130x130_sq_1374094439019-barryherman

BARRY HERMAN ENTERTAINMENT

Livingston , NJ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

355 Eisenhower Parkway
Livingston, NJ US 07039 (map)

PHONE

800-915-1940

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Barry Herman Entertainment has been in the business of making events amazing for over 50 years. With more than fourteen (14) set party bands and more than fourteen (14) exhilarating DJ's... Read more
Barry Herman Entertainment has been in the business of making events amazing for over 50 years. With more than fourteen (14) set party bands and more than fourteen (14) exhilarating DJ's and party motivators, Barry Herman Entertainment plans over 1600 parties per year. Barry Herman Entertainment is the most recommended entertainment company at more facilities than any other. Please call to find out more about our exclusive "account manager"- where clients can log on and specify most aspects of their entertainment. Read less
Band

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Agency
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians), Medium (4-6 musicians), Small (1-3 musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Calypso, Classic Rock, Country, Dance, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
We learned of Barry Herman Entertainment from our venue, as they were one of the preferred vendors. We met with Barry and shared some songs that were important to have played, so that he could get a feel for our style. Barry showed us highlights from 2 bands, and we ended up choosing Fantasy. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. The dance floor was packed all night, and our guests are still raving about how great the music was. My aunt even said she was sore the next day from all the dancing she did! We especially enjoyed our introduction music, an instrumental version of Springsteen's 10th Avenue Freeze Out. We also had a couple of musicians for the cocktail hour, which made for a really nice ambiance. We had high expectations of Fantasy, and they definitely exceeded them. I would recommend Fantasy to anyone looking for a talented, professional band, that will keep guests on the dance floor the entire evening.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We used Barry Herman Entertainment at our wedding at The Plaza in NYC and it was a hard choice to decide which of their bands to use. They were all so good and sounded so authentic, but we chose Infinity and they were great !! They kept all my friends and my parents friends up dancing the entire night. Barry Herman's office made it easy to give them all my details (even though I kept changing them!) Thanks to all of them, I had the best wedding ever !!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Norma
Wedding:
8/4/2013
5.0/5.0
This is the second time I have had the privilege of working with the Barry Herman Orchestra! I highly recommend them to my couples and enjoy their talent and their ability to pay attenti8on to detail while remaining professional. They are truly a pleasure to work with and to listen to!

Most sincerely,

Norma Moutal
One Heart Personalized Ceremonies
www.oneheartceremonies.com
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KATIE
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
After many appointments with wedding bands, a friend suggested I contact BARRY HERMAN ENTERTAINMENT
The ceremony music was beautiful. Everyone loved the mariachi band at the cocktail hour, they all had so much fun listening and dancing to the music.

And of course the band “INFINITY” was incredible. We barely made it around the tables to visit with everyone because they were all on the dance floor the entire night! I don't think there was a time when it was remotely empty. The music was great, and the songs they played really got everyone dancing. Every guest complimented the music, and some people said they had not danced that much in years!
You can be sure we will recommend you at every opportunity
Katie & Jim
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing entertainment. The harpist and flutist were exceptional and the band Fantasy kept the guests on the dance floor the entire evening!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lori
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
From the moment we walked in they were very helpful They guided me with various kinds of music for my ceremony and lots of options for the kind of musicians to use at my ceremony. I finally chose harp and flute. For the party we had a faabulous band Fantasy. They had all our guests up dancing and played great music. I couldn't be happier.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julianne
Wedding:
1/1/2012
5.0/5.0
We were married 8/25/12 at The Manor in West Orange. My parents hired Fantasy. The first time I heard them was at the wedding. They were AMAZING is an understatement. They made the wedding! Our guests told us it was the best band they ever heard and they felt like they were at a concert. Barry Herman and his team were excellent also. It was a great experience. I hope I am invited to a wedding where they play so I can hear them again!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
AMAZING!!!!!!! We had Fantasy Band for our wedding and they were incredilble. At one point I forgot we had a band, thats how good they sounded. They learned our first dance and sounded exactly like the artist. I couldn't believe it. I was skeptical at first with getting a band; but well worth the money. The band was excellent!!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
heather
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
We just used Bary Herman Entertainment's band Sterling and I can't say enough great things about them ! We filled out the necessaary form on their website to make sure the band knew what we wanted. They knew just what to play to get my guests up dancing and boy did they dance. They also interacted with my guests. I know my wedding would not have been the same without them ! BRAVO
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1297393158550-wedding
Maxi Bakst Cohen
Wedding:
1/15/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married January 15, 2011 at The Crystal Plaza. We used Cashmere Band. They were beyond amazing. We are speechless and don't even know how to thank them enough. They kept all of our guests on the dance floor the entire night with high energy. Everyone had so much fun and loved the music and the singers. I still have friends calling me saying they never heard a band like this and that they never danced at a wedding as much as they did at my wedding. We highly recommend any one of Barry Herman's bands they all are great and we had the wedding of of dreams. Thank you so much Barry Herman Entertainment!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sc510
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
DJ Rick from Barry Herman Entertainment and his assistant did an amazing job during our reception. They knew which songs to pick, they read the crowd easily and everyone was dancing! We would recommend them to everyone!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cyrus
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Barry Herman Entertainment has a number of different DJs and band members, and here I am only reviewing DJ George. HE IS INCREDIBLE. We gave a list of a few songs, and he extrapolated to fill the night with awesome music that the crowd grooved to all night. My wife mentioned that she liked Hanson in a quiet conversation to one of her bridesmaids and George was listening so closely that he ended up playing a song by them, and she loved it. I have seen another DJ by them at another wedding and was disappointed, so if you go with this company, just ask for DJ George and I promise he won't let you down. Also, their price is extremely reasonable, but I'll say I didn't look around a whole lot for DJs
Services Used: Band, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
e&kb
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
We had a string quartet for the ceremony and Cashmere for the reception. The string quartet did as they should have, and we didn't really notice them, which is a good thing--people typically only notice that sort of thing if they make a mistake. Our reception band was nothing short of the best band I've ever heard. They were perfect. Period. If you have the opportunity to hire them, do so--it will make your reception! Also, try to make sure that Kenya is there for you--she was our liaison to the band and made it a completely stress free night for us!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
9/6/2008
5.0/5.0
The strings for the ceremony and cocktail hour were fabulous! It made the event more elegant than we expected. If at all possible have live music for at least the ceremony to give your event that little-something-extra. It worked for mine!

The DJ (Patrick Sinclair) was great as well! Not over-the-top, just right. Played the music we asked for as well as accepted requests from our guests. Instead of making the reception a club scene, it made it a venue that everyone could enjoy both young and old. :)
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
130x130_sq_1229653753154-dsc_6368
Jodysgirl
Wedding:
8/23/2008
5.0/5.0
DJ Neil was so much fun!! He had our entire party up and dancing, even the old people had fun!! For the ceremony we had a Flute and Harp and the music was lovely... The cocktail hour we had a keyboard player... I didn't go to my Cocktail hour until the very end so I didn't get to hear the music
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The music at my wedding was Amazing!!!! The band I chose from this company, Cashmere, was professional and sounded exactly like any song I've heard on the radio. I had 285 guests and I swear everyone was dancing the whole night. I also had a 20 piece orchestra for the ceremony. This really impressed everyone and created a magical feeling to start our wedding.
Working with the team at the office was so easy and they were so helpful in picking songs for father/daughter dance, cake cutting ect.
I would highly reccomend this company for anyone getting married- they send their bands across the country but esp if you are in the nj, ny, ct, del area!!!!
Services Used: Band
Wwnetwork-128
Amanda
Wedding:
11/13/2010
4.9/5.0
DJ Neil went to great lengths to make to engage the crowd and he really got the party going. He is a great singer and having a live singer just added so much excitement. Our guests were always on the dance floor and would not leave even when there was an announcement that the bus was waiting outside to pick them up. I have been to many weddings where the DJs were pretty sub-par and dull, just playing music in the background. DJ Neil made sure to make the party come alive- I was also touched because he was sick on my wedding day but he still insisted on singing three songs. And he was fabulous. Should definitely consider DJ Neil and Barry Herman when throwing a party~
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stace7921
Wedding:
6/13/2010
4.9/5.0
Great Music! Cashmere is wonderful. Had my wedding guests dancing all night.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brent
Wedding:
4/21/2007
4.9/5.0
Amazing DJ. EVERYONE the young & old alike was up dancing...even our friends who claim that they can't dance had their dancing shoes on! All the guests left the reception with HUGE smiles on their faces. Definately a lot more interactive than other DJ's I've seen at other people's weddings. He definately made sure everyone left having a good time!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Happy Bride
Wedding:
9/19/2009
4.8/5.0
For our cocktail hour we had the upright bass and keyboard, the music was absolutely perfect for the hour, and the musicians were amazing. Barry Herman stands by their motto, marjority of the seats were empty because everyone was dancing. It was a great night. My only criticism is that I requested the DJ not take any requests from our guests, and not far into the night he was playing music I would have rathered not been played that guests requested. Otherwise all in all the music was great and everyone had a good time.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynn
Wedding:
4/21/2007
4.8/5.0
DJ Neil is the Best!! He got everyone up and dancing and he has an amazing singing voice...it's not often when the DJ actually sings. The BEST ever. I'd have as my DJ any day.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
greengirl
Wedding:
3/4/2007
4.8/5.0
Absolutely no complaints about our wedding band. They were professional, fun, and talented! Barry Herman's staff is very willing to meet with you before the wedding as many times as you'd like to finalize details and discuss planning.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenntanis
Wedding:
5/27/2006
4.8/5.0
We found Barry Herman through our reception venue, The Manor in West Orange, NJ. We had DJ Neil, who not only is a great DJ, but he can also sing. He kept all of my guests involved in the reception all night long, and people still talk about our great reception to this day. DJ Neil is a little more pricey, because he can sing, and you actually pay for two people, but it's definitely worth the price.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ADY
Wedding:
6/20/2009
4.7/5.0
Excellent service, they played all types of music and had everyone on the dance floor. I was scared at first because my wedding was so diverse I had Italian guest, Hispanic guest, Egyptian guest, Haitian guest, Lebanese guest, Indian guest, etc. Bottom line everyone had a great time and was on the dance floor at least once.
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1354190259446-nickwedding003
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
We had the band Cashmere at our wedding. They were excellent. Our guests had a great time! They did take quite a few breaks and we found them slight pricey for the services.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
slipsey
Wedding:
1/4/2009
4.3/5.0
The ceremony orchestra that Barry Herman put together was 7 pieces. They arranged 3 songs specifically for our ceremony and they came out magnificently. The music during the ceremony was absolutely beautiful.

The band we chose was Cashmere. They were amazing. They had the dance floor packed the entire night. We just loved them!

Highly recommended.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kendler Newbie
Wedding:
5/25/2008
4.3/5.0
I used this entertainment company because it was recommended and insured by my venue. We went with a DJ and were very pleased. A month prior to the wedding, we had to fill out a form online with lists of music we wanted and hated, as well names of the bridal party and parents for the DJ to introduce, and our DJ called us to go through everything step by step so he got everything right. On our wedding day, they were very professional and accurate, and they didn't play anything we didn't want to hear. We got a lot of comments on how great the selection of our music was, and the DJ did a good job of getting people dancing when it got a little slow.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
giantsgirl21
Wedding:
6/17/2011
4.1/5.0
We used Fantasy Band from Barry Herman Entertainment. They were suggested to us by our venue. The only reason i didn't give a higher review is because of Barry Herman's office. They were a bit unprofessional and definitely lacked in the communication department.
However, the band was fantastic. We had an 8 piece band and they were fabulous. There were so many people on the dance floor at all times. The lead singer, Matt, is awesome. if you didn't know it was him singing, you would seriously think it was the actual singer.
I would definitely recommend Fantasy Band from Barry Herman- Barry himself is a little strange but don't be turned off by him. The music is definitely worth it.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Juliane
Wedding:
9/30/2006
4.0/5.0
Aside from the fact that they messed up the father/daughter dance, it was perfect!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.6/5.0
Djs had to be reminded a few times to play a song request..only played 1 song on the "please play" list...had a bit of a snobby attitude
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
1000julys
Wedding:
9/19/2010
0.0/5.0
I strongly recommend that if you are considering using Barry Herman Entertainment that you think long and hard before writing a non-refundable deposit check. Reasons:
1. Barry Herman spent a considerably long time with my husband and me during our consultation visit, but once the non-refundable deposit check was written – he literally disappeared. After he collects the money, he does not make himself available and his office is understaffed and disorganized.
2. He makes it impossible to listen to any of the entertainment he offers “ live”. Do not make the mistake of trusting the videos, as I did.
3. Under no circumstances will Barry Herman allow customers to speak to the band before the actual occasion date. All communication must go between his disorganized and overworked office staff.
4. I sent the playlist to his office staff on 6 separate occasions before our wedding. There were only 2 songs on this playlist that was requested to “NOT” play. These songs were bolded and in red and they easily stood out from the songs that were requested “to” play. I personally spoke to his assigned office staffer to be sure this would be reviewed with the band, since I knew I would be too busy on my wedding day. I would have referred to speak to the band leader myself since it was important to me that these songs NOT be played.
5. “Tonight’s going to be a good night” was one of the (only 2!) songs that I placed on my list to NOT play and can you believe – not only did this band (Fantasy) play this song but they played it while announcing us for the first time as man and wife. Can you imagine how strange that was? One of the 2 songs in the world that I absolutely HATE (!) and I am a music lover, there are not many songs I hate- was played while we were announced “for the first time as man and wife”.

Bottom Line: Nothing could have happened on this day to spoil that absolute beauty of my wedding, and mistakes do happen, but there is no excusing the unprofessional and incredibly aloof attitude that Barry Herman had. It took him 3 weeks to return my call after the wedding. I had to call him several times and when he did return my call he didn’t know what the complaint was and then implied that this was my fault because the song was not on the list. He stated this without even looking at the list or reviewing any correspondence with his staff, as if he was willing to “lie” before actually admitting there indeed was a big problem. I forwarded all my correspondence to him (the same list was sent in 6 separate emails) and this man never even as much as apologized.

My conclusion is this: Once you give your money to Barry Herman the service goes straight downhill. Don’t be fooled by his sweet consultation talk. He doesn’t care about you or your event and his office is understaffed and you can’t speak to the band ahead of time. Fantasy was a good band, the music sounded fine; I enjoyed all the songs they performed. I still find no excuse for the error that was caused or the apathetic way in which it was handled.
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
355 Eisenhower Parkway, Livingston, NJ 07039 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for BARRY HERMAN ENTERTAINMENT
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1374094439019-barryherman