130x130_sq_1217335341145-wedwire

Bella Sera Event Venue

Canonsburg , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

414 Morganza Road
Canonsburg, PA US 15317 (map)

PHONE

724-745-5575

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Perfectly suited for your special occasion, surround yourself with Old World charm and beautiful design at Bella Sera Event Venue.
""The detail is what made the evening. From the... Read more
Perfectly suited for your special occasion, surround yourself with Old World charm and beautiful design at Bella Sera Event Venue.
""The detail is what made the evening. From the food, to the service, to the atmosphere, everything was first class." Kathy (Mother of Bride) Read less
Catering , Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1394564816123-2012-08-31-07.28.5
130x130_sq_1394564258136-2009-08-07-18.23.0
130x130_sq_1394564385716-2012-08-31-06.13.0
130x130_sq_1394564172581-2008-09-27-18.04.3
130x130_sq_1394564206467-2008-09-27-18.06.4
130x130_sq_1394565077837-2011-05-21-16.14.3
130x130_sq_1394565323385-2007-04-01-08.39.3
130x130_sq_1394564796630-2012-08-31-07.23.5

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
Italian
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
400

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2006
When was your venue last renovated?
2006
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Rustic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
400
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
0
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
120
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.0
out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
3.9/5.0
4.1/5.0
3.9/5.0
4.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.2/5.0
Owner was rarely around to ask questions, and the wedding coordinator wasn't timely in asking him questions, or responding to ours. It cost us money in the end. Then, the servers started cleaning up too early, so then it felt like people needed to leave. It cut our time shorter. Very disappointed. On the upside, the food was good.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.2/5.0
The Bella Sera is a beautiful venue for a wedding and has the great food!! Our guests were so pleased and were raving about how wonderful everything was.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.6/5.0
The food excellent (at least that's what I'm told...my food was taken away before I got to eat it). The venue is lovely. It really was quite nice. However, there were a couple services that they didn't fulfill on the day of the event. I also found it hard to contact and have a constructive conversation with the wedding coordinator. I would get short, unhelpful responses. Even when I visited for a scheduled meeting, the coordinator always seemed to be "selling" the venue to another potential client...this was frustrating, especially when I needed answers (which never got answered and as a result cost us money - it's expensive to begin with). That was the most frustrating part. Even afterwards, they never apologized or compensated us. I felt like a number afterwards...very much a business - they wouldn't even respond to my emails - probably too busy selling to the next client! With that being said, it was very nice (food and venue)- that can't be denied. However, I wouldn't have my reception there again, or suggest it because of the service and lack of communication/attention to detail. After reading other reviews, the coordinator problem seems to be ongoing unfortunately - nice people, but just not the best at their jobs, which can ruin the experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
The planners we worked with were excellent!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christin
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
Bella Sera created a beautiful wedding for us! Lauren is the beyond the best and the reason why our day was incredible. She puts in 110% to ensure that your day is perfect. She is there with you every step of the way during the planning process to make sure you are happy. She is so kind and will offer her opinion when necessary but at the end of the day, she listens to what you want. Also, the servers and bartenders were remarkable, ensuring that guests were pleased with their food. They were very professional and considerate of dietary restrictions. Someone was always there checking in with the us (the bride and groom) to see if we needed anything. Not to mention, the food was delicious. Our guests had nothing but great things to say. I would recommend Lauren and Bella Sera to all!

We were also at the venue in the morning and the "set up" crew consulted with us to make sure everything was just the way we wanted it. The day ran so smoothly and we couldn't be happier!

Bella Sera also catered our rehearsal dinner at an off site location. Our guests could not say enough about the food and the catering chef was extremely friendly.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Bella Sera made our night magical! From their attention to detail, to their classic venue, amazing food and friendly staff we couldn't have asked for a better venue. Everything was perfect- we don't even have ANY suggestions to change a thing. Lauren, was there from start to finish and made sure we were taken care of- she was always a step ahead and didn't miss a beat. If you're looking for a venue who will work with you, within your budget, without compromising details, Bella Sera is for you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tori
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
I looked at MANY wedding venues before stumbling upon Bella Sera. We fell in love with Bella Sera because of the "tuscan style" room with high ceilings, huge staircase and beautiful balcony. We had approximately 250 guests and we fit very comfortably in the main room. The staff at Bella Sera is fantastic! Everyone was more than grateful to help us at any point in the planning process. Lauren Madison is the wedding coordinator and she was beyond amazing to work with. She answered phone calls and emails immediately. Throughout our wedding night she checked on us several times to see if we needed anything. She helped develop our timeline and everything ran smoothly. The hall was beyond gorgeous when we showed up. They set up and cleaned up everything for us. It was an amazing feeling to just have to get in the car and leave at the end of the night and not worry about making sure everything was together. We received sooo many compliments about how delicious the food was (no one left hungry!), how beautiful the venue was and how nice the staff was. Bella Sera made our wedding night beyond perfect and we can not thank them enough!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandy
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Absolutely AMAZING!! Working with wedding planner, Lauren Madison, was like a dream come true! Her professionalism and enthusiasm made me feel as though I was the only bride she was working with. The staff at Bella Sera made every detail come together. I was blown away by everyone's efforts at making our day PERFECT! We never wanted for anything. The venue itself is breathtaking, the food is unbeatable, the staff is top notch and Lauren made all our dreams come true!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
James
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Even through a change in Wedding Planners, they were responsive and professional in every aspect. The new Planner (Lauren) was a sweetheart. She worked with us through all the changes in numbers attending, menu choices, bar decisions and props that we provided. Our family and friends did nothing but rave about the venue, the food, the DJ and all had a great time. This day was everything we had hoped for our daughter and son-in-law and we highly recommend the Bella Sera.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding at the Bella Sera and I have received so many compliments on the food and venue. Everything was perfect. It was a fairytale come true. Lauren is very helpful and willing to work with you on any questions you may have. She is very patient and understanding. I couldn't have picked a better place. It is a little expensive but worth every penny! Thank you Lauren and staff at the Bella Sera. We had a blast!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vince
Wedding:
3/29/2014
4.9/5.0
The entire Bella Sera event staff was fantastic to work with. Our food was amazing and many guests said it was the best wedding food they ever had. The venue was beautiful and the staircase provided many great pics. We couldn't be happier with our wedding and Bella Sera. Thanks.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matt
Wedding:
3/22/2014
5.0/5.0
We got a package deal from Bella Sera that was amazing in value. They still provided their professional attitude and did everything they could to make the day run smoothly. I really enjoyed working with them, and the guests can't stop talking about how amazing the food and venue were.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
3/22/2014
5.0/5.0
We booked Bella Sera site unseen based on reviews online, which everyone said was risky. However, we could not have been happier to work with such a great group of staff! They were so easy to work with! The staff (and owner) was friendly, professional, and extremely willing to accommodate us. We would recommend this venue to anyone looking to get married in the Pittsburgh/Canonsburg area.
As most weddings go, there were a few small things that didn't happen as we had originally planned, but the staff quickly took care of any concerns we had as soon as we notified them and the owner himself even came out to help and make sure everything was the way we wanted it.
The food was also outstanding and all of our guests were raving about it. We had a few vegetarians and they were extremely pleased with the vegetarian option as well.
Bottom line: Bella Sera is a top notch venue and we will definitely go back for future events!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mark
Wedding:
3/8/2014
4.6/5.0
Sometimes it was difficult to schedule meeting times.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
1/3/2014
4.7/5.0
Beautiful setting. Erin was amazing to work with we were thrilled with our wedding day.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheri
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Bella Sera was awesome! Food was beyond excellent! Everyone commented on how beautiful the venue was! Jackie took really great care of the wedding party!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
7/20/2013
4.9/5.0
Such a beautiful venue, will not disappoint!! Everything about our day was perfect. The new wedding coordinator is great and has a ton of experience. People are still talking about the food!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/7/2013
1.5/5.0
I will start by saying that our wedding day was wonderful and Bella Sera is naturally a very beautiful venue with delicious food! I will also mention that my husband and I are very easy going people, so if you are more of a particular person and consider yourself a type-A personality, I do not recommend this venue to you. We had a significant amount of trouble with the Wedding Coordinator (Tricia- new to Bella Sera in February 2013) throughout the planning process. Several different times she told us she would send us various things we needed to plan our wedding day, and each time we had to follow up with her a couple of times a week or two later just to get what she had already promised to send. However, this was not the most frustrating part of our experience. I was most taken aback by Tricia's rude and snotty attitude toward myself, my fiance, my vendors, and my family throughout our wedding rehearsal and wedding day. She was not easy to work with on any level. Thankfully on the wedding day, she was kind to me, but I found out behind the scenes that she was very rude and pushy with my husband, our DJ and our Photographer on countless occasions. Tricia generally treated us like we were an inconvenience, which is the last thing you would expect out of a Wedding Coordinator. I just don't know that she has the type of personality that is cut out for this type of position. We worked several phenomenal vendors and one professional mentioned to us after our wedding that they had "worked with Bella Sera in the past and it was always a pleasant experience, but this time seemed to be much more difficult for some reason." I honestly think the difference is Tricia. They use to have someone else, who's reviews all seem positive on here so I think Tricia being the Coordinator is what has changed. I absolutely will never recommend this place to anyone as long as Tricia is the Wedding Coordinator, which is unfortunate because it is an absolutely gorgeous venue!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
annette
Wedding:
10/14/2011
4.1/5.0
We were very happy with the staff at Bella Sera. They were very professional and helpful. The food was fabulous and the service was wonderful. It was a little pricey, but for us, it was worth it to not have to find a separate caterer, etc. We had our ceremony onsite which made it very convenient for our guests, many of whom were from out of town. Our ceremony and reception ran very smoothly. It was so nice to not have to worry about anything and just be able to enjoy ourselves.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1260896335963-111409engagementpicture
dello
Wedding:
11/27/2010
5.0/5.0
If you can't go to Italy for your wedding, this is the next best thing. Bella Sera Pittsburgh is a venue built like a Tuscan Villa. The decor is beautiful and the food is out of this world. The owner, Jason, and the wedding coordinator, Michelle, were fabulous to work with and paid attention to each and every detail. The Chef, Adam, did an outstanding job of presenting our guests with an Italian Feast! The value is a little on the pricy side, but for the service were received, and the ambienance that the venue presents, it was truly a "Bella Sera"! (Bella Sera means Beautiful Evening in Italian)
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1245012107968-smallrose
sprinks412
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was beautiful and we owe so much of it to the beautiful venue Bella Sera. Michelle was great in helping us with the details, and she didn't miss a beat the day of!!

the food was amazing, our guests & dj were all raving about how it was the best wedding dish they've ever had! (Chicken Romano & Beef Trattoria)

Bella Sera is a little pricey on Saturdays, but we got married on a Sunday which actually made it 11,000 cheaper !! a HUGE difference.

I'd get married there again in a heartbeat :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michellem1218
Wedding:
2/27/2010
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend Bella Sera to any bride or groom looking for a place to have their ceremony and/or reception. The staff especially Jacky Fife and Michelle Houston were extremely helpful before, during and after our wedding. The place was set up so georgeous for our wedding, it helped to make our wedding so special and magical. I felt like I was living a fairy tale. My husband and I fell in love with Bella Sera from the moment we saw the website and especially from the moment we walked in there! I cannot say enough about the staff and how wonderfully they treated us and our guests!

The food was top quality and delicious! Our guests one month after the wedding are still raving about the food and Bella Sera itself. We also had our rehearsal dinner at Bella Sera and the food choices we picked for that and the wedding were wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg2
Shannon
Wedding:
10/2/2009
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have picked a better place to have our reception. Coming from 2 Italian families this was the atmosphere we were going for! The decor, food, and service were 5 star and they made everything so easy to plan! I did not have to worry about a single thing but to have a great time on my wedding day! I haven't heard of a single bad thing from any of our guests! Everyone loved the food and loved the venue! It is really something different and classy for the Pittsburgh area. You may pay a bit more but the price is worth not having any frustrations during your plannin!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
11/8/2008
5.0/5.0
Bella Sera made our wedding perfect. It is a little expensive but I feel the money is well worth the final product. Nick, the main coordinator was amazing. I planned my wedding from out of town and Bella Sera was extremely accomodating. I literally dropped stuff off the night before the wedding and they still made everything perfect. My guests were so impressed with how beautiful it was inside. We had stations instead of a sit down dinner and it was perfect. The food was delicious and nobody had to wait in long lines.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
7/19/2008
4.3/5.0
This hall is amazingly beautiful. The food and alcohol were amazing. The main downside was after we spent a little more then 20000 dollars there they hardly had enough people to serve food and clear dishes. It made dinner take over 2 hours which I thought was incredibly long. There were little things here and there that I thought were a little too expensive, but thats the wedding business I guess. Over all the wedding was beautiful and everyone had a wonderful time.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
10/13/2007
4.7/5.0
Bella Sera is absolutely amazing. The venue is gorgeous and getting better by the day. The food is incredible, really 5 star quality. And the management and staff are incredibly helpful, knowledgeable, and reassuring. Everything turned out absolutely amazing, and I am still getting rave reviews from all my guests and people who weren't even there and only saw the pictures. Would 100% recommend this place to any bride looking for something a little non traditional and completly classy and sophisticated.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christie
Wedding:
10/12/2007
4.8/5.0
I cannot say enough about this venue. The entire staff works to make your event perfect. The owner, Jason, is a chef and has been the number one caterer in the South Hills area for years. When he decided to custom design a venue he literally thought of everything. The place is gorgeous. From the blue cloud sky painted in the lobby to the floor to ceiling stone fireplace (where I held my wedding ceremony) this place is extraordinary. We had custom action food stations in place of the traditional sit down dinner that were the talk of the evening. The food is unbelievable. Our number one priority was food and our guests knew it. We received so many compliments from the beauty and uniqueness of the venue to the scrumptious cuisine to ultra professional staff. Their in house event planner, Nick Borelli, is worth his weight in gold. There is no need to hire a wedding planner because this guy does it all. If you want the perfect, elegant wedding... look no further.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sammib15
Wedding:
10/7/2006
1.8/5.0
While our wedding ended up being completely lovely, we had more problems with this vendor than one could possibly fathom. You have to stay on top of them at all times, and even still be prepared to pay top dollar.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bella Sera Event Venue responded with the following comments:

I would like to think (and it appears by the favorable and far more recent reviews its true) that we have grown leaps and bounds since this first event. This 10/7/06 wedding was the very first wedding we hosted, the entire booking process took place in the mud as we broke ground and completed the facility to accommodate this client as promised. Not sure why you would wait two years to review us...
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Thank you so much for making my day special and for making everything exceptionally perfect! I was happy with everything you had done for me that day and if I had to do it all over again, I would definitely come back!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.2/5.0
food was bad! so many people have told me over the past 2 years they will never go back to any event there
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.0/5.0
I sent an email through wedding wire and no response, so I waited a week and then sent another from my fiancé's email. Again, no response. I waited another week before I called. When I called, the receptionist "Erica," informed me that the new coordinator "Melissa," would call me later. I left my name and number. After two hours, no call, so I called back, reached an answering machine, and left a msg. Two days passed and no call, so I asked my fiancé to try and call. He was able to schedule a tour at 8:00 am, Saturday Oct 6, 2012 with Melissa. We arrived at 7:50, excited. Nobody was there, so we looked around and waited. Around 8:15am, nobody, so my fiancé called Melissa's cell phone, no answer. He left a vm. Finally, around 8:30, Melissa arrived and showed us the venue. We were impressed, yet we informed her we had other appointments, before our final decision. Later that evening, Melissa sent an email, asking if we had made a decision. The following morning, my fiancé replied to the email, stating that we chose Bella Sera to host, and that we were excited. In email, we requested a conference call Wednesday, to review/talk. No response. Wednesday came,no response.Friday, I received a vm from BS asking if i wanted a tour. This was odd. Unwilling to give up, I asked my fiancé to call one last time, to find out what happened. That was today, 10/24/12. So he called, reached Melissa, she stated the email must have went to spam (it was a Reply email.) She stated that she would give us a call tonight at 7. It is now 8:20 and no call. I am disappointed, as I was sincerely interested in my event being hosted here.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
414 Morganza Road, Canonsburg, PA 15317 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Bella Sera Event Venue
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo