You will no longer have access to your Project Wedding account on or after March 30, 2017. Save any photos or information you'd like to keep and join WeddingWire for your all of your wedding planning needs today. Learn more »
130x130 sq 1487099795 70ab082cefbcb0a3 1484344077357 benedicts plantation wedding venue mandeville new

Benedict's Plantation

Mandeville , LA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1144 N. CAUSEWAY BLVD
Mandeville, LA 70471 US (map)

PHONE

985-626-4557

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

History of Benedict’s Plantation

Tucked amidst lush native foliage, Benedict’s Plantation stands in reminiscence of a romantic era of elegance and luxurious respite offered... Read more
History of Benedict’s Plantation

Tucked amidst lush native foliage, Benedict’s Plantation stands in reminiscence of a romantic era of elegance and luxurious respite offered on the north shores of Lake Pontchartrain. On Lovers Lane, one of Mandeville’s earliest roads, the home extends its legacy of celebration and hospitality from the generations of families who lived there to the many guests who have enjoyed its ambience.

The property where Benedict’s Plantation now stands was originally part of an English land grant. According to court recorded surveys of 1838, the first owner was Baston Lloyd who held the property until the late 1880’s, when the property was transferred to an heir. It was Samuel Lloyd who built the cottage which now houses Benedict’s Plantation.

In 1911, the house and surrounding properties became the summer home of the Friedrichs family. Following doctors orders to provide the freshness of ozone air for their ten children, Carl C. Friedrichs purchased the house and the 200 surrounding acres. The property extended 100 acres on either side of the house and south to the Chinchuba Creek.

Through most of the twentieth century the Fredrichs family retained ownership, until 1960, when the property was purchased from the estate by the Friedrichs’ daughter and son-in-law, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph McLean LeDoux.. It was Mrs. LeDoux who affectionately named the home “The Shadows” because of the beautiful shadow patterns created by the trees in the evening. The LeDoux’s completed extensive renovations on the house, creating a new entrance to face Lake Pontchartrain, which now remains as the welcoming front entrance of Benedict’s Plantation.

Under the direction of architect, Arthur Middleton, III, the house was converted into a restaurant by new owners, Judge Eddie Sapir and Joseph Segretto. After extensive renovations and additions, The Shadows Restaurant was opened in November, 1983 and soon became the premiere location for exquisite cuisine and Northshore celebrations. Following seven years of service, the Shadows closed its doors in 1989.

Breathing new life into the property, the building was purchased in 1990 by restaurateurs, Shirley and Benny Deluzain. To preserve the atmosphere of southern charm and in keeping with the original integrity of the building, only minor structural changes were made to the house. The cottage opened its doors as Benedict’s Restaurant in 1991, and became the home for both Benedict’s Restaurant and Deluzain Catering. The success of Benedict’s restaurant was immediate and Deluzain Catering was booked months in advance for off-site special events. As a team, Shirley and Bennie Deluzain extended their natural talents for gracious hospitality to each different event. From Jazz Brunch on the front porch of the cottage to elegant Formal Dinners in the Queen’s Room, to glorious receptions flowing throughout the home - each had the special touch of Benny and Shirley’s genius.

Realizing their dream of providing the area’s finest reception facility, Benedict’s Plantation expanded in 1998 to open the Grand Ballroom. Designed with an ambience of elegance, the Grand Ballroom of Benedict’s Plantation can accommodate up to 400 guests in the reception area with banquet seating for 250 guests. Going past the garden waterfall, traditional gas lamps light the way through a New Orleans style courtyard as guests enter this Grand Ballroom, where crystal chandeliers and hand carved mantel all set the stage for the exquisite cuisine which creates each memorable event. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1484344088952 benedictsplantation04
130x130 sq 1484344137842 plantation home wedding
130x130 sq 1484344077357 benedicts plantation wedding venue mandeville new
130x130 sq 1484344151161 dsc09897 dsc09903 e1483722243886
130x130 sq 1484344096099 dsc02949 dsc02954
130x130 sq 1484344175647 benedictsplantation02
130x130 sq 1484344130482 wedding bride
130x130 sq 1484344130639 wedding photo benedicts 4
130x130 sq 1484344147694 dsc09961 dsc09968
130x130 sq 1484344162053 catering in new orleans
130x130 sq 1484344171182 benedictsplantation01
130x130 sq 1484344259276
130x130 sq 1484344281947 cc wedd 5179
130x130 sq 1484344282150 dsc02949 dsc02954
130x130 sq 1484344448876 0e7d0570 15d3 48b6 abae f64835e3c3e7 rs2001.480.fi
130x130 sq 1484344449435 45f88ffd9a363d7f5ca838c22a816d8166a61f0511443fd7f1
130x130 sq 1484344455924 1ce22d0b ba16 4392 9963 7a274c5b3051 rs2001.480.fi
130x130 sq 1484344462675
130x130 sq 1484344469254 8bd7143f 7ebd 4470 9607 070cc3cd4035 rs2001.480.fi
130x130 sq 1484344474849 54c16420 d94c 4681 a323 0c21b6e56d88 rs2001.480.fi
130x130 sq 1484344481188 177f5227 e831 4752 9fdc 6a1618e9d04e rs2001.480.fi
130x130 sq 1484344486609 0570ead1 0355 4af7 938d 89529454eb42 rs2001.480.fi
130x130 sq 1484344491088 717c8194 cac2 4d18 9715 249c10ad71e8 rs2001.480.fi
130x130 sq 1487099136007 p2020018
130x130 sq 1487099135919 p2020053
130x130 sq 1487099143039 p2020133
130x130 sq 1487099153071 p2020138
130x130 sq 1487099159457 p2020182
130x130 sq 1487099166109 p2020198
130x130 sq 1487099172985 p2020207
130x130 sq 1487099179992 p2020217
130x130 sq 1487099187039 p2020227
130x130 sq 1487099194308 p2020276
130x130 sq 1487099202096 p2160005

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
10
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
7
Describe your venue:
Ballroom, Banquet Hall, Historic
Describe the style of your venue
Vintage, Classic, Garden
What kind of settings are available?
Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
500
What event services do you offer?
Bridal Suite, Catering / Bar, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Liability Insurance, Outside Vendors OK, Set Up
What catering services do you offer?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Hors d'Oeuvres, Outside Cake OK, Plated, Stations, Tastings
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), Cash Bar, Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Signature Cocktail(s)
What event items are available?
Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables
What food and beverage items are available?
Barware, China, Chocolate Fountain, Flatware, Glassware, Linens
What transportation and access is available?
Parking, Wheelchair Access

REVIEWS

4.2
out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.2/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Hannah
Wedding:
3/4/2017
5.0/5.0
Benedict's was WONDERFUL! The staff was so helpful for every question/concern we had. Lauren is amazing and made our day perfect. She organized our vendors and put our reception together perfectly. The food is delicious, we used Benedict's for our rehearsal dinner location and also used their catering services for our off site wedding. We got tons of compliments on how good our food was. I HIGHLY recommend Benedict's Plantation for all of your needs!
Benedict's was WONDERFUL! The staff was so helpful for every question/concern we had. Lauren is amazing and made our day Read more...
Benedict's was WONDERFUL! The staff was so helpful for every question/concern we had. Lauren is amazing and made our day perfect. She organized our vendors and put our reception together perfectly. The food is delicious, we used Benedict's for our rehearsal dinner location and also used their catering services for our off site wedding. We got tons of compliments on how good our food was. I HIGHLY recommend Benedict's Plantation for all of your needs! Read less
Services Used: Catering, Rehearsal Dinner
Default vendor profile pic
Kristen
Wedding:
1/6/2017
5.0/5.0
My wedding at Benedict's went absolutely perfect !
They made sure to make me and my husband feel so relaxed cause we knew they had everything coordinated. I worked mostly with Cathy and shes the sweetest lady to work with. She went out of her way to make sure our day was great, I would not have changed a single thing ! Everyone loved the food, the staff, and the grand ballroom is absolutely gorgeous !!! Even most of my guest were praising how great and on top of things the wedding coordinator (Cathy) was! Even my guest noticed !
Overall: I'm so glad I chose Benedict's, because it was all so perfect!
My wedding at Benedict's went absolutely perfect !
They made sure to make me and my husband feel so relaxed cause we Read more...
My wedding at Benedict's went absolutely perfect !
They made sure to make me and my husband feel so relaxed cause we knew they had everything coordinated. I worked mostly with Cathy and shes the sweetest lady to work with. She went out of her way to make sure our day was great, I would not have changed a single thing ! Everyone loved the food, the staff, and the grand ballroom is absolutely gorgeous !!! Even most of my guest were praising how great and on top of things the wedding coordinator (Cathy) was! Even my guest noticed !
Overall: I'm so glad I chose Benedict's, because it was all so perfect! Read less
Services Used: Catering, Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Venue
Benedict's Plantation responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much! We are so happy that we were part of your special day. Congratulations on your new life together
Default vendor profile pic
Melody
Wedding:
11/19/2016
5.0/5.0
Benedict's is the perfect wedding venue. The outside ceremony was beautiful with the gorgeous columns and the chandelier. All of our photos are just beautiful! The food was fabulous, too. The staff was so attentive the entire time. I'm so happy that we chose Benedict's Plantation. I highly recommend!
Benedict's is the perfect wedding venue. The outside ceremony was beautiful with the gorgeous columns and the chandelier. Read more...
Benedict's is the perfect wedding venue. The outside ceremony was beautiful with the gorgeous columns and the chandelier. All of our photos are just beautiful! The food was fabulous, too. The staff was so attentive the entire time. I'm so happy that we chose Benedict's Plantation. I highly recommend! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Natalie
Wedding:
4/8/2016
5.0/5.0
I had my rehearsal dinner, ceremony and reception at Benedict. Picking this venue was one of the best things I did for my wedding. We live on the outskirts of New Orleans and came across the lake to get married. The owner Mrs. Shirley was awesome! She and her staff worked with us and ensured we had top quality service. Everyone talked about the food and how pretty the venue was decorated. The planning process was smooth and easy. We received extra things from the venue. I plan on hosting other events st this venue. I highly recommend this place for all your events.
I had my rehearsal dinner, ceremony and reception at Benedict. Picking this venue was one of the best things I did for my Read more...
I had my rehearsal dinner, ceremony and reception at Benedict. Picking this venue was one of the best things I did for my wedding. We live on the outskirts of New Orleans and came across the lake to get married. The owner Mrs. Shirley was awesome! She and her staff worked with us and ensured we had top quality service. Everyone talked about the food and how pretty the venue was decorated. The planning process was smooth and easy. We received extra things from the venue. I plan on hosting other events st this venue. I highly recommend this place for all your events. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Madilynn
Wedding:
12/31/2015
5.0/5.0
Choosing Benedict's was a no-brainer. I am from the south shore, but they were worth the trek! I looked for venues in the New Orleans area and the prices were outrageous. My fiancé and I scheduled a handful of visits to various venues on the north shore and there was no contest. Benedict's was the only place that would accommodate all of our needs (ok, more like wants). I wanted to bring in a couple of sofas to put in front the fireplace (they have a fireplace!), they said no problem. I wanted to string some Christmas lights from the ceiling, they said no problem. I wanted to have a fireworks show at midnight (New Year's Eve wedding), they said no problem! The other thing Benedict's had that was really important was handicap access for my grandmother. I was very shocked that other venues did not have this! All of these extra things we were allowed to do really made our wedding extra special and our guests loved it. They also really loved the food! Plus, having the food prepared within the venue made things easier and less stressful. AND we got to take home leftovers! Shirley is the coolest! Her daughter, Nicole, was my bridal attendant on the wedding night and she was incredibly sweet. I would definitely consider having another event here in the future. And why not? They give repeat customers a discount - and their prices are already so competitive!
Choosing Benedict's was a no-brainer. I am from the south shore, but they were worth the trek! I looked for venues in the Read more...
Choosing Benedict's was a no-brainer. I am from the south shore, but they were worth the trek! I looked for venues in the New Orleans area and the prices were outrageous. My fiancé and I scheduled a handful of visits to various venues on the north shore and there was no contest. Benedict's was the only place that would accommodate all of our needs (ok, more like wants). I wanted to bring in a couple of sofas to put in front the fireplace (they have a fireplace!), they said no problem. I wanted to string some Christmas lights from the ceiling, they said no problem. I wanted to have a fireworks show at midnight (New Year's Eve wedding), they said no problem! The other thing Benedict's had that was really important was handicap access for my grandmother. I was very shocked that other venues did not have this! All of these extra things we were allowed to do really made our wedding extra special and our guests loved it. They also really loved the food! Plus, having the food prepared within the venue made things easier and less stressful. AND we got to take home leftovers! Shirley is the coolest! Her daughter, Nicole, was my bridal attendant on the wedding night and she was incredibly sweet. I would definitely consider having another event here in the future. And why not? They give repeat customers a discount - and their prices are already so competitive! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Benedict's Plantation responded with the following comments:

It was our pleasure to host your wedding reception. Your vision was perfect for New Years Eve and everything looked beautiful! I loved how all the pictures came out. Congratulations on your new life together
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/4/2014
5.0/5.0
Brian was a great choice for our officiant. He was very accommodating with our ceremony, allowing us to add special ceremonies and choose our own reading. He is also willing to write a custom ceremony if needed. Brian was very professional, checking in throughout the wedding planning process to see if my groom or I needed to change anything in the ceremony. He was on time for the rehearsal and the ceremony, and turned in our marriage license to the courthouse very quickly! I highly recommend Brian.
Brian was a great choice for our officiant. He was very accommodating with our ceremony, allowing us to add special Read more...
Brian was a great choice for our officiant. He was very accommodating with our ceremony, allowing us to add special ceremonies and choose our own reading. He is also willing to write a custom ceremony if needed. Brian was very professional, checking in throughout the wedding planning process to see if my groom or I needed to change anything in the ceremony. He was on time for the rehearsal and the ceremony, and turned in our marriage license to the courthouse very quickly! I highly recommend Brian. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Shannon
Wedding:
10/10/2008
5.0/5.0
I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful and fun filled wedding! The ceremony was located outside and was lit up by white lights in the gardens around us, candles down the isle, it was beautiful! The reception was fantastic as well! The set up of tables and food allowed easy access to the dance floor, restroom, bar, everything! The decor was also very elegant. The food - I have not heard enough from our guest about how wonderful the food was! My husband and I kept ourselves busy and did not eat at the reception, but enjoyed the delicious food when we left.
I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful and fun filled wedding! The ceremony was located outside and was lit up by Read more...
I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful and fun filled wedding! The ceremony was located outside and was lit up by white lights in the gardens around us, candles down the isle, it was beautiful! The reception was fantastic as well! The set up of tables and food allowed easy access to the dance floor, restroom, bar, everything! The decor was also very elegant. The food - I have not heard enough from our guest about how wonderful the food was! My husband and I kept ourselves busy and did not eat at the reception, but enjoyed the delicious food when we left. Read less
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Amanda
Wedding:
4/23/2011
4.8/5.0
Benedict's was the perfect place to have our wedding. The flowers outside were beautiful, and the food was absolutely delicious! The only negative thing was the wedding before mine ended at 5:00, and we barely had time to decorate before people starting arriving for ours. Brian was in charge of everything for us, and he couldn't have been easier to work with.. He was always very quick in responding to my countless texts and emails. Without his help, I would have gone crazy!
Benedict's was the perfect place to have our wedding. The flowers outside were beautiful, and the food was absolutely Read more...
Benedict's was the perfect place to have our wedding. The flowers outside were beautiful, and the food was absolutely delicious! The only negative thing was the wedding before mine ended at 5:00, and we barely had time to decorate before people starting arriving for ours. Brian was in charge of everything for us, and he couldn't have been easier to work with.. He was always very quick in responding to my countless texts and emails. Without his help, I would have gone crazy! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Holly
Wedding:
11/19/2016
4.7/5.0
The food is amazing and a great value! I loved the ceremony venue and the reception hall. I loved that everything was basically all-included which meant there were less things I had to worry about booking. My only complaint is that a week before my wedding they booked a ceremony an hour before mine, and when it ran late it really cut into the picture time I was planning on and made us run behind. Before booking again I would get it in writing that they can't have another ceremony that close together - we had guest arriving early and almost going to the wrong wedding.
The food is amazing and a great value! I loved the ceremony venue and the reception hall. I loved that everything was Read more...
The food is amazing and a great value! I loved the ceremony venue and the reception hall. I loved that everything was basically all-included which meant there were less things I had to worry about booking. My only complaint is that a week before my wedding they booked a ceremony an hour before mine, and when it ran late it really cut into the picture time I was planning on and made us run behind. Before booking again I would get it in writing that they can't have another ceremony that close together - we had guest arriving early and almost going to the wrong wedding. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Benedict's Plantation responded with the following comments:

We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and your wedding was beautiful!

I just wanted to clarify that the other wedding was booked far in advance and 2 hours before your wedding. They should have been done well before you or your guests arrived. The problem arose when her dress designer did not arrive with her dress and she only had sweatpants and tank top to wear down the aisle. I was actually on the phone with southern bridal trying to get her a dress. We have never encountered anything like that and did our best to make sure you both had a wonderful wedding experience. We are truly sorry that you were inconvenienced by it, but wanted to be clear that we did not book 2 events that close together. Thank you for being so kind and understanding that night.
Default vendor profile pic
Anna
Wedding:
10/19/2013
4.6/5.0
My husband and I had a very positive experience working with Benedict's Plantation to plan our wedding reception in their main ballroom, and the reception turned out exactly how we wanted.

We initially communicated from out of state with Brian to book the venue and plan the wedding, and were very impressed by his flexibility and responsiveness-he almost always responded to emails within the day. We were hoping to have him manage the reception, but he was unfortunately out of town that day. Nicole did a great job as well, but I think some confusion regarding when we could arrive at the venue to set up and when and how my husband and I would enter the reception hall could have been avoided if Brian had been there.

Benedict's is a beautiful location with southern charm. We were lucky because they had just redecorated the interior of the ballroom, including the bar area. They also do a great job keeping the courtyard outside the ballroom beautiful with seasonal landscaping, and we got some of our favorite photographs out there.

We want to emphasize how good Benedict's food is! We got gumbo, salad, and a combination platter with steak and chicken, and heard so much positive feedback from our guests regarding the food, including that some guests pretended there were more people at their table so they could get a second serving of gumbo!

Overall, we were very pleased with Benedict's and would recommend them to anyone looking for a classy, southern venue with great food.
My husband and I had a very positive experience working with Benedict's Plantation to plan our wedding reception in their Read more...
My husband and I had a very positive experience working with Benedict's Plantation to plan our wedding reception in their main ballroom, and the reception turned out exactly how we wanted.

We initially communicated from out of state with Brian to book the venue and plan the wedding, and were very impressed by his flexibility and responsiveness-he almost always responded to emails within the day. We were hoping to have him manage the reception, but he was unfortunately out of town that day. Nicole did a great job as well, but I think some confusion regarding when we could arrive at the venue to set up and when and how my husband and I would enter the reception hall could have been avoided if Brian had been there.

Benedict's is a beautiful location with southern charm. We were lucky because they had just redecorated the interior of the ballroom, including the bar area. They also do a great job keeping the courtyard outside the ballroom beautiful with seasonal landscaping, and we got some of our favorite photographs out there.

We want to emphasize how good Benedict's food is! We got gumbo, salad, and a combination platter with steak and chicken, and heard so much positive feedback from our guests regarding the food, including that some guests pretended there were more people at their table so they could get a second serving of gumbo!

Overall, we were very pleased with Benedict's and would recommend them to anyone looking for a classy, southern venue with great food. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1144 N. CAUSEWAY BLVD, Mandeville, LA 70471 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Benedict's Plantation
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1487099795 70ab082cefbcb0a3 1484344077357 benedicts plantation wedding venue mandeville new