130x130_sq_1298677606670-lowres9206

Bali Hai Restaurant

San Diego , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2230 Shelter Island Drive
San Diego, CA US 92106 (map)

PHONE

619-222-1181

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Bali Hai Restaurant has been a favorite in San Diego for over fifty years. Our spectacular views of the San Diego bay and the downtown skyline make us the perfect location for any... Read more
The Bali Hai Restaurant has been a favorite in San Diego for over fifty years. Our spectacular views of the San Diego bay and the downtown skyline make us the perfect location for any special event. Along with our dining room upstairs, our premise possesses three different and versatile private rooms. The flexibility of multiple private facilities allows us to accommodate any type of party. We host weddings, class reunions, birthdays, anniversaries, concerts, memorials, festivals, fundraisers, business meetings, seminars, and corporate events.

Our friendly and efficient staff is fully trained to carry out your special requests. We will be happy to assist you with any additional questions you may have.

Thank you for considering the Bali Hai Restaurant for your special occasion and we look forward to serving you. Read less
Wedding Venue

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1953
When was your venue last renovated?
2010
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Garden / Romantic, Tropical, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
5000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
60
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
I saw so many venues prior to picking Bali Hai for my wedding venue. I went to Bali Hai on a rainy. foggy day and still knew that this was my venue. The views are incredible! They have many different options for food and alcohol. We picked a buffet and added appetizers and a hosted bar up to a set amount. The amount of food they give you in the buffet package is incredible...two main courses, a carving station, four salads and two sides! All of which were excellent! Everyone raved about how good the food was.
I was worried about a February wedding in San Diego, but the weather was absolutely perfect. The backdrop with the water and downtown San Diego was breathtaking.

The only thing that I would advise is to make sure you keep all of your paperwork and have everything documented. We originally were given some incorrect information, but because I had it in an email, the owner honored what they had originally told us. But it did take some going back and forth before they would honor this for us.

Other than that I would highly recommend Bali Hai! The pictures are absolutely amazing and you truly can not beat the view!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sari
Wedding:
6/7/2014
4.6/5.0
The Bali Hai was our first venue visit and ended up being the one we chose! It was absolutely perfect with their outdoor pavilion and outdoor ceremony space. We loved working with Lauren who was always quick to answer any questions we had. She met with us numerous times and was very helpful and accommodating being that we were from 4 hours north of the location. The food was very good and we had a lot of guests say so. It's definitely worth the money, however, we were not happy about them cleaning up tables and chairs and closing the bar at 9:30 when we had the venue until 10. Our guests felt rushed and we had a few that said they were asked to get up so they could put the tables and chairs away. Other than that it was a great venue!

David & Sari Eriksen
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicki
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
The Bali Hai is an amazingly gorgeous place to have the ceremony and reception. The food was out of this world yummy. The drinks/ cocktails are very generous. The price is spot on. The best of all is the coordinator- Lauren, and the staff. They were all friendly, helpful, and all smiles. Top notch wedding venue. Can't wait to celebrate our anniversary dinner here every year!!! Thank you!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melissa
Wedding:
6/6/2014
5.0/5.0
Great Food, Great Service, GREAT DRINKS, Great view, great everything! I have been to the Bali Hai for lunch, happy hour and dinner several times; then just this month I got married here! Lauren and Chelsea were such a tremendous help in organizing the event- and the staff the night of was so great and attentive (I am still receiving compliments). Few brides can say their night was absolutely perfect, however I am one of them and it would not have been so without the great support of the restaurant as well as the fantastic food, drinks and ambiance. Our guests said it felt like they were on vacation in Hawaii. I would absolutely recommend the Bali hai to anyone getting married or even just looking for a great happy hour spot!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cora
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
5 stars are not enough stars!

We hosted our wedding and reception here. The views are spectacular both inside and out. The food is exquisite and the service was beyond belief. The ultimate venue in San Diego for a wedding. Thank you Lauren and Chelsea for making our day so memorable!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding reception here, and everything was amazing. Not going to bore everyone with the behind-the-scenes details, but we had to book this place blind - both sight unseen and food untasted. Thankfully it ended up working out in our favor!

Service:
The catering managers were very responsive and easy to work with. The day of the wedding, the wait staff was attentive and polite. In fact the head waitress checked in with us periodically to make sure our glasses were full and we had everything we needed - not what I expected at all and most welcome! Larry the owner was also on-site and made sure we were happy.

Food:
Everyone raved about the food. My husband raved about the jerk spiced pork tenderloin, while I preferred the macadamia nut dusted mahi mahi (so tasty!). The package we purchased provided quite a bit of food for everyone. If you left hungry, it was your own fault!

Alcohol:
We opted for the mid-level alcohol selection, and many people said they were pleasantly surprised at the options they had. I never once made it to the bar so I can't really elaborate, but hooray!

Other:
The view can't be beat - it really was stunning, being able to see the city lights on the water. What could be beat, though, was the karaoke-themed wedding going on in Bali Hai's other reception area. While some people weren't born with the pipes of Frank Sinatra, it certainly made for some good entertainment! I should disclaim that once we were inside with our own DJ, we couldn't hear any of it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
9/28/2013
4.7/5.0
I loved having my wedding at Bali Hai! They have the most amazing views and delicious food, which were two priorities for my husband and I. I had my wedding in the Hawaiian Village, which if you are booking in July, August, or September, I highly recommend. I thought it would get chilly at night, which was not the case at all, it was perfect.

The food was so good. It's true as a bride, it's almost impossible to eat. Per the tasting, I knew it would be something my guests would rave about! We served the petite filet mignon (so perfect, you could cut it with a fork) and the macadamia nut crusted mahi mahi, and a prime rib carving station. The hor d'oeuvres were great too! I have been to dozens of weddings in San Diego, and this is by far the best wedding food I have had.

From what I remember Lauren and Chelsea were always quick to respond to the thousands of emails they received between my wedding planner and I. They were so great to work with, I can not thank the Bali Hai team enough! Based on how many weddings and events go on there, I was truly amazed at how responsive they were.

I do have to point out to make sure you keep track of everything in the contract and pay attention to detail (probably goes with any venue). I know the Bali Hai is usually booked solid with weddings so for me it was totally understandable that I did catch a few discrepancies (example: week of the wedding I noticed they put the wrong item for the carving station, when I told them, they then told me it would be additional charge, however, it was actually part of their package. When I pointed that out, they were quick to fix everything). Since I looked over everything thoroughly it was no big deal, had I not noticed, we would have been really upset.

All in all, I was thrilled with my day, while there were a few mistakes here and there, Bali Hai really went above and beyond.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1358146521818-314064390349241114416741n
Camila
Wedding:
7/12/2013
4.5/5.0
My Big Day was amazing. Bali Hai provided everything that I wanted and beyond. Food was amazing, Lauren and Chelsea were great to work with and they listened to all my requests. The only issue was the set up of the chairs in the reception where I requested less chairs but they ended up putting all the chairs in the world on the site and unfortunately my ceremony looked a bit empty ;( but everything was perfect.. I was blessed by a super sunny day and a warm night where all my guests could not stop talking about... After checking more than 10 venues, I couldn't be happier with my final choice. Bali Hai is the best place to get married in SD area. Thank you Bali Hai for making my dream come true.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ilze
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
We knew from the beginning we wanted to get married at the Bali Hai and it was PERFECT. This place got a complete overhaul several years ago and we were thrilled that they preserved the vintage tiki vibe with a modern feel. The food was fantastic, the staff were top notch, and the whole thing was flawless. We did have 170 people in the downstairs South Pacific room and when the dancing started it did get a bit hot but that's really to be expected. The owner himself was even on site helping with our event! We were treated like family and I can't say enough great things about this place. Thank you to everyone at the Bali Hai! We'll be back very soon for more mai tais!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1338950234771-officepartay
Kristyn
Wedding:
11/9/2012
5.0/5.0
We just had our wedding at the Bali Hai on Friday, November 9th, and I had the best day of my life! Bali Hai is such a beautiful restaurant that sits right on the water on Shelter Island, and the floor to ceiling windows show you the entire San Diego skyline. The food was absolutely delicious: we had the Asian Chimichuri New York Steak and Hoison BBQ Chicken with the plated meal option. The servers were friendly and helpful all night, and the bartender was excellent as well!

I think we really got a bang for our buck here, and it was the most inclusive and least expensive of all venues we previously looked at. Jenny, the event coordinator, was so helpful and very quick to respond to my many questions. She had the best suggestions and really helped make the night as great as what it was.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1349563365778-fbavatar2697654
Allyson
Wedding:
9/24/2012
4.7/5.0
Our September wedding reception was held at the outdoor "Hawaiian Village" location in the Bali Hai Restaurant. My fiance and I chose the spot for its fantastic views of the downtown skyline, but our choice ended being excellent in so many ways. Jenny, the catering manager, is amazing to work with. She listened to all of our ideas and gave us expert advice about what would work well and which ideas we may want to adjust. We had a large number of close family and friends, so it was very important for us to stick to our budget. The Bali Hai allowed us to bring in our own wine (for a corkage fee) and gave us ideas on how to craft a menu that was both delicious and budget friendly. The day before the wedding, I dropped off our wine and was assisted by the owner of the restaurant. He was so friendly, and was on site during our wedding making sure things went smoothly. We felt very taken care of. Our wedding reception was a dream come true, and our family and friends could not stop talking about how wonderful the food, drinks, and views were!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg21
Brooke Zarconi
Wedding:
8/31/2012
4.5/5.0
Amazing venue, the sunset against the city skyline was worth every penny. The food and service was exceptional! All of our guests kept coming to us and said it was the best wedding they've ever been to!
It was an unexpected heat wave during our wedding weekend and the venue was able to bring down some fans to cool is off! With a heavy dress on, that's all I needed to enjoy the night!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robin
Wedding:
8/24/2012
5.0/5.0
The view! The food! The service! All perfect! Jenny is great to work with, they do run a tight ship but it is for good reason, the end result was perfect. We had the best party ever and the guests are still talking about it. The food was excellent and that is hard to do with a big wedding. Not one complaint, would not change a thing. Thank you! Robin
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1307816608319-p6060297
Rina
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding planner worked with Jenny at the Bali Hai to make my wedding dream come true. My wedding was like a fantasy and my guests said that it was literally the best wedding they have ever been to and I believe a lot of it had to do with the beauty of the venue, the quality of the service staff, and the quality of the food and beverages that were served.

Jenny, even though she was very busy, made all of my wishes come true with respects to my needs and wants for my wedding. Jenny was hard to get a hold of at times, but she always either emailed or called as soon as she could.

Anyway, the wedding was gorgeous and our sunset "first dance" made for beautiful photos and memories!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1344204005060-20120720162758
Lauren
Wedding:
7/20/2012
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding in the outside pavilion at the Bali Hai this past July. I honestly could not have asked for a more perfect place for our special day!! We first met with Jenny, the Bali Hai wedding coordinator, who was very organized and provided us with all the information needed to host our event there. Throughout the planning period, Jenny was so great in responding back quickly to all of my many emails and never made me feel out of the loop. On our wedding day, the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception were set-up beautifully and exactly how we planned. The food and service were exceptional and the whole day went perfectly. I am so happy that we decided to have our wedding at the Bali Hai and would not have changed one thing!! Thank you Jenny and team for making our wedding so memorable and GORGEOUS!! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
B10
Nikki
Wedding:
4/27/2012
5.0/5.0
I loved this venue. THe wedding was so beautiful and the staff was great to work with. I am so happy with how the wedding turned out! Food was great too!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
4/13/2012
5.0/5.0
The food was amazing here at Bali Hai. Not that we expected anything less- it was one of our favorite restaurants before we even decided to get married! We had tray passed appetizers (one shrimp and one beef, artfully arranged). We picked out a buffet-style dinner, which was ideal for us because it encouraged mingling among the guests. We had a pork loin carving station, which was moist and juicy, korean style BBQ ribs which were sooooo good, I can't get over it, and macadamia crusted mahi which was perfect. We had a bunch of salads and side dishes and I got to try a little of everything- everything was good, I can't even pick a favorite. Bali Hai had special servers for my husband and I, so we actually had time to eat (unheard of at weddings!). We asked for a specific wine instead of the house red wine, and Jenny made sure we got it with no extra cost to us (so nice!). It was my dad's favorite wine so that was great. Long story short, we love Bali Hai and we are so glad we got married here!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amber
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Everything about Bali Hai was perfect on our wedding day!! The venue is gorgeous and the views of the bay and downtown are breathtaking...both day and night! Everything was set up perfectly and the food was great. They even assigned me my own, "food waiter" to plate my food for me so I didn't have to carry it in my dress!!! Everyone couldn't believe the views and for the price....you can't get this quality, service and location for anywhere close. Thanks Bali Hai. We made great memories there!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrian
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
I would not have had my wedding anywhere else! The views are amazing and the food was so delicious... My family is still raving about it! Jenny (the banquet manager) was wonderful and so helpful through all of my questions and concerns!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
letyarias
Wedding:
2/18/2012
2.1/5.0
Just make sure you sit down with the person who is in charge of the place. Please don't get there late
because, she won't have time for you. Does not follow thru with time line. Does not pass on information to the other persons in charge of that special date. She did not have things that we requested, and written out for her.
I would recommend the Venue, it was beautiful, the food was great. Just need to work on the person
who is coornating for Bali Hai, besure to get the right information on closing time, they push us out before the time was up.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
11/5/2011
4.7/5.0
I had never been to the Bali Hai when I looked into using them for our ceremony and reception. I am so glad I decided to go with them! I read multiple wonderful reviews, actually couldn’t find a bad one out there! They have recently remodeled so it is beautiful, and clearly they know how to cook since it’s a restaurant!

Food/Drinks: The food was wonderful, the drinks were great and reasonably priced! The mai tai’s were a hit and allowed me to not feel bad not paying for hard liquor (I had an open bar for beer, wine and Mai tai’s). I never saw a crazy line at the bar, and the bar itself was very pretty! Food was just as good as when we had our tasting. It’s always a little nerve wracking knowing they are cooking in bulk, but as a restaurant they are well aware of how to cook everything well! I think that was one of the best parts about using a restaurant, our food tasted nothing like wedding food! I wish we would have thought to get doggie bags for the hotel room!

Staff: Absolutely wonderful! Jenny and Mimi took care of all my questions so quickly. I asked so many questions, and never heard one bit of frustration from them!! I got responses on weekends, and they were so easy to work with. Jenny actually ended up saving me a lot of money. When she found out what I was going to order, she switched my plan and it saved me probably $20 per person!! Larry was so friendly and made sure everything was just perfect the day of!

Their waitstaff was very attentive. They made sure my husband and I got through the buffet first and made sure we always had drinks that we wanted. We had tray passed and buffet appetizers and I think the waitstaff did a wonderful job at making sure they got around to everyone with the tray passed. They were all very friendly too! They helped us call cabs and didn’t mind us hanging out while they cleaned up!

Location: How can you beat a San Diego waterfront restaurant?? The outdoor ceremony area is stunning, views of the water and surrounded by green. And, if it rains, they have a covered area outdoors to move you to. Also, there is plenty of parking and most of my guests stayed at Humphreys so they could literally stumble back to their room after the reception! No driving needed!

Cost: It was by far one of the cheapest places I could find. They provide napkins, table clothes, gorgeous chairs, private restrooms, a bride’s room, ceremony site, ceremony chairs, altar arches, all the food and drinks and all the staff. And, for all this, you get it at a steal. It is an amazing bang for your buck, and I did a TON of research!! Also, at a bridal show I was able to snag my ceremony site for free!

The only issue I had with them was there standard one hour set up time. More than an hour is charged and not available if there is an event before you. I think that caused some unnecessary stress for my vendors. So, it is just something to keep in mind. All the more reason to hire a coordinator!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JGDG
Wedding:
9/30/2011
4.1/5.0
The Bali Hai is a beautiful picturesque & VERY reasonably priced spot to not only get married, but have your reception. And huge plus, the food is actually great! Our guests are still talking about it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg17
NB
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
We had an amazing wedding at the Bali Hai.

Their wedding coordinator was easy to work with leading up to the day and the staff was courteous and professional on the day.

The setting is beautiful and we loved having the bay as the backdrop for our ceremony. We got tons of beautiful wedding photos from the property as well.

Since half of our guests were from out of town, it was important to us to have our ceremony in the same location as our reception. It was also convenient to be walking distance to several hotels. For our local guests, we were thankful that the Bali Hai provides plenty of free parking.

On our wedding day, we were pleasantly surprised to find that the food was much better than what you normally get at a standard wedding.

Overall, we were quite pleased with the Bali Hai as our wedding venue. We had a fantastic day and it definitely is a great value.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JIM
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
The Bali Hai was amazing! The view from the main event room was wonderful. the services were great, and their event planner was on top of everything!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1282337299778-spring001
Carly
Wedding:
5/1/2011
4.7/5.0
We were so happy with our wedding at the Bali Hai! It was absolutely beautiful ... our weather was perfect and the San Diego skyline was gorgeous! We had considered having our wedding in Hawaii but after finding the Bali Hai we were so excited when we realized that we could bring Hawaii to us! Everything went perfectly for us! The food was great and the bar tenders and wait staff were wonderful and so helpful the night of the wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1278866899527-dscn2626
Joanna
Wedding:
4/7/2011
4.7/5.0
The Bali Hai was wonderful and a most beautiful setting for our wedding. Having downtown San Diego as the backdrop for our wedding was perfect. Jenny at the Bali Hai is WONDERFUL (can't say that enough!) and she helped so much with planning prior to the day, as well as on the day of with little things here and there! The value for the quality of food and service is phenomenal, and everything was absolutely perfect! The servers wer on top of everything, and the room was perfect. Honestly, my only complaint is that I think they ate or threw away the left over cake (as I know there was a large amount left at one point and then I was told it was "gotten rid of") which disappointed me..(and had Shirley the Cake Lady's cake not been so GOOD I may not have cared!!) ..other than that, it was absolutely perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cassie
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
We got married at the Bali Hai on September 18th. This is such a hidden gem! The weather was perfect, and the venue is gorgeous! The staff was so helpful the night of, and the food was delicious.

We are from Arizona, and Jenny made it really easy to do a destination wedding. She got back to us really quickly, and was so helpful with the rehearsal and so much more!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1283448381840-ourwedding16
Mrs. Fisher
Wedding:
5/29/2010
4.6/5.0
I just got married on 5/29/2010 at the Bali Hai. It was one of the best days of my life. Jenny (the coordinator at the Bali Hai) is very helpful. She does her best to get back to quickly and always answers your questions. My only problem was that some of the food was cold when we got to start eating. Other then that everyone has told me that my wedding is the prettiest they have ever seen and at the best location.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JaneMain
Wedding:
9/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Bali Hai was great!! Not only was it a picturesque setting for a wedding, but the food and reception area were great as well. You cannot beat the view here. Everyone we worked with there was extremely helpful. This place is our favorite restaurant so it was a natural choice to pick it as the site for our wedding and reception. The price was hard to beat as well, especially considering the location. Also, the ceremony site has plenty of flowers and foliage, so you really don't need to decorate. Another advantage was the ceremony site and the reception site were literally steps apart. And did I mention they have lots and lots of free parking? Overall, a great time and a great deal! It looked lovely and everyone had a wonderful time. I would strongly recommend Bali Hai for a ceremony and reception site if you are looking for a site in San Diego.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1223309346431-january2008026
mizzmeems
Wedding:
9/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was absolutely perfect because of the Bali Hai. The food was great, the staff was helpful and on top of everything and Jenny was so helpful!!
I would definatly recommend the Bali Hai to everyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sdreisch27
Wedding:
7/8/2009
4.7/5.0
Rather pricey but great food and service. Beautiful location on the water!!! Worth it!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joshua
Wedding:
6/26/2009
3.8/5.0
The newly remodeled Bali Hai is a picturesque site to get married at and have the reception. We did ours outside in the Hawaiian Village overlooking the bay and downtown for a sunset ceremony and reception. Book well in advance as they fill up quick. Because of this, they are not very flexible with times for set up or rehearsals. The food was surprisingly good, and the bar and wait staff were wonderful. It was a little difficult dealing with the wedding coordinator though, and that created a bit of stress for us. She was very professional, but not very amicable. When we're spending this kind of money, I would expect much better service and follow up. Overall, I would recommend it for the location, food and views. Just get a planner so they can deal with the vendors and their bad days.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bigaddwhat
Wedding:
6/6/2009
3.7/5.0
This was a beautiful place to get married. The logistics were a little hard to pin down and the wedding coordinator left before the reception begun. Overall everyone has always told us that our wedding was their favorite. :D
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
annily81
Wedding:
12/14/2008
5.0/5.0
Bali Hai was a wonderful place for my wedding! The view is fantastic, the staff is wonderful, the catering manager nothing but helpful, the food is great. Our whole experience there was excellent, and I would definitely recommend this place.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carlee
Wedding:
8/16/2008
3.5/5.0
We wanted an all vegetarian menu and the cook was able to work a perfect menu out for us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
spauldingj
Wedding:
8/2/2008
4.2/5.0
We lucked out because a couple Just dropped their date and we got in just in time. The food was great and the setting beautiful. We are still getting compliments!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
6/28/2008
5.0/5.0
Beautiful location on the harbor waterfront (we used outdoor tent for reception). Excellent food!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
annielynn
Wedding:
3/1/2008
3.6/5.0
wonderful location!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janae
Wedding:
6/2/2007
4.5/5.0
From the moment we stepped foot on the grounds of the Bali Hai, DH and I knew that’s where we wanted to get married! The ceremony location is gorgeous and the view from the South Pacific Room is to die for! We fell in love with it immediately! So much so, that even when they told us all Saturday evenings were booked from March-October we decided to go ahead with a daytime wedding (which actually worked out better for us)! Also the site has so much personality that we immediately had a theme for our wedding – which was to stick with a Hawaiian/Tropical theme!

Another great thing about the Bali Hai was that the garden where the ceremony takes place is so gorgeous that there wasn’t much need for decorating! DH and I just ordered some different chairs (the Bali Hai ceremony chairs are hideous white lawn chairs) and we rented the arch and runner from the Bali Hai as well.

The food was FANTASTIC – and such a great price for what you get! We chose the Tri-tip at the carving station with the mushroom-wine sauce, the cheese ravioli, and the macadamia nut crusted Mahi Mahi. They also provide an assortment of salads and fruits, in addition to rice, potatoes and rolls.

The advantage of having a daytime wedding is that your guests don’t drink as much. This was great for us since my dad was paying for the wedding and neither he nor a lot of my family members drink. So for our wedding we had an open soft bar (wine, beer and soda) and also served the fruit punch. We decided not to serve their Mai Tais because after I tried one I realized they put absolutely no juice in them and we didn’t want our guests to be trashed!

The day of the wedding, and the day before, we worked with Larry. I believe he may be the owner of the Bali Hai and he is so wonderful to work with! He knows exactly what he’s doing and he is there to make sure that things go off without a hitch! For our rehearsal, our officiant was unable to come down from Orange County but it didn’t matter because Larry provided the rehearsal for us! Also the day of the wedding he was there to coordinate with all of the vendors and to make sure everything was set up appropriately. In addition, he coordinated during the ceremony with when everyone should walk down the aisle, when the DJ should change over the music, etc.

I cannot rave enough about this site! We heard from several of our guests how wonderful our wedding was – some even said it was the most fun wedding they’ve been to and I credit so much of that to our venue!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sheeeena
Wedding:
10/8/2005
4.3/5.0
The location was beautiful and a great setting for photos. My only concern was that they would not work with me on table arrangements or anything else until it was a month prior to the wedding date. Luckily I'm a procrastinator in my planning anyway, but for the long-term planner this made it difficult to plan for table-settings, etc. But on the plus side, they did everything as planned and there was nothing to worry about the day of. They set up the ceremony and the entire reception. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The staff was friendly.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MONEYISSHORT
Wedding:
7/31/2004
4.5/5.0
Wonderful venue, beautiful outdoor environment.Awesome place to take pictures near the water and picturesque white bridge.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Amaaazing venue, gorgeous views, & great food. We've received so many compliments & am so glad we had them for our wedding.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.4/5.0
The Bali Hai was a wonderful venue for our wedding! The value of the package that we got was unmatched anywhere else. We had SO MUCH food and alcohol included in our package for the price, it was outstanding. The quality of the food was superb. Working with Jenny Benitez was a joy; she was extremely professional and on top of everything from the moment we signed our contract until the big day. I would highly, highly recommend her and her team and the Bali Hai to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
2230 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Bali Hai Restaurant
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo