130x130_sq_1307396798673-store.2011

Belle Vie Bridal Couture

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

34 East Oak Street, Floor 4
Chicago, IL US 60611 (map)

PHONE

312-751-2222

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Located on the elite Oak Street, Belle Vie Bridal Couture offers the most exquisite collection of bridal attire and accessories in the couture world! Belle Vie Bridal Couture has been... Read more
Located on the elite Oak Street, Belle Vie Bridal Couture offers the most exquisite collection of bridal attire and accessories in the couture world! Belle Vie Bridal Couture has been bringing fine luxury bridal to its clients since 2004. The Belle Vie Experience parallels that of visiting an Haute Couture Parisian boutique. Personalized customer service is Belle Vie Bridal Couture’s foundation. Our nationally renowned stylists are the most highly trained bridal stylists in the country. Owner, Amanda Bonnell’s nationally known and acclaimed team will offer you the most impeccable customer service and expertise in the bridal world, no matter where you have been or where you will go.

We do everything to ensure that selecting your wedding gown is an experience you will never forget. Upon arrival, you will be welcomed by our team, who will treat you as their personal guest. You will feel at home in our modern French ambiance. After you are escorted to your private suite by your personal bridal stylist, you will then be given a tour through our showrooms, where we feature our entire collection of couture gowns. We have a gown for every bride with our extensive and beautiful selection within every price range (from 3,000 to over 30,000).

Amanda Bonnell is also the owner of our sister store, Vera Wang Chicago, located on the 2nd floor of 34 E. Oak Street. The strategic partnership between the two stores, allows us to carry all seven looks that a ‘couture’ bride may be looking for. These seven different looks are: Modernist, Purist/Minimalist, Sexy/Sensualist, Princess/Romanticist, Unique/Individualist, Classic/Traditionalist, and Dramatic/Exhibitionist. Both boutiques maintain the same high quality service and couture selection, ranging from $2800 to above $20,000 Read less
Dress & Attire

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Flower Girls, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom
What accessories do you provide?
Garters, Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Shoes, Veils

REVIEWS

4.1
out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.2/5.0
3.9/5.0
4.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
10/24/2014
4.8/5.0
I absolutely loved/am loving my experience with Belle Vie! I tried dresses on at 5 other stores, and honestly I loved this boutique so much that it DID effect my decision of what dress to buy. Let's be honest, if I had found "the one" at another store, I guess I would have had to buy it from wherever it was (although I would have been disappointed if it were not at Belle Vie). But I was thrilled when I showed up for a trunk show, fresh off of the bridal runway, and found my dress! SOMEHOW I had found a very unique dress that somehow blends my style, with my fiance's! (He is very traditional, and I am fashion forward) I can't wait to see it!

The shop owner, Amanda, was a big part in my entire experience so far, as she was there helping us for awhile. We talked about style and fashion, and I instantly felt that I was in the right place. (this boutique was "the one"!) Amanda actually called me when my dress was almost ready to ship, and gave me the complete run down of what to expect over what would happen next! She has amazing style, and a wonderful appreciation and understanding of style, fashion, and garment construction, which has made me trust her opinion completely.

Since Belle Vie is all bridal couture and high end designers, it is clearly going to be on the high dollar end of wedding gown shopping. But Belle vie is great at helping you stick within the budget that you decide, and they don't pressure you to go above that budget.

While for most reasons I am SO happy that a wedding only happens once in a lifetime, here is one instance where I wish I could do it over again in a few years! I will just have to recommend this place to everyone I know, and then I can live vicariously through them at Belle Vie!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Belle Vie was the greatest place to try on lots of styles of dresses. They helped me find the one!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1375027906144-20122182
Kiley
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
I searched high and low for my wedding dressed and finally found Belle Vie. This was literally the only store i did not feel pressured from the moment I walked in to buy a dress! I attended the appointment with my father and mother and they made such an effort to make us all feel comfortable. Once we had narrowed it down to one dress I was amazed when they told me to think about it and if at the end of the day this is still the dress for me come back and they will stay open for me. When i heard this I was so taken aback because at any other store we would have been hounded at this point to buy. We ended up leaving the store for lunch and called about an hour later to come in to buy the dress. They stayed open an hour later for us as we perfected the look and the owner even came in to help us out. The dress came in quickly and the staff remained professional and courteous to me throughout the process. The the dresses are on the higher end, you truly are buying one of a kind dresses with the quality and professionalism unmatched by any bridal store in Chicago!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robin
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
I would absolutely recommend Belle Vie to anyone. I bought my dress at a Reem Acra trunk show and I had special requested two dresses to be there. One of them they couldn't get, so Kayla and the Reem Acra representative went out of their way to have the dress flown in. Luckily they did because it was the dress I ended up buying. Fabulous service and I couldn't have been happier with my dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sue
Wedding:
8/17/2013
4.6/5.0
Just ordered my dress here. Went in a couple of times with my mom and my sister looking at dresses and they have been so nice especially compared to a couple of other nice dress shops where the staff was a little snooty.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
3/9/2013
3.5/5.0
I bought my wedding dress at Belle Vie and my initial appointment and the day I bought my dress was fantastic! I had an amazing experience with my consultant and at the shop and had that bridal moment where we all cried and it was wonderful. Unfortunately, after that initial day - my consultant left a few months later, before my dress arrived. After that I felt as if I got lost in the shuffle with Belle Vie. I didn't feel I had a direct contact anymore, was passed along to a number of people and felt as if they didn't particularly care about me anymore. On top of that, they temporarily lost my veil (which eventually was found with a rip - and they did rectify this and order a new one) - but this process took three months to figure out and I was never contacted by Belle Vie - I continuously had to follow up with them each time. I made all my appointments way in advance and the transition from after I bought my dress to the delivery and then to the alterations (I used their suggested vendor) was rather rocky. I would like to give them an amazing review from my initial experience, but too many things fell through the cracks afterwards. Overall though, my dress was gorgeous - it did arrive early in perfect condition and I would suggest going to this store still, hopefully if you have one consultant all the way through your experience should be seamless.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/27/2012
3.9/5.0
I purchased my Anne Barge dress and sash from Belle Vie. My experience was really nice; however, when I returned with a friend to shop for her wedding dress, the staff was a little pushier than was appreciated. They attempted to convince her to purchase her dress without her mother's presence. The store is beautiful and the selection is great. It is expensive, but when you're shopping in downtown Chicago this can't come as too much of a surprise.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hillary22
Wedding:
4/28/2012
0.0/5.0
BEWARE!!!
I purchased a designer bridal gown with Belle Vie Bridal for my wedding on April 28th, 2012. It was a total nightmare!! After the dress arrived, and being switched from the orignal rep I worked with, I was told that Vera, who worked with Belle Vie, would be fitting my gown. After two fittings with them, they assured me that my dress would be ready. They did not even deliver the dress until Friday evening BEFORE the wedding, because the did not follow up on some things they needed from New York (Which they made ME pay to overnight). They never followed up on it, and actually had the nerve to put the overnight charges on my UPS account 4 days later!! When it was time to put the gown on, the zipper was broken and the dress was completely altered incorrectly. We had to sew me into an $8000 dress and it would not stay up. It was not closed in the back and looked terrible. At that pont I had no choice but to get through my night.
We had our photographers, my wedding planer and the Trump hotel video the ordeal and when I called Belle Vie (We did call them on Saturday when the dress did not fit, but they sent a young girl over to the trump that did not have any experience to fix the drees, so muwedding planner sent her away) they said that they would not help and that I needed to file a formal complanit with the seamstress! I talked to Amanda the owner and she said that I signed a contract and she has no responsibility. That was a week ago, I have yet to hear back form them. BEWARE!! DO NOT SIGN ANY CONTRACT, BELLE VIE BRIDAL WILL NOT STAND BY THEIR DRESS.
I was in tears my whole wedding day because the dress looked so bad in the back. My biggest dissapointment is that Belle Vie Bridal has not even apologized and blamed the seamstress.
As of right now Amanda Bonnell, the owner, is refusing to acknowledge any responsibility and does not answer the phone. I have left several messages, and as of righ tnow, she has yet to apologize.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
4/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Belle Vie is the couture bridal store to go to for the dress of your dreams! I had the most wonderful experience shopping for my wedding gown at Belle Vie. It was the only store I went to and I found my dress on my first shopping trip! I felt so special during my visit to Belle Vie. It was so fun and stress free and it will be an experience I will never forget! My Belle Vie stylist was wonderful and really listened to what I was looking for. I chose a lace Romona Keveza gown and I loved it! My stylist helped finish the look by adding a champagne sash and I also accessorized with a Paris earrings and Haute Bride necklace. I received so many compliments on the day of my wedding and days after! I found exactly what I was looking for; a timeless gown that was unique and flattering. While I was at Belle Vie, I also found a gorgeous short Amsale white dress. I couldn't resist getting it and I wore it to my rehearsal dinner! I loved it! Overall, my experience at Belle Vie was wonderful and I would recommend going to there to find the dress of your dreams!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1303328389306-personal102009405
Jody
Wedding:
3/17/2012
4.2/5.0
I had a great time working with Belle Vie Bridal to find my wedding dress. I had been to a few places to try on gowns before coming to Belle Vie and the difference was night and day. Every bride should have the experience of trying on gorgeous wedding dresses at a place as beautiful and professional as Belle Vie. I would definitely recommend it as a bridal salon!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1325704695741-michelleandinjaemobilme2274
michelle
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Belle Vie - was the PERFECT place to find a dress. They were professional, courteous, and very generous in their time and efforts. I felt extremely SPECIAL - each and every time I went. With the dress being one of the most important, if not the most important part of your wedding, a seamless and worry-free experience is what we all hope for. Belle Vie and their expert team were able to ensure that all these "worries" were met - even with a "RUSH" put on my dress. Their selection and meticulousness was beyond superb and never did I feel Pushed into a dress - whether it was in or OUT of my budget. My dress was put on a RUSH order and actually came in 3 weeks EARLY. Belle Vie works closely with one of the vest alterations professionals in Chicago and with the 2 teams combined, my dress came out PERFECTLY with NO worries of lateness or the dress alterations NOT being done on time. Belle Vie was one of the best experiences of my life - with each step of the way - being treated like VIP through the flowergirls!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.6/5.0
I had a very good experience shopping for my dress here. When I called to make an appointment, the person I spoke with seemed positively giddy that I was coming in! They schedule their appointments for 2 hours so you can spend one hour looking at Belle Vie and one hour at Vera Wang (they are owned by the same person). You don’t have to go to Vera Wang though and I didn’t because I didn’t want to fall in love with something out of my price range. I almost didn’t come in here because I had already seen 3 other dresses I liked at other stores, but I ended up finding my dream dress here. One week before my appointment, I was under a lot of pressure to make up my mind because two of the dresses I had liked at other stores had a limited time trunk show discount going on. I called Belle Vie to see if they even carried the dress I was most interested in and that was probably the one bad experience I had with the store. The person who I spoke with said there was no way she could possibly identify the dress from the description I was giving (I knew it was a Christos with polka dots and I even pointed out what page it was on in a major bridal magazine). I think she just could not be bothered to help. Finally she suggested that I email them a picture, which I did and my very sweet consultant Jenna called to say they did have that dress and that was the dress I ended up buying. They were able to squeeze me in to try it on 2 days before my appointment after the store was officially closed so I would not miss out on the trunk show discount if I decided to go with another dress. I expected that I would just try on that one dress, but when I arrived Jenna showed me all the dresses and let me try whatever I was interested in. I ended up trying on 5 dresses in less than an hour. Out of all the stores that I went to, I felt like this one was the most focused on helping you choose the right dress. They ask more than just what shape (ballgown, a-line, mermaid) you are looking for, they also ask about the style of your wedding, the venue, etc. They also asked me what other stores I had been to and what dresses I had liked there. At first, I thought this was weird and maybe they were trying to figure out how serious I was about buying, but now I honestly think they just do this because they want to know what you like about other dresses at other stores in order to help you find something you will like even more at their store. You can even show them pictures of non-bridal clothing you like and they will try to find something that matches your style.

When I went in for my actual appointment (2 days after I had first come in), we arrived about 15 minutes early, so we looked at pretty much everything that was on the racks. One nice thing about this store is that all the dresses are out for you to view, so there is no guessing about whether they have what you are really looking for in the back somewhere. Jenna’s first appointment ran long and we were getting really antsy. The store is really small and there is hardly any place to sit and wait. The very sweet and fun owner, Amanda, saw our agitation and took us into the back room (where they store the bridesmaids dresses) and helped me into the gown that I had pretty much already settled on. Amanda also suggested a veil and hair comb that I ended up buying. They are very into building the total look, so expect to be offered a lot of accessories. I didn’t find it pushy though.

I also looked at bridesmaids dresses there. You get a bigger discount if you buy the bridesmaids dresses on the same day as the wedding dress, so bring your bridesmaids with you! I could not commit to the dresses without talking it over with my bridesmaids. Unfortunately, when I called to make an appointment for bridesmaids dresses, they were not able to get us in on the days my maid of honor was coming into town. They tried though and even offered to let us come in before the store opened, but in the end we found the dresses elsewhere. It is really a shame they aren’t open on Sunday! My mom looked at mother of the bride dresses there, but they are custom made creations and were out of her price range.

When my dress arrived, Jenna was again very helpful in getting me in last minute to try it on because I was going out of town. It sometimes took a day for them to return my calls. Belle Vie doesn’t do alterations in house, they send you to the Dress Doctor. The alterations were expensive ($550 in my case), but Belle Vie was upfront with how much they might cost. I loved my dress and am very happy I didn’t cancel my appointment!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wiscogal
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved working with the staff at Belle Vie! My dress was beautiful, and when it came time for alterations (at Dress Doctor), they were accomodating and helpful. Jenna was my salesperson, and I couldn't have asked for a better dress-buying experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nicole
Wedding:
6/20/2010
4.6/5.0
Jenna was outstanding to work with in helping me find a gown for my destination wedding that was going to be elegant, comfortable, and would pack well. I knew I could not have anything overly poofy and I was aware I was going to have to get my gown pressed after making 2 flights to our destination. Some of the other bridal boutiques were condescending but not Belle Vie!
Services Used: Travel
Default-vendor-profile-pic
madelynhappel
Wedding:
9/12/2009
2.8/5.0
i had a great experience when looking for my dress at belle vie, but once i found it, there were a few things that left me with a bad taste in my mouth.

this started when i went to purchase my dress and was given a price that was over $100 more than what i had been told before. this wasn't a huge deal because it was just $100, but i felt like i was being cheap when i brought it up to them. also, i saw the same price that i was first given in a magazine, but when i asked about it i was told by belle vie that they don't honor editorial pricing. they also kindly reminded me that i received a discount on my dress (some thanksgiving promotion or something) which i was very aware of and appreciated but again felt cheap for bringing this up. not a huge deal, i just didn't feel like it was handled that well especially with all the money i was spending on the dress.

next, belle vie doesn't do alterations or pressing but they are also not upfront about how expensive these two elements could be. when i gave them my budget at the beginning, i meant for it to include everything related to the dress. this may have been my fault for not being clear, but part of good customer service is being communicative and upfront about how much things are going to cost so customers aren't surprised in the end. belle vie recommends the dress doctor for alterations. my dress is not complex, no beading or lace at all. fairly straightforward. i went in for my first fitting and they said it was going to be $590 not including the bustier they recommended. i thought it seemed really high but i also didn't think there was an alternative so i paid the deposit. after having a minor breakdown when i got home and doing some extensive internet research, i found that $300-$400 was considered high for alterations, so the dress doctor price was exorbitant. and then, i found out that neither belle vie nor dress doctor press the dress and there was no way i could wear it without getting it pressed because it had been wrinkled in shipping. the place belle vie recommends for pressing charges $350! i realize that the pressing and alterations pricing are not belle vie's fault but they should give some sort of range so people know what they are getting into or provide alternative recommendations. the cost for alterations and pressing amounted to almost $950... craziness! i ended up taking my dress home and getting my alterations deposit back (thanks, dress doctor). i took it to a place in my hometown where my wedding is and a very experienced wedding dress seamstress is charging me less than $100 for alterations and pressing. it's a small town, so i know that you can't compare to chicago pricing, but the prices the two belle vie recommendations quoted were ridiculous.

i know that belle vie prides themselves on customer service, but i actually felt that it seemed forced and disingenous most times i went in. and the fact that i had no idea that i would be charged close to a grand for alterations and pressing (two required processes) is a problem.

i will be giving some serious tips and warnings to anyone i know who is considering dress shopping at belle vie in the future.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cpeller
Wedding:
9/12/2009
4.6/5.0
this is where you want to go for the experience. jenna was lovely and professional. i felt special and pampered after going into it feeling a little awkward. i wasn't feeling too pretty that weekend but by the time i left i felt like a princess. its the perfect mix of professionalism and a dream/spa like experience. it's what wedding dress shopping should be... no pressure, enjoyable... in short heavenly.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1236140013218-img_0679
Hilary
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
I had a wonderful experience with this store. Although my dress was very expensive it was absolutely worth every penny. I had excellent service every step of the way!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1232819034343-faveweddingpic
Caroline
Wedding:
12/6/2008
5.0/5.0
Belle Vie was truly the best bridal shop I had ever been to! They are so friendly and accommodating at this very stylish and chic boutique and treat each customer so nicely! I bought my gorgeous Reem Acra gown there and we also got my mother's Amsale gown, all of the bridesmaid Amsale dresses and the oh so cute flower girl dresses. They all turned out soo elegant and sophisticated! I would honestly recommend this shop to anyone, my sister, cousins, friends, everyone! It is worth a stop for sure!!! It was so convenient too because I got my shoes, veils, jewelry and head piece all there, as well! It was like a one stop shop!! They even celebrate with you when you buy your dress and offer you champagne to toast!! So great! I worked with Kate D. and she took down all of the bridesmaid info and contacted them all directly so that I wouldn't have to! She handled all the dirty work and made sure everyone came in for a fitting or sent their measurements in! She was sooo great!! It was truly a pleasure working with all of the wonderful ladies at Belle Vie, even the owner is so nice to work with and very personable with all of her brides!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
10/25/2008
4.6/5.0
The service I received at Belle Vie was outstanding, both during my dress search and afterwards. I absolutely loved the gown I chose, and I would not have even thought to try it on. The ladies helping me had a good eye for what would look good, and listened to me when I told them what I wanted. Then when I found a gown I loved, they took digital photos of me in it and gave them to me so I could use the photos to help me decide. Once I decided on the gown, they gave me a trunk show discount about a week earlier than the actual trunk show because I didn't have time to wait to order the gown if I wanted to avoid rush fees. Overall--very accomodating! They are affiliated with a great tailor, and met me at the tailor for my first fitting. I could not have been happier with the final product. The gown was more expensive than I had planned (by about double!), but I don't regret it at all.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1185165742359-img_4845-2_2
pipes
Wedding:
12/29/2007
3.4/5.0
First of all, I found my dream dress here, so that's that. But, for the price I payed for my dress, I thought I would be getting a more custom-fitted dress or at least basic alterations for free. For such a well-off, high-end store, you would think that free alterations would make sense. Also, if they knew the dress would be made in only a B-Cup, then looking at my size, wouldn't they know to tell me that I would need extra alterations for my dress? I may have re-considered the dress if I knew that I had to alter the bust.. In addition, the lady that was assigned to me originally ended up moving, which was not conveyed to me, so as a customer, I felt that they under-communicated with me. They were flexible, however, with the cost. They offered me a deal where I payed full price in cash, and they gave me credit toward my veil, which was worth it. The veil was gorgeous and perfect for my dress.

The site says that you get all sorts of goodies when you buy your dress, but all they ever offered me was a spritzer and a large bag with one magazine and some emergency supplies (mints, on-the-spot cleaner). I didn't feel like I got the customer service that they tout. Their customer service felt very conditional upon many factors (even a bit upon my size. But to end on a good note, they were very flexible. When we could go in only on a Sunday, they let us come in still to try on my dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AWiddess
Wedding:
12/1/2007
1.6/5.0
My initial appointment was great and the staff at Belle Vie helped me get a dress that I had tried on at a trunk show for a 2nd appointment to help me make my final decision. However after that it all went down hill...they were very hard to get a hold of questions, I had to ask several times for my dress swatch and were not flexibile about storing my gown.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claire
Wedding:
10/13/2007
4.8/5.0
I bought an Anne Barge gown from Belle Vie, and the experience was wonderful. Jessica, our sales person, was incredibly professional, and we were treated like royalty. They even brought out champagne when we decided to buy the gown. The gown was ready in a timely manner, and there were no issues to speak.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hilary
Wedding:
9/15/2007
1.1/5.0
I would not recommend getting your dress or veil from Belle Vie. Ordered me the wrong veil twice then tried to place blame on others. Not to mention my veil was a month and a half late to arrive. Gave me my veil all wrinkled and folded in a ball. Contracted with me to steam my dress and then tried to get out of it and have me pay for it to be pressed else where after I had already paid for the service in my contract. The staff is too young and few to none have ever been married themselves so they are not understanding of the stress that comes along with planning a wedding. Overall a horrible experience. Go to one of the numerous other bridal stores on Oak. And the dresses are over priced.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
7/7/2007
4.8/5.0
Wow!!! we went to a ton of places and the girls would get annoied when I didn't like anthing they would bring out... BUT at Belle Vie they were great. The girls were young, vibrant, and very friendly... They were the ONLY bridal salon that complemented me on my engagement ring... There was a lot to choose from but they made it very easy to narrow my search and not become overwhelmed by the sea of white dresses. The gown was made by Larzaro and the quality is above and beyond what I could have expecet... They were great...
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
6/9/2007
4.6/5.0
The ladies of Belle Vie were amazing! They were so helpful and patient. I had to make appointments at short notice, and they were as accomodating as their schedule would allow. I found my dress the first time I was there.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
34 East Oak Street, Floor 4, Chicago, IL 60611 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Belle Vie Bridal Couture
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1307396798673-store.2011