130x130_sq_1221602574810-cover_image300x500

Barnaby Draper Studios

CA

LOCATION

New York City & Santa Barbara
CA US (map)

PHONE

888-842-8224

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Barnaby Draper Studios offers journalistic photo & video coverage by artistic documentarians that capture your day unobtrusively with timeless images. We take pride in the quality of our... Read more
Barnaby Draper Studios offers journalistic photo & video coverage by artistic documentarians that capture your day unobtrusively with timeless images. We take pride in the quality of our work and the quality of your experience. Our work tells “the story” of your day from the time you begin dressing for the ceremony to the final goodbyes. We strongly believe that you should own the images and footage from your wedding day so we include them in all our packages. Both our photo and video packages include two shooters so that we can cover you separately and then from multiple angles once you come together. Our albums are designed in our New York studio to your approval and beautifully printed and bound in Italy. Recently featured on Good Morning America and the Food Network with Bobby Flay Barnaby Draper Studios was selected as one of the top studios by theknot.com. Clients include: John Mayer, Dave Matthews Band, Diane vonFurstenberg, Diddy, Ray Lamontagne, Wedding Style Magazine, Trump Magazine and many others not the least of which are charming brides and grooms. Read less
Photography , Videography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1196203510333-017084
130x130_sq_1197072812696-tim&lisacover
130x130_sq_1197072872946-01_0118
130x130_sq_1197072940758-02_1390
130x130_sq_1197072990836-04_0666
130x130_sq_1197073039352-02_1269
130x130_sq_1197073089008-schriverweddingpic
130x130_sq_1197073128743-01_0020
130x130_sq_1197073152415-01_0123
130x130_sq_1204729997450-bridalfashion9
130x130_sq_1204730014716-01_img_8425
130x130_sq_1204730031403-02_0102
130x130_sq_1204730133622-02_img_1941
130x130_sq_1204730191716-03_1333
130x130_sq_1204730592247-09_1785
130x130_sq_1204730658450-09_1625
130x130_sq_1204730733700-france13
130x130_sq_1204730864325-img_9352
130x130_sq_1246901995500-0004
130x130_sq_1246902022097-0002
130x130_sq_1246902230557-0016
130x130_sq_1246902262467-0032
130x130_sq_1246902300596-0015
130x130_sq_1246902334990-0090
130x130_sq_1246902366806-0112
130x130_sq_1246902435626-0092
130x130_sq_1246902580111-0059
130x130_sq_1246902625116-0101

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Is your media preference film or digital?
Barnaby Draper Studios generally works in digital, but also offers film packages
Do you charge for travel?
Barnaby Draper Studios is located in SoHo New York and Santa Barbara, California, and also offers local coverage in Columbus, Ohio. Barnaby Draper Studios is available for weddings worldwide. There are no travel expenses for events within 100 miles of shooters hometown. Travel Expenses for events further than 100 miles from shooter?s hometown are billed at cost and include a hotel room, with two beds for the night and transportation costs. If a flight is required, we ask for a rental car or taxi from the airport.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Three to five days after your wedding, your photos are posted to your own, password protected ?Client Log In? area on our Web site. The images are categorized chronologically so you and your friends and family members can see them. Through your site, beautiful prints and Thank you cards can easily be ordered in color, black and white, or sepia, at reasonable price
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
We strongly believe that you should own the images and footage from your event. All high res digital files are given to the couple on DVD's with their completed album.
What kind of albums do you offer?
Barnaby Draper Studios uses GraphiStudio albums, which are designed in our New York studio to your specifications, and then printed and bound in Italy. The result is cutting edge design fused with classic construction. You will be in contact with your album designer throughout the process, in order to create an album to your exact specifications. With the completion of your album, we include a hi-res copy of all of your images.

INFO FOR VIDEOGRAPHY

What primary style do you identify with?
Cinematic, Documentary
What do your packages include?
8mm Movie Film, Ceremony, DVD of Raw Footage, Edited Video, Montage - Wedding Highlights, Multiple Cameras, Multiple Videographers, Online Highlight Films, Pre-Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What formats can the final video be in?
Blu-Ray, DVD
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
What types, such as unedited footage or special effects, of videography do you offer?
All video packages include two shooters for nine hours of coverage. You receive a 45-minute edited video, which you are able to view continuously or by chapters. You also receive a 2 to 3 minute highlight clip on your edited DVD and in an email format, which you can forward on to friends and family. All of your RAW footage is sent to you on the original miniDV tapes. We offer four video package options.

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
7/31/2013
1.6/5.0
I would not recommend Barnaby Draper to anyone. I didn't give him 0 stars just because I did like the engagement pictures and portraits from my wedding. The problem is with the videography. I have been married for 3 & 1/2 years now and I still haven't gotten my wedding videos. Well, to be clear, I did receive them, 8 months after my wedding, but they were just thrown together. So, we were asked to return them and they would be worked on. We did. Now, I can't get any response from anyone about them and I have no videos. My grandfather was singing to me on those video's and he has passed away. It would mean a great deal to me to get these videos back. At this point I don't even care if the quality is bad, I would just like to have some sort of videos to remember the most magical day of my life. Don't waste your money on something that is going to mean so much to you. There are many other photographers and videographers out there who will give you what you pay for.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Barnaby Draper Studios responded with the following comments:

Elizabeth, I am very sorry to hear this and would certainly love to correct this. If you would please email me at barnaby@barnabydraperstudios.com I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you,
Barnaby
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eddie
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
It was nice to have someone who was not only doing their job wonderfully, but was watching out for taking care of the bride and the groom. I was very pleased with Barnaby Draper Studios and would recommend them to anyone
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ns
Wedding:
9/13/2008
5.0/5.0
Barnaby Draper Studios was absolutely amazing from customer service to the completed album! I am so happy we chose them!!!!!!
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lmb614
Wedding:
6/14/2008
3.0/5.0
Great staff, but over 3 months since we were married and still haven't seen the video.
Services Used: Videography
Barnaby Draper Studios responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your feedback, I just wanted to let you know that in all of our video contracts, and agreement we state that it takes 3-4 months for the edit to be completed. The reason being, that our video editors spend at least 2 weeks edited each video. I have had a chance to check out your highlight clip and it looks beautiful!
Thank you,
nicole
Default-vendor-profile-pic
natasha
Wedding:
5/5/2007
4.8/5.0
I cannot express how happy and extremely pleased my husband and I are in our decision to have Barnaby Draper photograph our wedding. His calm and easygoing demeanor made him the greatest pleasure to work with. We truly enjoyed having him with us all day, both professionally and personally; what a delight he was !

Our pictures are fantastic and I cannot believe all the shots he captured. We are so happy with all of our pictures and cannot stop looking at them ! They are so fresh and exciting - exactly what we wanted !

I HIGHLY recommend Barnaby Draper Studios. Not only were Barnaby and his assistant so wonderful the day of our wedding, but his quick responsiveness to all of my questions and suggestions in the year leading up to the wedding were excellent.
Our photos were available for our viewing while we were still on our honeymoon and his colleagues are already working with us to select our photos and design our album...All in just a few short weeks...Their service has been exceptional and I am forever grateful to them for so beautifully capturing our special day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alex
Wedding:
3/17/2007
5.0/5.0
Our experience working with Barnaby Draper Studios was excellent. The team was professional and incredibly comprehensive in the number and variation of shots they took. In addition, Barnaby and his team have great 'eyes' and took both standard shots but also identified opportunities to shoot pictures that were memorable and made the group look fantastic. I cannot recommend Barnaby Draper Studios more highly.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lydia
Wedding:
1/26/2007
5.0/5.0
I have worked with Barnaby and his team on my wedding and my best friends wedding. He is also going to shoot my cousin's wedding in September '07. Obviously I feel strongly enough about the product to recommend him twice. His work speaks for itself. He has experience outside of wedding photography so this enables him to shoot in many ways that are outside of a "traditional wedding" portrait style. (of course he does those too if you so desire!) Everyone at the studio is professional and down to earth. They are quick to respond to special requests and always make you feel like you are the most important client.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
12/9/2006
5.0/5.0
Craig Macneill of Barnaby Draper Studios was our wedding videographer. I honestly cannot say enough great things about him, his work, and what it has meant to me and my family. When I think back to my wedding day and getting dressed and ready, I can picture Craig waiting patiently at the hair salon, as my hair and makeup was applied for HOURS. He stayed throughout the whole process, with a smile on his face. And, he got the best images of me, my mom, and my sister all getting ourselves dolled up for the evening. I can also remember him putting his camera at the church right before I was to begin my walk down the aisle down and blotting the wetness from my bouquet so it would not drip onto my dress. What I'm getting at is that Craig was not just a videographer for me on my wedding day. He was a friend, and a calming, cheerful presence on a very emotional day. If there's one decision you make when planning your wedding, it's to hire a Barnaby Draper wedding videographer like Craig (if he's not available, I'm sure they are all great!). The video he has put together for us is something I will cherish for the rest of my life. It's exquisite work, and I just cannot imagine not having it as a memory of the best day of my life.
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jasara
Wedding:
11/17/2006
4.6/5.0
Barnaby and his team were fantastic! They helped make our wedding day even more memorable. We really appreciate their laid back style, their creative take on wedding photography, and their willingness to be flexible with us throughout the day. It wasn't like having typical wedding photographers at our wedding; it was like having friends there to share in our excitement and joy. Our online proofs were up on Barnaby's site by the time we got back from our honeymoon, and we couldn't be more pleased!! I highly recommend Barnaby and team!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tricia
Wedding:
10/7/2006
5.0/5.0
Barnaby Draper was absolutely flawless on the day of our wedding. His professionalism and eye for photography was superb and would recommend him to anyone for their wedding. We couldn't be happier on the outcome of our pictures. Just perfect!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teresa
Wedding:
8/27/2005
4.4/5.0
Barnaby was a great photographer - with a great price. We had to pay for a rental car and one night in a hotel to get him to DC from NYC, but included in our package price were at least 1000 pictures, 4x6 prints of all of them, and a CD with hi-res versions of all pictures. The photos were gorgeous and I was very pleased. The only con was that he didn't take charge to arrnage folks for the formal shots, as a result we have some group shots with a family member's face being blocked by someone else's head or some other odd set up. I would just talk to him about this beforehand so he can be prepared.
Services Used: Photography
Barnaby Draper Studios responded with the following comments:

Teresa,
Thank you for your review. I really appreciate it. Your wedding was wonderful. The reception was held at the Old Ebbitt Grill in Washington, DC. Due to the cold weather and the logistics in the restaurant the only area available to do the family portraits was in th cocktail area which was busy. Family members were not aware that they were wanted for pictures so they had to be gathered and many were already involved in the cocktail hour. I clearly recommend from the beginning and in my contract that all family or guests that are wanted for these portraits need be told where and when they are expected to be so that the portraits are done effectively and efficiently. Fortunately, with two shooters and over 1,200 images delivered all of the family and guests were very well covered and the story of your day was beautifully documented. Congratulations!
Sincerely,
Barnaby
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.8/5.0
it has been 13 months and I haven't received my album yet. I have tried contacting Barnaby several times. Sometimes i get excuses, something i get promises that staff are working on it, and most of the time i get no response at all. After 7 months i threatened legal action and even contacted the BBB but it has done nothing. Barnaby's staff are great but they needed things from him and when i questioned him about it he would just blame them. this has been an awful, frustrating experience and DEF NOT WORTH THE MONEY. I would like to prevent this from happening to anyone in the future. It has been so disheartening.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Bg2
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Erica Belcher was our photographer on behalf of Barnaby Draper Studios. She was amazing. She made a special trip a few weeks before our wedding to look at the venues and to discuss ideas for the photography. She had some very cool ideas and the photos turned out beautiful.

I would recommend her services to anyone. She is very easy going and makes you feel comfortable in front of the camera lens. She captured every moment and every detail on our wedding day, including all of the many fleeting moments that my husband and I were too busy to experience. This is truly the best value for the price.
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

Albums
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
**If you order your album within 3 months after your wedding, you receive 4 4x4 softcover guestbook albums complementary**
Deal #WW1f340d9b48efd4e5
220x220_1221602574810-cover_image300x500

MAP

 
New York City & Santa Barbara, CA See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Barnaby Draper Studios
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo