Nophoto-130

Becky Fowler Alterations

Irving , TX

LOCATION

Irving, TX US
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Becky's work is amazing!! I bought a dress off the rack, 2-3 sizes too big. It was very intricate with lace and beading and she made it fit me like a glove. It was a VERY detailed and complicated alteration and she did a fabulous job at a fraction of the price of a boutique alterationist. I would go back to her again and again.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristi
Wedding:
11/1/2013
5.0/5.0
If you are reading this with even a tiny shred of apprehension about where to bring your wedding dress to be altered, stop right now and call Becky Fowler immediately.

I posted a longer review on YELP!, but let me cut to the chase here: If I had gone to Becky Fowler to start with, I'd have saved close to a thousand dollars in alterations, and a tremendous amount of anxiety and stress.

She is skilled, fast, capable, and does EXCELLENT WORK. I was afraid to trust 'the internet' but I hope to reassure you that you are not stuck with expensive or lackluster alterations at the bridal shop. I highly, HIGHLY recommend Becky Fowler. I am a lifelong fan and will be a lifelong customer. She not only does custom alterations, but I was told she can build a dress from scratch. This is a scary proposition to trust to a stranger, but please know that all of the rave reviews are right on the money. She is amazing, she has integrity, and she fixed every problem I had in a heartbeat, for HUNDREDS AND HUNDREDS of dollars less than I had paid to the bridal shop.

Yay!!!! Becky Fowler is the bomb.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about how much I adore Becky Fowler. I found her through her reviews, and we took my beautiful and intricate Stephen Yearick gown to her for my first fitting. She helped me find the right slip for my dress, took in the shoulders, and put in the bustle. You couldn't tell that she had touched it except that it fit perfectly. After my bridal portraits, we noticed I had lost a little weight, so we took it in for another set of alterations. Becky fixed it again and told me to have a milkshake or two. The week before my wedding, I had dropped even more weight, and it needed SEVERAL inches taken in throughout the waist and hips. Becky did it in a matter of days, and it turned out PERFECT. I gave it to her on Saturday, and she had it ready for pick up on Tuesday. She didn't gouge us on pricing or rush fees - and she does absolutely beautiful work. My mom had her remake a dress for her, and she altered my rehearsal dinner dress. Becky's work is flawless, and she is a joy to know! Skip the bridal salons and go see Becky!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristi
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
I could not be anymore thankful that I had the pleasure of working with Becky...and it was just that...MY pleasure. She is the sweetest, most educated, and fashion savvy seamstress that I have ever worked with and everything that I could have asked for when creating my wedding dress. I came to her with a vision in mind and she produced it to the T. She was also very accommodating with my schedule so I would highly recommend her to anyone that is wanting the best for such an occasion. I was beyond grateful and happy with my "couture' looking gown!!!~Kristi
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Becky is every bit as wonderful as I had heard! For my first fitting I showed up with my mom and grandma, and she was just excited as they were to see the dress on! She is so sweet and made us all feel right at home. Becky gave me lots of "tips" for walking in the dress which I appreciated too. The dress was ready to pick up right on time and fit perfectly. She was able to take it in quite a bit and it looked amazing! I never had any issues contacting Becky, she was always very responsive and prompt with replies. I would highly recommend her to any bride!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Beckie does very quick work and is very professional. The cost was great too!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1353379172862-img7450
Brooke
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Becky is simply the sweetest woman I've worked with. She was amazing and flexible and super reasonable. She was so honest, it turned out that my dress was a perfect fit & required no alterations except adding in the bustle. Others could have slightly tweaked the length and charged me for it and I wouldn't have known any better. She is wonderful and I would recommend her to anyone looking for a great value and someone to tell you how amazing your dress it. Thanks Becky!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Becky is the sweetest lady! My dress only needed hemming and bustle and she did an amazing job. She is very nice and makes you feel very comfortable. She is also very honest and will give you her opinion!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1342733596317-atempleton62883o
Ashley
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Becky is an absolute gem! She is experienced and knowledgeable. Her prices are extremely fair and her work is impeccable. Any bride looking for a tailor should definitely see Becky!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
It’s been said a million times before, but I’ll say it again…Becky is the best! She’s so sweet and affordable and did such a great job. I loved that she also made me practice walking down the “aisle” in my dress, and gave me tips. If you need alterations, use her, hands down.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/9/2012
5.0/5.0
I echo all the other positive reviews on this site. I found Becky via recomendations on the knot message boards. I had moved out of town and was only back in Dallas for a few days. Becky didn't want me to get my dress alterned and leave it there to be picked up a month later since it was so close to the wedding so she was able to alter it in 2 days!! Other brides I talked to required multiple fittings but with Becky I was able to take bring it in and have it ready days later with no additional fittings needed. She did amazing work in a fraction of the time or cost of the bridal stores.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathleen
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Becky is the most precious lady on earth. I found her through WeddingWire, as I'm a DIY bride and budget-conscious, so I was trying to save a small fortune on alterations. My dress vendor quoted a $500 alterations budget, and $250 of that was the hemline alone! I called Becky, and she was able to fit me in within 2 weeks for a fitting, and had my dress measured, altered (including the addition of 3 French bustles), and ready within 3 weeks, all for less than $200. She was just delightful. She operates the business out of her home, has over 30 years of experience, and knew exactly what to do with my dress (which was rather unique, a corset and skirt). She made me feel completely at ease, and even referred me to a fabulous dress cleaner after the wedding. She is a true diamond in the rough!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Becky was such a joy to work with! My dress was a wreck when we brought it to Becky and she did such an amazing job on it! It fit like a glove! I am so glad we chose her! I can't say enough good things about her :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
c-bear
Wedding:
5/12/2012
2.5/5.0
I have an Alfred Angelo dress which is pretty intricate with silk and organza fabric. I saw all the wonderful reviews about Becky so I made an appointment with her. Her prices were extremely reasonable and based off all the wonderful reviews she got, I went ahead and booked her. A month later I went to try on the dress... I'm very short and the dress seemed too long. She insisted that it was fine and I figured she knew best so I gave her the money and took the dress with me. The next couple of days I tried on the dress and attempted to dance in it, since there was not enough room at her place and I kept tripping over the fabric. I even would try walking straight and I would step all over it. I also, noticed other poorly sewn adjustments in the dress. I called her again and asked if she could make it shorter and she said she would but that she would have to charge me again. She said that since I had paid her the money and took the dress home with me that was our verbal contract that business was complete and "that's how verbal contracts work, everybody knows that." Well I didn't know... mainly because verbal contracts can be exercised however you see fit and that's how she chose to do business with me. I was very disappointed because she seemed to be a very kind and reasonable person. I figured she had a lot on her plate since she gets a lot of business this time of year, so I went to another seamstress who understood what needed to be fixed and offered to do everything for $60. This whole ordeal was an unfortunate incident... I'm sure Becky is good at what she does but in my case, I felt deprived of the quality service everyone was talking about. I am very disappointed in her work and how she does business. If you choose to do business with her and you think there is something wrong with your dress, please don't pay her and don't take it home until you have a very clear verbal agreement!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Esther
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Miss Becky was so kind and sweet to me and my Bridesmaids! I loved going to see her. She helped to make my wedding dress unique and even more beautiful than it was! I was so lucky to have found her, she gave us tips on how to walk, and pointers on the double sided tape for our dressess. THANK YOU SO MUCH MISS BECKY YOU ARE AMAZING!!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JamiH
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
I had a hard time finding someone to do my bridesmaids alterations because I wanted a reputable person and most bridal shops didn't do alterations unless you purchased from them. I found Becky and she was just PERFECT! She was prompt in getting the dresses altered and they all turned out perfect. She was super friendly and answered all my questions. She is definitely a pro. I would recommend her to anyone and she had a great contact for dress cleaning for my wedding dress. Also, the dress alterations were CHEAP. We did some length alterations and took some of the dresses in and it was really affordable!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1326766953423-jipmcguireengagement114
Carol
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Not only was Mrs. Becky able to get the alterations down in two weeks at HALF the cost of everyone else I was quoted, but I never touched my dress all night. I was purchased off the rack, two sizes too big and it looks like it was a custom made dress after Mrs. Becky was done. Also - she fixed a bridesmaid's dress for me in just days. She can do anything and offered great advice about walking in the dress (you're like an 18 Wheeler, wide turns and no backing up) and to hold your flowers down the aisle to your side, so your groom can see the Full Dress. She's the best!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
missbrinkman
Wedding:
2/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Much like the rest of the brides here - I completely adore Becky Fowler!!!! A dear friend that I've known since elementary (who looked stunning on her wedding day) referred me to Miss Becky.

She is one of the kindest women I've ever encountered and has a very calming presence that is so helpful for us Bridezillas! :)

I have a pretty complicated lace overlay dress that the manufacturer ordered WAAAAY too big. Also, I sort of, um...deconstructed a little bit of the dress myself prior to seeing Miss Becky, so I could get a better look at the "bones" of the dress. (Talk about a nightmare customer - right?!)

She had the dress back to me in less than 2 weeks (January, so not busy season) looking absolutely perfect! She even added little details to make the sleeve more flattering to my arms.

When the dress was ready, she took tons of time showing my mother and I how to bustle, giving great advice and history on weddings - things that were new to me!

I don't want to get any more sappy, but I plan on keeping in touch with Becky for a long time and hope to bring my nieces and maybe even daughters to her one day for their special day of dress fitting.

Bottom line, her work is phenomenal but it is her sweet, professional, warm-hearted way of doing business that prompted me to search for a place online to sing her praises.

Congrats to all of you bride-to-be's!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1286390848281-weedssmiling
Darice
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.7/5.0
I will never ever lose Becky's information. Having found her information on another wedding website's forumn as one of the most sought-after alterations people in DFW, I called her prior to my dress coming in and set up an appointment. She is such a professional and knows so much about dresses for weddings that everything out of her mouth was a welcome instruction or opinion. Things like looking up as I walked to not make the dress droop and make myself trip, or which earrings to wear in addition to what you'd expect like how to work the bustle she put in.... Becky is a fountain of information I was glad to find!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
10/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Nothing else needs to be said about her, everyone knows she great. She even gave me another appointment less than a month out from the wedding to re-hem my dress since I ended up not being able to wear the heels I originally planned to wear. She was able to do it a certain way to where she wouldn’t have to completely cut up the lace layer of my dress and I wouldn’t have to pay $200 extra, and you couldn’t even notice it was different.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lml1001
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
There’s really nothing more to say about Becky than what’s already been said here. I will definitely be going to her for all of my dress alterations from now on! She does an amazing job and she is incredibly sweet. I needed more alterations to my dress than I had originally thought when I bought it (bridal boot camp works well, i guess). My dress looked incredible and it fit perfectly. And she did all the work for way less than it would have been at a bridal salon. I would definitely recommend her to anyone!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancy
Wedding:
9/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Becky was AWESOME!!! She didn't have to do much for me just the bustle and some pads in the bust. But I loved her, she is the sweetest lady ever. She took note of my requests and got numbers for those with me to ensure she would be able to reach me. She even showed my mom and sister how to tie the corset, the bustle and the right way to arrange my dress. Plus she is super affordable!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
P
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
Becky did a wonderful job altering my daughter's wedding gown. My daughter is petite and the dress did not come in a petite size so Becky had to take it apart to shorten the waist and give it petite proportions. She did a lovely job at a very reasonable price, far less than the original bridal shop would have charged.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shana
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Becky did a great job altering my dress for a very reasonable price. She really took time to listen to what I wanted, showing me all the different bustle options before I chose one, and showing me what straps would look like added to my strapless dress. She did a great job and was so sweet to work with.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KCPortmann
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Becky is hands down the kindest woman I have ever met, not to mention she is wonderful at what she does. She added a bustle to my dress and helped me pick out the perfect veil. She made me fee absolutely comfortable in her home, and i was 100% satisfied with how my dress turned out. I would definitely recommend her to any bride needing alteration in the DFW area.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brianna
Wedding:
3/27/2011
5.0/5.0
I don’t think there’s anything that I can say about Becky that hasn’t already been said. The woman is amazing!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
R
Wedding:
1/16/2011
5.0/5.0
What can I say about Becky that hasn’t already been said? She is, hands down, THE BEST. I bought my dress in August in NYC and planned on losing the 15 lbs. I gained in law school before our January wedding, but I still bought the bigger size dress at the shop’s urging. When I did lose 17 lbs. the dress was obviously very big, but no worries, Becky made it look like it was made for every inch and curve of my body. I bought a veil and blusher from her as well that made the ensemble look perfect. She also did a quick take-in of my rehearsal dinner dress and even saw my SIL the day before the wedding (she lives abroad and wasn’t able to try on her BM dress until the weekend of the wedding!). Becky is one of the nicest people EVER and – wow - what a seamstress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michelle
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Can't say enough about Becky Fowler! She is fabulous and made me feel like a princess. Love her work and she is affordable.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
10/15/2010
5.0/5.0
There are not enough positive words in the world to describe Becky Fowler. Her work is excellent, her prices extremely competitive and her attitude and sweetness can not be beat.

She is THE person to go to for wedding dress alterations. She altered my dress and two of my bridesmaid dresses and did great work.

From advising you on exactly how to hold your bouquet for the full effect on your fiance when walking down the aisle to making you feel like you are the only bride she is working with, Becky is amazing!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1281387456867-kellyandjames2
Kelly
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
You could not ask for a better seamstress! Not only is she beyond reasonably priced, she is such a sweet person too! She altered my wedding dress and two of my bridesmaid’s dresses. The bridesmaid’s loved her so much that they are going back to her for various reasons. Love her!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1275702388234-eadblog12
Ann
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Becky is the sweetest lady! She did a fantastic job taking my dress in, creating a beautiful bustle, and making some dress flowers for me. Her work and her prices are amazing! I loved the way she bustled my dress... I liked it more bustled which was a shock to me! She gave me some great tips and my sisters already plan to use her when they get married :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Jacki
Wedding:
8/8/2010
5.0/5.0
I can't add enough pluses about this lady. She is the nicest lady I've met and works out of her home. The alterations she did for me (French bustle, bra cups sewn in, having the corset taken in, and the gown shortened) were all wonderful work. And she is VERY (almost surprisingly) affordable. Due to a mixup (she wrote down the wrong date which I pick up the gown, and when I went, she wasn't finished with my gown), she was very apologetic and even threw in a bunch of freebies (such as $28 off her already affordable prices, a free veil and a free hair flower - all very good quality)! I had bought hair flowers and a veil before, but I ended up using hers. HIGHLY recommended.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vickchic
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Simply put, Becky is an amazing woman! She loves what she does and does it VERY well! My dress fit perfectly and the bustle was extremely simple and held wonderfully. Because of her true love for helping brides look beautiful, she was my favorite vendor!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1276501826726-fave1copy
donnaaries
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Becky Fowler is a wonderwoman when it comes to alterations and custom work on formal gowns and wedding dresses. I had bought a sample dress that was two sizes too big and extremely concerned about sizing down the fully beaded bodice. Becky did an amazing job on the alterations and bustle work. She altered three dresses for me for my wedding weekend and I think the total cost is about the same as altering one dress at a bridal salon.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K.Svochak
Wedding:
4/2/2010
0.2/5.0
My rating may be viewed as extreme but this is the first review I have ever written for a person and it is due to the terrible experience I had with Becky. Some months before my wedding I went and had an appointment done with my bridesmaids and was impressed. They brought pictures, were measured and assurances were made that I "would not have to worry, very few if any alterations are ever needed." I on the other hand requested more than just an one appointment because lets face it; Its nice to know progress is being made and its not all going to hell in a hand basket. A date is given for approx. one month before the wedding. So there would be plenty of time for alterations. She reschedules the appointment twice (three weeks later) my wedding date was fast approaching (which she knew). The Saturday before my wedding she lets me know that one of my bridesmaids dresses has not even been sewed yet. I am suppose to be understanding because she has working late every night to get other peoples gowns done. I am not. Whats worse is out of the other three girls dresses I paid for only one works. The other two need major alterations, (one of which was sewn completely offset to the center of her body) and my girls get to drive out to the other side of town and fix a problem that should have never happened to begin with.
It finally came down to removing some of her work completely and my bridesmaid who has worked a sewing machine before fixing Becky's work.
I would not recommend this woman to my enemies.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1263244393294-175
Stephanie
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
I loved working with Becky. She altered my wedding dress (bustle, hem, taken in, and cups sewn in) as well as my bridesmaids' dresses. Our dresses fit perfectly and my bustle held all night and looked beautiful. You won't find anyone better to trust your wedding dress with than Becky.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MBain09
Wedding:
10/9/2009
5.0/5.0
I loved working with Becky! She was very flexible as far as times/dates she could work with me. She also did an amazing job at an even more amazing price!

She had to add bra cups, hem, and add a bustle to my dress. I would highly recommend her to anyone. She took the time to show my mother how to bustle my dress, how to lace the corset back, and also helped me practice walking correctly in the dress.

You will not be disappointed working with Becky...she will make you feel like a princess!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Becky is the first vendor that I would recommend. She is AMAZING! She is very reasonablty priced (too reasonably priced!) and such a sweet lady. I bought my dress off the rack, about 4 sizes too big. It had a lace overlay, which I'm sure what a lot of work to cut through, but somehow she made my dress fit me. She even had to cut the bottom to shorten it, and you couldn't even tell on the lace where that was. She is getting booked up quickly, so book far in advance. She will be the best vendor decision you will make!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
joey76
Wedding:
4/4/2009
5.0/5.0
Becky Fowler is absolutely EXCEPTIONAL. I could not recommend her more. I stumbled upon her in a forum on theknot.com and could not be happier that I did so. Her prices were more than reasonable. Her work was fabulous, both on my dress and in the gowns & bridesmaid dresses that I saw in her home while I was visiting for my fittings. She is also as sweet as she can be. Working with her was a true pleasure and I would visit her again for a custom made formal gown if I ever need one. I wish I'd known about her prior to ordering bridesmaid dresses because I definitely would have had her make them.

I also got my veil & decorative comb from her. Both were stunning and reasonably priced.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg16
Goodie2Shewz
Wedding:
8/30/2008
5.0/5.0
Grade A+++++++++++++. What more can I say about Becky? She is the sweetest person alive and definitley the most talented seamstress I have ever encountered. She made my bridesmaid dresses, the MOB dress my grandmother's dress, and my bustle and my rehearsal dinner dress. My Mom and grandmother's dresses were from pictures of several dresses that we liked and incorporated parts of each. Becky did a phenominal job! She is a very very busy lady, but she makes you feel like you are her only client. I know I am biased, but you can ask anyone that has ever used her...I bet you will get the same response.....I would ONLY recommend Becky!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marie00
Wedding:
7/12/2008
4.9/5.0
I have used Becky Fowler for my alterations for several bridesmaid dresses and then also used her for my wedding dress alterations. She's being doing alterations for 25+ years, and you can tell. She knows exactly what she's doing! Highly recommend her for any dress alterations you need...
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1220819340958-gobinblog_019
Erin
Wedding:
7/5/2008
5.0/5.0
Becky is so sweet and so talented, and so reasonably priced! Look no further for your alterations or custom dress needs! My dress fit like a glove and she made the most beautiful bustle for it. She also taught me how to walk in my dress and my MOH how to tie up the corset and bustle for me. The care in her brides and her work really shows.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BAshby
Wedding:
4/8/2007
1.6/5.0
This was a really bad job done on my dress. I had 2 dresses to get done. We came and she did the pin up to the dresses. We came back to last fit and to pick up. It was the day before the wedding and the mother of the bride dress hung in the chest and did not look fitted at all. My wedding dress was to long still and I was tripping all day at the wedding. The bussel broke less them a min after it was put up. Worst part was I let her know and she did not care at all.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Becky Fowler Alterations
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220