANErvin
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Ashley Bakery did our Grooms Cake, Wedding Cake and several of my shower cakes. Each one was very unique and very good! I had a very specific design in mind for our wedding cake. I brought them the pattern I wanted and they were able to put that design on the cake. Our cake was white with yellow designs. It was gorgeous!! We receievd many compliments on how good the cake was. We really enjoyed the cake tasting too! We had several flavors to choose from and they all were very good. We will continue to use Ashley Bakery for all of our cake needs!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ALaicer0723
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Ashley Bakery was extremely professional with handling our order for our wedding ~ it began with a friendly meeting and helpful employee taking us through design after design ever so patiently ~ Once I designed my cake, not realizing my expensive taste, they came back with a quote that was completely out of my budget, just when I thought it was impossible their response was simple...let's see what we can do with your ideas and building a less extravagant cake. Instantly I felt better and knew my vision would come to life. When I walked into our venue the day of our wedding, and saw our cake displayed I was in tears. It was exactly how I imagined it. I already knew it would taste amazing because of the incredible cake tasting they set up for us previously, not too mention the tray they sent home during the holidays so my family in town could sample them as well. Talk about a great business!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Ashley Bakery did such an amazing job on my wedding cake. It was so gorgeous and it came out even better than I had imagined. We got so many compliments on both the design and the taste! My husband and I can't wait for our 1 year anniversary so we can devour the top layer! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Charade
Wedding:
3/13/2010
5.0/5.0
I gave them a photo and they made it beautiful -- and for $700 less than others were wanting to charge.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aldewitt
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Laney from Ashley Bakery was absolutely amazing, I can't say enought great things about this place! I'm a graphic designer and wanted the design I created for the invitations to also be made on the cake. It turned out amazing, this vendor loves working with brides that want something out of the norm. I had the background in buttercream and the design in fondant, but they made the buttercream so smooth that it looked like fondant. People compilmented on how amazing the cake looked all night! It tasted great too!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1277305663906-finalportrait
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Ashley Bakery is BY FAR the best, most reputable bakery in Charleston. They have the best tasting cake & icing (and bread), the most personable service, amazing quality and service, affordable/reasonable prices, and are the sweetest people! There are no limitations on what Hayden can do with the cake decorating. She is extremely talented and can do anything you simply ask for. I have and will continue to recommend this bakery to anyone and everyone. But you better call in advance because they are busy busy busy during wedding season! Best bakery in South Carolina!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MH
Wedding:
2/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Ashley Bakery encourages a cake tasting by appointment. That was a sinful delight, as we were able to taste more than a dozen flavors of cake. Their pricing was very good compared to other places we checked. We loved the flavors so much that we decided to do different ones for each of the 6 tiers of cake. The consultant, Susan, was knowledgeable on the amount of cake needed for our guest list. The actual cake (all flavors) was a huge hit. The cake was fresh, and guests could not agree on the tastiest tier. We selected a simple decoration, and the cake looked elegant. We also ordered some back up cakes since we knew some guests might try more than one slice. This was a nice company to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mom of Two Brides
Wedding:
5/17/2008
5.0/5.0
Wonderful bakery. Very popular, so book early. Best brownies around!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michele
Wedding:
11/17/2007
5.0/5.0
Loved the cake, loved the service! Everything was wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs.Mottram
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Beautiful cake and sooo delicious!!! We ended up having to serve the top tier because all of our guests loved it so much!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
9/1/2012
4.9/5.0
Ashley Bakery provided us with a delicious and beautiful wedding cake. For our tasting they provided delicious samples - it was hard to choose! But we finally settled on strawberry pound cake with a buttercream icing. Considering there was only about 6 pieces left over, I can safely say it was a huge success!

Mary, Mother of the Bride
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarah
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.8/5.0
The groom's cake was AWESOME and both cakes were delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Cake was beautiful and delicious! We received numerous compliments on how great the cake tasted. We had the option to choose different flavors per tier, and we loved the variety! Favorite layer was our bottom layer, white chocolate with buttercream.

I look forward to ordering another cake from them. The design was amazing! They did both our groom's cake for the rehearsal and the wedding cake at the reception.

Only downside was that they were a little difficult to get in touch with which required a couple phone calls at a time.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lysa
Wedding:
4/11/2009
4.8/5.0
Although I may be a bit biased, I think that I had the most beautiful wedding cake ever!!! The girls were so easy to work with, and so much fun!! They knew exactly what I wanted, and created it exactly how it was pictured in my mind. The best part was, that it was delicious!!!!! Fantasic cakes!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ohsniff52
Wedding:
4/26/2009
4.7/5.0
They did the groom's cake for our rehearsal dinner. I emailed them the picture I wanted on the cake and they did a WONDERFUL job. My husband was very impressed with his cake. It was not only awesome to look at but it tasted great too!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
Everything was delicious. Instead of the traditional wedding cake, I opted for a dessert bar. We had a small cutting cake (chocolate kahlua- wonderful) and a birthday cake (long story, but it turned out BEAUTIFULLY), as well as an incredible assortment of mini pies, cheesecakes, cookies, brownies... Everything I ate was delicious.

With such delicious desserts, I'd probably have gotten over any negative interactions- but that was not the case in the slightest. The tasting was fun and relaxed, and all communication was friendly and professional.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
6/29/2012
4.7/5.0
Ashley Bakery was recommended to me by my wedding coordinator (Megan at Mingle Events). As a destination bride, I didn't get to do a "cake-tasting" before the wedding, but Susan talked me through my options on the phone and recommended some great flavors. They also came up with the whole concept for the dessert table and how it could look based on some pins from my Pinterest board. We did mini-cupcakes and mini-desserts (tarts and cheesecakes) as opposed to a full-size wedding cake. We also had a small decorated cake for cake-cutting. Everything looked and tasted AMAZING! Definitely some of the best red velvet cake I've ever had in my life! The cake was moist and the frosting was to die for too--not overly sweet.

Ashley Bakery also provided a vintage milk glass cake stand to go with my cutting cake, which was a nice touch. While they are a little more pricey than some of the other bakeries I looked into, it's so worth it! The staff are helpful, creative and friendly!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
I did cupcakes for my wedding and they were a big hit....everyone was raving about them! I also did a small cake for my husband and I to cut and I was so pleased with the design. I had provided a sketch of exactly what I wanted and the final product was perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
loki727
Wedding:
12/31/2010
4.5/5.0
The cake was gorgeous!! Our guests all swear it was the best Red Velvet they have ever tasted!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1374101897974-image
Keisha
Wedding:
7/12/2013
4.5/5.0
Susan at Ashley Bakery ensured our cake was absolutely just as we wanted it. The bakery offered a cake tasking session prior to us selecting our cake and allowed us to browse through several photos of previous cakes made by them. My bridesmaid Nikki went with me because I don't eat cake with icing and cake just isn't one of my favorite deserts, so having her with me, made the selection easier.

Susan was initially a bit negative not accommodating to the type of cake we wanted. Every design and color choices I described, she blatantly told me, we can't do that or you can't have that color because it's not a good color for the summer, etc..... Her responses came over as if this was her cake and she injected a lot of what she would do. This was a major turn off, however, things got better and we ended up with a beautiful cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
Ashley Bakery was AMAZING! Everything was incredibly tasty and welll done. They did our grooms cake and our wedding cake and were more than happy to accommodate unique ideas (our grooms cake was zombie themed :) ). They're a little on the pricey side, but they are absolutely wonderful to work with, and the results are fantastic!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KelseyDrozd
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.4/5.0
This bakery was great. They were so flexible with meeting with me 7pm to do a cake tasting while I was in town on business. I will admit I was a little concerned at the cake tasting because the iceing didnt taste very good ( it was grainy) but I later realized this just due to tasting plate having been prepped earlier in the day and sitting in the fridge and also the icing on the tasting slices was a lot thinner that what was on my cake. The actual cakes at the wedding were fantastic and I recieved so many compliments from my guests. My wedding cake itself was just a plain white 3 tiered cake that had flower (provided by the florist) on top. I thought that the wedding cake ,while very good, was over priced. It cost almost $600 for just a basic cake that only fed 89 people. However they exceeded our expectations with the grooms cake. My groom is a Marine and a lover of guns and his prized possession was his "man cannon" the smith and weston 500. He would have nothing else as his grooms cake and my mother and his mother were beside themselves with the idea of a gun cake at the wedding. The staff worked with me to create the idea of putting the gun in a display box to give it a more "prized possession" look instead of an "I will kill you" look. The execution of this cake (picture on their blog) was fantastic. It was a huge hit! For specialty cakes this bakery takes the cake, but you will still have to pay a high price for a basic cake that the grocery store could do.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
4/24/2010
4.4/5.0
The cake was beautiful and delicious! We were given so many options as well as allowed to add in our own twist to make it truly unique!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sherri
Wedding:
12/15/2013
4.3/5.0
The cupcakes turned out amazing for our wedding! It was a little difficult to make arrangements sight unseen from another state but the owner/staff were good about returning my calls and emails in a timely manner. The selection wasn't as broad as I would've hoped but we were still able to get flavors we enjoyed and they stayed perfectly moist and presentable overnight (since we had a Sunday event and they had to be picked up a day in advance to avoid additional fees). Overall a pretty awesome experience!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
11/15/2009
4.0/5.0
Just wanted to update my earlier posting and ratings for Ashley Bakery (see bottom). After I posted the review, I got a very nice response from the bakery explaining what happened to my cake and offering me a refund of my delivery fee. As I said in my posting, my frustration stemmed not from the quality of the cake, but from the fact that no one from the bakery acknowledged the mistake. Better late than never....I really appreciated that Hayden took the time to apologize, explain what happened, and offer a refund of the delivery fee. They way she handled it made me feel much better about the situation.

Cake was delivered to the wrong wedding - Our wedding was on a Sunday and Ashley Bakery charged us a delivery fee of $90 for Sunday delivery (their standard delivery fee to our venue was $50). We tried to negotiate this down, however we were firmly told that Sunday is the bakery's only day "off", which requires them to pay a higher wage to staff delivering cakes on Sunday. We gave in because the cake tasted great and we felt confident they could design something we'd love. All of this would have been a non-issue, except for the fact that on the day of our wedding, our cake was delivered to someone else's wedding and that couple's cake topper was put on top of our cake, leaving a big dent. Someone realized the error, removed the topper, and brought the cake to our wedding. Fortunately, our florist was still on site and was able to work some magic with rose petals to cover up the marks on the top of the cake. In the end, the cake looked fine, tasted fine, and none of our guests knew the difference. I was just disappointed that the bakery charged us nearly double for Sunday delivery, then proceeded to deliver our cake to the wrong location (and damage it). No one from the bakery bothered to reach out to us to offer even a simple apology for their mistake. It would have been nice to receive a refund of the delivery fee, but even just an apology would have made me feel a little better. Overall, good cake, nice designs, but poor customer service.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
REH
Wedding:
11/7/2010
3.9/5.0
I wish we would have received more input/suggestions at out appointment. We felt for the basic cake we selected should have been cheaper. Flavor was better the next day.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristilynn520
Wedding:
5/2/2010
3.8/5.0
We had a very negative experience with Ashley Bakery at first, we went to meet with the sales rep. My fiance came with me (he loves cake!!) and the saleswoman was EXTREMELY rude to him. (This unprofessional person is now no longer working for them.) Other than that the cake tasted good, but it wasn't as special as we had thought. When the cake showed up the day of the wedding it was the wrong color!!! Outside of these two issues the design on the cake was awesome!!! They really did a good job of incorporating the design onto the cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
1662 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Ashley Bakery
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo