130x130_sq_1378144859229-84050003-c

Bear Flag Farm

Winters , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Private Estate Organic Farm
Winters, CA US 95616 (map)

PHONE

530-753-9494

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A private, boutique organic farm surrounded by fields of lavender, vineyards and orchards.
A private, boutique organic farm surrounded by fields of lavender, vineyards and orchards. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1378143745475-6
130x130_sq_1378143722086-18
130x130_sq_1378143737444-83990006-c
130x130_sq_1378143695026-heather-0585-2
130x130_sq_1378143698607-13
130x130_sq_1378143701974-16
130x130_sq_1378143705146-2
130x130_sq_1378143707900-3
130x130_sq_1378143710827-1144
130x130_sq_1378143713292-be0294
130x130_sq_1378143717984-be0480
130x130_sq_1378143725499-7
130x130_sq_1378143729190-83790008
130x130_sq_1378143733375-83910007
130x130_sq_1378143741379-83990024
130x130_sq_1378143748928-11
130x130_sq_1378143752674-10
130x130_sq_1378143756492-17
130x130_sq_1378143760428-jenkins-0777-copy
130x130_sq_1378143765034-5
130x130_sq_1378143768805-14
130x130_sq_1378143770691-15
130x130_sq_1378143772873-006880-r1-001
130x130_sq_1378143777192-006907-r1-005

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1990
When was your venue last renovated?
2005
Describe your venue:
Farm / Barn, Winery / Vineyard
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Garden / Romantic, Rustic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
5
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
No
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
13000
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Wwnetwork-128
stephaniegirton
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
I'm not sure I can say anything that has not already been said, but a Bear Flag Farm wedding is simply the best! Tina offers you plenty of options to make your day unique, but not so many you become totally overwhelmed. We selected her set-price package which made planning and budgeting very simple. All of her vendors were professional and although there were a few minor hiccups along the way, everything was perfect on the day of the wedding.
There are several features that make this venue incredibly unique. First, the property itself is simply gorgeous and nothing like it exists in our area. There is a functional farm, winery, fruit grove (the orangerie), lavendar field, and olive grove. All of these spaces give you endless opportunities for your event and photos. Second, working with Tina is unlike any other planner. She knows her property and how to produce a wedding. She knows her vendors and they work hard for her. She is also able to make just about anything you want happen because it is all her property. Her taste is impeccable. I am very particular and had very high expectations for my wedding, needless to say Tina totally exceeded my expecations! She took my ideas to places I had not even imagined. She also allows you to be as involved as you want to be in picking the details.
If you choose a BFF wedding you will not regret it. Your wedding will be the most beautiful wedding anyone has been to and the planning process will be about as stress-free as possible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
skycutie
Wedding:
8/23/2013
5.0/5.0
We will not be able to fully describe the wonderful, magical and enchanted wedding that Tina Reikes and Bear Flag Farm provided for us. To say that the evening went flawlessly is an understatement. Tina was organized, precise and saw to every untold detail that made our event spectacular. Prior to the wedding she was a calming and influential decision making in every aspect that we had as participants. The creativity and atmosphere that Tina created was a vision beyond our wildest expectations. If your thinking about using Bear Flag Farm as a wedding venue, we believe whatever expectations you have will be surpassed in every way, shape and form. Hats off to Tina and Bear Flag Farm for providing us with the most spectacular wedding for us and our guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
A
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Certain people simply do whatever they do to perfection. Bear Flag Farm owner Tina Reikes is one of those people, and our June wedding could not have been more perfect. A guest dubbed it the ninth wonder of the world--and we agree, because the eighth is surely Tina!

Add us to the chorus already singing about the farm's gorgeousness, the field-to-table experience, Tina's way of making new acquaintances feel like old friends, her attention to details great and small, and her unflappable nature. Choosing Bear Flag Farm is easily the one of the best decisions of our lives, thanks both to the farm, whose lavender fields, orchards, and vineyards are the stuff of paradise, and to Tina, a Mary Poppins of a person, who was at once our coach and our quarterback.

The farm is a beautiful backdrop on which you have the flexibility to bring to life your own personal vision--however detailed, abstract, traditional, or outside-the-box it may be. Tina not only internalizes your wishes but also sees through to their essence and, in turn, creates a dazzling event that is somehow exactly what you never knew you always wanted. She has marvelous ideas for how to make your day extraordinary. Fancy a romantic carnival in the French countryside? Here's a French quartet, ferris wheel, artist to paint the scene, and macarons! Tina welcomed our input and MASTERFULLY handled the rest.

At every stage, Tina made our happiness the top priority, sheltering us from potential sources of stress and showering us with loveliness. Planning was delightfully easy, and she ensured that our only "job" on our wedding day was to have the time of our lives. That was easy, too.

We are so grateful to have found Tina and Bear Flag Farm. Our guests have called our wedding the most gorgeous, most magical celebration and the best party they have ever attended. From head to toe, it reflected the joy we share as a couple--and that's what it's all about.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
cathy
Wedding:
10/14/2012
5.0/5.0
I don't have enough adjectives to describe our wedding experience at Bear Flag Farm. The farm is breathtakingly beautiful. We were married on the cottage lawn - surrounded by a manicured garden accentuated with white roses. Each vendor at Bear Flag was top of the line. The florist had fabulous ideas that were absolutely in sync with my dreams and budget. The caterer was easy and wonderful to work with, innovative and attentive. The food was phenomenal in quality, service and presentation. The key to all of this was Tina Reikes. Tina and her husband own Bear Flag Farm and have lovingly made it a perfect and beautiful venue for weddings. Tina was the captain, the coordinator and all around brain of our wedding. She is thorough, organized, traditional yet forward thinking, calm, patient and stayed within our financial plan -- Tina's staff is equally as professional and patient as she. Our wedding was magical and a dream come true. Thank you Bear Flag Farm and thank you Tina!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Rosanna
Wedding:
10/11/2012
5.0/5.0
I don’t know where to start! Bear Flag farms is truly a special place. From the first day we went to the farm. I knew this was where my wedding would be. I had looked at many venues and none of them compared to the Farm, Tina and her wonderful staff. My husband and I were looking for a venue that was unique, breathtaking and a place that would reflect our love for each other. We wanted the freedom to create a magical, memorable experience. I wanted a place where every detail was important. From the Organic farm to table experience to the idea of just being out in the lavender fields for the ceremony seemed very serene, to experiencing all the Amazing detail of our wedding. I loved that every time I met with Tina any out of the box idea for our wedding was possible. Tina can make any idea happen! I have a lot of trust and respect for Tina. I trusted Tina and I really just let her do her wonderful Tina MAGIC! I knew with Bear Flag Farms I was not going to get a cookie cutter wedding or the wedding from 2 seasons ago. Every thing with Tina and the Farm is Fresh and Unique and way a head of the wedding game. Tina even surprised us at the wedding with details I had completely forgotten we discussed. Which made for some WONDERFUL experiences on our wedding day! The Amazing thing about having our wedding at Bear Flag Farms is on June 16th, 2012 Our Wedding was flawless, Magical and truly unforgettable. Our Family and Friends are still blown away with how stunning everything was. One of the other AMAZING things about Bear Flag Farms is I honestly remember my wedding. I was present at every moment and I know that was made possible because Tina and her staff dealt with any wedding issue that may have came up on our special day. My Husband and I will always hold a special place in our hearts for Bear Flag Farms. Our Wedding was beyond dreamy, perfect and Magical... That is the only thing all of Tina's wedding have in common. She creates this beautiful ethereal love haze.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Baley
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Bear Flag Farm is an AMAZING place and it makes for a truly spectacular event. Almost a year later, our friends and family are still raving about how wonderful our wedding was (many people have said "Best wedding ever!!") and every time I look back at our album it takes my breath away. (See for yourself: http://www.stylemepretty.com/2012/12/14/california-bear-flag-farm-wedding-from-onelove-photography/)

There is no more beautiful place on Earth than Bear Flag Farm. Seriously. The farm has been designed specifically with weddings in mind, so everything is seamless. For those who care about the look/feel/design of your wedding, this is the place for you.

Tina Reikes (the farm's owner) makes Bear Flag Farm what it is. Her attention to detail is impeccable and she has a fantastic eye for design. Combine that with her dream team of vendors (she only works with the very best in the area) and you can truly rest assured that everything will look amazing, taste delicious and run smoothly from beginning to end. As a bride who was planning from afar (I live in Houston), it was especially wonderful working with Tina and knowing that everything would be attended to. I also plan events for a living, so I am aware of all the chaos that goes on behind the scenes. Luckily, I could breath easy with Tina as my team captain!

If I had the chance to go back and do it all over again, I would. Simply put, Bear Flag Farm is a magical place. I feel very blessed to have been able to be married there and I whole-heartedly recommend it to any bride looking for a unique and sophisticated outdoor venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Cathy
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Tina made our daughter's wedding stunningly beautiful, elegant, and most of all easy. As Mother of the Bride I felt included on every step of the process. Tina surveys the bride and groom and the parents and from this data creates the look and feel of your special day. She really makes you feel at home and is very personable and wonderful to work with. She really listens to her clients. Her attention to detail is amazing. The overall design is catered to your needs. The selection of colors and textures is superb. The flowers are exquisite! Of course the setting of Bear Flag Farm is absolutely gorgeous! There are several venues to choose from to have the ceremony, cocktails, and dinner. Getting the bride ready in the "Green Room" is truly elegant. On the big day Tina has a wonderful staff that sets up your tables, coordinates venders, and makes your day effortless. I was not worried about any detail and could truly enjoy my daughter's day. It was magical and went by all too fast. Tina also has a great resource of wonderful venders for the extra's (hair and make-up, photo booth, drive-away cars, busses, cakes, invitations, among many others). All of my friends loved the wedding, the setting, the flowers, the food, everything! All of my daughter's friends said "Best wedding ever!!!!" So to Tina and her colleagues a huge THANK YOU for making a dream come true. Bear Flag Farm is definitely 5 stars and then some.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Jen
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were looking for a truly unique venue for our wedding party. When we visited Bear Flag Farm and met Tina Reikes, the owner, we knew it was a special place and the venue for us. BFF features a few different spaces that you’re able to get creative with. There is no set plan in place at the farm providing the freedom to design your event using the beautiful space as you wish.
Tina is very warm, welcoming, gracious and very easy to work with. I was a low-key, hands-off bride who gave Tina and her team the freedom to design as they pleased. She took what little input I had and created a party that was beyond any expectations I had. Everything about our party was beyond perfect. She was there every step of the way to ensure each detail was taken care of and that the night went smoothly.
Tina was also invaluable during the planning process by providing a list of hotels in the area to work with, organizing transportation for guests, working with the hotel to ensure we had the proper room rate and number of rooms. She even provided a list of things to do in Davis as all of our guests were traveling from out of town. She has built a valuable network in the bay area and was able to provide insight and suggestions when I was choosing my hair and make up stylists as well as my photographer. Her unmatched experience is evident in the events she designs. She is very thoughtful, detail oriented and very open and kind about everything.
I highly recommend Bear Flag Farm and Tina. Our wedding party was one of the most important days of my life and Tina made everything about it a wonderful experience, from the months of planning to the night. I feel very fortunate to have found the Farm and to have met Tina.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Eva
Wedding:
6/21/2012
5.0/5.0
If I had to describe my wedding in one word, it would be "magical." My wedding at Bear Flag Farm on June 21, 2012 was more than my husband and I could have ever imagined!

Shortly after my engagement in November 2011, I was browsing several venues for my destination wedding in Northern California. On a hunch, I searched for lavender fields and came across my dream venue. I loved the farm-to-table concept of Bear Flag Farm and how simple, chic and timeless the weddings were. After browsing the site and reading reviews, I decided to email Tina Reikes. I was stunned at how quickly I was contacted by Tina, as it was a weekend and I was not expecting a return email until the start of the work week. From our first email correspondence, I could sense Tina's enthusiasm and passion for wedding planning. I remember in our first phone conversation, I indicated that I was planning this wedding from the Caribbean and after both joking about my location mix up (that destination weddings happen in the Caribbean) I felt as though I had known Tina my entire life. Not many wedding planners develop much of a relationship with their clients, but I can say that Tina's success is due to her amazing personality, her attention to detail and making brides feel as though they are her only client.

When my husband and I decided on a date, that's when the fun started! We filled out a client questionnaire that detailed among other things our relationship, our favorite foods, favorite places to travel, etc. Little did I realize how important that questionnaire would prove to be- it was evident in everything....from the menu selection to the accent pieces throughout the venue. We noticed and appreciated every single detail.

Since I was planning a wedding from St. Maarten, Tina suggested that I start a Pinterest page so that she could get an idea of what I wanted for my wedding. Funny enough, after all of my wedding boards were filled, I think 95% of what I envisioned were from previous weddings held at Bear Flag Farm. Looking back at my email inbox, Tina and I exchanged over 100 emails and countless phone conversations, but I can confidently say that Tina made my wedding planning process stress free. Her list of vendors are top notch and she only recommends the best! Even when my husband and I set our budget, she worked with what we indicated and never once made me feel as though I could not get the wedding that I wanted. I valued and trusted her suggestions when it came to selecting among other things, a photographer, videographer, officiant, caterer, photo booth company, band and transportation company. Tina contacted every single vendor on my behalf and within minutes of ending our phone or email conversations, I had contracts waiting in my inbox. For someone planning a destination wedding, this component makes a huge difference. I never had to deal with the details or logistics, Tina took care of all of that.

In the months leading up to the wedding, I really appreciated how Tina went above and beyond her wedding planning duty to make sure that my family and guests (which were traveling from all over the world, but mostly from the Caribbean) enjoyed their time in Napa...from her hotel to restaurant recommendations, everything was fabulous.

Fast forward to the wedding week: After months of preparation, my husband and I were both SO excited to finally meet Tina. She greeted us with the biggest smile and warmest hug that we will never forget. After walking through the breathtaking property, we sat in her office and chatted for hours....it literally felt as though we were life long friends catching up. From the last minute details to the run-through and agenda items, Tina thought of everything!

The venue is beautiful and the mix of lavender fields, orchards and vineyards lend a romantic feel. I was blown away by all of the pictures I had seen from previous weddings, but when we were at the farm, I could not find the words to describe the beauty that was all around.

My wedding day was perfect in every sense of the word. My bridal party and I arrived at the farm 2 hours before the event to get ready. When I pulled up to the venue, I felt as though my wedding was taken right out of a bridal magazine, I was stunned. It was more than I had envisioned. Throughout the entire day, my family and I had nothing to worry about and the details of getting guests to the ceremony site, to the cocktail hour, through dinner, dessert and dancing was all coordinated and outlined by Tina and her team.

It has been 3 weeks since our big day and my family and guests still gush about the wedding. Everyone has told me how beautiful the day was and how Tina literally thought of everything. Many of our guests still say that it was the prettiest venue and decor they have seen- the food was fantastic, the band...full of energy and most of all Tina and her team were remarkable. As silly as it sounds, I told my family and later Tina, that she was a fairy godmother. She made one of the most important days of my life beyond memorable and I feel privileged to have celebrated my wedding day at Bear Flag Farm. The wedding day was, as Tina puts it: Life. Simply Lived!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Caitlin
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about my experience at Bear Flag Farm and with Tina Reikes. It was truly amazing from start to finish. As soon as my now husband Brock and I stepped onto the farm and met Tina, we knew it was a perfect fit for us, and we first saw it in the middle of winter in February!

From the beginning Tina was supportive, available, confidant, listener, and generally fantastic to work with. She really took the time to get to know myself and Brock, and to know our likes, dislikes and everything in between. Tina and her entire staff really put their everything into making our day unique and a reflection of us as a couple. They really pay attention to every little detail and nothing is overlooked.

This all showed in our wedding day, which was as perfect as I couldve ever hoped for. We even had some unexpected surprises (like 20 mph gusts of wind) that required some changes in plans. Even this hiccup was dealt with by Tina, who was completely unflappable. She miraculously found a vendor to supply a tent for the reception on the morning of the wedding, all without transferring any stress to me. The tent fit in so well with the vibe of the wedding none of the guests had any idea it wasn't originally supposed to be a part of the plan.

We had our ceremony in the lavender fields, which was spectacular. The cocktail hour and reception were stunning. The food from the caterer, Grace, was EXCELLENT. They even incorporated a family recipie for marinara sauce that made the food very special. The florals were EXQUISITE. Kathy really took time to nail the look that we wanted and my bouquet was more beautiful than I couldve hoped for.

I really could go on for pages and pages about our wedding and the experience we had planning it. I truly cannot recommend Bear Flag Farm highly enough. Our day was perfect and exactly what we had always dreamed of. Working with Tina and all of her vendors was an absolute pleasure. All of our guests have raved for the last month or so about the wedding and how much fun they all had! Bear Flag Farm will always hold a very special place in our hearts!
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Jessica
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Bear Flag Farm is THE BEST wedding venue you could possibly imagine and Tina, the owner and wedding planner, amazing! I cannot say enough wonderful things about my wedding at Bear Flag Farm this past May, 2012.

I don't typically take time to write reviews...because I typically don't have too much time on my hands as a busy full time working professional but we just had our wedding at Bear Flag Farm and it was absolutely phenomenal and I want everyone to know that if they are considering Bear Flag Farm as a venue for their wedding, you can count on a spectacular affair.

Tina planned the bulk of our wedding- taking into account our preferences for overall vibe, flowers, colors, linens, textures- and put together the most beautiful wedding I have ever been to- and it was my own! This was through the "package"- which worked so nicely for us because we are so busy with work and didn't necessarily have time to work on all the details of the day- and honestly, we couldn't have put together anything nearly as nice or perfect as Tina and her vendors created for our day if we had managed the details on our own anyhow.

Tina has exquisite taste, uses wonderful vendors, and knows how to plan a beautiful, fun, romantic and truly unique wedding- no matter what your vision is- she will make it happen. We trusted her wholeheartedly and are glad we did- everything was perfect.

She was also helpful in suggesting photographers, transportation companies, makeup/hair artists... she knows so many different vendors and has excellent recommendations for every aspect of the wedding. There is nothing to stress about when you work with Tina.

A huge bonus to having your wedding at Bear Flag Farm is becoming friends with Tina- who is an interesting, smart and incredibly talented woman as well as developing a relationship with Bear Flag Farm- a beautiful farm with high quality products and a dedication to the local organic food movement. We are thrilled to have these new relationships in our lives.

Our guests loved BFF- the lavender, the vineyards,the sunken grass lawn- the whole setting is just so gorgeous- and everyone commented on how unique our wedding was, how beautiful, how special, and how fun it was!

I am really sad that our wedding has come and gone- but the memories of Bear Flag Farm, our ongoing relationship with Tina and the farm, and of course our beautiful photos will always remind me of our spectacular and absolutely perfect day.

I am happy to talk to anyone about our experience there- I cannot say enough about positive things about our wedding day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Lauren
Wedding:
9/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Words cannot explain how utterly perfect our wedding was at Bear Flag Farm. The farm's beauty, created by Tina and her husband, is like nothing my husband and I had ever experienced before. Tina and her husband have created a magical home in which citrus trees, lavendar and grape vines take you into a whole new world, where all you can feel is happiness, relaxation and love. It is simply the BEST place to get married because of the beauty and love that you naturally feel there.

Yet, the magic doesnt end there. Tina and her husband have a SERIOUSLY amazing network of vendors and contacts - they know the best of the best, from the food, to the photographer, to the makeup/hair artist, to the flowers and design, to unique and creative wedding vendors. Anything is possible at the farm, and everything, when done, is just perfect.

When we showed up on wedding day we were speechless. The beauty that Tina and her team created was beyond what we could have ever imagined. And, it was us - somehow, some way, Tina was able to get to know us so well that she created a wedding that screamed us a couple, when we provided only minimal guidance as to what we were looking for. The design was more beautiful than any wedding I have ever seen in style me pretty (my favorite website). The food was 5 star restaurant quality. And, when the weather went sour the day of the wedding, messing up our big surprise for the guests, Tina found a last minute replacement that was the hit of the wedding. Not to mention, the one possibility that I dreaded, "tenting the reception," turned out to be one of my favorite parts of the whole day - the design of the tent, the lanterns, the candles, it was perfect, magical, beautiful, and so much more. I seriously cant stop here...the center pieces, the freshly picked tomatoes in the salad (picked that day) that guests couldnt stop talking about, the farm fruit mini cobblers that guests couldnt stop devouring, the farm fruit sangria that guests couldnt stop drinking, our unique farm table that was a sweetheart table, my bouquet, the creative photo booth backdrop Tina and her talented florist designed, it was all straight out of a dream. They more than nailed it.

We simple adore Tina, her husband, and her entire team. We will be lifelong friends with them, and lifelong devoters to the farm. In Tina we trusted, always, and she delivered the most spectacular wedding of all time. Sure, we might be biased, but once the photos are up, you can see for yourselves.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Jessica
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Oh, Bear Flag Farm, where do I even begin? For starters, this is such a place as dreams are made of! The farm is 100% gorgeous, and it's a working farm to boot! I stumbled upon Bear Flag Farm as I was looking for a wedding venue that wasn't cookie-cutter and offered a really charming location. I was immediately smitten with the website (seriously, if you haven't looked at the photo galleries on the BFF website you MUST), and then the second I talked to Tine Reikes (the proprietor) I was hooked. Tina is absolutely, 110% professional and she's seriously organized. This wedding was being planned from Texas, so it was really important to me to have someone that I trusted on the other end of things. But, in addition to those great qualities, she has fabulous taste and she is absolutely as sweet and nice as can be! I like to be involved in everything and I'm a bit of a control freak, but I had no problems handing Tina the reigns and letting her be in charge of the wedding! I would work with her again in a second! And, the people that Tina works with are just as lovely as she is, so everything -- from rentals to flowers to catering -- is just very much in sync and beyond expectations. I couldn't believe what I saw when I arrived on our wedding day, it was just gorgeous!!!

My husband and I were married on September 17, 2011 under a beautiful tent in the Orangerie at Bear Flag Farm. Everything, down to the tiniest detail, was just wonderful. From the enormous bower of flowers we were married under, to the little bouquets of oranges and fresh herbs that were tied to the chairs, to the ceremony musicians that Tina arranged for us, exceeded my expectations. And then the reception was just amazing! I was told over and over again that we'd picked the "perfect" location for a wedding and that people had never been to such a fantastic wedding before. And the food, SWOON, oh my gosh, it's so amazingly good! For starters, the menu is very personal and we selected everything from a huge, long, list of options that was put together just for us based on what we like. From the passed hors d'oeuvres to the stations to the specialty cocktail to the dessert tables to the to-go bags for the guests: delicious!!!! And the best part is that so much of what is served is actually grown on the farm. We had an amazing panzanella salad with heirloom tomatoes grown right where we were married. And our guests took home olive oil favors with olive oil pressed from the trees on the property. How cool is that?! The evening was beautiful with good friends, good food, and good wine -- and that's what we really wanted at our wedding. My husband and I have both said that the only thing we wish we could change was to have a wedding week instead of a wedding weekend!

Bear Flag Farm is truly such a wonderful experience as a farm and as a wedding venue. When you roll through the gates you realize that, even though you might not think it's possible, it's actually PRETTIER than the pictures! There aren't many weddings held there throughout the year, so Tina really gives each wedding a lot of time and consideration. Thus, you end up with all of these lovely details, each one better than the next.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
JEFFRY
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
This one's for the guys, you know those terrified yet excited, take control yet out of control men soon to be somehow involved with the loving yet somewhat stressful process of matrimony. They call us grooms! Let me introduce you to Tina and Bear Flag Farm.
My wife and I live a short distance from BFF and ride our bikes along the winding riparian and orchard studded road that passes close by Bear flags lavender fields 3-4 times a week. It remains our favorite ride for the serenity, the beauty and the strong sense of productive farming that's the heart of Yolo County. We always thought , what a perfect place to be married. Then we met Tina.
Our introductory visit in her casual, country office at BFF began with sharing concepts, wishes, likes and dislikes then led us through her team concept, reviewing her players and the entire preparation process. She made suggestions based on our vision of what our wedding would be then told us to reflect on all we had learned, contact her with questions and in a few weeks reconvene to nail down specifics. My wife left, eyes dilated and excited. I left relaxed and assured we were in the gracious hands of a pro. Tina actually asked for my input and took time to calm my concerns. Her experience no doubt led to an understanding that tightly wound, stressed out grooms are a difficult group to involve.
Her overall mantra remained, relax, have fun, and enjoy each step along the way, She 'd watch our backs and handle the hard stuff. As confidence grew, so did the enjoyment. The scheduling, organization, selection of team members, coordination and timing were impeccable. The team became friends and by wedding time, part of the family.
Our middle aged, second time around wedding attended by experienced and discerning guests, flowed without a flaw. Under the shade of an "Out of Africa" tent our friends and family sat shaded, laughing and crying and wondering what was next, photos for us and wine for the rest until time to toast and sit down to country elegance. White linens and Bear Flag flowers and herbs covered candle lit tables beneath small twinkling lights, large shining stars, and embracing Sycamore branches.
The band absolutely rocked for hours. Tunes that kept everyone and I mean everyone on the dance floor for hours. Throughout the afternoon and evening Tina and her staff were there to check in for requests and needs. We felt very attended and cared for from beginning to end.
Our friends have called it the event of the decade... and beyond. The class, the cozy comfort, the phenomenal ceremony,setting,dinner, and music made it truly a night to remember forever. And for us grooms , isn't that what it's all about?
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Melissa
Wedding:
8/20/2011
4.8/5.0
I was lucky enough to have my wedding at Bear Flag Farm in August, and I'm so happy with how the whole day unfolded. Going into the wedding planning process, I felt overwhelmed and confused. Finding the perfect venue was proving to be a very frustrating experience until I stumbled upon BFF. It had everything we were looking for--beautiful gardens, orchards, fields, and, most importantly, a totally private feel. Having exclusive use of the property was very special to us; our guests appreciated it as well and felt very welcome! Many have commented that it felt like they were on a vacation. We've received rave reviews from so many people--the food, music, and flowers were all wonderful.

Tina was great to work with, and I'm so glad I followed her vendor recommendations. I chose a package, which I definitely recommend because it takes some of the decision-making off your plate. If you put your trust in her I promise you won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Brittney
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
My dream came true at Bear Flag Farm. I wanted to get married there for years and it came true this summer. The farm is beyond beautiful, and pictures dont even come close to display its beauty. The staff at Bear Flag Farm are great. They were one top of everything the day of the wedding. Tina, the owner and coordinator of the Farm, is fit for the job! She knows how to orchestrate and prepare the bride and the event to be just perfect months and months before the day. I had an all inclusive wedding package that was perfect for my busy schedule of Nursing School. Tina took care of so much and made it very special. My guests have told me over and over again that this was the best venue they have ever been to, Quote: "Its so Beautiful and breath taking, What a spectacular choice." I cant say enough about the farm. Their olive oil is delicious, their wine is tasty, the farm to the table approach is so unique, and the setting is perfect.

I used Grace Lee, the Farms Caterer, for our food and it was amazing. The serving staff were courteous and my guests got their food served in a special way. Our DJ, Adam, set the mood for the entire evening with great music custom to us as a couple. Our ceremony was filled with beautiful strings music from "The Dolanc String Quartet."
Our photos were captured by Ann Hamilton- such a down to earth and talented photographer. She captured the perfect moments for our special day. And her side kick assistant was very talented as well. And my Guests got to have fun in the photobooth from "PhotoWorks Interactive."

I wouldnt change a thing about our wedding day- Thanks to Tina and all her staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Sara
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Where to begin to add to glowing remarks about Bear Flag Farm? In the search for the perfect wedding venue, I told my now husband, "wherever it is, it has to be magical". Enter Bear Flag Farm and Tina Reikes, who my mom came to affectionately refer to as "your fairy godmother". We first visited the farm in the middle of January on rainy day. Nothing was in bloom and sky was gray, but spending an hour with Tina in her cozy cottage with a cup of tea looking through past wedding albums and getting to know her, it was clear to both of us that we had indeed found our magical place to get married and the woman who would bring it all to life.

When you have your wedding at Bear Flag, you are getting much more than a venue. You are getting a place that has so much heart and soul and that quality is in every detail of your wedding day. Even before we had signed a contract, Tina wanted to know everything about us, our tastes, our interests, who we are as a couple. She extracted a vision that I couldn't put into words and on our wedding day, it was a delight to hear so many of my closest friends and family say, "this is so YOU" What more could you hope for than a wedding celebration so personal and reflective of who you are and what you value. Throughout the months of planning and particularly in the weeks leading up to the wedding, we were both impressed and touched by Tina's incredible professionalism, her genuine kindness and effort to make our day everything we dreamed it to be. Even a rain scare the week of the wedding that threatened our original plan did not ruffle Tina, she had a Plan B in place before I could go even log on to weather.com and start to panic. She is calm, resourceful, and has impeccable taste. All of our vendors were recommendations Tina helped us with and all were a joy to work with. On the day of the wedding I couldn't have been more relaxed and present, knowing that Tina and her team had an eye on every detail. My husband organized a bike ride with his groomsmen and close friends the morning of the wedding to take advantage of the beautiful setting and great bike loops in Davis. Tina insisted they swing by BFF to say hi and take a photo. It was the start to the perfect day and a great photo of the guys that Jay will treasure.

And about that wedding day...it was a dream come true. A fairy tale by many guest's notes we received in the days that followed. Saying our vows on the perfectly manicured lawn in the Lavender Field, a cocktail reception on the shaded terrace, the reception under a beautiful tent aglow with hanging lights and candles. Everywhere I looked I saw something that made me beam with happiness, the flowers, the food, the smiles on our guest's faces. We had the time of our lives and it is a day that we will never forget. We are so happy that this very special place and this truly amazing woman, are now a part of our story... where we said "I do", danced our first dance and celebrated our marriage with our closest friends and family. Simply put, it was magic.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Heather
Wedding:
9/10/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I live in Denver, Colorado and we got married at Bear Flag Farm on September 10, 2010. When I started the wedding planning process, my heart was set on a Napa Valley wine country wedding, however with many hours of research, I found the wineries I wanted to get married at did not host weddings, and the wineries that did host weddings were not exactly what I was looking for. During the process I was also getting frustrated with properties not being responsive as well as receiving scripted responses that seemed to sound like "you are bride #54 out of #72 and this is the paperwork you need to fill out and this is the deposit you need to put down etc. etc." I was so disenchanted by the whole process during what is supposed to be such a magical experience, that I was close to giving up on a traditional wedding and eloping with my husband.

I told myself I would give surrounding Napa Valley areas a few more hours of research and that is when I found Bear Flag Farm. Just by her website I could tell the owner behind this property had style, class, personality and individuality - how refreshing! I sent in my request for information via her site late on a Friday evening and received a response from her first thing Saturday morning - unbelievable! When I talked to Tina (owner)for the first time, I was relieved to hear that she does not partake in the "assembly line of brides” strategy for her venue and she actually only does a handful of weddings a year and never more than one a week - Perfect! She told me every wedding of hers is very different based on the couple and that it is important to her to get to know both of us so she can tailor the day to our preferences. I made a quick trip to Winters, met Tina, felt like we bonded instantly and the farm was everything I hoped it would be. Best of all, I was still able to base my guests in Napa and since Tina grows Syrah grapes, my wine country wedding was still going to happen - but now with lavender fields, citrus orchards, olive trees, an organic garden that our guests would be dining from and of course, her precious honey bees in the background that became the theme of our wedding.

Since we live in Colorado and would be planning a destination wedding, it was extremely important that I could trust our wedding planner as well as find a package deal that did not have me pouring over every detail. Tina over delivered in every area and offers an incredible package that made the process extremely easy.

Our wedding day mirrors the rest of Bear Flag Farm’s reviews. The day was perfect, extremely organized, every detail was well thought out, the farm looked like a dream and we received many comments from our guests that it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to. As a bride, my favorite part was Tina’s extra special touches that made the day just as much of a surprise for me as it was for our guests. The highlights of our wedding include getting married with the smell of lavender in the air, a ferris wheel that Tina talked us into that became the hit of our wedding, incredible food prepared by Grace Lee that came from Tina’s farm, stunning décor and lighting, an amazing band (Hip Service) and of course Tina and Leslie’s (Tina’s assistant) constant attention to ensure the day went perfectly. Our wedding was an absolute dream and I am excited for all future brides who decide to get married there!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Allison
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Bear Flag Farm is a magical place where stunning weddings are created by fabulous people! Picking Bear Flag Farm was the best decision we ever made in our wedding planning process. I fell in love with the place the moment I visited the website, which is filled w/ gorgeous pictures that so accurately portray the feel and beauty of the farm. Tina (owner of the farm & wedding planner extraordinare) is amazing to work with, and the suggested vendors she has for food/photo/cake/music/etc are similarly wonderful. In our first few meetings, Tina was able to take all our ideas and create an overall theme/feel to the wedding that perfectly reflected what we wanted. I am from the bay area, but living in NY with my fiance, so our meetings with Tina were very spread out, but it didn't matter because Tina was great about communication via phone and email. Every detail was addressed, even those I didn't think of (and I'm a pretty detail-oriented person!)
The farm itself is so meticuously maintained, respected, and well-loved by its owners who place a huge amount of importance on the field to table concept. It's not just a selling point gimmick, but something that continously comes through...the produce from the farm is used as much as possible in the wedding menu, even in the floral arrangements if fitting! I loved that our guests were able not only to enjoy the surroundings of the farm but also able to taste the bounty that the farm produces. You can even use their olive oil and wine. There are so many places of beauty on the farm itself, from the lavender fields to the orchards to the vineyards..it creates endless opportunities for ceremony locations & photo ops.
Your wedding day will always run smoothly in Tina's capable hands. She surrounds herself with a staff of competent and caring people who make sure that your special day is flawless...and if there are any issues that come up, you'll never know about them because Tina makes sure that the bride and groom get to experience every moment of their wedding (rather than spending time worrying about the details of the day). Our wedding day was perfect from start to finish...I didn't want it to end! I would recommend Bear Flag Farm in a heartbeat to anyone looking for a gorgeous outdoor wedding location.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Bear Flag Farm is the perfect wedding venue! Not only is the farm absolutely and naturally beautiful with its lavender fields, vineyard and fruit orchards, Tina (the owner) and her team are delightful to work with. Tina is consistently responsive and ready to assist with anything you might need. She works with excellent, top quality vendors and is able to help steer you toward the best bands, caterers, florist, etc. based on your preferences and wedding style. Our wedding was sort of a sophisticated french country style affair as my husband and his family are French. Everything was customized to include English and French translations. My husband is also a chef so he loved the idea of using the produce from the Farm in the meal. Our caterer, Grace Lee, was fantastic! She incorporated so many elements from the Farm and even created an amuse bouche with korean water kimchee as a little nod to my Korean family members. The wedding was in August, so we had an open, billowy tent to shade the ceremony on the vineyard lawn and parasols available for guests who desired additional sun protection. As the sun set, we migrated over to the cocktail area for awhile, then to dinner on the cottage lawn (a lovely sunken in area surrounded by mature trees and rose gardens). Our guests raved about the wedding! We've had several guests tell us (multiple times) that it was the best wedding they've ever attended - we thought of everything (and, by "we," they meant Tina and Leslie). Our guests were transported on shuttle buses to and from the Farm which was super easy and alleviated any concerns about getting lost or driving after the festivities. I'm still getting calls about the "amazing food" and "beautiful location." My husband and I had so much fun at the wedding due, in large part, to the fact that we knew we were in good hands and didn't have to worry about a thing. All in all, you can't go wrong with Tina and Bear Flag Farm. Rest assured, it will exceed expectations!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Jessie
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.8/5.0
We were married at Bear Flag Farms this summer. I had an idea in mind of what I wanted, something like a Midsummer's Nights Dream and a fancy outdoor dinner party, and Tina and the BFF team made it happen. We live in New York, so having the BFF team take care of all of the design aspects made it a breeze. I had some ideas about the aesthetics and the color palette, and they truly realized it into my perfect wedding! We are still getting calls from friends and family that tell us it was the most beautiful wedding.

We went with the package that included food, music, design and some other things. Even though the vendors were chosen by the farm, we had complete access to them to discuss the details of our day. Each vendor took time to meet with us individually on our very limited schedules to make sure we had exactly what we wanted. It was wonderful.

Because we planned from a distance, we communicated primarily through email. Tina is extremely accessible and responds quickly. If you are a long distance bride like I was, this is a great option! You will want to be sure that you are very organized in communicating what you want, and they will deliver for you. Although I think you could be completely hands off if you wanted! Get married here. It is incredibly beautiful and a wonderful venue. My only wish is that we had more time on the farm - it went so fast!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tamclemore
Wedding:
6/5/2010
4.6/5.0
We would use the following words to describe the Team at Bear Flag Farm: thoughtful, attentive, organized and FUN!

Bear Flag Farm is an amazing place. It is an idyllic outdoor venue with a collection of unique spaces that create a inspiring whole. The Farm worked well for us because it allowed our wedding to take place in natural setting, while not sacrificing any comfort or luxury for our guests. The ability to incorporate food from the farm and surrounding area made this experience very genuine. The most important part of Bear Flag Farm is the people. Their execution of the event was superb. The most important part to us was that they took the time to get to know us and our family. We are blessed to count the people at Bear Flag Farms as our friends.

We would recommend this venue to any of our friends!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Margaret
Wedding:
9/22/2007
5.0/5.0
Bear Flag Farm has been one of my favorite venues to work with as the Editor in Chief of Project Wedding. If I were getting married again, I would definitely consider this beautiful venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
Private Estate Organic Farm, Winters, CA 95616 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Bear Flag Farm
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1378144859229-84050003-c