Nophoto-130

Barb's Bakery

Phoenix , AZ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2929 North 24th Street
Phoenix, AZ US 85016 (map)

PHONE

602-957-4422

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
We received so many compliments on our cake and it tasted wonderful. We will use Barb's for cakes in the future. The reason I didn't give them a 5 star was that I often felt I had to call a couple of times to follow up if I had a question or change related to the cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We chose Barb's Bakery for our wedding cake solely because it was where my parents got their wedding cake 31 years ago and they did NOT disappoint. We selected our cake without a taste test because we knew we wanted red velvet and it was an excellent choice. Nothing but wonderful reviews from our guest and we had enough left over to serve it up the following day at brunch. Wonderful choice and wonderful cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sonya
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
I have been going to Barb's Bakery since I was a child, I always dreamed of having a cake made by them... I just never thought it would come true.

The cake was beautiful and (apparently) delicious, all our guests were gushing about it, but I didn't have time to process the flavor of the tiny bite I took for the stupid cake smashy face photo b.s. brides and grooms have to do. Sadly when I went to grab a real sliver of cake for myself all the pieces were gone (and we had more than enough cake for everyone to get a slice when it all began), the fact that people ran up to get seconds before the bride and groom could get a chance at the cake leads me to believe it was fantastic! Though I did try it at the cake tasting and loved it.

Thank you so much for everything!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
5/16/2014
4.8/5.0
Barb's bakery did our wedding cake. Their bridal consultant is very professional and we had a great time at our tasting. We went with their pink champagne custard cake. We ordered a bridal cake for the wedding party and sheet cake for guests. The cake was great, delivery went smoothly and I would definitely recommend for a wedding, rehearsal or special occasion.

We did have one email get lost in their general inbox but it was all straightened out after one phone call.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Judy
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Only needed a small cake so glad I found barb's bakery! Everyone told me how wonderful the cake was! We got the white cake with chocolate mousse and pink champagne and custard oh my was that good!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brieanne
Wedding:
2/15/2014
4.8/5.0
David was great to work with. The cakes were beautiful!! Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kat
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Barb's Bakery is a family favorite that we use for birthdays, parties, and when we just need a sweet treat so I was thrilled to work with them on our wedding. They prepared a small cake for cutting and then we did a mix of their petit fours and cupcakes to serve our guests. They were delicious! They were able to incorporate our colors beautifully on the cake and petit fours (we kept the cupcakes standard because the decorations they do on them are too cute to change!). Almost every guest I spoke with was going back for seconds! They delivered right to the venue where we had our caterers setup our dessert table. Wonderful treats, wonderful service.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
When searching for a wedding cake baker earlier this year, my husband and I were unimpressed with bakers throughout the valley. That changed when we encountered Barb's Bakery. Our cake tasting was awesome -- we got three mini-cakes with different flavors/fillings that were big enough to bring home leftovers for my mom to try. We also got to try cupcakes so we could sample other flavors. It was well worth the small price for the tasting.

When it came time to select our cake flavors/fillings we couldn't decide. We ended up making each tier different (lemon/vanilla bavarian creme, chocolate/chocolate mousse, lemon/raspberry and lemon/vanilla bavarian creme). The decorating was beautifully done too. I wouldn't change a thing. Many guests even complimented it.

If you want great service, great cake at a great price, go with Barb's Bakery!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
10/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Barb's bakery was wonderful. They emailed me promptly with estimated quotes prior to scheduling our tasting. They asked us what design we were interested in, as well as flavors. We tasted three cakes and fillings, and left feeling comfortable that our cake would be exactly what we wanted. Their pricing is exceptionally reasonable - for $3.50/slice you have so many amazing options to choose from. Our cake was chocolate with a raspberry butter cream filling, and a butter cream frosting. They did decorative scroll work and ribbon on our three-tier cake, and delivered it. It not only looked amazing, it tasted amazing. Everyone raved about it. We would absolutely use them again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sigalafamilia
Wedding:
4/22/2012
4.6/5.0
We ordered a 3 tier wedding cake through Barb's bakery and it was beautiful! The cake was extremely delicious and a great price. Would go through them again. The only con would be the delivery fee. For 10 miles away it was quite a bit. But, worth it for not having to go through the trouble of cake transportation... All in all, great place, great cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessodonnell
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Two thumbs up to Barbs! Our cake was delicious, looked fantastic, and they were such a pleasure to work with! We love Barbs!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1305774137176-picture
Kelli
Wedding:
11/26/2011
5.0/5.0
I loved my cake for my wedding which was a three tier cake and cupcakes also. They did an excellent job and I would do it all again. I have referred all my friends to them for birthdays, weddings and everything else.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
WendyR593
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Barb's was wonderful to work with. Angela was great! I knew exactly what I wanted and they were very accomadating. Loved the cake. Tasted exactly like we wanted. Moist, filled with fresh strawberries and cream and ohhh so yummy! Just like their petit fours!
I also had them make individual wedding cake shaped cookies with our initials and they were a huge hit at the rehearsal dinner! ADORABLE and yummy too. I decided to wrap them myself and tied them with grosgrain ribbon and heart shaped tag with our names and wedding date engraved on it. Darling!
I highly recommend Barb's Bakery for your wedding cake and cookies!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacqueline Cavanaugh
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Barb's made our wedding cake cookie favors! They were extremely good! Decorated perfectly just the way we asked and really fresh and moist! Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mackenzie
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Barb's bakery was wonderful, The cake was so good our best man had 4 slices. They gave us a wonderful deal because my friend had booked with them also. The cake was delivered on time and was so beautiful I was so proud of it and didn't want to cut into it. The best part was that it tasted wonderful!! I can't wait for the 1 year anniversary cake that we get for free!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
2/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Barb's Bakery provided the vanilla petit fours and a 6" red velvet cake for our wedding reception and everything turned out amazing! The cake was so moist and delicious, and the presentation was beautiful. They did a great job incorporating our color into their design. Each petit four included a red icing rose on top that matched the ribbon on the stands that we created. We placed the 6" cake as our top tier, and then displayed the petit fours on the lower tiers. It was gorgeous and all our guests enjoyed having their very own mini wedding cake!

Barb's Bakery is also extremely reasonable in their pricing and they are so friendly and easy to work with. Randy helped us design our perfect (and very unique) wedding cake, and even after our wedding, my husband and I are hooked on their bakery.....we stop by often to get some of their baked treats because everything they make is SO good!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1247705504953-engagementkiss
Danielle
Wedding:
3/6/2010
4.2/5.0
The cake tasted fantastic, that's why we picked them! However, their customer service could use some work.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kelly
Wedding:
2/28/2009
5.0/5.0
I loved my cake from Barb's Bakery. I had white frosting with rasberry filling. They even make each layer a different cake flavor, which I chose pink champagne and sunny yellow. The process was smooth and I had wedding cake every day after my honeymoon I loved it so much! They are flexible and can work with any budget. They have been in business for over 30 yrs. and will make you a fresh cake on your 1 year anniversary if you bring in a picture of your wedding cake after the wedding free. I loved that so I didn't have to save mine and eat stale cake. Their prices exceed the value of their delicious, beautiful cakes!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bg47hotrod
Wedding:
10/18/2008
3.4/5.0
The cake was beautiful and tasted wonderful. We bought their signature carrot cake and loved every bite of it. The decorations were perfect. They were not overly helpful as they seemed busy all the time. The meetings always went really fast and I was never sure if they totally understood what I wanted but when it came to the day of the wedding, the cake was perfect. Their prices were very reasonable. I would recommend them because the cake tasted great and looked wonderful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1207075166206-petersonkiss
Beckie
Wedding:
3/29/2008
4.1/5.0
They were great up to a point! My planner and I had a hard time getting a "ribbon" down to them.. They were going to cancel our order if we didnt make it down to them by thursday so we "assumed" that the order was cancelled.. Saturday morning we were prepared to just go get a sheet cake from albertsons, when My planner recieved a call stating the cake was made and would be delivered around 9am. She had to make a mad dash over to our house, before my husband found out how much the cake was...(I didnt want him to know, I know start off bad right away). The cake was cute.. It was not the cake ordered.. and not the cake we ordered but for the time crunch I am not going to argue...THe cake was good..everyone liked it...So moral of this, the drama it turned out..
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
juliagugs
Wedding:
6/23/2007
5.0/5.0
I have used Barb's Bakery for years, and it is by far one of the best bakeries in Phoenix, especially for specialty cakes. Barb's made the cakes for all three of my bridal showers, my wedding cake, my groom's cake, the cake for family brunch after the wedding, as well as recently a cake for an engagement party of one of my friends! Each cake was very different, and came out exactly how I wanted it. Just remember that if you have a very specific idea, explain exactly what you want, bring pictures, and be very clear if you have specific expectations. I have been delighted with the taste and appearance of each of my cakes. Our wedding was 300 people, and our cake served 200 and then we bought sheet cakes for the other 100 servings. The cake was HUGE and gorgeous. They even worked along with our florist who placed the flowers on the cake at the reception site. My husbands groom cake was the shape of a sphere, standing on its own on a platform without supports, which was amazing in itself, but then decorated in 4 quartered regions like a basketball, soccer ball, baseball, and football. It stood the whole wedding reception all night without falling, which was amazing! They also, with very short notice of just a few days, were able to make cookies frosted with our initials and the date or our wedding in our wedding colors, and bag them, and deliver them to the hotel that our guests were staying at as a welcome gift for our guests. The staff at Barb's is great, and I highly recommend them.

I would venture to say that anyone who did not get a cake that tasted or looked the way that they wanted it to may not have been specific enough on their expectations.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sburkeaz
Wedding:
4/7/2007
2.0/5.0
I gave very detailed instructions about the decorations on my wedding cake. And it did not look at all like what I asked for. The only thing right about the cake was the sugar calla lillies (which is the reason I chose this bakery) and that's about it. I asked for lavendar filagri around each tier of the cake and they put only 4 little side ways s's on each tier. The cake tasted good but it was not close to my dream cake. For the amount of money that I spent I expected a much better cake than i got. By the time I saw the cake it was too late to fix. The guy that dropped off the cake said sorry and that he couldn't fix it. So I was stuck with a very blah cake that I spent a lot of money on. Good news is I was too excited to be getting married to dwell on it for too long. Thankfully.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kym
Wedding:
11/24/2006
4.9/5.0
I used Barb''s bakery for my wedding in November of 2006. I loved the cake. They did a great job. It look exactly like I wanted it to and it tasted great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
10/2/2005
3.0/5.0
They offered so many cakes I was overwhelmed at first, but after tasting enough cake to make me and my maid of honor sick I finally picked the flavors I wanted. Then we spent another 30 minutes going through book after book of cake designs. I was so impressed with their level of patients, either she truly had nothing better to do, or she really cared about me taking my time to make sure I picked exactly what I wanted. Either way it was great to never feel any sort of pressure. My only problem was when my cake was ready we had to pick it up because my wedding was on a Saturday and they didn't deliver on the weekends which was a little upsetting. What made it worse was that they did not have boxes big enough to transport the cake so I drove and each of my bridesmaids held a part of the cake in their laps.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
clbutterfly
Wedding:
1/6/2001
5.0/5.0
The cake was exactly what we wanted. Tasted wonderful and they were willing to deliver it to our reception site that was a half hour away from their location.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
2929 North 24th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85016 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Barb's Bakery
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220