130x130_sq_1382471121452-ms0672

Bellwether Events

Falls Church , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Falls Church, VA US 22041 (map)

PHONE

703-851-9622

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Bellwether Events will help you create a wedding that is uniquely yours. There are a countless ideas for weddings. We will help you articulate what defines you as a couple and hone in on... Read more
Bellwether Events will help you create a wedding that is uniquely yours. There are a countless ideas for weddings. We will help you articulate what defines you as a couple and hone in on the theme, look, or motif that best suits you and your desires.

Bellwether Events is here do the work that you don't have the time to do. There is a limitless amount of information out there. With so much to review it can become overwhelming, as well as distracting. We will do research for you, and help to narrow your focus when it is time to make a decision.

Bellwether Events will offer recommendations and suggestions when you're lacking answers. We will always be honest with you and your family regarding where we find our information. To achieve this there must be education and disclosure for you to make the best choices for your wedding. Together, we will discuss your options before you make your decision. We want to you feel confidant that the vendors you are hiring are reliable, conscientious, and flexible.

Bellwether Events will help you stay on budget. We work with a wide range of vendors in the Washington, D.C area and beyond. Do we have our favorites? Yes; but weddings are not "one size fits all." You deserve to have options. Bellwether Events is always looking out for new, interesting people who offer a wonderful product or service.

Bellwether Events takes a team approach to weddings. We believe in and encourage positive vendor relationships. Vendors have ideas, preferences and concerns too. Your wedding will be successful if all the vendors get a long and work as a team.

We will ensure that your time is spent celebrating with your family and friends; not worrying about managing your wedding day. There are a lot of moving parts when it comes to a wedding and someone needs to be in charge of all of them. Don't put that burden on yourself or another guest. Let Bellwether Events help you plan your wedding and let Janice Carnevale be your someone.

Bellwether Events offers event planning services in Washington, D.C., Virginia, Maryland, West Virginia, and Pennsylvania. In addition to weddings, we are happy to assist with the planning of your anniversary celebration, bar/bat mitzvah, birthday party, or with a corporate bash that you are hosting. We can also add engagement parties and bachelorette and/or bachelor parties to the wedding package of your choice. Read less
Wedding Planning

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1240840320806-karli12
130x130_sq_1240840326396-karli13
130x130_sq_1240840328364-karli14
130x130_sq_1240840333018-karli3
130x130_sq_1240840333533-karli4
130x130_sq_1240840338202-karli5
130x130_sq_1240840338421-karli6
130x130_sq_1240840344090-karli8
130x130_sq_1240840347697-karli9
130x130_sq_1244560476985-freed34060086
130x130_sq_1244560477172-freed34060054
130x130_sq_1244560478625-freed34060134
130x130_sq_1244560479547-freed34060256
130x130_sq_1244560480235-freed34060302
130x130_sq_1244560481204-freed34060312
130x130_sq_1244560482985-freed34060381
130x130_sq_1244560483469-freed34060385
130x130_sq_1244560485485-freed34060397
130x130_sq_1244560486422-freed34060446
130x130_sq_1244560488141-freed34060452
130x130_sq_1244560489422-freed34060497
130x130_sq_1244560490329-freed34060523
130x130_sq_1244560491907-freed34060559
130x130_sq_1244560492766-freed34060583
130x130_sq_1251248913397-0129
130x130_sq_1251248916959-0128
130x130_sq_1251248945147-0143
130x130_sq_1251248948209-0213
130x130_sq_1251248974756-0390
130x130_sq_1251248975709-0388
130x130_sq_1251248999162-0395
130x130_sq_1251248999366-0415
130x130_sq_1251249022287-0551
130x130_sq_1251249030459-0451
130x130_sq_1251249033569-0560
130x130_sq_1251249048897-0760

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly / Green, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
Bellwether Events is the real deal, and we could not imagine our wedding without her. She was worth every single penny (and then some)!

Janice was super professional, yet still managed to make us feel special during the entire process. She enhanced our own vision with her ideas, which really added some great touches! At the same time, not once did we feel like the wedding wasn't "ours".

The wedding day went off without a hitch, and while there were a couple hiccups (mostly weather related), we did not even have to deal with them. We relaxed and enjoyed our day. THIS IS WHY YOU NEED TO HIRE JANICE!

Just trust us - she's awesome.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We hired Bellwether Events as our "day-of coordinator", but they did much more than that! Janice and Rebecca were available via email or phone call months before my wedding, and very responsive. Despite Janice being unable to be there the day of my wedding, she was still very involved until the last possible minute. Since I lived out of town, we also planned a few Skype dates. Rebecca and Brett were at my wedding and they were fantastic! I did not have to worry about a thing. I honestly don't know how my wedding would have been possible without Bellwether. Rebecca made sure everything went like clockwork on the day of the wedding -- every event on our wedding day timeline (which Bellwether composed for us) was either early or on time! She was even at the rehearsal the day before the wedding. Not only are Janice and Rebecca great at their jobs, they are also wonderful people -- very pleasant, and have that calming/reassuring face you want to see on your hectic wedding day.
Despite the heavy costs of a wedding, do not gip on the wedding planner! I feel that Bellwether was the only wedding expense that was well worth its cost. Thank you Janice, Rebecca, and Brett for helping make my wedding one of the best days of my life!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1382469931363-avatar
Courtney U.
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.8/5.0
Janice, owner of Bellwether Events, is a straight-shooter. Her personality is very direct and she is quick to offer her thoughts and opinions when it comes to the logistical and sequential structure of a wedding ceremony & reception. With that being said, I was very pleased with the service Janice provided in the months and weeks leading up to my wedding ceremony and reception. Above all, I will credit Janice for being INVALUABLE on wedding day. She created a timeline depicting each minute of the day, she decorated fabulously and improvised when the inevitable wedding day mishaps occurred (including leaving 3 floral centerpieces at home). Janice is the true definition of a powerhouse business woman. She knows what she wants and how to get it.
My advice to brides choosing Janice as their event planner and/or day-of-coordinator would be not to let Janice’s ideas trump your own, but to also be open minded to the suggestions that she makes. She has worked many weddings at many venues and she has developed a knack for knowing whether an idea will transfer in a cohesive manner.
I can say with 100% certainty that my wedding reception would have fallen apart at the hands of our caterer had we not hired Janice Carnevale. She is the glue that held our vision together while my husband and I enjoyed the biggest party of our lives. Janice and her team at Bellwether Events is worth every penny!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Janice of Bellwether Events was a tremendous help in planning our wedding. From the very beginning, we wanted our ceremony to be at a private residence located down a narrow and steep dirt road and our reception at a nearby vineyard. Unlike other wedding planners we interviewed, Janice approached our event with a "can-do" attitude and told us that there were solutions to every problem we encounted (a tiny driveway to turn buses around in, no parking at the residence etc,) Janice was able to find creative solutions to logictical issues and deal with multiple personalities and vendors. Janice has a strong personality and people listen and respond to her, which is extremely important when coordinating a wedding. Whenever we had a question, we always received a quick response by phone or email. If you are looking for a professional planner who will set a realistic budget, provide great vendor reccomendations, handle tricky logistical situations and be your advocate on the big day, Bellwether Events is fantastic.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patty
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We initially didn't think we needed a planner, but once I started to research into it more, I decided it couldn't hurt to reach out to a few. I felt that Janice understood me the best from her first email. We explained our budget to her and she came up with a customized proposal that worked out perfect. She has relationships with vendors that help in multiple ways. She can leverage those relationships to get favorable quotes. We also had a particular style we were going for and she was right away able to suggest a florist that might work as well as provide photographer options. Janice is also very professional and it's clear she knows what she's doing. She does not hesitate to tell a vendor what is or isn't acceptable. I would never have thought to ask the caterer to go back and revisit their numbers. She's also always looking out for her clients. She notified us promptly about a promotion on a dance floor that she thought we might want to take advantage of. Of course we did!

I am sure I may have flooded Janice's inbox with emails (and I doubt I was the only bride guilty of this), but she always responded timely, whether it be advice on a design decision to etiquette, etc. Really - she's a great sounding board. And when you really have no idea what you want, her experience can really help you figure that out.

My husband even thanked Janice in his welcome speech for keeping me sane through the wedding planning process. The day of was perfect! I didn’t have to worry about anything as she ensured everything was set up and executed smoothly. I have no regrets on any of the decisions that we made. Our reception was beautiful and we threw a fantastic party – our primary objective! Can't recommend Janice more!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary Beth & Chris
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
I wish it would let me give 10 STARS! After seeing what a phenomenal job Janice did as the day-of wedding planner for my sister's wedding in 2011, we didn't hesitate contacting Janice when we got engaged.
Janice and Bellwether Events helped us realize exactly what we wanted for our wedding and then made that dream come true! Janice supported our decision to get married at an outdoor chapel in Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, despite the fact that it was a fairly remote area two hours from DC. Within just days of picking our wedding date, Janice had already contacted and was vetting several local vendors.
Janice is a blast to work with and an utmost professional! She is unflappable, prompt, creative, and attentive to your wishes. When I started to feel stressed or overwhelmed with wedding planning, a quick call or text from Janice was all I needed to calm my nerves. She kept track of all the planning details in an elaborate timeline so we didn't have to be consumed by the nitty-gritty and could enjoy all the fun stuff. Because Janice kept us so organized along the way that we didn't have any last minute tasks left to do causing us stress right before the wedding- I just had to pick up my dress and get a mani/pedi the week before my wedding- it was fabulous!
I'm the girl who cuts coupons and only buys clothes on sale to save money, so I can relate to those of you who think you can plan your event on your own with out hiring a planner. Listen carefully! Hiring Bellwether events was hands down the best money we've ever spent- it made the entire wedding planning process enjoyable for our entire family and allowed us to focus on the most important thing- committing our love to each other for the rest of our lives! So don't wait another second- call or email Janice right now! You'll be eternally grateful you did. We certainly are!

Mary Beth & Chris
September 1, 2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Janice of Bellweather Events guided me through what turned out to be a fun planning process and helped us create a beautiful and memorable wedding that was uniquely our own.

We hired Janice for full wedding planning services and she guided us through every step of the way. We began with a fairly vague vision for our wedding, but she asked the right questions of both me and my fiance that allowed us to narrow in on details that fit us perfectly.

I was initially very nervous that the wedding planning process would be overwhelming and stressful, but Janice divided the steps into an easy to follow guide that was updated as we went. For the first big decision, which was the location, she was very patient and researched a long list of options that met the various aspects of our wish-list. She scheduled venue visits for us, navigated us to and through the venues, and listened to our continued feedback. Importantly, she also gave us tips and insights about issues with certain venues that only an experienced wedding planner would know.

All that said, the aspect of Janice's service that I appreciated the most was her willingness to listen to the requests, questions, and off-the-wall desires of my fiance. I suspect like many grooms, he was opposed to wedding traditions for the sake of traditions. My fiance never subscribed to the theory that a wedding day is the bride's day. So Janice had to balance my visions and requests with my fiance's additional opinions. She expertly balanced all of our input and created a day that was special and a reflection of the two of us as a couple.

Janice's services were worth every penny we paid.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We could not be happier that we hired Janice as our month-of coordinator for our wedding! Janice is extremely organized, responsive, and meticulous. Janice was always available when we had questions, and especially helpful in the weeks leading up to our wedding. On the day of the wedding we were able to relax because we trusted Janice and knew that she was on top of every detail. We highly recommend her to anyone who is looking for a planner or coordinator, her expertise was invaluable to us!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Janice was a godsend! We hired Janice as our "month-of coordinator". When I first spoke to Janie over the phone for our initial consultation she asked all of the right questions and gave me the utmost confidence that she could handle anything on our wedding day. Throughout the time that we worked with Janice she was responsive and helpful. When rain threatened to jeopardize our outdoor ceremony, Janice made sure that we were still able to get married outside and coordinated with all of our vendors to ensure that we stayed on schedule throughout the evening. I would definitely recommend Bellwether Events to anyone that I know who is getting married!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
We hired Janice to be a "Day of Coordinator" for our wedding but she did SO much more than what we were expecting. I looked in to several other day of coordinators and most of them really did only assist you on the wedding day. Janice met with us several times in the months leading up to the wedding, she answered a million questions via email and phone, provided excellent advice on everything from catering to decorations. Janice and her assistant, Rebecca, were there at the rehearsal the day before and hours before the wedding to help set up. Rebecca was even at the venue the day after the wedding to make sure that everything had been cleaned up and taken down. We definitely could not have done the wedding without Janice. She was extremely professional and dealt with family members in a tactful way. The event scheduler at our venue said that she wished that Janice was the coordinator for all of the weddings at the venue. I cannot say enough about how great Janice is as a wedding coordinator!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abigail
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
I realize that this may sound a bit like paid advertising, but given that our wedding was recently featured in both Style Me Pretty and the Washingtonian Bride &Groom magazine, I feel like I am pretty qualified to sing Janice Carnevale’s praises :)
More importantly than that, though, Janice truly gave us and our families the wedding of our dreams, which is why I feel like Bellwether Events is where every wedding in the DC metro area should find it’s beginning.
It’s difficult to describe all that Janice did for me during the wedding planning process. She is not only an exceptional wedding planner – she’s an exceptional person. Given that my significant other was deployed for much of the process, her advice and constant communication were not only incredibly helpful but so essential in allowing me to still enjoy the process. When I said that I wanted a wedding that was feminine and floral, while at the same time stately and patriotic – she helped me dive right in – helping incorporate so many unique and whimsical design elements that not only impressed our guests but helped to represent us in such a beautiful way. She even managed to coordinate an incredible bridal session on the historic U.S.S. Sequoia, President Kennedy’s old yacht.
Looking back, there are so many qualities in Janice that took the stress out of planning, and especially on the day of our wedding. Her design vision that represented us and our personalities so well; her business-saavy and negotiation; and her ability to problem-solve and manage potential crises at light-speed were indispensable.
If I were planning a wedding – whether in my parent’s backyard or a black-tie affair at a 5 star hotel (coincidentally our wedding fell somewhere in the middle) – I wouldn’t do it without Janice or her incredibly talented team at Bellwether Events. She is the best, and perhaps even more type A than I am.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kirsten
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Janice is the best! We could not have imagined that everything would have turned out the way it did. Janice was able to visualize what we wanted and make it all come together. She is professional, creativity, thoughtful, and tons of fun to work with. She even made beautiful paper flowers by hand as a surprise for us. That was above and beyond anything we could have expected and really made us feel special. Our friends and family still tell us what an awesome time they had a our wedding and it would not have been that way if not for Janice and Bellwether Events!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NatsBride
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Janice at Bellwether Events is a great wedding planner -- very professional and definitely an EXPERT at putting on an awesome wedding. There were so many things we hadn't thought about or accounted for that Janice helped us with. She is very flexible as well -- we had a non-traditional, offbeat wedding and she was all for it, helping to add some awesome, above & beyond creative touches. Her vendor recommendations are invaluable -- we loved everyone she helped link us up with. Janice had another event already on her calendar for our wedding day so Rebecca was our primary day-of coordinator (another helper, Sara, was also great). Rebecca was brought on board super early in the process so she was totally involved and familiar with everything. Rebecca did an outstanding job on the actual day -- we had some complicated pieces and everything ran PERFECTLY the whole night. Rebecca was professional, calm (super important), and anticipated everything. I know people always talk about how something will go wrong with your wedding, but that really didn't happen for us. We were lucky, and by lucky I mean: Thanks, Janice & Rebecca & Sara!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
merritr
Wedding:
7/11/2011
5.0/5.0
I chose Bellwether Events because Janice was all business upfront. On our first phone call she had a prepared set for questions she wanted answered, so there was no chit chat until the important details were covered. She kept the conversation on topic on what she could deliver and what could be expected of a wedding planner. She was also very virtually connected which was important me when working with someone across the country. On the wedding day all my bridesmaids were complimenting her straightforward delivery and thorough scheduling. Everything went absolutely perfectly with Janice sweating out the details.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Bg13
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We hired Janice as our "day of" wedding planner, but she offered her services for the month or two leading up to the wedding. She was consistently organized, reliable, responsive, and helpful, and she retained a great sense of humor throughout the process. She was not at all pretentious, which I'm guessing is unusual in a wedding planner, and her vendor recommendations were excellent. She was also flexible with some of our changing logistics, remaining calm and pleasant. On the day of the wedding, she worked tirelessly, and enabled my husband and me to feel like guests, rather than hosts, at our daughter's wedding. We were really able to enjoy the day, thanks to Janice's hard work!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nikiap
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Janice and her entire staff were spectacular in every way possible. They were very professional, creative and made sure that every aspect of the wedding reflected our wants and visions. Bellwether Events exceeded our expectations.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hercnkt
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Janice at Bellwether Events was amazing! My husband and I never had to worry that things weren't going to get accomplished prior to and on the day of the wedding. Everything went as smooth as could be on our special day! Janice thought of many personal touches to enhance our ceremony and reception...just a fabulous person to work with. I can't recommend her enough!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
heather
Wedding:
10/17/2010
5.0/5.0
I am so happy that Janice assisted us in our wedding planning. The day ran so smooth because she was attentive and a step ahead of everything!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cassandra
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Honestly could not have done our wedding without Janice!! She was so wonderful to work with, easy to talk to, always available, extremely organized, took care of every little detail, had wonderful/modern ideas and suggestions and was just all around amazing!!! I can't say enough great things about her and how much she helped my mom and I plan an amazing event that truly was the best day of my life! We also received tons of compliments from the bridal party/parents of the groom/guests on how awesome she was. :) Thanks Janice-you rock!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AlannaH
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Janice was phenomenal to work with as our day of coordinator this summer! She was our best investment as she ensured that throughout the wedding weekend we could relax and just enjoy our special day. We hired Janice with the intention of having someone who was professional and knowledgeable about executing a large event such as our wedding. She was exactly what we wanted, and more. I thought I was type A and organized throughout our wedding planning process, but once Janice stepped in 2 months out she proved her worth by identifying things we had not even thought of, and she made sure everything came together seamlessly. We had a long and detailed Mass and she made sure that it was easy and beautiful from the processional to the recessional. Had we not hired her, I would have focused on the execution of the details and not enjoying the wedding. I would highly recommend Janice any day!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1283026047178-100814e2lu0491
Ed
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Janice was on top of our wedding from the day we met. She didn't let any small detail pass. Her communication skills are the best. We thoroughly enjoyed working with Janice and highly recommend her services.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shrtitaliachik
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Janice is absolutely perfect and extremely professional! We absolutely adored working with her and felt nothing but confident that she'd give us everything and more that we asked for. Not only is she professional and gets the job done but she's very down to earth and personable which made the experience that much better! She always gets back to emails, multiple times a day, constantly gives advice and website links for ideas. Anytime I had trouble finding something I wanted for the wedding and wasn't sure where to look, she always found something....very promptly I might add! I always felt very comfortable with her and never had to worry that something wouldn't get done. Very organized and I love that!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jeanchristine
Wedding:
12/20/2009
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend Bellwether Events for any bride having their big day in the Washington, DC metropolitan area! Even though I'm from the area, I've been away for many years. I was living and married in New Zealand, when my husband and I decided to do another reception for my side of the family and friends back home. Janice was absolutely essential to planning this event, as what I envisioned seemed to change constantly from a full-fledged ceremony to a simple dinner party.

Janice was in constant communication (even though I was often hard to reach-even with a couple months abroad in a 3rd world country!) She was an endless fountain of ideas, had an extensive knowledge of vendors (vegan bakeries-yum!), and was able to work with my very slim budget. There was no limit to the dedication Janice provided me during the planning process, even with no arriving to the area until 9 days ahead of time! So, please, make her your top choice especially if DC is the site for your destination wedding!

My event was also the night after a record-breaking (and unexpected) snowstorm. Janice was able to find me alternative transportation in minutes. She had a complete game plan ready, having everything ready without a hitch. In fact, we ended up with TOO MUCH of everything, as many guests couldn't make it through the snow; but Janice magically did :) I am so thankful I worked with her, as I heard many horror stories of weddings happening that day with NO help from planners/vendors. Yikes!

Janice is a magician, an absolute fairy godmother. She will transform whatever vision you have into reality-plus so much more!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Bg15
jazzy1
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
Janice Carnavale, owner of Bellwether Events, was another life saver for us!!!

Her professionalism, experience, flexibility, reliability and overall approach helped us in so many ways. I was impressed with how she handled so many different situations. Whether we were dealing with a simple matter of gathering information or the reality of managing unpredictable and unexpected emotions, she managed everything, and most importantly, everyone, so well and appropriately - it was quite amazing !

During the hectic times, she was quick on her feet with words of encouragement or new solutions. Throughout the planning process and the wedding day, I felt very well-supported.

Thank you Janice for making our wedding day as carefree and fun as it actually was!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
King Yost
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Janice Carnevale from Bellweather was very easy to work with from day one; she's also got a great, highly competitive rate (since she is the boss and can be more flexible based on your needs and budget). I have a strong personality and am highly organized but she still taught me alot - she had such an amazing check list of not only what needed to be done, but choices to consider that I had never even thought of. She brought order to my wedding and noone even noticed; all they knew is that it was flawless. Janice was nurturing and comforting, but also strong enough to control personalities in a professional way. For example, me! One of the greatest gifts she gave me was explaining the reasons why I should reconsider my adamant decision not to have a videographer by asking why I made the choice and explaining to me why she was concerned that I would regret the decision. She finally convinced me to do it and I am forever in her debt because of that!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1221185172280-car_aar_skating
Carla
Wedding:
9/11/2009
5.0/5.0
We hired Janice as our wedding planner for our backyard wedding in September 2009. Because of the logistics of having it at home we knew we could not do it alone. We were new to the area and didn't know where to start. Upon first meeting, Janice impressed not only me, but my husband (which is hard to do). She came prepared with photos, ideas, and also gave us a realistic view of what to expect with a 85 person at home wedding...did I mention with a 6 month planning time frame.

Janice spent the next 6 months helping us find professional/reliable vendors, shopping for flowers with me, getting permits for the tent, meeting with fire inspectors, and keeping us on track. The day of the wedding it rained all day. We were too cheap to spring for a walkway tent from the caters tent to the main tent so Janice personally escorted each of the servers to the tent so that the plates would not get wet (I tried to convince her that it was ok for the plates to get wet, but being the true perfectionist that she is she could not stand to see that happen). We had a blast and didn't even notice the rain, but we did notice Janice's dedication to making our day special. Hiring her was one of the best decisions we made.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
7/3/2009
5.0/5.0
Janice was great and a definite must-have when planning your wedding. She was most helpful in organizing the vendors and keeping contact with them from the beginning of planning through the end of the wedding night. This included keeping all of the details straight with each vendor, coordinating between vendors and the reception site, and making sure everything happened the way it was planned on the day of the wedding. She was also comfortable talking to the vendors to help with our last minute linen change and coordinating a special delivery time for the cake that worked for both the bakery and our reception site.

In addition, her years of experience definitely helped us through the planning process. As the first of our friends to get married, we had limited 'close-encounters' with wedding planning. She was a great person to bounce ideas back and forth with. As we were two consultants getting married, we analyzed a lot of options for each piece of the wedding. She was always able to point out the positives and negatives of each option and add valuable perspective based on her previous experiences. Janice was also always quick to respond when you had questions regardless of how small they were. Lastly, she was there to reassure us that we were on track and doing a good job or politely suggest we really needed to start working on those seating arrangements. :)

With so many friends and family in town for the event, it was great for us to be able to enjoy their company rather than make sure the vendors got their meals or the photographer got those 'must-have' shots. We'd highly recommend Janice to help relieve many of the stresses of planning a wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1202090681868-bethposniak_jonfiencke
bposniak
Wedding:
4/18/2009
4.8/5.0
I do some event planning for work, and was initially not interested in having a Day of Coordinator because I was sure that I was well organized and could handle everything myself, along with family and friends. I was having a pretty laid back wedding and trusted my vendors. However, as we got close to the wedding, I was dealing with buying a house, work craziness, and normal wedding nervousness, and just wanted someone else to pull together the detailed timeline, take over for the last few days, and handle things day of. Janice was perfect. She is extremely professional and organized, positive without being overly perky and annoying, and understood the vision and laid back nature that I wanted. She was also willing to flexible about pricing because of the location and simplicity of the wedding. I am sure that she would also work well for brides/weddings who have more complicated (or high maintenance) visions---and she strikes me as being excited about all kinds of weddings, and incredibly competent. I would very much recommend her for any type of event planning service.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
solidcenter
Wedding:
4/4/2009
4.8/5.0
If you had told me when I first became engaged that I would be married in three months' time, and that photos from my wedding reception would be featured in a wedding magazine, I would not have believed it for a second!

I am a meeting planner by trade, so I knew that with such a short time to plan a wedding for 100 people, I needed someone with experience to make it happen. From the start, it was clear that Janice was willing to devote the time and effort to make this work. Even though I knew she had other clients, I never felt as if I was being neglected, and she often went the extra mile to help with tasks that I couldn't do alone because I didn't have a car. Poor Janice had to deal with my unique (some might say wacky) vision, but she tackled the challenge head-on. We had a good number of vendors to deal with, and very few were the usual wedding industry types. Janice kept track of expenses and timelines, always kept me in the loop, and gave good advice on prioritization. Not everything went as planned on the day of the event (working in a similar field, I can tell you that is ALWAYS the case), but Janice kept me level-headed on my wedding day and averted a catering crisis involving the wrong table linen color before I or any of the guests arrived.

I could not have pulled off such a fabulous wedding without Janice's help, and would recommend her services to anyone who values responsiveness, dedication, and a can-do attitude.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lnmullin
Wedding:
3/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Janice Carnevale was everything I was hoping for in a wedding coordinator and more. She was always upbeat and cheerful, very patient but was great at keeping me moving & focused during the planning (I�m a world-class procrastinator!). The vendors she recommended were wonderful. We didn�t have to worry about a thing on the day of the wedding, and thanks to her hard work and dedication our families are still talking about how much fun they had ! I would highly recommend you hire Janice as your wedding coordinator. You won�t be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
johnguinan
Wedding:
10/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Janice was our "day of" wedding coordinator. Simply put, she did an amazing job. She was organized, welcoming, structured, amicable, professional and kept everyone happy. She had to manage a spectrum of characters from each of our families and performed excellently. I really could not have been happier with her. Our wedding was beautiful and went off without a hitch. Thanks for all of your help Janice. I would definitely recommend her to a friend/family member.

John
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lura Ashley
Wedding:
10/11/2008
5.0/5.0
Bellwether Events did a wonderful job at making my wedding stress free. They are very professional and extremely organized!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/7/2008
4.7/5.0
Bellwether Events (Janice) was wonderful! I used her "month-of-coordination" service and found it really valuable. She provided her candid advice but at the same time she gave us the freedom and flexibility to make the event truly our own (while reminding us of lots of crucial details we would have forgotten otherwise). She is pretty relaxed during the process, which was helpful for us to keep our stress levels down, but on the day-of she really worked hard to make sure everything went super-smoothly. I loved her system of creating a working schedule document and communicating it to all of the vendors (and parents, wedding party, etc.) I really have no reservations and recommend Janice's services enthusiastically.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deborah
Wedding:
6/22/2008
5.0/5.0
Smart. A sixth sense for weddings. Thoughtful. When I think of Janice Carnevale and Bellwether Events (www.bellwetherevents.com), these are some of the qualities that come to mind. Janice dramatically improved my wedding with her expertise and deft organizational and people skills. I was able to relax, have fun, and not worry about the details on my special day because I knew Janice was so competent.
Janice first impressed my groom, parents and me when we met with her months before the wedding. We explained how we were very concerned about the space for the ceremony and flow from ceremony to cocktail hour to celebration. Janice suggested that she come to the event location and take a look. Immediately upon seeing the space, she was able to come up with a better layout for the ceremony that the location staff agreed to. Her ability to visualize the flow in the room from ceremony to cocktail hour enhanced our wedding greatly. This was one my biggest concerns for the wedding and I was elated that a solution was found.
Additionally, our Rabbi could not come to the rehearsal since it was on a Saturday (during Shabbat). Janice volunteered to take over and lead the rehearsal. She organized the whole wedding party (over 20 people) with ease and laughter. We went through the wedding ceremony quickly two times and I know that the five-year-old flower girl and some that had never been in a Jewish wedding felt well assured after the rehearsal. Many of my bridesmaids and the parents of the groom remarked on what a great job she did and how impressed with her organizational talents they were.
Also, Janice was incredibly thoughtful. She knew that I wanted certain things and made sure that they happened. For example, I wanted organic wine and she made sure that I was served only organic wine. She also insured that everything (and I mean everything) ran smoothly on the wedding day.
I feel incredibly blessed to have had such a wonderful wedding. Janice Carnevale is truly talented at what she does and I wish that everyone could be as lucky as my groom (Andrew) and I and our families to have such a fantastic wedding planner.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Audrey
Wedding:
6/7/2008
4.6/5.0
Janice provided exactly what we wanted from a day-of coordinator. She was to the point, succint and straightforward in the days leading to the wedding. And on the actual day, she helped us tremendously. I don't know what I would have done without her help, especially because we had some unexpected weather issues and vendor debacles. Definitely recommend her if you're looking for someone to get the job done.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
samhun
Wedding:
5/31/2008
5.0/5.0
janice totally rocked.
can't say enough about her. my day was perfect. my wedding was not small, and she handled everything. i didn't think about a thing. best day ever!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
GalleriaDCBride
Wedding:
5/17/2008
5.0/5.0
Janice took over planning one month before (it was really a little earlier than that but she was hired as a month of planner). Janice literally took over everything and brought up a lot of issues that had never occurred to me and ideas i would have never thought of and took care of everything to make sure i had my perfect wedding. I had the perfect wedding. NOTHING went wrong and if it did Janice took care of it before anyone noticed and never brought a problem to my attention so i could enjoy myself. She was cool, calm and collected which is what not only a bride needs but often the parents too. I have already referred a few of my friends getting married soon to Janice and they have all been happy. She timed everything out for my wedding to a tee and it ran PERFECTLY on schedule.

All in all she was everything that I wanted but didn't know I'd need for a wedding planner. I think my favorite thing about her was the fact that she'd bring ideas or suggestions to my attention and it was so obvious that her #1 priority was coordinating a great wedding for me and my husband. If I was to have another event and needed a coordinators service Janice would not only be my planner she'd be my first phone call.

Janice was wonderful and gave me my ideal wedding. She was honest to god the best money I spent throughout the wedding process, worth every penny and then some more.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mallen
Wedding:
3/8/2008
2.0/5.0
We had several instances where she chose not to listen to what we wanted or where she would say what we wanted wasn't good enough. She was crude to my husband and I an to potential vendors.

She put our personal business out to vendors. I had several vendors call and say they would not work with her because she was rude. I had vendors I recommended called names and said they were not suited to do the job.

I would not recommend and we almost fired her twice, we are looking into legalities for things she did not contracually do.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shellile
Wedding:
10/20/2007
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Bellwether Events. I had a wonderful experience.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mgdemola
Wedding:
9/29/2007
5.0/5.0
JANICE IS THE BEST!!!! We had interviewed 3 other coordinators before we retained Janice's services. She was so confident and professional in dealing with all our vendors (we didn't make it easy for her with our many vendors!) and even our wedding party was impressed with her. We all agreed that she was money well spent!
Services Used: Wedding Planning

MAP

 
Falls Church, VA 22041 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Bellwether Events
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo